Papano himself said people like Yaw have short memories. Papano is government vofficial one. Papano is Ford. Papano was so bad even the terrible addo beat him with a landslide. People like yaw are bitches.Men like mahama make them line and fck them in the brain unlike founder who fcks people in the ass. Just like p Diddy
ST Ghfuo: KWAME NKRUMAH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT 22 hours ago
so this is how you fools and dummy leaders are generating revenue? what if they hide the phones in their luggage? i dont know of any nation that does this. dont even announce anything just add the policy to your legal documents at the airport and wait for the money to come in. if you have more than 5 phones then you must pay duty. not 2. make it 5
Kwasi 20 hours ago
Useless comment.
MAYOR - Where is that idiot called Adade 1 day ago
What kind of stupidity is that, is e-levy not better than this? I am not part of this if it's true...
The Spear 8 hours ago
Aaron Kanor is useless and an idiot. Why does he think we all accept phones we'd bring home for others? I don't take phones from people resident outside the country when I travel. I buy phones for my family and friends who can't afford them.
EVERYWHERE TAX YET 1.7 BILLION DOLARS IN 1 MAN POCKET 1 day ago
EVERYWHERE GHANAIANS PAY TAX YET BAD ROADS, POOR ELECTRICITY AND WATER DELIVERY, NO BEDS IN HOSPITALS, SCHOOLS UNDER TREES. AND STILL SAMMY GYAMFI CAN STEAL 1.7 BILLION DOLLARS EQUIVALENT 22 BILLION NEW GHANA CEDIS TAX PAYERS MONEY AND INSULT THOSE WHO COMPLAINED.
Blacks are wicked. 1 day ago
Revenue for the big boys to purchase multiple houses and expensive vihecles right?
berg 1 day ago
That is a good move.
this same fool will ask borgers for phones 19 hours ago
is not the case of massive jealousy towards everyone 'making dollars'
started from taxes at the port. both npp n ndc are stupid thieves.
my 25 year old car here is stronger than that kaneshi trotro, so why dont you bring the duty down to say 20, 000 ghana cedis for cars and 30 000 gh cedis for 4x4 so that ghana would be full of new cars, the people could breath in good air due to low polution and live bit longer. but no, only foolish leaders you fools love to worship. check your life expectancy and come back to say its a good move.
Thieves 1 day ago
Thieves
Thieves
Ahimadu 1 day ago
We bring gift and things for the citizens you guys have been starving to death.
THAT IS UTTERLY NONSENSE!!!!! 1 day ago
I HAVE 2 PHONES THAT ARE ALL FULL WITH DATA AND I JUST BOUGHT TWO MORE. AS I AM COMING TO GHANA, I BOUGHT ADDITIONAL TWO PHONES FOR A FRIEND AND A RELATIVE. WHAT MAKES THIS "COMMERCIAL"?
The Spear 8 hours ago
They're simply too stupid to understand.
Be specific. 1 day ago
Be specific since it does make sense. I used four four phones with all of them with very important purpose. One is even iPhone XR and iPhone 11. Who on this earth will carry these to Ghana to sell and make money?
Be specific. 1 day ago
I have three good friends two work at GRA and the other in the army. They asked for a gift of phone so what should I do. Please then advice your people to buy their own phones including you and stop disturbing us of bring phone to you and you girlfriends.
ST Ghfuo: KWAME NKRUMAH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT 22 hours ago
these are gifts. what i bring 15 bottles of cologne and perfume will you tax me too?
Fd 1 day ago
In fact you don’t deserve to be in that position. Some of you are very lazy minded and can’t think outside the box! The average person in Ghana these days uses two phones and what are you talking about sir? There are so many revenues you’re unable to collect so your lazy approach is to resort to overburdening the average traveler who may just be doing a favor to a citizen? Are we just dumb!
Fd 1 day ago
Recently the rent boss was complaining that even reaching back to him to collaborate so you can plan and generate revenue for the state even has been a problem because you’re lazy! Just looking for easy ways.
Fd 1 day ago
Do you know the average cost a brand new phone abroad and how many people can afford to buy compared to the daily wage of an average citizen.
Fd 1 day ago
In fact this not even new. If you were to be talking about more than 4 or 5 that would make some sense
Fd 1 day ago
Wake up! Sir and go to the markets and other areas to raise revenue. We’re all aware of how the rich companies cook their books to avoid paying the required taxes and stop this laziness
Great one 1 day ago
It's funny how people who use international airports refuse to follow the law when dealing with their home country, can you take those number of phones into any of the countries they are coming from without paying duty? even jewelry etc
Yaw 1 day ago
Tell me the country that will ask you to pay duty if if you have more than 2 personal phones. Apuuu…don’t just say what you don’t know.
King 1 day ago
I have travelled to many countries with multiple phones, ipad and laptops...i pay nothing. You have to prove is commercial use.
Yaw 1 day ago
They have nothing better to do. Whiles serious nations are working on big big things they are focusing on unnecessary things. This is just an avenue for corrupt officials to conduct unnecessary search just to extort money. Useless things !
Kwei 1 day ago
My Ghana people , relatives ,friends if the phones don't come again ,please know the cause............
obi 1 day ago
If that is your law, change it because it is a bad law and tell you Immigration/CUSTOM officers to stop begging at the airport from travellers.
Yaw 1 day ago
The man was deprived of enough protein when he was a teenager so to him no one must own more than two phones. Instead of him working ln big big things to generate income for the government and also make working conditions better for their staff, he is micromanaging the number of cellphones one owns. Is this person even fit for this position?
Emmre Yenni Nkaso 1 day ago
JOHN MAHAMA CAN NOT FUFIL HIS PROMISES,HE IS NOW DESPERATE..ABAN BONE ABA....
Evans Sarfo Adu 1 day ago
Just resign Mr. tax Man. Clueless in 2026! You’re worst than the slave master in 1945
Dj 1 day ago
Aboa bi nkye wo nwe
Kwame 1 day ago
I understand what the GRA is trying to do, but there sure are bigger fish to fry. Most people coming back with additional phones are doing so to gift them to friends and family (due to the higher costs of these phones in Ghana). They are gifts and by the way the diaspora already sends billions of $ back to Ghana to support families and friends. Start by fighting corruption and taking back stolen money. Reduce waste. Many ways to be more efficient than harass people bring three phones to Ghana.
Koppong 1 day ago
You guys should develop system that would tax income
Andy 1 day ago
This is stupidity and it must be stopped. If I have four kids , a wife and a mother, in trying to bring them phones , u asking me to pay duty on it, even with evidence that, those phones aren’t for resale in Ghana?
Foolish ... read full comment
This is stupidity and it must be stopped. If I have four kids , a wife and a mother, in trying to bring them phones , u asking me to pay duty on it, even with evidence that, those phones aren’t for resale in Ghana?
Foolish policy. Ghanaians shud stand against it., if not, those family and friends who asks for phones will no longer be receiving them.
Osei Bonsu 1 day ago
GRA should show us the law which says carryinh not up to a dozen of any items makes the item of commercial value.
Cici 23 hours ago
He is not fit for that office if that's what he has been thinking of as a customs commissioner. He can't think far if this is What will generate revenue for the state.
Kk 23 hours ago
Nonsense
Nonsense
Kweku 23 hours ago
In Ghana, custom duty on a purchased item is higher than the actual value of the item purchased. Custom duties do not make sense in Ghana
Sasabronsam 23 hours ago
Whoever thinks NDC is different from NPP must be on some controlled substances. Those two parties are like twins. Two sides of the same coin.
Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 23 hours ago
The most dumbest thing I’ve ever heard in my 51 years of life on this planet. More than 2 phones? Extortion everywhere you go in Ghana. 18 phones, I do understand is to many but not when I am coming home with some cheap 4 phones as gifts to my uncles and aunties. NDC making their way back into opposition because they have grown the big head syndrome because of the goodwill shown them. And please don’t extend it to personal belongings like clothes. I need my clothes when I travel to Ghana. Nonsense.
Shampoo 22 hours ago
This is where the problem is .the G.R.A boss was able to mention the amount of phones one can carry home without paying any charges ,but failed to mention minimum amount to pay on a single phone in case the traveller is at the port.so that is where the bad ones among the good immigration officers will exploit.
Okwahu Ba 22 hours ago
This one I don't understand, for I have a wife and four boys and I wanted to bring each of them phone what should I do.
M.K. Kumasi 22 hours ago
What kind of nonsense is going on in Ghana. That custom officer is so stupid to the sense that, lf he says some one coming to Ghana with more than two personal phones he/she will pay duty on the other phones, because you entitled for two phones. That's one to the wife and one for himself. The man is so stupid, what about he/she have child in University.The custom officer have to come again with sensible talk.
Nkwasesem 22 hours ago
Mo ye nkwadeafo GRA
Commissioner Banza 22 hours ago
Pure nonsense! Who told this jerk that one person uses one phone when the person travels to Ghana? This is why we backwards and not developing. A business man travels at least with three phones for a local phone number and the two for office and direct line. Papa commissioner come again. Go and implement such a nonsensical rule and see how much remittances the country will get as a result of noncommunication with relatives aboard.
Look at this one too 22 hours ago
This is nonsense. I mean how GRA could come with such a nonsense news. carry more phone on your bags doesnt means you are going to see it or even if was so, what is their business.
Kermit 22 hours ago
A lot of artisanals workers don’t pay taxes instead of targeting those sectors you’re after mobile phones. And why is Customs full of Ewe people?
DDT 22 hours ago
This nonsense must stop at the airport before it makes this government unpopular. Even if it is the law, it must be changed immediately. Parliament must change this nonsense law immediately. Every law in Ghana is always targeting the poor. Why should it be so?
KWASI IN EUROPE 22 hours ago
NDC is there to destroy Ghana. These fools don't know that our family members are more than two.
Kk 21 hours ago
Sooner or later our clothes will be charged.
Asempa 7 hours ago
Massa, one time one customs personnel was like how many cloths do you have? Once I got talking, they got my drift and I walked out with my luggage. It's sad o, very sad to face some of these scenarios after your long journey.
Watchman 21 hours ago
GRA has more important things to do than worrying travellers about the carrying 7 phones to Ghana. The problem is that Customs will over value the phones and charge duty. Please harassing travellers by asking us how many phones we have.
Mr Hubtel($1.7 billion loss) 21 hours ago
This is like robbing Peter to pay Paul. This is what we voted for. Like one teacher who used to pinch our ears in class, he will squeeze your ears and tell you to keep quiet and suffer.
Doni 21 hours ago
Absolute nkwasiasem. Is this also one of your policies or what?
Kofi Dawuda 21 hours ago
Nuisance Taxes and ECG abnormal overbilling are the hallmark of the NDC government.
Taxation of mobile handsets started with the ndc regime during the Rawlings era.
During the Kufour era he ( President Kufour) discovere ... read full comment
Nuisance Taxes and ECG abnormal overbilling are the hallmark of the NDC government.
Taxation of mobile handsets started with the ndc regime during the Rawlings era.
During the Kufour era he ( President Kufour) discovered that taxing mobile handset and taxing people when they place calls on the mobile amounted to double taxation so he abolished the taxes on mobile handsets and concentrated on the talk tax which was automatic and easier to collect because no matter what, once the person starts using the handset tax is earned automatically. It was a very beautiful tax policy because it denied corrupt customs officers the opportunity of fleecing the state and mobile handsets became very affordable to the citizens.
Immediately the ndc took over again in 2009 they reintroduced the tax on mobile handsets and torpedo the kufour 'no tax on mobile handsets' policy.
Akuffo addo also came in 2017 and refused to do away with the tax on mobile handset because at the time he felt like doing away with whatever kufour did due to his extreme hatred for kufour for no apparent reason. For instance if kufour pass through the left he will pass through the right.
Is only along the line that they (NPP) realised that, this particular tax policy was not giving government any reasonable revenue but rather it was mostly benefiting corrupt customs officers so they pushed it out.
Now the NDC is in power and they have resurrected that nuisance tax on mobile handsets.
What is the use of taxing mobile handsets and at the same time collecting talk tax? Eventually the biggest beneficiaries will be the corrupt custom officers at the borders and the airports. In the end mobile prices will go up and the citizens will suffer, but the NDC cares less.
Now let me talk about electricity over billing
Since the NDC assumed office last year the common trend that most customers of ECG have seen is this; ECG will stop sending you bill for 2 months and in the 3rd month send you a bill of over 2,000% with the explanation that it is an estimated bill because they had a problem with the meter. I have personally witnessed it and in one situation a cousin who pays 400 Ghana cedis a month was given a bill of over 10,000 with the same bogus explanation. The guy appealed to PURC and did every thing yet ECG compelled him to pay. In another instance a person with only 1 bulb and few appliances in a single room was hit with a bill of 4,700, meanwhile this guy was paying 200 Ghana cedis every month.
The question to ask is if ECG at a point cannot read one's meter how come they are able to send a customer a bill of over 2,000% and persuade you to pay in instalments? Commonsense will tell you that once you are unable to read a bill in a particular period your estimate must be based on the last bill read before the issue, but with the NDC ECG it doesn't work in that manner.
I suspect that the NDC government is in bed with ECG management to milk the people and pretend they are helping the citizens.
In conclusion i want to appeal to the citizens to be alert and take their destiny into their own hands because if they think relieve will come from either the NDC or NPP then they will be deceiving themselves.
Citizens must demonstrate their frustrations persistently and put fire on the politicians to make life a bit bearable for them, the courts with the current partisan chief Justice is not there to help them.
Politicians are thieves and they are always in to steal to finance their expensive lifestyle.
Jim 21 hours ago
Krakye please find somewhere to relax and chill. Whatever you said against NDC, it's still good for NDC supporters. And whatever you said against NPP, it's good for NPP supporters. So who should sit up and protest. It won't happen massa. You may have forgotten the country you live in. It's the only solution to our problems but unfortunately it won't happen. NDC and NPP supporters together demonstrating nationwide. Trust me, parliamentarians will run away as it happened in Bangladesh.
BOBBY 21 hours ago
I BET THIS IDIOT HAS MORE THAN ONE PHONE FOR HIMSELF AND A MULTIPLE FOR HIS WIFE AND CHILDREN AND DOESN'T PAY A DIME ON THEM YET HE IS BOLD ENOUGH TO VOICE OUT SUPRESSIVE STATEMENT LIKE THIS TO GHANIANS BECAUSE HE IS IN A POSITION TO DO SO . HE BETTER MAKE EVERY CITIZEN IN GHANA PAY FOR ANY EXTRA PHONE THEY HAVE IN THEIR POSSESSION
AS CHARITY BEGINS HOME .
Teddy Moore 21 hours ago
It doesn't matter. Those phones are old and not used. So if one of your relatives wants it, why not. Just give away rather than throw it in a the bin . Some need repairs and is cheaper doing it in Ghana. GRA, I DISAGREE WITH YOU.
Koti 21 hours ago
Just 2 phones? Even here in Ghana there are people carrying around 3 phones. This is a cunning ploy for the GRA staff to extort from 'burgers' who want to bring in more phones. This means it is now an abomination for a burger already carrying 2 phones to bring phones to the dad, mom and a brother.
The Idea behind this is that if the total official revenue is GHC 300, the burger would be asked to pay GHC 200 through the back door and take the phones away - the revenue would never get to the state!
Teddy Moore 20 hours ago
Even i have 20 old phones decided bring down and share to the family. Now GRA want tax on them. To pay tax on them, I will rather rubbish them. If those phones are brand new in the box and is large quantities then yes you can tax. I am going to tell the family that I can bring them. Hope the one custom man is not an npp
Rio 20 hours ago
This is wrong, at least 5 phones not 2. People just help the family members. The man should come again on this.
Kennedy Agyepong 20 hours ago
Mahama, some of ur appointees are not fit to hold office. This man thinks he owns the whole country and can dictate like what he does in the house
Remove this old colloquial man before he turns the country upside down
Mahama, some of ur appointees are not fit to hold office. This man thinks he owns the whole country and can dictate like what he does in the house
Stan 19 hours ago
,,,DRIVERS NEEDED FOR WORK & PAY CARS.
☎️☎️ 0205207457 ☎️☎️
• No Deposit
• 3 Years Payment Plan
• Toyota Vitz & Nissan Note : Total Cost(90,000) / Weekly(650) / Monthly(2500)
• Toyota Ya ... read full comment
☎️☎️ 0205207457 ☎️☎️
• No Deposit
• 3 Years Payment Plan
• Toyota Yaris : Total Cost(120,000)/Weekly(750)/Monthly(3500)
• Toyota Voxy : Total Cost(160,000)/Weekly(1200)/Monthly(4800).
NOTE : After full payment of the car, A foreign -used engine is given, Trackers removed and Change of ownership is made into Drivers Name.
☎️☎️ 0205207457 ☎️☎️
COOLBLUE 17 hours ago
The Customs Commissioner, Aaron Kanor is behaving like a novice on the job, just trying to cover up the numerous extortion practices of customs officers over there. How can you limit passengers arriving at the Airport to only one phone if a passenger can afford to possess more than one and also buy extra phones for others as gift?
How many phones do Ghanaians living in Ghana carry along? This statement by the Commissioner of customs, if it's a law I don't know is the most stupidest one to be enforced on arriving air passengers. At least, you could increase the number to maximum 5 phones, excluding one's personal phone because we all buy phones for our relatives as gift not necessarily for sale to make money.
He should focus on the rot in his service, which allows customs officers harass passengers at entry points and keep asking for money for every little thing they see in your luggage.
Is this man bereft of ideas for him to have made this nonsensical statement of each passenger maximum 2 phones by arrival? This declaration, if sent to parliament cannot be passed into law, it only amounts to deprivation of rights of possessions of essential human needs.
Ananse 15 hours ago
Mahama has failed bitterly
Kwame Angel 15 hours ago
Nonsense! I don't think you have anything to do at that airport.
Kwame Angel 12 hours ago
John Mahama should fire this dongon.
Bra Joe 8 hours ago
You people no get any work do that be why. Sia banku how many networks you get for Ghana? Gyimi saa den NPP come power again. This one too dem go go meeting and taking allowances and per diem saaa kwaa
Brown 6 hours ago
People import and cleared commercial goods for a minimal fee at the nose of these officers.I have 3 phones coming back home so you are telling me the 3rd phone is for commercial purpose. This is a joke.
The Wit end of NDC 6 hours ago
Lol, NDC is at its wit end. They don't know how they will generate revenue. I think they don't have anything much to improve this country but to tax potable items like phones which people may want to give friends and families. Aba!
This government is bad too, why.... they are roping very qualified job seekers into Youth Employment instead of permanent employments.
That is how you generate revenue?
"Aban papa aba"
Papano himself said people like Yaw have short memories. Papano is government vofficial one. Papano is Ford. Papano was so bad even the terrible addo beat him with a landslide. People like yaw are bitches.Men like mahama make ...
so this is how you fools and dummy leaders are generating revenue? what if they hide the phones in their luggage? i dont know of any nation that does this. dont even announce anything just add the policy to your legal documen ...
Useless comment.
Aaron Kanor is useless and an idiot. Why does he think we all accept phones we'd bring home for others? I don't take phones from people resident outside the country when I travel. I buy phones for my family and friends who ca ...
EVERYWHERE GHANAIANS PAY TAX YET BAD ROADS, POOR ELECTRICITY AND WATER DELIVERY, NO BEDS IN HOSPITALS, SCHOOLS UNDER TREES. AND STILL SAMMY GYAMFI CAN STEAL 1.7 BILLION DOLLARS EQUIVALENT 22 BILLION NEW GHANA CEDIS TAX PAYERS ...
That is a good move.
my 25 year old car here is stronger than that kaneshi trotro, so why dont you bri ...
Thieves
I have three good friends two work at GRA and the other in the army. They asked for a gift of phone so what should I do. Please then advice your people to buy their own phones including you and stop disturbing us of bring pho ...
In fact you don’t deserve to be in that position. Some of you are very lazy minded and can’t think outside the box! The average person in Ghana these days uses two phones and what are you talking about sir? There are so m ...
It's funny how people who use international airports refuse to follow the law when dealing with their home country, can you take those number of phones into any of the countries they are coming from without paying duty? even ...
They have nothing better to do. Whiles serious nations are working on big big things they are focusing on unnecessary things. This is just an avenue for corrupt officials to conduct unnecessary search just to extort money. Us ...
The man was deprived of enough protein when he was a teenager so to him no one must own more than two phones. Instead of him working ln big big things to generate income for the government and also make working conditions bet ...
Aboa bi nkye wo nwe
I understand what the GRA is trying to do, but there sure are bigger fish to fry. Most people coming back with additional phones are doing so to gift them to friends and family (due to the higher costs of these phones in Ghan ...
Foolish ...
Nonsense
The most dumbest thing I’ve ever heard in my 51 years of life on this planet. More than 2 phones? Extortion everywhere you go in Ghana. 18 phones, I do understand is to many but not when I am coming home with some cheap 4 p ...
This is where the problem is .the G.R.A boss was able to mention the amount of phones one can carry home without paying any charges ,but failed to mention minimum amount to pay on a single phone in case the traveller is at th ...
What kind of nonsense is going on in Ghana. That custom officer is so stupid to the sense that, lf he says some one coming to Ghana with more than two personal phones he/she will pay duty on the other phones, because you ent ...
Mo ye nkwadeafo GRA
Pure nonsense! Who told this jerk that one person uses one phone when the person travels to Ghana? This is why we backwards and not developing. A business man travels at least with three phones for a local phone number and th ...
This nonsense must stop at the airport before it makes this government unpopular. Even if it is the law, it must be changed immediately. Parliament must change this nonsense law immediately. Every law in Ghana is always targe ...
GRA has more important things to do than worrying travellers about the carrying 7 phones to Ghana. The problem is that Customs will over value the phones and charge duty. Please harassing travellers by asking us how many phon ...
During the Kufour era he ( President Kufour) discovere ...
Krakye please find somewhere to relax and chill. Whatever you said against NDC, it's still good for NDC supporters. And whatever you said against NPP, it's good for NPP supporters. So who should sit up and protest. It won't h ...
I BET THIS IDIOT HAS MORE THAN ONE PHONE FOR HIMSELF AND A MULTIPLE FOR HIS WIFE AND CHILDREN AND DOESN'T PAY A DIME ON THEM YET HE IS BOLD ENOUGH TO VOICE OUT SUPRESSIVE STATEMENT LIKE THIS TO GHANIANS BECAUSE HE IS IN A POS ...
It doesn't matter. Those phones are old and not used. So if one of your relatives wants it, why not. Just give away rather than throw it in a the bin . Some need repairs and is cheaper doing it in Ghana. GRA, I DISAGREE WITH ...
Just 2 phones? Even here in Ghana there are people carrying around 3 phones. This is a cunning ploy for the GRA staff to extort from 'burgers' who want to bring in more phones. This means it is now an abomination for a burger ...
Even i have 20 old phones decided bring down and share to the family. Now GRA want tax on them. To pay tax on them, I will rather rubbish them. If those phones are brand new in the box and is large quantities then yes you ca ...
☎️☎️ 0205207457 ☎️☎️
• No Deposit
• 3 Years Payment Plan
• Toyota Ya ...
The Customs Commissioner, Aaron Kanor is behaving like a novice on the job, just trying to cover up the numerous extortion practices of customs officers over there. How can you limit passengers arriving at the Airport to only ...
Lol, NDC is at its wit end. They don't know how they will generate revenue. I think they don't have anything much to improve this country but to tax potable items like phones which people may want to give friends and familie ...