You are here: HomeNews2013 02 04Article 263986

Gov't Backtracks: Mahama Knew Gay Lobbyist Before Book Launch

Read Comments Comments (109)

• Kofi Dadie 11 years ago

It is not a full month into the Mahama government and the clumsy blunders, lies and reports of corrupt practices are emerging as the defined mode of operation. Asafo Yehowa behwe wo mma na NDC beku yen

• okofo 11 years ago

This government is not fit for even an interim mandate. Ghana deserves better than this riff-raff team led by Mahama. The Supreme Court should act fast to clear this political rags before they bring down Ghana's earned intern ...

• don`t care !!! 11 years ago

Hmmmmmm!what`s this whole noise about....?in ghana we hate the acts & deeds of gays but not the gays who some are our brothers & sister i may say!

Hmmmm!likewise again in ghana we hate the acts of pickpocket,thieves,politi ...

• hoho 11 years ago

ghana and ghanaian culture not ready for this dirty things. stop any foreigner who will purposely visit with that issue. why? africa is for africans,their satanic and nasty unbalanced country and culture is for them. idiots

• KONTA 11 years ago

Hoho I agree with you. All those homosexuals in ghana should be deported to teach them a lesson

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

THE GOV'T MUST PRESERVE OUR CULTURE. PERIOD.

• Pastor 11 years ago

AKUFFO ADDO WAS FOR HOMOSEXUALITY IN GHANA WHEN AH WENT TO LONDON !!!!!

• Mallam 11 years ago

John Mahama has only money and women in his 4 squared block head. As a president he is ZERO!!!

• kofi gray 11 years ago

Rubbish!!! Next time you guys meet somebody u suspect is gay, dont talk to that person. habaa!! Mahama should not talk to anyone gay??

• read y 2 dye 11 years ago

infiltrate any organization including countries. they are slick like oil and wont stop till the whole world is gay. thier objective is to kill the earth cuz if the whole world is gay, how do we reproduce? am not the one to j ...

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

The problem is the lies and dishonesty in our government. The only reason why Mahama and his cohorts are coming clean is because they were challenged on the lies. If homosexuality is a crime then why associate with the activi ...

• MAHAMA NAADU 11 years ago

WHO BORN DOG MAHAMA MUST COME CLEAN,SHAMELESS NDC THIEVES,LIES MAHAMA WOYOME,ONLY SEX MAHAMA KNOW,NONSES

• nana 11 years ago

"dont care" well said.

• Atiku 11 years ago

You are an idiot or not living in Ghana. The noise that you fool doesn't get is, the president Mahama lied to us the first time that, he doesn't know and not met that gay activist before he just came to his book lunching tel ...

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

Who in this world does not know a gay or a lesbian? Do not politicize this just because John Mahama won the election and Nana Akufo Addo lost, interview Nana Akufo Addo about how many gays and lesbians he knows or interact w ...

• K Asumadu 11 years ago

The problem is not about him meeting gays and/or lesbians. It is about doing so and lying about it. Lying has become synonymous with NDC.
    Ghanaians should brace themselves; for what is coming their way can only be compared ...

• Regina 11 years ago

I son't believe it is a chose to be gay but a trait you are born with. Why would someone chose to be an outcast and be tortured by people who can't understand. I've had gay friends, but I just don't what to any sexual behav ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

Mahama is no good for our nation as a
    Leader, he is decdeit, dishonest, a liar and totally a crook, the Supreme
    Court Judges should know him as such
    and kick him out of our zone.

• things falling in line 11 years ago

CHANGE THE NAME OF THE OFFICE AND KICK OYE.

• kobbydoe 11 years ago

Interim or no ,hw is the one in power,what can u do?

• Kwame 11 years ago

Mahama is far better than Nana Cocaine Akuffo Addo.What contribution has Nana done for his small area Kyebi. Nothing. Can such a person rule a whole country Ghana?

• Tani like Mahama.. 11 years ago

I already said "Mahama is a mafia". He needs to be stopped"...

• zoobie-zoobie 11 years ago

Expect more of the same.

• GHANA GAY/LESB KILLERS ASSOC. 11 years ago

WARNING TO THE PRESIDENT!

THE NATION IS NOT YOUR HOMOSEXUAL ONE, ITS FOR OUR HOLY ANCESTORS AND OUR PROUD SELVES.

WE SHALL NEVER EVER LEAVE THIS COUNTRY WE STRUGGLED AND BLED FOR, FOR THE SAME PIGS AND DOGS WHO WERE ENS ...

• Vulva 11 years ago

Hmm, na wa 4 dis kalabule president sef!!!!

• GAY'n'PROUD 11 years ago

we will fight for our right till we get it, soon we will take to the streets of Accra. The whole world will be watching as we fight for our civil rights

WE THE MAU-MAU WHO ARE

NOT AFRAID!
    NOT AFRAID!!
    NOT AFRAID!!!

SHALL MEET YOU EVEN BEFORE THAT DAY.

• Amadu 11 years ago

Is this not the same f,ool who was confidently lying to us. I swear this man was force to the power that be to come clean.
    He is a lair.

• Nana Akomea 11 years ago

Ayarida is lying. Now pepeni after pepeni has become a liar in politics.

• AWUDU 11 years ago

So was Solomon contributing to the Mahama 2012 Campaign by buying a copy of Mahama's book for $20,000, at a time when Mahama had no idea he will be a candidate for president?

• John Musah 11 years ago

Mmmmm. My Presidnet accepting money from a gay activist? Is he broke or simply greedy?

• joey london! 11 years ago

Flip floping is better than nothing!

• william 11 years ago

I was wondering why you even had to respond initially! It is not every comment by people who need attention that you be rushing to reasct to!Kofi is right, 'clumsy start' for info minister!

well said!

• J K 11 years ago

OYIWA, Can you be trusted ?

• Nana Abena. US 11 years ago

As for me I have said it that I demand the coroner's report of Prof Atta Mill's untimely death. Until that is done, NDC will know NO PEACE. Atta's spirit is bitter. Mahama should be careful or else........hmm!

Waaaa look a ...

• kwaku 11 years ago

gabby okyre darko was their spoke person when they came to have conference in npp time. what about that heh?

hahahahahahahah!hypocrites performing them hypocrisy!

• Yaw B 11 years ago

Fool, don't throw dust into our eyes. Kufuor refused proposals for international gay meeting to be held in Ghana even when the likes of Kwesi Pratt protested. The P/NDC is evil and the earlier you fools realize the better for ...

• JAMES Y 11 years ago

IN FACT, MANY GHANAIANS ARE DISAPPOINTED. WE HAVE ALL THOUGHT HE'S GOING TO BE A GOOD PRESIDENT. HE HAS CHOSEN A WRONG PERSON TO HEAD A SENSITIVE MINISTRY KNOWING IT WILL CREATE CONFLICT OF INTEREST. IT'S A BAD START FOR HIM ...

• Mania. 11 years ago

Huge faux paus! Please Ayariga, don't become a walking disaster as your interpretation of the law is also wrong as there is no law on homosexuality in Ghana . You over stretched the meaning of ' unnatural canal knowledge ' to ...

• GOAHEAD 11 years ago

NPP ARE SORE LOSERS

• Hamama 11 years ago

So NPP made Ayariga to tell lies? Sore losers indeed!

• Meshack 11 years ago

Is there any comfort in identifying one's self as a Ghanaian...with such a high level of stupidity in government? How can Ghana be saddled with such an indecent conglomeration of idiots and liars? Ghana has never been sane, i ...

• ADAMA 11 years ago

ATONGO MAHAMA NEEDS PITO. HE IS A LIAR

• EDEM TOGBE. 11 years ago

JOHN MAHAMA SHOULD COME OUT AND FACE THE NATION AND TELL US HIMSELF, WHAT HIS THOUGHTS ARE, AND WHAT HIS VIEWS ARE, ON THE ISSUE OF GAYISM. WE DON'T WANT TO HEAR ANYTHING FROM STUPID, UNINTELLIGENT SURROGATES WHO DON'T KNOW A ...

• Ghanaman 11 years ago

My people note that Ghana is doomed along as we have GAY activists in power. ndc killed atta mills to promote gayism in ghana. anybody who support this ndc is idiot.

• Ghanaman 11 years ago

mahama met with solomon to plan the kiling of atta mills for him to become president so that gayism can be promoted

• KONTA 11 years ago

I know this is what happening in Ghana. the homosexuals in America has power and money and use those to influence politicians. they put Ob ama to power hence he is recognizing them. When we talk about human rights, we mean eq ...

THE NATION IS NOT YOUR HOMOSEXUAL ONE, ITS FOR OUR HOLY ANCESTORS AND OUR PROUD SELVES.

WE SHALL NEVER EVER LEAVE THIS COUNTRY WE STRUGGLED AND BLED FOR, FOR THE SAME PIGS AND DOGS WHO WERE ENSLAVING US PHYSICALLY, TO ENSL ...

• Paa kwesi (Holland) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

GAY ISSUE IS A WAIET OF TIME.LETS TALK ABOUT JOB CREATION

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

STOP THIS USELESS GAY ISSUE AND FIND WAYS TO GET JOBS

• Kwesi Enin 11 years ago

I am disappointed with Ayariga. Where did he get these initial information from. Are we to expect another Koku Anyidoho sort of calibre in the JM's administration? This is appalling and must change for the best.

• Nana manu 11 years ago

Signs of end tym.huh.no wonder.d kingdom of God is @ hand

• Adnan Abdullah Kameny 11 years ago

ghana shouldn't admit such a devil act ,this may lead to the downfall of Ghanaian presidency as well as the nation in general.
    this is the main reasons why America and some countries are suffering and they will keep sufferin ...

• KONTA 11 years ago

MO NHWE NO YIE OO, ABAN YI DE YEN REKO OBONSAM GYAM. AMERICANI NA WABA GHANA ABEDI TURUMU ENAM OHIA NTI. MO NHWE NO YIE OOO!!!

• BURN THEM BATTY. 11 years ago

I NOW REALISE WHY THE NORTHERNERS ARE ALWAYS BEING INSULTED.ISEE NOW.BIG TIME 4UCKERS.

• Downtown Harlem 11 years ago

Anything about this pepenii is so fake I simply can't understand why he can not speak a the truth on any subject.

• tt 11 years ago

anything about this habaseni is fake.

• Sampana 11 years ago

If that one was inaccurate how can we be assured about the accuracy of the President's stance on homosexuality?

• AMPONSA KAKABO LONDON 11 years ago

"He had a prior meeting with Andrew Solomon".
    This is very serious for any serious political leader to have a meeting with the leading gay lobbist in the world. Actully, is not Andrew Solomon alone which Ghanaians are conce ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 11 years ago

The pressure is going to come from the US administration and the British government. They will be tying in their development assistance to an equal rights agenda, This Solomon business is a side issue of no consequence.

• bex 11 years ago

You are right. The pressure will come from there and the President is a weather vane; he is turning and turning which way the winds blows him. He has no core philosophy, and will sell us to whomever convinces him first.

Of ...

• ko 11 years ago

I agree with that.tomorrow Tuesday the 5th of February,there will be vote championed by the British prime minister cameron and his deputy to formalize gay marriage in the UK.The cabinet is full of gays and if we don't take t ...

• nana 11 years ago

So what?NPP liars are at it again.They'll never learn.I thought they've boycotted any thing concerning the Prez so, why this?

This is not about the NPP.
    1. Did Mahama meet a gay rights activists?
    2. Did he accept money from him?
    3. What did he promise him in return? 4. Was it right for JM to do that?
    5. Did Mahama promnise a Ministerial popsi ...

• ABRAHAM JONES 11 years ago

I'm glad i didn't vote for JM and will never vote for him.

• Aussie... 11 years ago

Please tell...Mr. Andrew Solomon or Sodomy to educate the Gays and the lesbians to give birth with their partners and preach to them such So called rights....BECAUSE NATURE PRODUCES IT KIND....and stop confusing other peoples ...

• abongo boy 11 years ago

this is a stupid government everseen am an Ndc but an disapointment in NdC

Meetng with a gay activist? then deny it, then confirm it? What kind of advisers does the Preisdnet have?
    Can you imagine President Obama meetings gay rights activitis from Ghana, then denying it? He will be out of office fo ...

• John,Tema 11 years ago

Till we start managing our economy well and stop collecting aid/grants from western govts to support our budgets,I bet my last pesewa we can't ban these homosexuals.Why is it that China,South Korea,Japan are not having such p ...

• Ex-kum 11 years ago

y are we always being political on tissues?
    just wish Ghana was England so that all this NPP,NDC nonsense with stop.Ghana is bigger than any political party or any individual

• jetmoney 11 years ago

we are all religiouse God fearing nation if u want to be Gay find a different land,we are not going to support this Devilish act on such a clean Land

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 11 years ago

If you want to marry another man, woman, or cat you are free to leave Ghana. Demons.

• Kwame 11 years ago

The English say show me your friend and I will show you your character. They also say birds of the same feather form a colony. It is a fact that you can not see a fowl in the colony of ducks. My people say when toto want to f ...

marriage is a choice, and this is a free world, why do Ghanaian have small brains, do you kill or mistreat a disable people? or a people of different race? let respect and love gays, for we are all Ghanaians and human

• DKB 11 years ago

Are Gays disabled? And yes people of different race are killed every day.... which planet do you live on? You can choose to marry yourselves where ever you choose to apart from the church, you can indulge in what ever activit ...

• Wounded Lion,Tain 11 years ago

This the info minister for you.This kind of thing will not happen in any civilized society.Wounded Lion,Tain

• NATURE 11 years ago

Its a prophecy that must be fullfilled...my people the end time is near.In the next couple of days they are going to be all over the streets of Ghana,our peaceful but already collapsed country!
    BEWARE....REPENT FOR THE END ...

• vero 11 years ago

HELLO ARE YOU A SERIOUS,NICE,MATURE,AND RESPONSIBLE GENTLEMAN,FROM 35 YEARS AND ABOVE?
    IF YES THEN TRY AND GET IN TOUCH WITH ME FOR MORE TALKS.I AM 28 YEARS OF AGE SINGLE ASHANTI
    LADY LIVING IN ACCRA WITH ONE CHILD.
    I AM ...

• ADASA 11 years ago

Which politician has ever speaks the truth. Even in the very act they will deny.It is dangerous for any one in the right flame of his /her mind die for a politician. Most of them are thieves wicked and self centered individua ...

• Akua AU 11 years ago

Ei, this government is already doomed.So Mahama sourced his election money from a gay activist to become president of Ghana. Oh all it takes for selfish ambitions and self centeredness. If Ghanaians don't take care God will ...

most Ghanaians are gay and we will not let small mind people to stop us from living our lifes.

• Kwame agyapong effah 11 years ago

The president needs to come out clearly on this issue, because the coincidences are one too many. First an internationally known gay activist acting as moderator during his book launch, and now a well known supporter of gay r ...

all this famous people are gay and great.

Alexander the Great
    *Macedonian Ruler, 300 B.C.
    Socrates
    *Greek Philosopher, 400 B.C.
    Sappho
    *Greek Woman Poet, 600 B.C.
    Hadrian ...

• Pastor 11 years ago

MANY NPP MEN ARE GAYS AND MAFFIAS WE KNOW THEM

get a life, and live your life.

• MR MARTIN AMIDU 11 years ago

DEAR PRES.JOHN MAHAMA. WE VOTED FOR YOU AS PRESIDENT OF GHANA. NOT TO CONNECT GHANA TO HOMOSEXUALS AND GAYS.

• STOLEN ELECTIONS 11 years ago

EBEIIII

• mm garvey 11 years ago

OH PREZ MAHAMAH UR EXPOSED,OYE LITHUR LOBBIED FOR THIS GAY LOBBYIST & ACTIVIST ANDREW SOLOMON TO BUY A COPY OF BOOK MY FIRST COUP COUP D‘TAT(I KILL MILLS) FOR A WHOPPING $20,000.THAT IS WHY UR FORCED TO GIVE OYE LITHUR A M ...

• Chikay 11 years ago

The dust is yet to settle on the appointments of the new govt, but seems that somethings will never change. One of the things that made Mills-Mahama govt unpopular was its communication and yet seems like the new appointments ...

• SULLEY 11 years ago

SHAME UNTO THE MUSLIMS WHO SUPPORTED MAHAMA HE A DISGRAECE TRY AND DISTANCE YOURSELVE FROM AND DO YOUR OWN INVESTIGATIONS.

• Usman, London 11 years ago

These western and american dogs who claim to be activists with the bible right under their armpits yet cannot ponder over the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah are going round the globe with their nefarious activities.

Wha ...

• Tokyo !! 11 years ago

Liars thieves and trumu evil people !!

• FACE CARD 11 years ago

Long live ghana our president is fake
    he stole vote from Nana Addo, and i wanne be in de future president of Ghana people.

i believe in peaceful living with eathather

• MAHAMA SAKAWA 11 years ago

MAHAMA IS USELESS,GANGATUAN THIEVES,,SHAMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE,CRIMINAL JDM,

• Efo Kobla 11 years ago

So you just get up and talk without knowing the facts? This is not the first time, so base on what did you give us the first info?

If “the President’s appointment of Nana Oye Lithur is based purely on her competence an ...

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

IS TOO DIFFICULT TO CHECK YOUR FACTS BEFORE BRIEFING THE PRESS?

• IS MAHAMA BI-SEXUAL ? 11 years ago

WHY IS MAHAMA PROMOTING GAY-AGENDA IN GHANA ?

• davis 11 years ago

the president is a gay

• SARPONG K UMANKUMA 11 years ago

What a start,

• BISEXUAL PRESIDENT. 11 years ago

BISEXUAL PRESIDENT AND GAY VICE-PRESIDENT, NO WONDER NOT EVEN A SINGLE DAY PASSES WITHOUT HEARING FIRE OUTBREAKS. SODOM AND GOMORRAH REPLAYED. god save us!

• Tiger1 11 years ago

You are GAY,u need to come out of the hidding

• GHANA 11 years ago

How do you trust information given by this kind of people ? ndc never spoke the truth and will take money to force the youth in such a hideous act of sex
    May Allah have mercy on Ghana

• Pastor One God 11 years ago

President has nothing to do with all irrational campaigning against Human nature I will prefer a Biologist to answer some of the crude savage unlitral Madival questions that some pretentious Pastors are forcing a Historian t ...

• DOKORDOKOR 11 years ago

AYARIGA WO NE PITO YEOOO.DON'T TRUST MAHAMA PLS GHANAIANS.AS FOR AYARIGA HIM AND PITO NOTHING GO FEEE SEPERATE THEM.

• DENKYIRAMAN 11 years ago

What of leadership and mentor did Mr. Mahama exhibit when he launched his book in the United States? Could the president have launched his book in Tamale as a motivational and encouragement tool to students in his so-called ...

• YokoGari 11 years ago

Even large sections of the British public are fed up with the Gay-issue obsessed British Prime Minister David Cameron. Weak and ineffectual leaders like him as well as America's Barak Obama tend to avoid tackling major issues ...