General News of Thursday, 13 September 2012

Source: XYZ

Ben Ephson releases polls on 71 seats; Ursula, Victoria face-off in Ablekuma West

Renowned pollster Ben Ephson Jr. has released the latest batch of polls on the 230 parliamentary seats and the yet-to-be-created 45 new constituencies.

In all, 71 constituencies were surveyed with the New Patriotic Party (NPP) likely to win 36 seats while the ruling National Democratic Congress is likely to win in 35 of the constituencies.

The Ledzokuku constituency, a known swing area, is likely to fall to the NPP as the constituents seem unhappy with the performance of the incumbent MP, Nii Nortey Dua. He was however beaten in the primaries by Mrs Okiti Duah who is being challenged by the former MP of the area, Dr. Norley of the NPP.

Again, two media friendly women are expected to face-off in the yet-to-be legal Ablekuma West constituency. Ms. Ursula Owusu of the NPP and Ms. Victoria Hamah will compete for the opportunity to represent the area in parliament. The poll however indicates that the area will be won by Ms. Owusu even though it will be hard fought.

This ostensibly means that the Ablekuma South constituency is likely to be won by Information Minister, Mr. Fritz Baffour.

In the Lower Manya constituency, the NPP is likely to win the seat for the first time if the incumbent MP goes ahead with his threat of going independent.

Hon. Teye Nyaunu who has represented the area for sixteen years threatened to go independent after he lost the NDC primaries. He has accused the leadership of the party for scheming to get him out of parliament.
Below is the full list of the polls released so far.

Sunyani East- NPP
Sunyani West- NPP
Berekum- NPP
Techiman North- NPP
Asunafo North- NPP
Tano North- NPP
Wenchi- NPP
Jaman North- NDC
Tain- NDC
Techiman South- NDC
Pru- NDC
Sene- NDC
Kintampo South- NDC
Atebubu Amantin- NDC


Takoradi- NPP
Effia-Kwasimitsim- NPP
Sekondi- NPP
Essiakdo Ketan- NPP
Ahanta West- NPP
Bia- NDC
Juaboso- NDC
Suaman- NDC
Aowin- NDC
Amenfi West- NDC
Prestea Huni Valley- NDC
Bodi- NDC


Gomoa West- NDC
Goma East- NDC
Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam- NDC
Agona West- NDC
Awutu Senya- NDC
Awutu Senya East- NDC
Upper Denkyira West- NPP
Assin North- NPP
Assin South- NPP


Domeabra Obom- NDC
Abokobi Madina- NDC
Ablekuma South- NDC
Odododiodoo- NDC
Kpone Katamanso- NDC
Shai Osudoku- NDC
Ada- NDC
Sege- NDC
Ningo Prampram- NDC
Ayawaso East- NDC
Bortianor/Ngleshie Amanfro- NDC
Ashaiman- NDC
Dome Kwabenya- NPP
Okaikwei South- NPP
Ablekuma West- NPP
Ledzokuku- NPP
Ayawaso North- NPP
Anyaa/Sowutuom- NPP


Akim Oda- NPP
Akim Swedru- NPP
Abirem- NPP
Abetifi- NPP
Mpraeso- NPP
Lower Manya- NPP (if Michael Teye Nyaunu goes independent)
New Juaben South- NPP
New Juaben North- NPP
Ayensuano- NPP
Fanteakwa- NPP
Aburi- NPP
Nsawam Adoagyiri- NPP
Atiwa East- NPP
Atiwa West- NPP
Lower West Akim- NPP
Upper Manya- NDC
Yilo Krobo- NDC
Asuogyaman- NDC