You are here: HomeNews2013 01 10Article 261779

Ghana Trounce Egypt

Read Comments Comments (131)

• Slimzay**The Unshakable Shaker** 11 years ago

Asamoah gyan just came in ans scored the 3rd goal

Solomon Asanti has played well; Derreck Boateng on the other hand make some elementary mistakes and he needs to be talked to.

Game over, Ghana won 3-0. Let us wait and see how they will do in the next match. Taking the games one game at a time. Good job boys.

• OWASS 11 years ago

They can benefit greatly from the speed of Adoma if they play play directly instead of dribbling before passing to him!!as he was caught offside on many occassions!!

• Say some 11 years ago

I repeat, Only a Ghanaian coach can win the cup. It has been said before and the evidence is there...

• The African Patriot 11 years ago

Please, don´t let us forgot that their opponent have been unable to train properly recharge themselves for this try. I think, this is not a match that must be taken seriously.

But still win is win, therefore they have don ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

James Akwesi Appiah has done what Milovan Rajevac failed to do by beating Egypt so all Doubting Thomas forever hold their peace. He would conquer what the Serbian failed to do from Le Roy to Ratomir Dujkovic, Milovan Rajeva ...

• Rasheed. 11 years ago

Mr.N,there is a big difference between a friendy match and competive final match.Egypt is not playing in the AFCON so they will not attach importance to ths friendly match.Appiah is as weak as an acetic acid.You will see how ...

• SHADY BLUE niagara falls, ontario 11 years ago

DID U WATCH THE GAME?
    I DIDNT WATCH THE GAME AS I WOULD LIKED TO. BUSY WORKING...

WAT IS YOUR ANALYSIS OF THE GAME SHEED? I WILL POSE THIS QUESTION TO SOME PPL ON THIS FORUM TO SEEK THEIR OPINIONS
    1. WAT IS UR ANALYSIS O ...

• The Stallion 11 years ago

Is it Rasheed you are going to ask for match analysis?
    Ask people who will report without bias. e.g. Slimzay, Mr. N, Sports Guru, POW, Africanus, and a few others. Not Rasheed.

SEE, I READ ALL COMMENTS ON GHWEBN SOCCERNET. I HAVE BEEN READING RASHEED' COMMENTS SINCE AFCON 2012. I RESPECT SOME OF HIS COMMENTS, BUT IT SEEMS THAT RASHEED IS TOTALLY AGAINST EVERYTHING AA. SO I WAS SPECIFICALLY SEEKING H ...

• papa appiah 11 years ago

ask me. Ghana was lucky

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

Oh really?....Anyway, would you have said the same if Egypt has beaten Ghana? Weren't you hoping this happens so you will say "I tell you, so" and that A. Appiah is not good for not taking your favourie player along?

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Overall an excellent performance. Mubarak was wonderful. Agyemang Badu was awesome (He actually had a second header that I think crossed the line but we have to wait for goal line technology). Adomah is fast and was strong ...

• Methodman 11 years ago

What ever

Talk about how the game went. Bring something constructive from the match for the house to talk about it and stop this mess you generating.

How did you see the defense? How about the midfield and the striking department? D ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

What was your goal in watching the match?****Slimzay

My goal in watching the match is to see Akwesi Appiah wins and he did. I am not question his confidence you on the order is always look for something to bring him down. ...

MASSA, U ARE GETTING ON MY NERVES. WHY DO U LIKE BACK PASSES NA SO? ARE U AFRAID OF RELEASING THE BALL FORWARD?
    AH, THE OPPOSING NET IS INFRONT OF YOU. YET, U ALWAYS GIVE BACK PASSES LIKE A DEFENDER, WHY? IM SURE HE BOATENG ...

"I am not question his confidence you on the order is always look for something to bring him down." Mr. Stated.

First of all, you tend to read my comments wrongly. Where did I mention the coach's confidence? Please go back ...

Oh, I thought you were coming back to reply. What happened, Mr. N? Have you now realized your story was wrong?

Come again, I have been waiting for you, Mr. N

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

Even though this is not the top-notch Egyptian team we played in the 2010 AFCON final I am optimistic for several reasons: 1) Selection criteria has improved 2) The margin of victory over Egypt 3:0 is expected for a weakened ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 11 years ago

You really do understand the game of soccer. You deserve your name. Great comment.

• POW, Walewale Naaba ba 11 years ago

Not yet time for hallelujah chorous. It's a friendly game so, let's hold our peace and wait for the tournament proper.

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

Yes I agree but "s3 agoro beosoaa....." I have followed the U17 and U20 National Teams pre-tournament matches and where they have had free scoring ability has led them to win the African and World cups in 1991,95..& 2009.

I agree with you, OWASS. Adomah has the speed but he should be aware of the offside traps.

Egypt though was giving out the ball so quick and couldn't handle our midfield during the second half. In the first half, for a mom ...

GOODLOOKIN OUT ON THE ANALYSIS. FROM WAT I CAN DEDUCE FROM WAT U HAVE WRITTEN, PLAYING SIMPLE IS THE KEY TO WINNING. PLAYING SIMPLE WILL HELP IN FEEDING THE BALL TO ADOMAH, WHO IS VERY FAST N CAN EASILY OUTRUN DEFENDERS

TH ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 11 years ago

Boy, you are good, I mean, you're really good. It would be appreciative if you apply for some couching job someday along the line and who knows, you may probably make her majesty Mama Ghana proud in our lifetime. Bravo to you ...

I agree with you, OWASS. Adomah has the speed but he should be aware of the offside traps.

HEY SLIM, WAT CAN AA TELL THE PLAYERS TO DO TO COMPLIMENT ADOMAH'S SPEED. SPEED KILLS AND ADOMAH'S SPEED WILL BE CUMBERSOME FOR MAN ...

• Jonathan 11 years ago

In most cases such off-side situations are the fault of the midfield holding onto the ball too long. If the coach studies the game he would be able to advice his midfield to release their balls earlier to such players to take ...

• DIAMOND 11 years ago

"They can benefit greatly from thepeed of Adoma if they play play directly instead of dribbling before passing to him!!as he was caught offside on many occassions!!"

If their dribbles were intercepted, then we'd also be co ...

• DIAMOND 11 years ago

..."if their direct plays were intercepted", I should have written.

• Johnny 11 years ago

He had some mental lapses, giving the ball away cheaply, but I like the way he came back and make good defensive interventions. He is a good one for the midfield.

• Anokwale 11 years ago

People seem to not like Derek Boateng but he definitely knows how to make things happen. He good on the ball and often brings it up from deep and finds a way to make a key pass to someone on the wings who can create opportun ...

• Larry Sokuu 11 years ago

I share your view. His passes were weak and inaccurate. In some instances he even passed the ball to the opponent. He needs to be more focussed when passing the ball and decide whether to play for or against Ghana. The coach ...

• OH GHFUO WHY R WE SO BEHIND? 11 years ago

SPMEONE SHOULD TELL THIS FAKE GOAT MEAT EATING RASTA TO STOP HIS FOLISH N USELESS BACKPASSES
    WE PLAY TO SCRE, U HEAR
    1. STOP/BLINDSIDE ATTACKING OPPONENTS
    2. CLAIM THE BALL
    3. PASS TO THE WINGERS OR STRIKERS AND REST

D ...

• Esuo 11 years ago

Black star players performance today with Egypt need more improvement, there were tactical mistakes, especiall player No. 9. Good luck for the next match, aber keep improve better tactics.

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

I AM MUCH CONCERNED ABOUT THIS SIMPLE MISTAKE WHICH COULD COST US OF ANY VICTORY REGARDLESS OF THE SCORELINE.
    1.DEREK BOATENG WAS CAPTAIN ON THE FIELD BEFORE ASAMOAH GYAN CAME IN,SINCE THE CAPTAIN WAS NOT SUBTITUTED,DEREK SH ...

• Alugu 11 years ago

You lie!

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

WHAT DO U MEAN BY I AM LYING? DID U WATCH THE MATCH? COME AGAIN SIR

"SINCE THE CAPTAIN WAS NOT SUBTITUTED,DEREK SHOULD HAVE KEPT THE CAPTAIN BAND "

Sir, it doesn't work like that. What they exhibited on the field by changing the band is how it should be. Therefore, you are wrong there, Mr.

• DENKYIRAMAN 11 years ago

I agree with your interpretation of the soccer law. Who says you lie? In soccer there can be more than one captain in the dressing room. But on the field of play there can be only one captain as far as match officials are ...

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

I DID NOT PUT THIS ADVICE CONCERNING ETHNIC REASON BUT SOME IGNORANT CITIZENS HAS TAKEN IT SOOOO PERSONAL.IT IS AN ADVICE FOR THE NATION NOT FOR A PARTISAN REASON.KEEP IT UP DEN MAN

• dick head 11 years ago

1-0 E. Agyemang-Badu 18' (assist Mubarak)
    2-0 R. Boakye 54' (assist K. Asamoah)
    3-0 A. Gyan 83' (assist Atsu)
    Venue: Sheikh Zayed Sports City (Ab? ?ab? (Abu Dhabi))
    Starting Lineup
    A. Dauda
    H. Afful (55' S. Asante) ...

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

GHANA 3 EGYPT 0

• thinkahead 11 years ago

GOOD SHOW BLACK STARS

• toto agboo 11 years ago

which is which?

• Cornell 11 years ago

I have to give to the boys they look magnificent. That's what happens when your local league is suspended for such a long time. This should teach Egypt a lesson.

• Charles 11 years ago

Whoever you are reporting, please report correctly.

check the heading,Ghana 0 Egypt 3 so which is which?????

Agyman Badu scored 1st goal with a powerful header in the 17th minutes.

Boakye Yiadom scored the 2nd with a back flip pass from Kwedwo Asamoah and neatly the youngster put the ball in the net.

And Asamoah Gyan just came ...

ok!

• RICHMOND BOATENG USA 11 years ago

GHANA 3 EGYPT 0

• appiah papa 11 years ago

lucky win

• J. O 11 years ago

This proves that you are anti Kwasi Appiah. That is why you have been writing articles against him. Be honest to yourself and nation. Don't be bias.

Sorry JO, that was not my comment. There are many Ghanaians called Papa Appiah or somebidy is impersonating me. I think the boysthey did well. i always give credit when it is due

• lynn 11 years ago

who wrote this article ohoh, aba ghanaweb journalists always writing nonsence, GHANA 3- EGYPT 0, well done black stars.

• Sports Guru 11 years ago

3 Ghanaians decided to play for Egypt and scored 3 goals against Ghana...?Go black Stat..search and destroy

• JIMY SOMER 11 years ago

GHANA WILL WIN

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Ghana 3 0 Egypt

• dave 11 years ago

shambolic headline,this is unacceptable

Good job!

Hey Akadu, stop harassing me aba! I am celebrating Ghana's victory

Hurray!

• master philip.... u s 11 years ago

what trick....Good performance but we are now getting there

• Busumbru 11 years ago

Daeda my man of the match

• ghostown 11 years ago

well done boys.... I knw its to early for praises bt appiah is on course.....

• appiah papa 11 years ago

Why play a team which has no league? These are jokes

• Minenken Piss 11 years ago

Bravo, Ghana! But be mindful that Egypt currently does have a Legue, therefore some of their players are out of form. Watch the next match at Eurosports 2 HD

• ZATARA 11 years ago

I think the Black Stars performance was too ordinary. its not a championship wining performance. we never created any clear cut chance. hw can u squander a 4 against 2 defenders counter attack.
    Appiah shd sit up.

• Kwesi Brenu 11 years ago

You guys complain even when you win without concealing a goal ?

• The Stallion 11 years ago

How about that?

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Rasheed is missing in action he would be going to court to over turn the 3:0 result. The Stallion if you see ask him to pay up.

• Rasheed. 11 years ago

Mr.N don't worry,you will soon laugh at the wrong side of your mouth.Playing Egypt was a waste of time,because there is nothing at stake for them.Please do not run away after the Tunisia match.Our team is full of dead horses. ...

• Chang 11 years ago

Did you actually pass WAEC English paper? Your power of reasoning is very weak.

Al Ahli won the Champions League though the Egyptian league was suspended. This result goes down in the record books if you care to know.

• OWASS 11 years ago

tunisia 1, Gabon 1

WAT IS YOUR ANALYSIS OF THE GAME SHEED? I WILL POSE THIS QUESTION TO SOME PPL ON THIS FORUM TO SEEK THEIR OPINIONS
    1. WAT IS UR ANALYSIS OF THE GAME
    2. WAT NEEDS TO BE WORKED ON
    3. WHAT PLAYERS IMPRESSED YOU
    4. WHAT PLAYE ...

• Rasheed. 11 years ago

This friendly match was not a tested match to me ,because Egypt has nothing at stake.After our match against Tunisia,then I will give you my candid report.SHADY BLUE niagara falls.

AH. I DONT CARE IF WE PLAYED OSEI KROM LA CORUNA OR PRAMPRAM BARCELONA. A MATCH IS A MATCH. IM SURE U WATCHED THE GAME AND U HAVE RESERVATIONS ABOUT THE COACH' STRATEGY, PLAYERS PERFORMANCE ETC. SO WHY DONT U JUST GIVE UR ANA ...

• Edem Lasisi, Atlanta 11 years ago

SHADY BLUE, Sheed is right. I watched the game, and it looked to me more like a "pick-up" game than anything else. Actually, the 2nd-string Pharaoh team might as well wore some "pinnies" for the game. So, it would not be righ ...

• POW, Walewale Naaba ba 11 years ago

Give the analysis and stop passing coner coner. Did you watch the match? Yes or no? If yes analyse for those of us who didn't watch to have a fair idea of what went on and you're also talking about Tunisia match?

What does that mean, you are praying for Blackstars to lose? Your head injury from that car accident has affected your brains.

• Rasheed. 11 years ago

I still maintain that wimpish Appiah will let us down.Afterall Egypt is not playing in the tournament.Let us meet Tunisia and you will understand me.The Stallion.

• Wen Li 11 years ago

If you know better than the coach go apply for the post.

• Rasheed. 11 years ago

I don nlame you Wen li ,because the Chinese do not understand soccer, and are only good at illegal minning.

• Wen Li 11 years ago

Yea at least I speak better English than you.

I insist if you know better go apply for the job or shut up.

• Rasheed. 11 years ago

You know very well my mistake was a typing error, yet, you capitalised on it to denigrate me.Let me also correct you Mr."know it al"l.You should have posted "Yeah at least I write better grammer than you do.You were communica ...

• Wen Li 11 years ago

So you see how stupid you have become. You describe your own "Kwasi Appiah" as wimpish but the foreigner you heap praises on them and describe them as master tacticians.

A you still a slave to the foreigner. Support your ...

• Rasheed 11 years ago

Wen Li or whatever you call yourself,I did not use invectives on you.So why do you come with such proposals?Yes Wen Li,it is a fact that both of us are slaves to the foreigner.Any way,you should have posted"Are you still a sl ...

• Chiang Lee 11 years ago

The word is GRAMMAR not GRAMMER

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

Aow? See how you too have deviated from the subject for discussion and have turned it to personal attacks instead..Isn't this a Shame?!! You two should go and look yourselves in the mirror!!!

Li, leave that Bozo alone. He had head injury in a car accident and it has affected his analytical reasoning.

• osman issah aboabo kumasi 11 years ago

hurry twinkle twinkle little star well than

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

Congratulations to the Black Stars!!! Ghana against Tunisia will be the actual test, bearing in mind that Tunisia qualified for AFCON 2013 whereas Egypt did not, hence the former will also be testing their team. No matter how ...

• ball to wall 11 years ago

PLAYING AND SCORING MORE CONCEIVING LESS WITHOUT THE AYEWS IS THE SUREST KEY TO THE AFCON CUP.GOOD JOB. MORE ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT.AYIKOOO APPIAH

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

Please,please,please do not let us go there....We should learn to accept what God places on our laps and not to cast insinautions else we loose focus

• Wen Li 11 years ago

Nonsense is this the first time Ghana has beaten Egypt?

• Wen Li 11 years ago

The league in Egypt has been suspended and yet Al Ahli won the African Champions League

• JUNIOR 11 years ago

yes wen li, tell them if they forget but ur name wen li??????????hmmmmm

• RESFORD 11 years ago

THE BOYS HAVE DONEWELL AND THEY SHOULD KEEP ON

• Evangelist 11 years ago

Black Stars have began well, but Coach Appiah must caution then not to hang too much on the ball especially when their opponent are too physical so that we don't have too many injuries.

• raky 11 years ago

very good but beware

• David Numo of Big Ada 11 years ago

O say ye ghana oooo o say ye ghana oooo. A sign of kissing de AFCON 2013 cup. Keep up de spirit.

• koo nti 11 years ago

How can Ghana win without the Ayews,the sons of the great man?

• His excellency john dramani mahama,pr 11 years ago

Mahama is a oneterm president

• Ghanaboy 11 years ago

weldone guys and big up to the coahc hope they can take this form to the AFCON

• ahiakah richard 11 years ago

Thats just the bigning we wil even take the trophy

• lalas 11 years ago

good start..!

• Lagos4eva 11 years ago

And so what?????

• Whatever 11 years ago

Its important the players do not lose focus. They must keep playing the way they did and even better next time

• Ackah Bangolame 11 years ago

...And was that the reserve side of the Egyptian team or they are reaping the fruits of the social indiscipline in that society today? The Black Star team is not ready at all, I saw the game and their play in the final third ...

• Osei kofi 11 years ago

Thank u black stars to winning

• Edem Lasisi, Atlanta 11 years ago

Ghana just beat a third-string Egyptian team. The Black Stars did not impress me at all.

• KWAKU 11 years ago

There you are with your first injury before the competition start. where is Ayew?

• SAMMY 11 years ago

AYEW IS IN YOUR HOUSE. STUPID!

• Phil 11 years ago

This is nothin we know the record of gh against bob bradley

• Tax man 11 years ago

This time is Ghana time for the cup.Good boys 2013 is for is for our boys

• Mensah Thomas 11 years ago

May God bless this boys abundantly keep it up and your managers

• John,Tema 11 years ago

good show

• ANIMO 11 years ago

EGYPT IS A VERY GOOD SIDE FOR THIS EXERCISE AND TUNISIA AS WELL, AND WE ONLY HOPE THAT THERE WOULD NOT BE INJURIES, ESPECIALLY WITH THE DATE OF THE COMPETITION FAST APPROACHING. BIG CONGRATS TO THE BLACK STARS, LOCAL COACH AK ...

• gyan 11 years ago

Black-Star know that football is not played with names and arrogance.

• Kwesi Brenu 11 years ago

Good one there, that really true Brother

• Emmanuel Nana-Tuffour 11 years ago

The Stars have done well, Lets all support them.

• IBRAHIM YOUNG 11 years ago

It is a sign of good things to come at AFCON 2013. There is, however, room for improvement.

• PETER AGBLEVOR 11 years ago

good but no Dede wahala

• qguuru 11 years ago

Ghana will win the cap of notation

• Julor Kufor 11 years ago

Wining against Team B is no big deal. Complacency is what is killing the Ghanaian soccer team

• Mohammed Awuni 11 years ago

so shut up

• Meosis 11 years ago

Since this chap hardly ever had a sniff at goalscoring as a 'playmaker', K Asamoah should be placed on the leftside defence as he's doing at Juventus.

I also wanna see the Stars' try this 4-3-3 formation:

11.Atsu-9.Gyan ...

• KATH 11 years ago

Kwesi appiah is not winning the important matches that we are paying him for, please fellow Ghanaians we want to win relevant matches like against zambia which appiah has been a proven failure thus far

NO ONE WANTS TO GET INJURED BEFORE THE TOURNAMNT STARTS. THIS FRIENDLY IS JUST A WARM UP. I THINK GH BEST TEST WAS THE GAME AGAINST EGYPT

• bright fabiola 11 years ago

I am very impressed on how a.gyan celebrates his goal and i think this is a new type of celebration that ghanaians supporters will like it very much.And again a.badu is an astonished player and c.atsu an extraordinary