You are here: HomeNews2013 01 17Article 262442

Mahama nominates seven new ministers

Read Comments Comments (128)

• MORO 11 years ago

WELL DONE MAHAMA

• Issac 11 years ago

I hope the tribal supremacist Akadu will be happy with these list. At least we have 3 Akans, 2 gas, One Ewe/Northner a piece.

These should make Mr. Akadu happy today. He has been bitter for far too long.

• SHAMO 11 years ago

BRAD NEW TEAM Bs !! TERRIBLY STUPID WHICH ONE IS YOUR OWN? KWASEA ALL THE WATCHNIGHTS AND FASTING JUST TO WRITE FILTHS ON GHANA WEB WHILE OTHERS ARE CHOPING!

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

HE STEALS DOCUMENTS FROM THE ATTORNEY-GENERAL'S OFFICE ON THE INSTRUCTIONS OF AKUFFO ADDICT AND CO. IT IS GREAT DAY AGAIN AS NDC ENJOY THEIR VICTORY, NPP POUR OUT SORROWFUL TEARS AND RUSH TO THE SUPREME COURT FOR FAVOUR...BUT ...

• Mundus 11 years ago

Lets wait and see how these new ministers perfome.

• ATSU, HO 11 years ago

WHEN THE FIST SET OF MINISTERS CAME OUT I THOUGHT MAHAMA MEANT BUSINESS BUT THIS IS DISAPPOINTING. DZIFA ATIVOR? VERY DISAPPOINTING TO HEAR HER SPEAK. MAHAMA IS BACK TO PARTY RATHER THAN NATIONAL BUSINESS

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwasi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwasi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• Mensah 11 years ago

Master we are tired with this same.
    We are no more in PNDC time ok?

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

THE EEFECT OF GEN. MOSQUITO'S INFUSION OF MALARIA VENOM INTO NPPISTS.

• Nana 11 years ago

We are back to continuity of non performance. This has been the case since 1982. Nothing has changed.

• Anonymous Coward 11 years ago

Nomination of seven thieves and idiots

• CITIZEN ONE 11 years ago

This will go a long way to change the dynamics of political appointments. Brilliant statesmanship from President Mahama, now lets see which of these ministers really want to have to be reconsidered for the job. NPP is totally ...

• TAMROCK DP 1500 i 11 years ago

You trust that. I don't trust Ankrah. He has been the national secretary for the Ghana mine workers union and he is the cause of low salaries in companies like African Mining Services (AMS). Newmont, Goldfields and many more. ...

• Nyame Ekuma 11 years ago

What about Ahoofe PHD. They were all decieved craftly by the arrogant evil dwarf into thinking that the elections was a done deal.

Watch the VIDEO of oow HUMPTY DUMPTY crumbled and tumbled from his srage with the bald crac ...

• No nonsense 11 years ago

I DON'T SEE ANY AKAN PERSON IN THE GROUP AND THERE IS ONLY ONE AKAN NAME IN THE GROUP. FURTHER, EVEN THERE IS AN AKAN NAME IN THE GROUP, THE PERSON MIGHT BE AN EWE. RAWLINGS DID THE SAME TRICK AND IT WORKED VERY WELL. THE EPI ...

• Issac 11 years ago

I know in some of your primitive minds even your father might not be considered an Akan as long as they dont belong to the idealogy you subscribe to.

Yes P.V Obeng, Ato Dadzie, the Ahoi brothers, Totobi kwakye, Yaw Gyan, N ...

IF YOU MENTION THOSE NAMES IN THE PNDC, YOU HAVE TO TELL US, HOW MANY EWES WERE OCCUPYING THE MINISTERIAL POSTS IN THOSE PNDC GOVERNMENTS. TELL US THE PERCENTAGE OF THE AKANS AND EWES MINISTERS IN THE NEFARIOUS PNDC GOVERNMEN ...

• Francis 11 years ago

Yeah, some dont think critically, you do and with your types so plentiful in Africa why wont the place be a hell hole? Critical thinker my ass

IF YOU WERE IN MY SHOES, YOU WOULD BE IN PARADISE

• Osebo 11 years ago

More ewes

• aban accra 11 years ago

no tthe eve are getting rather too much

• Goza go toro 11 years ago

The votes needed to 'kill' NPP in all elections come from VR. Npp has much work to to there.

• CONCERN 11 years ago

fucking idiot, just because the names are akan doesnot mean they hundred percent akan.

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

I will take your characterization as a badge of honor: it is obvious that my activism has brought some change, though more can be done!

• basoah george 11 years ago

Rightful thinking

• marian 11 years ago

Don't let the Akan names fool you. My houseboy's name is Asante Opoku Ware and he is from Bolga, and his wife, Nana Afia Yerenkyi from Benin.

• SADAT Musah - tamale south 11 years ago

I don't understand why tamale people are disturbing the process, must they force the president to appt Haruna as a minister. Is he the only person who have not been appointed. Better MPs like Fifi quarter, ablakwa, pele, bagb ...

I like that ,Mahama all the way, HARUNA is not the only man in the Great Ndc ........why HARUNA ???.

• abukari yakubu- tamale attasibi hotel 11 years ago

i cant believe this, a northerner saying this ooohhh my God/;;;;;;;;;;;really

• Maned- tamale south 11 years ago

Why do u think am not a northerner? Do u think every northerner is HARUNA's boy?? Do u forget that some people in HARUNA own constituency voted for JM and voted against Haruna. Please note that NPR votes went above 30,000 in ...

• Quashigah 11 years ago

It is not all Ewe cabinet like Rawlings and uncle Mills erra. Good job John Mahama. You are the president of all Ghanaians. Keep up the good work and you will be rewarded.Show love to all Ghanaians and all Ghanaians will love ...

• Musah -HARUNA's friend 11 years ago

Why HARUNA??? Do u think u are better than everybody in ndc. U have insulted the president and all respectable members of the ndc by allowing Ur boys to destroy all bill boards of the president in tamale. Even the president h ...

• Baba- tamale south 11 years ago

The prez n ndc leadership must not give HARUNA any post. If they do give HARUNA any position, it will set a precedence for bad politician like him to behave same way for positions. HARUNA is bad news n his ple shoul know that ...

• Eastern Region Radical 11 years ago

John Mahama's foolishness with be stopped by the Supreme Court, just like Thailand. He will be deported to Burkina.

• Baba- tamale south 11 years ago

The prez must call HARUNA n his boys to order. The police need to investigate and call to book all the boys who led the criminal act. haruna should be the first suspect.

• Mohammed- tamale south 11 years ago

If they destroy any property or life HARUNA should be held responsible. He started the problem by the the stories about his oil and gas ministry on the media n Internet. He must not take the prez for granted. We support the p ...

• Maned- tamale south 11 years ago

HARUNA lacks wisdom. He is greedy along with his people. The president is a father for all. A wise person will not behave this way. If not him then then every body should go to hell.
    Greedy BURSTED

• kofi b 11 years ago

I would have loved Kumbuoh for Attorney Gen.

• Philip Adu-Mensah 11 years ago

JM, please don't forget Mike Hammah?

• Truly 11 years ago

MIKE HAHHAH WAS ONE OF THE SELFLESS AND GENUINE MINISTERS IN THE FORMER ADMINISTRATION. I THINK IT IS FITTING THAT HE IS GIVEN A MINISTERIAL POSITION. THE MAN IS CLEAN AND TRUTHFUL. WE HAVE NEVER HEARD OF HIM STEALING MONEY F ...

• Adams 11 years ago

Moro, well done? You dont mean it. How can you, for this crony appointment for Kunbour who is in Parliament so he can be paid as Minister? and for Sherry Ayittey who has been a total failure at Environment for Health. Whom ar ...

• king wasem 11 years ago

BEST PRESIDENT

• my name is TOTO agboo 11 years ago

GOOD NEWS

• MAS 11 years ago

MAY ALLAH MAKE IT SMOOTH FOR MAHAMA .

• SARPONG 11 years ago

I THINK SO FAR SO GOOD

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

NEW FACES AND LOOKS GOOD

• WASHINTON 11 years ago

WELL DONE H. E . JOHN D. MAHAMA.

• The wailer 11 years ago

NO COMMENT:His selection is the best as compare to past president. this shows dat he is unifier.

• Obenfo 11 years ago

I hope the appointment of Mr. Kofi Buah to Ministry of Energy and Petroleum will satisfy the Western Chiefs. I don't remember anytime in our recent history when Chiefs lobbied for appointees to occupy ministerial positions.

• Gawuga 11 years ago

No more merit but tribe. Cocoa, timber, gold, Volta river etc have looked

• Eben. US 11 years ago

Check Mr. Buah's record. He's over qualified. He was rated one of the best Deputy Ministers during the last 4 years. This choice by President Mahama was based on merit and not tribal affiliation.

• Kyisan. US 11 years ago

Agreed. Let's pray for the new minister's successful endeavours by bringing the petroleum benefits to local people

• Kofi 11 years ago

Mahama did exactly who they demanded him to appoint after it was revealed Mahama was going to appoint Haruna, for Communication Minister to that position, so who won?

• Mansa MUsa 11 years ago

During the Mills administration this guy, Buah, was able to buy a house in USA for his kids to stay in and go to school. Having been given another chance he is going to finish the oil money. I am told he knows how to distribu ...

• oldtimo 11 years ago

Are you just writing for writing sake? I know Hon. Kofi Buah more than how you described him here. He owned a house in Maryland, USA before becoming a politician in Ghana. Hope it is better to have a minister who knows how ...

• AGYEMAN KWAKU DUAH 11 years ago

SO FAR SO GOOD, MR PRESIDENT AYEKOO. BUT THE NOMINEES MUST NOT FAIL THE PRESIDENT AND GHANAIANS.

• Sandra Antwi 11 years ago

This makes a lot of sense now, the reason Yaw Ampofo Ankrah was making so much noise for NDC, his big was promised Sports Minister post! they are going to finish the money

• Kay 11 years ago

Are you one of his victims, Sandra?

• Against Mantse 11 years ago

Let's all cross our fingers and wait upon the Lord. This has nothing to do with NPP or NDC but my question is when will our leaders use ETHICS & MORALS as the yardstick in making appointments? Barton Oduro who alledgedly is a ...

• Goza go toro 11 years ago

Ye be di keke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Baah 11 years ago

Mr President,Please remember us the Akwamus- the source of Akosombo dam.We have sacrificed a lot before the arrival of oil.Prez Limann,Prez Rawlings and Prez Kuffour recognised us with ministerial appointments.Don't leave us ...

• POPE CK ADU 11 years ago

WELL DONE MR: PRESIDENT

• WASHINTON 11 years ago

I DEY FEEL YOU MR. PRESIDENT. E DEY BE KE KE

• nana bayin 11 years ago

this is a sign of Ghana becoming better in the days to come..

• Tetteh Asawasi K'si A.R. 11 years ago

Your Excellency i likes ur excellency works keep on.

• DORMAA ADUANASTARS 11 years ago

the beginning tells the end.KUUDOS!

• kala 11 years ago

Ms. Hanny-Sherry Ayittey, What ideas does this woman have? I am sorry for Ghana. You see putting power in the hands of wrong people. God saves us.

• Hannah 11 years ago

I for one I understand why they kep giving this woman a ministerial position. What ideas does she have to contribute to the health sector? such a vital sector

• KWAKYI 11 years ago

We need to make Nana Konadu happy too. That is her pet woman.

• Woman's wisdom. 11 years ago

Is it the Kumbour who stole 51million cedis, gave it to Woyome to finance the NDC or some other Kumbour? Well, maybe not. Oh year, that is why Woyome says he will be let go freely because how could he be jailed after warning ...

• Woman 11 years ago

and claimed he had been targeted for assassination. Lord have mercy. I am so surprised people are praising this list. Minister of parliamentary business?

• CASTLE BOY 11 years ago

WITH DZIFA ATIVOR MAHAMA SHOULD NOT FORGET THE STORY OF SAMPSON IN THE BIBLE.

• Onyame Nipa (Man Of God) USA 11 years ago

AMEN

• Nyame Ekuma 11 years ago

Bless and Curse not. Judge not .

• Osagyefo Nkrumah 11 years ago

TOOOOO PERFECT

• Sadik 11 years ago

unquestionable nominees, bravo.

• KwameYaw Agyepong-Nsiah 11 years ago

KEEP UP THE BALANCE JM.

• stephen asare 11 years ago

edey be kaka

• stephen asare 11 years ago

No joke Mr president

• Say the TRUTH 11 years ago

KNOWING VERY WELL HE STOLE VOTES TO BECOME PRESIDENT (IF IT IS TRUE & PROVEN IN COURT) JDM IS PLAYING "SMART" NOT TO SHIT INTO THE MESS AGAIN.

THIS SECOND BATCH IS BY FAR THE BEST MINISTERIAL SELECTION ANY NDC GOVERNMENT H ...

• ATLANTA 11 years ago

SHAMO-Do you read and understand the issuesB4 Ucomment Ur IQ is2low ole wolon

• Mansa MUsa 11 years ago

All the juicy ministerial ppointments reserved for northerners. Akans and Gas for troublesome ministerial positions.

• NA 11 years ago

A sign of progress in democracy to appoint women to high positions. There is diversity in these appointments so far. Young girls will look up to them as role models and this will make Ghana a place for all.

• Alhassan Saeed 11 years ago

women all the way. wishing them to perform to their best of ability and uplift Ghana High.

• abukari yakubu- tamale attasibi hotel 11 years ago

mr mahama pls remember that honorable Haruna Iddris is the key to northern region so pls dont forget of him in our ministry

• Petter- accra 11 years ago

Why do u think HARUNA is the key to northern region. What makes him better than the rest?. He was only favored to be a minister. They are better northern politicians and non politicians than him. Stop fooling Urselves with th ...

I don't understand why tamale people are disturbing the process, must they force the president to appt Haruna as a minister. Is he the only person who have not been appointed. Better MPs like Fifi quarter, ablakwa, pele, bagb ...

• Bob kumasi 11 years ago

HARUNA is not good enough for the current ndc team. He is too greedy n pround. jm keep the good work. Do not get moved by bad politicians like HARUNA. Leave him out else he will be sand in Ur team of quality gari.

• Addul- Nima 11 years ago

Please guys respect haruna. why do u insult him for some youth mis-behaviour? Haruna is busy in Acrra at Parliament. I suppose his funs are pooring their sentiments wrongly. their funs please do haruna some good and stop thes ...

• MALIK 11 years ago

THE PRESIDENT IS SELECTING THE BEST MINISTERS. SO FAR SO GOOD,MAY GOD GIVE WISDOM TO THE PRESIDENT AND THE NOMINEES TO DELIVER

• Quophie 11 years ago

This is the mostly useless appointments I've ever come across. God help us.

• PNDC 1 11 years ago

Kumbour the criminal who faked an assassination plot on his life has been rewarded only in NDC party are criminals rewarded

• Ishmael usa 11 years ago

All thieves.ready to. steal

• AHMED ABUBAKARI SAANYUO 11 years ago

I thanks the priz for his good been doing, may Allah be your garden.

• Kaa Baa 11 years ago

Mrs. Dzifa Attivor, Ministry of Transport ? The world and Mahama is gone mad. this woman is the most useless Ministry / Deputy Ministry during Agya Atta administration. I was in here office at Ministry in Dec 2010 and she was ...

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

not true , she was one of the more competent and one of the few who was not corrupt to the bone . so far the president has made excellent choices and will most likely perform which sadly will make it more difficult for npp to ...

• Fredrickson Khemicals 11 years ago

so far so good..God bless all our leaders,esp our Prez,Mahama..

• anayomi 11 years ago

NONE OF THEM ACCOMPLISH ANYTHING IN OTHER JOBS THEY HELD NOTHING NEW IN THE NDC

• Get Rich 11 years ago

Good move my president .GOD DIRECT THERE PATH .

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

I agree with those who have suggested that these appointments are more for party expediency and political correctness. Rather disappointing after the initial success. I suspect the NDC stalwarts are flexing their muscles for ...

• DAGADOO,EAST HAVEN,USA 11 years ago

Was expecting Bagbin in there! What happened?

• NANA BLAY REDMAN 11 years ago

Mr. President wo ye bue, ide bii keke.Any one who has problems with the nominations is a complete witch. Carry on my president my son

• Azezaw 11 years ago

Where are the Akans - the Western & Central Region people!

• BJ 11 years ago

That's my worry too.

• baba tunde 11 years ago

Are Fantes not Akans...screw you and your subdivisions...

• KWAKYI 11 years ago

Haba, Western Region i in charge of its oil, oil minister is from western region.

• Iddi Maltiti 11 years ago

Looking at the no. of seats that Dagbon gave Mahama only to get one Ministerial position is quite unfair, At least Haruna Iddrisu's Tamale south constituency is among the top populated NDC seats in the country and he perform ...

• Kwao 11 years ago

is this true

WHAT ABOUT THE PEOPLE IN THE CENTRAL AND WESTERN REGIONS? EVERYTHING IS GOING TO THE NORTH AND THE VOLTA, WHY?

• KWAKYI 11 years ago

Mahama has done his best to satisfy everyone. Voltaians and Central Region have had their day for far too long. Let others have their chance. For the record, oil minister is from western.

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

I had thought we were separating the offices of Attorney Gen. & Min.Justice. WHAT HAPPENED TO THE IDEA???

• KWAKYI 11 years ago

Mahama has got it all correct! So the game is over. Thx, Mahama, for making my day. What was that I just heard? NPP? What's that? Who just said that? I thought that died when Kuffuor left. Ak,,Aku..Akuff..Akuffo what? F@ck!

• NANA AKUFØ ADDØ 11 years ago

AH, IT MUST BE SAID. THE CURRENT NPP LEADERSHIP LED BY MOONSHINE HEAD NANA AKUFO ADDO ARE FOOLS, THEY ARE FOOLS. THE YOUTH SHOULD HAVE A REVOLUTION AND THROW THEM OUT OF THE PARTY FASTER THAN THE SPEED OF LIGHT. NPP JUST THE ...

• propet aaron 11 years ago

president mahama ,u are a great leader keep it up, and the good Lord will see u through.

• JAMES Y 11 years ago

President Mahama should be commended for choosing the right person in charge of Energy and Petroleum ministry. The one most important position as far as the oil revenue, dispensation and the stability of the oil production ar ...

• CHRIS KOUAHO 11 years ago

first of all i will like to thank God for guiding Ghana and also congratulate our mp for this position that has been given by the president of Ghana this show how good our comunity is in the heart of president mahama the elle ...

• akans 11 years ago

I do not like him, but it appears he is trying to bring in more akans than northerners. better than what mills did.

• CATRO 11 years ago

COMPARE THIS TO YOUR TRIBALISTIC AKAN PRESIDENT KUFUOR WITH ONLY ONE OR TWO NORTHERNERS AND EWES. SHAME.

• 7B 11 years ago

to no avail... Thieves among thieves

• Profet K 11 years ago

Koku Annidohu is the brain behind your success to be come a president, He lied very well to make sure Mills died to give Mahama the chance to become the president of Ghana. If there is no ministry for him you create,you can c ...

• Show boy 11 years ago

Kofi buah, the post master? Lol

• Aust 11 years ago

Madam sena should be maintain at the tourism ministries

• Enock Mensah 4rm Banda Boase. 11 years ago

Plse frankly speaking Kofi tell H.E priz john Dramani Mahama to select Hon Ahmed Ibrahim(political budozer Banda constituency) as one of his ministers else Tain,Banda constituency we no happy 22 much.

• Mankessim 11 years ago

Sherry Ayittey, Nii Armarh Ashietey and Dzifa Attivor are a joke.

• thomson 11 years ago

i told you this man is a smart guy, he will make ghana smile at end.

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

So far agreeably he has picked potentially very capable people , whether or not they are actually bold , courageous and competent enough is another matter as most of these people stood by to save their skins while atrocities ...

• Abednego.a 11 years ago

What a classic appointment.

• Baba Izzah....... 11 years ago

We need Dr. Yahuza Gomda as a Northern Region minister plz My Presidsent......