You are here: HomeNews2013 02 07Article 264408

Tunisian referee banned after Ghana- Burkina clash

Read Comments Comments (72)

• moyo 11 years ago

We know Referees can make common mistakes, but this referee was bias towards the Burkinabe. It would have been a big disgrace if Ghana had won the match yesterday.s

• AKK 11 years ago

Maybe he was bribed in a way or was involved in an illegal gamblimg.

• James B. Otafregya 11 years ago

I'd bet he had gambled somewhere that Ghana would win, that is why he wanted the impossible to happen. The BFA team was simply the better team.

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

IS GHANA NFA GUILTY OF MATCH FIXING???

Comment: THANK GOD FOR JUSTICE FOR B/F
    Author:Favour
    Date:2013-02-07 03:19:37
    Comment to:Gyan gracious in defeat as Ghana miss final

How much GHANA FA AND BLACK STARS PAID THE R ...

• Kwasi Asante, Providence,RI USA 11 years ago

I have watched Ghana teams play in African Cups and other competitive football over 40 years. Ghana teams has suffered bias officiating including maltreatment at away games many times. This is the first time in my life that I ...

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

I have always been a very serious critique of Ghana team, but your HONEST ANALYSIS have restored my faith in honest human being like you Kwasi Asante. (With very few HONEST AND INTELLIGENT people like you around), there is ...

• mac 11 years ago

right but solomon asnte rather shd av been changed cos we were pushing for the winner and so we needed two strikers upfront ,meanwhile asante was not playing well on the day so he shd av been substituted rather. gyan cud av p ...

• NYAMEASEM 11 years ago

Fine, look at the Burkinas' pulling Agyeman Badu in the 18 yard box with all his strength the defender went freely. When a ball wasn't there a defender booting Asamoah Gyan and only shown yellow card, these guys were playing ...

• Yamus 11 years ago

True. The Burkinas played very rough game. Even the goal they scored came from a foul on one of our players and when he lost the ball they scored from that.

• A Burkinabe From Ouaga 11 years ago

What a fucking disgrace. If such actions you're mentioning should be regarded as maltreatment, more than that should be at ghana side. You did remember the action through which Pitroipa was shown his first yellow card. Gyan h ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

BCOS CAF WANTED A GH VS NAIJA FINAL. THIS WOULD HVE BEEN BIG IN TERMS OF MONEY. THE REF FAILED TO ACCOMPLISH THE TASK. THIS WILL COST CAF N AFCON ORGANIZERS MONEY.....ALL THE REF HAD TO DO WAS CALL 1 OR 2 MORE DUBIOUS PENALTY ...

• ALHAJI MOHAMMED 11 years ago

GOD BLESS FIFA;AND IM AFRAIDAND WORRIED;THAT NOTHING LIKE BRIBERY COMES OUT;I PRAY TO GOD:THIS REFEREE WAS THE WORST AND DID GHANA VERY BAD::WE ARE VERY VERY LUCKY TO GET TO SEMI FINALS::WE DID NOTHING ;THAT IS FACT:INSTEAD F ...

• NYANTAKYI 11 years ago

JUST TO PROVE THAT NYANTAKYE N K APPIAH WERE RIGHT, THEY FIXED MOST OF OUR GAMES

• Jadamasa 11 years ago

All people who type the full comment in CAPS LOCK should be banned from ghanaweb forever :)
    Now that is a bad bad thing to do! Shame on ya!

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

WE HAVE SEEN ENUFF. AA MUST COMOT!
    GET RID OF APPIAH!
    HWE, IM NOT A CERTIFIED COACH, BUT I CAN WIN AFCON WITH THE PLAYERS GH TOOK TO SOUTH AFRICA.
    APPIAH HAS NO BRAINS AND HE CANT MANAGE ANYTHING!
    I COULD HAVE COACHED THE ...

• James B. Otafregya 11 years ago

I'm a full blooded Ghanaian but I must say Slim Jdidi should be banned for his open bias in favour of Ghana and against Burkina Faso.

His action only made Ghana the boo-team in the view of the football world.

• Ern 11 years ago

He had a poor game. CAF should just over-rule the red card to Pitroipa if they can clearly see it was wrong.
    However he should have sent of the Burkina Faso defender (Kuli baly) for stamping on Asamoah Gyan all the time.

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

I was just wondering why everyone is focusing on the red card and soft penalty only.. He did worst things in the match. I reckon the game was too big for him... Who chose him in the first first. Whoever did that should be bla ...

• Ern 11 years ago

Yes, I see your point, but overall the decisions favoured us. The goal that was ruled out for example should have stood.
    But Ghana also had a clear penalty shout turned down (but Burkina Faso also had a good penalty shout at ...

It does not belong to a player, be it a (so-called) star to tell a referee what he must or must not do. Even in "your civilized countries" they do not send a player out when any referee does not see the sanction. It's for the ...

• Mensah 11 years ago

With the little he had to go for the competition with, the coach and the team did well. If anybody is to be blamed, we should blame the other qualified players who refused to play becuase we went in with Ghanaian coach. That ...

• CHRIS LEWIS 11 years ago

shame on you, how can u blame the old players this coach don't even know any tactical move on the pitch why should they waste their footballing career on him

• FUFUO DADESEN 11 years ago

How about the foul before the equalizer.It was obvious Ghanaian defender was pushed down by the striker and ref allowed play to continue..He probably took the singaporean bribe 5 years ago.

You were born after "the shame". Did he play the ball yes or no? You were lucky enough to be granted a very soft penalty after a mistake that does not exist. At the beginninng the same John Boye pushed Pitriopa his comrade at ...

• Zangina 11 years ago

The Refree was definitely bad on the day but does that justify our team playing so poorly? Imagine all the underdogs having more possession than Ghana and some outscoring us. We had a terrible campaign and I am now wondering ...

• NO NONSENSE 11 years ago

THE NORTHERNERS IN THE TEAM SIMPLY PLAYED IT SOFTLY WITH THE BURKINAS.

"the underdogs having more possession than Ghana and some outscoring us" avoid bad language. it cannot help. We burkinabe have good relationship with ghanians and we cannot accept bad people destroy it. I salute u all

• bob m 11 years ago

There was an earlier allegation of bribery against the Black Stars. During this tournament Ghana received preferential treatment from referees from the very first game. I urge Govt to probe GFA, the coach and the playing body ...

• KO 11 years ago

aba you too...relax eh

• FAFA 11 years ago

I strongly agree with you. There were so many strange happenings in every match that we played

• Yaa Asentewaa + Kwame Nkrumah 11 years ago

The Ghana national football team will always be as good as the Ghana's Absolutely Rubbish + Third World "Economy" and "Quility of Life" for it's citizens.

THE NORTHERNERS IN THE STARS SIMPLY PLAYED IT SOFTLY AGAINST THE BURNIKAS

• FAFA 11 years ago

THE NONSENSE OF A STUPID PERSON

IF YOU HAVE AN ILLEGITIMATE PRESIDENT, WHO IS GENETICALLY FROM FULANI-BURKINA, HOW DO YOU EXPECT THE STARS TO SHINE, WHEN PLAYING WITH THE BURKINAS?

TO BE FRANK, SINCE MAHAMA CAME TO POWER, EVERYTHING IN THE COUNTRY HAS BE ...

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

So the president of Ghana is now from Burkina, what a shame to some mentally impaired citizens of Ghana. Advise Nana Akufo Addo then to argue that in court so that him being the "tia tia" Ghanaian would take over as presiden ...

• ABU SCHWARZ- ITALY 11 years ago

How could one descend too low to make such a foolish and tribalistic comment in our modern day Ghana? Definately, you have exposed your mental inability and psychological imbalance!

I STAND BY MY WORDS.

• ABALO 11 years ago

It would have been a shame if Ghana won. I share the opinion that the referee may have been a collaborator in a gambling scheme.

• constitution 11 years ago

you are a big fool to have made that rubbish comments regarding the northners,who in the south played like Rabiu and Wakasu?

WAKASU WANTED HIS WIN FOR THE NORTHERNERS SO WHAT IS YOUR POINT?

• Nana Owusu. BELGIUM 11 years ago

THE REF WAS THE CAUSED OF OUR DOWNFALL. NAA CAF WANTED TO SEE GHANA NIGERIA FOR THEIR OWN GAIN.

• Wizzy 11 years ago

You got it wrong. Never blame the Reff for ur downfall, Ghana lost bcos of their poor performance, right from the beginning of the game to the End, BKF really played Ghanian so much, The Reff was trying to save Ghana,

• KA NO PEN PEN 11 years ago

WHAT CAN I SAY? THIS IS REALLY POETIC JUSTICE. IF GHANA WERE TO PROCEED TO THE FINAL, A GREAT DISSERVICE WOULD HAVE BEEN DONE TO B'FASO.
    FOR GHANA SHOULD NOT HAVE EVEN REACHED THE SEMI FINAL.
    THE BOYS WERE A SHADOW OF THEMS ...

• Ern 11 years ago

You cannot abandon a game. FIFA/CAF would fine you like no man's business!

• DOUG B, USA 11 years ago

WE DID NOT PLAY WELL. THEY BFs DOMINATED. WE REALLY STRUGGLED THROUGHOUT THE MATCH. KILL IT I ASY IF WE WERE MUCH BETTER. 4-1 AS THE NIGERIANS DID. WE ACTUALLY DESERVED THE RESULTS, LETS FACE THE FACTS. YES REFEREE WAS BAD FO ...

• John Davies 11 years ago

Sadly it is scandalous actions such as the Referee performance that make african football a subject of ridicule. Thankfully the better side prevailed

• WORST FA IN THE WORLD 11 years ago

CAF should not stop there. They should also investigate the Niger game and the Cape Verde game.

I think the GFA, which is The worst FA in the world, tried to buy their way to the final. SHAME!

• agabus 11 years ago

ghana is team is not good to be there,they need old people,.they have to used good people not ASAMOA GYAN.he cant play at all

• KOJO BOAFO 11 years ago

IF ASAMOAH GYAN CAN'T PLAY AT ALL THEN YOU ARE A FOOL. YOU MUST BE A TOGOLESE OR SOMETHING. IDIOT!

• Onslopogas 11 years ago

And yet Ghana even couldn't honour this referee.The honour I mean is we could not win the game...'Ostia'!!!!

• Qwame 11 years ago

Yes i agree with Caf but if they are basing it only on the penalty awrded to Ghana then its a lie th e refree was a total failure looking at the Red card he did not give to the burkinabe player who stamped Gyan the penalties ...

• HORLASI 11 years ago

God vindicated the poor Bokinabes by causing them to win over Ghana. ref should be banned.DAY LIGHT RUBBERY

• peep game come take a look at my tele 11 years ago

Even if he was ghana failed miserably to win. The Ref basically gave you the game

• Jojo 11 years ago

The red card went to the wrong person. Burkina Faso defenders were playing and kicking the Ghanaians at any opportunity they got. Two incidents with a particular defender kicking Asamoah Gyan was an automatic red card. The re ...

• JIMY SOMER 11 years ago

SORRY FOR BURKINA FASSO.I HOPE HE CAN PLAY

• Kwasi Miezah, Western Region 11 years ago

This referee should be banned for life and not suspended. He can't be trusted anymore for what he did to Burkina Faso. I felt embarrassed as a Ghanaian when I watched the ref rob Burkina on live TV to help Ghana. It would hav ...

• ALORZY, MUSIC CITY, USA. 11 years ago

As much as I love Kwesi Appiah; and have been an advocate for a Ghanaian coach for the national teams; and as good a defender as he was, he didnot improve the defence.The guys were good but lacked descipline at the back.How i ...

• ALORZY, MUSIC CITY, USA. 11 years ago

CAF IS SICK OF SOME PANIC DISEASE. THEY SHOULD REINSTATE THE REF. IMMEDIATELY!!. IF THEY ARE GOING TO BAN THE REF. THEN PLATINI SHOULD HIRE CAF TO WATCHDOG THEIR CHAMPION LEAGUE REFS. THIS REF. IS THE BEST IF YOU COMPARE HIM ...

• KA NO PEN PEN 11 years ago

HOW CAN THE BLACK STARS DO THIS TO THE REFEREE? HE WAS THE STARS NUMBER 12 AND THIS IS HIS FATE.
    WELL THIS INCIDENT IS GONE AND THANK GOD, THE DEDICATED AND HARDWORKING TEAM (B/FASO) WON DESPITE ALL THE IMPEDIMENTS PUT IN TH ...

• Wasib 11 years ago

Lets thx god but the lucky was nt in our side.why should the coach change m. Wakaso??

• Paa Pee 11 years ago

The should probe the Ghana-Cape Verde match too. All the decisions we bias too in Black Stars favour. However the referees looked like they were under some spiritual forces. No wonder most of our goals in the last
    6years are ...

• Nii Joromi 11 years ago

This referee is blatantly incompetent. He must be investigated.

• samuel kwame achampong 11 years ago

it was an abysmal performance

• Edem/usa.ghana 11 years ago

Suspend Nelspruit park too idiots

• Edem/usa.ghana 11 years ago

Poor field gives birth to poor refree

• MOMO 11 years ago

True, ref was bias

• Mawusi 11 years ago

BIAS ,He wanted Ghana to win

• francis 11 years ago

the biasness of the referee was too obvious, he was forcing ghana to win the match whiles the players says we are not ready to win even if you consider us illegally we are not ready to take this trophy.

• Yaw Baah-Berima, 11 years ago

First of all i blame AA and his tatical crew for not taking the BS to the finals of AFCON,simpel as that.why and where on earth do you replace striker or a midfielder for a defender wherby presure beeing mounted on the defen ...

• Ghana 11 years ago

It is high time we quit spending tax payers money on this blackstars.Their performance against the burkinabes was not only disgraceful but very annoying.And there come dis useless referee officiating the match as if he has ne ...

• Jo 11 years ago

The guy over exagerated any contact on him. He dived into the box and the refree made the right decision The second goal the Burkina guy fouled Kwadwo Asamoah. CAF can go to Hell

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 11 years ago

dont you remmeber that ghana beat tunisia, 4-2 and egypt,3-0 thats why