$80M Gold may be 419 Scam - Gbevlo Lartey

Read Comments Comments (94)

• ADAMA 11 years ago

FOOLISH THIEVES

• CIA 11 years ago

GHANA FAILED

• anayomi 11 years ago

AND EVERYONE COVER UP THE STORYS WE DEMAND THE RETERN OF THE GOLD FROM TURKY AND IRAN TERRORIST SPONSER STATES ITS TIME TO COME CLEAN MR MAHAMA

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

NIGERIA TO WIN AFCON CUP SEVEN TIMES!!!

Nigeria will keep the AFCON Cup for a very very long time before Ghana ever think of smelling it. With or without your 'juju' we shall keep the CUP, in the name of Jesus. Jesus Chr ...

• ????? 11 years ago

“My strong gut feeling is that this whole thing will turn out to be a scam”, Gbevlo Lartey told Joy FM in an interview on Thursday February 14."

This idiot is the National Security Director and is talking about his gut ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

“My strong gut feeling is that this whole thing will turn out to be a scam”, Gbevlo Lartey told Joy FM in an interview on Thursday February 14.

GOLD SEIZURE...INSIDE JOB BY GH GOVT!
    CONSPIRACY TO STEAL GARGANTUANLLY ...

• ELINAM 11 years ago

Where were his men, even "IF" his "gut feeling" is telling him of what he hasn't seen is fake, how on earth this plane landed and took off without his knowledge of what they brought in and what they took out?
    Who at all are ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

How can such a criminal be appointed
    as a Security Capo if indeed NDC organisation does not compose of total bunch of thieves, smuglers?

Was it not under the close watch of this idiot where boxes containing gold Bars was ...

• ASONA BA BEKOE ATUO - USA 11 years ago

WHAT IS THIS MAN WHO IS SAID TO BE THE TOP OF SECURITY UP TO. HE IS DISCOUNTING THE TRUTH ABOUT THE GOLD. SO IN THE END OF HIS SO CALLED INVESTIGATION, HE COMES OUT TO SAY AFTER ALL THE GOLD IS NOT REAL, THEREBY SAVING THE G ...

• ABRANTIE GYASI 11 years ago

This so called national security co.ordinator is just another ignorant, with no ideas about national security but just in post, to receive salary. How can a 80 million worth of gold, smuggled out from the country be a scam?If ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

Do you remember the Fulanis at Agogo-Ashanti? Do you remember the GFA raids? Do you remember him ordering the beatings of NDC women Alhajas at Ho? Do you remember him defending Nii Lantey Vanderpuye? Do you remember him defen ...

• gretchy 11 years ago

hahaha stupid buggr thinks were're not up to the play eh!!! Watch out Ghana Iran is gunna send a little package for, he say's fake gold hahahaha..."Boooommmm"How many damn crooks are there in Parliament.

• jaay jiiy 11 years ago

Prove it with evidence.
    Return the so called what ever and prove it to all.

• Jane 11 years ago

Is it ironic that no government official is demanding the rerun of this gold?

• FEDUP 11 years ago

YOU CAN SAY THAT AGAIN. THESE PEOPLE ARE JUST A SCAPEGOATS. GBEVLO IS AN IDIOT. THE GOLD IS PROBABLY IN IRAN AND WE WANT IT BACK.

• Vuvuzela 11 years ago

Gbevlo is more than an idiot and I don't know how he came to be occupying his present position. Someone should give him this to read:

“According to the BNI, at the airport, one Isaac Anakwa Asante, Head of Operations of ...

• WTF 11 years ago

“The first rule of holes: When you're in one stop digging.”

? Molly Ivins

Mahama and Buga-Buga Lartey need our greatest sympathy for their sheer idiocy. The are in a hole and think they can get out by digging deepe ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

And he Mahama lied to all Ghanaians that he went to Turkey on a business recruting trip when we know he actually went begging for the release of the cargo. Mahama knows very well that NDC is involved in this. Like the Wayome ...

• NANA WEE IS MY AMBITION. 11 years ago

NPP IS FULL OF SCAM CERTIFICATE HOLDERS. ASHANTI /AKYEMS ARE ILLITERATES AND REFUSES TO SEEK KNOWLEDGE.

• SAM 11 years ago

"ASHANTI /AKYEMS ARE ILLITERATES AND REFUSES"

Such a horrible grammar aqnd you call your self literate?

• JM 11 years ago

Turkey security found the gold on board a Turkish plane without proper documents, why do some fools among us like you wants to bring in politics Idiot,fool put on your thinking cap and reason for we are in the 21st century. ...

• kofi opoku 11 years ago

And this makes you literate?

• OBIBA-JUDAS 11 years ago

THEY WANT TO BRIBE HIM AND SNOB THE CASE>>FOOLISH MAN

• MENSAH CASTRO..TEMA 11 years ago

WHAT IS GOING ON IN GHANA.

• John 11 years ago

sorry SIR,we are also educated!

• ghanaba 11 years ago

please when turks and iranians are involved be careful. please we need an international expertise you monkey

• Man of God 11 years ago

The National Security Coordinator Col. Larry Gbevlo Lartey says he suspects the 1.5 tons of gold ferried from Ghana and intercepted at Turkey may turn out to be a scam.
    When will the NDC ever speak the truth to the people of ...

• anayomi 11 years ago

WE DONT WANT OUR GOLD TO GO TO IRAN AND TURKY TERRORIST COUNTRYS

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 11 years ago

The serious security issue here is why did that huge tonnage of whatever you chose to call it left Ghana international airport without any proper documentation under the watch of our security operatives of which you, Gbevlo i ...

• Nana Asare 11 years ago

THIS MAN Gbevlo Lartey SHOULD BE RELEIVED OF HIS POST WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT TO ALLOW PROPER INVESTIGATIONS INTO THIS $80M GOLD LOST TO GHANA. HE IS TRYING TO COVER UP FOR THE TOP GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS INVOLVED.

• Pelicles 11 years ago

Listen to that stupid so-called "National Security coordinator". If this is a scam then do you want us to believe that the Turks and the Iranians have no knowledge about gold?

These two nations have a long history on this ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 11 years ago

Mahama is behind the shipment of this gold.You cannot fool us.Mahama visited Turkey when this gold had already been siezed.His visit was not a mere coincidence.Mahama is behind this shipment of gold.He went to turkey to plead ...

• PeaceGod 11 years ago

SCAM my foot, abi you need money to regain your losses with the just ended elections? Gbevlo Lartey, don't go there cos we don't want to hear nonsense. what scam? come out with something better, or you know something about it ...

• richard m. 11 years ago

how can a storborn person like JOHN MAHAMA RULE GHANA.HE IS TOTALLY BEHIND THIS GOLD DEAL.that is why he went to turkey.Our God is a wonderfull GOD.MAHAMA Will be dealt with.

• DONBOLI 11 years ago

How stupid can a professional go. Gbevlo if you think is gold dust why should it leave ghana without you knowing as our NCC, what is you job then.
    Turkey embassy in ghana is saying it gold from ghana and you think it a scam. ...

• OYC 11 years ago

DO YOU THINK WE ARE KIDS, WHO WILL CHARTER A WHOLE PLANE, GET ALL THE NECESSARY LICENSE WITHOUT TESTING.. OR DO YOU THINK TURKEY OFFICIALS ARE LIKE STUPID GHANAIANS.. THEY WILL VERIFY IT FIRST BEFORE CONFISCATING IT

• Kwaku Tee 11 years ago

It's so interesting,how could a security chief come out with such a statement?Does he respect the position he holds?I feel sad for this country.

• Pontius Pilate 11 years ago

any serious security capo would have by now liaised with his counterparts whereever they may be to establish facts. here we are with our own trying to trivialize everything that befalls this country why?

first it was the N ...

• Abbey 11 years ago

Ghana is competeing very fast with Nigeria in crime,in fact I don't want to hear us calling Nigerians names again because we are now competing with them in crime and we will overtake them within the shortest possible time.
    8 ...

• Lovely 11 years ago

And most of this sophisticated crimes are commited by the very people elected to lead the nation.

• Sarpong 11 years ago

Rather than depending on his gut instincts,why cant Mr Gbevlo travel to Turkey to inspect the gold bars himself.This will help convince Ghanaians that there is no cover-up.Its all about transparency.

• Mathew, Baltimore, US 11 years ago

...we know them.

• PeaceGod 11 years ago

You are a very foolish man paaaa, it seems NDC IS IN YOUR BLOOD, they are taking our gold away and you are here playing politics game here.fool, you don't have the nation at heart that's why, you only have party in your blood ...

• Kofi kyei (u.s.a) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• Bennito 11 years ago

How can a whole National Security Coordinator say such a thing when it's pending investigation.Is it meant to prepare our minds towards forgetting about the whole thing?Are they saying the Turkish authorities are unprofession ...

• Abeiku 11 years ago

R u taking us for idiots Sir ... why 419 scam all of a sudden ... please stop insulting our intelligence .. trust me we r well educated boss ...

• kodjo 11 years ago

Ghanaians wake up!!! Every year, officially, 2,000,000 ounces of gold is exported by only one company (Anglogold). At current market prices, that is $3,500,000,000/year which is about $9,600,000/day. It means every 8 days, on ...

• nana 11 years ago

security chief,get all the information before you come out to say,you believe it might be a scam.That is the way a top capo speaks

• Daniels 11 years ago

Gbevlo Lartey thinks he is a smart guy. We all know that it is real gold bars we are talking about, Gbevlo Lartey cannot fool us. We know of the high level collusion and connivance that is going on with the intention of decla ...

• KK 11 years ago

Daniels you said it all, there are a number of metallurgical labs in ghana that can do this test easily and to tell you the truth, you dont even need a cargo plane full of sample to be able determine what sample it is. In any ...

• ATUGUBA 11 years ago

Wait till the USA confirms we are assisting Iran to by pass sanctions and then we would see where external funds will come from?? This government will go 4 years without any major project executed

• Frank Mensah, Tikobo No. 2 11 years ago

Another Castle idiot. Should security be making statements on gut feelings or hard facts?

• Say the TRUTH 11 years ago

GBEVLO SHOULD NOTE THAT SCAM OR NO SCAM IT STARTED IN GHANA AND IF THE NATIONAL SECURITY HAD BEEN ALERT ON THEIR JOB THEY WOULD HAVE DETECTED IT AND STOP THE SCAM IN GHANA BEFORE THE PLANE TAKE OFF TO TURKEY!!!

• ATUGUBA 11 years ago

Why should a spy chief making such statements in Public.
    Rock samples are normally sent to Laboratories.
    Which Laboratory were these samples destined for??
    Secondly you do not need a chartered plane to transport samples. ...

• Hamidu 11 years ago

That security guy is useless buga buga security chief

• Hazor 11 years ago

My question is this are those two Ghanaians Peter Bedzrah and Fredrick Kojo Essumang that were imprecate in the Turkey /Iran gold saga, are they innocent or they are still involve in the gold saga?Mahama Ayariga information m ...

• Jato Rawlings 11 years ago

The Gold was an NDC scam to raise money to pay Afari Gyan.

• KWAME, USA 11 years ago

OMG, WHO WOULD SHIP ROCK SAMPLES OF NO COMMERCIAL VALU. IDIOT, SAMPLE FOR STUDY MEANS JUST THAT - A FEW ROCKS NOT A PLANE LOAD. O GHANA

• Nii Akwei 11 years ago

A member of Ghana Armed Forces was reported by The Herald newspaper, made a request to Ghana Civil Aviation to let the cargo plane land at KIA. So, Gbevlo comment does not surprise me.

• ATUGUBA 11 years ago

Why should a spy chief making such statements in Public.
    Rock samples are normally sent to Laboratories.
    Which Laboratory were these samples destined for??
    Secondly you do not need a chartered plane to transport samples ...

• Kofinipa 11 years ago

Were the GS bigmen at the airpot on the day of shipment? The documentation could have been collected weeks ahead of D-day or earlier on D-day. They may have done the papers based on what they had been told by Omanye big boys. ...

• MENSAH 11 years ago

GBEVLO,I should think,should himself witness the GOLD BARS OR WHATEVER before making comment over it.He just cannot sit on his buttocks in Ghana saying "HIS GUTS FEELING,THE WHOLE ISSUE ON THE GOLD,WOULD END UP AS A SCAM".Wha ...

• NENE ADEKERKER 11 years ago

Gbevlo, Do you think Ghanains are fools? It will not be long when your cup will be full. I only pity John Mahama for keeping such destroyers.

• KWASHIE ADJAH 11 years ago

GBEVLO-LARTEY IS CREATING A SMOKE SCREEN TO HIDE HIS INCOMPETENCE, NDC CORRUPTION. GBEVLO SHOULD LOSE HIS JOB FOR THE GROSS INCOMPETENCE AND CORRUPTION.

THIEVES, PICK POCKETS RULING A NATION, WHAT DO WE EXPECT?????

• ghanaman 11 years ago

he is ewe with no brain to do anything americans were ghana daus before obama came to ghana without his knowledge.useless man from wrong part of ghana

Why 1.5 tons of rocks as samples? Mr national security man, you are too big to say this. You are belitting the intelligency of Ghanaians. This is one of Kwaku Ananse stories.

Mr Gbevlo, this not a cat stealing syndicate which you are a master. Ghanaians are Ghanaians, will always be Ghanaians just understand that and respect good people of Ghana, even if you don't respect yourself.

• boka 11 years ago

YOU THINK WE ARE KIDS.? EVEN MY THREE YEARS OLD WILL NEVER BELIEVE YOU. YOU BETTER STOP THIS ANANSE SEM

• Hazor 11 years ago

Why did National security sit unconcent to let the image if Ghana be tanish by folks to run US$80million in gold scam and why allow it?Whiles evidence prove that the scam ore was actually gold bars.Turkey's security confirm i ...

• YHO 11 years ago

IF THE GOLD WAS OF NO VALUE WHY WAS IT VALUED AT 80 MILLION DOLLARS YOU THIEVES. IS BETTER GBEVLO LEAVE THE SEAT. HE IS WAISTING OUR TIME.

• YHO 11 years ago

WHERE ON EARTH WOULD AIRCRAFT COME TO GHANA AND LOAD STONES TO IRAN WITH NO VALUE.

• `SUGARFOOT` ZOOZEE, TEMA 11 years ago

The fact remains that ALL GHANAIANS ARE SONS AND DAUGHTERS OF KWAKU ANANSE.
    HE WHO IS NOT SHOULD BE THE FIRST TO CAST THE STONE.
    WE ARE ALL BORN AND BRED TO BE PRACTITIONERS OF LIES, DECIEPT, COCK AND BULL STORIES AND SHEER ...

• sbrooks 11 years ago

Yeah maybe but some of you are sooooo much better at than others

• ujah. 11 years ago

Now Ghanaians will understand JJ and his call of thieves in NDC. The former head of State J.J. Rawllings has been crying thieves and no body is minding him now we are bitting our fingers. The whole of National Security ...

• Visionary 11 years ago

The Mahama administration should come out clean and explain in details to people of Ghana about this Gold water saga.
    This will truely have the President the support from people of Ghana and maintain his integrity dignity a ...

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

Wow! Another twist in a gargantuan gold scandal, just as the cocaine bust. For Gbevlo Lartey to make such public statement smacks of govt top-level cover-up.

Hmm! His statement reads; “My strong gut feeling is that this ...

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

Gbevlo Lartey wants Ghanaians to believe that there's no competent labs in Ghana to conduct rock or soil tests, to the extend that the nation had to ship tons of it to be examined outside. What does this man take Ghanaian for ...

• Frederick Kofi Tawiah 11 years ago

If Gbevlo want us to belive what he claim to be scan or fake, they should return the cargo to Ghanaian soil again for proper scrutuny. don't throw dust into our eyes.

• ujah. 11 years ago

Gbevlo you are a thief whom are you trying to please GHANAIANS then it is an insult. The fact that you in NDC and now in a position to talk and steal the public you are throwing pepper into our eyes. Don't cover this up ...

• Mary 11 years ago

Where are Kwesi Pratt and JJ, while this story is unfolding? Why is this story in the Daily Graphic newspaper?

• PAPA ARKOH, USA 11 years ago

PLEASE FOR HEAVEN'S SAKE, DO NOT INSULT OUR INTELLIGENCE.SOME GHANAIANS CAN BE FOOLED TO BELIEVE YOUR UNINTELLIGENT LIES BUT NOT SOME OF US.THIS IS A SPIT IN THE FACE OF THE WHOLE NATION GHANA.GOD WILL PUNISH YOU ALL NATION W ...

• SOKOTO 11 years ago

Look at some IGNORAMUS. When the Turkish authorities confiscate gold, this man here thinks it is rocks.

Do you think the Turkish authorities are so ignorant that they cannot distinguish between Gold and Rock?

• sbrooks 11 years ago

No Sokoto he thinks we are so stupid that we,d fall for this lame ass excuse!

• sinke 11 years ago

is gbevlo stupid??? why would someone carry 1.5 tons of rock on a plane as sample???? he's wayomizing the whole thing!!!!!!!!!!!

• Kwesi - USA 11 years ago

I am surprised this guy is the national Security boss. How come he does not know but just suspect! Then don't say anything if you don't have the facts as a security boss, you should be on top of your game. I am so sad for GHa ...

• yd 11 years ago

How can such a words come from someone that we trusted our national security into his hands.Ghana is in trouble.this ewes and tribalism will finish our country for us.

• Ato 11 years ago

Please, Americans, we want to stop Iran from having it roots in Ghana, before they starts their Evil stuff, so help Ghanaian s to know the truth about this story. But as for this people, there is no hope.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 11 years ago

Quote "Gbevlo said the documentation backing the gold export from the Geological Survey Department indicated that the cargo was just rock samples of gold which had no commercial value". Yeah right! A 1.5 tons cargo of rocks t ...

• sbrooks 11 years ago

yeah 1.5 tons of rocks does stretch credulity tremendously doesn't it.

• obia nye obia 11 years ago

its right that the man is acting now. he is selfish and has no heart for his country. this 419 man for national security. just arrest him to help with the investigation. he lacks clue how to hide the transaction. all those i ...

• Bedzro 11 years ago

Who is this numb-skull trying to fool here? Himself, John Mahama, Atta-Mills, the Ghanaian people, the Turkish authority or the international community? How could you NDC folks be so callous,heartless and insensitive?

• Kwabena Sakyiama 11 years ago

the national security coordinator should do their home work and stop the may might maybe to throw dust in our eyes

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

LISTEN TO THAT IDIOT.INSTEAD OF INVESTIGATING AND REPORTING FACTS, HE IS HAPPY TO TELL US, 'ITS ALL A HOAX. THE TURKS DID NOT SEIZE ANY GOLD" IS HE CALLING THE TURKISH PORT AUTHORITIES LIARS? HAS HE GONE TO CHECK WHETHER THEY ...

• EBO MENSAH 11 years ago

IN GOD'S HANDS WE LEAVE THIS CASE! HE IS THE UNSEEN JUDGE AND HE WILL REVEAL AND REWARD APPROPRAITELY! PERIOD