You are here: HomeNews2013 01 31Article 263721

Reject Oye Lithur or face demo - NUGS

Read Comments Comments (224)

• CD 11 years ago

Are you really students of a university? I don't think so.

• Concerned citizen 11 years ago

I don't blame these students, because they do not even understand the points this lady is making. How colud any inteligent student stand against such important points? Someone should please translate to these students in thei ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

JOHN MAAMA IS BUSSY BANKING OUR MONEY NO TIME FOR GHANAIAN AFFAIRS

• Kofi 11 years ago

Any proof? Pray to god for forgiveness. Important!

• NDC FOOOLS 11 years ago

WHERE IS THE GOLD MAHAMA SHIPED TO IRAN? THINKING HE WILL LOSE THIS ELECTIONS! WHAT WAS HE DOING IN TURKEY AS A 3WEEKS PREZ IF NOT FOR THE GOLD?

• Kwaku 11 years ago

You know what, just go and tell Kufuor to give back to Ghana the bribe he took from Vodaphone when he sold GTC. Dam ass hole.

• mRNA + tRNA 11 years ago

NUGS in the Nineteenth Century. Mindset. What a shame!!!!!!!!!!!!!! How can an educated person think this way? What do you (NUGS) your understanding of equality? Why do you think in the 19th century when this or that tribe ca ...

• PAA JOE 11 years ago

Oye Lithur needs to be confirmed as Secretary for Gender, children and Social Protection in the USA, Great Britain,France,Netherlands etc.where
    morals are in the gutter. She believes
    her birth came as a result of the union ...

• IDRIS PACAS 11 years ago

The Constitution has clearly stated the duties of each ministry or minister. There is nowhere in the ministry that Oye Lithur is designated to minister that states that the sector minister should handle people's sexual orient ...

• Nana Opare 11 years ago

Why have people turn this website into getting at each other and insulting our self's instead of sharing ideas pray for each other as one people of Ghana. Please let be matured here and be mindful with our language. We all ne ...

• Tasiga 11 years ago

Reject Oye Lithur

• BISMILLAHI 11 years ago

University students of today's Ghana are just shameless rapists and miseducated fools. NUGS has no moral basis to cast aspersions about Oye Lithur's character or anyone else. The depraved students that NUGS represents are t ...

• JOHN DADZIE 11 years ago

I wish the NUGS would unleash its enormous power to fight pervasive corruption,water shortages,power outages,to name but a few,that afflict the country.Maybe they'll learn one day that even the criminal has rights!

• Insolence 11 years ago

STUPID, FOOLISH, IDIOTIC and SHAMELESS ASS FUCKER

• FANTI BOY 11 years ago

STUPID EWE OR KONTOKOLI

• bex 11 years ago

What a very convoluted name. What is the minister to do. Why can't the position be defined clearly and succinctly so that person on the street what the ministry is about.

These people just put some words together and appoi ...

• Ross 11 years ago

Come back when u get to know the ass is no playing field for Ghanaians.

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 11 years ago

We are with you 100%, fight on till this cancer is rejected in our society. God bless you all, our dear and patroitic students

• Cold Thunder 11 years ago

I think I support the stance of NUGS on this issue.
    I always believe God gave us a breakthrough in discovering oil at this time because He does not want the world's powerful nations to plunder Ghana's culture through threat ...

• Iron 11 years ago

THEY HAVE THE RIGHT TO PROTEST. THE FUTURE IS THEIRS NOT YOURS. YOU ARE ON YOUR WAY OUT. THEY HAVE TO PROTECT THEMSELVES FROM THESE SO-CALLED LEADERS WHO HAVE NO CLUE WHAT THEY ARE DOING.

• Sankofa 11 years ago

NUGS is right. The students are reflecting public disquiet over the appointment of Nana Oye who is known to support human rights for homosexuals.

The students understand only too well the stance of Nana Oye. She is a dan ...

• nana kakahini amankwaa 11 years ago

The NUGS position is unhelpful.
    A debate on the Gay Rights issue can only loosen up the society for other repressed, suppressed groups or tribes to come out and voice their own problems, also.
    It is a multiplier, but wheth ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 11 years ago

Elsewhere in the world, except in Islamic Republics, one would have expected a student body like NUGS championing the rights of everyone, including gays and lesbians in the light of modern trends based on scientific insight o ...

• Gyambibi 11 years ago

Even university students should be accorded the right to consider as abhorrent the practice of one man having sex with another man through the anus.

• GHANABA 11 years ago

Morning Sir,

I am sorry, but you have disappointed me for the first time. Just because humanity is increasingly accepting an abomination does not make it right.

Homosexuality is a perverse practice! Instead of lauding i ...

• SASABONSAM 11 years ago

Ur write-ups got me confused about U. B/4 I can respond to any of ur diatribes I want to know a little about ur sexual orientation....Pls are u GAY?

• Nyarko Sammy 11 years ago

Religious bigotry?

• Atugabiig 11 years ago

DO I NEED TO CLEAN MY READING GLASSES TO READ THIS ARTICLE RIGHT? IF THESE STUDENTS ARE THE FUTURE LEADERS OF GHANA THEN WE ARE DOOMED. HOW CAN UNDERGRADUATES MAKE THIS UNEDUCATED STATEMENT THAT OUR SOCIETAL VALUES TAKE PRECE ...

• Ben 11 years ago

That must be brave of you for even though i abhor home sexuality i have come to accept it because in UK you have no choice on the matter.The conflict between our culture and homosexuality is such that you must be brave to ope ...

• Eko 11 years ago

If she is to be rejected for appointment, just because of a bunch of bonehead juveniles, it will be a sad day for the secular progress of Ghana. To be set back in this world because you are not hateful or a coward -but are so ...

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Eko, every society has its values.

We in our wisdom abhor sexual deviance, because we deem it unnatural, unhealthy, unwise and an affront to our sense of propriety.

Tolerance has its limits. Accepting homosexuality woul ...

• Gawuga 11 years ago

Uni is a place for views, ideas, alternatives, knowledge, tolerance etc

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Good points! The NUGS should go to Osu and chase after students selling their gayness!

• C.Y. ANDY-K 11 years ago

Akadu, you remind me of the anti-NDC bloke in the '90s on Okyeame who used to fire me a private mail anytime I wrote something critical of the P/NDC: this is the first time you have written something objective! When I alerted ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

I am not sure if what I have just read is true as the media in Ghana is very unreliable. But if this is true then it's very sad and dangerous. Is that the same NUGS that used to be led by Philip Gardiner, Arthur Kennedy and c ...

• Kofi Bassar 11 years ago

Every human Institution evolves to suit time. Human right does not mean human moral decay? It is the preservation of human dignity and values that can be passed on to posterity that NUGS is making their stand on.
    Great hum ...

• TITUGRI 11 years ago

I am somewhat baffled by some of our "educated" folks who think if anyone is against homosexuality that person has to be backward or lacking respect for human rights.

I have had the opportunity to travel to and also lived ...

• Efo Kwame 11 years ago

Kofi Atta, you did not explain why you think NUGS has gone to the dogs. When I first read this I was alarmed by the noise people are making about this appointment but after reading some of her responses at the hearing, I thin ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Andy K's best comment ever. These students are nuts.

• DR ALLOTEY. JONES 11 years ago

I'm not surprised by NUG's overly precipitous action, considering the fact that the 'Born Again', Pentecostal, Adventist, Jehovah's Witness, a slew of Baptist evangelicals are all busy on our university campuses proselytizing ...

• Kofi Basaar 11 years ago

I bet you NUGS is very progressive and proactive. If you study the hidtory of the NUGS, they have been 98% of the time been right. They opposed Prof. Busia's dialogue approach to Apartheid in South Africa, They opposed Unio ...

• kingsley amae 11 years ago

How are my getting in torch with you,country-man ? I am pursuing my Mphil in one of the universities.

Tel:0266178156.

• Kojo Billy Duncan 11 years ago

Are these the leaders of tomorrow? How come they are not demonstrating against the physical, sexual and emotional abuse of children, women, mentally ill and the so-called witches? If one should investigate, it would not be su ...

• truth 11 years ago

What should we do with the vigina or the womb I ask you gays and lesbians. The anatomy of the anus does not permit penitration. Put your finger in your anus and see how you feel, ugly. You people should not speak for this unn ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

Why are you against the position of NUGS? I believe you are a Ghanaian, christian or muslim. Does your culture or religion permit gayism and lesbianism?

• Kodwo. 11 years ago

"He" is probably a practising GAY.

The appointments committee will be meaningless, if it does not listen.

It will fuel suspicions that it is only there to rubberstamp the ruling government's choices and that all the noi ...

• GHANAIAN FEMINIST 11 years ago

I HAVE CHOOSE TO BE A CHRISTIAN OR MUSLIM BUT BY GHANAIN BY BIRTH. ARE UOU IGNORANT, NO ONE CHOOSE TO BE BORN BRITISH,AMERICAN, A WOMAN OR MAN BUT WHEN WE COME INTO LIFE WE MAKE CHOICES SUCH AS WHAT RELIGION TO FOLLOW, WHAT I ...

I bet you, I have worked in an organization when 2/3 of the work force were all sexual bent. There is one thing I discovered, some of them are very confused about themselves, some of them are very scared to talked to women, ...

• Nyarko Sammy 11 years ago

I gather that after the anal sex, the penise is washed ans the water...sit mixed with sperm is sipped by the partners...whoo bei!

• william 11 years ago

You should praise them for standing up in defence of moral values if even you don't agree with the method of protest they may choose!!

• Kwame 11 years ago

Can anybody tell me whether anybody that calls himself student of high learning can think this way. To demonstrate against a person whose only crime is she openly declare to fight for the rights of gays. This can only be mano ...

• Insolence 11 years ago

You must be a FOOLISH, STUPID, COCK SUCKER, SHIT AND SPERM SUCKER GAY.

Please don't mess with NUGS. It is a very powerful organization. It has toppled regimes and challenged the millitary. NUGS stands to promote social progress without compromising our values. NUGS stands for human decency. T ...

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

This NUGS prez is just preparing grounds for a political career. Nonsense him. Where was NUGS when Amina was abused and video recordings were circulated on facebook? Religious beliefs where pastors have become 419, fornicato ...

• WATCH OO 11 years ago

WELL DONE! NUGS

• Amecole. 11 years ago

And it came to pass that the "elites" in Ghana cannot differentiate between rights of persons, and beliefs of society. Oh well, that's Ghana logic.

• Insolence 11 years ago

YOU ARE A STUPID FOOL. SHAMELESS ASS FUCKER

• IBF 11 years ago

Ghana education has degenerated to this level, JSS and SSS waste. Waste of time and tax payers hard earn money to waste and demonstrate on such nonsense? I can believe it, what do they learn in school at all? How does that af ...

• Kissident 11 years ago

Stop fulling yourself with that stupid question. He is really a student of the university. The entire nation shall not compromise on its rich cutoms.

• cmf 11 years ago

i am in full support of NUGS the appointment Committee shld reject this fool now

• Atuahene-Otchere 11 years ago

Nana Oye Lithur should not be allowed to occupy such a sensitive position. What annoyed some us is that she refused to answer a simple question if she would allowed her son to marry another man yet she defend other people's s ...

• yaw 11 years ago

she is not the only female capable of doing this job..they should replace her

• Maa Abena 11 years ago

I listened to the entire vetting and Nana said she would not promote homosexuality, but would protect their rights. What a hypocritical stand.

• Kwabena Adjei 11 years ago

Promoting an act is not the same as defending the rights of those who do so. Nana has right to express her personal opinion on the matter as well as deffending same rights of those whose fundamental human rights (including bo ...

• Freedom fighter 11 years ago

I don't think people who lower themselves to the state beneath animals should have rights, let alone protect those rights even if they exist. Even animals do not practice same sex marriage so why should any civilized person, ...

• Isaac Amanor ,USA 11 years ago

Let their rites be a clause under animal rights.Serious Americans I work with are praising the clergy and NUGS for their stance on Oye Lithur and her gay rights.Let Ghana gays leave Ghana or shut up.

• Freedom fighter 11 years ago

I don't think people who lower themselves to the state beneath animals should have rights, let alone protect those rights even if they exist. Even animals do not practice same sex marriage so why should any civilized person, ...

• Warrant Officer Opou Agyei 11 years ago

Human rights laws are universal and are there to protect everybody irrespective of gender, creed, race, sexuality, etc. What Oye said was that she, as a human rights lawyer and activist, will advocate for the human rights of ...

• THE CHOSEN WAN 11 years ago

WHAT ARE THESE BUNCH OF GOONS,THE SOCALLED STUDENTS ARE SAYING?
    GHANA FOR YOU.

• Kwame, RSA 11 years ago

Stupid students, and to think u r in a universty, idiots

They need to learn what human rights are, if not because of human rights women wouldn't have have the right to vote, neither would the religious freedom allow them to practice any believe they have. It is only fools who discr ...

• Jack 11 years ago

Human rights now animal rights? Even animals don't practice this madness!

• truth 11 years ago

Gays and lesbians should seek medical attention not rights. they must be sent to rehab like the drug addicts, they have a problem, a big one. We should encourage them to seek medical attention not given rights to continue to ...

• Ghanaman in UK 11 years ago

these simpletons parading as students. During our time we read a lot outside our discipline. I bet most of them dont even know who wrote the following books"things Fall About"; "The wretched of the earth" "How Europe under de ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 11 years ago

I agree with you. Can you believe that these days students reading political science in Ghana graduate without having read any of Nkrumah's books. This morning I heard an opposition politician claim on tv3 that the last Briti ...

• obarima 11 years ago

don't forget that the union does not constitute you alone. though we do not give head to the idea of gays and lesbians in the world particularly this country and if the appointment committee reject this woman, then it means t ...

• Ross 11 years ago

The urge pops u go

• Mensah 11 years ago

Nan Oye Lither must understand that human rights are reserved for those who are humans. The gays do not even deserve animal rights since animals are by far better species than them. For me anyone who choses to be a gay looses ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

I will arrange for all gays and lisbians in Ghana to also demostrate against NUGS stance and I urge all who are against Nana Oye to go and shot and kill all the gays and lisbians and defend that they do not have a right to li ...

• GTA 11 years ago

which of the NUGS

• Martin 11 years ago

Ghana, please forgive NUGS for they know not what they are saying. Some of their members are even homosexuals. As students I had thought they would have been smart in defending the rights of the homos even if they find the pr ...

Those students participating in the demo are all ignorant literates. They have been to at least secondary school yet not transformed with what they have learned. I don't support homosexuality but that doesn't mean I should im ...

• Ross 11 years ago

U r

• GHANAIAN MASCULINIST 11 years ago

Idiotic fool, U think it's only U who Know book, human rights and law. Western education came to make as better people and not nothing less than animals( even they are wiser in this respect, God having given them that 'moral ...

• Agya Yaw Bantama 11 years ago

NANA IS IN HOT SOUP

• Pelicles 11 years ago

This lady should not be given that ministerial appointment. How can a lesbian supervise our children, mothers etc? There are good people out there to get that position than that bitch.

If she is confirmed, NUGS should n ...

• Papa Dee 11 years ago

NUGS! stop the infantile arguments and direct your energy to educating your members who are homsexuals to decist from the act. If you do not know, most of your members are homosexuals, it is not wriiten on their foreheads,the ...

• Ross 11 years ago

Virus vs bacteria

• joedusu@yahoo.com 11 years ago

I have read the universal declaration of human rights. NO WHERE in it does it say anyone has a right to engage in homosexuality or incest.

Article 1.

All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights.The ...

• sintim 11 years ago

good

• Kofi 11 years ago

So can I shoot dead any gay I see on campus becuase they do not have any right in Ghana at all and go scot free. My wife and I was shock to discover that one of her best friend was a lisbian and we thought this lesbianism is ...

• JOEDUSU@YAHOO.COM 11 years ago

THE CRUX OF MY POSTING WAS THAT
    NO THEY DONT HAVE RIGHT TO PRACTICE "SEXUAL DEVIANT CONDUCT" WHICH IS WHAT HOMOSEXUALITY IS
    HOW DOES THAT TRANSLATE TO SHOOTING SOMEONE WHO IS GAY???

CLEARLY U DID NOT PASS COMMON ENTRANC ...

• Warrant Officer Opou Agyei 11 years ago

You do not even understand what you yourself have read or written down. The answer you are seeking is right there in the Article 2. There are so many stuff you have written in your comments that I strongly believe you have no ...

• JOEDUSU@YAHOO.COM 11 years ago

I WOULD THEN EXPECT THAT BEING MORE EDUCATED THAN ME OU WILL RESORT TO DISCETING THE POINTS I MADE TO SHOW MY IGNORANCE RATHER MAKING BLANKET STATMENT ABOUT ME NOT UNDERSTANDING WHAT I WROTE. COME AGAIN. MYPOSTING DID REALLY ...

• KuKu MickinMac 11 years ago

Why do you think some people are sometimes sentenced to death even though everybody has the right to live? Why are other people confined to prisons even though everyone has freedom to movement? The answer to these questions i ...

• Hitler 11 years ago

well i disagree with you guys because you don't read the constitution. What you should rather advocate for is amendment of the constitution of Ghana which has said nothing about homosexuals,whether it is an offense, crime or ...

• Kooooobi 11 years ago

what a world, look @ this gyan boy, you have the nerves and guts to talk anyhow and write whatever you want, eeeehh try it and see what happens. kwasiaa ba, aponkyi mneeeeee, he goat, i dont blame you bt the one who gave birt ...

• Say the Truth 11 years ago

OYE LITHUR IS ONE OF THE FREE THINKERS IN GHANA - AND THIS IS WHAT ALL THE POLITICAL PARTIES & POLITICIANS FEAR!!!

LIKE SHE SAID: SHE HAS NO PARTY CARD OF NDC.
    DOES NOT BELONG TO ANY POLTICAL PARTY (YET WE KNOW WHERE HER ...

• Cardiffman 11 years ago

I salute this woman for standing up for her principles.Homosexuality is not going to go away,just because'backward thinking hipocrates' in a 3rd world country say so.Students are meant to use their brains in an objective man ...

• Ross 11 years ago

Stinky

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe JAK 11 years ago

Do not travel to any homosexual countries in this world if you believe in your stone age culture.

• Ross 11 years ago

Killers of procreation , S T Ds

• KOKI 11 years ago

Good posture there by NUGS! And I hasten to add that should the Appointment Committee make a mistake to endorse her candidature they would be MORE GUILTY for posterity than Lithur herself!

• Ross 11 years ago

We need focus as a party .This should be easy to withdraw. Please.

• afua 11 years ago

Ghanaians will support every demo. that will stand against Oye's nomination.

• tinkalo 11 years ago

Set up treatment centres for them. If we believe it to be an illness then we need to treat it. Good idea to discourage it before it becomes a pollutant. The danger is children could be expoited by older gay people and we dont ...

• Ross 11 years ago

Excellent

• KooFori 11 years ago

My stomach churns to read this article about what NUGS had to say on this matter. Blackmail will not get these bunch of thugs anywhere. Compared to students' unions worldwide, the so-called executive of NUGS make Ghanaian stu ...

• Ross 11 years ago

Pant on fire

• KooFori 11 years ago

You want to know? Better not, just to spare you the probable pangs of feeling academically inferior.

• Ross 11 years ago

With my M.phil. am just fine, bro.

• KooFori 11 years ago

I think we probably could be buddies if we put our different opinions aside and have a broader perspective at things.

THOSE PARTICIPATING ARE ALL IGNORANT LITERATES. PEOPLE KEEP GOING ROUND ABOUT RELIGION AND OUR CULTURE AND I FEEL LIKE ASKING, IS THE KIND OF MUSIC, CLOTHING, FOOD, INTERNET, CONSTITUTION AND WHAT HAVE YOU PART OF YOUR CULTUR ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

The dumb students think education is all about the chew and pour nonsense Ghana education system. They are not educating their brains but are acting on emotions like their illiterate counterparts.

• Kay 11 years ago

What a waste of tax payers money?

• KooFori 11 years ago

I couldn't agree with you more! they aren't aware the best part of funding their education come from the tax payer - until they find themselves sacked from university!

• Kwaku 11 years ago

What a country with strange news,does it means if a kid is engaged in homosexual act at Fankyiniko JHS she will go and defend him.Then the kids will be fucking by heart eeeii asem wo world.

• Kofi 11 years ago

Are you implying that the kid will not even have a hearing becuase he does not have a right. He will be shot dead becuase our culture does not allow that? Remember before the white men came to us we were practicing the forbid ...

• TRUMUTRUMU: 11 years ago

FORK YOU PEOPLE:-IT IS HUMAN RIGHTS:--NKWASIAFOH:

• Evans 11 years ago

Candidate for HELL FIRE .....

YOU ARE ALREADY IN HELL:

• Teepoh 11 years ago

MPs are having sex with our daughters after universities before they give them jobs to do in ghana, but the so-called pastors don't talk about it instead talk about what people do in close doors. Nana Oye I got your back.

NUGS;NKWASIAFOH:YE BE DE PAAAAH:

• Kofi Amankwaa, London 11 years ago

It is extraordinarily astounding that students supposed to be of a high analytical ability, demonstrate such ignorance and intellectual ineptitude.
    Nana Oye has not advocated the legalisation of homosexuality as a recognised ...

THANKS KOFI FOR HIGHLIGHTING WHAT NANA IS ALL ABOUT. UNFORTUNATELY, THESE IMMATURE AND IGNORANT STUDENTS CAN'T UNDERSTAND. WE ALL HAVE RIGHTS TO MAKE CHOICES WE LIKE, NOT BEING HOMOSEXUAL OR CHRISTIAN DOESN'T MEAN WHAT IS A C ...

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Kofi, we are a peaceful society. Nobody has been beaten for professing homosexuality. So what is Nana Oye going on about human rights for gays?

Homosexuality is a criminal offence. It is a taboo in our society. We will not ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 11 years ago

"Esteemed Ghanaian cultural values and customary laws."

NUGS shouldn't be allowed to do this without being challenged. It should demonstrate its understanding of the Ghanaian cultural values and customary laws.
    The Presid ...

• Michael Adzima 11 years ago

I keep warning that activists do not do Gov;t work. They spoil govt or spoil their own principled stand. Oye should choose one

• Dumega Prosper Jnr. 11 years ago

Ghana must never and must not take on Oye Lithur who does NOT respect Ghanaian culture in any way.
    She has hidden her intent under the canopy of "that is personal" and which is a sign of disrespect for Ghanaian.
    We don't wa ...

• HUMAN ACTIVIST 11 years ago

RELIGIOUS BIGOTRIES WHO DON'T ACCEPT OTHERS FOR WHAT THEY ARE. HOMOSEXUALITY IS IN GHANA ALREADY. ITS A CHOICE OF A LIFESTYLE. NO ONE IS FORCING YOU TO BELIEVE IN WHAT YOU BELIEVE OR PRACTICE WHAT YOU PRACTICE, SO YOU SHOULDN ...

• GHANANI 11 years ago

The government is playing with fire.Ghanaians will never accept Oye Lithur as a minister.Appoint her and the government will collapse.

• GHANANI 11 years ago

THOSE WHO SUPPORT GAY AND LESBIANISM SHOULD RELOCATE TO EUROPE AND AMERICA WHERE EVEN PRESIDENTS AND PRIME MINISTERS SUPPORT IT.GOD WILL SEVERELY PUNISH SUCH LEADERS.HELLFIRE IS AWAITING THEM.

• tHE sHAKARA 11 years ago

Miss Oye Lithur made a statement policy, "I will protect the rights of all 'gender', which include homosexuality."
    As a public officer designate, also a human right advocate, she has to be professional in public statements. ...

• Kk3 11 years ago

If only these fools know what is good for them.....
    No wonder these students cannot compete on the intellectual level with their peers around the world. Oh poor Ghana, you are 'fd' if this is your future........

• Margarita 11 years ago

I have never come across a bunch of thick students!

• LATRICE 11 years ago

shut up shut up, shut up all you NUGS. hey you always came out unemployed you deliberate on matters like that rather refusing WELL EDUCATED AND COMPETENT to work diligently. go put your stinky buttock down and study and impro ...

• nee kpabi 11 years ago

wo mame twe

• nee kpabi 11 years ago

oye, onye toto

• tinkalo 11 years ago

One bottom power is bad enough. 2 bottom powers will be a disaster.

• LATRICE 11 years ago

fooooooooooools u hv nutin better doin. u can go to hell. weather u like it all not Nana Oye Lithur take up that position. eat your your BALLS out.

• fada 11 years ago

i support you NUGS

• THE TRUTH 11 years ago

GOD is exposing mahama gradually,he sld better advice himself or face the wrath of the Almighty God n die like........

• CONCERNED MOTHER 11 years ago

VERY GOOD IDEA WE ARE PRAYING THAT GOD INTERVENE OYE CAN HAVE ANY POST BUT SERIOUSLY NOT OVER YOUTH N GENDER. WE CANT COMPROMISE OUR VALUES LESBIANISM OR SODOMY IS EVIL DIRTY A CURSE.ON A NATION. SHE CANNOT PREACH AGAINST IT ...

• ZEDICUS 11 years ago

Position well noted, NUGS!, we're in full support. ALUTA CONTINUA...

• david addy 11 years ago

in this present world where everybody has the right to do whatever they want,i find it very stupid on the part of nugs to take such a decision. gays and lesbians are part of our society and therefore they have rights. she is ...

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

what do you expect from a party burdened by this mentality of use them and drop them , see what has happened to kwetey and his office behind the toilet , e t mensah who for years has fought the battle and now is rewarded with ...

• Agya Yaw Bantama 11 years ago

MY BROTHER WHAT THE OUTGOING FOREIGN AFFAIRS MINISTER HON MUMUNI? THE MAFIA WANT TRAMPLE UPON HIM IN NDC

• Kwaku Atta-krufi 11 years ago

Here we go again from infantile minds. Which'Ghanaian cultural values and customary laws' prohibit one's sexual preferences? The constitution is no more supreme,Mr. Andrews Kofi Gyan? Is it not the constitution that has given ...

• Kwesi Pratt 11 years ago

It is not every THEORY from the West that we must 'cut & paste'. Let's also maintain some of our values that we can use to identify ourselves as a people.

• Nana Asare 11 years ago

I THINK ALL GHANAIANS SHOULD JOIN IN THIS DEMONSTRATION TP OUST Oye Lithur AS AN EXAMPLE TO THOSE WHO UNDERESTIMATE OUR PRINCIPLES,CULTURE CUSTOMARY VALUES.

• Gbagbladza 11 years ago

I strongly opined that Nana Oye Lithur must not be approved. We cannot afford to have a lesbian minister in Ghana. All that she said at the vetting go to point to the fact that she has the guy orientation. Is she saying th ...

• kkk 11 years ago

I think the NUGS and/or their President are nuts in their statement about Nana Oye Lithur. Asking that Nana Oye Lithus goes nowhere near any ministerial post, let alone that of Gender, Children and Social Protection is precis ...

• Ohene Ahuakese. 11 years ago

WHO ARE LECTURING THESE HALF -BRAIN STUDENTS WHO DON'T KNOW THAT A UNIVERSITY, A PLACE OF LEARNING AND MAINLY FOR PEOPLE TO EXPRESS THE CONCEPTS OF THEIR VIEWS I.E HYPOTHESIS, THEORIES AND LAWS AND TAKE THEIR STANCE IN THE PR ...

• Nii Nortey( New York) 11 years ago

Bunch of stupid fools calling themselves university students.

• Siisi 11 years ago

Bravo NUGS, for a culturally conscionable stance on the matter. Bravo!

• jay 11 years ago

if you think it is bad just live your life and forget about them

• We The People 11 years ago

We The People do reject the appointment of Oye Lihur, on the grounds that her views about the taboo of humosexuality does not allign with our cultural values. Whereas we do not reject nor condemn people who classify themselve ...

• Onslopogas 11 years ago

We fully support you!!

• Chuck 11 years ago

As a Ghanaian who earned both my first and second degrees from a Ghanaian public university, am ashamed to read this from NUGS. Prof Opoku Agyemang, the Minister of Education designate has a lot on her plate. Can these univer ...

• CCTV 11 years ago

it is clear she can not differenciate between human right and moral right. her profession is compelling her to adopt such posture on same sex which will eventually lead her to hell. but please dont drag all Ghanaians to hell. ...

• Akyempimhene 11 years ago

Any person in support to this oye lesbian thing is a fool .period!!

• Gawuga 11 years ago

Tolerance

• Gawuga 11 years ago

Go back to civilisation and stop your evil religion/ideology imposed on you by Taliban teachers.

• Frank 11 years ago

The student body needs to inform themselves about the rights that all citizens have, irrespective of their lifestyle. A person is a person with the rights of other persons. If she was actually promoting the lifestyle, that wo ...

• osabere kotoko 11 years ago

nonsense!!!!

• KOBI ESQ. 11 years ago

ILLITERATE NUGS LEADERS. IMPEACH 'EM

• I love my country 11 years ago

Who would be the first to throw stones at any gay person?. They have been in existance since time in memorial. Remeber, some of these people have may have some kind of genetic defects. It could be your brother or any member ...

• KWABENA DANSOMAN 11 years ago

GO AND REVISE YOUR NOTE ON CRITICAL THINKING.THE FACT THAT A CHRISTAIN WOULD NOT GO IN FOR ANOTHER WOMAN APART FROM THE WIFE DOES NOT MEAN SOME MEN ARE NOT POLYGAMOUS.THAT IS THE ESSENCE OF FREEDOM OF RELIGION.SO UNTIL IT IS ...

• Kofi Ghanaba 11 years ago

Blame the opposition for this taboo that is about to happen. There are so many hard and well cultured women over there to do the job.Mr.president l believe in you to listen to the voice of wisdom.

• sowu 11 years ago

EMBARK ON STIKE AGAINST FREE EDUCATION IN THE NORTH.IS GROOSS DISCRIMINATION.WE ARE ALL GHANAIANS WHY SOME SHOULD HAVE FREE EDUCATION WHILE OTHERS ENJOY. IT IS CHEATING.ARE GHANAIAN STUDENTS BLIND?

• KB 11 years ago

Embark strike action on free education. Some people in the souyth can't make ends meet.It seems we are not rational beings to vote for John Mahama Action must be taken now

• KB 11 years ago

SOUTH not souyth

• U-Turn 11 years ago

You are ignorant!!!

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

SPOON-FED STUDENTS. THE YOUTH MUST BE ABLE TO ACCOMMODATE DISSENTING VIEWPOINT. OTHERWISE EDUCATION BECOME BRAINWASHING

• KOJO 11 years ago

OYE LITHUR SHOULD NOT BE APPOINTED AS MINISTER OR NATIONANWIDE DEMO WILL GO ON.

• Analyst 11 years ago

If Nana Oye Lithur is rejected by Parliament, it will show how backward our society is. It will show how we lack the capacity to think properly and dispassionately.
    Many of us wrongly presuppose that when it is said that, a ...

• Owukua 11 years ago

Nugs is behaving rather irrationally, erratically and childishly. Is it a crime to protect the rights of all manner of people whilst showing them love. Ah!

• KKD 11 years ago

NO WONDER U PEOPLE COME OUT FROM SCHOOL AND FORM ASSOCIATION OF UNEMPLOYED GRADUATES. IS THIS HOW YOUR BRAINS WORK? EVEN MY ILLETRATE GARDEN BOY WONT REASON THIS WAY.

• Joe Navajo 11 years ago

Useless students, so call future leaders of Ghana?

• Mr Paul .M. Hagan 11 years ago

what is becoming of our society lately.What perpuators even fell bashful to talk about is now been promoted in full glare of the public without any retraint as to how dastardly the act is.This act is baberic and every effort ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Duh!

• Proud Pepeman. 11 years ago

I AM SURPRISED THAT NUGS WHICH SHOULD BE PROGRESSIVE IS SO BACKWARD. NUGS ELECTIONS I KNOW IS FULL OF CORRUPTION. THERE IS NO PROPER ACOUNTABILITY WITHIN MOST OF THE STUDENT ORGANISATIONS IN GHANA. DO OUR SOCIETAL VALUES NOT ...

• boy 11 years ago

Even these countries reject homosexuality.

• Tarzan 2021 11 years ago

Are the future "brains" saying or implying that "Gays and Lesbians" do not have any human rights?
    Or NUGS does not understand the issue here.
    Let us think about it this way, all Ghanaians, both gay and straight, pay taxes ...

• ogidi 11 years ago

that woman want to be a foot for homo in ghana....hmmm God help us....we will foreva reject oyelita!!!!

• Kwaku Manu, Nungua 11 years ago

It is rather pitiful and unfortunate as well as frightening that students union in Ghana in 2013 are taking a stand as though they are a taliban group in the mountains of Afghanistan.

Will real students stand up and be cou ...

• Yaw Kobi 11 years ago

Hippocrates.
    NUGS should know why every citizen rights should be respected. 'Human rights' are the basic rights and freedoms that belong to every person in the world. If one can make multiple sex partners in ghana without be ...

• Kwaku Manu, Nungua 11 years ago

We want the true students to stand up and be counted.

• ishmael avo 11 years ago

this is so cheap for the nugs to fight they rather for students in Ghana to have a better and conducive environment for academics purposes, but not for this nonsense fight.

• kwam 11 years ago

Who do you think you are to detate to the President of the Republic ?think about how to get jobs for your members and stop the nonsense.

• Eko 11 years ago

If she is to be rejected for appointment, it will be a sad day for the secular progress of Ghana. To be set back in this world because you are not hateful or a coward -but are someone willing to go against the current of the ...

• Fadi Ka Fuuta 11 years ago

He quoted Article 17(1) of the 1992 Constitution which says: “All persons shall be equal before the law (2) A person shall not be discriminated against on grounds of gender, race, colour, ethnic origin, religion, creed or s ...

• Ataankpa Apuma 11 years ago

Nana Oye has committed no offence. Her advocacy for the human rights of gays is as good as her advocacy for all human rights. If heterosexual couples can engage in anal and oral sex what moral high ground has anybody to deny ...

• STEFANO LUIGI 11 years ago

The fact that Oye Lithur was even considered for a ministerial position and a sensitive one such as gender, children and social protection shows clearly that, there's such a grand, humongous confusion in the heads of John Mah ...

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 11 years ago

I don't know whose decision their conclusion to hit the street is, but who ever suggested or advised this stand of NUGS got it wrong.
    First, is Nana Oye assuming the position of Minister of Gay and Lesbians affairs?
    Second ...

• Moru 11 years ago

she must go . she i an agent of distraction to our beloved country.

• Joe 11 years ago

Idiots are getting younger and younger.

• FRANK 11 years ago

YOU STUDENT ARE SOUNDING UNINTELLIGENT NOW,I AM WONDERING IF I SOUNDED SOO STUPID SOME 12 YEARS AGO WHEN I WAS AT CAP VAS. ALL LITHUR HAS DONE SO FAR IS TO SAY THAT SHE WILL PROTECT THE RIGHT OF ALL INDIVIDUALS IRRESPECTIVE O ...

• Asorkpo 11 years ago

Gay and Lesbian activities is going on right at your doorsteps.
    If u know how to sow then sow your bum first.
    Bloody idiots!!!

• pap solo 11 years ago

What is the problem with NUGS,are they dreaming?

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 11 years ago

means Oye Lithur must step down imidiatly-there are some they don't respect thair mother nd thair Papas,nedansa yiara na the late P.Proph Asomudweehe Mills, ANAANSO MA MENFA nedzin yinso nkaho, Egya Atta i mean?it will never ...

• PAUL 11 years ago

GO ON NUGS! WE ARE WITH YOU 100%.

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

If i were a student leader, I would never have supported such crass and politically motivated utterances. Is this matter such that people will threaten lawlessness when there are more bread and butter issues confronting the c ...

• kwaku 11 years ago

it is only uguly fat unattracted uncultured and mumu bitch like her will support sick people like this in our society.am ashame of her and will b if she was even my house helper

• Victor 11 years ago

University students who are supposed to be open to higher interesting debates on other schools of thought and arguments are engaging in such stupid time wasting demonstrations. No wonder our schools are always behind in evert ...

• INSIDER 11 years ago

THE PEOPLE OF GHANA SHOULD ASK THEMSELVES THAT WHY WOMEN MINISTRY WAS CHANGED TO MINISTRY OF GENDER, CHILDREN AND SOCIAL PROTECTION.SHE IS ONLY APPOINTED TO SERVE THE MINISTRY. THIS SHOWS CLEARLY THE STANCE OF THIS SHAMELESS ...

• kojo 11 years ago

I am not surprised SSS education and the falling standard of education. A sad day for university education in Ghana. Lets go back to O & A level .

• oyinasky 11 years ago

Fuck these idiots. These are personal belief.Leave Oye alone. She is not my friend but I will defend her right to her personal belief with my life

• Whatever 11 years ago

Stop this nonsensical discrimination against Nana Oye. Jesus did what Nana Oye is doin by coming to the aide of an agulterous woman who was about to be stoned. I reject gaysim but Nana oye is right in coming to the aide of ga ...

• SULEMANIDRIS 11 years ago

NANA OYE IS ALSO LESBIAN WHY WOULD U SAY U WOULD PROTECT THE GAYS AND LESBIANS THIS THINGS IS TOOOOO UGLY AND BAD

• GO GET URSELVES JOBS 11 years ago

These stupid unemployed graduates should rather think about jobs and stop their nonsense.

• KoBakor 11 years ago

The NUGS must be the most primitive, regressive and completely-out-of-touch young people's organisation on this planet. I would even say it is sexist. One Luther is a modern well-thinking progressive woman. In my opinion she ...

• Ernest (Atlanta Georgia u.s.a) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• TITUGRI 11 years ago

I have read so many of the comments for and against the NUGS stand and I am somewhat baffled by some of our "educated" folks who think if anyone is against homosexuality that person has to be backward or lacking respect for h ...

• Nantwi,BSEd,MSEd(ece),MSEd(sas) 11 years ago

Gays,Lesbians,Homosexuality,you name it. It is here to stay.Freedom of Choice.Whether a cross section of the Ghanaian society likes or dislikes it,it is here to stay!

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Nantwi mese wo ye aboa!

Homosexuality will not be condoned in our society. It is a criminal offence, and we need to strengthen and enforce the law.

• dan 11 years ago

lET the democratic process take its course. You do not have a right to demonstrate against a parliamentary process simply because you dont like its decisions. After all you voted for it

• abc 11 years ago

sound rather illiterate and immature...

• Prof Lungu 11 years ago

Without a Constitution, You Ain't Got Ghana.

You Ain't Got Nothing!!!!!!

• gayboi 11 years ago

are these student ?
    what did they know about rights? foooool students

• ama 11 years ago

Oye Lithur is all about gay rights whilst our innocent children and youth are suffeing from sexual exploitation and abuse from these same people who are misusing our children

• Frank 11 years ago

I think you are comparing apples and oranges here. Protecting one right does not preclude protecting another right. They are both rights even if they are different. You mean you cannot walk and chew chewing gum at the same ti ...

• Wise counsel 11 years ago

All you people know how to do is demonstrate!! Educated people, be innovative!!