You are here: HomeNews2013 01 05Article 261248

Sovereignty should not be shield for human rights abuse - Kofi Annan

Read Comments Comments (79)

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

He is the first to admit mistakes he and the UN made especially in respect of Rwanda. Most highly respected and right to oppose the Iraq war. I can't wait to read what I believe will be a Bestseller. ravo Kofi Anna, and proud ...

• HILLA 11 years ago

KOFI. YOU WANT POST AGAIN. WHY NOT INVEST IN SOME VENTURE HERE WITH ALL YOUR MONEY?

If you are ignorant of what people do, simply keep your ignorance to yourself. No one is perfect but give the man a break please.

• KOKI 11 years ago

What a misplaced suggestion to a proud and respected son of the soil! Come again, Hilla, if you can't express gratitude and show appreciation for the sterling qualities and achievements in others the least you can do is to ke ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 11 years ago

IF GHANA STOPS PAYING CORRUPT JUDGEMENT DEBTS TO CORRUPT POLITICIANS AND THEIR CRONNIES THERE IS NOT ANY THING THE COUNTRY CANNOT DO WITH SUCH MONIES.MR ANNAN EARNED HIS MONEY THE RIGHT WAY AND CAN USE IN ANY WAY HE FEELS GOO ...

• bex 11 years ago

Yes, I agree with you. Even big industrial states don't behave the way Ghana is doing. Why judges go along with this kind of looting beats me.

Indeed, too, Mr. Annan earned his money the correct way. Nothing above board h ...

• bex 11 years ago

And also very important to note: he did not abuse the allowance system by flying here and there simply to collect allowances.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

Why the loud silence from Kofi on the developments in Ghana? That is strange.

When good people fail to speak out, the bad will have their way and drag society into chaos for their personal greed! Kofi Anan, let's hear fro ...

• Nana 11 years ago

Is that Chinery-Hesse the woman who awarded Kufour millions of dollars as ex-gratia? A successful life madam, is one that served the public or others in honesty and diligence and not taking advantage of one's position to enri ...

• Nana 11 years ago

Is that the same woman?

• Greedy Bastards 11 years ago

Yup it's the same infamous Kuffour Ghana pimpstress. I cannot wait to summons her expertise when i become the President. If you wanna know Kuffour pimpstress google her very intelligent and pretty.

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

WAS IT NOT THIS WOMAN, MARY CHINERY-HESSE WHO RECOMMENDED KUFFOUR'S GREEDY PENSION ENTILEMENTS.

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 11 years ago

This is a thinking cup! Let Rawlings and Kuffour do the same for prosperity sack! Let them put their experiences and thaughts together in order to help educate Ghanaian youth and the world at large! Indulging in pety politics ...

And what has this got to do with the contents of Kofi Anna's intellectual work and sharing his vast experience as a world leader? Shall we please focus on the author rather than the 'marketer' in this case?

• bex 11 years ago

According to you, Annan is a gift to humanity, and everyone should just applaud. His tenure at the UN was the most corrupt in the history of the institution. I guess I am guilty of bringing that into the discussion.

Are yo ...

I am sorry, but I do not expect you to agree with my opinion. Neither am I imposing my views on anyone. You are perfectly entitled to your opinion but if you wish to pick a fight, then go somewhere else.

The UN is a compl ...

The man is above party politics but I am sure he has given his quiet words of wisdom nd advice to both the president and Nadd Akuffo Addo but he is not the type who would like to broadcast what he has done in private. If you ...

• bex 11 years ago

There you go; he is your hero so everyone must stand and cheer. Anything short of that is unwelcome. What a cad. You have no core value; you and your hero are alike.

You cannot even put what imsayninto the proper context. Unlike people like prez Rawlings who seems to be telling others what to do in public, I have not heard Kufour or for that matter Annan's public utterances regarding the ...

• bex 11 years ago

I don't have time for blockheads like you. Your 'God' Annan knows my stance about him and either doesn't care a fig or knows I am right.

You started this with a preemptive sentence that "he would be the first to admit 'mis ...

Bex, I sense your frustration and you clearly have an axe to grind against the guy. But please done make me the "fall guy". I would have preferred to know your real name so that we can dialogue.

It might interest you to kn ...

• bex 11 years ago

Thank you. I hope Annan writes his book without being too punctilious about grammar rules. His book will be too stilted if he does that. But who am I to offer my advice to those who have it all, who know it all.

Thanks aga ...

I agree with you. Apparently the book has been published. I will try and lay my hands on it sometime this week and hope I can share with you my initial impressions of it when I have schemed through its contents.

• bex 11 years ago

1/8/2013

Hi Paul,

I am on Amazon right now and leafing through "Interventions . . ." by Annan, and I like what I am seeing. Good job. Thanks.

• WOO NANA 11 years ago

WISE MAN

• Richard Boateng 11 years ago

Kofi should shut the fuck up. The USA tricked the world into believing that Gaddafi was killing his own people and Kofi agreed.

Get the fuck outta here!

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Yes Gaddafi killed thousands of his own people idiot. What do you know about Gaddafi?

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

What do you want Kofi Annan to do? You are such a fool to insult him without any tangible reason. Okay?

• Nana 11 years ago

Sovereignty cannot be used as a shield for some governments to brutalize their citizens but lifting the veil has often times enabled powerful nations to pursue their selfish interests even though successes have been achieved ...

• Nii Kootse 11 years ago

Sir why more books, a Ghanaian student doing his "masters" in Germany once told me he never make use of books written by other peoples. He uses his own ideas.
    Then others finish and become pastors.

So now we the half edu ...

• ABOA 11 years ago

?????

• Tijani 11 years ago

Please we don't we such comment in Ghana

• Tijani 11 years ago

Please we don't want such comment in Ghana.

• Samuel Adua 11 years ago

Kofi Annan, God given son To Ghana

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 11 years ago

The problem we have right now is the definition of 'international community'.Western countries are using this as the platform to intervene militarily to rewmove leaders they do not like. How does Kofi Annan justify this sit ...

• Sappey-Agboh, Atsiame - Avenorpeme 11 years ago

If Kofi Annan really believed what he is preaching now, what measures did he proposed and convinced the so called 'international community' to adopt when under his watch as the Secretary General of the UN, Israel was butcheri ...

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 11 years ago

GET READY TO STEP DOWN;IF YOU REFUSE,THE INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITY WILL FORCIBLY REMOVE YOU.DID YOU HEAR WHAT ONE OF THE MOST RESPECTED WORLD FIGURES OF OUR TIME SAY? "SOVEREIGNTY CANNOT BE USED AS A SHIELD FOR CITIZENS TO B ...

• black 11 years ago

I doubt you will have a positive answer to your very legit question. You must over stand that, these imperialist "abduct" some of our wisest men and women and convert them to do their biding. Unfortunately Mr Kofi happens to ...

The problem we have right now is the definition of 'international community'.Western countries are using this as the platform to intervene militarily to rewmove leaders they do not like. How does Kofi Annan justify this sit ...

• oppong london 11 years ago

this points clear of how ghanaians have suffered in the hands of ndcs ruling without justice ,where corruption is their first priority,looting the country and leaving the citizens suffering without jobs and can,t even get a d ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

ELECTION FRAUD IS AGAINST PEACE, JUSTICE AND RULE OF LAW, IT ALSO REPRESENT HUMAN RIGHT ABUSE . THIS IS A BIG MESSAGE TO THE EC & EVIL NDC BECAUSE OUR BASIC RIGHT IN THE ELECTION WERE NOT PROTECTED.

• GHANANI 11 years ago

What a joke!!! And you want to deny other ghanaians the right to have the government they have elected.Sovereignty always lies with the people and not an ouside force.The people have decided that Mahama is their leader.NPP is ...

• Daniel Nkrumah 11 years ago

A TRUE GOD SENT SERVER OF THE LAND

• Mr Brine (Holland) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• Kwesi Atta Sakyi 11 years ago

Well done Mr Kofi Annan for your book which should make interesting reading for students all over the world. It will be a lasting legacy. Please advise JJ and Kufuor to write us their memoirs for us to read and let us be appr ...

• Adams 11 years ago

Kofi Annan failed to follow his own advice when it came to Rwanda. So what are we to make of this noise from him??

• BloodEyes 11 years ago

senseless comment ever since in 2013,
    learn from his wisdom to be a bit wise for yourself & nothing else!!

• DAN 11 years ago

Well done Mr former UN Boss. You have said it all but there is one important issue that you have completely forgotten to address-that is how a legitimate governemt, that is elected by a popular vote would deal with a barbaric ...

• Kojo Nsiah 11 years ago

Coward. Come clean with your real name if you have any balls. What a dunce you are. Kofi has made his point clear. What don't you understand about this simple thing, idiot?

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

Dear DAN, what are you insinuating??? THAT KOFI ANNAN SHOULD ENDORSE ELECTION RIGGING? WHAT DO YOU EXPECT KOFI TO TELL NANA AT THIS MOMENT? TO KEEP QUITE AND NOT GO TO COURT? COME AGAIN!!! The whole world is watching the NDC ...

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Kofi Annan has already endorsed the election results and appealed for calm and a peaceful transition.

Nana Akuffo Addo has failed to heed Kofi Annan's plea, as also the pleas of other international dignitaries.

That is ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

Nobody has a problem with nations stepping to halt atrocious human rights abuses by governments against their own people but the right of intervention could easily be abused by powerful and bullying nations. So that right of ...

• NANA 11 years ago

A MAN WHO COULD HAVE BROUGHT RESPECT AND ACCOUNTABILITY BACK TO GHANA AFTER OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH!!!!!!!!

• Abba 11 years ago

YOU ARE THE MOST RESPECTED PERSON IN AFRICA BUT IT IS UNFORTUNATE THAT IN YOUR OWN COUNTRY, NDC DO NOT UNDERSTAND DEMOCRATIC RULE.

• WOYOME THIEVES 11 years ago

MAHAMA NDC GANGATUAN IS COMING AGAIN,HMMMM,GOD SAVE GHANIANS FROM THIS NDC MAHAMA THIEVES CORROPTS HAND,OH OH OH PMAN GHANA WHERE ARE WE GOING

• mahama is corrupts 11 years ago

NDC YE KANKAAMA PAA,OH MY GOD,ASEM BEN NI,

• Kretz D - Beantown 11 years ago

Mr Annan, why don't you form your own political party and run for the presidency. Ghana needs you. When you run, you will change the corrupt political atmosphere in Ghana, and that's what Ghana needs right now. We need someon ...

• YOWZA 11 years ago

We must have Kofi Annan's comments on the ended Ghana Elections.
    Why does he remains silent if he believes in democracy, which I think he does.

• LGK Ocloo 11 years ago

As long as we do not allow the bullying and arrogant powers to allocate these powers to themselves as we have witnessed over the years and stiil goes on all over the world

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

GREEDY LEADERS WILL ALWAYS FIND PROBLEMS FOR OUR WORLD - I PRAY FOR GOD TO TOUCH THEIR HEARTS. MR. KOFI ANNAN IS A SELFLESS PERSON - GOD WILL ALWAYS BLESS HIM.

• HOLY MOSES 11 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU MR ANNAN

• YOWZA 11 years ago

"He said one of the core responsibilities of any government, was to protect it's citizens and ensure that their basic rights were protected" by Kofi Annan.

How about when the peoples votes are fraudulently given to an oppo ...

• ABU OKYEMAN .KYEBI 11 years ago

USA NEVER SUPPORTED YOU CAUSE YOU BLACK .

• GHANA 11 years ago

KOFI GHANAINS LOVE YOU WYHY YOU DID'T CREAT A PARTY TO RULE GHANA SO THAT NDC&NPP WILL FOLLOW YOUR STEPS, A BETTER LEADER , NOT FOR ONLY UN, BUT ALSO YOUR OWN COUTRY, GHANA.?KOFI,! KOFI !!. KOFI !!!

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

CONRADITORY.

WHY DID KOFI ANNAN IN HIS TIME OF OFFICE AS UN GENERAL SECRETARY CRITICISE THE MILLITARY INTERVENTION OF THE US IN IRAQ.

SECONDY, WHY DID HE CHOOSE TO DELIVER HIS HUMAN RIGHTS FAREWELL SPEECH AT PRESIDENT T ...

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

TO CONFIRM OF MY ARGUMENT I CALL ON READERS OF GHANAWEB TO GET HOLD OF KOFI ANNANS FAREWELL SPEECH DELIVERED AT TRUMMAN LIBRARY CENTRE IN MISSOURI,UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

WHAT HE IS SAYING NOW IS PURELY CONRADITORY TO W ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 11 years ago

Paa Kodwo i believe strongly that Kofi Annan's interventionist stand has something to do with nations acting with UN's mandate and not outside it .America,Britain and those who joined them to invade Iraq did so without the U ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 11 years ago

champion not champions[last line]

• Paa Kodwo-Kwabena Ohemeng-London 11 years ago

OPAYIN KWABENA OHEMANG:

PLEASE,WE ALL KNOW THE INVASION OF IRAQ WAS NOT SANCTIONED BY THE WORD BODY,THE UNITED NATIONS.

DID KOFI ANNAN IN HIS TIME OFFICE AS GENERAL SECRETARY INTERVENE IN THE RUANDA CIVIL WAR THAT KILLE ...

• BloodEyes 11 years ago

go drag your grumbles & grudges personally with him,
    your comments on this forum get's nowhere near him; u're just burning your bore-time!!

• Paa Kodwo-Kwabena Ohemeng-London 11 years ago

WERE WE THE ONES WHO SPOKE TO THE PRESS ON HIS BOOK IN GHANA.

• THE CHOSEN WAN 11 years ago

THIS MAN IS A COMPLETE FAILURE,WHAT IS HE TALKING ABOUT?GO TELL THIS TO THE PEOPLE OF RWANDA,WHO UNDER YOUR LEADERSHIP FAILURE SUFFERD GENOCIDE.THE ONLY UN SECRETARY GENERAL DECLARED PERSONAN NON GRATA.GO GET PLACE HIDE YOUR ...

• Kaketonti 11 years ago

In so far has there exists different cultures "international community" depends on individual interpretation.Interventionist policy is misplaced here.If gold rust, what will iron do?Educate the individual on his/her rights an ...

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

ANNAN WHAT ABOUT YOUR FARM PROJCTE

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

KOFI CREATE A JOB FOR THE UNEMPLOYED

• Alhaji Issaka Issifu. 11 years ago

We must never use national security or sovereignty to shield citizens known to have brutalised others or the use of governments for a cover to tortures the citizenry.

"The international community has a right to intervene, ...

I'm glad to read that. Happy reading.