Ghanaian scholarship students left in the lurch over $4 million debt crisis

Read Comments Comments (29)

• 3.75 GPA?? 2 days ago

These students should just transfer to a better university that will give scholarships.

• Ohene 2 days ago

They should go back home. Their per head annual $80,000 stipend boarding and lodging could cover the fees of thousands of students in Ghana with money left over to recruit staff. $8 million can go along way.For all one knows ...

• Frank Agyena -Karikari. 2 days ago

Hmmmmm. Go back to Ghana and do what kind of job after Graduation? Even Certified Teachers and Hospital Nurses can't be posted. Those posted and working have not been paid for about two years. How can they survive? Such situa ...

• Kukri 2 days ago

That MP really did business with this scholarship programs. What is this!!

• NMG 2 days ago

you just talk anyhow mean while you dont know nothing gyiiimiiiiiii which better university again

• Abbey 2 days ago

This is criminal by awarding over 10,000 scholarships in January 2025, . Knowing that NPP has lost election 2024, awarded so many scholarships abroad thinking the students will put pressure on the NDC government to pay them. ...

• SENACA 2 days ago

If I were the president of Ghana, I would abolish this scholarship scam with alacrity! It's a very expensive bottomless pit which serves NO USEFUL PURPOSE!

• Mastorro 2 days ago

Brilliant comment...

• Frank Agyena -Karikari. 2 days ago

They were on which kind of scholarship? Which country awarded them scholarship? Could such Courses not be taken in the many Ghanaian Universities? And we claim Ghana is poor. These students are the wards of Politicians and t ...

• SENECA 2 days ago

Thank you, Mastorro.

• Oh 2 days ago

1. Publish the names with the courses attached
    2. Publish the options the Institution gave them

• @yaovi 2 days ago

And the one who cost all these financial burdens is walking free eeee in parliament

• Ghanaman ampa 2 days ago

This was all orchestrated by the Kirasini Kingsley Agyemang who would be picked up soon international,his arrogance would lead him to the box

• USDT USA loading banks Canada link upTO up with all usa canada banks loading german too fixed crefit Scott mt103 2 days ago

Bank wire transfer to all countries
    We are sending wire transfer and direct deposit.. Fixed your usa credit score change school grades MT103 deal change credit score laid cash to usa canada German banks all types of HK job ...

• What? 2 days ago

Mr President don't pay, they should come back home.

Why are we wasting time on punishing those who caused the mess?

Do not waste that huge amount on these protocol students. Come home if you can't pay your fees.

• Mensahoo988 2 days ago

Useless scholarships draining our foreign reserves. Cancel it and let the students ho get jobs to pay for their education or come back home. The huge dollars can ge used for things that will benifit more ghanaians.

• Great one 2 days ago

4 million USD for 100 students doesn't make sense, what are they studying? that money will edcate many people in Ghana to any level

• Nana Gyambiby-Jacobuhene 2 days ago

SEND THEM BACK TO GHANA!
    They’re ALL part of the AKYEM SAKAWA SYNDICATE!

• IF $4MILLION FOR EDUCATION IS SENSELESS, THEN WHAT IS SAMMY GYEMFI'S $1.7BILLION LOSS? 2 days ago

Education is not cheap but its benefits are immense. Only illiterates fail to see the value of education.

• Kwame nkrumah 2 days ago

What is scholarship

• Kwabena 2 days ago

These students should just return to Ghana. It is not a disgrace. They can achieve more in Ghana. Our leaders should ashamed. Scholarship Secretariat should be abolished.

• Jimi X 2 days ago

Yentua!!!! This is no longer sustainable. Scholarship Secretariat must source funding from private sector and foundations rather than Government

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 2 days ago

NPP STUDENTS COME HOME. YOU USELESS IDIOTS

• Oh 2 days ago

The news has been attributed to citinewsroom

Efo Koku,
    WHAT alternatives has the University proposed?
    Find out and tell us.

• Truth 2 days ago

The university president must be fired for allowing foreigners to attend any class before the bill was paid in full. American citizens can not register without paying. Also, the school can NOT deliver transcripts until all bi ...

• Opoku-Agyemang K 1 day ago

So the scholarship was established by the Asantehene in collaboration with the University while the scholarship secretariat of Ghana has been bankrolling/paying the fees for them.
    Asantehene should go ahead and pay the fees ...

• Darius99 1 day ago

3.75 average GPAs - I don’t believe it. In most cases, an A or 4.0 is 90 and above. 3.75 is 3 A’s and 1 B on the average. Do you know how difficult that is, and you are saying 100 Ghanaian students have that in STEM major ...

• Jay 1 day ago

Why are we doing this to ourselves? This huge money can create jobs for those back home.

Majority of these people enjoying the taxpayer money are not coming back to serve Ghana or help develop the country.

• Let’s be serious 1 day ago

The corrupt erstwhile NPP government should be forced to make the payment. NPP government sold scholarships among themselves and plunged this country into debts. Who should pay now? Armed robbers!