You are here: HomeNews2013 03 27Article 269193

Size of Mahama gov't too large for Ghana - Lecturer

Read Comments Comments (85)

• Kofi 11 years ago

That is job creation, the way the Ghanaian politician knows.

• kabokabo 11 years ago

Sir you get it wrong this time. Have you forgotten this government has less work to do so they need more hand to finish before Supreme Court bring their verdict? Clever Mahama

• KWAME APONKYE 11 years ago

The govt isnt just a large, it also includes a lot of incompetent clueless low IQ idiots who knows not their lefts from their right.

How can we progress as a nation with these things called leaders? All they can do is stea ...

• Atikopo#1 11 years ago

You are the biggest idiot to believe in this IQ nonsense; and "The white man must come back now !!!" crap.

Your genes should not be allowed to procreate. We will end up with more idiots like you.

Please do not have chil ...

• ATSU, HO 11 years ago

WE HEAR SOME OF THESE PEOPLE SPEAK EVERY DAY, AND I DOUBT IF THEY HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO RESOLVE THE CHALLENGES THAT WE HAVE NOW. MAY GOD HAVE MERCY ON US. I AM DISAPPOINTED IN JM.

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

Bigger does not always mean better, and this is evident in Mahama's govt and we thought Mill's had a Team B, I think this team is off the charts and not even rated. It is a bunch of trash running government, basically job for ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

MAHAMA GIVING OUR MONEY TO STUPID MINISTERS FOR NO WORK DONE!

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

The NDC would have to explain to Ghanaians how a dead man came to author and sign a letter!

The opening paragraph states, “I came to serve; I have finished my time here on earth and have moved on to everlasting rest and ...

Are u one of the low IQ idiots in govt looting instead of serving the ppl? Or you have relatives that are duping foolish Ghanaians and thus benefiting?

Sometimes we hate the truth but some of us that have had the opportuni ...

• HON SHAMO 11 years ago

USELESSING OUR MONEY ON FOOLS! PROPAGANDA MINISTRY, FOOLSOLDIERS, PREZ STAFFERS ALL RECIEVING PAY FOR NOTHING! OUR MONEY OGA DEY CHOP AM WAA WAA

• boss 11 years ago

thank you kwame , the most stupid people in ghana are the leaders and the followers

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

If white men take over our assets you will have good health, clean water to drink, good housing and also get job to do as we are working 24/7 in UK here.

But with our idiots so called Presidents and ministers what have the ...

• Mahmoud 11 years ago

Even 40 ministers are too many for a poor developing country like Ghana.28 dedicated efficient ministers are enough for Ghana. Rawlings when he was forced to restart the multiparty democracy, he complain about the cost of mai ...

• The sage 11 years ago

No douibt you are called Aponkye.Size of anything deppends what is ahed as work volume.
    Leave Mahama alone and watch .No one had ever raisen a finger at the numerous useless Universities in the country.
    If you feel you can ...

• kojo vagla/bole 11 years ago

You should not be surprised at the size of the mahama govt. It is made up of mahama, his numerous girl friends , class mates, tribesmen and foul-mouthed party apparachikis.
    They will all be annihilated on the day of armagged ...

• SARPONG 11 years ago

In an era where every developed country sees reduction of the size of government as vitalto national development, Mahama and his NDC clueless administration has increased the size of government soaring the government budget o ...

• SARPONG 11 years ago

In an era where every developed country sees reduction of the size of government as vital to national development, Mahama and his NDC clueless administration have increased the size of government soaring the government budget ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

LAKE BOSOMTWE DOES NOT BELIEVE IN WASTE.
    WHEN I SAID I WAS AT THE BANK,MAHAMA SAID I SHOULD BRING SOME CASH.
    I SAID MOTHERFUCKER I AM AT THE BANK OF THE RIVER DO YOU WANT SOME FISH?

• Moira 11 years ago

Sarpong, even in Malawi, their president not only reduce the size of their MP's, she also cut their salaries including her own & other expenses, all to save their budget. Our leaders are just too greedy & selfish.

• Seth Botwaye 11 years ago

Mahama stop this NONESENSE. How are you going to pay them all and when are you going to give us water and electricity ? Is it because you might be living in a short time, that is why you are pleasing most party members ?

":Mahama and his NDC clueless administration has increased the size of government soaring the government budget outlay for salaries to 73% of revenue"

Sarpong you are too generous to the low IQ Goats in charge. 73% is what ...

Lake Bosomtwe does not want to go into the sea because water flowing into the sea is waste of water.
    The Bible says in Ecclesiastics chapter three that all the rivers run into the sea but the sea is not full.
    The scientist ...

• Moira 11 years ago

I just posted the same thing on a different topic. How can a small country as Ghana has this many people in parliament, when a single State in the US only have a fraction members of congress as oppose to Ghana?

• J. J. RAWLINGS 11 years ago

GHANA MUST RISE UP. ARE GHANAIANS THAT FOOLISH???????????? WHY ARE GHANAIANS IN THAT SHIT AT THIS TIME OF OUR HISTORY?? ARE GHANAIANS SO BLIND?? TEACHERS, WHY HAVE YOU GIVEN UP?? ARE YOU SO STUPID???
    WHY CAN'T GHANAIANS FIG ...

• gq 11 years ago

Where were you when Kuffour appointed 92 people to ministerial portfolios.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

So, you are telling me that if Kufour behaved badly so Mahama too must be?

Is that not what you are saying? You are the most stupid person I ever met at this forum.

If you are saying this how can you help Mahama to buil ...

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

YET THE FINANCE MINISTER IS COMPLAINING OF WAGE BILL THIS IS THE TIME FOR PATIOTISM AND NOT POLICTS MY FELLOW COUNTRY MEN

• Agoo 11 years ago

Mahamas is trying to give everybody in NDC a job that's his formula and understading of 'Ye Be Dii Bi Keke'

• Truth Investigator 11 years ago

Too many ministers, govt desperately running around looking for more and more loans,state funds disappearing,diverted into personal accounts, no accountability,shady judgement debts,ecg,water,Kia airport owing huge amounts et ...

• KWAA 11 years ago

This shows how insensitive our socalled leaders are.
    Ghana is struggling in anything at the moment,even Mahama himself was crying because of the huge wages of Civil Servants in the Country.Yet,the man finds nothing wrong for ...

• agyeiwaa 11 years ago

Too many young and inexperienced people. By the time they learn on the job, the four year term would have been over, so what would they have contributed to gorvernance. Most esp the young women, too many of them!!!

• SARPONG 11 years ago

The young women are there just to serve as a salacious interest for Mahama and his elevator eyes Ministers. Somebody like Barbara Asamoah, Hanna Bissiw, Ashitey Duah or whatever her name is are there to provide sexual service ...

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

E hard O! Sexual service on the back of the tax payers. I am so disappointed in Mahama but I am sure that is the plan for these young, inexperience girls, who will give in to the sexual advances just to keep their positions. ...

They are all a bunch of clueless idiots there acting as leaders who wont qualify for a Goat header position in any advance nation. But in Ghana they call them honorables, honarable my foot!

Sometimes i get so angry to see ...

• SIKAMAN 11 years ago

Wonder shall never end. John Mahama Ministerial appointees is more than the one in USA and EU. Ghana is a failed state. Pig is still a Pig no matter the decorations. Tani is still Tani. They belongs to Kayayo not presidency. ...

EXPLOSIVES COMES INTO SMALL PACKAGES,ITS NOT THE FORCE OF THE OCEAN,ITS THE MOTION IN THE OCEAN

• Uncle T 11 years ago

Mark this on the wall: by close of day, one of the NDC dogs will visit this platform and pee something like: but Kuffuor government did it before bla bla bla...They cannot think! Only propaganda and equalisation....and of cou ...

• NIMA OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

Mahama's size of ministerial appointees is seriously not about the governance of the nation and people but creating to share the state wealth with his unscrupulously incompetent political gangsters. Period!!!

He's yet to s ...

• Uncle T 11 years ago

Hahahahaaaa Old soldier. You make me laugh with your Twi: Ebe dii k3k3!! and Akonfem govt! Hahahhhahaaa. I am very happy about what Mahama is doing to Ghanaians. It will teach all of us a bitter lesson that elections are not ...

• Sunkwa 11 years ago

When will the Ghanaian learn?--never.Even lower primates are capable of side-stepping traps laid in their hunts but not the Ghanaian--its a shame.
    Bloated govt. with appointees doing nothing to advance any development except ...

• 120 Ministerial Post 11 years ago

MAHAMA IS NOT A THINKER NOR A UNIFIER. THIS BIG GOVERNMENT RESOLVES TO PAY ROLL DEVELOPEMNT SINCE LESS MONEY OF THE BUDGET WILL GO INTO PHISICAL DEVELOPEMENT. NOT UNTIL THE SUPREME COURT COMES OUT WITH ITS RULING, GHANAIANS S ...

• Dondo 11 years ago

MPs who becomes ministers should only be paid like an MP. How can you leave a job that we sent you to do. We dont vote for our MPs to become ministers, NO we vote for them to be our MP in paliament. Imagin your MP (accra) was ...

• Ghanaian 11 years ago

The 26 new and final list of deputy ministerial appointees released yesterday included, Victoria Hammah for Communications, NII LANTEY VANDERPUYE for Trade and Industry, .........

BY APPOINTING NII LANTEY VANDERPUYE, THE P ...

• COL.PISTOL-B.C. 11 years ago

WE SHALL OVERTHROW THE GOVT SOON.JUST WAIT AND SEE.

• dada 11 years ago

What a mess,nearly 90 people in a single government,for what? i don't know just a drain in the national coffers, pity.

• Astry 11 years ago

Who does not know this man's political affiliation? When Kufuor was appointing ministers left and right, creating ministries that did nothing and also special assistants for all the ministers and their deputies where was he? ...

• Balawo President 11 years ago

There is great doubt about the nationality of Yammin. It's understood that his parents sought refuge in Ghana from Lebanon and Ghanaians need to be shown evidence (a la Tsegah/Akuffo Addo) as the true nationality of this rabb ...

• Who is lazy ?? 11 years ago

"He had wished the president nominated at least 40 ministers to run the affairs of the state" The writer by this statement is justifying the large number of ministers. The statement should read "He had wished the president no ...

• Kretz D - Beantown 11 years ago

That's what happens when a Nation/country has lazy and incompetent leadership. The leaders try to distribute/delegate few jobs among as many people as possible. At the end of the day you spend more money than you receive. And ...

• Kwadwo 11 years ago

How can you come to the US and beg for grants when you are expanding government and spending 7,5 million dollar on a 600 guinea fowl project? Ghana is on its way HiPC. This is sad indeed.

• chief amankwa 11 years ago

too may people hanging about sucking public money for no major work done.

• AKPENE 11 years ago

NO ONE SAID A WORD WHEN KUFOUR DID THE SAME JOB FOR THE BOYS,SO WHY COMPLAIN NOW.

• GHANAVIA 11 years ago

Think kese le gbeme; think.

• Capt. Mosquito 11 years ago

In order to stop this Mahama nonsense coup is justified. Come on Ghanaians arise !!

• Joe 11 years ago

It seems getting a job in NDC government is to learn how to insult especially the opposition and people with diverse opinions about the government. With all the 90 appointees by NDC government led by Mahama only few are rega ...

• H3 11 years ago

I am with you brother.You hit the nail right on the head. Just look at somebody like Ofosu Kwakye! How could he be appointed a deputy minister? I mean how? Learning how to insult and get an appointment in the NDC has attracte ...

• Aminatu Hajia 11 years ago

There are still more to come as some really did work hard for the NDC dating back to the 2008 elections. I would be a political disaster if they are flatly ingored. The government must do some seedy work to find out those men ...

• Asoreba 11 years ago

The sad story about all these Ministers and their Deputies is that they do not accomplish anything. You heard s Minister saying that there was no water in his area while he was growing up as a child. Translation: "We went t ...

• WE THE PEOPLE 11 years ago

cancel the deputy post and make paliament part time...MP'S will be paid per hour and get transport allowance from district to Accra...the intent of parliament was not to create a ruling or elite class but to serve

• baba ablakwa 11 years ago

Mahama has appointed 94 ministers to be in his government to rule our dear nation hmmmm some of them are just going to chop our Ghana cedis like that no bettat work is just job for the boyz like Victoria hammah n yammin

• Wonders never cease 11 years ago

The UK Goverment has 23 Ministers to govern a population of 65,000,000.
    Enough said!!!!

• NDC Supporter 11 years ago

Germany has 7 ministers and Japan eleven(11)

• Wonders never cease 11 years ago

Germany is a slightly different case as it is a federal goverment which means that a lot of it's goverment is carried at state level rather than through the central federal goverment.

Ghana has how many ministers to govern ...

• Jlo 11 years ago

275 mp's and counting. Really outrageous!

• Another African Patriot 11 years ago

This rubbish. I don't know what to say again. Cry the beloved country....

• concern 11 years ago

when a blind-person leads a blind-man,they all fall.no wonder,the country is fallen apart.

• KWAKU NUM, US 11 years ago

IT IS SHOCKING, SAD, MADNESS AND GROSSLY INSANITY FOR A SMALL COUNTRY LIKE GHANA TO EMPLOY AND USE 90 GOOD AND SOLID MINISTERS AND DEPUTY MINISTERS. WHAT IS THE GOVERNMENT UP TO? HOW ON EARTH CAN ONE MINISTRY HAVE 3 GOOD FOR ...

• Richard Addo 11 years ago

Yes this clearly shows us that mahama is in to make himself n his cohorts rich at the detriment of the poor masses of our beloved country. After paying himself n his ministers such a collosal amount of money, has the moral r ...

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

CAN YOU IMAGINE GHANA WITH A POPULATIIO OF TWENTY TWO MILLION HAVING NINE SITTING JUDGES AT THE SUPREME COURT OF GHANA.

AMERICA WITH A POPULATION OF THREE HUNDRED MILLION PEOPLE HAS ALSO NINE SIITING JUDGES AT THEIR SUPREM ...

• ?????? 11 years ago

I have said before its to large.
    Ghanaians all of you--better start
    doing something-- quick!!!!

We do not that many MPs...NPP boycott proves that half can go home without impacting work....they can meet 1.5 weeks a month

he has a primitive mentality as if the government largesse is his to dole out...pastors to isreal expenses paid...etc....hes worse than kutu acheampong...ghana does not need deputy ministers..abolish that post..make parliamen ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 11 years ago

All these appointments are just job for the boys but nothing else. They were appointed to just sucks the nation dry. I can't wait for a coup detat to happened so all these nation wreckers would be excuted.

• mens 11 years ago

How can somebody like Ato forson be appointed as deputy finance minister? somebody who cheated lots of people in uk and did not pay lots of guys simply because those guys dont have papers to take him to court. He abondoned hi ...

• Odzam.Klufio 11 years ago

Ha ha ha ha aaaaaaaaaa!! Kwame aponkye, your mane really tells you are nothing but aponkye m333333!! Aboa funu. Still living in the 'mate meho' world. You wished there was no independence as your Busia, J.B Danquah, Victor Ow ...

Are you happy with what is happening in Ghana?

Are u one of the low IQ idiots in govt looting instead of serving the ppl? Or you have relatives that are duping foolish Ghanaians and thus benefiting?

Sometimes we hate th ...

• YAM 11 years ago

check the professions of his minister and his coment on morning shows

• Gurls 11 years ago

Where are Kobby Acheampong aka Kooko ase krakye kuraseni, Koku Anyidoho, Adu Asare aka Hon Swagga, Victor Smith and Tony Aidoo. The appointment nominations are over now but couldn't see their names anywhere on all the lists?

• Maame 11 years ago

Seriously, lets think of the future of our country for our generations! Our leaders have nothing to offer. lets do what we can do best, in our own small ways to save our nation.

• PREZZO 11 years ago

MAHAMA KNOW S HIS OUT SO HIS GETTING ALL COMPLETE ASS HOLES TO TAKE UP POSITIONS. OH NDC .

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

Here is a president who recently told us that the Nation spends 60,9% of the National Income on PUBLIC SERVANTS. WHY the creation of ALL these ministries and their MANY deputies ???
    AS A DEVELOPING COUNTRY,we have to bundle ...

• Justan 11 years ago

YOU SHOULD YOU MAXIMUM 40.IF YOU SAID AT LEAST 40 THEN HE HAS DONE THE RIGHT THING BY APPOINTING 86.HOWEVER THIS NONSENSE WAS CREATED BY NPP-KUFFOUR.NOW THERE IS NO LIMIT.
    I BLAME MAHAMA TOO BECAUSE HE IS NOT EXERCISING HIS ...

• Joe , an unpaid GIA Victim 11 years ago

Former Transport Minister, Collin Dauda cheated Ghana International passengers and now he has been given another ministry to rob. So how do we solve Ghana's problems if these ministers are only looting the masses/ Allah helps ...

• yaw 11 years ago

Our post independent governments are nothing but neocolonial where government functionaries do not have the interest of the people at heart but themselves, cars, bunglows etc. Why can't they buy their own cars using their car ...

• JK 11 years ago

Julo Mahama lacks imagination and vision to help this country.I think his appointments are tailored towards showing appreciation to people whole helped him rig the elections, whether sexually or otherwise. It has nothing to d ...