ARE THE AFRICANS SO STUPID THAT THEY CAN'T EVEN PROVIDE BASIC THINGS LIKE WATER, ELECTRICITY, GAS AND ROADS TO THE CITIZENRY, APART FROM CORRUPTION AND MILKING THE CONTINENT DRY AND ALSO SIPHONING THE LITTLE THAT WE HAVE TO FOREIGN COUNTRIES.
ASARE 12 years ago
THANKS ADWOA
Abaa Nabo 12 years ago
Idiot,
You don't know where you come from
Idiot,
STOP WORK NOW 12 years ago
What a thoughtful contribution to the discussion, Abaa Nabo. People of your calibre give us such optimism that Ghana's problems can be solved.
daladam 12 years ago
dont come here talking lies to us ghana people not stupid o
OZA 12 years ago
Did they forget about the delibrate polution being caused by the "galamsey"/Chinese guys? River Birim in the Akim area is no longer habitable even by frogs. You will not even use the water to wash your feet. However, the river used to be the source of pipe water for the people in the Akim area.
forson 12 years ago
This is a nice article, of course we should change our attitudes and minds, just exactly what Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah said on the day of our Independence celebrations. He said we should change our attitudes and minds that would be the only way we can built our society. Of course we polluted all our rivers and waters, I take example of river Akora which lies at Agona Swedru, in the olden days we go and swim in the morning before we go to school, now this river has completely dried out, not only that many of our rivers all because we´ve been throwing all sort of objects into the rivers and that resulted this problem. We don´t have to cry if we have water shortages in the country. After 1966 coup, we have had over 10 Government, yet the water problem declined till now.
Ewusi 12 years ago
Founds meant for information service to educate the people not to throw garbage into our water bodies,would be given to Woyome and defend him.
HARD TALK 12 years ago
I´M NOT SURE THAT A MINISTER WILL SAY THIS RUBBISH.
Kman 12 years ago
Their own employees carryout the illegal connections
SAM MURDOCK 12 years ago
The non existence of a credible government has resulted in the calamity we find ourselves in. Go figure.
Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 12 years ago
Why can`t you solve such easy problems? Even after Tsurnami,people are supplied with good drinking water.Have you never heard of water purification? Don`t play this blame game but rather takle the problem!There is enough money to sponsor Pastors to Israel although, our country is saddled with huge debts!
CONCERN 12 years ago
Sorry stupid madam it is stupidity, incompetence,corruption and the lack foresight that is the cause!
Abaa Nabo 12 years ago
Are you talking about your sisters and aunties, or perhaps your mum?
Honestly UK cities are not different from Korle-Gonno, and you know that!
Guess you were born of wood?
Talk sense next time
There Is 12 years ago
A change of attitude was the only thing that could save the country's water resources,the deliberate polluting the environment pollution of water bodies "If we do not change our attitudes towards polluting the environment pollution of water bodies and illegally water tapping. We do know where the polluters are,enforement of the laws and arresting those people or National. No amouth of long talking will resolve anything but action, action now. Whoever incharge of (GUWL) must be responsible by travilling to the sources, whereby the pollution is taking place and must stop preaching from Accra office, please fix the water problems. Yes, they always define or find excuses and more and more line of talks.
daladam 12 years ago
AND NO OTHER CUSE STOP THE LIES
liv 12 years ago
The only solution is to get rid of the slums and zongos. And bring in the white man to manage all departments in Ghana and train us again. Let's start all over.
jake 12 years ago
what about the illegal gold mining they continue to allow through out the country? is'nt that another cause
Kofi B. Shepherd 12 years ago
Please, WRC, visit Asante Juaben and see for yourselves what has been done to an important water body in the town by an oil mill company and the so-called Zongo communities. Apart from the breeding of mosquitoes, this important river, Aponapon, has become undrinkable.
It's a pity that nothing practical is being done to salvage this important water body which once was a veritable source of teeming river fish and drinking water.
James Quakyi 12 years ago
The only way to effect a change in attitude is to make the polluters pay
for environmental damage through a system of Environmental Pollution Taxes, both general and punative.
Yaw Adu-Asare 12 years ago
Human encroachment on the banks and water basins of rivers and strteams also account for inadequate volume of water in our rivers.
Abena Gyumfua 12 years ago
So it is the pollution of water bodies that is causing water shortage in the nation. Does these folks in authority really know what they are doing? And if it is true that water pollution is the cause of water shortage, what is the ministry doing to reverse it? What have they put in place to help check the pollution?
To me the main problem is that most of the under ground water tubes were done during the Nkrumah's regime especially the ones from Kpong to Accra which supply water to Legon, Achimota, Madina and Adenta areas, and have not been replaced or expanded to meet the challenges of today. These tubes are old and with the population increased, they are over-used, some of them are not operating as they should. What the ministry that oversee it should have done over the years was to assess them and ask for funds to replace them.
Now it's most unfortunate that even though the water sector is now privatalized, they still can determine the root cause of the water problems in the nation and think of finding a way to solve it. Oh Africa! When oh when oh O O!
STOP WORK NOW 12 years ago
When oh when, comrade? Never. Ghana has become a rapidly regressing kleptocracy.
JD 12 years ago
NA LIE!!
The problem is simply supply and demand. You have the same old and rotten infrastructure supplying water to over 23 million people that was designed to provide for about 10 million in the 1960s and 70s. That is w ... read full comment
NA LIE!!
The problem is simply supply and demand. You have the same old and rotten infrastructure supplying water to over 23 million people that was designed to provide for about 10 million in the 1960s and 70s. That is why water is being rationed in Ghana today.
ebotc 12 years ago
What Ghanaians need to do to stem the water crisis they are facing today is simple:
They need to adopt more robust water conservation methodologies that include the avoidance of waste in the management and usage of water a ... read full comment
What Ghanaians need to do to stem the water crisis they are facing today is simple:
They need to adopt more robust water conservation methodologies that include the avoidance of waste in the management and usage of water as a resource, channel excess water during the rainy season into tanks and reservoirs and use this water during the dry spells, avoid cutting down trees and planting more trees to reinforce a balance in the ecosystem, fix and completely overhaul the sewerage system in Ghana, give due respect and reverence to the watershed and not polluting the water or rivers Ghanaians drink from.
Concern Ghanian 12 years ago
Stupit man find solution to it
Paa Kodwo 12 years ago
IF POLLUTION IS REALLY THE CAUSE OF WATER SHORTAGES, WHY HAVE YOU STILL FAILED TO ARREST THE SITUATION IN THE COUNTRY.
ARE WE REALLY SERIOUS.
IF POLLUTION IS REALLY THE CAUSE OF WATER SHORTAGES, WHY HAVE YOU STILL FAILED TO ARREST THE SITUATION IN THE COUNTRY.
ARE WE REALLY SERIOUS.
daladam 12 years ago
AS SOON AS HIS 3 DAYS TRIP IS OVER WE MUST GO AND PLEAD WITH THE ISRAELIS TO COME TO GHANA AND DIG FOR WATER
Yaw Adu-Asare 12 years ago
Ken Agyapong is out of his wits
BRAINLESS NDC MAHANI 12 years ago
MAHAMA GHANA NEED CLEAN WATER,AND LIGHT,SO USE WOYOMES MONEY,OIL MONEY,COCOA MONEY,ECT,AND STOP CHOPING ALL OUR MONEYOOOOOOOOO,
Corruption is the cause of water shortages.
dirty ghana female are the cause.
ARE THE AFRICANS SO STUPID THAT THEY CAN'T EVEN PROVIDE BASIC THINGS LIKE WATER, ELECTRICITY, GAS AND ROADS TO THE CITIZENRY, APART FROM CORRUPTION AND MILKING THE CONTINENT DRY AND ALSO SIPHONING THE LITTLE THAT WE HAVE TO F ...
THANKS ADWOA
Idiot,
Did they forget about the delibrate polution being caused by the "galamsey"/Chinese guys? River Birim in the Akim area is no longer habitable even by frogs. You will not even use the water to wash your feet. However, the riv ...
This is a nice article, of course we should change our attitudes and minds, just exactly what Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah said on the day of our Independence celebrations. He said we should change our attitudes and minds that ...
Why can`t you solve such easy problems? Even after Tsurnami,people are supplied with good drinking water.Have you never heard of water purification? Don`t play this blame game but rather takle the problem!There is enough mone ...
Talk sense next time
A change of attitude was the only thing that could save the country's water resources,the deliberate polluting the environment pollution of water bodies "If we do not change our attitudes towards polluting the environment po ...
Please, WRC, visit Asante Juaben and see for yourselves what has been done to an important water body in the town by an oil mill company and the so-called Zongo communities. Apart from the breeding of mosquitoes, this importa ...
So it is the pollution of water bodies that is causing water shortage in the nation. Does these folks in authority really know what they are doing? And if it is true that water pollution is the cause of water shortage, what i ...
NA LIE!!
The problem is simply supply and demand. You have the same old and rotten infrastructure supplying water to over 23 million people that was designed to provide for about 10 million in the 1960s and 70s. That is w ...
They need to adopt more robust water conservation methodologies that include the avoidance of waste in the management and usage of water a ...
ARE WE REALLY SERIOUS.