You are here: HomeNews2013 02 01Article 263840

President Mahama appoints acting IGP

Read Comments Comments (126)

• SHAMO 11 years ago

FATHER FOR ALL INDEED! GIVE EVERYTHING TO NORHNERS AND EWES EVEN YOU CAN COLLECT ALL THE TOILETS INCLUDING ZOOMILION AND GIVE TO THEM, THE THE OSU CASTLE BUILDING AND DASH THEM!... EVEN ATTA MILLS WAS A BIT BALANCED.. CONFUS ...

• ROYAL AKANLAND 11 years ago

THIS IS OUR HISTORY,OUR LIFE,OUR LAND AND ALL JOBS IN AKANLAND WILL GO FOR AKANS

• Kwaku 11 years ago

If Akans are like John Mahama and his likes many members of the minority tribes would never have any position in Ghana.The man is a big hypocrite and believes in tribalism.

• Vandal;. 11 years ago

When Kufuor was appoionting only his cronies from Ashanti and sharing the booties waawaa, where were you? shut up and grief.

• okofo 11 years ago

We'll soon see who should shut up.
    Mahama is exhibitting gross tribalism which borders on stupidity.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

KUFFOUR APPOINTED AN ASANTE AS IGP TO MAKE COOL CHOP BUSINESS FOR DRUG BARONS AND CRIMINALS. THIS TIME ROUND WOE UNTO SHOESHINE BOYS. NANA ADDO WILL BE MORE PITIFUL NOW ON.

• Visionary 11 years ago

Folks make these NPP thugs cry cry and cry like children to see how sweet is to live life on edge.
    News reaching us here at Yenara News is that one of the entourage of NANA
    ADDO said the guy don't sleep these days. Accordin ...

• BOSS 11 years ago

Inspector General of Police (1966 onwards)

John Willie Kofi Harlley (MOV) - (25 February 1966 – 3 September 1969)
    Bawa Andani Yakubu (MOV) - (23 September 1969 – 12 June 1971)
    R.D. Ampaw - (14 June 1971 ...

• Visionary, Billings, MT. 11 years ago

If you have a problem why don't vote in a referendum for the North to break away and be it's own country!! ASS HOLES SEE WHO REALLY LOSES.

• Adu 11 years ago

Please let us give Mahama a break. The guy is the deputy IGP and it makes sense to give him the chance. This is not Tribalism but common sense. When NPP refused to recognise Aliu Mahama, that we tribalism. I would expect that ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

MAHAMA APPOINT A FEMALE IGP...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

FOOL, NO WONDER EVERYBODY INSULT YOU ANYHOW! YOU JUST NERVOUS GIVING 100 COMENTS A DAY WHY? ARE YOU PIG? IGP IN K4 ERA WAS BRONG "NANA OWUSU NSIAH" YOU SEE YOUR STUPIDITY NOW? NKWASEAFO LIKE THIS VOTING, GHANA HAS A BIG PROB ...

• North is north & EWE is trkosi 11 years ago

They dont know John Mahama can be USA prez still a Northner remains a northner? and Ewe remains trokosi?... hahaa!!!! The value is the same, tell them

• CASTRO 11 years ago

THANKS I AM HAPPY TO BE WHO I AM.

• kwo 11 years ago

why do guy see mahamas appointments as tribalism? what happened in previous administrations? they say" all animals run. but when the cow runs, they say its mad".

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe JAK 11 years ago

Even though I am not in favour of what Mahama and the Northerners mafia are doing it was Ku4 who started all this stupidity. It serves the country right. Is NDC going to nominate Mahama after his first term again?

• SHAMO 11 years ago

"I AM A NORTHNER SO EVERYTHING GOES TO NORTHNERS" PERIOD EI JOHN MAAMA, YOU ARE MAKING A GARGANTUAN HISTORY OOOO!!...! ATTA MILLS IN BLEESED MEMORY, BETRAYED FANTIS AND USED EWES AND NORTH! NOW MAHAMA WHERE ARE THE BRONGS, SE ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

"I AM A NORTHNER SO EVERYTHING GOES TO NORTHNERS" PERIOD EI JOHN MAAMA, YOU ARE MAKING A GARGANTUAN HISTORY OOOO!!...! ATTA MILLS IN BLEESED MEMORY, BETRAYED FANTIS AND USED EWES AND NORTH! NOW MAHAMA WHERE ARE THE BRONGS, SE ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

I JOHN MAAMA "I AM A NORTHNER SO EVERYTHING GOES TO NORTHNERS" PERIOD EI JOHN MAAMA, YOU ARE MAKING A GARGANTUAN HISTORY OOOO!!...! ATTA MILLS IN BLEESED MEMORY, BETRAYED FANTIS AND USED EWES AND NORTH! NOW MAHAMA WHERE ARE T ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

I JOHN MAAMA "I AM A NORTHNER SO EVERYTHING GOES TO NORTHNERS" PERIOD EI JOHN MAAMA, YOU ARE MAKING A GARGANTUAN HISTORY OOOO!!...! ATTA MILLS IN BLEESED MEMORY, BETRAYED FANTIS AND USED EWES AND NORTH! NOW MAHAMA WHERE ARE T ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

Tjats right , this northen and ewe joke of a govt is what has woken us up . After killing mills they now think by taking over the army and the police they can with the rule of force retain us in Ghana but we already have the ...

• Kaya. 11 years ago

Such unhealthy comment would not promote peace in this country. Lets mind our language when contributing our opinion in this forum. We are one people and let us remain as such.

• Good citizen 11 years ago

There is nothing like royal akanland,infact you have no land you all crawled out of a hole at Bekwai, so you can crawl back if you are not happy with the owners of the land.idiots

• john comey 11 years ago

why are you giving ghana to this garbage mental moslems.are we safe?let us take our defence in our own hand northen christians you s hould all wake up.

• Joe 11 years ago

When Kuffour made one Akan to succeed another until the 3rd man was booted out where were you? We don't have short memories, Owusu 1 and 2 and finally Acheampong. Were there no other tribes? Northerners are also Ghanaians, it ...

• Mahama-Gbagbo 11 years ago

Yes that is the trend now. Mahama who will carry the SHIT?

• OWUSU QUAYE 11 years ago

THOSE WHO HEARD THE PRESIDENT CALLING ON NORTERNERS TO VOTE FOR THEIR OWN AND FAILED TAKE THE CUE TO ALSO VOTE FOR THEIR OWN WILL BE THE SHIT CARRIERS. THE DAYS OF NORTHNER SHIT CARRIERS ARE OVER. AKANS AND GAS WIL FROM NOW O ...

• Okomfo Anokye 11 years ago

The price of selling their votes for GHC50. Stupid stomach minded Akans.

• NO COUP, NO COUP 11 years ago

GOOD JOB, MAHAMA! IT'S THE TURN OF THE NON-NORTHERN TRIBES TO EAT SHIT AND CARRY SHIT! WHEN K4 WAS ESTABLISHING HIS ASANTE EMPIRE IN GOVERNMENT, NOBODY COMPLAINED. WHEN MILLS WAS ESTABLISHING HIS MFANTSEFO CONFEDERACY NOBODY ...

• BIssy 11 years ago

What a joke!

• Awuradebasa 11 years ago

Dont count on the GA people,they're COWARD.they dont know where to choose.
    They all went for JJ rawlings.

in fact the asuantes or the kanbongas are cleaninhg the shit the northerners step on in the toilet to pick the pans, with their shoeshine work.so you see they carry and you clean, the value is the same

• Terribly SpeCific 11 years ago

From Central,Eastern,Western,Ashanti&BA,Mahama is telling you Akans who fought and voted for him that you are big fools.Now Ghana is in the hands of the North and Volta regions.Now, accept your stupidity!!!

• Jay 11 years ago

Come on Mr. President, so even the IGP has to be a northner? Surely the rest of Ghana have able individuals who can steer our Police in the right direction. Most ministers including defence are from the north now IGP. Hmmm As ...

• Floating Voter 11 years ago

Yes the President's appointements are becoming divisive and therefore scary. Please you excellency be adviced.

• Big Alex Aluta.Hamburg. 11 years ago

No wonder.It must not suprise Ghanaians where the appointment will come from.

• braa yaw 11 years ago

don't worry Volta will get cds for army

• kofi essoun 11 years ago

Mr P.T.Quaye,Ghanafu nyinaa da wase. work well done GOD BLESSYOU AND YOUR FAMILY.

• ADAMA 11 years ago

NDC voters are all fools. they think about their welfare and ghana. They only think about tribe when they are voting. They dont think about policies. sadly most NDC voters are the most poorest people in Ghana . Bcos they are ...

• J H SELA-QUARSHIE 11 years ago

People such as you with stinking mouths can afford to insult everybody bcosthey voted for NDC.You'll continue to wallow in poverty and be in the doldrums if you continue to follow those drug barons who want to rule this count ...

• The Critical Mind 11 years ago

The porcupine warriors always have more powerful followers ready to replace previous leaders and you know that

• CHEATS 11 years ago

TOO MANY NORTHERNERS IN GOV'T, WHY? Mahama is too tribalistic. Where are the Fanetes, The Ewes and the Gas? For Asantes...the least said about them...I TOLD U SO!

• noname 11 years ago

The reason why is that NDC want to marginalise Akans and some Akans like the fantes and Nzima are so stupid they cannot see the writing on the wall.

• ADAMA 11 years ago

ATONGO ATINGA MAHAMA IS A TRIBALISTIC MAN.

• prophet 11 years ago

Fast rate at which northerners are replacing Positions

• JUSTICE FOR ALL 11 years ago

Are those appointed into positions not qualified to be there? Do they have the requisite qualification? These are the questions you must be asking yourself when trying to analyse the president's appointments so far and not on ...

• okofo 11 years ago

And what logic are you displaying yourself?

• Gawuga 11 years ago

No voodoo ewe?

• Gawuga 11 years ago

NOT EXCLUSIVE

• Martin 11 years ago

The president, I believe appointed Mr. Mohammed Ahmed Alhassan, Deputy Inspector General of Police as the acting Inspector General of Police, because he is next in line for the position. If you have a problem because as peopl ...

• suicide bomber 11 years ago

What makes you think he should have appointed another junior officer over the deputy IGP. Only NPP will do that because Aliu Mahama was the deputy but they threw him away in to the gutter and brought this little minded junkie ...

• Gawuga 11 years ago

Sending Gh back to Taliban years.

• Kofi 11 years ago

What's wrong with Mahama , why is he appointing more northerners?

• JUSTICE FOR ALL 11 years ago

Reason before u comment please.

• okofo 11 years ago

Qualification but Mahama must be WISER and MINDFUL of tribe as well. Mahama must STOP picking ONLY "qualified" Northeners. He's spelling his doom by displaying gross tribalism. This is plain allienation of AKANS and it's defi ...

• MAMA 11 years ago

I CANNOT UNDERSTAND SOME PEOPLE.POLICE IS REGIMENTED AND A JUNIOUR CANNOT BE MADE TO OVERTAKE A SENIOR. MR ALHASSAN IS GP2.IF GP1 IS RETIRING GP2 IS NEXT PERIOD.

• CASTLE BOY 11 years ago

HE APPOINTED A NORTHNER TO PROTECT HIM

• tesqui 11 years ago

Nothing wrong with him appointing his
    own people(northners)if you dont like
    it vote him out in 2016.

• Hitler 11 years ago

I hate it when people always react to issues in a negative way. If the prez is not there then the vice acts,director is not there then the deputy acts so why these ignorant and naive talk about the deputy IGP acting? I urge a ...

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe JAK 11 years ago

Mahama is not in consultation with NDC executive committee. Their plan will fail

• NII 11 years ago

Who would retain this Mumu for IGP. After being used to do all the dirty jobs, he's been dropped like a hot plate. These are the people who disgrace us the Gas and make people think we cannot think right. kw3 gbee kua hi3.

• Joe 11 years ago

When the Law is beng followed, people criticise blindly. ^0 yrs is the compulsory retirement age for Police officers, Mr Paul Quaye has served well, discharged his responsibilities without any scandal and is going with aclear ...

• Ayalolo 11 years ago

DCOP Ayalingo attained 60 years long ago but is still at post in the Brong Ahafo Region. The reason? He is a Northerner. IGP Quaye is a Ga.

• I love my country 11 years ago

Nii, is Tawiah Quaye going on retirement or being pushed out of his position?

• ASEM WO MANO 11 years ago

Hahahahahaha, after all they father most Ashanti kids, hahahahahahaha. Pepefou rules no one talks, I bet you this my president is so good.
    What A Nation?

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Hurray Ghana!

• Nyansasem 11 years ago

We have had "Kokoase" Government. And then instead of "Fante Dorkuno" Government, Mills gave it to us the "Keta school boys" Administration. Now it is "Batakari government" and I don't see anything wrong with it.

Fantes wo ...

• KA AKYIRE 11 years ago

PLEASE NEW IGP IF YOU FAIL TO BITE YOU WILL BE CALLED SON OF A WOMAN FORTUNATELY YOU ARE NEXT IN COMMAND SO THE APPOINTMENT FITS YOU BUT BITE OOOH BITE

• KATH 11 years ago

He will be replaced after his his first, He is ethnocentric diotic northerner

• Prf.nioni 11 years ago

KATH,God wll never forgive u and ur entire famly;sickness and failure shll fall onto u,famly and frds very soon

• KATH 11 years ago

Mahama is just idiot. Upper East and Upper West are just small regions can not be considered as NDC election power base. Not even Northern region where NPP won 10 seats from there can be considered as NDC power base. The elec ...

• kankranfu 11 years ago

Mahama akan bashers, is it stupidity or ignorance? Can you guys tell me the actual meaning of tribalism? Mahama is a Gonja,if he gives a position to say a Manprushi, you guys see it as trbalism but will see nothing wrong with ...

• amadu 11 years ago

Mr. Mohammmed Ahmed Alhassan work pefectly and the president would make you the substantive IGP, you are more than qualify for the job. Ghanaians what is due to Ceasar you better give it to Ceasar. Prez. Mahama contenue to b ...

• YAW 11 years ago

KOKOFU BOOL BO!!!!!!!!

• Great 11 years ago

This is a Pure Tribalism

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 11 years ago

Very interesting. when I saw the heading I said the new appointee will be a northerner and behold I was right. Africans should learn to be fair to one another.

• DEDE 11 years ago

yeeeeeee! asem!!

• Kwamena 11 years ago

I see no reasons why the president is being critisized for appointing a northerner as acting IGP instead of a southerner.Since 1979 there have never an IGP from the north not even when DR HILLA LIMANN was the president ,we ha ...

• Pumpuni 11 years ago

@ Kwamena. What's wrong with this one?
    Was Peter Nanfuri from the South?

• Kwamena 11 years ago

Ok after Peter Nafuri who else is from the north and how many lGP'S have we had from south as compared to from the north ,why are they not ghanaians?Let us support him to do his job for a peaceful and safe ghana ,cheers.

• KK Konadu 11 years ago

What happens to NDC appointments? No regional balance in Mahama's appointments? I know Kuffour appointed mostly his own but should we continue like that? Ghana is best managed with a balanced regional appointments so NDC shou ...

• okofo 11 years ago

Mahama's appointments so far have been disappointingly TRIBAL. He's proven to be NOT smart enough!!

• Yaw Akrasi 11 years ago

THANK YOU MR PRESIDENT FOR RECOGNISING THE WORK OF THE FORMER IGP MR PAUL TAWIAH . I KNOW THE NEW AG IGP MR ALHASSAN WILL ALSO BE GOOD AS THE FORMER. WE KNOW ALL OF THEM WELL. MR ALHASSAH CONGRATULAITION AND I TELL YOU MR PAU ...

• POTE 11 years ago

After many years of Akans and southners it is time for northerners. Those who cant stand it can leave the country.

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 11 years ago

Only four years away.

• Kofi 11 years ago

Having a muslim name does not make one a northner. And what is wrong if a northerner who has been a deputy IGP steps in when the substantive one retires? Some of you people need to find something better doing. If the guy was ...

• DEMOCRAT-USA 11 years ago

Well said, bro.

• HAMIDU IS 60 AND STILL AT POST 11 years ago

WHY ARE AYALINGO AND HAMIDU STILL AT POST. ARE THEY NOT AFFECTED BY THE CONSTITUTION

• TSUO SAAFI 11 years ago

CHIEF OF DEFENCE STAFF AND OTHER SERVICE COMMANDERS WILL BE REPLACED BY NORTHERNERS SAVANNAH REGION ALL THE WAY

• Ebo 11 years ago

Too m any northerners in the admin of Mahama. Are they really all qualified? If so then its time to end the free feeding and schooling in the North. This sounds quite like the end to affirmative in the US even before Obama be ...

• DEMOCRAT-USA 11 years ago

Get a real job, friend.

• KPOWER 11 years ago

I THINK WE AKANS STARTED THIS BEHAVIOUR
    SO I WONT BE SUPRISED IF OTHER TRIBE ELECTED IN POWER APPOINT THEIR OWN PEOPLE IN ALL THE IMPORTANT POSITIONS.
    DONT FORGET THAT WE ARE ONE GHANA, THE SAME PEOPLE AND WE SHARE THE DREA ...

• THOMSON 11 years ago

mahama is doing good job, when the kejetia man was in power was it not only kejetia boys he was apointed? so what is wrong if handsom mahama is choocing good people but not like greedy none kejetia boy was doing

• Ernest (Atlanta Georgia u.s.a) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• chitown 11 years ago

hmmm

• truth 11 years ago

The assistant IGP should replace the outgone IGP. was this new one not the assistant IGP? If the answer is yes then what are all these comments about northerners and tribalism. Is that not the normal thing to do to promote th ...

• YEBOPOWER 11 years ago

Another fulani IGP.Lord have mercy.Where is Ghana heading towards.Ghana will turn into Egypt soon if this fulani care taker president is not brought to attention.What a heck is going on Ghanaians

• RAWLINGS YE ABOA 11 years ago

WHERE IS GHANA ARMY?
    NTAFOUR CAN NOT RULE GHANA
    LET IT HAPPENED LIKE LIMAN ERA
    GHANA ARMY PLEASE CLEAR THOSE NTAFOUR CAUCUS,THEY CANT DO THE JOB

• PRINCE 11 years ago

YOUR MOTHER'S 'TOTO' GET HORN; IDIOT!!!

At least they fuck your mothers and sisters cunt

• Samarin BOLGA 11 years ago

HOLALA! This ASHANTI MONKEYS can really disturn!

• Samarin BOLGA 11 years ago

ction/HOLALA! This ASHANTI MONKEYS can really disturb!

• Kordiaber 11 years ago

There must be equal opportunity for all Ghanaians.If Mahama thinks he can get away with his Trabalistic appointments, we shall kick him out in 4 years.Don't mess up the Country with Homos. and Tribal division.

• HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM 11 years ago

HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM,MAHAMA KOTEBOTO

• kodjo 11 years ago

Is anyone going to ask about the competence of this GHANAIAN???

• aj-usa 11 years ago

dude,hmmmmmm mahama first book was call what´s....?My first coup.soo there he goes.

• Paa Nii 11 years ago

Northerners have been in the wings ie BACK SEATERS for so long so why not? Give the boys the jobs. They are better and trusted people more than Ewes. That is why Ashantis made they look after their estate, money and assets

• kwaku-h, Norway 11 years ago

I would normally not gripe about where people come from in gov't appointment but this Mahama stuff is getting too much! geez, all the key cabinet, defence etc.

Look, Northerners represent a tiny part of Ghana interms of po ...

• SNIPER 11 years ago

who takes over after the president? who must take over from the IGP in his absence? stop this tribal nonsense and let us think for BETTER MOTHER GHANA

• frank - usa 11 years ago

What was good during kuffur,s term should also be wise and good at mahama,s term. Remember k4 and his brother addo k4 for the defence ministry and the matemeho criminals npp today said was the wisest government appointment ev ...

• Prince 11 years ago

So these filthy idiots think that anybody with a muslim name is a Northerner? Why didnt u complain when he was deputizing Paul Tawiah Quaye? Did u expect the Prez to by-pass Mr. Alhassan appoint his junior as Acting IGP? Does ...

• adom nyamekye isaac 11 years ago

The crown is always given to the head that it fits.

• Obiri Yeboah London. 11 years ago

I TOLD GHANAIANS THAT THIS WOMANIZER PRESIDENT WILL TAKE THE COUNTRY BACK TO ZERO.I LAUGH WHEN I READ THE NEWS ABOUT THE GOLD BARS THAT WAS TAKEN TO TURKEY, THE PRESIDENT IS THE NUMBER ONE SUSPECT HE CAN NEVER TELL GHANAIAN ...

• Awuradebasa 11 years ago

Yaaaaaaa,
    The time for PEPE people is now.
    President Mahama...MUTUM BANZA
    Now you fired a non PEPE to fix a PEPE man in charge of the POLICE.
    I only blame those who elected you

• Emmanuel Boye 11 years ago

We the real Ghanaian dont like this criminal guy, thief, corrpt, womaniser and stupid. The ewes and the northern are the one ruling the Akan people who fellow this bastard are all fools let`s join together and chase this kaya ...

• BRO DAN -TRC 11 years ago

NOBLE PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, LET ALL GHANAIANS WITH -"A WILLING MIND AND A PERFECT HEART" AND "ON THE LORD'S SIDE" SAY; -THANK YOU MR. PRESIDENT!! YEA, AND MAY ...

• DONDO 11 years ago

John Mahama is not ready for president. Atuguna should have been acting as he can write and sign papers.
    Every minister is acting in their position as JM knows the election was rigged. A very important post like the IGP, JM ...

• vandal mibonji korvich 11 years ago

the man is not appointed, he is deputy that means he is best qualified to act until later notice, after all the northerners are the most intelligent in the classrooms let us give them the chance and see