You are here: HomeNews2013 02 11Article 264684

Elvis Afriyie Ankrah: Ghanaians must forgive the Black Stars

Read Comments Comments (68)

• gina London 11 years ago

THIS GUY IN NOT GOOD ENOUGH

• Asamoah Joe 11 years ago

y should we forgive them? from dayone, we had heart breaking till the were sent off. ghana never play any better game

Ghanaians should please forgive the team, though it was disappointing, they (the team) did not disgrace the nation. They did their best and it wasn’t enough. We(Ghanaians) must forgive the team and back them to regain their ...

• Counsellor 11 years ago

'HOW CAN BUEKINABE BEAT GHANA? TELL ME'
    Boss, I'll tell you. Burkina Faso can beat Ghana by converting more penalties than Ghana. You got it?

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

THE POPE HAS RESIGNED. CATHOLIC CHURCH IS NOW WITHOUT LEADER, THE HEAD BISHOP..POPE.

• Ern 11 years ago

Nemesis you are funny oooh!!! What does the news about the pope have to do in the sports section? lol... anyway, its true Pope Benedict has resigned....the first pope to do so in 600 years.

• IT 'S GOV'T THAT OWES US 11 years ago

If the government is a bunch of thieves who steal anything, including elections, the whole nation suffers a redress.

What have they done to be forgiven? Because they ended up 4th position in the continental competition? There are about 95 Countries in Africa and 4th Position is just very awesome. It is the Government of Ghana that needs for ...

It is the government of Ghana that needs our forgiveness. They are the ones who steal everything form Ghanaians.

• Fonka 11 years ago

Nonsense, what has the stars done wrong; to ask for pardon in their behalf? When you steal your way to power, the resulting manifestation is failure allover the land. God is watching the evil dwarfs. This Govt. is bringing lo ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

DID WE FORGIVE PLAVI? HE TOO WAS A FIRSTIME COACH. NO PRIOR DEPUTY JOB BIAA WITH GBSTAR. YET HE TOOK GH TO THE SAME POSITION. U SEE HOW RACIST GHFUO ARE?

ADWEE LOOKING AA. AREA BURGER, AKROBETO LOOK ALIKE. IM SORRY!
    IF PL ...

• NYAME BA 11 years ago

BURKINA IS A MUSLIM NATION. THEY PRAYED TO ALLAH. NEXT TIME BACK STARS SHOULD SEE A MALLAM INSTEAD OF CHRISTIAN PASTORS. ALLAH ANSWERS PRAYERS.

• Anokwale 11 years ago

To be frank, Burkina simply was a bigger and stronger team. Thus, when we miss opportunities and it turns into an extra time game, they have and advantage. We missed first half chances and that came back to haunt us. The ...

• Maco 11 years ago

Such heartbreaking game., I am not ready to indulge in such again, I am done with black stars or whatever...aaaahhhhh, Ghanaians entrust. In you and what do you do, u get to the semi's and there and only there u allow any tea ...

Five Nigerians make CAF Best XI
    February 11, 2013
    by Kazeem Busari

The Confederation of African Football has selected five members of the Super Eagles for the Best Eleven after Nigeria defeated Burkina Faso 1-0 on Sund ...

QQ*QNIGERIQQQQ--Q-+Q+Q+QQQ/8
    .Q..QQQQ.6
    Q3Q3Q

IF WE NIGERIANS CAN BE EQUAL OR OVERCOME GHANA, WE STILL NEED TO WIN 14 AFRICAN CUPS BEFORE WE CAN SAY WE ARE GIANTS! GHANA IS A SMALL COUNTRY WITH SMALL PEOPLE WE NAIJA ARE 7 TIMES MORE THAN GHANA SO WE ARE 7 COUNTRIES COMBI ...

• KOFI NUA 11 years ago

THE ONLY WAY FOR THE STARS TO WIN IS THROUGH PRAYER, FASTING , PAYING TITHES AND ALL NIGHT PRAISES. ONLY JESUS CAN SAVE THE STARS FROM DOOM.

• Abeiku 11 years ago

Very True ...

• GHANAian 11 years ago

Spanish man will say-"claro" which means, CLEAR!! TRUE !! NO DISPUTE!.
    This Coach doesn't know any tactics in Football.
    I bet you we cannot go to Brazil if we don't change this Coach. What will cost Ghana to let another G ...

• CORNEY 11 years ago

Peacefm should get its facts right,Ghana won the cup in 1992 in Libya which should be 21 years but not 31 years.

This is poor journalism.

• pk 11 years ago

First of all, it is always wise to double check your facts when you are trying to correct someone.You have google and so many other search engines but yet chose to display your gross ignorance to the world. Even commentary fr ...

• KOFI NUA 11 years ago

STARS WOULD ALWAYS FAIL UNTIL WE PRAY AND FAST. IT IS NOT THE COACH OR THE PRAYERS. IT IS JESUS. AMEN. IF WE FAST AND PRAY, THE STARS CAN TAKE THE WORLD CUP.

• PREZZO 11 years ago

WE WILL FORGIVE THE PLAYERS BUT NOT THE VICE PRESIDENT WHO CARRIED THE E DE BE KEKE SLOGAN TO SOUTH AFRICA. I AM VERY HAPPY WE LOST BECAUSE OF THAT GOD FORSAKEN SLOGAN E DE BE KEKE.IT SHOWS WE ARE DOOMED WITH NDC. AMEN

• SENSE PREFECT 11 years ago

ASAMOAH GYAN LED HIS PLAYERS (CAPYURED ON METRO TV) TO SING A SONG BOASTING THAT THEY CREATED THE SEA WITH THEIR URINE AND THE AIR WE BREATHE WAS ALSO CREATED BY THEM WITH THEIR "FLATULENCE" etc. etc. ARE WE SUPRISED IF THE G ...

• Akosua Faibille 11 years ago

Find a new local coach. Forgiveness alone will not take us to the World Cup next year.
    Appoint a new local coach.

appiah must go first before we can forgive them

• Abeiku - London 11 years ago

True

• KU 11 years ago

COACH APPIAH IS TECHNICALLY INCOMPETENT AND MUST GIVE WAY FOR MORE COMPETENT COACHES LIKE ABEDE AYEW PELLE WHO HAS COACHED HIS CHILDREN TO BE ABLE TO PLAY GOOD FOOTBALL.

• Long Side Crew 11 years ago

Elvis Afriyie Ankrah - wo maame twe and shut up over there before i smak your fat lips.

• DR KING 11 years ago

THE COACH SHOULD BE RETAINED .WHAT THE GFA FAILED TO DO WAS TO PROTEST AGAINST THE FIELD OF PLAY, THAT MADE THE BLACK STARS LOSE.CAF SHOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THAT.

• Ananga J 11 years ago

We have forgiven the players and not the inept coach. What post mortem do we need? The coach has no brains period. People should stop blaming the players. If you play a game without a midfield the pressure would always be on ...

• JOHN DATSON 11 years ago

Hhahahahahahahah what about your radio stations who always cause the downfall of ghana blackstars

• Zambian 11 years ago

We are waiting to bundle you out of world cup qualifiers. You will soon cry for the second time.It is just a matter of time.

Yours was a FLASH in d pan ... won't happen again .... let it be ... winnng d African cup was a FLUKE my friend d Zambian ... no room for any debates ... bye

• Zambian 11 years ago

Abeiku, the toilet cleaner in London; how are you. We won the cup your present generation of players couldnt win in 30 years , defeated u in the process and you said it was a fluke. In world cup qualifiers, we are on top, ahe ...

.. how many times do we forgive them ... enough heart breaks ... World Cup ... two AFCONS back to back ... what more boss ...let's get Kevin back ... the Two Ayew's .. Michael Essien ... Sulley (Experience)and keep majority ...

• Woman 11 years ago

That's what the president should have said instead of openly disowning them. The president's approach was certainly not an efficient way to scold a disappointing child. Then you expected them to put up a good show in the th ...

• Koku 11 years ago

Mr. Minister Ankrah if this is the team you are preparing for the world cup, then you and your coach are a sick joke. Firstly the non-inspirational captain does not even deserve to be there.Some of them play like the BS belon ...

• Koku 11 years ago

Bring back the seasoned players to blend with the young and hardworkig players who deserve to wear the national jersey ready to play with enthusiasm not school boys kicking the ball about. The coach is not sure of what he's d ...

• Koku 11 years ago

How can you play such a competitive tournament without a playmaking midfielder, no striker and no leader on the field and you expect to win. Its a joke.

• Koku "FAT COW" Ahinoho 11 years ago

Elvis Afriyie Ankrah stop disturbing our peace. Elvis tell Ghanaians where you got the money to buy those houses at East Legon. You and your NDC greedy bastards are STEALING Ghana blind. Fuuccker Ankrah, DECLARE your asset ...

Lol

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

Massa, Elvis has lived in East Legon for a very long time. If you care to know, he lived next to Blue Gate at "Mempeasem". He went to Legon and forced his way into the SRC and on on to NDC. If he's bought houses in east legon ...

• Joe 11 years ago

they (Black Stars)have done nothing wrong to be forgiven ,What about the politicians who are stealing Ghana money nyafu nyafu?

• mallam-usa 11 years ago

BEST OF LUCK

• Kojo Yankson 11 years ago

mind you if you retain Appiah Ghana will not qualify for the coming world cup to be staged in Brazil.which players will qualify Ghana is Derek Boateng'Harrison Afful'Emmanuel Clottey or who .Get a better coach and let him inv ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 11 years ago

I don't agree with Afriyie Ankrah asking for forgiveness for the Black Stars. For Christ sake we made it to the semi-finals which is not a mean feat.If nothing at all we should show our appreciation to them for getting us so ...

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

The reason why many Ghanaians are upset with AA is deeper than reaching the semi-finals and losing to Burkina Faso. IT IS HOW WE LOST, even with referees favoring us in most of the decisions. AA has always been with the team ...

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

If we cannot get our "ACT" together at AFCON then forget about the World Cup. We always WANT the big PRIZES, fair enough. But there is a prize to pay: GET A NON-CORRUPT SYSTEM IN PLACE, and trust me, with the pedigree of play ...

• Gideon 11 years ago

They shuld hve dne wll o! what a scme.

• ALUTA 11 years ago

GHANA WON'T GO ANYWHERE WITH THIS DIVISIVE, TRIBAL, INCOMPETENT AND UNFORGIVABLE COACH. THE LAW OF KARMA AT WORK. WHAT IS GOOD FOR PLAVI IS GOOD FOR APPIAH

• jojo w. 11 years ago

All what the black stars know is DANCING AND MAKING CONCERT...Shame to the they are disgrace..we will not forgive them

• KRETZ - D 11 years ago

If Ghana wants to qualify for the upcoming world cup then the coach, Kwasi Appiah must go. I know everybody deserves a second chance but I don't think Ghana should take that chance to let Appiah lead the Black Stars to world ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 11 years ago

If Ghana fails to qualify for the world cup it is not because Kwasi Appiah is the coach. Already Zambia has been gifted 3 points and 3 goals for their match against Sudan. Zambia now has 6 points as against Ghana's 3 points a ...

• Zambian 11 years ago

We will extend the lead over Ghana by 6: Sudan will beat Ghana. We will soon bundle Ghana out!

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

What is the point of saying Ghanaians should forgive the Black Stars? They went, played and were unsucessful, after all they are the fourth in Africa. All we have to say is good luck next time. Ghanaians (some) should rathe ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

The kind of inexperienced, poorly prepared, passive football we saw being displayed by the black stars should not be repeated again. If it is the coach or the players who must be axed for there to be non-repetition of similar ...

• JETMONEY 11 years ago

JUST HOPE THEY CORRECT THEIR MISTAKES CUZ IT WAS A HEART BREAKING TOURNAMENT

• boboflavor 11 years ago

Appiah must sacked immediatly they torch ghanian soil, very stupid coach he knows nothing about football, i 'm sick of his ashanti star,

• Papa Dey 11 years ago

The worst technical team ever assembled by GFA.Who is in charge of GFA?Who ever is in charge please dissolve GFA and the technical team.Bring in care takers until we find the right personnel.

• payola 11 years ago

against Congo: I was begging for the game to end in a draw in the dying minutes because Congo almost came back to win.

against Niger: cough cough..

against Mali: lucky to have penalty. one nil

against Cape verde: we ...

• Mac Tonto 11 years ago

Typical unintelligent argument. It is not a matter of 'forgiving', but serious questions must be raised as to whether we have a competent technical team. That should be the argument.

• J. O 11 years ago

Bring better players. We need a striker. Perhaps your mums will do better.

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

ADWEE LOOKING AA. AREA BURGER, AKROBETO LOOK ALIKE. IM SORRY!
    IF PLAVI WHO DIDNT GET ANY DEPUTY COACHING JOBS WITH GBSTAR COULD BE FIRED FOR NON PERFORMANCE AFTER BARELY 1 YR ON THE JOB.
    THEN THIS ADWEE LOOKING BB AKA AREA ...

• Ekumfi Akyen -Obamaland 11 years ago

Why do you always begin your articles with insults?Is it because your tongue is upside down?

• SHAKAMORA 11 years ago

kwaseaman minister aboafu

• hamza 11 years ago

if ur star is black wat does dat mean?may b we change d name n c wat d future will awaite 4 ur lovely n proud futballing nation.