You are here: HomeNews2013 02 14Article 265013

Fiifi Kwetey backs removal of fuel subsidies

Read Comments Comments (33)

• ADAMA 11 years ago

NDC THIEVES

• Kojo T 11 years ago

No insults please come up with sensible suggestions. This is not NDC maTTER BUT SOMETHING THAT AFFECTS ALL gHANA

• Samson Addey 11 years ago

gHANA CANNOT AFFORD UBSIDIES ANYMORE.lETS REMEMBER 80% of Ghanaians do not pay any taxes at all due to informal economy and rural economy.AND with all the govt corruption eating aware at Govt resources, where can we find the ...

• SON OF GHANA 11 years ago

DOES IT MEAN WE SHOULD PAY FOR THE CORRUPTION OF GOVERNMENT. IF TAXES ARE CONSTRUCTIVELY USED, THEN WE WILL UNDERSTAND IT AND NOT WHEN TAXES ARE SHARED FOR THEIR GREEDY POCKETS. NATIONAL DESTROYERS

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

If government decides (which it must) to remove fuel subsidy, the policy implementation must be thought through carefully. Subsidy on petrol and diesel should be removed completely, whilst those for farming and fishing as wel ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 11 years ago

IS this guy ministerial materials?

Do we need a minister of financial institutions?

• Concerned Ghanaian 11 years ago

The name you have chosen for yourself suggests there is something wrong with you. The guy makes a suggestion and instead of agreeing or disagreeing with him you come up with a stupid one liner.

• JAMES Y 11 years ago

Fiifi Kwetey is absolutely right! His analysis is spot-on! Ghanaians can not go on to eat their cakes and expect to have them at the same time. If they really want things that can improve their lives - roads, good shelters, h ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 11 years ago

Do you have any brains to consider what the guy said. He made a point for the rural dwellers and why they should not be shortchanged and all you can do do is use your behind to think.

• okukwasia kwa! 11 years ago

kwasia abi u dont buy some,gyimii

• Akwasi 11 years ago

Is it now feasible?if we had not made fuss about petrol increases during Kuffour's time, we might have been somewhere now. Any good proposition from NPP is bad but from NDC very good. Ghana whither are we going?

• Mike 11 years ago

This man doesn't care for the poor and the middle class in ghana. he thinks it's ok for MP's to take 7200 GHC but it's never ok to continue with the fuel subsidies then he is out of touch with the oridinary Ghanaian. He gets ...

• PEKI TUMU 11 years ago

It subsides the MPs twice over

• PEKI TUMU 11 years ago

The money used for the subsidy is betters pent on positive areas of social and development advancement. The poor do not really benefit form such subsidies

• kby 11 years ago

Yes this is typical of African politicians. I never thought Fiifi Kwettey could come out with such a brilliant idea of thinking about the Ghanaian populace and economy. he may get the position by ...

• major 11 years ago

look at you fiifi , you are enjoying free fuel and now you want the subcides to be removed..........

• Emmaa 11 years ago

Fiifi don't deceive the govt to commit suicide

• Pontius Pilate 11 years ago

petroleum products are taxed. infact ex-pump prices contain a lot of taxes. how can we be taxed for a product and at the same time enjoy subsidies. i need help

• Hazor 11 years ago

Is Kwasi Pratt and Wereko-Brobby lying to Ghanaians that fuel prices do not get government subsidies and the government has no right to increase fuel prices to cause astronomical increases in basic everyday uses commodities p ...

• SARPONG K UMANKUMA 11 years ago

What do you expect from this spent bullet, lets ignore this boy, i will put him at O level economics student talking to a Senior lecturer in the University,
    Journalist must ignore him

• Obenfo 11 years ago

I liked his reason for wanting to removing the subsidies, but why should subsidizing oil purchases lead to inflation?

Borrowing for infrastructure will increase GDP, whereas borrowing to supporting payroll and other operat ...

• Baba Alhassan 11 years ago

Mills allowed these nonentities to become rich over night and now careless about the masses.

• Patrick Ofosu 11 years ago

FiiFi has made sense this time. Urban noise must be ignored and the right thing done.

• Say the TRUTH 11 years ago

NOW HE AND HIS NDC AFTER FACING THE REALITY HAVE COME TO REALIZE THAT PROPAGANDA, LIES AND STEELING WILL NOT HELP THEM TO PERPETUATE THEIR LOOTING OF THE STATE RESORCES, VOTE RIGGING (WHICH IS ABOUT TO BE EXPOSED IN THE SC) A ...

• Abentoeya 11 years ago

By now the ndc's would be given preises and thnks to former priz John Kufour in their minds.now you are also facing it, seing it, feeling it and experiance it. whe they were in oposition they were criticing NPP. they should g ...

• MZ 11 years ago

I want to use this opportunity to tout hon. Fiifi for this laudable idea. He really merits his position. The government should rather remove this subsidies and build roads and schools for the people and if indeed the governme ...

• Nana,Legon 11 years ago

see this mumu? ei be only ghana wey a man frm Togo go fit chop finance minister!!! gh has a big problem

• CINDY 11 years ago

Why are the advocates of the removal of fuel subsidy are saying that the subsidy is meant for the poor but it is rather the rich who are enjoying it. I really do not understand this logic. In any case are the rich guys not al ...

• Kwasi Miezah, Western Region 11 years ago

“Let’s subsidize public transport, but not fuel”. I totally agree. That's a great comment from the Hon. Minister designate.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 11 years ago

Now the thug of war on this fuel subsidy is between the Finance Minister - Seth Terkper on one side and the so called Minister-designate for Financial and Allied Institutions - Fiifi Kwetey and (BOG's) Wampah on the other sid ...

• samafojk 11 years ago

Can all these people just tell how much subsidy is on every gallon?

• marynn 11 years ago

you must first provide better public transportation before removing subsidy.the only people receiving subsidy are the politicians.

• Rass rock 11 years ago

Another stupid selfish man in our country. He has forgotten that , it was these poor and helpless Ghanians who contributed their low income to pay him. Stupid greedy man .