You are here: HomeNews2013 03 10Article 267207

Missionary hospitals will refuse NHIS patients

Read Comments Comments (118)

• K. Boateng 11 years ago

Where is their sense of benevolence and good will towards the needy and the sick in society? I hope my Catholic Church is not part of this diabolic decision.

• nana kakahini amankwaa 11 years ago

50 million is probably less than what was paid to Woyome.
    And my teacherS always whipped me with an unbreakable Stick, for being weak in Mathematics.

• Ben 11 years ago

WHERE IS PRESIDENT MAHAMA?

• Kwaku 11 years ago

He is sleeping with your mother. How long was Mahama in control?

• ADWEN 11 years ago

Mahama, has been inpower for 8 months and you are asking how long he has been inpower. Moreover, he was the Vice president for about 3.5 years, so he should aware of these collapsing and worsing situation caused by his govern ...

• Asanteni 11 years ago

Why are some people so stupid to defend even the devil. If Mahama has been president for only one week he could, by the stroke of his pen bring this mess to an end, this is about the health of the people. And to you K Boateng ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

ONE FACT WHICH CANNOT BE RULED OUT IS THAT GOV'T CAN NEVER EVER PROVIDE ALL OF OUR NEEDS NO MATTER THE SERIES OF STRIKES. FIND BETTER PLACES. MAKA MAKA.

• Be Real 11 years ago

These hospitals are demanding money which is OWED to them. If a government in an oil producinng country cannot pay her medical bill on time then something is wrong. Maybe political will

• DR WISEMAN 11 years ago

terribly specific must be crazy and out of his senses for defending this good for nothing president and his golo boys.

• concern citizen 11 years ago

4.3yrs since he was ruling when atta mill was in control.

• Leklebi 11 years ago

Smelly hole of calcutta !

• PREZZO 11 years ago

MAHAMA IS DAZED WITH PROBLEMS HE CREATED LIKE INFLATING THE PRICES OF PLANES TO LINE HIS FUCKING POCKETS. THE MONEY NEEDED TO FIX THESE CHALLENGES ARE ALL IN HIS BANK ACCOUNTS HERE AND FOREIGN. HE EITHER COUGHS IT OR WE BLOW ...

• KATE 11 years ago

HE IS SLEEPING WITH YOUR MOTHER AND YOUR SISTERS FOR THAT IS WHAT HE DO BEST, ABOA

• GHANA IS COMATOSE!!!! 11 years ago

I HEAR DOCTORS NATIONWIDE ARE, VERY SOON, GOING TO STOP SEEING NHIS CARD BEARING PATIENTS!!!!!!!! THE BIG QUESTION IS WHY???? DOCTORS RECEIVE THEIR FUEL ALLOWANCES FROM INTERNALLY GENERATED FUNDS WHICH DIRECTLY COMES FROM WHA ...

• Kwasi 11 years ago

Paying 98mGhS to one person an also given 50,thousand GhS to each person in Paliament an dont even think about Health, Light,Water an Education an now calling your Mahama an if they calls you (STEALER) den you are crying. see ...

• WISE-TALK, UK 11 years ago

hey ghana people what is this?is this real human?i dey wonder if this na human.

• Anonymous Coward 11 years ago

Mess, mess, mess. You fucking don't need an angel to come and tell you that Ghana is screwed up by these 'can't do, won't do' government.

• KU, KLAT-ESIW 11 years ago

IT IS A SHE GOAT JUST ABOUT TO SAY M33H3H3H3. YOU ARE RIGHT, MOST GHANAIANS HAVE SHE GOATS FOR WIVES. HAHAHAHAHAAAA. 3Y3 ME3H3H3H3.

• POTHOLE 11 years ago

WISE-TALK, THE SHE GOAT IS ON HEAT AND IS INVITING YOU TO PLAY. WHY, YOU DE FEAR ???

• BB Ohio USA 11 years ago

This cream is wonderful. check it out online.She will look 20years younger.The body is good just wrinkled.

• Ben 11 years ago

Ghanaians are beng made to pay into the NHIS. Their registration is their premium and govt should better pay for the claims when they are due. If the card bearers are not able to access care as promised under the NHIS scheme, ...

• Ataa Nii, Freetown 11 years ago

The mission health facilities don't get their supplies for free. Their medical and administrative staff also don't work for free. To ask for payment for goods and services rendered is not unChristian. Whether the Catholic ...

• jp 11 years ago

look my friend lets be fair; if the govt-ment has been able to pay the so call dept to silly individuals why couldnt they be able to pay the missionary hospitals.

jp, aren't you comparing apples to oranges here?

• SASABONSAM 11 years ago

The gov is corrupt, they are quick to pay judgement debts but slow when it comes to the important issues such as health care.

• MASNOBASAS 11 years ago

ACCUMULATED NHIS BILLS AND ACCUMULATED ELECTRICITY BILLS ARE NOT JUDGEMENT DEBTS THAT BRING KICK-BACKS. WHY MUST THE GREEDY BASTARDS RUSH TO PAY THESE?

• jp 11 years ago

thank u for making it clear to k.boateng

• MANDER 11 years ago

We question the christian clinics for demanding money for good work done. Yet we all support the black star players when they ask for their delayed bonuses which can pay for the amount the clinics are asking for.
    Which is i ...

• kwabena Ampofo 11 years ago

A good point,but ask yourself if you were working for one of these hospitals and your salary is delayed because the government has not paid for the services that has been rendered to it.What would be your reaction? Where woul ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

Gyimii, do you think you are the only Catholic in Ghana? Where will the Catholic Church get all the money to care for the population while your NDC fools share our resource money with Wayome, Okudjeto Ablakwa and Asiedu Nketi ...

• Ben 11 years ago

How much do you contribute to the charity annually? These hospitals need to pay their staff. Doctors and nurses do not work for free.

• Koam 11 years ago

Youcall itdiabolic decision? How about their staff going 3 months without pay? How about their patients having no drugs at their pharmacy and non availability of surgical supplies

• Don Blunt 11 years ago

It seems K.Boateng is of the opinion that Medical Doctors (as well as other workers) from Missionary Hospitals go to the market, buy plantains, and pay with "NYAME NHYIRA WO".

• lariba 11 years ago

Na God's work, oga!

• Ajit Babu 11 years ago

You live in the USA so go to any faith-run hospital and get services for free. Most educated Africans like you are useless when it comes to critical thinking.

• Yaovi Michael 11 years ago

Note that the charitable world do not pluck monies on trees to render their services, they always depend heavily on donations. They have done their best to establish these hospitals but their operational costs must be paid fo ...

• Asiwome 11 years ago

It afteralla missionary hospital.Running a missionary hospital shouldn't be the problem of a government but a church. Please ask Catholics all over the country to save the hospital by donating money. It is better than making ...

• PREZZO 11 years ago

THE NDC ONLY REAPS WHERE IT NEVER SOWS. EVEN IN THE BIBLE THE PARABLE ON THE SOWER TELLS US OF THE THE NEED FOR GAINS IN INVESTMENT. I WILL SACK ALL THE NDC GUYS IN MY COMPANY IN THE NEXT MONTH IF THE CURRENT CHALLENGES DONT ...

• Left Critic 11 years ago

Don't you guys know that what matters in this country -- for the government, religious authorities and evidently for ordinary citizens -- is not the security and health of the body but the salvation of the soul. Who cares if ...

• TT 11 years ago

Do you realise that it takes human resource, equipments and others to deliver good healthcare to the people? These people who deliver health service in the mission hospitals do not live on alms. They go to same market, pay th ...

• Kuul 11 years ago

You are a fullish lot. Do they use sand to buy medicines and drugs to take care of the poeple who visit their various hospital? Iddiot!

• KofiB 11 years ago

k. Boateng,
    Benevolence implies that someone else will subsidize the services provided by Church associated hospitals. If National health insurance is not paying money to these hospitals for services they have already provi ...

• IBF 11 years ago

K Boateng, you might be a big fool. where do you think they get the money from to run those hospitals and facilities? If your government is responsible one, it should have known that 42% of users of these facilities is not so ...

• Jay 11 years ago

sir hope u know that these hospitals run on these funds.

• Chris 11 years ago

With the assurance by the Minister that they will be paid. It sounds inhuman for the Mission Hospitals to continue with the withdrawal of services. The judgement day awaits them.

Are they exempted from paying taxes or they do?

• Ben 11 years ago

You do not understand how to run an organization. Where do the missionaries get their money to do what they do? How often do you pay into their organizations?

Okay so they run charity and so when the coffers dry, they shou ...

• fredsaid 11 years ago

Mahama and his ministers have made promises and assurances which they have not kept for the past 5 years. How can any government run a policy on credit while paying out more to woyome and others who had no contracts with the ...

• Don Blunt 11 years ago

The so called Minister should rather give that assurance for their Housing allowance, Car Loans etc, and use the money to pay their outstanding debts to Hospitals and Doctors, VRA, etc.

• waltpro 11 years ago

I guess the assurance is enough for the legal tender for the facilities and supplier will ready stock all drugs and expendaables needed to take care of the nation's health needs. The Minister must be fired including that hope ...

• master 11 years ago

Remember the 400,000 free laptops distributed to Ghanaians before the elections? I mean which country share laptops to its citizen for free? Supposing each of those laptops cost $100, that would be $40,000,000 (forty million ...

• PREZZO 11 years ago

IS THAT HOW YOUR BUSINESS? YOU RUN IT DOWN AND EXPECT FAVOUR? THAT IS NDC FOR YOU. THEY ARE SIMPLY YAAK. ONLY RECEVERS AND ROUGUES LIKE MAHAMA. I PRAY IT GOES DOWN TO THE WIRE SO WE EXPOSE THEM AFTER 4 EVIL YEARS. SHAME

• KATE 11 years ago

CHRIS WO YE ABOA PAA, WHAT WILL THE CHEAP TALK DO?

• ask 11 years ago

to be precise, this mahama led govt is not trustworthy!!!! if even his own wife CAN'T trust him in his promiscuous best, sho else apart from thge unfortunate afari gyan!!!!! they are more interested in protecting WOYOMEGATE'S ...

• The same 11 years ago

The npps still hold key positions and so trying to make Ghana ungovenable. GOD PUNISH NPP AMEN AND AMEN.

• fredsaid 11 years ago

So now NPP holds all influential positions in all church run hospitals in the country. What a stupid comment and where is your evidence?
    You guys just make idiotic, illiterate comments all the time.

What is the point in ...

• PREZZO 11 years ago

GOD WILL PUNISH YOUR MOTHER AND FATHER WHOSE BEASTS WILL BE SUCKED BY TERMITES AND SNAKES LIKE MAHAMA. THE NPP HAS DONE NOTHING. THE NDC HAS NO QUALIFIED PEOPLE APART THE CURRENT TEAM C. I PRAY NOTHING WORKS FOR THEM BECAUSE ...

• ask 11 years ago

the people who chopped nhis money nyafu nyafu AT SAVELUGU are pure ndc foot soldiers and are walking FREE!!!!!! SAME, ARE U NORMAL?????

• KOJO 11 years ago

NDC WAISTED MONEY TO STEAL AN ELECTION. NOW THEY SAY THERE IS NOW MONEY.

• Kwaku Amuaku 11 years ago

Gone are the days when Missionary Hospitals received funding from organizations abroad. Today they mostly depend on their income from services so if Insurance Companies are not paying for services eventually the hospitals wil ...

This is your conclusion, "I don't see how this is diabolic when government hospitals do the same".

We're talking of MISSIONARIES here and I hope you can separate the Missionaries from the government...

• nana kakahini amankwaa 11 years ago

Churches take 'tithes' from members. In the end, money runs the Mission, and capitalist rules about money prevail.
    This K. Boateng has to praise Amuaku for daring to think like someone who knows.
    The Mission Hospital will d ...

• Ben 11 years ago

MISSIONARIES do not grow money. They have to pay the nurses and doctors for their services. They have to buy medications and other healthcare supplies for their organizations. Have ever paused to ask where the govt gets the m ...

• Brains 11 years ago

Your reasoning is like a five year old kid. Missionaries don't use Holy Spirit to heal. They use drugs purchased with money. And for your information Missionaries don't print money.
    Missionaries rely on the benevolence of pe ...

• Luther king 11 years ago

Nice one there brains. U hit the nail right on the head

• SYDNEY 11 years ago

IMAGINE A COUNTRY WHICH IS SUFFERING BASIC ISSUES LIKE ELECTRICITY AND WATER IS RATHER TOO INTERESTED IN LOOTING US THRO DUBIOUS JDETBS, CREATING NEW CONSTITUENCIES, DOLING OUT HUGE MONIES FOR THE MPS TO RENT HOUSES, AS FOR N ...

• KK 11 years ago

Sylvester Mensah,you must honourable stepdown from your position as CEO of NHIA b`cos you`ve failed the nation totally.HEY!You visionless stealers running NHIA don`t take us a ride.We`re watching U.

• SYDNEY 11 years ago

IF NDC COULD PAY WOYOME 51.2 MILLION GHANA CEDIS WHY NOT FIND MONEY FOR NHIS.......NDC YEBEDIIIIII KEKE...

• KOMOO FRANCE. 11 years ago

Shame unto this bogus mahama govt.Ghana is on the verge of total collapse.

• Kwesi Brenu Akyinimnyi 11 years ago

What's wrong with our society ? This Granny can't use her own natural hair in public ? she rather choose to wear a wig , probably a dead person from Asia's hair. We live in a very un cultural society

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Cant you see evil in the face of this woman?

• ADWEN 11 years ago

The Attah Mills Better Ghana Agenda 1 was primarily aimed at improving health care, that failed miserably due to corruption and mismanagement of the inherited NHIS.
    Now Better Ghana Agenda 11 is worsening and collapsing the ...

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

our dear confused pepeni has issues and the truth so mixed up in his mind he doesnt know his left from his right. He calls the Europen union development partners , this very same group that spends hundreds of billions on fail ...

• Mr. Alfred (Canada, Montreal) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• CASHCO 11 years ago

It is always the government sector who owes money on health,education, transport utility servi8ces and name them. In the end they find a cunny way to pass it on to the poor citizen.

This is why privatization is good to so ...

• Researcher 11 years ago

WHEN NDC ACTIVIST AMETOR QUARMYN RETIRED FROM NHIS HE WAS APPOINTED AS A CONSULTANT CONFUSING VIEWERS WITH CONCOCTED FIGURES ON E-TV AS IF ALL IS WELL WITH THE SERVICE. THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD HAVE SUSPENDED PAYMENT OF "IN=GRAT ...

• tijani 11 years ago

but where are the hypocrite peace council hmmmmmmm

• Aggrey Kumasi 11 years ago

That person needs to be fired.

• OSEI 11 years ago

MY SIMPLE QUESTION: IS THE NDC A CURSE FOR GHANAIANS OR A SCHEME TO PUNISH US?

• ASEM BE BA DABI 11 years ago

Dear mr. Osei,the answer to your question is Ghana is not under curse rather this is the outcome of the so call BETTER GHANA AGENDA.

• Awuradebasa 11 years ago

Another HIV NDC member.
    This woman has HIV just like Asiedu Nketia,
    Is there any healthy member within the NDC?

• Atiama 11 years ago

The CHAG to refuse NHIS patients? Dr Gilbert Buckle have you read this before?
    The Physician's Oath was codified in the Declaration of Geneva (1948) by the World Medical Association.

At the time of being admitted as a ...

• Luther king 11 years ago

I think it's ppl like u atiamah who make govts lazy. Always quoting oaths. Did any part of the oath say health care delivery should be free or that providers shd continue providing health services when they are owed for six m ...

• Emeritus Cletus 11 years ago

Sometimes it is difficult to understand what politicians think. Owing hospitals for more than six months and the Health Minister and the CEO of the NHIA were not bothered, only to do fire fighting when providers threaten to w ...

• Jah Cure 11 years ago

Woyome Woyome *3
    Gargantuan ooo
    wonchedi..

• Nana Asare 11 years ago

ON WHAT AND HOW EXACTLY IS THE GOVERNMENT USING GHANA'S MONEY FOR, THE GOVERNMENT OWNS EVERY SINGLE SERVICE PROVIDER IN GHANA WHAT IS GOING ON IN GHANA.

• ADABRAKA 11 years ago

It is pity Govt is using more of its Reactive Powers than Proactive Powers. Govt cannot project issues before it happens.

This weakness is what state machineries are using to lambast the weakness of NDC Govt.

• A Richard. 11 years ago

It's sad to see all this problems going on with our NHS. All what the Government have to do is to go back with the old system whereby we pay 5CEDIS OR 10 CEDIS to HELP maintain the NHS.

• richard m. 11 years ago

i gooo bee kee kee in big problem.he will smell pepper and ganger.

• okukuseku 11 years ago

We should be honest to admit that the single life time NHS premium cannot work and start from there. It is impossible to run a health system like Ghana Health Service this way.

• Buuch 11 years ago

Politicians don't have to use these local hospitals so why should they care if these hospitals are suspending services or if they grind to a halt for lack of money? They have their hospitals in South Africa, to Israel, to Eur ...

• lariba 11 years ago

Why is the money not paid ? Why does'nt the misssionary forgive and move on by continuing doing God's work by helping humanity. Haaleluyaah!!!

• Barima Yaw 11 years ago

true

• NANA 11 years ago

OH NDC MADAM SHERRY AYITEY YOU ARE A WRONG ROLE MODEL. ARE YOU WEARING HORSE HAIR OR BRAZILIAN HAIR OR DONKEY HAIR.DO YOU STILL WANT TO BE ADMIRED???? AND BY WHOM??JUST CONC AND DELIVER ON YOUR PROMISE...THE YOUTH ADMIRES YO ...

• ALEX OSEI BADU 11 years ago

Can someone ask Sylvester Mensah if this is the health insurance that he was comparing and giving it higher marks than the USA and BRITAIN He should be quick and pay them and stop the propaganda. Nest time he should be carefu ...

• Kofie Bazuka 11 years ago

This Mahama government is hopeless.
    The only thing they are good for is propaganda, but propaganda will not put food on my table, will not keep our hospitals from failing, will not restore the shortage of power, nor will it ...

President Mahama to fail in the delivery of NHIS is to have a failed government.
    Remember that to fail our hospitals is indirectly giving most Ghanaians their death sentence.
    We were all around when we had the so called "ca ...

• Big Six 11 years ago

Oh NDC why destroy ghana

• KWESI 11 years ago

DO U WANT TO TRAVEL TO CANADA AS SOON AS POSSIBLE?NO INTERVIEW INVOLVED..
    PLS CALL KWESI ON 0249318847 FOR FURTHER INFO.
    THANKS.

• ONIPANUA TORONTO 11 years ago

ARE YOU SURE ? I WONNA GO TO CANADA PLEASE !!1

• Thomas Ayomah 11 years ago

There is difference between disbursement of funds and managing the NHIS system. Sylvester has failed to improve on NHIS funds; failed to implement one-touch payment; failed to ensure prompt transfer of funds to NHIS accounts; ...

If Sylvester is a non performer and is holding onto such a managerial position, whose fault is it?
    It is the fault a corrupt and incompetent government.

• GUY Momone 11 years ago

We can afford to pay Woyome but we cannot afford to pay these hospitals taken care of the sick with their limited resources. WHAT A COUNTRY !

• Balawo President 11 years ago

The Misssionary hospitals are also run at a cost just as the minister of energy is justifying the increased tarrifs from VRA, ECG etc.
    So the caretaking govt must first pay up its debt to the hospitals if they want services ...

• KNYC (USMC) 11 years ago

I keep telling you people that, the country is been run by MORONS. This is a basic accounting. The Gov't have to pay it bills.The NDC gov't can not manage common water, and you talking about NHIS.

• Bush 11 years ago

NHIS had been the backbone of we the "nobodies" So in the name of God we are appealing to the government, to fast track monies due the health providers or else calamity shall be our
    portion of the better Ghana agenda. We bel ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

I heard the NHIS is better now. Was someone lying?

• TT 11 years ago

d

• KWASHIE ADJAH 11 years ago

THE AFRC/P/NDC PARTY IS WAITING FOR ONE TIME PREMIUM FOR NHIS, BEFORE THEY PAY THE MISSION HOSPITALS. BETTER GHANA IS BRINGING ONE TIME PREMIUM. GHANAIANS WAIT FOR ONE TIME PREMIUM, BECAUSE IT IS A PROMISE OF JOHN MAHAMA AND ...

• nii awuley 11 years ago

buy buy buy no payment, Uncle GG the artful dodger, means bye bye bye into some one else's pocket!

• amby, usa 11 years ago

I thought Sylvester Mensah and his NDC gurus said NHIS is at its best right now and has no outstanding debt........why all these now??? We need answers...

• KOGYAM58 11 years ago

THIS OLD WOMAN HAS OUTLIVED HER USEFULNESS AS A SUBSTATIVE MINISTER IN GHANA.CAN'T NDC GET A GOOD REPLACEMENT?
    A MEMBER OF COUNCIL OF STATE WILL BEFIT HER STATUS

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Wherein lies the christian charity of these missionary hospitals?

Do they aim to make a profit or to render a service to the community?

Why should they refuse to treat patients on the NHIS to force NHIA to pay arrears o ...

• Okponglo Guy 11 years ago

The government owes them and you question their charity? Government must take the money from Wohome and pay these hospitals.

• KATE 11 years ago

GOOD, BECAUSE THEY HAVE CHOP ALL OUR MONEY

• KATE 11 years ago

GOOD, MAHAMA AND ASIEDU NKETIA HAS CHOP ALL OUR MONEY.

• Ohene,,, 11 years ago

Stupid leaders all over Africa.

• Fred 11 years ago

Oh God, save Ghana from this wicked people. Anyway a fetish priest who says the country burns, also lives in it. We live to see.