International reputation? Funny thing is that, he believes it.
NKRUMAH 11 hours ago
WHICH REPUTATIONM ; FROM WHERE ; THE HAVE COOKED THE CONCAINE SAGA TO PAINT GHANA BLACK: IT IS TIME TO STOP BELIVING THESE EVIL CRIMINAL WESTERN:
p.r.o.p.h.e.t... M.o.h.a.m.m.e.d..was a s.i.c.k..d.o.g 11 hours ago
Say no to i.s.l.a.m. and look for a real religion. B.u.r.n. ......the q.u.r.a.n..
NPP Mindset and Worrying Plans 9 hours ago
Ohene Boahen's revelation of treachery is out. Trace npp modus operandi. It begins with foreign networks. Gabby's falsehoods & JH Mensah's gun deals, both in UK. And their Togo deals for female dead bodies are just 3 Recalls
Mother For All is Too Much 9 hours ago
This cocaine shipload fits neat, into the pattern as decried by Sosu. No question about that! Comment reactions alone on 'Reputation' even tells it. NPP has Timetable & Flow Chart. Axe Must Fall.
Mother Serpent 9 hours ago
The Mother Serpent's head is even bigger. Smashing it off won't be easy. As Fifth Columnist baby Serpents are thick inside the Imports & Exports architecture, in clandestine cells. No surrender
Question ? 8 hours ago
One key question is: How will these crooks slip & dissolve undetected? Police and other competent authorities must act methodically fast to outpace them. This Senseless Nonsense must stop!
Karikakchar 7 hours ago
Let’s put the issue in its right perspective, the government and the president should be the first to take responsibility for this rather than creating the impression that someone else is trying to dent the reputation of the president and his government . Not when they have all the power to arrest and even search for GH jollof.
Gonja Mafia 7 hours ago
Have they finished fishing for the fool in America who was employed by the useless president John Airbus Mahama?
PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 hours ago
###GHANA JOLLOFF IS AN INVISIBLE SPIRIT!! THAT SPIRIT IS HOVERING OVER THE WHOLE COUNTRY!!! EVERYONE IS SCARED NOW!!!
POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI CORRUPTION 4 hours ago
John DrugMani Mahaliar. Ghana is now "cocaine coast"
YOUR FILTHY & CRIMINAL NPP PARTY HAS BEEN BREEDING COCAINE KINGPINS IN GHANA ALL OVER THE YEARS, BUT ALL OF A SUDDEN, YOU WANT TO THINK THAT GHANAIANS HAVE FORGOTTEN ABOUT YOUR PROFESSIONAL TRADEMARK.
KWASIAMPANIN GYIMIFUOR BA.... WHO WAS THAT MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT KNOWN AS ERIC AMOATENG..????? HOW DID HE BECOME "FAMOUS" IN THIS COUNTRY..???? HOW MANY YEARS DID HE SPEND IN AN AMERICAN PRISON...???? ALSO, UNDER WHICH REGIME DID THIS COUNTRY SADLY GOT TO BE KNOWN AS... "THE COCAINE COAST...????"
AGAIN, UNDER WHICH REGIME DID OUR COUNTRY RECORD THAT SHAMEFUL INCIDENT WHERE 175 BALES OF COCAINE TURN INTO KONKONTE WHICH WAS BEING KEPT AT OUR NATIONAL POLICE HEADQUARTERS UNDER A COURT DIRECTIVE....??????
WO HÔ FII KANKAEN W'ATE......!!!!! IF I WERE YOU, I WILL KEEP QUIET AND PASS, ANYTIME I HEAR THE TOPIC OF COCAINE BEING DISCUSSED.
Stixx 7 hours ago
you’re the biggest fool and the most senseless person I’ve ever come across. What did you smoke before coming out here to comment? You leave your useless Ndc government to shift blame on the npp for the cocaine bust in France whiles it’s your useless Ndc government in power. You’re just a disgraced and a disappointed Ndc fool who’s trying hard to do a damage control for his government. You talk about Eric amoateng who was jailed for drugs many years ago but now the ball is in you and your stupid Ndc’s court so deal with it . Nobody knows the real culprits behind this shipment but if you can be stupid enough to justify it because an mp was busted years ago and served time in a US prison then you’ve justified your stupidity as an Ndc idiot who supports sanitary pads and nkoko nketenkete. Wadwene kitikiti s3 mmaa watch. Aponkye ba
SAEED OSMAN 10 hours ago
What people don't know is that narcotic policing does not end at our ports only government share information with other governments so even if it slips through in Ghana you can still be caught at their final destination through the efforts of Ghanaian administration.
TRUTH 9 hours ago
@Saeed Osman.. tell them!
We only hear the arrest which has nothing to do with me or I guess most Ghanaians.
How does that affect our reputation and what reputation are you talking about?
Firstly, the South American ... read full comment
We only hear the arrest which has nothing to do with me or I guess most Ghanaians.
Firstly, the South American have been moving their drug operations to Africa since USA started cracking down on them.
What we should be spending our money on is, stopping elicit drugs coming into Ghana.
We can only try and stop them but not at all cost. The French have a duty to fight this as well so what is the problem.
Has India's reputation been damaged because of the elicit drugs flooding Ghana and West African from India???
Sady Susu is part of the problem helping the Nana Addo regime to remove the death penalty so I expect him to shut up.
Ghana should focus on stopping the drugs coming to Ghana and France would focus on theirs.
If France bans exports from Ghana, so be it. We can also find ways to ban French products which are destroying our employment and market.
France should be getting drugs from all nations down the year, how many have they received from Ghana to highlight Ghana.hey
If they did not arrest anyone in France, then that is their problem because they could have waited for the persons picking the drugs up.
If they have, then government should work with them to find their links in Ghana. That is how you stop drugs, not COUNTRY TAGGING.
We must rise up to the tricks of neocolonialism which France is notorious for.
Well, the people shouting most, NPP could be behind it and if this government finds them, please put their names out, we want to know what they are up to.
KOFI 7 hours ago
I was expecting your piece to inform but unfortunately, it asked too many questions.
Didn't get anything form it.
I was expecting your piece to inform but unfortunately, it asked too many questions.
TRUTH 7 hours ago
@Kofi.. I appreciate you for reading. Please read again and you would find information that will become relevant to you in time.
I am just simply saying, we should focus on dealing with the drug crisis in Ghana and let Fra ... read full comment
@Kofi.. I appreciate you for reading. Please read again and you would find information that will become relevant to you in time.
I am just simply saying, we should focus on dealing with the drug crisis in Ghana and let France and Belgium deal with theirs.
If they want to get help from Ghana, they must do it from State to state instead of this cheap nation shaming.
We are tired of their tricks.
Go and see how many migrants France pushes into UK each day without shame after taking lots of UK money to stop it.
Don't trust the French so easily.
Let's focus on Ghana. We have drug issues ourselves.
Etew 8 hours ago
NDC...IF YOU FOOLISHLY BECOMES FRIEND'S WITH THE NPP....THIS IS WHAT WILL START HAPPENING.
Stixx 7 hours ago
Don’t cross the highway or train a child with this your sense. 3y3 3tew ampa
Mr Smith 10 hours ago
The cocaine has been what? Destroyed?? Jokers!!!
TRUTH 10 hours ago
Has the French arrested anyone?
This guy should be careful what he puts out about his own country.
The Europeans fought to forcefully damp drugs on countries.
If they find the receivers in France, it would help with ... read full comment
If they find the receivers in France, it would help with finding those linked to Ghana.
Be careful of these Europeans, it could be a set up to be used to get access into our systems if we ignorantly leave it to them for investigation.
Etew 8 hours ago
BLAME THIS TRIBAL GHANAWEB WITH ITS CAPTIONS... UNPROFESSIONAL IDIOTS EDITING NEWS TO FEED US
K Poku-London-UK 7 hours ago
Who took Ghana to the IMF in 2022? It was Dr Messiah Bawumia and Ken Ofori Atta- cum Akuffo Addo- The NPP Economic Messiah-Dr Bawumia. Ghana has been to the IMF 18 times- Ghana has spend 40 years under the IMF conditions out of its 68 years history-Ghana IS A FAILED STATE. Dr Bawumia pls aren't you embarrassed by revelations at the PAC on revelations of crime committed by the very people u and Akuffo Addo appointed to run affairs of this country? What record are u going to defend. I have lost respect for you. A muslim without intergrity.
The World Bank has pushed back against the erstwhile Akufo-Addo administration’s long-held narrative that Ghana’s 2022 economic collapse was the result of global turmoil, the COVID-19 pandemic and the Russia-Ukraine war.
Bawumia was the Chairman of the Ghana National Economic Management Committee but he says that he was the Drivers Mate. How can a driver's mate do this when he claims he never had the chance to implement anything in government because the powers that be did not allow him. Yet he wants to claim credit for any good things that he never did yet will refuse to accept responsibility for any failure in their government. How stupid does this man think we are? You took the cedi from 4 to 17 and still had the audacity to tell us the rate of depreciation at that time was better than the previous NDC administration. What at all does this man take us for? Does he think we're stupid or what? Someone should tell this man that we haven't forgotten about the DDEP haircuts and surely we shall punish the npp again come 2028.
It insisted that the economic meltdown was “homegrown”.
In its latest 2025 Policy Notes on Ghana, the Bank made clear that while the COVID-19 pandemic and Russia’s invasion of Ukraine worsened the situation, they were not the root cause.
“The deterioration of global conditions… was not the cause of the 2022 macroeconomic crisis; rather, it merely exposed an economy already beset with deep structural vulnerabilities and precarious macroeconomic conditions,” the report said.
The government has frequently blamed external shocks for the collapse, which saw inflation spiral, the cedi plummet, and the country default on its debt.
But the World Bank said years of weak governance, fiscal indiscipline, and stalled reforms were the real culprits of Ghana's "dark days".
Interbank Market: Cedi trades at GH¢12.35 to $1
The bank also argued that the easy access to international credit and expectations of resource windfalls encouraged short-term political decisions at the expense of long-term stability.
The report noted that the cycle of expansionary spending followed by painful corrections, one that has forced Ghana into 17 IMF programs over the past 68 years, is damaging.
“Sudden macroeconomic stops and crises have led the country to request a record number of IMF programs, remaining under active IMF support for 40 out of its 68 years of history,” the Bank said.
The report also noted that more than 800,000 people were pushed into poverty in the aftermath of the 2022 crisis, with per capita incomes stuck at around US$2,200 for over a decade.
Today, more than a quarter of Ghanaians live below the poverty line, it noted.
Looking ahead, the Bank also raised alarms about Ghana’s fiscal management in the 2024 election year.
It flagged unbudgeted spending commitments of roughly US$4.8 billion, equivalent to 5.7% of GDP, much of it accumulated outside official financial systems.
“Spending indiscipline poses a critical challenge…undermining efforts to maintain fiscal discipline and compromising long-term sustainability,” the report cautioned.
Also, the energy sector arrears still cost around 2% of GDP annually, while COCOBOD’s debts reached US$1.8 billion in 2024, with interventions distorting markets and hurting farmers.
The bank warned that Ghana now stands at a critical crossroads, and temporary fixes will not be enough.
“There is an urgent need to signal a clear break from the past and a commitment to change… Success will ultimately be measured by the ability of the government to regain the trust of its citizens.”
Its recommendations are focused on restoring fiscal discipline, broadening the tax base, reforming state-owned enterprises, and enhancing governance.
Without decisive reforms, the World Bank cautions, Ghana risks remaining trapped in its cycle of crisis and bailouts for decades to come.
MONEY-MAKING DEPENDS ON A SKILL - LEARN YOURS, LEARN THIS SKILL, LEARN HOW! 6 hours ago
Start €ARNING DAILY CASH-INCOME through this technical service that is hot in demand. Learn today, not tomorrow. Smart people are cashing out fixing what everyone uses: Smart Phones! Think about it - everyone has a phone, and everyone eventually breaks it. You don’t need a University degree to start. You need a SKILL. Engr. Chukky Oparandu has simplified everything in his "Complete Guide for Beginners & Professionals."(check "Mobile Phones & Tablets Repairs" page on Facebook)He has already mentored over 2,000 people across Africa. What you’ll learn: How to set up your own repair workspace - How to fix the most common (& most profitable) phone faults; The business side; How to charge customers & make money. Get the guide and start learning today. Note: Your Training & Personal Development Budget is your best investment for self advancement. GET Chukky Oparandu’s guide. This skill also opens many other business doors. No huge capital needed to start. Just a skill you earn from once you apply it. Rush now, Search “Chukky Oparandu” on Amazon or visit selar.co/m/chukky (French edition "Gagnez de l'Argent en Réparant des Téléphones & Tablettes" Available!). Don’t miss his blockbuster career guide:“IT Career: A Roadmap" ...13kewgn
Safohene Nana Obuo-Gyan 5 hours ago
Listen to the crazy fool Sosu, the certified advocate of LGBTQ+ activities, and the promoter of gay and other unnatural sexual foolishness in the country.
This 'kwaseanpanin' MP is also talking about Ghana's international ... read full comment
Listen to the crazy fool Sosu, the certified advocate of LGBTQ+ activities, and the promoter of gay and other unnatural sexual foolishness in the country.
This 'kwaseanpanin' MP is also talking about Ghana's international reputation: in the first place, what international reputation does Ghana have that the Madina 'ogyimifuo' MP is talking about?
Does a country whose citizens queue endlessly the entire day begging for visas and crumbs from other nations around the world have any reputation to protect?
...... and how credible are the "Odwanfunu" Mahama and the snake-tongued Ablakwa to protect Ghana's tainted and battered reputation?
The fact is Ghana has no reputation whatsoever, yes, it is a failed state thriving in lawlessness, corruption, wanton looting and stealing, fraud and scamming schemes, nepotism, environmental degradation such as "galamsey", political pilfering and outright 'nkwaseasem."
When it comes it comes to international reputation, Ghana is not different from rogue states such as Sudan, South Sudan, Burundi, Chad, Yemen, Syria, Iraq and Afghanistan.
Jack Toronto 5 hours ago
Don't mind him.
Jack Toronto 5 hours ago
Ernestine, you are right
TWEAA DC 5 hours ago
NDC AND SELF AGGRANDISEMENT...INTERNATIONAL REPUTATION INDEED...TWEAA.
ST GHFUO: Kwame Nkrumah International Airport 11 hours ago
The drugs have been destroyed
Nana 9 hours ago
The brand John Dramani Mahama stinks and it's so attractive to Criminals. Look at the number of times that he's been caught in international criminal scandals. His Credibility is so low ,how could he be our President?
Nana 11 hours ago
Sosu this is neither the first, nor second nor the third,it has occurred frequently in this government and so it will continue. Your party stinks coke and it's sad
KAMAJORR 11 hours ago
@NANA..... ONYAAYE GBEMI GBILLI-GBILLI...!!!!!
YOUR FILTHY & CRIMINAL NPP PARTY HAS BEEN BREEDING COCAINE KINGPINS IN GHANA ALL OVER THE YEARS, BUT ALL OF A SUDDEN, YOU WANT TO THINK THAT GHANAIANS HAVE FORGOTTEN ABOUT YOUR PROFESSIONAL TRADEMARK.
KWASIAMPANIN GYIMIFUOR BA.... WHO WAS THAT MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT KNOWN AS ERIC AMOATENG..????? HOW DID HE BECOME "FAMOUS" IN THIS COUNTRY..???? HOW MANY YEARS DID HE SPEND IN AN AMERICAN PRISON...???? ALSO, UNDER WHICH REGIME DID THIS COUNTRY SADLY GOT TO BE KNOWN AS... "THE COCAINE COAST...????"
AGAIN, UNDER WHICH REGIME DID OUR COUNTRY RECORD THAT SHAMEFUL INCIDENT WHERE 175 BALES OF COCAINE TURN INTO KONKONTE WHICH WAS BEING KEPT AT OUR NATIONAL POLICE HEADQUARTERS UNDER A COURT DIRECTIVE....??????
WO HÔ FII KANKAEN W'ATE......!!!!! IF I WERE YOU, I WILL KEEP QUIET AND PASS, ANYTIME I HEAR THE TOPIC OF COCAINE BEING DISCUSSED.
Appiah 10 hours ago
Such an uncouth person. You could have made your point without these filthy words.
Joko 10 hours ago
No way you address NPP without using filthy words, they themselves is the definition of filthy.
Stixx 7 hours ago
You and your National drug cartels(Ndc) are bunch of idiots and fools. Deal with the disgrace you and your party has brought upon ghana. Nkoko nketenkete and cocaine ak3se3 . Odwan
Jack Toronto 5 hours ago
@Appiah, you are right
The Spear 11 hours ago
Absolutely incredible! What a disgrace! Ghana on a rollercoaster, a perilous trip down the precipice if this drug situation continues to fester (Australia charcoal export on my mind).
Ttt 11 hours ago
Nonsense, which réputation ? Nonsense
AK 11 hours ago
All of the cocaine issues must be thoroughly investigated. Cocaine at the airport, Australia and now France. Is Ghana becoming a hub for the shipment of cocaine to the rest of the world?
Nana Ama 11 hours ago
COCOAINE GOVERNMENT !!!
COMMENT 10 hours ago
AKSA BRIBERY SCANDAL
And also the 2015 AKSA TURKISH POWER PLANT bribery scandal which has resurfaced in 2026 during the NDC Mahama government.
AKSA BRIBERY SCANDAL
And also the 2015 AKSA TURKISH POWER PLANT bribery scandal which has resurfaced in 2026 during the NDC Mahama government.
No any big fish have been ever jailed 10 hours ago
We normally heard security agencies have busted cocaine at airport and the rest but never hear someone has been jailed
Prayer 10 hours ago
What exactly do these National Security,BNi,NACOC,Customs and all manner of security officers do at the port? Someone asked this question the other day. Let us repeat this question again! What exactly do they do?
Jack Toronto 5 hours ago
Some people should have resigned by now.
Percy 9 hours ago
Why destroyed the evidence?
Coincy 9 hours ago
@ No big fish.....How can consignments be shipped without the name of the shipper and without the name of the receiver?. Ghaniaian authorities should be able to know the owner of the consignment and the French authorities should also know the receiver. The French cannot blow fake and empty alarm and stand aloof. This investigation can start and end in only one day. Just ignite the shipper and the receiver will start burning at the other end. Very simple logical mathematics.
Greatness 6 hours ago
You're wise
You're wise
TMA Building Permits process is disrespectfull and Corrupt 9 hours ago
Has anyone applied for a building Permit at the Tema Metropolitan Assembly (TMA)? After paying hard cash to obtain the building permit, applicants are subjected to very disrespectfull and corrupt processes at the Works department. This process is unecessarily stretched for many years by the staff at the Works department due to their incompetence and corrupt processes. The current head at the Works department is a guy who calls himself "Engineer Obour" is the worst culprit. This arrogant and over pampered "Obour" guy behaves as if he owns his position forever and will never die in this life. Posterity will judge all of this corrupt people at the Works department of the TMA
Burkina 9 hours ago
Brother, if you have an issue with Obour go and settle it peacefully.
Your one sided story will not harm Obour.
Nii Adjei Sowa 9 hours ago
NPP ARE BEHIND THIS DRUG MOVEMENT TO DISGRACE THE RULING PARTY. THE PEOPLE BOYS AT THE PORTS, ESPECIALLY THOSE AKAN BOYS, SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED. NPP wants something bad to campaign against the NDC
Stixx 7 hours ago
You and tribal bigot is the biggest fool on earth, you leave your national drug cartels (ndc) that’s in power to blame the npp? You must have the blood of the 32 cows running through your brains. Hold your ndc government accountable and stop being a fool na Mo akyi gu h) ruff. Go and shit at the beach after eating your kenkey and fish. Kwashia buulu gbemi
Akofa 9 hours ago
Honourable, I will be grateful if you can support ur alma mater, school St. John's Grammar like Rev Sam Korankye Ankrah has been doing. Akpe
Ike 9 hours ago
Politicians and Cocaine!
But why do you think many people will spend millions to campaign for power, when the salary earnings are less than what they spend.
Politicians and Cocaine!
But why do you think many people will spend millions to campaign for power, when the salary earnings are less than what they spend.
Ben 8 hours ago
Where is EOCO POLICE involved in politics and interesting Til Tokers and tro tro drivers over fares Nation wreckers walking free
Abaan Paapa dis
Where is EOCO POLICE involved in politics and interesting Til Tokers and tro tro drivers over fares Nation wreckers walking free
Abaan Paapa dis
Efo 8 hours ago
Thief man no catch thief man oo
Anyomi 8 hours ago
Crime thrives where there's a weak and chaotic governance. The criminals are taking advantage of the shambolic administration of Mahama. Nothing seems to be going right with this government. They're sleeping on the job and flip flops are the orders of the day.
NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 8 hours ago
WE STILL HAVE NPP ELEMENTS AT SENSITIVE POSITIONS BUT MAHAMA HAS DECIDED TO KEEP THEM. THAT IS THE PROBLEM
Stixx 7 hours ago
Your level of foolishness and stupidity is beyond comprehension, you leave your national drug cartels (ndc) to blame the npp for the cocaine bust in France. You’re just ashamed and doing damage control for your Mo nkye No government. Ndc mo akyi gu h) ruff
Ayitevi 8 hours ago
The intelligence service in the country should be extra vigilant because with so many foreigners, especially Nigerians , finding comfort in the country, we are bound see more high level crimes.
Martin Kreisler 8 hours ago
This looks like a very negative replay of the World War 2 invasion of Dunkirk, this time launched from Ghana of all places in the world. Most unfortunate.
They are finding reasons to intervene in our progress with finances 7 hours ago
Ghana has to be vigilant..by arresting any Ghanaian used in this and other nationals involved
Abrewa 7 hours ago
see this mumu guy!! what reputation are you going on about? since ndc came into power, the total drug burst is almost a billion dollar! only God knows the how many has slipped through!! so be there and be talking thrash!! ofui
KWASI IN EUROPE 7 hours ago
NDC for you.
Truth 7 hours ago
Is true Ghana is gradually being seen as a cocaine Coast ..that is so bad. Cos we don't punish people and it turns out to be the usual npp/ndc nkwasiasem so it swept under the carpet. Let's be serious for once!
K Poku-London-UK 7 hours ago
Who took Ghana to the IMF in 2022? It was Dr Messiah Bawumia and Ken Ofori Atta- cum Akuffo Addo- The NPP Economic Messiah-Dr Bawumia. Ghana has been to the IMF 18 times- Ghana has spend 40 years under the IMF conditions out of its 68 years history-Ghana IS A FAILED STATE. Dr Bawumia pls aren't you embarrassed by revelations at the PAC on revelations of crime committed by the very people u and Akuffo Addo appointed to run affairs of this country? What record are u going to defend. I have lost respect for you. A muslim without intergrity.
The World Bank has pushed back against the erstwhile Akufo-Addo administration’s long-held narrative that Ghana’s 2022 economic collapse was the result of global turmoil, the COVID-19 pandemic and the Russia-Ukraine war.
Bawumia was the Chairman of the Ghana National Economic Management Committee but he says that he was the Drivers Mate. How can a driver's mate do this when he claims he never had the chance to implement anything in government because the powers that be did not allow him. Yet he wants to claim credit for any good things that he never did yet will refuse to accept responsibility for any failure in their government. How stupid does this man think we are? You took the cedi from 4 to 17 and still had the audacity to tell us the rate of depreciation at that time was better than the previous NDC administration. What at all does this man take us for? Does he think we're stupid or what? Someone should tell this man that we haven't forgotten about the DDEP haircuts and surely we shall punish the npp again come 2028.
It insisted that the economic meltdown was “homegrown”.
In its latest 2025 Policy Notes on Ghana, the Bank made clear that while the COVID-19 pandemic and Russia’s invasion of Ukraine worsened the situation, they were not the root cause.
“The deterioration of global conditions… was not the cause of the 2022 macroeconomic crisis; rather, it merely exposed an economy already beset with deep structural vulnerabilities and precarious macroeconomic conditions,” the report said.
The government has frequently blamed external shocks for the collapse, which saw inflation spiral, the cedi plummet, and the country default on its debt.
But the World Bank said years of weak governance, fiscal indiscipline, and stalled reforms were the real culprits of Ghana's "dark days".
Interbank Market: Cedi trades at GH¢12.35 to $1
The bank also argued that the easy access to international credit and expectations of resource windfalls encouraged short-term political decisions at the expense of long-term stability.
The report noted that the cycle of expansionary spending followed by painful corrections, one that has forced Ghana into 17 IMF programs over the past 68 years, is damaging.
“Sudden macroeconomic stops and crises have led the country to request a record number of IMF programs, remaining under active IMF support for 40 out of its 68 years of history,” the Bank said.
The report also noted that more than 800,000 people were pushed into poverty in the aftermath of the 2022 crisis, with per capita incomes stuck at around US$2,200 for over a decade.
Today, more than a quarter of Ghanaians live below the poverty line, it noted.
Looking ahead, the Bank also raised alarms about Ghana’s fiscal management in the 2024 election year.
It flagged unbudgeted spending commitments of roughly US$4.8 billion, equivalent to 5.7% of GDP, much of it accumulated outside official financial systems.
“Spending indiscipline poses a critical challenge…undermining efforts to maintain fiscal discipline and compromising long-term sustainability,” the report cautioned.
Also, the energy sector arrears still cost around 2% of GDP annually, while COCOBOD’s debts reached US$1.8 billion in 2024, with interventions distorting markets and hurting farmers.
The bank warned that Ghana now stands at a critical crossroads, and temporary fixes will not be enough.
“There is an urgent need to signal a clear break from the past and a commitment to change… Success will ultimately be measured by the ability of the government to regain the trust of its citizens.”
Its recommendations are focused on restoring fiscal discipline, broadening the tax base, reforming state-owned enterprises, and enhancing governance.
Without decisive reforms, the World Bank cautions, Ghana risks remaining trapped in its cycle of crisis and bailouts for decades to come.
The narcotic member said, they can not mention those in the drug trade. I am sure that guy is not NPP member if not it will be in the news for political gains. If our only saviour for now president Mahama is not ready to bite hard on some of his appointees, then Ghana we have a long way to go. Those at our borders both land, air and sea must be reshuffle every 3 months. These will help stop or reduce this kind of criminal activities taken by this people.
Edward 7 hours ago
Government should be very conscious about the people it recruits at the security services- some of them may be clowns.
MO KWAME NKRUMAH NO 6 hours ago
The government must hold customs and excise accountable as how the drugs could not be detected,all custom officers who process and gave the green light for the container to pass through sailing must be suspended for investigations to go on, owners of the container must be arrested because it involves individual or individuals.
Kwame 6 hours ago
The French security services said that there was some cocaine shipment from Ghana.
The shipment must have the name of the person or company that shipped it.
Then without the arrest of the criminal who shipped the cocaine w ... read full comment
The French security services said that there was some cocaine shipment from Ghana.
Then without the arrest of the criminal who shipped the cocaine which was meant for Belgium, we are informed that the cocaine has been destroyed.
Which Belgium company imports waste plastic from Ghana, are the French and Belgium authorities afraid to mention the company?
Ghanaian 6 hours ago
Sosu of all tge good things mahama is doing you can't talk about it,the last time you talked itvwas about witches you see you are the epitome of foolishness what are doing for madina youth ,what will the cocain do for the madina youth or are you associated with the cocain?
Efo Kofi 6 hours ago
KWAASHIAA ofue
Good News 6 hours ago
I suspect the npp criminals can use this in another way to ruin the good works of the government by endulgen in this act so that they can use this to attack the government for the 2028 campaign,JM and ndc should wake up on this and deal with it strongly ASAP
COOLBLUE 6 hours ago
This is where the Customs Commissioner Aaron Kanor must focus on and not on air passengers with a few mobile phones in their luggage to be given to relatives and friends.
Where did the shipment passed only to be detected ... read full comment
This is where the Customs Commissioner Aaron Kanor must focus on and not on air passengers with a few mobile phones in their luggage to be given to relatives and friends.
Where did the shipment passed only to be detected at destination that there's cocaine hidden in the container?
Who supervised the container and gave clearance for shipment? Is the person working with the Customs or just a harbour porter? Honestly, people must be called to answer questions, this is not good for the image of Ghana and the present administration.
Jack Toronto 5 hours ago
You are right COOLBLUE
Afenyo Emolakpaa Monkey 6 hours ago
It's rather the foreign Ministry that owe Ghanaians every explanations. Leave poor Mahama alone. Foreign Ministry may be the suspect. Mahama may have no idea about this. Fear man.
Maame Abenah 6 hours ago
The NDC government is corrupt, and the sooner Ghanaians vote them out the better. Must we soon forget the airbus saga? Have we forgotten so soon the government official number one?
Ras Amaro 6 hours ago
What respect did Mahama government brought to Ghana if not what we are witnessing??... Good assertions with political nonsense..Stay in lane Massa
No Mercy 6 hours ago
Ghana is Lost in international Respest,Criminals are Ruling the Country
Maama Gonja Mafia 5 hours ago
What? Reputation? With Scamahama in power?
Gonja mafia, his QNET govt and the criminal enterprise, p/NDC are at it again. As typical of them, they are doing what they know best, criminality, not only in Ghana but on the international stage. Thanks be to God that this time their injustice judiciary system is not able to clear and set them free.
Public interest announcement:
wontumi today = someone's brother tomorrow
Kwame-Italy 5 hours ago
Criminality and Corruption ,like illegal immigration ,very sadly, have become world-wide industrial phenomenon ,which must be cracked down by all Nations,Ghana inclusive. The " octopus tentacled Mafia System " originated from southern Italy centuries ago, despite toughest measures for its total elimination,this cancer is still alive and flourishing world-wide.Law and Order alone cannot cure this human disease!We need human- brain- revolution !
HAPPY DAYS 5 hours ago
The NDC apologists and crime enablers are on rampage,I'm just waiting for the day Mr Trump will send his DEA to come and extract and take some people away,finish.
BNI 5 hours ago
Foolish man. Don't blacks africans realize that if the coke doesn't get out of here our own people would become the customers.
Our focus should be on stopping it entering Ghana. If anything entere somehow let's not stop t ... read full comment
Foolish man. Don't blacks africans realize that if the coke doesn't get out of here our own people would become the customers.
Our focus should be on stopping it entering Ghana. If anything entere somehow let's not stop them shipping out. Who dey chop respect
Peter 5 hours ago
Every shipment/container has its owner. They should tell us who the owner of the said shipment is. Also before every container is shipped, it passes through various security protocols/checks, they should tell us which officers cleared the container for onward shipment.
These facts shouldn’t be hard to come by. They should spare us all these unnecessary commentaries.
NMG 5 hours ago
ALL POLITICIANS ARE CRIMINALS NDC OR NPP THEY ARE ALL THE SAME I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY YOU GHANAIANS FALL FOR THIS CRIMINALS
Dzool 4 hours ago
We need a purge by government. The director of ports, the IGP a whole lot of officials need to be fired. These top officials are all complicit. Customs head must be booted out. This way the head of the snake is chopped off. That will be the solution.
Kwesi 4 hours ago
Wait until they start treating Ghana Passport holders as potential drug dealers then they will understand how serious this issue is.
USDT USA loading banks Canada link upTO up with all usa canada banks loading german too fixed crefit Scott mt103 3 hours ago
Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
We are sending wire transfer and direct wasap him hamzaben.d@ hackermail. Com email email me your number I will wasap u or lawyer@presidency.com flashing to any country
Ch ... read full comment
We are sending wire transfer and direct wasap him hamzaben.d@ hackermail. Com email email me your number I will wasap u or lawyer@presidency.com flashing to any country
Chase bank
UBA bank
First bank
Bitcoin flashing to all countries
Crypto flash stays for 48 days before it disappears and it's transferrable and trade able
Blockchain Coinbase wallet binance wallet trust wallet
Usdt flash to all countries
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Asia Africa Europe Australia
Item order ;
We do car purchase online, iphone purchase online and many more
Bank Loading
Debit card and credit loading contact hamzaben
[8/8, 10:00 AM] Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
Chase bank
UBA bank
First bank
Bitcoin flashing to all countries
Crypto flash stays for 48 days before it disappears and it's transferrable and trade able
Blockchain Coinbase wallet binance wallet trust wallet
Usdt flash to all countries
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Asia Africa Europe Australia
Item order ;
We do car purchase online, iphone purchase online and many more
Bank Loading
Debit card and credit loading contact hamzaben
Kk 3 hours ago
100%: support
BLACK MOSES (USA) 2 hours ago
SOSU JUST SHUT UP NOTHING WILL COME OUT OF THIS. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME. WHERE IS GOLD MUNTATKA THE MINISTER OF INTERIOR CLAIMED HE SENT THEM TO GOLDBOD IN THE SAPEIMAN ARREST. HOW COME THE GOLD WAS GENUINE BUT HE CLAIMED THE MONEY CEASED WERE FAKE SO ON HIS OWN AUTHORITY HE BURNED ALL THE MONEY. WHY HE DID NOT SEND THE MONEY HE CLAIMED WAS FAKE TO BANK OF GHANA FOR VERIFICATION BUT HE CLAIMED HE BURNED TO MONEY BUT THE GOLD HE SENT THEM TO GOLDBOD.? SOSU JUST SHUT UP AND LET GHANAIAN THINK. WE CREATED DEMOCRACY FOR YOU TO COME AND LOOT.
Pelicles 1 hour ago
Ghanaians, just imagine the posture of Ablakwa, Sam George, Sammy Gyamfi if this cocaine shipment happened under the previous government.
Let’s put the issue in its right perspective, the government and the president should be the first to take responsibility for this rather than creating the impression that someone else is trying to dent the reputation of th ...
@NKRUMAH & @NANA..... ONYAAYE GBEMI GBILLI-GBILLI...!!!!!
YOUR FILTHY & CRIMINAL NPP PARTY HAS BEEN BREEDING COCAINE KINGPINS IN GHANA ALL OVER THE YEARS, BUT ALL OF A SUDDEN, YOU WANT TO THINK THAT GHANAIANS HAVE FORGOTTE ...
you’re the biggest fool and the most senseless person I’ve ever come across. What did you smoke before coming out here to comment? You leave your useless Ndc government to shift blame on the npp for the cocaine bust in Fr ...
What people don't know is that narcotic policing does not end at our ports only government share information with other governments so even if it slips through in Ghana you can still be caught at their final destination throu ...
Firstly, the South American ...
I am just simply saying, we should focus on dealing with the drug crisis in Ghana and let Fra ...
If they find the receivers in France, it would help with ...
Who took Ghana to the IMF in 2022? It was Dr Messiah Bawumia and Ken Ofori Atta- cum Akuffo Addo- The NPP Economic Messiah-Dr Bawumia. Ghana has been to the IMF 18 times- Ghana has spend 40 years under the IMF conditions out ...
Start €ARNING DAILY CASH-INCOME through this technical service that is hot in demand. Learn today, not tomorrow. Smart people are cashing out fixing what everyone uses: Smart Phones! Think about it - everyone has a phone, a ...
This 'kwaseanpanin' MP is also talking about Ghana's international ...
Don't mind him.
Ernestine, you are right
YOUR FILTHY & CRIMINAL NPP PARTY HAS BEEN BREEDING COCAINE KINGPINS IN GHANA ALL OVER THE YEARS, BUT ALL OF A SUDDEN, YOU WANT TO THINK THAT GHANAIANS HAVE FORGOTTEN ABOUT YOU ...
@Appiah, you are right
COCOAINE GOVERNMENT !!!
AKSA BRIBERY SCANDAL
@ No big fish.....How can consignments be shipped without the name of the shipper and without the name of the receiver?. Ghaniaian authorities should be able to know the owner of the consignment and the French authorities sho ...
You're wise
Has anyone applied for a building Permit at the Tema Metropolitan Assembly (TMA)? After paying hard cash to obtain the building permit, applicants are subjected to very disrespectfull and corrupt processes at the Works depart ...
You and tribal bigot is the biggest fool on earth, you leave your national drug cartels (ndc) that’s in power to blame the npp? You must have the blood of the 32 cows running through your brains. Hold your ndc government ac ...
Politicians and Cocaine!
Abaan Paapa dis
Crime thrives where there's a weak and chaotic governance. The criminals are taking advantage of the shambolic administration of Mahama. Nothing seems to be going right with this government. They're sleeping on the job and f ...
Your level of foolishness and stupidity is beyond comprehension, you leave your national drug cartels (ndc) to blame the npp for the cocaine bust in France. You’re just ashamed and doing damage control for your Mo nkye No g ...
see this mumu guy!! what reputation are you going on about? since ndc came into power, the total drug burst is almost a billion dollar! only God knows the how many has slipped through!! so be there and be talking thrash!! ofu ...
NDC for you.
Who took Ghana to the IMF in 2022? It was Dr Messiah Bawumia and Ken Ofori Atta- cum Akuffo Addo- The NPP Economic Messiah-Dr Bawumia. Ghana has been to the IMF 18 times- Ghana has spend 40 years under the IMF conditions out ...
The narcotic member said, they can not mention those in the drug trade. I am sure that guy is not NPP member if not it will be in the news for political gains. If our only saviour for now president Mahama is not ready to bite ...
The government must hold customs and excise accountable as how the drugs could not be detected,all custom officers who process and gave the green light for the container to pass through sailing must be suspended for investig ...
Then without the arrest of the criminal who shipped the cocaine w ...
Sosu of all tge good things mahama is doing you can't talk about it,the last time you talked itvwas about witches you see you are the epitome of foolishness what are doing for madina youth ,what will the cocain do for the m ...
KWAASHIAA ofue
I suspect the npp criminals can use this in another way to ruin the good works of the government by endulgen in this act so that they can use this to attack the government for the 2028 campaign,JM and ndc should wake up on t ...
Where did the shipment passed only to be detected ...
You are right COOLBLUE
Gonja mafia, his QNET govt and the criminal enterprise, p/NDC are at it again. As typical of them, they are doing what they know best, criminality, not only in Ghana but on the in ...
Criminality and Corruption ,like illegal immigration ,very sadly, have become world-wide industrial phenomenon ,which must be cracked down by all Nations,Ghana inclusive. The " octopus tentacled Mafia System " originated from ...
Our focus should be on stopping it entering Ghana. If anything entere somehow let's not stop t ...
Every shipment/container has its owner. They should tell us who the owner of the said shipment is. Also before every container is shipped, it passes through various security protocols/checks, they should tell us which officer ...
We need a purge by government. The director of ports, the IGP a whole lot of officials need to be fired. These top officials are all complicit. Customs head must be booted out. This way the head of the snake is chopped off. ...
Ch ...
SOSU JUST SHUT UP NOTHING WILL COME OUT OF THIS. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME. WHERE IS GOLD MUNTATKA THE MINISTER OF INTERIOR CLAIMED HE SENT THEM TO GOLDBOD IN THE SAPEIMAN ARREST. HOW COME THE GOLD WAS GENUINE BUT HE CLAIMED ...