Ghana cruises into African Cup quarters

Read Comments Comments (160)

• paa 11 years ago

good start,where can i watch it?

• MANSON UK 11 years ago

Asamoah Gyan what a strike. 2 zero now

• GA MAN 11 years ago

USELESS supporter,how many goals has Asamoah Gyan scored since the tournament started?don't ever support losers like Asamoah Gyan.Even if Ghana wins this game, have they won the 2013 afcon?

• mallam-usa 11 years ago

Ayews were average at best

• MB 11 years ago

They are just average players

• GH 11 years ago

I THINK EVERYBODY SAW WHAT ASAMOAH GYAN DID AFTER HIS GOAL, MEANING GHANAIANS TALK BLA BLA BLA(THATS AN INSULT) AND ITS VERY BAD TO USE YOUR FINGERS TO INSULT PUBLIC,GOD IS WATCHING,REMEMBER WHAT GH SAID TO BOATENG AFTER HE ...

• ABRAHAM 11 years ago

Atsu has won the orange man-of-the-match award

• Terribly SpeCific 11 years ago

Jubilation of Asamoah's goal against USA at Wc shd be enough to spare the poor guy from other mistakes but that is not so.He is a human and has every right to give back to some ungrateful ghanaians.

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

There is nothing you the ungrateful ones can do about Asamoah Gyan, because, the blessed ones have been blessed already by the Almighty God. This is a guy who has been playing his heart out for his country, and all he gets i ...

• Pap 11 years ago

Of course, the naysayer decerve worse than that. The man has scored 31 goals in 65 games,and you all still got the audacity to disrespect him every time he steps on the pitch. Yes, you all talk too much

• GH 11 years ago

I KNOW GH HATE THE TRUTH,WATCHING CAF WAS VERY POOR LIKE NEVER B4, THIS IS THE LOWERST BLACK STAR TEAM EVER,IF U DONT KNOW,1 GOAL IN 3MATCHES, SPOILED 6UNBELIVEBLE CHANCES,U STILL CALLED HIM A STRIKER? TELL HIM TO KEEP INSUL ...

• Nana 11 years ago

if they are average players then ALL the other black star players are BELOW AVERAGE

• SENANU SEGBEFIA 11 years ago

THE AYEWS ARE AVERAGE AND IT IS TRUE, ISN'T GHANA WINNING WITHOUT THEM? COME ON PLEASE SPARE US THE BULLSHIT. DEDE AYEW WAS NOT EVEN FIELDED BY MARSEILLE AND HAD TO GO AND PLAY WITH 2ND DIVISION ARLES AVIGNON BEFORE PLAYING I ...

• The African Patriot 11 years ago

Ayews are also good and does not deserve to be left aside. Coach Akwasi Appiah must come for explanation. In the matter of Asamoah Gyan, this guy play a very good game yesterday. Upon all what Ghana has done to downplay him, ...

• KOFI adu 11 years ago

I TOLD YOU GUYS IS BETTER THAN DROGBA.

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

GOOD GAME THUS FAR....
    we have to play with intelligence. CRISP PASSING, THRU BALLS ETC
    adomah is a poor player and not aN INTELLIGENT PLAYER AT ALL. MAKES VERY STUPID PASSING MISTAKES.
    KASA, BADU, ATSU MUST ALL BE ABLE TO ...

• MAHA 11 years ago

What game are you stupid crazy fool watching? Adomah is wearing jersey number 10 and he is playing a real good game.

• him 11 years ago

sorry but i have to tell that you are a bush man, ok dont get me wrong but you language makes you look stupid. The guy only said his opinion. adomah is playing nothing. Why not Solomon Asante? He`s really dynamic.

• MAHA 11 years ago

Go and fuck yourself. He is insulting the Coach and somebody has to stand up for the man. Idiot, why are you changing your stupid name to Him? Stupid coward.

• ABRAHAM 11 years ago

Derick is not a good player he is just not up to the standard, HE MAKES OUR GAME VERY WEAK ,twiaa and he always gets a call up ahead of Rabiu and Anan

• Pap 11 years ago

What are you talking about? Rabiu has been starting the last 2 games while Derrick has been warming the bench. Annan otis is also not fit. COMPLAINTS FOR NOTHing

• truthordare 11 years ago

my friend, do you even understand football

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Ghanaians get over emotional about wins or losses. This was a good performance but not great. There is still some work to do. It looks like we end up sacrificing some defense when we are more aggresive offensively and when ...

• SAM 11 years ago

Gyan is not better and can never be better than Drogba. You are talking shit

• ghana ba paaaaa 11 years ago

pls ghana won and not individuals. i can tell u like the ayews so invite them to SA to watch some but they cant play. jordan did not meet the criteria for selection and dede was dropped for lack of discipline, complacency and ...

• Rubbish 11 years ago

You and your anti akan apostles thought Ghana will crash out of the group stage without the Ayews! Ghana is bigger than any of the players and DISCIPLINE must always be the key word! With or without the 2013 afcon cup, we are ...

• ghanaforever 11 years ago

My friend if you're not happy with gyan performance go on the field and do better,gyan he's a true patriot who really cares for his country after all he's not oblige to play for the national team he's there because he loves h ...

• Kwesi Brenu Akyinim 11 years ago

They haven't win anything since 1982 , What's new ? Stop complaining and try to make yourself happy. I don't understand what you mean by useless supporters .

• Nyorkopio 11 years ago

How can you win a tournament without winning a game? What are you thinking? Asamoah Gyan had something to do with all three goals scored by Ghana against Niger, and I bet you, he also designed the celebratory dance steps too ...

• Emmanuel Kofi Frimpong, Worcester, MA 11 years ago

What about the other popular strikers in the tournament? Leave Asamoah Gyan alone, You silly destructive commentators;Stop killing his spirit,after all, how many goals did MESSY score to this far in the Germany 2006?

• Pap 11 years ago

Have they lost the tournament? ueless comments from GA MAN.

• PUSOSO 11 years ago

Aboa,whether you like or not The Black Stars of Ghana is in the quarter finals. Akwasi Appiah is the coach and has instilled DISCIPLINE in the team.The Black Stars is not for the AYEWS

• Asamoah Gyan 11 years ago

Go to ESPN3.COM.

• The Stallion 11 years ago

Yes, am watching it at ESPN3.com. It is very clear; clearer than sportlemon.com.

Did you see the second goal? I thought the keeper was kaa-kaa-motobi. What kind of show be that? I no fit laugh sef.
    I dey inside proper. To ...

• KOFI NUA 11 years ago

YOU CAN WATCH THE GAME AT WWW.SPORTLEMON.COM

• Alugu 11 years ago

Its www.sportlemon.tv

• CTZ 11 years ago

www.atdhe.net!!!

• Boat 11 years ago

Go to espn3.com

• Slimzay**The Unshakable Shaker** 11 years ago

The boys shouldn't relax though Niger is playing wicked

Astu scored the second goal

Half time

• joey london! 11 years ago

Boy was on fire!

I think we need him,the game is very technical and it is not for an Agosi goal keeping...

Ghana all way

Ghana is relaxing and it is showing. Is there anyway, Appiah could talk to them to keep up with the good work?

Take Asamoah Gyan out! He just missed 2 clean goals

Rabiu off? Let see,

• tegare 11 years ago

asamoah gyan misses 2 clean goals....of course, what did u expect from him

• Odopolistic 11 years ago

At the 77th minute,the team began to relax. They should play hard till the end.

• Justice 11 years ago

You are very right, we have to play to the whistle and no relax because we are three goals up.I saw Asamoah doing some unecessary antics with the ball while he could have just passed the ball. We need to still improve our gam ...

• Anana 11 years ago

Well done. More goals next time!!

The linesman on the right side no dey chop? Why he dry like so?

• NANA AKUFØ ADDØ 11 years ago

MAN, TAKE IT EASY ON THE DRY LINESMAN. THE GUY SMOKED AND INHALED A CLOUD OF WEE WITH NANA AKUFO ADDO BEFORE THE MATCH. ON TOP OF THAT HE ALSO DRUNK A FULL BOTTLE OF THE LOCAL MOONSHINE GIN, AKPETESHIE AND STILL MANAGED TO RU ...

• Salifu 11 years ago

Go Ghana go

• AGYA KOW 11 years ago

Our should defence should calm down and so is Dauda.

• hani mantse 11 years ago

Ghana should change that keeper.

• anonymousI 11 years ago

I concur the goalkeeper is making the defense very very disorganized which bbc sport is lamenting on. Kwesi Appiah should really ask himself if Dauda is solution to our goalpost.

• Sharkar 11 years ago

Do you know the performance of the other goalkeepers at training? You think because you are known as goal keeper you should be used at all cost.
    How many silly goals have you seen beaten Fatau Dauda? He commands the post so ...

How can you change a winning team?
    They want Appiah to make changes so that when we lose, they will have something to say.
    C Verde is a piece of cake!
    We have to be thinking of the semis. Who is coming our way in the semis ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 11 years ago

My friend Stallion, Cape Verde is not a piece of cake at all. They have a very cohesive team with young boy Mendes a dangerous striker in the making. They are for real with never say die attitude the way they came back to bea ...

If we fail to beat CV, don't you think Rasheed will massacre everybody in Ghana?
    I wonder where he is hiding without a comment so far!

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Sammy the Sheriff is right CV is giant killer. Whoever thought that Zimbabwe would take us out at Egypt 2006 after we had a great WC run. We can do it but we do not need to leave any stone behind. Rasheed had already change h ...

Mr N, the word complacency should be exorcised from the Blackstars lexicon. The game at this stage will be played with a different attitude. I know we might be better than them on paper but as somebody told me at Baba Yara Sp ...

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

It looks very much like it. We'll see

• Rasheed.@Appiah's last stop 11 years ago

Let us bet POW Walewale Naaba ba,$1,000 each!Appiah is coming home.

• Cornell 11 years ago

There is absolutely nothing wrong with making a change if the change can strengthen the team. Dauda is not fit to face teams such as ivory coast or possible nigeria. So he made a mistake during the friendly match against tuni ...

• issac w 11 years ago

great!! lets teach the world what creative dancing is!!!we need to be tighter in defence and never loose our concentration. please give credit when it is due, tothe coach bgyan and team,well done.step up to the nexr level. ev ...

• SHAFT FLATBUSH BROOKLYN 11 years ago

the ghanaian goalkeeper had two clean sheets,in three games,so why is he been cretisice by some IDIOTS.

• Nana Owusu. BELGIUM 11 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE THE MOST UNGREATFUL FOOTBALL SUPPORTERS IN THE WHILE WIDE WORLD. AND ONE FUNNY THING IS THIS UNGREATFULL SUPPORTERS DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT FOOTBALL IS. THEY OPEN THEIR MOUTH AND TALK ANY HOW. AM HOPING GHANA WIL ...

• MANSON UK 11 years ago

No way back to the game for Niger game over.

• MANSON UK 11 years ago

Only 26 minutes now and they are still pressing very hard to score more goals

• ?????????????????????????????????? 11 years ago

Ghana will make it. Ivory Coast BARELY beat Togo we all thought it woulkd've been a margin OMG give our boys a break. If we get kicked out so be it damn.....Last time i check Ghana will be in quarter finals

• adongo philip 11 years ago

We need more to destroy all dat will stand b4 us

• sidder 11 years ago

im very patriot but im sorry to say ghana cant make it anywhere....our beloved teamm is bad,if facing difficulties with ordinary niger what will happen against ivory coast and the rest???

• Ultimate Supporter 11 years ago

what difficulties?your curses and mindset?

• Alorski 11 years ago

Ghana will make it

• anonymous 11 years ago

get this goalkeeper out of the line up. kwarasey is far better than this unsteady goalkeeper

• si 11 years ago

yeah

• lynn 11 years ago

negatif things oh ghanaians this bad behavior of us when will it end, what do u expect them to do if u can do better why don't u go and play.

• the king himself 11 years ago

these nigas are playing wicked

come on guys

• Beez 11 years ago

MESSING UP FAST BREAKS!

• mallam-usa 11 years ago

Gyan critics should shut up

• Eliz BB 11 years ago

thank you!

ya shut fuck up....this cheap stirker we place him in the front to score but not dancing,,,, monkeys

• Ultimate Supporter 11 years ago

You should shut up, you say we placed him, you and who?
    Asamoah Gyan gave his all but you good for nothing crabs always want to drag him down. How is he going to do well if negative supporters like you exist? If you oppose a ...

• Nyorkopio 11 years ago

Baby Jet Asamoah Gyan led the Ghana Black Stars like a true patriot and a captain in this game! He had something to do with all three goals! Did you watch the game? No captain has done that at this competition that I know of. ...

• tegare 11 years ago

gyan critics u heard, shut up. gyan had 10 begging chances so far, converted only one......who is complaining... ? critics please

• Demes 11 years ago

You are right so many clear chances only one goal he should do better than that.

Bring Derek Boateng in and sit Rabiu down. We need a defensive midfielder in now to help the defense.

• Johnny 11 years ago

Derek holds the ball better than Rabiu but Derek always makes me nervous when he has the ball. He is too defensive; almost always passing the ball backwards and he gives the ball away so cheaply sometimes, giving the opponent ...

• Pelicles 11 years ago

Ghana drew with Congo after a first half two goal lead. That should be a guard to our gallant men to make sure they do not repeat that mistake.

There is another 45 minutes to go and anything can happen.

• lynn 11 years ago

some Ghanaians are expert is talking rubbish when it comes to criticizing you can't beat them the, whether they run fast or not they have scored, we need goals and they have given us goals or do some of you want them to play ...

• Slimzee 11 years ago

Great job I should say, a much improved performance. Obviously, some of our critics have not fallen to deaf ears. The team played with passion, dedication and showed no complacency. If this attitude is retained through the to ...

• Adroba 11 years ago

Score at least six more

• Martin 11 years ago

Why is the this stupid coach keeping Clottey on the Bench? When will he be tested?

• yao 11 years ago

Stop insults and have patience with the coach, Clottey is very good player his time will come.

• tintu 11 years ago

martin you're an ass hole!!!!! what should the coqach do aqgain?????? anything he does, you'll insult him. BUSHMAN!

• lynn 11 years ago

martin or whatever you have the right to give your opinion but don't you think you can do that without insulting the coach

• Tax man 11 years ago

The Ghana coach is not a coach is like a pastor only the players are so good.He need more action his standing a pastor

• Pelicles 11 years ago

Cape Verde, here we come.

• Banga na Soko 11 years ago

Football;made in Ghana. Well done The Black Stars.

• Rally 11 years ago

Well done Black Stars.Now they have to prepare well for Cape Verde because they are ready to upset any team in the competion.Are Black Stars but they have to be vigillant in defence.

• WAB 11 years ago

What was the purpose for replacing Kawarsey? Duada will cost us any big game we play, so far he hasnt been tested . Mark my words he is not that good to be in there. I know my fellow ghanaians will be all on my back for sayin ...

• abc 11 years ago

Dauda is not good

• TIMO THE LAW 11 years ago

your assessment will be wrong....everbody is a football coach in Ghana when the GFA wanted CV's of coaches did you send one?

• WAB 11 years ago

Timo, i wish i am proved wrong cos i want us to win, but i am not blind. We all wish Ghana the best in these tournaments but facts are facts, we cant ignore them. The goalie is not good period. Can you justify why he replaced ...

• osty-New Jersey 11 years ago

Dauda Papapaa

• Cornell 11 years ago

My brother, I am hundred percent behind you. Dauda is inexperience and hasn't been tested yet...but he will be comes the next phase of the tournament.

• OC 11 years ago

DAUDA HAS A GOOD TIMING THAN kWAWARSEY

• BOB 11 years ago

The goalkeeper can improve but I think he is a little shaky. We have been lucky for about 3 times.

• CNN 11 years ago

23? Goal Christian Twasam Atsu
    GOAL! Atsu scores to double Ghana's lead! Gyan clips the ball to the back post to find the winger, he manages to control the ball, ride a challenge and poke the ball in the bottom corner! 22? ...

• sika paa 11 years ago

Ghana all the way ...,,im proud of the boys.. good luck on the next match....

• JAH 11 years ago

I'M SORRY FOR U,

• Ogra 11 years ago

WELL PLAYED TODAY,NOT BECAUSE OF THE SCORES,BUT THE PASSING GAME.

• ama 11 years ago

thanks be to God.we won today too

• ama 11 years ago

halleyuuuuuya we won

• lydia 11 years ago

This is what I called made in Ghana, Africa, I never been a fun of foreign coaches or managers.My people, we are in the right direction and even if it goes wrong in the quarter finals, we go back to drawing board and sort thi ...

• ABEEKU, PORT ELIZABETH,SOUTH AFRICA. 11 years ago

WHAT A DAY? THANK U GUYS,THE CUP IS COMING TO GHANA.GO GO WELL ALL THE BEST.

• Mr.N 11 years ago

“Only Thing We Have to Fear Is Fear Itself” ***Franklin D. Roosevelt

Now that Akwesi Appiah has "Veni, vidi, vici" which translate to "I came, I saw, I conquered." Rasheed gone hiding he AWOL, The Stallion you have 48 ...

• Sports Guru 11 years ago

hmm..Mr N Rasheed is on sabbatical leave from football.Vorsah needs to relax.Why boom boom like that?He is a strong player so needs to show opposition he is not afraid.Defence looking bad and shaky.The ref helped today but Gh ...

You bet that we will find Rasheed.
    He has a bad omen, against Cape Verde?
    It's time for Rasheed's obituary!

• Rasheed 11 years ago

I am a clairvoyant and you people should understand me.Appiah is comimg home with empty hands.Mark my words

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

Rasheed never dies, I don't doubt that but he's a run away man without nobody "taa nedo". For that much I can testify. I'll not mark your words b'cos prior to this nations cup tournament, you emphaticaly said Ghana will be ou ...

• Rasheed.,the clairvoyant 11 years ago

POW, don't confuse me with the contributer "THE WORST FA IN THE WORLD".I did claim that, Appiah will fail us,and he is on course to come back home with empty hands.If you have "balls" let us bet,$1,000 each.

• Rasheed 11 years ago

Rasheed is alive and kicking! My stance is that, Appiah will come back home with empty hands.Mark my words!

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Be a man of your word and pay up now? You said Appiah cannot win any away match now that he has done that without your Dede you better pay up now or I would send my "hit man" after you.

What I claimed was that,Appiah had a tough time winning away matches.(That was during the qaulifying series)Now in this competion,My stance is that,Appiah will come back home with empty hands.This is his "kwakwei" last stop ...

• kwame no 1 11 years ago

fool Rasheed monkey Shut up don't talk nonsense Aboa ba

So if he come back with empty hands, what will that prove? Because DEDE was not in the team that is why we didn't win?

DEDE was in the 2008, 2010 and 2012 AFCON, did we win anything?:

I am like Kwame Nkrumah to you people.I am so many years ahead and see what you people cannot see.Cape verde will send Appiah packing home.Appiah is a blind man and Dede would have helped him win the cup.He made a huge mistak ...

• Kwesi Brenu Akyinim 11 years ago

Good result , But when are they going to stop dancing ?

• cocky overreacting gh football fans 11 years ago

gyan haters are quiet until the next game if he does not score a goal

• rard Kotanko Germany 11 years ago

With this defence and goalie we will get 2 o. 3 goals against Cape Verde. Thats a fact, remember please.

• PUSOSO 11 years ago

Try to be positive,adwee!

• KNYC (USMC) 11 years ago

The "Fence-sitters" these who like to see Kwasi A. fall.

• The same 11 years ago

You are a curse in the land of Ghana becuase of your language.

• Matcho- Man 11 years ago

congrats Black Stars 0---- Oh yes Go for Gold

• TerriblY Spec cifiC 11 years ago

My Lord this stupid man who calls himself Ga man is retarded period.

• KwameSA 11 years ago

Please guyz, lets for oncce unite as a country and support Black Stars...

• peelepee 11 years ago

ghana is the best in africa

• Citizen, Ghana 11 years ago

I'm particularly, not comfortable with the ability of the goalkeeper to carry the Black Stars through the tournament successfully, should Ghana progress to the knockout stage of the competition. Candidly, I have no confidenc ...

• Ross 11 years ago

Yes

• wantu 11 years ago

should not play any game if we want to win the cup..

• Klufio 11 years ago

Let the Coaches (Tech Team) be honest; let Dereck Boateng also be honest; let the playing body be honest and let us all be honest. Dereck Baoteng is not in form and plays does very little on the field. That little itself has ...

• Busumbru 11 years ago

You are damn rght. We hate those too many back passes and the stylish game.

• BOB 11 years ago

The guy is just running around givig balls away.

• Apiolaa 11 years ago

I agree with you

• Italiano 11 years ago

Vey impressed with todays output. however lets learn to give credit to whom is due. Fatau performed excellently today, such exuberance and confidence. Good job B Stars

• K.K- Princeton 11 years ago

First the chest to control ,then left foot to strike in an unbalanced state.I have already said this atsu phenom is the best thing to have ever happened to Ghana since Abedi left the footballing scene and left our hearts long ...

• NANA AKUFØ ADDØ 11 years ago

HEY, WHO SAID ATSU CONTROLLED THE BALL WITH HIS CHEST, HAH? THE GUY IS AN EWE MAN FOR GOODNESS SAKE. HE CAN EVEN CONTROL THE BALL WITH HIS EYES WITHOUT TOUCHING THE BALL. WHAT WE SAW TODAY IS JUST COMEDIES. MORE TO COME WHERE ...

• Ghanaian 11 years ago

How come no one is congratulating the coach? If that be the case, please do not criticize him when things go wrong.

• Onipa Bone 11 years ago

Cape Verde is dangerous. Underestimate at our own peril.

• Ewuku 11 years ago

GHAAANAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA WHY COULDNT WE SCORE IN 2ND HALF

• Johnny 11 years ago

Did you watch the game?

• Tutugagu 11 years ago

Good Job Black Star

• Sarskoberta 11 years ago

Gyan has my vote.!!

Here is one:
    In as many years gone by before now, today was the day ever seen Asamoah
    Gyan got busy.

He wasn't picking up the ball from behind defenders.

He met balls headlong and made do with ...

• Uniflesher Bennett 11 years ago

Some Ghanians funs dey talk any how,you are soo ungrateful people you have to appreciate because they have won and thy are moving forward..Why ist that when they loose you talk and when they lost too you talk whyyyy..then go ...

• kenny wallace 11 years ago

that was not an insult people,,he was just saying that u fucking talk.

• BRO DAN -TRC 11 years ago

MIGHTY WORRIORS OF THE BLACK STARS OF GHANA; AYIKOO!!ALL NATIONAL TEAMS FEATURING AT THE AFCON 2013, GOOD JOB!! WERE ARE STEPPING UP, YES WE ARE MOVING ON. SURELY SOON, WE ARE ENTERING THE QUARTER FINAL STAGE AND WE ARE HEATI ...