You are here: HomeNews2013 02 19Article 265334

Fuel increment is to save the economy - Buah

Read Comments Comments (107)

• ASEMPA 11 years ago

GO BACK & GET WAYOMEY,S MONEY TO SUBSIDIZE THE PETROL,(FOOLISH PEOPLE)

• IN GHANA. 11 years ago

Why is it that the so-called educated still rely on the farmers, fishermen and those who are despised by these same useless so-called educated. If they really are educated, let their creativity bring income into the country s ...

• good4nothing 11 years ago

The only thing this stupid fool, Emmanuel Kofi Armah Buah could do is to explain to the people that just pay. this is about $5.00 per gallon. That is extremely too much. What income does his rotten education brings into the c ...

• The African Patriot 11 years ago

Why don`t you reduce the salaries of the ministers, mps, dc and all political figures first.

Secondary, the custom officers could be better monitored and controlled by independant personnel, so that bribe taking by the off ...

• BJ 11 years ago

Corruption at public institutions alone can help sustain the economy if checked. Corruption at Tema harbour alone will be a big relief leadership is competent. Daily toll collections on our main roads could help a great deal. ...

• koj 11 years ago

You get what you voted for, so why the outcry? Charley, shut up and put up with it. This is only the beginning of your hardships and financial atrocities which will intensify in the next couple of months. The financial burden ...

• NDC 1 11 years ago

It's time that these armed robbers to pay for their fuel,utility bills and all the freebies including the president because we did not not asked them to be president and parliamentarian.The developing countries don't give fre ...

• Repugnant. 11 years ago

Ghanaian MPs (members of parliament) make about $2,000 per month or $24,000 a year but each of them drives a $50,000 SUV. Yes all 200 and something of them.
    The rush to secure government vehicles when there is a change i ...

• ASIEDU NKETIA 11 years ago

THINGs have fallen apart, the center cannot hold. Simply because Mahani lacks admistration and cannot control affairs. Mahani never believed he would ever be a president.So he has no plans for it. In another 6months,things w ...

• Mahmoud 11 years ago

When did you realize that the economy was going under, after the elections? NDC is drawing Ghana. This has been their trick; after wasting money for elections they always increase prices. How can 330 million sink the Ghanaian ...

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

I thought the fuel subsidies were cut so they could invest in other sources of energy or something productive; instead the money is just being channeled into paychecks (SSSS). Instead of trimming government and making it lean ...

• Charles-Illford,Essex-UK 11 years ago

LOOK AT THIS ARROGANT,STUPID AND BLOCK HEADED SO-CALLED MINISTER MAKING SUCH NAIVE AND ILL-CONCEIVED COMMENT.I WONDERED IF SUCH PEOPLE REALLY READ WELL TO EDUCATE.LOTS OF THEM CERTAINLY ACQUIRED THEIR CERTS VIA THE BACK DOOR ...

• Ama 11 years ago

Keep dreaming that he will contact you. Who do you think you are. I think you are one of those people who envy this Honorable man. YOU ARE RATHER THE MOST STUPID AND BLOCK HEADED HUMAN BEING ON EARTH. For your information, ho ...

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

I don't care where he got his degrees from Maryland, Oxford, Havard or where ever, he does not sound very intelligent. How do you save or grow the economy this way?

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

Why do you argue with such NDC prostitute woman. I know this lady very well NDC bought her a laptop including mobile phone a ...

• Friends of Billy Boe 11 years ago

This guy called Charles in some hole in Essex-UK calls somebody block headed? Why do you type in CAPITAL LETTERS? A key puncher? Billy not well educated? Get your facts and address the issues at stake not the person

• SENABA 11 years ago

THESE ARE SOME OF THE PEOPLE WHOM MONEY HAS BEEN WASTED ON TO EDUCATE. SEE HIS OBLONG HEAD.

• Ama 11 years ago

HE IS VERY INTELLIGENT, WELL-EDUCATED, WELL-TRAINED AND WELL MANNERED THAT IS WHY HIS HAS OBLONG HEAD. WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM? I CAN SEE THAT YOU ARE ONE OF THOSE WHO ENVY THIS MAN. IF I WERE YOU, I WOULD THINK ABOUT HOW I WILL ...

• ABRANTIE GYASI 11 years ago

THIS educated elites are thieves but nothing more .They cannot increase themselves salaries over 100%,50K house allowance,diets,free vehicles ,free petrol, create more constituencies ,while increase fuel which is energy of gr ...

• Ama 11 years ago

your name really depicts who you are. You are really GOOD FOR NOTHING to call Kofi Buah "Stupid Fool" You are the most stupid fool on this planet.You really have to know how to talk instead of insulting people who are trying ...

• bex 11 years ago

He expects others to pay and sacrifice. Why not enlist MPs who fought for more rent allowances just a month ago?

What we are saying is that by increasing the price, you make it harder for folks who do the bulk of the work ...

• bex 11 years ago

should read: Mahama must wake up and stop now the inefficient running of our electricity sector.

• tomtom 11 years ago

Hey Mr. Man,the so-called educated elites in Ghana are more useless than our beloved illiterate peasants. Didn't you know that we go to school in Ghana just to steal from the government? They are the cause of all our woes.

• Ghanaba1 11 years ago

After 55 years of independence you are still talking about working hard to supply energy? foolish bastard beasts ruling a Blessed Nation without any good outcome and still some bulls will follow you idiots.I get frustrated wh ...

• Kwadzo 11 years ago

Hi Asempa, I know ur sentiment but we as people ought to do things right becourse if there was no contract Woyome would not have been awarded that amount and above all you and I can not take the court on for awarding such an ...

• DESTINY 11 years ago

This is NONSENSE!! Nkwaseasem ara kwa! The question YOU, MR MINISTER MUST ask yourself is: How is this increase going to make lives better for Ghana. After all, Ghana is now producing oil, doesn't it make more sense to subsid ...

• Oba Nyansa ni baako Pe in Ghana 11 years ago

NDC has confused and they don't know whether to start it from left, right.east or west.

Mahama will be the worse president Ghana has ever had. Even late Mills's one would be better than the current NDC.

No electricity s ...

• YAW DONKOR (AUS.) 11 years ago

East is the best for the start if Mahama is confused. Ghana deals with west with business. Follow Eastern principles.

• Ama 11 years ago

YOU REALLY DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT, SO I WILL JUST LEAVE IT LIKE THAT.

Is that not true that you think for me before I decide what to do? Looking unto what has transpired in Ghana now do you think that Mahama and his NDC corrupt Government can perfom better? I rather rest my case here but we are ...

• DESTINY 11 years ago

Please explain to me. This is a forum aimed at a better Ghana. If the ministers pay for their fuel, would they consider removing the subsidy? Subsidy removal or not, how can we and our leaders make the country better? How can ...

• DESTINY 11 years ago

Ama, sorry I should have addressed you in the proper manner,I should have said 'Madam' or 'lady'...something like that. Assuming you are presenting correctly:-).

• Roy Rogers 11 years ago

The surest way to help our economy is first for Mr. Buah and all his colleague ministers and deputies, all the parasites and hangers-on to STOP drawing free fuel from Govt, pay for their accommodation, pay their own drivers, ...

• ASEMPA 11 years ago

THE DESTINY OF THIS COUNTRY IS IN OUR OWN HANDS,HOW DO WE CREAT NEW CONSTITUENCIES & START TO PAY NEW 45 MPS WHO ALSO TAKES FAT MONTHLY SALARIES,FREE FUEL,FREE ACCOMODATION ETC. AND AT THE END OF THE DAY WE GO ABORROWING FRO ...

• macho 11 years ago

mad man stop insulting your precious Leader. FOOLISH MAN. go back to school.

• Pontius Pilate 11 years ago

Emmanuel Kofi Armah Buah has explained that the continuous swelling of government’s wage bill following the implementation of the Single Spine Salary Structure (SSSS) made it impossible for government to continue to subsidi ...

• Nipa Enye 11 years ago

You are stupid and don't think as a matured Ghanaian because you're stealing from all corners. Your entire family will pay for the cosequences.

• KOFORIDUA Flowers (fr) 11 years ago

YES THUS KOFI BUAH's PRINCIPLE "SLAUGHTER THE POOR PEOPLE TO SAVE THE DRAIN ECONOMY".WHO MADE THE ECONOMY SO WEAK AS IT IS TODAY?? CORRUPT ELEMENTS RUSHING FOR MONEY WITH BOTH HANDS AND LEGS.MAHAMA IS A FAILURE AND MUST GIVE ...

• NANA AMA SUNNY LOVE 11 years ago

Electoral fraud is corruption of democracy
    (Support the fight against election rigging and corruption in Ghana)

Ghana Election Was Rigged. And possibly with help from the Electoral Commission. It is all fraud . It is al ...

• MENSAH CASTRO..TEMA 11 years ago

>NDC CANT RULE GHANA.

• Asantewaa 11 years ago

Mr Buah, I know him,he was working in
    Virginia Post Office inthe US as a mailman, how does he qualify as an energy expert? NDC is really scrapping the bottom of the barrel.

• Oba Nyansa ni baako Pe in Ghana 11 years ago

This is true because I look at his face and it seems like I know him very well. NDC is scrapped!!!

• oppoosinii 11 years ago

The man is more than qualified. He was tried and tested as a deputy energy minister under Dr Joe Oteng so please stop your skin pain

Ghana first, forget about your NDC or NPP and besides he is not only scholar in Ghana. We have people in the system who are more skillful than this man but because of liars from your NDC party that is the reason why Ghana is ...

• oldtimo 11 years ago

Asantewaa, just stop speaking towards economic situation in Ghana. Clean up that old lady and feed her. She needs to sleep before you can gossip on the phone. You don't know Mr. Buah as you presented your case. You scrape ...

You are a typical Ghanaians. Pull him down syndrome. Kofi Armah Buah has an MBA from John Hopkins and worked as a Manager at the US Postal organization not a mailman.

How would you think our parliament vetted him during Mi ...

• Repugnant. 11 years ago

You said it right the guy is brilliant. He is also an Nzema a rare breed. One Nzema is better than a thousand Ashantis. Here is why! Doctor Amo, Komfo Anokye, Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah, Paa Grant, John Ackah Blay-Miezah(the w ...

• Rosalyn 11 years ago

Buah is fit for social service ministry after working for community service for autistic adult and children CSAAC in Rockville , maryland. I worked there too. Check his resume.

• Kwasi Miezah, Western Region 11 years ago

Rosalyn stop your nonsense. You and I know that most Africans (including Ghanaians) do odd jobs in the U.S and U.K to pay for their education. Kwame Nkrumah was a dish washer at various restaurants and also sold pieces of coa ...

• Nenebi 11 years ago

This man worked aa a post office in Germantown, Maryland, USA and at CSAAC, taking care of Autistic patients and now energy minister?

• Friends of Billy Boe 11 years ago

Asantewaa how do you come on such a public forum and expose your ignorance? Oh my God, you really need deliverance from the spirit of envy. First and foremost he never worked in any Virginia Post Office. He never worked as a ...

• Rosalyn 11 years ago

Thanks for elaborating on your desirable experience , honorable .Learn more on the job then raise a gallon to $10 to punish Asantewaa's and family.

• NANA ABBAH C.COAST 11 years ago

GHANA NEED COMPETENT PUPIL TO LEAD THE NATION.

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

THE BEST WAY TO ATTACK YOUR OPPONENT IS TO PROVE YOUR EXCELLENT IDEAS BUT NOT INSULTING BEHAVIOUR

• KUMI 11 years ago

WE MADE OUR JUDGEMENT IN THE 2012 GEN ELECTIONS, BUT NDC STOLE THEIR WAY UP.
    WE DID NOT PUT THEM THERE AS WE DONT TRUST THEM

• Christian peter 11 years ago

Our leaders got to know that without any increment in salaries there should be any increment in fuel, so they have to subsidize the price of fuels immediately or else they have to increase our salaries again and that one too ...

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

THE GOVERNMENT MUST WORK TOWARDS BETTER GHANA.IF THEY FAIL WE BOOT THEM OUT>PEROID

Be a true Ghanaian to achieve better Ghana.

• oga yum yum 11 years ago

they will rig the election

• NAMBA .. 11 years ago

THAT IS A STUPID TALK ,SO YOU THINK YOU KNOW.AND ALL THIS TIME YOU DID NOTHING,VERY SOON SOMEBODY WILL START ASSACINATING YOU GUYS.LIARS.WE CAN'T PAY FUEL FOR YOU TO ENJOY.

• Kofi Asaase Asa--- Mantukwa 11 years ago

At a certain point in life, certain things have to be changed. Prices for certain products need to be increased and certain subsidies removed.

Nobody is disputing or challenging any economic decision. Rather, what people ...

• DEDE 11 years ago

they cannot manage Ghana. What have we done to deserve this? our leaders are lazy

• NAMBA .. 11 years ago

MAHAMA CANNOT WASTE THE NATIONS MONEY TO CRATE 45 NEW CONSTITUENCY FOR POLITICAL GAINS AND WASTE THE COUNTRY'S MONEY FOR VOTE BUYING,ONLY FOR US TO SUFFER .PEOPLE SHALL CONTINUE TO CURSE NDC TILL THE RIGHT THING IS DONE.EVIL ...

Social services in Ghana operates from caring and sharing in Ghana. I think asking the lucky higher income earners to pay higher taxes to help subsidize power system in Ghana should not be of a problem to patriotic Ghanaian w ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

U people misused nation funds for election n now u need money through the increasing of
    fuel to chop more. shame on u!

• SHALOM 11 years ago

Hon. Minister, with all due respect don't try to push the so-called challenges, if not crisis, you are describing on the Single Spine Salary to dodge your responsibility. Ghanians are fed up with such concocted excuses from s ...

• Waspertazaki T. Deperveski 11 years ago

Sometimes in our lives we face big challenges. Those challenges are not suppose to retrogress us but serve as a stepping stone for greater height. Brethren, I believe insults are not going in anyway change the situation. But ...

• oga yum yum 11 years ago

• Mr. Oushuuuuu 11 years ago

Dumb ass as usual,are you learning any lessons from the wise writings above?.You cant learn new tricks just like an old dog.

• NO NAME 11 years ago

YOU COULD RELEASE 51 MILLIOM GHc TO WOYOME ALONE AND SHARE MONIES FOR YOURSELVES AS IF THERE IS NO TOMORROW FOR YOU TO COME OUT AND SAY THIS STUPID THING. DO YOU GUYS WANT GHANAIANS TO BLEED TO DEATH WHILE YOU ENJOY EH ?

• attaruwa 11 years ago

is only a stupid ones who think that increament of petro stabilize economy.they should go back to school, because they have failed the people so that is the only excuses they can give to the people.we always have stupid ideal ...

• FORGED PINK SHEETS 11 years ago

All those insulting Buah are swine. This is the next Kwame Nkrumah and only mate moho pink sheet idiots cannot see this. Insults do not repair things and win an election. You are all swine. Your grandparents are swine. Nana a ...

• Ghanaman 11 years ago

Hope next time they will vote wisely.

I agree with the minister. We have to get this energy problems out of the way very fast.

We Ghanaians cannot wait any longer so lets see the results mr Minister

• A Richard. 11 years ago

This i will say it's a positive results but is it going to help the poor on the street and their families. If only this subsidize can help to purchase and replace old electricity machines and water pumping machines to help el ...

• Tiliapia 11 years ago

Let us just put this idea of this gov't down and look at it carefully. will that solve the tumble of the economy or not?..if there is increase in fuel prices, who will that going to assist, the individuals or the gov't employ ...

• BUSH 11 years ago

The government knew for a fact that, there was crisis before the 2012 elections, yet 45 new constituencies and 42 District Assemblies were created,that is bringing extra burden to the nation's purse. Calculate the amount inv ...

• Kelly ( france ) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• Rosalyn 11 years ago

People should get together and resources to do something on their own. Also departments should be able to generate income into the consolidated fund. The police department generate a lot of income into the treasury in Washing ...

• Kwakuvie III 11 years ago

If you guys know that we have this problem with the economy why did you give all that money to Wyomie and increase your salaries? Unnecessary expenditures.Do you really have this country Ghana at heart,or you just went to the ...

• KANEWU 11 years ago

THESE VISIONLESS FOOLS ARE ALWAYS INTERESTED IN "ROBBING PETER TO PAY PAUL".

IN OTHER WORDS, THEIR ONLY VISIONLESS ALTERNATIVE PLAN TO CURB PUBLIC/GOVERNMENT SPENDING IS TO IMPOSE EXPLOITATIVE IMPORT DUTIES AND OTHER WICKE ...

• anayomi 11 years ago

WHY IS MAHAMA DONT SHOW LEADERSHIP AND PREVENT THIS NONSENSE FROM HAPPENING THE GOVT IS DESTROYING THE ECONOMY BY RAISING PETRO PRICES WHICH RAISE THE PRICE OF ALL GOODS AND SERVICES IN GHANA SOMEONE NEED TO BE HELD ACCUNTA ...

• HARD TALK 11 years ago

WHAT ARE THE PEOPLE GETTING FROM THE ECONOMY? ARE GHANAIANS NOT PAYING THE WATER BILLS? HOSPITAL BILLS? SCHOOLS FEES? ELECTRICITY BILLS? LORRY FARES? GHANAIANS ARE GETTING NOTHING FROM THAT FUCKING AND DIRTY ECONOMY IN THE CO ...

• ck 11 years ago

you are a big fool go back to class room and learn.are the rest of ghanaians who dont have oporctuanity to earn single spine saraly not human bings

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

The subject of the matter is energy of which if you don't take care will break your economy and develpment.I will give some few sources of energy,Gas,Water,Wind,Sun,Oil,Coal and Firewood.Out of these sources,we get Nuclear En ...

• Abeiku - London 11 years ago

U mean swelling wage bill for d Government officials and staunch party members ... corruption plays a big part in all this ... let all those rich IDIOTS and companies pay their electricity bills for instance and stop this pay ...

• Kwame Aidoo 11 years ago

When was the last time you spent your stolen money on petrol?! We are going to hd you responsible if we don't see anything from your accession.You better make sure you are true!

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

JUSTIFYING IMF/WORLD BANK ADVICE. ASK BAWUMIA AND HE WILL SAY THE SAME THING. BUT IS THIS GOOD FOR GHANA? NO.

• KOFORIDUA Flowers (fr) 11 years ago

WHIMSICAL NONSENSE!!HOW MUCH WAS PAID ON BILL BOARDS,VEHICLES TO CHIEFS AND IMMAM's BIRTHDAY PRESENT,MILLIONS OF 5 KILO RICE,COOKING OIL,PIECES OF CLOTHES,HUNDAI CARS FOR STUDENTS AND HAJIA ALIMA,17 VEHICLE ENTOURAGE OF THE O ...

• Rass rock 11 years ago

How do u save the economy without thinking about the people who dwell in in .

• Ama 11 years ago

BACK TO SENDER

• Mr. Oushuuuuu 11 years ago

Why then did you not increase it to about GHC 50 a gallon since that will serve the economy better and shoot you into a developed nation.African leaders are just clueless ,no innovation just the same old tricks changed with e ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

Listen to any unproductive minister

• Rosalyn 11 years ago

He should be a minister at the presidency and recruit from Tarkwa University.

• M3 MA MO DUMSOR 11 years ago

SAVE THE ECONOMY FROM WHAT? WOYOME?

• Nana Ayebeng 11 years ago

Hon Buah you mention that govt has increased wage bill to over 7billion. It is areserious blender causedby govt. Wage bill should not go beyond GHC5billion. The single spine was not properly implemented. As country we have ...

• Abodzraku moses 11 years ago

Yes he was put there just to sing his masters praise. Saaaachwe westerner.Think about your people and how they can go to the sea to make ends meet than to politicise everything shame minister

• KATE 11 years ago

MAHAMA, ASIEDU NKETIA AND NDC FOOLS FINISH ALL GHANA MONEY, MAHAMA BOUGHT CARS FOR WOMEN, STUDENTS, CHIEFS AND GAVE THE MONEY TO HULUGANGS TO STEAL THE ELECTIONS FOR HIM.

• Mary 11 years ago

You could also cut down on the freebies, i.e. the free petrol for all the MPs and Ministers, free house help, free usage of phone the list goes on. Also, reducing corruption by at least 30% will definitely help. How about mo ...

• Bobby Bombo 11 years ago

I know I will take a lot of harsh criticisms for my comment but I just want to throw it out there.

The only reason the Ghana government is forced to explain fuel price increases is because the government continues to subsi ...

• prof 11 years ago

kofi armah buah is stupid as his useless president and ndc as a whole

• Kofi 11 years ago

If increasing the price pf petrol will save the economy then increase it further so the country will have the best economy in the world.

• Show boy 11 years ago

Foolish talk from a fool

• Cork Stone Thems 11 years ago

Show boy,you are so full of jealousy its not even funny. Your attack l deem them very person and very unfortunate? Tell the whole world what you do for a living Show boy!!
    You are so disgusting and demeaning in your disposit ...

• PROF -- THOMAS KUBI -- McA INT MAR 11 years ago

NO ALTERNATIVE ENERGY ???
    SUGAR CANE ==BRAZIL==SPENDING
    $12 billion INVESTMENT ==SUNFLOWER=
    SEEDS== ITALY = SUN==
    I AM STILL WAITING FOR SUGAR
    CANE PROJECT !!! FOR TEN YEARS ! ...

• Salifu 11 years ago

Fuel increment to save the economy?Foool! Just wait for the day judgement will visit you and the NDC Nation wreckers. The Ghanaian economy has been plundered already by the NDC so ther's no need saving it because you guys can ...

• JH-New York City 11 years ago

U have no brains. Did U thought of how you will pay for it,before ur foolish Atta Mess rushed to implement it? Fools.