You are here: HomeNews2013 04 02Article 269698

Deception is no part of the make-up of a lawyer - Martin Amidu

Read Comments Comments (46)

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Lawyers are liars and part of the cause of our problems. Many of them are corrupt and make useless noise. Look at the parties and see those who make useless noise because they know some loopholes in the legal system.

• Vuvuzela 11 years ago

"Many of them are corrupt..."

THE ARE ALL CORRUPT!!!!

So, the question becomes, if those called to the exercise of, to uphold the law, are lies, what are we doing deceiving ourselves about democracy?

Amidu's statemen ...

• FINAL JUDGE 11 years ago

THAT IS NDC GOVT.

NO EX-GIRLFRIEND, NO POST.

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 11 years ago

Mr.Amidu, l wished you are at the helm
    of our affairs in Ghana. We are suffering too much trying to make ends
    meet. Lawyers helping criminals agaist
    the state for a ransome,selfish Lawyers. You may please open a new page i ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 11 years ago

A every Lawyer should be well grounded
    in Amidu,s statement to save our dear
    country. We aregoing down the hills
    with a terefic speed to distruction.
    Amidu you have seen the light,they have not seen it yet.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

What about Asiedu-Nketia, he is not a Lawyer only a thief, corrupt, arrogant
    and total senseless NDC monkey not even a politician but gutter politician. If not Rawlings who is Asiedu-Nketia?

• peace must prevail 11 years ago

And who is Rawlings also? yes I agree with your description of Aseidu-Nketia but please, don't call him a monkey because you speak the same language (at least english).I don't think a dog can understand the language of a monk ...

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

Q: What's the difference between a lawyer and a gigolo?
    A: A gigolo only screws one person at a time.

• Jane, Baffour. 11 years ago

So Martin , what was you contribution to Ghana during your term of office as the Attorney General?. You mean you did not observe, smell or see the corruption and the deliberate practices by your department, full of legally tr ...

• Rockson 11 years ago

Some Lawyers are liars and part of the cause of our problems. Many of them are corrupt and make useless noise. Look at the parties and see those who make useless noise because they know some loopholes in the legal system.

• Napson Aklaku 11 years ago

Even the Old and retired and tired ones like Kpegah are doing stomach politics

• Nana 11 years ago

There were no lawyers from Northern Ghana until after independence. The question is, why is this so? go read a little about the history of education in Ghana/Gold Coast

• Akos 11 years ago

HOW MANY LAWYERS ARE CLEAN?

• Kankam 11 years ago

And so what?When Mensah-Saaba and co were on the Roll of lawyers there was no Ashanti man on the roll as lawyer.

• Mina 11 years ago

And so what? Atta Mills was a lawyer what good did Ghana gain, he became the judgement debt president.Fa wo asem firi ho.

• SAAD 11 years ago

BRILIANT MARTIN KEEP THE GOOD WORK YOU ARE DOING FOR MOTHER/FATHER GHANA

• Kondendiara Kakraba 11 years ago

That we had 11 of Amidus. One as governor for each of the ten regions and one for President. Ghana would have been better off.

• Another African Patriot 11 years ago

It is my wish that these young lawyers will learn from your example.

• Taylor Takoradi 11 years ago

Too many lawyers have been stealing from the country for years.

• Kay-Dee -Boston Mass 11 years ago

Brilliant martin more grease to your elbows.keep doing what you can for ghana.

• Mina 11 years ago

Martin; we love you and Ghana love's you best keep up the good works you have for your motherland.May the good Lord bless you and your household.Thank you so much.

• Kwasi Miezah, Western Region 11 years ago

Well done Mr. Amidu. I wish you had challenged all previous gov'ts (including and Rawlings and Kuffour) when they were in power. All the same we appreciate your contribution towards the exposure of corruption within the gov' ...

• KOFI DAMESI. 11 years ago

YES AMIDU IS JUST A PRUDENT LAWYER LIKE THE LATE VICTOR OWUSU, BUT HE CHOE A WRONG POLITICAL PARTY TO PUT HIS IDEOLOGY ACROSS AND THAT HIS ONLY MINUS SIGN IN POLITICS. KOFI DAMESI SOKOBAN -KUNASI CARPENTRY SHOP.

• Abu Ben Adam 11 years ago

Martin, you have spoken very very well keep it up no fears.

• Pelicles 11 years ago

I do not know this man personally but I think he is an excellent asset to Ghana. If we have twenty of his likes, I think we can move on better.

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

LAWYER JOKES FROM BUTUMAJABO

1] How many lawyers does it take to screw in a light bulb?
    A: Three, One to climb the ladder. One to shake it. And one to sue the ladder company.
    2]Q: What's the difference between a lawyer a ...

• loiloil 11 years ago

amidu!!@!

• Komla 11 years ago

Thank you, Martin. I admire your courage and belief in honesty, social equity/justice and good governance.

It is sad you are in this part of the world where people exhibit so much indifference to what happens to the socio ...

• nii 11 years ago

Use qualified technocrats instead.
    these theiving lawters go into politics for the money.

• ALHAJI MORO 11 years ago

These are those we need in Ghana to make the country a true state . MR AMIDU YOU REALLY STAND BY THE MEANING OF MARTIN .THEY ARE TRUTHFUL STRAIGHT FORWARD UNYIELDING AND ALWAYS STAND BY THE TRUTH .MASTER GHANA IS PROUD OF YOU ...

• FIREO 11 years ago

you dey oooo Amidu

• TOM ASAAM 11 years ago

MARTIN,YOU HAVE PROVIDED FOOD FOR THOUGHT FOR THESE YOUNG ONES.
    INTEGRITY IS WORTH MORE THAN ILL-GOTTEN WEALTH.
    I REALLY FEEL PROUD THAT OUR YEARS IN THE VANDAL CITY PRODUCED A FEARLESS FIGHTER OF THE LEGAL PROFESSION. KEE ...

• Mehunu meka nti 11 years ago

Is 'moaning' about has assumed epic proportions,and I believe only the second coming of the Son of God will change the situation for the better!
    Look.all the societal ills that Amidu has outlined were frowned upon by our Eld ...

• Abaane Robert 11 years ago

Anytime I see Martin write or deliver a speech on any sphere of life, I never miss to read it and I have never regretted it. This particular piece is by all standards a brilliant one. God bless you for being the conscience of ...

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

Center to all this corruption now is the ewe tribalism that has a stranglehold on the ndc and now most of the state agencies that are to combat this menace. yes corruption exists in all countries but ours has become more noto ...

• Derryl Laar 11 years ago

People who got so close to martin amidu will tell u that he is a MAD MAN. Stop giving him space to continue with his vituperations

• ACCRA IS STINKY CITY 11 years ago

THESE LIE LIE MEN AND LIE LIE BOYS ARE COMING TO CORRUPT OUR COUNTRY THE MORE BECAUSE OF THEIR GREED AND LOVE TO GET-RICH-QUICK THROUGH DUBIOUS MEANS.

NEVER TRUST A LAWYER.

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

IS AMIDU KIDDING? DECEPTION HAS BEEN THE STOCK-IN-TRADE OF LAWYERS FROM TIME IMMEMORIAL. IN GHANA IT IS THE ONLY WAY LAWYERS PRACTISE LAW! PREACH THIS TO THE BIRDS.

• AKONFEM PREZ 11 years ago

MR AMIDU YOU ARE TOO GOOD,GOD LESS U,PLEZ GET BACK GHANA MONEY FROM WOYOME FOR GHANIANS,HELP THE NATION

• Wiseman 11 years ago

Someone like Amidu should run for Public Office-"President ' of Ghana if he is actually sincere. Most Ghanaians are corrupt including Rawlings who came to power penniless,and now damn Rich yet talk about others being corrupt.

• kwame 11 years ago

A brilliant speech. It is a serious indictment on the lawyers who live off the political offices they holding. CHANGE.

• WHO WILL SAVE US? 11 years ago

Getfund sponsored students are pleading on every Ghanaian to add his or her voice to their plea on the GETFund and the Ghana Government to send SOS. Please, inform our president for us.

• Jorotara 11 years ago

You mean you don't know prominent Ewe lawyers.

• Igp 11 years ago

Mahama and NDC have fallen through the cracks because they have been engulfed in corruption. June 4th means nothing to latter-day NDC followers. The party has been hijacked by outsiders.