God has his part,if the President can`t lead us with truth and continue to lie.Then nobody including his wife would respect the Presidency.
Ewusi 12 years ago
They keep changing their story.And they call him Ghana`s Obama.
STOP WORK NOW 12 years ago
Couldn't the pastors use Skype (in between power cuts)?
KKK 12 years ago
MAHAMAH LYING TO GHANA?
BLUE SAINT 12 years ago
This is all about the seperation of church and state. Sponsors = WAYOME!!!
KOFI SEI 12 years ago
KUFFUOR BOUGHT DOG CHAINS FOR HIMSELF, NOW MAHAMA THIS.
TerriblY Spe cifiC 12 years ago
WHAT FOR? WHO PUSHES "SOLI" INTO DAILY GUIDE WRITERS' POCKETS? THE TRIP WILL COME ON LIVE.
me bro 12 years ago
WHAT DID HE USED THE CHURCH MONEY FOR
WE CHURCHMEMBERS WONT TO KNOW NOW
Mahmoud 12 years ago
The sponsor who would pay the cost for the trip is ME and YOU. He will never mention t he mysterious sponsor. He is the mysterious sponsor acting on behalf of Ghanaians.
pachiko 12 years ago
You kidding me. Calling Mahatma, Obama. Are you guys really serious and what a heck is that. Do these people knows what they are talking about. In what sense, in what declaim, in what capacity do these people compare Mahatma to Obama. I just dont get it. Do these knows what they are saying or just turned blind eye to what's hapenning in the country or they have lost their sense or reasoning in that they are NDC supporters. I mean, comparing Mahatma who has no sense of reasoning, not SMART, don't have the Country Ghana at heart, dont even know how to govern with a population of about 30 million. To be candid if what is happening here in Ghana were to be happened in United States of America, Obama would have been impeached and remove from office. There is rule of law in Ghana, the society doesn't function as a country, the government care less about the country and its people as a whole and acting with impunity and arrogant disrespecting the entire population for they the NDC government is in power and can act any how. Comparing Mahatma to Obama, Obama did not rigg votes, Obama did not steel 1.5 tons of Ghana Gold, Obama will not sit by and allow Ghana's health care be in jeopardy, Obama will allow his citizens die of starvation, Obama will not electricity allergies and water shortages hit his country so hard that people are dying everyday, Obama will not sponsor pastors at the expense of tax payers when people are dying of flooding; the list goes on and on. Don't you dare compare Mahama who has no vision to Obama who has Americans at heart and has vision for his country for Obama is a great President in charge of the world greatest country on earth. Our President in every aspect of the game of politics, vision, love for his country, decision making etc can never never be compared to Obama. Period.
Adams 12 years ago
The reign of the Ntafuors has began, and Ghanaians should gird themselves and reap the whirlwind. Hail to the peppefuors!!
CARDINAL 12 years ago
Rev. Martey does not speak like a man of God. "I will not have anything to do with gays". As a man of God, that sounds really hateful and if he believes gays are sinners according to the Bible, it is the gays who need salvation and not the righteous people.
Jesus was sent to Earth by God to safe sinners like homosexuals and if Martey is doing the will of God but will not have nothing to do with sinners(homosexuals), then he has lost his calling and an embarrassement to the Presbyterian faith. As a moderator of the Presbyterian Church, Rev. Martey seems not to understand the Bible very well.
Dr. Blankson 12 years ago
It is the sick people who need Doctors and in the same breath, iit is sinners who need Pastors not Angels so if the Moderator of the Presbyterian church is not willing to deal with sinners, then he is in the wrong profession.
Cardinal, Reverend Martey has lost his Bible .
KKK 12 years ago
...AND THE TRUE CLERGY LIKE THE PRESBY AND CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT.
THE STOMACH CLERGY WANT THE PRESIDENT TO BECOME A VISA CONTRACTOR.
Rans F 12 years ago
Does the gay community consider homosexuality as a sin? NO! If so, why should Rev Martey want to have anything to do with them? We need brave men of GOD like Rev Martey to preserve the sanctity of the Bible. Thieves, adulterers, fornicators and all those who are guilty of other social vices do acknowledge their SINFUL nature and most of them make a conscious effort to repent! Can the same be said about homosexuals? A marauding gay community that has changed the meaning of everything under the sun, including MARRIAGE, criticising a man of GOD? Leave the Man of GOD alone, you faggots!
Frank 12 years ago
Whether the gay community considers it as a sin or not is immaterial. The Bible says so and you don't need to get the acknowledgedment of homosexuals
You don't know what you are talking about. Do you know the story of Jesu ... read full comment
Whether the gay community considers it as a sin or not is immaterial. The Bible says so and you don't need to get the acknowledgedment of homosexuals
You don't know what you are talking about. Do you know the story of Jesus telling a group that, who have never sinned to throw the first stone? You are driven by hate and no Christian is taught to hate somebody because of their sins.
Rans F 12 years ago
I doubt whether you have a Bible! Grab yourself a copy and read it very well! If I'm driven by hate to talk against homosexuality, what are you driven by to call me homophobic? Get off my back you Faggot!
ABU 12 years ago
The problem is that you don't know what christianity entails. The church does not teach hate. If you have not sinned in your life, then start killing all sinnersa you come across. You have the brain the size of an an ant so you have problem processing what is being said here. Nobody is defending homosexuals and the way you are waving your flag, you might be a sald tosser hiding behind hate. Homosexuality as the Bible tells us is a sin and those who practice it are sinners who need redemption like the rest of us who are sinners in other areas. It is the sick people that need Doctors and not the healthy people. Pastors are there to counsel sinners to stop sinning, you worthless and waSTED SPERM.
Rans F 12 years ago
A sick person can only get help if he admits that he is sick! You reason like fool! I hate nobody, you warped-brain faggot! I am a sinner and I always admit my sinful nature; that is the only way I can receive salvation. I do not go out to force people to accept what I do that is sinful! Me a wasted sperm? Hahahahahaha! You can't even tell whether you are a man or woman; a He or a She! I pity the womb that carried you for nine months! Get off my back, you demon of a faggot! And go for an HIV test, you pampers-wearing worthless faggot!
Frank 12 years ago
Moderator Martey is typical of what Ghana has become, we don't seem to know what our job duties are. The President is more interested in acting as a visa contractor instead as a President. It is a sad day in Ghana when a head of a church like Presby says he doesn't want anything to do with gays.
YAW 12 years ago
YOU DONT KNOW WHAT U ARE SAYING WHY SHOULD WE ALLOW GAYS TO SPONSOR PASTORS
Mr Mister 12 years ago
Idiot, who said we should allow gays to sponsor Pastors? Martey is not talking about sponsorship. He said he doesn't want anything to do with them. If you don't want gays to sponsor the Pastors, do you want thieves and armed robbers or a thief like Woyome to sponsor them? Go and grow brains.
OBIBA-JUDAS 12 years ago
MAHAMA WANT KILL ALL THE GHANA PASTORS
Rans F 12 years ago
Homosexuality shall never be allowed to thrive in Ghana! If you are on the payroll of any gay movement to do their bidding in Ghana, kindly ask them to take your name off their list!! You will never succeed, aunty Franklina. Are you a male or a female? The confused bunch rather think they are civilised.
ABU 12 years ago
You are a fool. You are not going to get rid of homosexuality in Ghana if the Pastors failed to do their job by counselling them to stop their lifestyle. Do you think the homosexuals will just stop without getting treatment? You seem not to understand the issue here. Nobody is defending the homosexuals but to get rid of it, we need our Pastors and Psychiatrists to treat them, FOOL.
Rans F 12 years ago
Listen to this warped-brain IDIOT! Come out with your stupidity, you demonic FAGGOT! Go to your masters and preach your stupidity to them you son of SATAN!
GODSON 12 years ago
CARDINAL, PLEASE TELL US, WHAT DID GOD DO TO THE GAYS OF SODOM AND GOMORA? HE BURNT THEM. PLEASE READ YOUR BIBLE AND KNOW THAT JESUS NEVER SAID ANYWHERE THAT HE CAME FOR GAYS AND LESBIANS WHO HAVE JOINED SATAN IN TURNING GOD'S DECISIONS AND INTENTIONS UPSIDE DOWN.
Boagyaa Appiah-Kubi,Connecticut. 12 years ago
Expect a quarter of these so-called pastors to bolt away when they arrive in Jerusalem to seek greener pastures.
KKK 12 years ago
SO SO SAD
SO SO SAD
KWAKU 12 years ago
GODSON,ARE WE CHRISTIANS OR ARE WE OF THE JEWISH FAITH?
Ben 12 years ago
Jesus never said anywhere either that he came for murderers, rapists, thief's, child molesters but he came to save sinners and if you think homosexuality is a sin, then Jesus came for them too. You fools need to learn your Bible because if murderers can get salvation, gays too can get salvation in the sight of God.
Rans F 12 years ago
Over 90 pct of you faggots will NEVER accept the fact that homosexuality is a sin! Where will the salvation come from when to you, homosexuality is not just a way of life but the new civilisation that every country under the sun must condone? Who are the fools here? You, whose brain is warped to the extent that you can have sexual attraction for a person of the same sex or those who frown on such abnormality? Are you serious or you are just sick in the head? I pity you!
WHO 12 years ago
Idiot, people like you with inferiority complex are usually the homosexuals trying to cover your tracks with homophobic idiocy. Nobody is defending homosexuality here as right but some of us see this as a sin that needs the help of these same Pastors to counsel these people to stop doing and if you asshole fails to see the wisdom in this, then you are a dumbell. Jesus did not come to bEarth to safe the righteous but the sinners, you smelly moronic fool.
Rans F 12 years ago
Stay wherever you are with your stupidity and your new way of life! I am a proud homophobe, if that is your definition! Not even Jesus Christ can save you faggots with your entrenched position. Go for an HIV/AIDS test, you diaper-wearing IDIOT!
SGT ANANI FIADZOE 12 years ago
Dramani Mahama is the most deceit, dishonest, a liar, thief and incompetent president Ghana has ever
seen in our country, what were are
saying is this until Mahama gives up
such position he stole from Nana Akuffo Addo, our ... read full comment
Dramani Mahama is the most deceit, dishonest, a liar, thief and incompetent president Ghana has ever
such position he stole from Nana Akuffo Addo, our nation's level of progress will never be achieved.
Mahama should just go and leave Ghana
for those who are credible and honest enough to administer this nation
because Ghana is doomed under these
NDC monkeys.
Mahama can bring Jesus into Ghana, if
he refuse to give up power to Nana as
the majority people of this country
are hoping for, Ghana will contious
sink like belgrano on high seas.
anna 12 years ago
there is no more truth in the vocabs of our leaders !!!!!!
KWAKU 12 years ago
PLEASE HAVE SOME RESPECT FOR THE OFFICE OF A PRESIDENT AND FOR YOUR FELLOW CITIZENS
president gude 12 years ago
the money is from a gay association
ADABRAKA 12 years ago
This is a serious case which the govt should not involve itself whatsoever, whether facilitating or otherwise. Looking at the fragile nature of our country Govt has to be really serious in taking decisions in general.
GHANABA1 12 years ago
LIES WILL CUT US DOWN ALL THE TIME.THE CARETAKER IS TALKING DIFFERENT WHILST THE PASTORS ARE ALSO SAYING A DIFFERENT THING ALL TOGETHER.WHERE ON EARTH WILL YOU GO SIGHT SEEING WHEN YOUR PEOPLE ARE DYING OF THIRST,HUNGER AND SLEEPING IN THE DARK? COMMON SENSE.ALL WHAT THE NDC GOVERNMENT IS TRYING TO DO IS TO COMPENSATE SOME PASTORS FOR THE INSULTS THEY RAISED ON THEM BEFORE THE DEC.ELECTIONS.I TELL U WHAT,GOD HAS ALREADY SHOWED THE NDC RED CARD AND THERE IS NO TURNING BACK.NO ONE CAN CHANGE GOD'S DECISION.WE SHALL SEE VERY SOON!!!
Gigi 12 years ago
Thanks for the position of the Catholic church and others on this issue. God is everywhere and there is no need to go to Israel to pray.
Unfortunately, I am sure some pastors have already started packing their bags for the j ... read full comment
Thanks for the position of the Catholic church and others on this issue. God is everywhere and there is no need to go to Israel to pray.
Unfortunately, I am sure some pastors have already started packing their bags for the jolly ride.
CASTLE BOY 12 years ago
A MONTH AGO A FAKE NDC PASTOR TOLD ME MAHAMA WILL BE SENDING THEM TO ISREAL
nipa 12 years ago
God is everywhere we can do the prayers in ghana n God will still hear
ABRAMPA 12 years ago
The devils in the NDC are literally asking the pastors to turn stones into bread. Wicked party!!!!
AKAN 12 years ago
THIS IDIOT WITH THE NAME MAHAMA=MOHAMED THINKS HE CAN FOCK UP WITH OUR GHANAIAN INTERLLIGENCE? ABOABA TANI!
Observer 12 years ago
Our leaders are such childish entities, so they continue to think that we are all fools. The President was bold enough to step into the fray by claiming that the proposed trip is being sponsored by private do-gooders, but why did he not end the debate by declaring the identities of these entities? it is like he has rather started a sentence, and has taken a long pause and is waiting for a lady journalyst to finish her question before he comes up with the final clause of his sentence. This has always been the way our mis-leaders behave. It has never occurred to them that half truths never survive the test of time.
Kwaku Ananse collected all the wisdom in the world in a bottle and decided to climb a tall tree to hang the bottle so that he would be the only wise man in the world. In his wisdom, in order to keep an eye on his precious catch, Kwaku hanged the bottle dangling in front of his body as he tried to climb the tree - and if you have ever stolen Opanin Yaw Nsiah's oranges in the night, you will know that even descending a tree with your cloth full of a dozen oranges dangling on you belly is a difficult chore, let alone climbing the tree in that fashion. It was a little school boy who saved the day by advising: "Agya Ananse, why don't you hang the bottle behind you?" Our leaders are so senselessly inhumane that over the years it has always taken the intervention of poachers such as Kutu and Jerry to save our day! Be wise, Mr President. Your pronouncement about the pastors' intended free trip is childish and unbecoming of a whole president of the People's Republic of Ghana.
AKAN 12 years ago
THIS CORRUPT MAHAMA THINKS HE CAN BRIBE HIS WAY ALL THE TIME!
k. baah 12 years ago
President Manama must call Mr Afari gyan to change the economic situation in Ghana in his as usual.
SIYABIA 12 years ago
I am really surprised that the Presidency shd stoop so low and forget of solving dum sor and water crises and rather seek to engage in visa racketeering. It is a shame to the Presidency.
As for Rev Martey and his stand on ga ... read full comment
I am really surprised that the Presidency shd stoop so low and forget of solving dum sor and water crises and rather seek to engage in visa racketeering. It is a shame to the Presidency.
As for Rev Martey and his stand on gays, I believe he is more proactive that reactive. Good day
DUUT 12 years ago
since when have these men of God come to the realization that there are hardships in Ghana? are they not the same men of God who are robbing poor church members and enjoying life. they should drop the double standards
Antoinette 12 years ago
For those of you who don't know this the are NGO'S in Ghana now taking huge sums of money to push the gay agenda. As individuals I don't think gay people should be hated it is their practice of same sex marriages and what nots that's problematic. I agree that these pastors should request the source of funding. And I guarantee that we will all be amazed.
osofo 12 years ago
ei ndc de asem beba ghana ooo. i smell blood in ghana, i smell blood in ghana. ghaians stop the childish paly with ndc and mahama and enter into prayers because, there is a cry of blood shed, those blood that were shed for polirical gains by a certain corupt politicians in the last elctions are crying for vengeance. unless ghaians really pray, there is blood shed ahead of ghana.
No Fears 12 years ago
This trip has Andrew Solomon written all over it. Otherwise why is the government going to such great lengths to keep the identity of the sponsor a secret? The NDC govert under Mahama has clearly lost its way.
mike 12 years ago
if i sponsor some one, i know what i need as a result of that. so i disagree with the bishop when he says the government should channel the money to another field. will that field be in the interest of the sponsors? besides what advise did they offer when the mission hospitals pull-out of heath insurance, God is watching us all.
Jesse 12 years ago
Since when does a Gov. involves it self in sending priest to Isreal?.... If they want to go to Isreal they should let their congregation pay like they been doing for all these time...What next?... Sending Imams to Mecca?.Or, oh! Vodoo priest to Benin and Haiti?
mills blood hunting mahama 12 years ago
OH MAHAMA ANIMGUASE AKWAABA,SHAME ON YOU,HUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
Adjoa 12 years ago
Dear president, I voted for you bcos, I saw you as more humane and understandingthan the rest of the flag bearers but, but am beginning to loose interest in you. You were born in Ghana, travelled and well read than the Gold coast ones. Why do you want to turn the presidency into a religious battle grounds ... Christians, Moslem, African religions etc. It will not serve any purpose to you or the country as it is a controversial issue. It has not worked anywhere in the world when the two are combined and especially africa. Our so called men of god are just like me and you, yet they are loosing respect faster than armed robbers. FAITH is an individual believe and acceptance of God is part of us humans. Please let us see you working better than this comic canta Mecca/ Israel pilgrimages putting monies into their economies. Nana was there but lost to you. Aliu went to mecca but did not win the npp race. God has not designated any particular country to be the only place on earth for special prayers and blessings. It is hardworking and decisive decisions that promotes growth with Gods blessings. Rwanda is doing well with plastic elimination not just lip service. You are becoming a laughing stock all around. Get out of it before it gets out of hand. Belief system from generation is individual thing not combined and order from government.Let your light shine by your deeds than going to Mecca or Israel. Filth has surrounded the city with open gutters, weedy surroundings, dirty markets and hospital, filthy ministries that have become partly market and restaurant etc. Let us see the better Ghana in a better way than this. Hope someone will pass on this to the president. Please do not be fooled by present day money grabbing, mind twisting, suit wearing pastors who seeks their self interest above their flocks
imoyana 12 years ago
Adjoa, thanks for your comments, I hope it gets passed on to the prez. Any time I read or hear things like this I ask the question are there no wise men in Ghana any more? All this money to be wasted for what? My heart bleeds.
Amen 12 years ago
"Hope someone will pass on this to the president. Please do not be fooled by present day money grabbing, mind twisting, suit wearing pastors"
(Adjoa) Your advice good. If our President cant see these simple MISTAKES and c ... read full comment
"Hope someone will pass on this to the president. Please do not be fooled by present day money grabbing, mind twisting, suit wearing pastors"
(Adjoa) Your advice good. If our President cant see these simple MISTAKES and correct then we are in trouble. Who is the LEADER? WHO IS IN CHAGE OF THE COUNTRY THEN? WHO IS THE TEACHER AND WHO IS THE STUDENT? THE BRAIN OR THE EYE?
MANKIND 12 years ago
Jesus walked to places to preach...I want this big stomach pastors to walk to this Israel trip if they really are men of God.....n have the Nation @ heart
THE TRUTH 12 years ago
Oh Prez Mahama,ur days are numbered in the flagstaff HOUSE.
BISAGOMA 12 years ago
FAST AND PRAY FOR ARMED ROBBERS CONDEMNED TO DEATH ? OR AGAINST THOSE RUNNING OUR COUNTRY DOWN ?
Abongo Awuni 12 years ago
Isreal is not holier than Ghana yet we voted and Mahama was decleared the winner. It was not... Isealites who voted him nor who decleared him the winner.It therefore the responsibility of the entire citizenry to pray to get Ghana better
Scaro 12 years ago
God is everywhere.Pastors don't have to go to Israel before they can play for Ghana. God is in Ghana and will hear our prayers. It is a shame that i times like this where many people making it tough, money from an unknown source is being used to sponsor unworthy trips. Ghanaian Pastors are not fools to accept this offer. Oh Mr. President! it is so disappointing to hear that you are helping organising this trip. Use that money wisely for schools, health,the disable. Use the money for road signs to reduce accidents on our roads.Use the money to educate people how to live healthy lifestyle so that when someone dies of heart attack or diabetes we will not attribute it to witches or Juju.
John Kpeglo 12 years ago
Terrible!
Terrible!
Barima Yaw 12 years ago
true
true
Kwaku 12 years ago
Look at these so pastors. Dubios as they are, they are making noise about a trip to the Holy land. Is it not time we start to tax churches? These pastors are in lucrative business.
DEDE 12 years ago
MAHAMA LISTEN TO THE PEOPLE
silk 12 years ago
Sad story, The president should have asked the whole ministers/pastors in Ghana to organise a power pack prayer crusade for the nation rather than trafficking them accross the oceans. This would have worked effectively than sending such women and me of God on payer mission. This truely shows how the presiden tunderstands "faith" God is everwhere Mr. President. |Trips like that should not be sponsored by the government anymore. It's a religious historical place which should be purely visited by individual or church groups only.
Paa ekow 12 years ago
the innitial communicatn was govt has secuired funding... now is like govt has obtained sponsors yet the sponsors wont be named even thou the pastors wants to knw them. if pastors were the ones writing to the govt about the difficulties in secuiring travelling dorcuments to their various pilgrims,do the soln lies in secuiring sponsorship.soo doesnt the govt knw that a cathlic will prefer going to rome than jerushalem? and there are others with their own various places they prefer to go for their pilgrimes?why shd the govt be the organisor with govt letter heads but nt leting the christian bodies deal with their own fund, organise things themselves and give u a copy of their report and to that of the sponsors if u claims its purely privite sponsored?.when did ghana govt become travel and tour agency?
Afor 12 years ago
President Mahama, sometimes I do not understand you. You are too liberal. Why do you have to involve yourself in this? can't they pray in Ghana? You are embarrassing we in the NDC. Take a cue from Prez Mills. You cannot please everyone. Prayer, Prayer, Prayer without checking the people around you and those in the MDAs will not help. Be Sharp, Be Smart, you are becoming too loose, Aba!!!!!!!
C.Y. ANDY-K 12 years ago
That these people in power are confused about what a modern govt, esp. one from an LDC like Ghana besieged with a number of crises, shld be doing is beyond doubt. That they shld spend the first few months in power soliciting funds from private sponsors, assuming that is true which I don't think is the case, clearly shows how misplaced their priorities are! And they don't seem to be getting it, in the midst of the total uproar against their stupid action!
Private sponsors and lobbyists come with their own baggage. No govt shld position itself to be in debt to such vultures, as President Mahama is doing with eyes opened, if it is indeed true that such contacts have been made! But the whole shadowy nature of the thing stinks to the high heavens! Anonymous sponsors of a church programme! What are they hiding??
Besides, we had heard of private sponsorship of trips to football matches in Abidjan, S. Africa, extensions to Kuffour's house, his Kuffour's "donation" of vehicles to the NPP which the party was later being chased to paid for, something Prof. Ayittey used to write his "Moon Shines Brightly ..." piece; and all of this turn up to be hoaxes!
President Mahama, please, please, please stop this nonsense and save our sanity. I wrote in my "Staying in the Frying Pan" article that you should not follow Mills lame and backward Christianisation of the Castle but this is not to be! See where it has landed you! Perhaps, I've to write Part 2 of "The Legacy of Mills" I have shelved for a long time, now that he had been interred with the good that he did.
Andy-K
SIYABIA 12 years ago
Andy-K, that was a nice comment and I will love to read your Legacy of Mills.
Ha det.
Ha det.
C.Y. ANDY-K 12 years ago
"... which the party was later being chased to PAY for,...."
C.Y. ANDY-K 12 years ago
I wrote this way back in December. The issues raised are even more relevant than then, as they unfold and it is becoming clear President Mahama has embarked on a journey fraught with controversy and chicanery. Unfortunately, he won't be enjoying the 100 days peace all newly elected heads are supposed to enjoy. He has himself to blame.
-----------------
STAYING IN THE FRYING PAN…
The majority of Ghanaian voters, wisely or unwisely (only time will tell), have decided to stay in the frying pan of the NDC, albeit with a new, and hopefully, a better chef in charge; rather than attempt to jump from it and end up in the fiery inferno an obviously unreformed and unrepentant NPP might turn out to be. Yes, one must allow for the possibility that, regardless of allegations of drugs use or leaving Oxford under still cloudy conditions and all that “all-die-be-die”, “ye Akanfo” bravado nonsense in furtherance of the Akan Agenda launched by JB Danquah decades ago, and ably exploited by Busia and the PP in 1969 - posited on a presumed “Akan” “majoritifo” (always an “Asante” or an Akyem) that must “rule by law” and “democratically” the “minoritifo,” often defined as “Ewe” - (I don’t know where they get their census data from), Nana could have been something else in office, in an attempt to leave a clean and laudable legacy, after having had it all and done that! But that's all water going under the bridge now, as I don’t believe that the ongoing challenge the NPP is mounting against the election results will lead to the overturning of the announced verdict. If they could not clearly defeat a fragmented and very fractious NDC at the polls and expect the Supreme Court, which former President Kufuor had stuffed with pro-NPP judges sympathetic to his agenda to nail Tsatsu Tsikata, to hand over the Presidency to them with one of their dubious decisions, they better think twice. Ghanaians have been suffering enough gargantuan financial losses thanks to our heavily compromised and unlearned judges who think they are agents of vested interests, not the protectors of the rights of the tax payers or electorate who pay their salaries!
For once, I am much baffled by their (NPP) claims, just as I am confused with the handling of the Waterville Mafioso orchestrated Woyome case as something Woyome single-handedly engineered and executed for his personal benefit by even the dim-wit opponents of the NDC. This, in spite of Woyome himself issuing a statement specifying how the booty was shared, with Waterville even taking him to court for taking too much for his “expenses”!
Anyway, digression aside, all the political parties got the same Blue or Red Print or whatever results prints from the polling and collation centres and by now, one would have expected at least someone to corroborate the allegations made by the NPP. Or, there is a deadly conspiracy of silence by the other parties in collusion with the NDC and the EC to cheat the NPP of its prematurely declared victory by my former Mensah Sarbah “Okponglo” roommate, Sir John? I think it’d be a waste of time indulging in speculative analysis as to what might have happened, in the absence of any hard facts from the NPP. But since writing the foregoing, the CPP Chairwoman Samia Nkrumah had issued a statement in which she was silent on the allegations of cheating. I excoriated her for the singular irrelevancy of the CPP in even addressing the most pressing and critical issue facing us at the moment. The PPP too had issued a statement which I wrote off as a load of bollocks, for its bloody-minded vacuity. I think I have to find time to deal with the pathetic leaders of the Nkrumahist tradition derived parties who have managed to worked themselves into delusional nincompoops and comic reliefs in the electoral process in Ghana.
No doubt, with the NDC retained in power with a different President whose dynamism as Vice to the late Mills made him appear more presidential than the late President, we should expect a more pro-active rule. But many Ghanaians, especially the about 5-10% floating voters, I believe, gauging from conversations with many people, did not vote for him in order to allow business to proceed as usual. They chose what they consider the lesser of two devils, with an internal exorcist in the person of Rawlings, in spite of having worked himself into an embarrassing, old albatross that thinks he is a dragon, always breathing fire and brimstone in the bid to get rid of the devil within. So, they think there is some hope for us in the hands of the NDC under affable President Mahama, who should not be punished for the obvious failings of the late President Mills.
And if his actions in response to reported cases of abuse of office since being sworn in as President were not just knee-jerk reactions and gimmicks in the heat of the elections, then we hope to see a more serious handling of the endemic corruption and lawlessness in and under the outgoing regime. Even though he was an integral part of the outgoing regime, we are aware that he was at the receiving end of the barbs of the “babies with sharp teeth,” and the “evil dwarfs” were closing in on him too, and so should know what was unwholesome in the previous regime. At least, one garrulous kingpin, Koku Anyidoho, has since publicly confessed a new found humility since JM assumed the Presidency.
Of course, having shown us that he also knew how to bring the pork home to his own people through the almost total amassing of those scholarships to study abroad for candidates from northern Ghana, some of them clearly unjustified - whatever is the porous justification - his hands are not so clean. For, some of us are not going to rest on our oars in combating the lawlessness and the corruption that has become characteristic of our body politic. President Mahama should therefore not expect a rosy time in office if he expects business to continue as usual once he is sworn in. And sworn in, he’d be, whatever the NPP does. I hope they (NPPians) have not become delusional like my ex-Nkrumahist comrades.
Just like many people who will be presenting their Christmas lists and New Year wishes to President Mahama, I would like to present him with my own list. I don’t have any hamper for him. It was a tough year so I have instituted an austerity.
Paramount to me is the need to curb drastically the endemic corruption and lawlessness in the country. I had already sent out an open letter to him on a more personal issue which is awaiting attention. I certainly therefore do not expect him to allow the continuation of the use of the Police by one side in a dispute, whether it is a chieftaincy or debt fracas, to harass and abuse the freedom and rights of the other party. And I certainly do not expect the Police, the Customs and Excise personnel and public officials, to continue the graft they presently indulge in with reckless abandon without taking any punitive action against the recalcitrant elements on the public’s payroll.
Second on my list is bringing out the social in the claimed social democracy of the NDC. This is what shall create the industries and the jobs which are critically needed in the country. With the Rawlings factor, which is undoubtedly populist and right-wing, drown, we expect to see unfolding the left of centre which represents the Nkrumahist tradition the NDC has clearly captured. I personally do not expect much in that direction but the NDC must wake up to the fact that even the NPP in office was more to the left in its socio-economic policies than them, even though the political rhetoric of the NPP is right-wing, market oriented, private enterprise and property grabbing in practice, by the way!
Thirdly, curb the deadly carnage on our roads. Rein in the police who allow decrepit vehicles to ply our roads and ignore bad driving for what bribes they collect from drivers. This legalised manslaughter on our roads must be stopped!
Fourthly, for heaven’s sake! Ghana is a secular state, not a Christian nation! Keep it as such and leave that God, God, God nonsense which you yourself is a cheerleader, following on the heels of the TB Joshua mesmerised late President Mills, out of the Castle! Some of us who have mentally evolved cosmologically into the scientific, rational world order, leaving behind us the Weberian, primitive substantive rationalisations of our ancestors, find it most annoying and depressing the way God is invoked by pundits of both the NDC and NPP and their fake pastor hirelings in their dubious pursuit of political power. If there is indeed hell, we all know that all of them will burn at its fieriest corner one day, anyway.
Lastly but not the least, review the horrendously unfavourable laws, regulations and intended bill governing the nascent oil sector as a matter of urgency. Ghana is no longer a beggar in the oil sector and we do not need any enticing packages to bring the investors in. They are the ones begging and bribing to come in. Review the laws and the bill or be damned forever! It is your legacy and it is yours to do what you wish it to be afterall!
I wish all Ghanaians a Happy New Year! May your frying pan turn into a rose garden!
Andy C.Y. Kwawukume
cyandyk@ymail.com
DKB 12 years ago
The fire seems to have been turned off but the frying pan will stay hot and we will burn for a very long time.
The first four years of the Mills/Mahama Govt gave me nothing to cheer about and be hopeful for. I wonder wher ... read full comment
The fire seems to have been turned off but the frying pan will stay hot and we will burn for a very long time.
The first four years of the Mills/Mahama Govt gave me nothing to cheer about and be hopeful for. I wonder where Ghana would have been by now had NPP won in 2008 and continued where K4 left off, at least we were heading the right direction although with some challenges.
Mahama has done nothing to convince me in the past 8 months that he can do any better. We will continue coasting till 2016 with a little propaganda here and there to spice things up. If people will be honest with themselves, they will admit that Ghana has gone back 8 years and it will take a visionary and possibly autocratic leader to get us out of this mess. Does NDC really have the men? If yes, where are they? Certainly not this lot.
Rev. NVF Asima 12 years ago
I think the govt just want pastors to have a bit more exposure to back their faith by going on pilgrimage. it is however good to know the supporters so that it will bring any more trouble.
APPIAH KOKLO 12 years ago
THE SPONSORS ARE ANDREW SOLOMON JOHN. GOD DAMN JUDGEMENT DEBT MANAGER!
Boat 12 years ago
Where are the president so-called council of states?
KOFFI 12 years ago
PEOPLE MAY NOT AGREE WITH REV PROF MARTEY BUT HOW DOES HE SPEAK AGAINST HOMOSEXUALITY IF HE ACCEPTS THEIR MONEY FOR A TRIP TO ISRAEL. THE BIBLE IS VERY CLEAR ABOUT HOMOSEXUALITY. IF GOD DESTROYED SODOM AND GOMORAH FOR THAT DISTASTEABLE SIN HOW CAN HIS PEOPLE CONDONE IT. THOSE WHO THINK THEY CAN ACCEPT THEIR MONEY FOR POLITICAL EXPEDIENCY CAN GO AHEAD TO DO SO. GOD WILL ASK THEM ONE DAY
Mr. Oushuuuuu 12 years ago
Do you think homosexuals would sponsor such a trip and have the nerve to approach the Presidency?in any case do we care about their sensibilities if they don't want their identities to be known.If they feel this may be coming from Homosexuals they can refuse the offer and just shut up.
Michael 12 years ago
I think the pastors are right about the disclosure of the sponsors since it might be an evil tricks of the GAYS to win their support may God save Ghana
Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 12 years ago
As a typical Northener,Mahama swears and lies at the same time!Where are the South Korean(STX) houses?This incompetent Prez. must go!
Mr. Oushuuuuu 12 years ago
Why can't some Human Beings be sensitive when it comes to issues concerning others?They should know that some sponsors do not want to be known and it is their right i.e if there are any sponsors.
OBAMA 12 years ago
I THINK PRESDENT MAHAMA SHOULD RESIGN BECAUSE PEOPLE OF GHANA DONT RESPECT HIM AS A PRESIDNET BECAUSE HE STOLE THE ELECTION
Fickle 12 years ago
The evil dat men do will surely live after them.u now want to seek for God's intervention is tooo late be ready for confession.
Mahama is Evil. 12 years ago
NO WONDER I LOVE THE PRESBY CHURCH THIS MUCH. WE STILL HAVE MEN OF INTEGRITY AROUND IN THIS AGE. GOD BLESS GHANA. Mahama can't run from his own Shadows.
GBEJEKE 12 years ago
this is very simple,just tell us the names of the sponsors so we can make a back ground check
Gabriel 12 years ago
WHO ARE THE SAID SPONSORS MR MAHAMA AND HIS GOVT? TRS ARE WITHOUT ACCOMODATION CANT HE FACILITATE THAT TOO?MR MAHAMA COME AGAIN.
Gabriel 12 years ago
SIMPLE QUESTION:IS HE MAHAMA ALSO GOING? IS HIS PRAYERS ANSWERED FROM ISRAEL?WHERE DOES HE PRAY? (DONT CONFUSE US).
PREZZO 12 years ago
IS IS TRUE AZIGIZAA AND SAM KORANCHIE ARE THE GUYS BEHIND THIS ISREAL TRIP. THEY MUST ASK THEMSELVES IF JESUS WOULD DO SAME IN HIS TIME ON EARTH? SHAME ON YOU OLD BOY. DO I REMIND YOU THOUSANDS ARE HOMELESS IN THE NORTH AFTER THE STORM. AM JUST SORRY. JESUS WILL BE SAD HAVING YOU GUYS AS HIS AGENTS
GAZY 12 years ago
cant christians organice them selfs and leave my president alone
Akomea 12 years ago
Greedy Pastors and shameful President
KOFI BONSU 12 years ago
The prez. be lair liar man,clergymen Kudos,you have been guided by the HOLY SPIRIT,keep that spirit up
Concern Ghanian 12 years ago
Mr man they want u to use our moni wisely
Concern Ghanian 12 years ago
By force sponsor? Joro
The Onipaba of Akyem Maase 12 years ago
I commend the men of Jah for exposing the hippocricy of the president right on his face. In deed they must know who is giving them such sponsorship so they do not end up being trapped by gays and lesbians. If they go aheadto take such an offer, their reputation will be tarnished beyound repair. Are wefools at all in Ghanat to listen to such deception from Mahama? Sponsorship for Miss Ghana is even announced on radios and tvs. Why will you conceal God`s advert? evil will perish.
STRAIGHT TALK 12 years ago
Since the Jews rejected Jesus and conived with the Romans to murder him, the glory of God has since departed from Israel. Why do you seek God at a place he cnnot be found? God is here in Ghana through his Spirit as promised by Jesus!!! Don't waste the national cake!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Asante 12 years ago
Dear Rev. Martey you are a man chosen to be a shepherd for Jesus and not for man. Donot champion somethings which are earthly and make pronouncement which would excite the presss and the populance. Be carefull of what you say today for it will be your Achilis heel tomorrow. Why do you chastise gays when as a moderator you have gays and lesbiens packed in your church. Come to your mother church in England and see gays and lesbiens in the FRONT seats. Remenber that gays monies have been part of your salary every month and also most of the trips abroad have also been dented by gay donations. This is the case of the tea kettle saying the pot is black. Since when did you start questioning the gay component of all the millions of donations, both in cash and kind, you receive from abroad. You might need some tutorials from Bishop Joseph Osei Bonsu since you all use the same bible. Moderator Rev. Martey, I DARE YOU TO OPEN ONLY ONE DOOR THIS SUNDAY AT YOUR CHURCH,AND LIKE JESUS, DEMAND YOUR CHURCH MEMBERS TO TOUCH THE BIBLE AND SWEAR THAT THEY HAVE HAD NO ANAL SEX BEFORE AND NEVER EXHIBITED GAY TENDENCIES BEFORE THEY ENTER THE CHURCH. Your guess would as good as mine. Moderator donot play anglic in Africa and dine with gays in Europe an African moderattor indeed. Bye
Martin 12 years ago
The sponsors behind the Israel trip,may be the International HOMOS who want to defile pastors of God.Pastors,avoid selfishness.greediness and Listenning to men.If men called vou into the Ministry, then follow men.SHAME UNTO YOU.
BRAINLESS NDC MAHANI 12 years ago
EI GA PREZ,WHAT A SHAME MAHAMA,HOW COME,HMMMMMMMMM GHANA NSEM PII
EZEKIEL 12 years ago
IF God doesn't hear our prayers FROM Ghana,why do we waste time praying then ??? Apparently, God IS EVERYWHERE ! Let's DISBAND ALL OUR Churches and SEND OUR PRAYERS per e-mail to Israel into the slits of the WAILING WALL !!!
Pat 12 years ago
MAHAMA TELL US THE SPONSORS, DO NOT TAKE THE PASTORS FOR FOOL,THEOS WHO WANTS TO GO ON A JOLLY RIDE CAN GO AND GOD WILL PUNISH THEM.
john 12 years ago
good pastors stay away from this conversation. jesus told us to pray in chambers and this is what a good pastor must be doing all his ministry. every bit of our lives must come from the bible period. otherwise we live in the world and we are part of the world. there were lawyers and others but not everything jesus did was recorded, meaning our discipleship is above any earthly journalism. it is only in gh clergy could be frustrated by journalism. monkey clergy, monkey worship, and this is exactly what jesus has already vomitted.
kwasi Ampong 12 years ago
How can the whole government machinery take the leadership of the Christian community in Ghana that has contributed so much to national development for such a ride by refusing to disclose the sources of funding for the Israeli tried. The philanthropists shoul;d be advised to channel the money into the National Health Insurance Fund to help sustain. Now to the President: Is that all you can do about transparency even to your Church leaders as a christian yourself? Too bad.
TRUE WORD 12 years ago
a kingdom divided against itself can never stand, do you suppose the true sponsors are agents of the devil? or do you suppose the intentions for this trip will go valueless before God the Father? what kind of spirit is motivating this negativity? it is ok to pay footballers big money to go and play and promote the country but henious to spend on pilgrimage? some of you criticing this venture are the agents of the devil and you are feeling very uncomfortable with the spiritual impactation and relief this journey will bring to Ghana and concerned about the damage it will cos to the demonic powers trying to take over.
TRUE WORD 12 years ago
these men of God that have opposed this trip, mark them one by one, God will have His final SAY. If this pilgrimage was motivated in innocence and a desire to support christianity and to bless the nation then they have not opposed man but opposed GOD.
I hope they they take note and research every source their titihes and offerings come from before accepting it during their various fundraisings, harvest, church building projects, midweek services etc etc etc etc
MAHAMAH LYING TO GHANA?
You kidding me. Calling Mahatma, Obama. Are you guys really serious and what a heck is that. Do these people knows what they are talking about. In what sense, in what declaim, in what capacity do these people compare Mahatma ...
Rev. Martey does not speak like a man of God. "I will not have anything to do with gays". As a man of God, that sounds really hateful and if he believes gays are sinners according to the Bible, it is the gays who need salvati ...
It is the sick people who need Doctors and in the same breath, iit is sinners who need Pastors not Angels so if the Moderator of the Presbyterian church is not willing to deal with sinners, then he is in the wrong profession. ...
Does the gay community consider homosexuality as a sin? NO! If so, why should Rev Martey want to have anything to do with them? We need brave men of GOD like Rev Martey to preserve the sanctity of the Bible. Thieves, adultere ...
You don't know what you are talking about. Do you know the story of Jesu ...
The problem is that you don't know what christianity entails. The church does not teach hate. If you have not sinned in your life, then start killing all sinnersa you come across. You have the brain the size of an an ant so y ...
A sick person can only get help if he admits that he is sick! You reason like fool! I hate nobody, you warped-brain faggot! I am a sinner and I always admit my sinful nature; that is the only way I can receive salvation. I do ...
Moderator Martey is typical of what Ghana has become, we don't seem to know what our job duties are. The President is more interested in acting as a visa contractor instead as a President. It is a sad day in Ghana when a head ...
Idiot, who said we should allow gays to sponsor Pastors? Martey is not talking about sponsorship. He said he doesn't want anything to do with them. If you don't want gays to sponsor the Pastors, do you want thieves and armed ...
Homosexuality shall never be allowed to thrive in Ghana! If you are on the payroll of any gay movement to do their bidding in Ghana, kindly ask them to take your name off their list!! You will never succeed, aunty Franklina. ...
You are a fool. You are not going to get rid of homosexuality in Ghana if the Pastors failed to do their job by counselling them to stop their lifestyle. Do you think the homosexuals will just stop without getting treatment? ...
CARDINAL, PLEASE TELL US, WHAT DID GOD DO TO THE GAYS OF SODOM AND GOMORA? HE BURNT THEM. PLEASE READ YOUR BIBLE AND KNOW THAT JESUS NEVER SAID ANYWHERE THAT HE CAME FOR GAYS AND LESBIANS WHO HAVE JOINED SATAN IN TURNING GOD' ...
SO SO SAD
Jesus never said anywhere either that he came for murderers, rapists, thief's, child molesters but he came to save sinners and if you think homosexuality is a sin, then Jesus came for them too. You fools need to learn your Bi ...
Over 90 pct of you faggots will NEVER accept the fact that homosexuality is a sin! Where will the salvation come from when to you, homosexuality is not just a way of life but the new civilisation that every country under the ...
Idiot, people like you with inferiority complex are usually the homosexuals trying to cover your tracks with homophobic idiocy. Nobody is defending homosexuality here as right but some of us see this as a sin that needs the ...
Stay wherever you are with your stupidity and your new way of life! I am a proud homophobe, if that is your definition! Not even Jesus Christ can save you faggots with your entrenched position. Go for an HIV/AIDS test, you di ...
such position he stole from Nana Akuffo Addo, our ...
LIES WILL CUT US DOWN ALL THE TIME.THE CARETAKER IS TALKING DIFFERENT WHILST THE PASTORS ARE ALSO SAYING A DIFFERENT THING ALL TOGETHER.WHERE ON EARTH WILL YOU GO SIGHT SEEING WHEN YOUR PEOPLE ARE DYING OF THIRST,HUNGER AND S ...
Unfortunately, I am sure some pastors have already started packing their bags for the j ...
Our leaders are such childish entities, so they continue to think that we are all fools. The President was bold enough to step into the fray by claiming that the proposed trip is being sponsored by private do-gooders, but why ...
As for Rev Martey and his stand on ga ...
For those of you who don't know this the are NGO'S in Ghana now taking huge sums of money to push the gay agenda. As individuals I don't think gay people should be hated it is their practice of same sex marriages and what not ...
ei ndc de asem beba ghana ooo. i smell blood in ghana, i smell blood in ghana. ghaians stop the childish paly with ndc and mahama and enter into prayers because, there is a cry of blood shed, those blood that were shed for po ...
if i sponsor some one, i know what i need as a result of that. so i disagree with the bishop when he says the government should channel the money to another field. will that field be in the interest of the sponsors? besides ...
Since when does a Gov. involves it self in sending priest to Isreal?.... If they want to go to Isreal they should let their congregation pay like they been doing for all these time...What next?... Sending Imams to Mecca?.Or, ...
Dear president, I voted for you bcos, I saw you as more humane and understandingthan the rest of the flag bearers but, but am beginning to loose interest in you. You were born in Ghana, travelled and well read than the Gold c ...
Adjoa, thanks for your comments, I hope it gets passed on to the prez. Any time I read or hear things like this I ask the question are there no wise men in Ghana any more? All this money to be wasted for what? My heart bleeds ...
(Adjoa) Your advice good. If our President cant see these simple MISTAKES and c ...
Isreal is not holier than Ghana yet we voted and Mahama was decleared the winner. It was not... Isealites who voted him nor who decleared him the winner.It therefore the responsibility of the entire citizenry to pray to get G ...
God is everywhere.Pastors don't have to go to Israel before they can play for Ghana. God is in Ghana and will hear our prayers. It is a shame that i times like this where many people making it tough, money from an unknown sou ...
Terrible!
true
Sad story, The president should have asked the whole ministers/pastors in Ghana to organise a power pack prayer crusade for the nation rather than trafficking them accross the oceans. This would have worked effectively than s ...
the innitial communicatn was govt has secuired funding... now is like govt has obtained sponsors yet the sponsors wont be named even thou the pastors wants to knw them. if pastors were the ones writing to the govt ab ...
President Mahama, sometimes I do not understand you. You are too liberal. Why do you have to involve yourself in this? can't they pray in Ghana? You are embarrassing we in the NDC. Take a cue from Prez Mills. You cannot pleas ...
That these people in power are confused about what a modern govt, esp. one from an LDC like Ghana besieged with a number of crises, shld be doing is beyond doubt. That they shld spend the first few months in power soliciting ...
Ha det.
I wrote this way back in December. The issues raised are even more relevant than then, as they unfold and it is becoming clear President Mahama has embarked on a journey fraught with controversy and chicanery. Unfortunately, ...
The first four years of the Mills/Mahama Govt gave me nothing to cheer about and be hopeful for. I wonder wher ...
PEOPLE MAY NOT AGREE WITH REV PROF MARTEY BUT HOW DOES HE SPEAK AGAINST HOMOSEXUALITY IF HE ACCEPTS THEIR MONEY FOR A TRIP TO ISRAEL. THE BIBLE IS VERY CLEAR ABOUT HOMOSEXUALITY. IF GOD DESTROYED SODOM AND GOMORAH FOR THAT D ...
Do you think homosexuals would sponsor such a trip and have the nerve to approach the Presidency?in any case do we care about their sensibilities if they don't want their identities to be known.If they feel this may be coming ...
IS IS TRUE AZIGIZAA AND SAM KORANCHIE ARE THE GUYS BEHIND THIS ISREAL TRIP. THEY MUST ASK THEMSELVES IF JESUS WOULD DO SAME IN HIS TIME ON EARTH? SHAME ON YOU OLD BOY. DO I REMIND YOU THOUSANDS ARE HOMELESS IN THE NORTH AFTER ...
By force sponsor? Joro
I commend the men of Jah for exposing the hippocricy of the president right on his face. In deed they must know who is giving them such sponsorship so they do not end up being trapped by gays and lesbians. If they go aheadto ...
Since the Jews rejected Jesus and conived with the Romans to murder him, the glory of God has since departed from Israel. Why do you seek God at a place he cnnot be found? God is here in Ghana through his Spirit as promised b ...
Dear Rev. Martey you are a man chosen to be a shepherd for Jesus and not for man. Donot champion somethings which are earthly and make pronouncement which would excite the presss and the populance. Be carefull of what you say ...
The sponsors behind the Israel trip,may be the International HOMOS who want to defile pastors of God.Pastors,avoid selfishness.greediness and Listenning to men.If men called vou into the Ministry, then follow men.SHAME UNTO ...
good pastors stay away from this conversation. jesus told us to pray in chambers and this is what a good pastor must be doing all his ministry. every bit of our lives must come from the bible period. otherwise we live in the ...
How can the whole government machinery take the leadership of the Christian community in Ghana that has contributed so much to national development for such a ride by refusing to disclose the sources of funding for the Israel ...
a kingdom divided against itself can never stand, do you suppose the true sponsors are agents of the devil? or do you suppose the intentions for this trip will go valueless before God the Father? what kind of spirit is motiva ...
these men of God that have opposed this trip, mark them one by one, God will have His final SAY. If this pilgrimage was motivated in innocence and a desire to support christianity and to bless the nation then they have not o ...