You are here: HomeNews2013 02 13Article 264938

$80 million gold scandal; two top public officials arrested

Read Comments Comments (92)

• Vuvuzela 11 years ago

The problem is not the arrest. Will they be jailed if they're found guilty? That is what is worth mulling over.

• Vuvuzela 11 years ago

These guys know the laws in Ghana are a kind of "trompe-oeil", a toothLESS tool. NO one gets jailed in Ghana except fish and tomatoes thieves.

• AAA 11 years ago

They are just scape-goats, nothing will happend to them. The real thieves are sitting somewhere enjoying themselves.

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

NIGERIA WILL KEEP THE AFCON CUP FOR THE NEXT SEVEN YEARS BEFORE GHANA EVER THINK OF SMELLING IT. WITH YOUR JUJU OR NO JUJU, WE HAVE THE POWER OF HOLY GHOST ON OUR SIDE, AND JESUS IS OUR KEEPER...AND HE WILL KEEP THE AFCON CUP ...

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

This is a daily occurence at our ports and airports. The government is only reacting because their pants are down. What a bunch of thieves leading Ghana. I feel sorry for my dear country.

• JATO 11 years ago

THE ARRESTED OCCURED AFTER THE FACT.WHERE WAS NATIONAL SECURITY,WHEN THE GOLD WERE LOADED INTO THE PLANE?THE NATIONAL SECURITY WAS AFTER NDC POLITICAL OPPONENTS.THE TWO PUBLIC SERVANTS SHOULD NOT BE USE AS SCAPE GOALTS.MAHAMA ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

AUTHOR: TONY

P/NDCs HAVE LIED FROM AFRC TIME TO PRESENT DAY NDC GOVERNMENT. GHANA HAS WASTED OVER 30 YEARS OF J.J. RAWLINGS REIGN OF TERROR. NPP RULED FOR JUST 8 YEARS WITH DECENCY, HONESTY, FREEDOM OF SPEECH, RULE OF LAW ...

• Mr Figure Out 11 years ago

This day light robbery has got everything to do with Mahama and Asiedu Nketias NDC. Remember they brought pyram,that fake banking institution, to rob Innocent Ghanaians of billions of old Ghana cedes, not forgetting about the ...

• IN GOD WE TRUST 11 years ago

HIM AND HIS GENERATIONS WILL NEVER KNOW PEACE TILL THY KINGDOM COME.....Amen

• Gyae Wasem 11 years ago

what and who the rats are you referring to . Speak plainly or shut up

• Seku 11 years ago

It depends on where you stand and which mirror you are looking through. As a businessman under NPP I met my nemesis for being known as an NDC admirer.

• The African Patriot 11 years ago

You see!? What you have writen, it makes sense because no one can organise such a logistic challenge. Never two people alone, but you are going to have people who will defend the government as it is not responsible for the tr ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

GOLD SEIZURE...INSIDE JOB BY GH GOVT!
    CONSPIRACY TO STEAL GARGANTUANLLY!
    HOW DID GHANA, 3RD RICHEST NATION IN THE WORLD IN TERMS OF NATURAL RESOURCES END UP LIKE THIS? BLAME OUR LEADERS, OURSLEVES!
    NOT THE WHITEMAN, NOT TH ...

• IN GOD WE TRUST 11 years ago

WHAT DOES NDC THINK? WE ARE NOT FOOLS LIKE THEM. THEY SHOULD CUT THE CRAP AND BRING THE GOLD. WE NEED THE MONEY FOR FREE SHS AND OTHER DEVELOPMENTS. GOD WILL PUNISH THEM ALL.

• Jane 11 years ago

THE TWO PEOPLE CANNOT STEAL THAT AMONT OF GOLD, GHANAIANS ARE NOT FOOLS. THE STROY HAS CHANGE SO MANY TIMES, NDC LARS KEEP LIYING AND VERY SOON IT WILL CATCH UP WITH YOU ALL MAHAMA AND HIS GANGS HAS FINISH ALL OU MONEY. ASIED ...

• Terribly Spe Cific 11 years ago

"Immediately pres Mahama set an investigation.."That is not true Mr reporter, he denied first SHAAAAAME!!!

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

As soon as those arrested produce an
    NDC membership Card to proove that they are NDC supporters, the case will
    be administered by Dramani Mahama, Paul Tawia Quaye IGP and Asiedu-Nketia, Koku Anyidoho, Gbevlo Lartey,
    Ofosu ...

• Visionary, Billings, MT. 11 years ago

nigeria is the most juju concious country on earth!! Be advised if you are not already aware the word juju is in fact Nigerian!!!!!

NIGERIA TO WIN AFCON CUP SEVEN TIMES!!!

Nigeria will keep the AFCON Cup for a very very long time before Ghana ever think of smelling it. With or without your 'juju' we shall keep the CUP with the power of Holy Ghost on ...

• Tax man 11 years ago

Yes because they are fools

NIGERIA TO WIN "WORLD CUP" VERY SOON, IN JUSES MIGHTY NAME. IGNORE MY PREDICTIONS AT YOUR OWN PERIL.

• NAIJA THIEVES AND CROOKS 11 years ago

When was the last time Nigeria ever won anything, before now? Check the facts and get lost into the dark abyss you came from. Criminals.

• GHANA THIEVES AND CROOKS 11 years ago

WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME GHANA WON ANYTHING? OVER THIRTY YEARS AGO. YOU GONNA WAIT FOR A VERY VERY LONG TIME BEFORE YOU CAN SMELL THE AFCON CUP.
    NAIJA IS YOUR MASTER AND SKIN PAIN AND JEALOUSY GO KILL YOU AND WE SHALL SEND YO ...

• anayomi 11 years ago

THAT ARE STEALING GHANA GOLD FROM THE NATIONAL TRESURY. OUR GOLD IS IN TURKY AND IRAN 2 TERRORIST STATES THAT MAHAMA CLAIM SHULD HAVE VERY CLOSE TIES TO GHANA

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

This will not also go anywhere, just like the drugs that turned into baking powder and the Woyomi case. What a corrupt country!

• Asem Beba Dabi 11 years ago

You said it right. What was done to Woyome with his daylight robbery of the nationN

• Vuvuzela 11 years ago

What a country! And we think we are intelligent!

• Jill 11 years ago

How can we move forward when the same corrupt thieves remain in office?

• Vuvuzela 11 years ago

That's hardly the only headache.

Substitute those in office with any other group picked up in random anywhere in Ghana and the scandals WILL continue with amplitude. I can assure you it will not stop. Do you know why? Mea ...

• bex 11 years ago

If the names were Koblavi and Seglah and Kokuvi and Agbo and Togbi, who could stand the din.

Damn right. The doom of Ghanaians is allowing this thief of government to play its tricks. Before it was other two people who on charge. Today it is again others. Tomorrow, NDC government will deliver another ones. How can tw ...

• Gyae Wasem 11 years ago

This is no wonder. Check the names. Are they not Asahntis / Akans. They can do it. They kill for money. Wofa people. Anything is possible. NPP is the brain behind this. I bet you.

• MAHAMA MORE CORRUPT NOW 11 years ago

JOKE MAHAMA IS FAKE TO THE NATION,PREZ GAT,IF OUR GOLD DID NOT SEND BACK TO GHANA,HMMMMMM MAHAMA WILL DIE SOON,BECOS GOD HATE THIEVES,CORRUPTS,OUR GOLD,OILNOW GAY,WOYOME STILL MAHAMA DID NOT SAY A WORD,GOD WILL SPEAK FOR GHAN ...

• blessed blessed 11 years ago

The politicians are behind.who else.One day the trap of God will trap them all and they will stand some place say what make me to do such thing.They have forgotting the Orphans and etc in the country.God should forgive them b ...

please, let us put God aside. This has nothing to do with God. Why is that so that in other countries such people will be put in prison and the responsible institution will be incharge of it by sacking the directors before a ...

• GRACE DIVINE JESSON(AMMA BOATENMA) 11 years ago

WHY GHANA?

• Jane 11 years ago

THERE IS MORE TO IT, WE WILL NOT STOP TILL THE TRUTH IS OUT. WE ALSO WANTS THE GOLD BACK TO THE COUNTRY. MAHAMA BRING THE GOLD, THERE IS MORE TO THE TWO ARREST. NDC THIEVES, ALL WILL COME OUT ONE DAY. GOD IS ALIVE AND WATCHIN ...

• Asantehene 11 years ago

the thieves are behind them.

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

PROBABLY AND GIVEN SENTENCES TO SERVE. BUT IF THEY KEEP THEIR MOUTHS SHUT, THEY WILL BE GIVEN PRESIDENTIAL PARDON BY MAHAMA AND BE FREE TO STEAL AGAIN. REMEMBER SEPA-YANKEY AND PEPRAH?

• BRIAN WILLIAMS 11 years ago

I HOPE THEY REVEAL ALL THOSE INVOLVED.
    STOP TURNING GHANA INTO A LAWLESS COUNTRY.

• Anthony, Washington, DC. 11 years ago

Oh my poor beautiful Ghana! Everybody plunders her: Chinese, Iranians, Lebanese as well as her own so called citizens. Only if you can steal it you will go scot free.
    A gov't called disaster, but you dare not say it. A just ...

• cool 11 years ago

Ghana is gradually turning into a failed State-The government has failed it obligation to its citizen-creating no jobs,Weak Judicial System and rampant lawlessness.Massive and senseless coruption is the is norm.Please God hel ...

• pachiko 11 years ago

Ghanaians aren't seen nothing yet under this President; the worst is yet to come. Please note, after conniving (Mahama) with EC for voting irregularities, the corrupt EC declared Mahama the winner which prompted the NPP and ...

• ENIMM-BOASIE 11 years ago

THESE OUR DWARF BROTHERS THINK WE SHOULD BE CHEWING STONES WHILE THEY ARE EATING AND DRINKING.MY ADVISE TO THEM IS THAT OF MAXIEST-LENNIN THEORY OF THE COLLAPSE OF CIVILIZATION..KINGSHIP SHALL GIVE WAY TO LORDSHIP......AND DO ...

• boka 11 years ago

My brother there is more to these developments, and it is better to reserve judgement for now. Remember the Gov denied this event took place, they have no recordoa a plane leaving ghana and no record of the gold .It seems mo ...

• .ANDREW SOLOMON 11 years ago

IT IS NO ONE ELES BUT THE NDC THAT SHIPPED THE GOLD TO TURKEY......WHAT DID THE PRESIDENT GO TO TURKEY TO DO WHEN THE GOLD WAS ARRESTED IN TURKEY?
    THESE PEOPLE WILL NEVER SAY THE TRUTH.
    WELL MAHAMA WILL NOT REPENT OF HIS ...

• anayomi 11 years ago

RETERN THE GOLD TO GHANA TRESUREY NOW

• DENKYIRAMAN 11 years ago

Where is the gold right now? Mr. Mahamah and the government must tell Ghanaians who has custody of the metal. If you arrest people the legal assumption, except in Ghana, is that there is physical evidence to cause the arres ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

Some people were indicted for defrauding the country GHC 51 million. Some people wer indicted for performing a Nobel-winning chemical reation to turn cocaine into baking soda. Some people were arrested for overssing the shipm ...

• ADAMA 11 years ago

ATONGO MAHAMA THIEF MAN GUYS

• ADAMA. 11 years ago

YES, HE IS FOOLISH THIEF

• BRIGHT JECTEY asofua/asamang 11 years ago

Ooo Ghana what a shame to some of our greedy leader who are thiefs.what day will these stop.And what day will ghana wake up and Ghanaians will see themself as rich.We have all the resource but we still beg for aid.

• Nii Akwei 11 years ago

The consignment arrived at the KIA for pre-export formalities under two certificates for “mineral samples” for “laboratory analysis only and of no commercial value” both signed for the Director of Geological Survey by ...

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

WHAT ABOUT THE POLITICIANS WHO WERE INVOLVED? DO NOT COVER THEM OOO - ALL EYES ARE WATCHING YOU GUYS

• hamid 11 years ago

if this looting f national resources doesn't stop, imagine what may happen. Ghanaians were very poor wen our population was 6 million. these greedy bastards continue to drain our blood slowly. we may seek justice ourselves an ...

• PAPA ARKOH, USA 11 years ago

COUNT ME IN WHEN THE TIME IS RIPE.WE CANNOT ALLOW THESE USELESS LEADERS TO MANAGE THIS BEAUTIFUL LAND ANYHOW.GOD HAVE MERCY ON GHANA.

• LARYEAH 11 years ago

I WISH THERE WILL BE HEAVY EARTH QUAKE IN THAT KORTIBORTOR REGION.

• LARYEAH 11 years ago

WO MAAME TWE! FUCK LARYEAH!! GO BATH, FOOL!!!

• Yo man 11 years ago

Lets see if its Mahama or Kufour crooks?

• Nii 11 years ago

shame shame shame, Ghanaian always talk about gay isues, but we dont talk about thieves and corruption in Ghana, which is a big shame and disgrasfull everywhere.

• KWAME, USA 11 years ago

Why do you waste your time on this forum? This is a lawless country

• lawrence 11 years ago

AS A GHANAIAN, MY QUESTION IS, When would our LEADERS GOING TO LEAN HOW TO TALK TRUTH, FOR NATIONAL INTEREST, Ghanaian,s WE are SICK AND TIRED FROM THESE OUR BAD LEADERS, Deliberately Act of Distroying Ghana, JUST A FEW ,WE H ...

• kasapreko usa 11 years ago

NDC is behind this they are the real theives God will judge them one by one

• sie 11 years ago

Truth.

• MARCUS AMPADU 11 years ago

The only way to stop the rampant corruption in our public sector is by imposing the death penalty for all those found guilty of corruption.

• YAW BEDIAKO 11 years ago

The ruling class of both party are weak and corrupt and inept and have no new ideas. No hope for us until that changes.

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 11 years ago

JOHN MAHAMA,PLEASE SPEAK THE TRUTH AND TELL THE COUNTRY WHAT YOU KNOW ABOUT IT.

• anayomi 11 years ago

MAHAMA WE DONT WANT THE GOLD THAT BELONG TO GHANA TRESURY TO BE GIVIN TO TERRORIST COUNTRYS LIKE IRAN AND TURKY ,RETERN THE STOLAN GOLD NOW

• Kwabena Sakyiama 11 years ago

Very Happy the Mahama Government is very astute and robost when it comes to investigations and finding info of scandal the lets all Be vigilant to realise the true meaning of GOLD COAST

• Mary 11 years ago

Eish oman Ghana. Seriously, citizens of Ghana, we need to really have to pray for our beloved country. We are being ruled by fools. JM advised us not vote for fools, didn't listen and voted for him now you see what's happeni ...

• yd 11 years ago

Supreme court should help and get raid of this mahama before he does a big damage to this country.please don't follow money and self interest and do a big damage to our beloved country.save Ghana and God will bless you all.

• NTAMKESE 11 years ago

NDC IS JUST ARRESTING THESE TWO AS SCAPE GOATS. THEY WILL NEVER BE PROSECUTED. IS WAYOME'S TRIAL STILL FRESH ON YOUR MINDS? GO FIGURE!

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Stop throwing dust in our eyes! We are blind anc cannot and are allowing the political elite to dupe us1

• KNYC (USMC) 11 years ago

There is more to come NDC are doing a good choping GHANAs' money. Because they belive by the time 4yrs come they will use that money to payoff those backward people who lack EDUCATION and don't want free EDUCATION to VOTE for ...

• YAO 11 years ago

NDC is the political equivalent of a yeast infection. It only returns to bring back pain.

• KOFI ASANTE 11 years ago

"Preliminary investigations revealed that the transaction was purely private with no official government involvement."
    THIS IS THE MOST STUPID STATEMENT.
    THE GOVT. IS THER TO MAKE SURE THINGS LIKE THESE DONT.
    WHAT A BUNCH ...

• joe ny 11 years ago

No doubt somebody in the govt should know something about this.
    Govt should be run by religious heads like Presbyterian,Methodist and Romans the oldest churches in Ghana.Ghana will better off than the crooks politicians.

• Amegaxoxo 11 years ago

So where are Peter Bedzrah and Frederick Kojo Essumang of Omanye Gold Mining, the alleged suppliers of the gold consignment to Vahid Moradi Moghaddam of Iran?

• Mary 11 years ago

Good question, wonders shall never cease...

• Kofi Dadie 11 years ago

Just wait a little and the case will be forgotten. There is enough money in this to silence everyone. Give me my share, Case finish. Ghana is rotten beyond redemption.

• amegashie 11 years ago

You know this is not our first time.. Only that the plane has to stop in turkey for refueling.. That brought the secret out.. In previous deals we fly straight to the country and get the money in cash.. I never knew my countr ...

• AyiOgladzo 11 years ago

Can somebody tell me WHERE THE GOLD IS AT THE MOMENT? I don't understand this. RETURN THE GOLD TO GHANA and with NO PROPER PAPERS COVERING IT means it is a STOLEN PROPERTY. THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD CONFISCATE IT, SELL IT ON THE ...

• MAHAMA MORE CORRUPT NOW 11 years ago

THIEVE MAHAMA IS A BIG FOOOOOOOL,WE N EED THE GOLD BACK,NOT MAHAMA NDC CORRUPTS STORRIES,GHANIAMS ARE NOT STUPID LIKE NDC MAHAMA GAY

• Slim 11 years ago

Not surprised atall

• bless,adjei 11 years ago

Our Leaders are wicked they are have
    especial places in hell

• CORRUPTS ¨MAHAMUUUU 11 years ago

GAY MAHAMA IS BIG THIEVE,MAHAMA IS BILLIONS TIMES THIEVES CORRUPTS,AND NUMBER ONE CRIMINAL,GOD WILL SPEAK FOR GHANA,

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

so ndc has no faith in the supreme court so needs to now pressure the INNOCENT to by force take sides and support them . We all assumed chiefs are not supposed to be indulging in partisan politics , this pattern of blaming ot ...

• INDEPENDENT STATE OF AKANLAND 11 years ago

Ghana is history. Ghana is a borrowed name from a empire. Ghana is a failed state. Ghana is a former country. Ghana will fail to exist. Ghana was just a fake and failed experiment that started in 1957, useless 55 years of the ...

• Feseini-Tamale 11 years ago

Arrest Mahama,he is behind all these things

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

WHERE IS GHANA'S GOLD STORED? WHO HAS ACCESS TO THE STORAGE PLACE? HOW COULD THESE PEOPLE ACCESS $80MILLION WORTH OF GOLD? MAKING COCAINE TURN KOKONTE OR BAKING SODA IS ONE THING, BUT THAT MUCH GOLD LEAVING THE VAULT WITHOUT ...

• kweku 11 years ago

these are the Ghanaian criminals in action again. each time such a thing comes up in Ghana, the Ghanaian authorities blame Nigerians as if there are no greedy crooks in Ghana,