You are here: HomeNews2013 01 30Article 263577

Lawyer threatens Armed Forces and BoG over Military bank

Read Comments Comments (99)

• JAMES Y 11 years ago

An Army Bank may not be a good idea. For instance, suppose the said Army Bank is in financial distress and becomes insolvent who meets the payment of its creditors? Is it the tax payer or who?

• GH 11 years ago

CAN YOU BELIEVE THIS

Dove; A Town Where It Is A Taboo To Menstruate, Give Birth And Bury The Dead

It is a taboo for women to give birth to babies or even menstruate in Dove, a town in the Mafi Traditional Area of the ...

• BENYIWAH DOE(Rat Poison) 11 years ago

And so what? What is your kobi in this? Rather tell to vote wisely next time.

• PAA OFLU- JATO 11 years ago

THIS LAWYER HAS CLEARLY SHOWN HE IS NOT ABREAST WITH TIMES. HIS ARGUMENTS ARE SO SHALLOW AND ONE WONDERS THE MOTIVE BEHIND ALL THAT SCRAP ABOUT THE ARMED FORCES BEING A STATE INSTITUTION AND SO CANNOT GO INTO BUSINESS VENTURE ...

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwasi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwasi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• OBIBINI. 11 years ago

Oh,so we have albino lawyers in Ghana.Does he go to court?I am told that albinos[ofiri]cannot see well during the day or he goes to court during the night.His posture on the army bank issue is just for self advertisement.

• Kwabena Amoafo 11 years ago

Obibini, you are a foolish man. When the man is challenging the unconstitutional venture the Armed forces want to go in, you are writing about albino. The Armed Forces should rather venture into commercial farming and even us ...

• Onipa, USA 11 years ago

Why not form a credit union for the army?

• OBIBINI. 11 years ago

Kwabena Amoafo you want prison labour to be used on military farms.Is the military there to do farming work or to defend the nation?If the army cannot establish a bank then it can also not establish farms.Prisoners are in pri ...

• OBININI 11 years ago

OMG this Ofrijato is sooooo UGLY what do he know about army and bank? Albino can't realy see during the day do he go to court at night for real? I think they need them albinos in Lagos so you'll be RICH. Tell him to put on ...

• KWABENA AMOAFO 11 years ago

Kwabena Amoafo Obinini is 100% right, albino are not human being they are all animals they are need in Lagos period.

• Sam Ayi Kwabena Marfo 11 years ago

Dear OBIBINI, please can you tell me what sort of intelligence Lawyer Amoaning being an albino has got to do with the issue at stake? What really matters to our dear country is the issue on the table . Even if he's come from ...

• Ebo Crentsil 11 years ago

Lawyer Amoaning should also note that this Armed Forces Bank will create Employment and Banking Services(Housing & Car loans etc.) in Accra, Tema, Takoradi, Ho, Kumasi, Sunyani & Tamale. I know the problems and hustle they go ...

• kOFI bOATENG 11 years ago

What are you talking about? The Armed Forces Banking issue; is it part of their duties? I think it is a wrong move and must not be allowed.

• Odenehokwame 11 years ago

Lawyer, i hold you in high esteem but this one is below the belt. Come to th United State the Navy has a bank called the the Navy Federal Credit Union. All the empolyees are civilians and the bank serve the needs of most ser ...

• NYARKO U.S. 11 years ago

WELL SAID MY BROTHER ODENEHOKWAME.
    I DON'T SEE ANYTHING WRONG WITH GHANA ARMED FORCES HAVING THEIR OWN BANKS.
    PEOPLE STILL NEED TO BE EDUCATED ON SOME ISSUES LIKE THIS.
    AND FOLKS STOP DOWNGRADING ALBINOS THEY WERE ALL CRE ...

• kOFI bOATENG 11 years ago

Is it part of the duties of the Armed Forces?

• wy 11 years ago

Do you really think like this in 2013?

• osei-wusu 11 years ago

your comment is really sad and unfortunate. Why are u attacking his looks as opposed to telling us your opinion about the issue under discussion. if you don't have anything intelligent to contribute, please refrain from velli ...

• Cold Thunder 11 years ago

The banking business is one area we must stop the army from going into. This could lead to massive corruption in the Executive arm of government whose leader is the President and Commander-in-chief of the armed forces.
    How d ...

• YARO 11 years ago

It's unfortunate Paa, to subject yourself to such plain ridiccule by baselessly attacking the personality of Foh Amoaning instead of the content of his submission. He addresed himself well but quoting the constitution and eve ...

• Akora Oteng 11 years ago

The learned lawyer is right. The Army is NOT a commercial bussiness entity and CANNOT go into bussiness to earn it,s own money. Are we talking about MERCENARIES here, or what criminality/ies, do we want our soldiers to commit ...

• william 11 years ago

I hope this is not a case of a lawyer seeking cheap popularity! Which law FORBIDS the army, that is what we should be told, not speculation about the law!!!!The army has lawyers too to advise on such matters!But if they have ...

• Rob 11 years ago

Whose money are these Army folks going to invest in this venture? The money that the Government gives allocates for defense?

• Yaa Nkosuo 11 years ago

What is Moses Foh-Amoaning's point?

Himself a product of Burma Camp, ( his father an Army Chaplain)you would expect that someone of his calibre would support INNOVATION such as this. It baffles me to think that in this day ...

• WILLIAM 11 years ago

With this background I can see he is looking for attention. GBC/TV3/TV AFRICA/METRO TV, PLEASE GIVE HIM A SPORTS PLATFORM OR EVEN A LEGAL ONE TITLED: THE LAW AND GHANAIAN STATE INSTITUTIONS!!!i MUST ADMIT i ENJOY HIS 'DOGO TU ...

• Rob 11 years ago

Whose money are they going to invest? THINK.

• Thomas 11 years ago

Paa Oflu Jato as you call yourself, first of all writing in block letters is as offensive as is your misplaced logic. I agree with Foh-Amoaning 100%. Here we are dealing not with the American Army but the Ghanaian Armed Force ...

• YESman 11 years ago

SACK THE CORRUPT THIEF MAN FROM THE ARMY. HE SOLD MILITARY LANDS FOR HIS DIRTY POCKET.

GO AND SACK HIM ---HE IS WAITING FOR YOU TO DO THAT.

• TT 11 years ago

Go fight in Mali

• Nii Akwei 11 years ago

Now they want to go into banking? They are probably telling the President that his security depends on the Military.

No way.

THE ARMED FORCES WORLD OVER ARE THE ENGINE OF GROWTH. THEY VENTURE INTO ALL SORTS OF BUSINESS AND PROMOTE DEVELOPMENT IN ALL AREAS. THE ARMED FORCES HERE GOES INTO ROAD CONSTRUCTION IN NEGLECTED AREAS AND FOR THAT ONE NOBODY ...

• Thomas 11 years ago

More nonsense from you again. Listen why dont you just say that we dont need the the Armed Forces anymore so we should disband them and retrain them into a corporate entity? That, I will agree with you.

This nonsense comin ...

• Justice delayed is justice denied 11 years ago

GREAT MOVE

THAT WAS FROM BAD CITIZEN STILL LIVING IN THE STONE AGE. HIS ARGUMENTS SOUND SO OLD AND VERY REMOTE FROM MODERN DAY DEVELOPMENT AGENDA. THE MAN IS LATE AND HIS MOVES TO DRAG THE ARMY TO COURT IS SILLY AND RATHER MYOPIC.

• Brutus 11 years ago

Ghana is not Egypt or China. Encouraging the Army to set up a bank is a dangerous proposition. It must be stopped.

• Justice delayed is justice denied 11 years ago

BRIDGES AND FARMING

• nana, washington 11 years ago

In USA the army got a bank. Www.navy federal.com.This is a bank for the men in uniform and their spouse. They help them(men in uniform) in so many. Low interest rate for them to buy houses, cars, business, etc. what is this l ...

why do you always compare Ghana to the US.Can you bribe someone in the US to vote for you? Its time we stop scraps about comparing Ghna to the US.

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

It would not be in the interest of mother Ghana if the military is allowed to set up their own banks. If they want to go that way then the military audited accounts should be in the public domain to ensure transparency. They ...

• nana, washington 11 years ago

where did Ghana got the ideas about democracy from. What you Benyiwah Doe you are saying doesnt added up. Again it seems you are out of touch. Africa or as matter of fact Ghana are used to chiefs to rule us and we should go b ...

• abbas 11 years ago

what do u mean by bribing someone to vote for u.

• NYARKO U.S. 11 years ago

THIS ASEM MAN IS STUPID IDIOT AND HAS A BRAIN OF CASSAVA DOUGH SITTING IN HIS BULL HEAD

• CANADASHEABUTTER- ABUDU 11 years ago

What is wron for the Armed forces , Navy , Air Forces operating a bank .

Are they not going to follow the Standard Acts of Parliament and also the Acts of Incorperation ?

Will they not be creating jobs in the country ?

• sokatoa007 11 years ago

Is farming and bridge building not a commercial ventture as the banking business. Why not allow it or give it a test. The Ghana Armed Forces will not lose focus on their primary task.

• Ken Ntiamoa 11 years ago

A Credit Union for the Army and in fact, for the employees of many other established commercial enterprises is good for the economy. Credit Unions are owned by all the employees of an established company or organization equal ...

The Armed Forces is too corrupt. Its better we STOP it NOW.

• Adongo 11 years ago

I am glad you brought up the credit union issue. Maybe if the army had expressed the interest of establishing a credit union it would have augured well with Lawyer Foh-Amoaning. I personally think the lawyer should suggest al ...

• Jojo 11 years ago

We can't have an army with commercial interest! Next what they gonna have their own commercial trains? Buses?
    This is so absurd.
    Sounds like someone in the army is learning bad stuff from the Egyptian Army!
    Yuk.

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 11 years ago

P/NDC has a diabolic agenda to politicize the army and police service so they will win and earn their support to always rig election and stay in power in perpetuity.

There is nothing enticing and influencing loyalty tha ...

• Pollster 11 years ago

Master, keep quite and cope with the fact that you were sacked for indiscipline from Ghana Military Academy, This is just an attempt to get back at the system.....................There are equally competent finance expert in ...

You are a fool

• SOBOLO 11 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU, BENYIWAH, HE IS A BIG FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

• Prince Tom 11 years ago

Incorporation? How can a so called lawyer talk like that? That is a shame. Soldiers as individuals have the right to own shares and can therefore own a bank as consenting individuals. Banks have exploited us for far too long ...

• KU 11 years ago

Soldiers can own shares in any bank or commercial or financial entity. You don't need to open your own bank to own shares. We can't have every institution or organization owning a bank just because they feel cheated by the ba ...

• bogoso 11 years ago

when you are being led by crooked people this is what happens.
    Its not the army fault, if we had moved all their bases to the bush, they wont be competing with our businesses, where in this world can this happen if its not N ...

• Prince Oto 11 years ago

Soldiers just like all citizens have the right to own property and so can own shares in a bank. Soldiers need their their own bank to take care of their welfare needs. Members of the military can therefore come together to ra ...

• bogoso 11 years ago

The military leader needs to be sacked for evening having this idea.
    we are very hungry in this country and the military could have farmed to give us food, they have become stylish so they want business.
    useless military

IF IT IS FOOD FROM THE MILITARY FARMING THAT WILL SAVE YOU THEN JUST GO GET A COFFIN READY. DON'T YOU HAVE HANDS AND LEGS TO PRODUCE FOOD TO FEED YOURSELF?

• SOBOLO 11 years ago

BOGOSO, YOU ARE VERY STUPID, YOU LAZY MAN, YOU WANT THE MILITARY TO FARM BEFORE YOU CAN EAT HOW STUPID.

• CASTLE BOY 11 years ago

Mahama being Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces will ask his men to kill Akufo Addo if the court rulled in favour of Nana Addo.

• ADWEN 11 years ago

This is what happens when there is chaos in a country, where people vote for people because he looks more presentable or sober than the other althouah he lacks integrity and transparency by any measure.
    Have the army not got ...

YOU ARE GORRILA THAT FELA RANSON KUTI TALKED ABOUT IN HIS SONG "MISS ROAD". ALL YOU WILL CAUSE WILL BE CONFUSION, CHAOS AND SCATTER. WHO IS MORE STUPID THAN THAN YOU IN THIS CASE. YOU ARE VERY BLIND AND NOT EVEN AWARE OF WHAT ...

• ADWEN 11 years ago

What you wrote was not comprehensible. You have no idea to articulate on this issue, so keep quiet. People like you lacking ideas on topical issues just come here to vent your warped ideas and frustrations.
    You need to go to ...

• home sweet home 11 years ago

if you think can create instability in the country by just creating unnecessary tension in the country then please sorry.Armed Forces is ready for such people like you and those hooligans.if the Armed Forces want to establish ...

• Adobiah 11 years ago

look at who is talking do you know the money that we for this country on peacekeeping mention every 6 month we the Armed forces will never give up. you can do anything okay u hear me.

• KWAKU BALOTELLI 11 years ago

YOU ARE A STUPID FOOL.TRAVEL N SEE.EVEN EGYPT ARMY WAS ABLE TO HOST A FULL CONTIGENT OF GHANAIAN [SPORTS] SOLDIERS IN THEIR 4 STAR HOTEL WHICH I WAS ONE OF THEM.LIKEWISE KENYA.THEY ALSO BANKS THAT THEY OPERATE.FIND OUT FROM T ...

• stupid lawyer mind your business 11 years ago

this lawyer is stupid

• Alex London 11 years ago

What a daft idea. Please please GAF do what you are good at. Defending the nation. Also, help to deal with the enemies within - the armed robbers. Take them on.

• Ghanaian 11 years ago

I am a retired soldier and support the lawyer, BOG should not make that mistake.

• Tetteh Klokpe 11 years ago

This man is a joker, go to just Egypt and see how many factories, banks, hotels and farms the Egyptian Army has. You sit in Ghana and talk anyhow. Did care to know the problems soldiers go through when they travel and give c ...

• JUSTICE 11 years ago

LAWYER OFREE,THANK GOD YOU ARE IN GHANA.IF YOU WERE TO BE FOUND SOMEWHERE ELSE IN THIS PART OF THE WORLD,SOMEONE WOULD HAVE MADE CASH OUT OF YOU.

• yaw v 11 years ago

i dont support this idea becoz only a group of people will enjoy n we shld not 4get that the army was formed to provide security n protect the nation not to go into business.Lets all wake up n prevent this.

• Prof Oja 11 years ago

Is truly a marvel ! I THINK THEY WILL START THINKING OF MILITARY UNIVERSITY BUT A BANK. Oh My people!

• Jato P 11 years ago

I support you.

• Bisismilahi 11 years ago

Is there any article that forbids the Army from receiving and stocking money ?

• MIKE 11 years ago

The Ghana Armed Forces should concentrate on their core mandate and see how best they can join the other security services strategies to solve the armed robbery issues in the country.
    The high command of the Armed Forces sho ...

• abbas 11 years ago

the beauty of democracy, but be remembered u dont emulate what the other guys(npp) are doing, ones court is court and not attacking innocent citizens

• BOGA 11 years ago

PAPA LAWYER HEAD FOR THE SUPREME COURT. HURRY UP AND DON'T WASTE TIME.

BUT HAVE YOU THOUGHT OF THE 37 MILITARY HOSPITAL THE MILITARY RUNS THAT YOU AND I ENJOY?

WELL WHAT IS DEMOCRACY FOR IF YOU DON'T HEAD FOR THE COURTS ...

• Future Judge 11 years ago

Who brought this crab idea? Do we have something like that in the world somewhere?????????

• Solomon Dormenyo Quist 11 years ago

Woao, Ghana will soon become litigation crazy like the USA. Was I surprised to read about a case in the USA some years back about a man suing a fast food outlet for becoming obese because he was a regular patron? And you wond ...

• Mr. Oushuuuuu 11 years ago

Is there any law precluding state institutions from going into business ventures.Are there military banks in other parts of the world?.I don't think the BOG and military hierarchy are oblivious of this fact.

• lariba 11 years ago

Give me a break! Why even waste our time with this nonsence.What are we now,North Korea?

• Sam Ayi Kwabena Marfo 11 years ago

I hope President Mahama will be smart enough to deprive these empty heads behind this bingo club of a bank. There is no army anywhere on the earth so far as my small brain can remember that runs it's own bank, on the other si ...

• Bob 11 years ago

God have mercy on us. There is something wrong with our leaders.

• Edward 11 years ago

But why do they need a bank for. They concentrate on defending the nation.

• Charles Yeboah 11 years ago

Is this man a lawyer? I don't believe it. We need to grow, has he considered the number of people that Ghana Armed Forces bank going to employ if open. Look it is time for us to delope and forget about quoting nonses artcles ...

• ALHAJI KUKRUDU 11 years ago

Moses, you are 100% right. GFA have no business venturing into banking. It is only here in Ghana that we do things any how. If they veer into banking, they will be acting "ultra vires."

• ALHAJI KUKRUDU 11 years ago

Moses, you are right. How will they even raise the minimum capital requirement which now stands at 100 million cedis? By valuing GAF assets or using the peace keeping accounts both of which belong to the tax payer?

• kwame 11 years ago

is not good for military to hold a bank industry please ahaba Ghana democracy NDC why

• d joe.CONNECTICUT U.S.A 11 years ago

I THINK THIS ALBINO LAWYER IS JUST OUT TO GAIN PUBLIC POPULARITY,BECAUSE HIS REASONS DONT MAKE SENSE.HE SEEMS TO BE LIVING IN "A STONE AGE "STATE OF MIND.MILLITARY BANKS ARE ALL OVER THE WORLD.AMERICA IS AN EXAMPLE.IF THE AR ...

• KWABENA JONES. 11 years ago

The least they can do is to set up a credit union but not a bank. The laws of the land expressly forbids and frowns upon such an establishment.

• o! Ghanaba 11 years ago

thiefs, cos we go for loan and they take big profit, they dont want us to operate that bank so thatwe can take care of ourselves.thieffffffs

• Tuf. Osei 11 years ago

Tread lightly. The next move will be oil business, then this and that till every business becomes military owned. The army is solely there to defend the nation not to exploit us for profits. Before we know it, we will have a ...

• Ebo Crentsil 11 years ago

As a former Army Officer who has lived in Maryland USA, for ore than 10 years, I want Lawyer Amoaning to know that that there exist a Bank or Banking Services in US serving the needs of the Military.
    If he can contact e at y ...

• Nii Akwei 11 years ago

Our problems are home grown. Let's put our economic house in order first. We need strong institutions to make things work: Checks and Balances in government

• al-Truism, Kwahu Tafo. 11 years ago

Soon we shall have the TEACHERS' BANK in Ghana. I am sure teachers' will not be denied this time. ARMED FORCES BANK? Good start.