You are here: HomeNews2013 03 22Article 268596

Chinua Achebe is dead

Read Comments Comments (99)

• Aretha 11 years ago

May his soul rest in perfect peace. He made some of us what we are today in the literary world.

• MR. FIGURE - OUT 11 years ago

Great one, may your sole rest in perfect peace

• Kaakaaku 11 years ago

"Godidi Gogodigo" sounded the the gon-gon beater of 'Omofia'. Things fall Apart. The Great Man Is gone. Oh how I missed my literature master, EPezit(opposite) in Kumasi High School. May the sole of The Great Achebe rest in pe ...

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

Author: AKONOBA--

JOHN MAHAMA KILLED MILS. YOU DENIED MILS WAS SICK ALL THESE YEARS. YOU COMPELLED MILS TO STAND FOR A SECOND TERM KNOWING VERY WELL THAT MILS WAS NOT FIT TO CONTEST. YOU HID FROM GHANAIANS THE TRUE STATE ...

• Gigi 11 years ago

Old fooooool! Learn to put politics aside for once

• NYAME BA 11 years ago

MAY THE ANCESTORS WELCOME YOU INTO THEIR FOLD.
    DAMIRIFA DUE
    DANIRIFA DUE

• kolo 11 years ago

The narrow path, things fall apart the center cannot hold,,the arrow of god,,love brewed in pot etc

• KOLA, INSIDE LONDON 11 years ago

what great african? when some uses their talent to write and educate, others like jak akronfuor uses his to steal and akuffo addo uses his in 419 scam.

• Antwi 11 years ago

Old Soldier or whatever you called yourself, you are such an imaginable fool. Have you even read the article before commenting on it. What has the death of Atta Mills has to do with Chinua Achebe's or let alone John Mahama. M ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 11 years ago

You have taken the words out of my mouth "Mr Figure Out".

Things have indeed, Fallen Apart. A Great Oak has been uprooted from Our midst. However his legacy in the Literary World will remain with us forever.
    Sleep Well, ...

• BOB SANTO 11 years ago

With the passing of this great African mind, future generations are left to settle for intellectual pygmies like John Mahama and other Presidential comedians who peddle mediocrity masquerading as leadership.

• Yaa Baby 11 years ago

I remember my literature master at Yaa Asantewa. Things fall apart indeed. I remember very well the saying the chick that will grow into a cockerel is known the very day it is hatched and many other proverbs which I liked ve ...

• WHERE IS SHE ?? 11 years ago

I REMEMBER WHEN THERE WAS THE ACCIDENT IN FRONT OF THE SCHOOL i HAVE FORGOTTEN THE YEAR.

I HOPE IT TURNED OUT FOR ALL OF YOU PRECIOUS GIRLS

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

The mighty has fallen. I have never come across any author who created such a mighty character as Chinua Achebe in Things Fall Apart (Oknokwo). I have to look for the novel and reread it again.

May he rest in Prefect Peace ...

• Joy 11 years ago

He certainly deserved a Nobel Prize in literature, just like his countryman Wole S... I remember meeting him face to face at Princeton in the late eighties.

• Dr. E M Akita 11 years ago

A literary icon of our time.Rest in perfect peace. You made your nation and Africa proud.Your literary masterpiece "Things Fall Apart" and others will forever immortalize your name.

• Ewusi 11 years ago

A great son of Africa who proved to the West that not all Africans are fools.RIP Sir

• Ewusi 11 years ago

Just like Mandela full of wisdom.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Why should such people die when fools like... continue to live? Things are falling apart in Ghana and the center cannot hold.

• Aretha 11 years ago

What you wanted to say appear to have been said long by William Wordsworth thus:
    "O Sir! the good die first,
    And they whose hearts are dry as summer dust
    Burn to the socket."

You see what I owe to Achebe?

• Oman Ba Pa 11 years ago

Thank you. Great man Rest In Real Peace.

• ROCKY 11 years ago

A great man of Africa, rest in peace

• Idrusu Mahamah Alahji (Tamale) 11 years ago

I can believe this. This man must be giving a higher honor by the govt. of Nigeria. He is a true son of Africa. He is a cultural centered activist. His name must never be forgotten in the books. May God save his soul and acco ...

• EDMUND ADDO 11 years ago

MAY THE SOUL OF THIS GALANT AFRICAN WRITER REST IN PEACE

• okukuseku 11 years ago

Things have fallen apart

• Gumbihini Atika Atika 11 years ago

When I was in primary school my ambition was to be an author. I used to entertain myself by writing short stories. The biggest mistake I made was I read Things Fall Apart when I started secondary School. I thought to myself t ...

• BAFFOUR-ANTWERPEN 11 years ago

True things has fallen apart indeed, may his soul rest in bosom of Almighty God.Now things has really fallen apart the center could not hold.

• Kwaku 11 years ago

May your soul rest in peace Achibe

• DEE 11 years ago

WE LOST A GREAT AFRICAN.REST IN PEACE SIR.

• BENNEH 11 years ago

I will miss this honourary thinker and writer; he and many others like Ngugi Wathiongo, Peter Abrahams, Ayi Kwei Armah (of 'The Beautyful Ones Are Not Yet Born' fame), etc, made me rediscover and be proud of my black identit ...

• EGYA BLAY 11 years ago

When arrows of god strike,the man of the people are no longer at ease. What a man with prodigious knowlegde? I mentioned your name last week just to see that you have travelled to your ancestors.I respect you and ever respec ...

• Rockson Adofo 11 years ago

Prof. Achebe, things have really fallen apart without the centre been able to hold. May ye rest in peace in the bosom of God, oh great son of Africa.

My condolences to the bereaved Achebe family.

• Kofi Mensah 11 years ago

I did not do literature at O' Level in my days at school but a best/close friend did and often quoted a few narratives and even recently I would suddenly say THINGS FALL APART-OKONKWO to remind me of my friends whom I have no ...

• THE CENTRE CANNOT HOLD 11 years ago

ARE BORN. YOU WERE A UNIQUE PERSON.

REST IN YOUR FATHERS ARMS

• Akpene 11 years ago

Things fall apart the center cannot hold.Rest in perfect peace.

• MADZIA 11 years ago

RIP OGA

• tt 11 years ago

Yes, today things have really fallen apart and the centre could not hold. may he rest in peace

• SAMMY 11 years ago

Why should this great man die when a fool and idiot like sir john is still alive?

• Kiki 11 years ago

A true legend. Rest in Peace

• Conventional Youth. 11 years ago

RIPP

• Conventional Youth. 11 years ago

Sorry for my typo

• KATH 11 years ago

Rest in perfect Peace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• jul 11 years ago

The center can no longer hold

• Naa 11 years ago

"The lizard that fell from the high Iroko tree said i will praise myself if no one else would do". This is a quote from "Things Fall Apart' Mr. Achebe, I salute you! You made some of us enjoy literature to the max. Thanks an ...

• ghanaman 11 years ago

May The Doyen of African novelists rest in Peace.

• Mends. The Lone Ranger. 11 years ago

The mighty has fallen. Achebe was the best African novilist. May his soul rest in perfect peace.

• just 11 years ago

A great light has been taken from the world.Indeed, death is the greatest leveler.To the bereaved, I say, "TIME WILL HEAL"

• Akoben 11 years ago

We shall always respect this intellectual African giant. It's a pity he died when many of the African countries are continuously falling apart big time. Rest in peace our dear brother.

• Abongo Awuni 11 years ago

Rest in perfect peace ACHEBE

• Evans 11 years ago

SORRY OOO DADDY ACHEBE !. MAY THE LORD KEEP YOU IN HIS ARMS, AND GRANT THEE, ETERNAL REST ... AMEN !!!

• MONKWEIKU 11 years ago

A great african,indeed.Farewell,sir!!!!

• Aretha 11 years ago

He was indeed great
    He stood tall above others
    But Soyinka may not agree
    He was the father of African literature
    His captivating and amusing style of writing skills held the reader captive
    Several times I was in his bond ...

• Zangina 11 years ago

A mighty one has fallen. The greatest of the great African Writers. He must be honoured by the whole of Africa and indeed the World. May your great soul rest in perfect peace

• Eagle eye 11 years ago

I am really saddaned that our father is gone. May he humble soul rest in peace. I use this opportunity to thank Chinua Achebe for his literary works which transformed some of us from little village boys to the intelectuals th ...

• Sikamanba 11 years ago

Now the center cannot hold..

• FOYOOSIS 11 years ago

So, Chinua Achebe, the greatest IROKO TREE of African literature has fallen.

This time,try as he did, the centre could not hold, but the literary legacy left behind is historical. He makes you read,read and want to read mo ...

• Balawo President 11 years ago

A noble African son indeed; your legacy to the literate world would always be remembered.

• BLACK STAR-COAST 11 years ago

THIS COMING NEWS HAS COME TO GIVE ME A
    HEART-SICK-NESS,ALTHOUGH,ALREADY,AM A
    HYPERTENSION PACIENT,YOU HAVE LEFT A
    BIG VACUUM AMONG OUR MIST,I AND OTHER
    COMRADES STILL REMEMBERS YOU,AS STILL A
    REY,AMONG THE AFRICAN-WRITER ...

• Abna Yeboah 11 years ago

he was a man who contributed greatly to the lives of others through his literature.

• Kwame Addo 11 years ago

Honourable, you are gone to the creator but your work remains on this earth ti eternity. Damirifa due, Rest in perfect peace. Amen

• Show 11 years ago

The Epilogue would be the same as The Prologue to Things Fall Apart"

"Turning and turning in the widening gyre.
    The falcon cannot hear the falconer.
    Things fall apart, the centre cannot hold.
    And mere anarchy is loosed ...

• DEDE 11 years ago

A GREAT SON OF THE WORLD

• Sikamanba 11 years ago

May he rest in perfect peace.Africa has lost a very great gift.I endeavored to read every book of his.Such profound wisdom in his writings.My eyes cann't hold the tears I will have to go.

• John Kofi Annan 11 years ago

The skies of Africa have turned dark, no more cries of the birds, no more wind blowing, there is total silence on the soil of Africa. A great Oak has fallen, no more resting place for birds, bats, squirrels, etc. No more shel ...

• Kojo Yankah 11 years ago

He gave light to African literature. May all Africa give him a deserved place in their Monuments. A special place in Africa Hall of Fame.

• ghanaman 11 years ago

How moving that a true master, formidable innovator and an indefatigable fighter for progress of Kojo Yankah's stature should write these soothing words. The man did indeed give light to African literature and Kojo fought -an ...

• KWABENA DANKWA 11 years ago

Truly things have now fallen apart. May his soul rest in peace. Chinua Achebe will forever be remembered for his contribution to the development of literature.

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

This one true African! His legacy will live on unlike those of the political thievery class! May your soul rest in eternal peace.

• KOFI SEI 11 years ago

I VOTED NDC,BUT I KNOW THEY ARE NOT BETTER THAN NPP. NPP IS NOT BETTER THAN NDC EITHER. THEY ARE ONE.

YES, THIS ACHEBE'S LEGACY WOULD HOLD, STOLEN MONEY WOULD WITHER AWAY LIE DUST IN THE WIND.

ACEBE, DAMIRIFA DUE !

• Son of Africa 11 years ago

Things fall apart and the center cannot hold.I left Ghana wednesday night to Germany,on my way from Kumasi to Accra,the trafic slowed down and many children with heavy loads on their head rushed to sell what they were carryin ...

• Ato H. 11 years ago

Thank you my brother for doing what you did for that poor girl. It is sad that in a nation called Ghana not many care. Those who benefit the most in the system have given up on Ghana and that explains why steal brazenly and h ...

• Efia 11 years ago

Rest in Peace

We shall always remember Okonko

• PINK BLUE 11 years ago

HE WAS ONE OF THE BEST AFRICAN WRITERS. MAY HE REST IN PEACE

• YAA KUSI 11 years ago

May his soul rest in peace. My greatest fan

• Tina 11 years ago

May your gentle soul rest in the bosom of the lord. You have been a source of inspiration, matured and grew talents all over the world and your name will forever remain in our hearts. We love you but god loves u more

• Titugri 11 years ago

The great Achebe always get me thinking about the dilemma of Africans living in the diaspora. Things fall apart in Africa but no longer at ease here in the diaspora.

"We returned to our places, these
    Kingdoms,
    But no lo ...

• ddk 11 years ago

May he rest in heaven

• ddk 11 years ago

No one can replace this noble writer in Africa. He is the only known African Writer in the western libraries

• Peter 11 years ago

Africa has really got talents.May his soul rests in perfect peace.

• ghanaba 11 years ago

things fall apart, you have served your generation. i hope you were saved.

• Kofi 11 years ago

Prof, rest in peace. Your contribution to African literature will leave on.

• oyinasky 11 years ago

You have played your part.And very well too.This the way of all flesh( apologies to dr. johnson)
    Adieu Chinua.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 11 years ago

Our men are fallen,Mindarus is dead.

• John 11 years ago

Rest in peace

• Ato H. 11 years ago

I am a "Man of the People" who is "No longer at ease" because "Things fall apart". These are books I read in my teen years. How apt these titles stringed together are even in these times and indeed a shame to us as Africans a ...

• yusif ibrahim 11 years ago

A great man has indeed fallen.

• John 11 years ago

Good bye Prof.

• John 11 years ago

Good man

• Topalbert 11 years ago

This great son of Mother Africa will always be our hearts.

• BENNEH, The Netherlands 11 years ago

1.'A tree is measured best when it is down'
    2.'A man who pays respect to the great paves the way for his own greatness'
    3.'The bird says since men have learnt to shoot without missing, it has also learnt to fly without perc ...

• kwame wiredu 11 years ago

the most creative African by far. an inspiration to young talents.
    fare well prof.

• Ghanaboy 11 years ago

Prof. rest in perfect peace in the arms of your maker. You have faithfully contributed your bit to making this world a better place to live.

• Osofo Kwabena 11 years ago

If things were falling apart back in the 70s when l first encountered your book, things have now really fallen apart the world over
    A literary icon gone to be with God
    Rest in peace

• Tizee Michael 11 years ago

Oh father, son of the great soil
    What shall we tell your grandsons
    That you have really fallen,
    That the arrow of God
    Or the anthills have fallen on you,
    The man of the people?
    Indeed, we are no longer at ease
    But I ...

• Tizee Michael 11 years ago

Adea yeme o o
    Ah! Ah!! Why
    Lan na? lan na?
    Hmm! I can't
    Bere bere wo
    Say Allah

• okukuseku 11 years ago

If i hold her hand she says don't touch, If i hold her hand she says dont touch, But when i hold her waist beads she pretends not to know"
    -Chinua Achebe

• George Hanslin 11 years ago

Like Ghana,"the land of Obosa is notoriously an each for himself and God for us all". Chinua Achebe. Rest in perfect peace.

• me 11 years ago

mere Anarchy is loose upon the world

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Chinua Achebe deserves all the accolades heaped on him.

He was not only a gifted and talented writer, a story-teller par excellence, he was a social commentator and critic, a freedom fighter who used the pen to expose the ...