You are here: HomeNews2013 01 16Article 262246

RE: Bawumia To Lead NPP – 1 ?

Read Comments Comments (66)

• KOLA ,LONDON PROPER 11 years ago

Bigotry should be wiped out of Politics yet here we are now with a novice who also doubles as a bigot trying to justify the tribal party NPP's stand of singing the mantra, 'Yen Akanfo de3'.

Who Born Dog? Try and be Patriot ...

• KOLA ,LONDON PROPER 11 years ago

Npp should be seen to represent Ghana not Akan.

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago

Ignorant pretender Kwasi Osei Agyeman, a NDC renegade trying to spew his propaganda through the lenses of a NPP admirer.

The sorry-assed pretender doesn't know the history of the UP tradition, yet he decided to rail down t ...

• Kojo T 11 years ago

Akadu what have you got to say about thistribal post? Then my good friend Justice sarpong , " the cardinal of truth" We need your comments

• John Agyekum Diawuo KUFFUOR 11 years ago

It is better so say "kids concieved duirng the curfew hours of the 31st December 1981..." intead of "kids impregnated during the curfew hours of 31st December...", because impregnating a kid is a crime.

• Mundus 11 years ago

NPP main base is not Akan but Ashante and Akyem. The NPP in the past two elections has only won two of the five predominantly Akan regions.If NPP won most Akan votes the NPP would have been ruling Ghana.

• Dabonga 11 years ago

The fact that NPP has its base in the Akan areas is not in itself bad or something to run away from. All over the world political parties have areas they draw their support from. Therefore being branded as a party of the majo ...

• The Stallion 11 years ago

Will you ever make Bawumia your leader, even if all the angels descend from heaven to tell you that he will win the NPP ticket? Nonsense. Aboa bi ba!

• Kofi Asaase- Asa----Mantukwa 11 years ago

I do not have anything against Dr. Bawumia. Neither do I discriminate against any Ghanaian from any Region or tribe, but the issue is this;

If the petition that had been filed by them succeeds, then the petitioners have a ...

• BARIMA AKAN ASANTE 11 years ago

WELL SAID SIR, AKANS AND NORTHERNERS ALWAYS GOT ALONG WELL BEFORE RAWLINGS SOWED TRIBAL DISCORD IN ORDER TO WIN ELECTIONS, AND UNFORTUNATELY SOME IDIOTS IN OUR MIDST STILL SUBSCRIBE TO THIS IDIOCY. S.D DOMBO FOLDED HIS NORTHE ...

• Isaac 11 years ago

Why do you fools refuse to learn? When at all will you stop taking Ghanaians and Northners for a fool? By assuming that Rawlings is playing anti Akans against Northners to win elections mean Northners and all those who dont f ...

• Kanti Baah 11 years ago

You are thinking like a real Ashanti who is very remote from the reality. NPP is not an Akan Party but Ashanti/ Akyems Party because level headed people like Arthur Kennedy and Dr Bilson, Dr Kweku Afriyie have all been margin ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

Nana Addo will SURELY take the Presidency from John Dramani Mahama at all cost.

Every wise man in Ghana believes that Mahama did not win the 2012 election but EC, Kwadwo Afari Gyan was in favour with Mahamato become the Pr ...

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

You must be joking if you think Ghanaians will fathom electing a party which decides that "ONLY AN AKAN DESERVES TO LEAD ITS FLAGBEARERSHIP. Personally, I have a NEGATIVE RATING. For Bawumia and cannot see an iota of leadersh ...

You made utterances during your campaign that cost you the presidency. Look at what one of them is saying again. This people paa. They are not educated like they say they are.
    What kind of backward people are these?

In the kingdom of the blind, the one eye man is the king. If people from other groups do not join and contest the elections of the party, how do you nominate somebody to lead.

NPP is made up of mostly Akans, so we have man ...

• Isaac 11 years ago

If other groups also do the same you will accuse them of herd mentality when you are the most guilty of primitive mindset in Ghana

Nonsense. That is why you will continue to dominate in only two regions. Next time, you will win in only one region, abua funu. The Eastern region people have now seen that you are traitors!
    Put an Ashanti as your flag-beare ...

• Nana Bawuah 11 years ago

Who are the Easteners? Do you think all people of Eastern region are Akyems? For instance, New Juaben (Koforidua) is part of Asanteman. Even the Nifahene of Akyem-Abuakwa (Asiakwahene) is an Asante royal and ancestral brother ...

it would be more than enough to obtain absolute majority...

Since when do we have elections based on regions?

Are you happy that a party is associated with only one tribe?
    Whether you are the dominant force or not, the minorities team up to become the majority ; how about that, Mr. tribalist?

The tiny minorities can team up as much as they want to, they will never become the majority. This is an empty promise once made by Rawlings, that the minority tribes would take over, once they come together against Akan and ...

You seem to be a learned person, but I don't know why write comments like these.
    Are you sure you don't belong to a political party like you are saying? so the "Republic of Ghana" shouldn't exist?

I studied Economics and Management in Germany. Was I a worse person, if I would not hold an University degree? How come Ghanaians do worship degrees so much?

I have family members, who are high ranking NPP members, others ...

• ABU RAZAK DILLAKA 11 years ago

I AGREE THAT THIS WHOLE TRIBAL NONSENSE STARTED WITH RAWLINGS TRYING HIS DIVIDE AND CONQUER TACTICS. AND HE HAS SUCCEEDED IN ADDING AN AKAN GROUP LIKE THE FANTIS TO HIS PARTY IN ORDER TO DISSOLVE THE MAJORITY AKAN VOTE. HE KN ...

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Mr. Kwasi Osei Agyemang, sometimes I feel some of you don't think twice before posting articles on Ghana Web. Akans have brains who can on any day enter leadership. People like Agyekum Kufuor who sold GTC and took a bribe of ...

• kodwo asante, Bronx NY 11 years ago

You are the type of idiots from the Ashanti land that is causing this great Party of Ghana. You are too short sighted individual without a vision. If you do follow politics and you truely lives in Canada then am so disappiont ...

• Yag 11 years ago

I think he has to wait until he got enroll into all die be die free SHS for poor education.

• Yag 11 years ago

I think he has to wait until he got enroll into all die be die free SHS for poor education.

• afadi nsro 11 years ago

There they go again,a santimonious,self-righteuos tribal bigots and they think ,they are too go to rule.It will be a cold day in hell when this group of organised "armed" robbers see the light of power again.

The good people of Ghana do not think and see things the way u stupidly sees things.?

Who are you to speak for the people of Ghana?

"Do not forget and make any mistake that a political party in not "the Ashanti Golden S ...

Are you fine? It seems like you are not yourself at this time. It is nearly midnight in my area. I believe your time is about that. Good night!

• Ibby Australia 11 years ago

Kwadwo you see some people are born naturally stupid regardless their educational laurels.Look at people like Victor Owusu,Adu Boahene,Akufo Addo just to mention a few.I remember the first time i heard about the biometric reg ...

• ??? 11 years ago

U r an 2 region akan party--eastern and ashanti.

• john 11 years ago

This is a rather lame response!! The NPP ceded not the n0 1 but the n0 2 to Mahama and you think that is a favor done to non-Akans? This write does not know the history of the UP tradition is is supposed to be writing about? ...

• England 11 years ago

You have just confirmed all the points the writer made of Akans. Considering your last paragraph, you've just looked down on other tribes. You people really need a lot more education .

• Bomfaboy 11 years ago

What this passage reflect is the persons mind set which appears to be so twisted I cannot even begin to understand what he is trying to point at. In these day and age, and where Ghana as a whole and our political system has r ...

• xkaze 11 years ago

He should wake up and smell the coffee. Look around you brother and see those next to you.what blend of leadership do you see and you still stand there naked and think you would be covered when it gets too cold? its only a ma ...

Some of this people think they are regarded as humans. The party is not yours, what are you doing there, asshole?

• JONNY 11 years ago

ARE NORTHERNERS LISTENING TO WHAT THIS "AHENKWAA"WHO JOINED A CHIEF'S ENTOURAGE TO CANADA SAYING?.IS BAWUMIA WHO THINKS TITLES MAKE LEADERS ALSO LISTENING? .LIKE SOMEONE RIGHTLY ASKED WHAT THEN MAKES YOUR PARTY DEMOCRATIC?.K ...

What are you doing in that party? That party belongs to a particular tribe. Can't you read and understand? Fool

• walk a lone 11 years ago

Idiot,what article is this?Big fool

You are very right but the issue is, can it be experimented to allow candidates from other areas/ Regions to lead the party?

For example, one loyal group which the party leaders should focus seriously on, is the Ga-speaki ...

They can't change. Ir is not like the UP time. This time the tribalism has eaten so deep into their bone marrows that they can't help it!
    They will remain the way they are!!!

How do you know? I do not reason and make such jumpy conclusions like what you have just done.

• Nana must go! 11 years ago

What are the core values of the NPP? To me it is party that stands for individual liberty and free enterprise. It is a party that seeks to create wealth and not distribute or destroy wealth. These are the core values that sho ...

• YAW 11 years ago

You will continue to suffer with your "we are an Akan party" nonsense.

• Okponglo Guy 11 years ago

It is popular among Akans but it also enjoys support in the North where the original NPP began and Greater Accra. Indeed, it was the party of the educated class.

• Ghanaman 11 years ago

And since most Ghanaians are uneducated and belong to the uneducated class they have nothing to do with your party. We leave it to you the educated and rally with the uneducated party.

• AKLD 11 years ago

Akan, also known as Twi [t??i] and Fante, is the ancestral language of the Akan people and the principal native and official language of Akanland, spoken by 99% of Akans in Akanland. Akan is spoken in Ghana, and among 30% of ...

• okukuseku 11 years ago

This position is very unfortunate indeed from all fronts.Lets vote for our own rather than on policies is the worst that should be allowed in any democratic doctrine. What is this story of Akan base? For once lets move away a ...

• You bet 11 years ago

As long as the NPP remains an Akan party, they will continue to win in only the Ashanti and Eastern regions (two out of ten regions) and therefore remain in opposition "til thy kingdom come". Amen.

• Nana Yaw 11 years ago

If Kuffour had died during his first term, what would have happened to Alliu Mahama? The party's failure to choose Alliu for 2008 has created a deep distrust between the minority ethnic groups in the party. They will continue ...

• Doobia 11 years ago

What a liability to NPP! Do not confuse Ashanti/Akyeme with akan. Whilst ashantis and Akymes are akans, not all akans share their political ideology and so not all of them will like to be members of NPP. The idea is to bro ...

• Jato P 11 years ago

I am very disappointed at your article. It will not help the NPP cause

• WUNTIRA 11 years ago

The writer is being honest by admitting the NPP is Akan. However, recent elections in Ghana is proving the NPP to be Ashanti/Akyem party. Other ethnic groups have no business in the NPP. I pity Bawumia and other northerners w ...

• ALHASSAN 11 years ago

IN THE CASE AM DONE WITH YOUR PARTY, AM OUT, NO MORE VOLUNTARY WORK FOR YOU AM SOO DISAPPOINTED IN YOU. UNGRATEFUL APES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Yaw 11 years ago

The issue is how do we win elections? NPP should strategise on how/who to elect as Presidential candidate not whether the person is and Akan/Ashanti. Please move away from this notion else this party is dead. Will only exist ...

• Mani 11 years ago

an arrogant ashanti man with his usual arrogance

• Free SHS Advocate 11 years ago

This writer sounds like one of the numerous NDC footsoldiers on propaganda mission, what do you think?

• ntafuorhene mahaama 11 years ago

I agree

• mojingles 11 years ago

Those who argue that Bawumia should lead the NPP are just as misguided as those presenting the flawed contention that Akans are best suited to lead the party. What is important at this point of the party's woes is to review i ...

• ikee68 11 years ago

most of u guys are just blantantly stupid is not like the party call someones name and said u will be the leadewr of the party the selection policy of the party is by election so why dont you guy see that people vote for who ...

• DON PEDRO 11 years ago

WHAT IS THIS WRITER TRYING TO SAY? WHEN THE LATE ALIU MAHAMA IN HIS LIFE TIME AS A VICE PRESIDENT GOT THE OPPORTUNITY TO POSSIBLY CARRY ON HIS DESIRE TO RULE THE COUNTRY; WHAT HAPPENED TO HIM. SEVENTEEN OTHER AKANS ROSE TO CH ...

• Fedi 11 years ago

I am a staunch NPP member but I beg to differ with you. This time around, you are spewing out thrash, garbage and rubbish!!! Are you saying that only Akans have leadership skills. Don't even tread on such grounds because all ...

• IDRIS PACAS 11 years ago

NPP's appointment of northerners as vice was and/or is a disguise. Aliu Mahawa was only a vice de jure. And NDC is an all-Ghanaian dominated party evinced by its victory in 3 out of the 5 so-called Akan regions. Anyway there ...