He has worked hard for himself, show him some respect.
TRUTH 1 week ago
Just imagine addressing Dr Nduom, by his first name.
Good morning Paa Kwesi!
Ruthan 1 week ago
Vladimir Putin and Donald Trump will not mind being addressed as Vladimir or Donny in public. Why bcoz they've a strong mentality and have already made their mark. They've so many important things to think about instead of titles or names.
TRUTH 1 week ago
Go and call President Trump,
Good morning Trump and see!
Have you ever seen some of the names the Honourable President has used for particularly, the disrespectful CNN press men and women.
As for Vladimir you may ha ... read full comment
Have you ever seen some of the names the Honourable President has used for particularly, the disrespectful CNN press men and women.
As for Vladimir you may have some chemical letter sent to you later.
You don't understand this world.
Ruthan 1 week ago
President Vladimir Putin & Donald Trump will gladly accept and smile at any public event with their names being shortened. Go to any Russian University their lecturers don't use their academic titles.
TRUTH 1 week ago
You don't know those two leaders well.
The lecturers choose to allow that within the confides of the University and their audience.
Don't you hear him say, she could have called him, 'Chairman' as he was officiating th ... read full comment
The lecturers choose to allow that within the confides of the University and their audience.
Don't you hear him say, she could have called him, 'Chairman' as he was officiating the event.
Nii 1 week ago
Late JJ Rawlings and Nana Konadu Agyemang were addressed as Old Man & Madam in the 80s by PNDC octogenarian functionaries even when they were in their early 40s. Complete idiocy from Sycophants
Tony 1 week ago
The use of Oldman is common in the Military, that is how we refer to our commanders irrespective of one’s age. In the battalion for example, we all refer to the CO as the old man and same applies in the Company and further down to the Platoon.
Kweku Tsin 1 week ago
You can call them what you want but if you work with them, for them, or under them, the professional code of conduct must be applied by addressing them as Ms and Mr. They also reciprocate the same gesture.
Brian 1 week ago
Ruthan understand and do understand that custom tradition are area specific remember that same custolm tradition culture is what make group A different from group B but it cost nothing to be decorous
KB2 1 week ago
In Russia you use the middle name and last name ,you can never use the first name if you are not a colleague
P Djamgbe 1 week ago
@KB2, thank you, in my entire life I have never seen anyone calling Putin by his first name, not even these arrogant Western journalist pricks or their leaders
Adjetey 1 week ago
We are in Africa ok.so learn your culture and that define you.
Kweku Tsin 1 week ago
You may not get it if you sell dog chain on the street. Even in Africa, teachers, workers at the bank, ministries and, law enforcement address each other by last names.
BLACK MOSES (USA) 1 week ago
GO TO THE WESTERN WORLD PICK AND LEARN WHAT IS WELL RESPECTED OF HUMAN DIGNITY AND RESPECT AND STOP SUPPORTING AND LEARNING THEIR STUPID STUFF.
Kweku Tsin 1 week ago
Forget about his money and position. Even co-workers on the same level in a professional setting address each other as Ms/Mr plus last name. That is the general decorum. This little bitch is unprofessional and out of line. Why is this a debate?.
STGHFUO: Monkey see, Monkey do 1 week ago
Fools. His name is Tony what is his problem?
Kweku Tsin 1 week ago
It is a professional code of conduct, if you ain't been there, you"ll never know.
Atugabiig 1 week ago
Sooo what? Can she call her small village chief by his first name???
Kofi 1 week ago
But they (Trump and Putin) would not mind attacking other countries abi. Let's show respect where it is due. This girl would be calling the father or husband ...hey ......in the house when she gets money or a big appointment. Africa is different. Let the West behave how they want. Just know the West appreciates out culture with discipline but would pretend it's not good.
Kay 1 week ago
African mentality. Kofi Wayoe once said Professor Tiwiii , Doctor Nana Minim Tiiiiii ,Archbishop Emeritus Professor Kwasiapanim. Bill Gates will not mind being call Bill in any event
Name 1 week ago
Kofi Wayo's case was not a formal way of calling those people. He was insulting them, which is not what we discussing here.
Kweku Tsin 1 week ago
Even the late Maya Angelou, on an Oprah show, went off on a girl that called her by her first name. At the same setting she talked about going off on Tupac for cussing around her during movie shoot.
IS KOFI WAYO CULTURED.? KOFI WAYO IS NOT DEAD AND WHERE IS HE NOW. ? DONT SUPPORT RUBBISH IF YOU YOURSELF AND YOUR FAMILY DO HAVE RESPECT FOR OTHERS LET IT BE AMONG YOU AND YOUR FAMILY
Bill gates, Zuckerberg and the rest Oprah etc they never mind when you call them by their first name infact wealthy people like being called by their first name than mr gates, mr Smith mr Zuckerberg etc but this Tony guy I don't get it he thinks he is some type of God over there in that forest called nigeria
Kwansima Matigbe 1 week ago
A Jamaican will tell STGHFUO “ya idiot”. Bill Gates,Trump and Zuckerberg grew up in a different environment with different customs. Is that too difficult to understand? Wow, your teachers really suffered teaching you. Should we send you back to school? Ebei. Na Oti so eh. D & D. Daft and Dumb.
This is. A professional, business, pubic event. Not some village or cultural platform. Such professional business speaking engagements are held across all spectrums be in in Africa or North America or Europe Asia etc.. usiness and professional setting are devoid of dogmatic cukturally sensitive decorum. GO on platform like that on youtube. This is why business and corruption is so rampant in such places in Africa. Nothing works there because they always use culture, environment and customs. Did you see any kente.cloth wearing chiefs over there? These Africans are not humble. Bill gates whom you say grew up in a different culture will come to Nigeria and a celt being called by his first name in such a setting..Tony will go to America and accept that too. The question you need to ask yourself my friend is this..if Bill gates can accept being called by his first name anywhere. Why can't Tony accept that too? It's not about culture, environment or customs. Tony has an ego problem and a hypocrite as well. Don't be afraid to confront the truth. You Tony you like wearing suits, dinning with wealthy people, engaging in wealthy habits with white people whose kids refer to you by your first name but when a.nigerian does the same you have an issue?
Agyin kwaebibrim 1 week ago
WHAT A DISRESPECTFUL AND CHILDISH COMMENT. RUTHAN HOW WERE YOU TRAINED AS A CHILD BORN BY GHANAIAN PARENTS? WHERE AND HOW WERE YOU TRAINED? ARE THERE SENSIBLE ELDERS IN YOUR FAMILY? WHICH SCHOOL DID YOU ATTEND? ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS AND YOU WILL UNDERSTAND AN ACCOMPLISHED MAN LIKE MR TONY ELUMELU. THE TRUTH IS THAT OUR PARENTAL AND CULTURAL UPBRINGING IS DIFFERENT AND SO SHOULD IT BE. HAVE YOU LIVED ABROAD BEFORE? DO YOU KNOW HOW DISJOINTED AND DISORGANIZED FAMILIES ARE? GO AND LEARN. EMPTY AND UNFIT.
This is stupid so if this man attended a businesss seminar in Canada and during the q&a session a student asks him a question and refers to him as Tony. Would he interruot and student and say don't call me Tony? This is silly and filled with unnecessary ego. If you want peoppe to call you almighty Tony then change your name to that. Your name is Tony what is your problem? Go watch YouTube and look at how peoppe talk to other wealthy people like this in public. I personally.prefer to have peoppe call me by my first name than to refer to me as mr..last name..I hate that..anytime some.uses mr or please when they speak to you they are disrespect you
Kwansima Matigbe 1 week ago
STGHFUO from which tree were you carved? Is Canada Africa? Respect and customs are very big in decent circles in Nigeria. I once saw the MD of Zenith Bank in Nigeria greeting a State Governor and he almost went flat on his stomach. Where do you think the word “OGA” came from and what is the meaning? I lived abroad for over 30 years and in decent society and proper corporate set up there’s respect for elders and titles. In the office you call your bosses “Mr A or B”. In the Inns of court it’s the same same thing. You refer to ladies as Mrs or Madam. Of you were not brought up properly you’ll write foolish things and comment just like you’ve done. You go ahead and train your children as if they hawk in the streets and it will be ok for them in future. Naniama boy. No wonder, in Ghana if you disrespect and insult elders you qualify to be a Minister.
Brian 1 week ago
Respectfully customs and culture is not contagious remember African were brought up differently in any case if you feel comfortable calling your Tony,Kwasi,John and mum no big deal it's your own cup of tea though being respectful does not take anything away from you
Prayer 1 week ago
@Ruthan,be careful not to take your stupidity or lack of home training everywhere.For,one day,if your are granted the rare opportunity to meet Trump you may even address him as " hey Trump." Strictly speaking,we the citizens,are the true employers of Trump and Putin and Mahama! We are free to abuse them in our bedrooms and on social media! In person,they are the first citizens of the land and being are treated so! Take a look at their bodyguards alone and hangers-on running after them,and you fool,you should get close to John Mahama and address himlike your area buddy,eh? On that day,call him " John" wai!
NO YOU ARE WRONG. NOT THAT YOU ARE STRONG AND HAVE MADE THEIR MARK. THE WESTERN IN THEIR OWN WAY HAVE FADED CULTURE, CUSTOMS AND TRADITIONS AND AT SO MANY POINTS DO RESPECT AND REGARD ACHIEVEMENTS. THE WESTERN WORLD STANDARD OF RESPECT AND RECOGNITION HAS BROKEN DOWN TOTALLY. HERE A PLACE WHERE A CHILD CAN TELL DAD AND MOM THAT “ THAT IS SILLY AND THE PARENTS SEE NOTHING WRONG ABOUT IT. A CHILD CAN TELL DAD AND MOM THAT “ YOU ARE NOT MAKING SENSE AND PARENTS DO NOT SEE ANYTHING WRONG ABOUT THAT. PLEASE GIVE RESPECT AND HONOUR TO WHO DESERVES THEM.
Ivory Mensah 1 week ago
If you call president Putin casually as Vladimir, the next minute you are gone to heaven or hell. The girl messed up big time. Africans especially Nigerians have a way of addressing their elders. Respect is key in our dealings. Yeye girl.
Complex 1 week ago
In the west Tony is fine because they will still respect you as boss after calling you Tony but in Ghana and maybe Nigeria even a maid servant will start disrespecting you once they become familiar
NzemaK- Use Sec'ty Recruits to build affordable houses 1 week ago
The man is right. Show some respect. Our culture is different. Imagine this fianga girl addressing this noble man as Tony.
She has already lost her future job. Mind her, this man knows a lot of big men. Yooooo
The man is right. Show some respect. Our culture is different. Imagine this fianga girl addressing this noble man as Tony.
She has already lost her future job. Mind her, this man knows a lot of big men. Yooooo
Nana 1 week ago
My great-grandfather father once told me that in the past they don't have Keys to their doors in the village.Why everybody respect himself and name. Today Big men with Titles don't respect their names when stealing but they want ppl to address them with titles in public
Complex 1 week ago
Agreed. I had a big problem with an elder and the elders said the person causing harm was older than me so he is right. The logic was basically if a forty year old man rapes a ten year old girl the man is right and the girl is wrong because she is younger. When you have idiotic elders like that you suffer.
Rush 1 week ago
What does he need titles for. We are not able to development our continent yet we are so obsessed with titles. Nkwiasem nkoaah
Test2 1 week ago
FOOLS
DO THEY FEED THE WHOLE WORLD? THOSE SO CALLED MONEY MEN ARE ALL UNDETECTED CROOKS STEALING FROM THEIR COUNTRIES IN COLLABORATIONS WITH THE CROOK AND CORRUPT POLITICIANS
FOOLS
DO THEY FEED THE WHOLE WORLD? THOSE SO CALLED MONEY MEN ARE ALL UNDETECTED CROOKS STEALING FROM THEIR COUNTRIES IN COLLABORATIONS WITH THE CROOK AND CORRUPT POLITICIANS
If someone is a Dr you don't ever call them by their first name. Dr, presidents, this is common sense. Calling this man by his first name is not disrespectful he just has an ego he can go fk gimself
+Why didn't Tony wear their local. Nigeria long outfit to this event? Had he worn that long white dress with hat im sure he woukd have been accorded the necessary alhaji respect he so. Craves. Kwasia like that
Paa Kwesi Nduom is a Dr with a PhD therefore you address him in professional environments especially as Dr. Nduom. Im sure he is addressed differently as an elder in his village
Nana 1 week ago
You guys should stop the noise! My grandpa is 86 and prefers to be called his name without titles...what is this foolish posturing, he's rich, old and so what?
NzemaK- Use Sec'ty Recruits to build affordable houses 1 week ago
Tell us you don't know the difference btw public and private places
Nana 1 week ago
Nigerians and Ghanaians value titles more than any other thing. It's part of the reason why they buy educational titles. Unfortunately they don't consider the value of their names when stealing. Soon Mahama will not be attractive to many Northerners.
Tom Po 1 week ago
If you're talking about your zoo, leave Ghana out of it, even a sitting president who was shaded by the the 'uncle Atta' accepted it when it was being used on him and never complained, he even used it on himself sometimes, referring to his citizens as 'me nuanom' meaning, my 'brothers and sisters' whenever addressing the public. This attitude is typical and the order of the day in your zoo where accolades and praises mean everything to you than human lives... Nonsense
@Nana 1 week ago
I'm a lawyer but eschew titles.
I'll never call anyone by his 1st name unless he or she is my close friend.
From Asantehene to the lowest chief in Ghana, I will not call anyone by his 1st name, not even in private.
THINK DEEP 1 week ago
You're well educated both academically and by culture. My problem is why can't we factor in the value of our names when committing crime? A bad name have influence on our families
Kwaku 1 week ago
Chairman lacks self-esteem
If you ever meet people like Tony who craves for titles and recognitions in public, then inwardly you have to know that he lacks self-esteem.
Name 1 week ago
Look, this has nothing to do with titles, but rather with CULTURE.
In some cultures, it is alright to call by people by first names without restriction, even if you are not familiar with them. In others it is strongly forbidden to do that.
I live in a country where the second category of culture rules: IT IS NOT ALLOWED TO CALL PEOPLE YOU USING THE FIRST NAME. YOU CAN ONLY CALL THEM BY FIRST NAME, IF THEY EXPLICTLY PERMIT YOU.
Germany is one of those countries. You can never call a stranger, a person of higher rank, a person you don't know, a person who is not your friend by the first name. For instance, I worked at a place, As usual I had to call my boss Mr Schmidt. But a 14-your old German boy was allowed to call him by the first name: Manfred. That was because the boys#s father was my bosses friend: both the boy and and my boss knew themselves outside office. And by norm, all other trainees called the boss Mr .... !!
So you see, it is all about culture.
TRUTH 1 week ago
Thank you.
We love to copy all the worse things without the reasons our own culture have developed standards over time.
Do you think the west will happily embrace African ideas without putting them to test.
Give an ... read full comment
Thank you.
We love to copy all the worse things without the reasons our own culture have developed standards over time.
Do you think the west will happily embrace African ideas without putting them to test.
Give an European an idea as an African, and they will even over think to find something else close but different to your original idea.
Menp3 meho as3m 1 week ago
May be ur grandpa is a very useless old f*ck thats why he doesn't care when u disrespect him by calling him in such manner foolish girl
Complex 1 week ago
Maybe you are the stupid one. I once told a girl that I was shagging not to call me bro. She thought I was a little older than her so she got to give me that respect but I explained that I shag you so no need
@Nana 1 week ago
We thank God for the long life of your grandpa. Blessings abound on him. Your grandpa has a choice and you all in the family honour his request.
My first niece started life by calling me Yaw because she grew up hearing ev ... read full comment
We thank God for the long life of your grandpa. Blessings abound on him. Your grandpa has a choice and you all in the family honour his request.
My first niece started life by calling me Yaw because she grew up hearing everyone call me that at home. I had no problem with it. Indeed I loved it . She was so close to me . When She’d gotten to about three years and was with her mother (my sister) and her dad in their own home, I noticed she started calling me Uncle Yaw. What changed? Her mother wasn’t comfortable with her calling me like she calls her friends in school. That was my sisters choice; and I respected that.
Mr.Olumelo prefers his subordinates to call him by title. his preference. Can you respect his preference just as you do for grandpa and not curse at him and other likeminded people
Kofi 1 week ago
Pls who's your grandpa?
kkkk 1 week ago
It could be that the lady has been calling him Tony in private life. When old men chase small girls and tell them call me by my first name. Can anyone tell the relationship between them? The lady forgot is a formal event.
Kojo poku-London UK 1 week ago
@TRUTH
Hmmmm. I understand Chairman Tony Elumelu stand in some way and to some extent but the poor student was also abused by the way you reacted to her simple question. This is because she was torn between not projecting ... read full comment
@TRUTH
Hmmmm. I understand Chairman Tony Elumelu stand in some way and to some extent but the poor student was also abused by the way you reacted to her simple question. This is because she was torn between not projecting you as an old person which some of us dislike. For me, the Chairman should have just let things progress smoothly rather than those humiliating corrections. We are all not perfect and as a Christian, there should always be humility. We are nothing but dust and from the dust we came and to the dust we WILL return. Death is a certainty. That is why I like Muslims even though I am a Christian. Muslims are very very humble than us Christians.
TRUTH 1 week ago
@Kojo Poku-London,, I'm sure you know by now how Nigerians talk.
Of course, I would have kept repeating,'Mr Chairman'quietly for the lady to correct her salutation but you know our wonderful distant neighbours love to talk straight, straight and buga, buga.
I think there's a clash of cultures between the old and young in Nigeria.
In fact, if he had demanded she did the Nigerian courtesy thing woman bow to men, I would have had a different opinion, but this is simple respect people give when addressing someone they need help from.
We are copying blindly.
Look at the Chinese, they have managed to drag billions plus people out of poverty without throwing away their values.
Let's copy good values not the once that do nothing and in fact, brings pain and disunity to us because we don't understand why other cultures do it.
TRUTH 1 week ago
Let's copy good values not the ones that do nothing..
Nonsense 1 week ago
How do u call Bill Gates, Elon Musk , Tony Blair, even Donald Trump ? Straight, right ?
Fd 1 week ago
There’s absolutely nothing wrong with what he did. We must understand the differences in our culture
Nana 1 week ago
You guys should stop the noise! My grandpa is 86 and prefers to be called his name without titles...what is this foolish posturing, he's rich, old and so?
Great one 1 week ago
Who's your Grand father, what's his name and achievement to his environment, without being told, can you call your uncle his first name?
Stop being stupid, yes Americans can call their president by his first name, can a Br ... read full comment
Who's your Grand father, what's his name and achievement to his environment, without being told, can you call your uncle his first name?
Stop being stupid, yes Americans can call their president by his first name, can a British call their king by his first name?
Can an Ashanti call Otumfo by his first name, can you call your father if you knew him by his first name because I suspect that the grandfather you talked about is from your mothers side
Kofi 1 week ago
Your grandpa doesn't know what he's about.
Name 1 week ago
You are very naive indeed: your grand ALLOWED YOU because you are related.
I never believe he would allow strangers, especially children who could be younger than his own grand children to call him by first name - never.
... read full comment
I never believe he would allow strangers, especially children who could be younger than his own grand children to call him by first name - never.
Anyway, with you, I'm not surprised because you hardly ever write sense on this forum.
Ojatanaa 1 week ago
Does she call her poor father by his first name she chance in the banking sector is finished just one phone call and that's it good bye
Atugabiig 1 week ago
Why should you call your senior man by his first name without first asking for permision? Even in the Western world, well bred people always ask for permision before calling people by their first names. It usually goes like this, "may I call you Tony?". Some would say "yes", while others would say "no". Why are we overcopying these so called advanced countries? What do you gain by calling your boss by his first name????? In Ghana we call it TOO KNOWN.
No wonder Africa is underdeveloped 1 week ago
So is Mr. Elumelu telling us that if this question had been asked by an Oyibo girl in London or Washington, he would have been fine with it? I mean come on Mr. Elumelu, you could have jokingly corrected this young lady without making this encounter the highlight of the event. The unnecessary obsession with titles in Africa is one of our major problems. Dr. this, Professor that, Honourable this, Emeritus that. Yes, you may have a preference but in public discourse there is a way to make your point without sounding arrogant. Very unfortunate.
Trump 1 week ago
We are Africans and should know how to address the elderly. He did well by correcting her.
Adanko 1 week ago
The young these days have no respect for. How dare her to call the man by his first name ? Is she his class mate ?
Clanlord 1 week ago
Yess, the boss was right in our culture ,as Africans respect for the elderly is a most.
Thank you boss for putting her right he meant no malice but rebuke.
Yess, the boss was right in our culture ,as Africans respect for the elderly is a most.
The lady is wrong, this is not a casual environment 1 week ago
Mr Elumelu is right in all respect. The environment and nature of business demands formal addressing
Rasta 1 week ago
Very good response from Mr Elumelu.
Just address "Sir" or "Mr Elumelu" or "Mr Chairman".
Can you address your father with his first name? Show respect in the corporate world.
Go and call a senior officer in the militar ... read full comment
Can you address your father with his first name? Show respect in the corporate world.
Go and call a senior officer in the military by his first name, you go chop slaps or address a judge in court by his first name, prison will be waiting for you.
MELO 1 week ago
Stupid girl , anything they see Europeans do they want to replicate it . The African is cursed with copying
Shamsi 1 week ago
Like wearing a suit and not an African attire. Hypocrites. Speaking English too. Lmao
Don't mind them they eat with fork n knife and wear Suite and dress shoes but want to be treated like the elders in the village..no wonder Africans are and will still remain corrupt. Even thr judged amd preachers are liars and thieves its like they are torn between good n evil.
Rekido 1 week ago
Respect shld be given to ppl who deserve it
Sir u are right ,ppl shld know reason title where given.
Kwame 1 week ago
Yet you love to wear oyibo suit and tire. Typical Africans full of contradictions
TRUTH 1 week ago
Comparing apples and oranges.
Of course, people of your kind have been encouraging copying for generations until now.
Are you surprised, of the coat, coat!
I am sure, some Africans used to mock people using African w ... read full comment
Of course, people of your kind have been encouraging copying for generations until now.
I am sure, some Africans used to mock people using African wear in the past leading to this over display of Western life.
Arabs, Asians use their local wear alongside Western clothes and develop and create value on them.
Throwing away your values lead to perpetual low self esteem and mockery.
Don 1 week ago
This is not about a gen-z thing, it's basically disrespect and uncultured swine from a poor background as child.
TT 1 week ago
This generation of uncouth kids behave anyhow. Good she was cautioned well.
Enekpala 1 week ago
Tony is trying so hard to become a pu.ssy. Interestingly he doesn't want the name is parents gave him anymore. What a poor guy ! SAD!
Enekpala 1 week ago
Tony is trying so hard to become a pu.ssy. Interestingly he doesn't want the name his parents gave him anymore. What a poor guy ! SAD!
FACTS ARE SACRED 1 week ago
CLEAR IGBO MAN
==============
A Hausa like Dangote wouldn't react this way. Igbos are a very POMPOUS and unfortunatle KRIMINAL breed.Ghana has something to learn from every tribe and creed, but we must minimize Igbo influen ... read full comment
CLEAR IGBO MAN
==============
A Hausa like Dangote wouldn't react this way. Igbos are a very POMPOUS and unfortunatle KRIMINAL breed.Ghana has something to learn from every tribe and creed, but we must minimize Igbo influences. They SPRAY the most money during festivals cos they get by money EASILY mostly through criminality
HUMILITY is not their forte....
The Hausas..are Boko Haramists, and that makes them 'limitedly' dangerous as well...
The Yorubas want money to fund their MILIKIs....which is fun fun fun....
Prayer 1 week ago
Before one can call another person who is above him( your boss,your teacher for example) by his first name,permission is granted first.This applies all over the world whether in America or in Ghana or in Russia! It is only people without home training or street urchins who refuse to observe etiquette.On social media,we address President Mahama by whatever name we choose and can even call him by our dog's name and insult him as we please! Before him is a different ballgame all together! I am not sure you will be arrested if you address the president as "John" in public,for that is his first name.But,we all know the consequences of such foolhardy behaviour.let us not pretend here.Are we saying that one can address the Asantehene as "Kweku" in front of him,when you are not his co-equal? Or call Trump,Trump if you are granted the very rare opportunity to meet him in person? You must be plain stupid or perhaps,high on Tramadol to do such crazy stuff!
Shamsi 1 week ago
Shut up unless otherwise stated its not wrong to call people by their first names
Name 1 week ago
You MUST rather shut up because you know nothing !!!
The whose issue is cultural dependent. If the Nigerian culture allows people to call public speakers by first name, then the girl was right.
But I know that no African ... read full comment
The whose issue is cultural dependent. If the Nigerian culture allows people to call public speakers by first name, then the girl was right.
But I know that no African culture permits this.
As a matter of fact, if the girl were even the spouse of that man, as long as HE WAS AT A PUBLIC EVENT, she should have used 'Mr Elumelu ..'
Even among the liberal white society, it is not every culture that allows you to call stranger by first name, UNLESS THEY HAVE EXPLICITLY PERMITTED YOU.
Germany is one such place, that you cannot call strangers, people of higher rank (like your own boss, supervisor, teacher, professor etc) by their first name.
Gra 1 week ago
Hypocritical
Kwame Nkrumah 1 week ago
I agree with Chairman. These same children call others Honourable, reverend,Pastor, papa, etc
DU 1 week ago
Hmmm. We must as well have to tell God to just add us titles to our names. Does calling somebody by first
Kennedy Agyepong 1 week ago
The man was right in every sense. Let's give respect to where it is due. We are Africans not whites. Take for example addressing Asantehene in a public event as Osei Tutu or the president as Mahama. It doesn't cost anything but respect is important. House maids will start addressing their bosses the same way. The lady will not be happy if her house maid just calls her by her name
Name 1 week ago
What's all this fuss about?
The man has every right to insist upon been addressed in the proper manner and this has nothing to do with social status, riches etc. It is just the societal norm that dictates this.
No Afri ... read full comment
The man has every right to insist upon been addressed in the proper manner and this has nothing to do with social status, riches etc. It is just the societal norm that dictates this.
No African culture permits addressing people in public using their first names. Instead, one may use terms like Chairman, Boss, Chief ... but never the first name.
So I insist that she was wrong to call the man 'Tony'
Citizen8 1 week ago
I totally agree with Chairman Elemule.
Guv'ner 1 week ago
Does Mr Elumelu look like a colleague trainee, age mate, or junior brother to her? I'm sure her parents would be embarrassed seeing this video. She has disgraced them before those who would be asking if she wasn't properly brought up. Forcing "Oyimbo" lifestyle is her problem.
Guv'ner 1 week ago
Even me, a nobody, won't tolerate younger persons calling me by my first name, even if they're my boss.
Ghana My Motherland 1 week ago
You don't want onyibo things but you're wearing oyibo suit. Hm
TRUTH 1 week ago
Does Oyibo like to drink Nigga oil?
You don't have to copy everything, especially, valueless stuff.
There are also certain names and salutations Oyibo will not tolerate.
Why didn't Tony wear their local. Nigeria long outfit to this event? Had he worn that long white dress with hat im sure he woukd have been accorded the necessary alhaji respect he so. Craves. Kwasia like that
TRUTH 1 week ago
@STGHFUO: Monkey see, Monkey..your name alone shows how unprincipled you are.
The fact someone is wearing coat to an event doesn't mean you should disrespect them.
Do you even know why he was named, chairman for the eve ... read full comment
The fact someone is wearing coat to an event doesn't mean you should disrespect them.
Do you even know why he was named, chairman for the event?
Oh I forgot you may not understand this, because you are monkey see, monkey do. Hahahaha.
Mimi 1 week ago
Can somebody help me here? Do the western world have culture? Culture is the shared of life of a group of people. There is nothing good to learn from their way of life. They have no shame, no discipline, no family values and no respect.
And Africans are blindly learning from the western world like everything they are doing are the best. Why is it hard for us to cherish what we have? Our way of life. Respect for our elders. Respect is earned. Now that I am old, I don’t even call my classmates by their first names, because they are fathers and mothers, respected people in the society.
Name 1 week ago
Please give me the definition of CULTURE!!
Gaskia 1 week ago
Just because she has fake hair and nails, she thinks she had arrived, so she can abandon the respect for elders that Nigerian culture is known for, and address the one who can open doors to her anyhow. And when doors are closed to her she'll start moving from one "prophet" to another to fight "spiritual battles" for her.
Bogus meaningless titles 1 week ago
Foolish stupid animal Nigerians who the shit do you think you are with your meaningless arrogant tittle?? You are billionaire so what you? You are one of those idiots who think respect is bought She's never wrong addressing you by first name stupid. Get lost with your arrogance
kelewele 1 week ago
You are a big fool. The Western world has no morals and values that is why little children call the elderly by their first names. Kwasia…
Bogus meaningless titles 1 week ago
Foolish gutter rat kelewele.. if you think is compulsory why not sue in court anyone who calls you by your first name. Nobody is your kid to be teaching your right. Get the fck out of here with idiotic brain
Koti 1 week ago
Both are correct; it's all about differences in culture. In Ghana "aunty nurse" is widely accepted but elsewhere it's a taboo.
Amanda C 1 week ago
1000 per cent correct of him
muntari. 1 week ago
Who are you Aboa goat ?
Sappey Agboh 1 week ago
Honestly, I find it disgusting and disconcerting reading from Ghanaians who found nothing wrong with the way the young woman addressed the Chairman. Hello the Chairman's remarks had nothing to do with titles, rather it was about culture. In the German speaking countries, you can't address your boss or a stranger by their first name. For example when speaking to a friend, colleagues or family, you use 'du' however, when addressing your boss or a stranger you use 'Sie'. That's the difference. In the UK, black or Asian kids don't call their parents uncles, aunties, or grandparents or even elderly people by their first name. However, in white households, they don't pay much attention to these courtesy. Even an Asian young person will address me, an elderly African as 'uncle'. It's sad that, some young Africans think copying the west blindly is cool. It's not.
Name 1 week ago
@Sappey Agboh
So do I. I don't understand why some are bashing Mr Tony Eluwelu !!
The German culture has gone so deep into my system so much so that when I briefly worked in England, I was the odd-man-out: I would alway ... read full comment
@Sappey Agboh
The German culture has gone so deep into my system so much so that when I briefly worked in England, I was the odd-man-out: I would always call my managers and supervisors as Mr XX..., Mr YY ..., just as we do in Germany.
They always told me to use their first names but I could not because I wasn't simply used to that.
Of course, among my peers, I find no problem being on first names with them.
To me, the young woman should even APOLOGIZE for calling him Tony in public.
Adjetey 1 week ago
Very inappropriate
abena 1 week ago
yu cant call him tony, in the first place he is older than u,
she has kissed her career good bye.
ist from the girls training. she cant call her father by his first name...
abena 1 week ago
at least, she could have called him sir,
what a girl..
PERFECT! 1 week ago
Now someone is teaching the youth how to respect. You come and stand in front of somone's respectable father and call him "Tony" just because you are sleeping with men double his age.
Well done for correcting the child SIR!
Now someone is teaching the youth how to respect. You come and stand in front of somone's respectable father and call him "Tony" just because you are sleeping with men double his age.
CANADA AGANCY 1 week ago
A TRUSTED, HONEST, SINCERE traveL agency IS in Lagos Nigeria is recruiting Ghanaians and Nigerians for job openings in Canada, aLL the traveL Logistics wiLL be taken care of by the agency for aLL appLicants on the condition that the appLicants wiLL start paying back once they start working in Canada, if you know peopLe that might be interested in Living and working in Canada, teLL them to contact the traveL agency on WhatsApp via ☎️+2348082712224 ☎️.........!!
Tosh 1 week ago
No african in his right senses, should address his father's age mate by his first name. If she had said 'Sir', it wouldn't have diminished the content of her presentation.
Kojo poku-London UK 1 week ago
Hmmmm. I understand Chairman Tony Elumelu stand in some way and to some extent but the poor student was also abused by the way you reacted to her simple question. This is because she was torn between not projecting you as an old person which some of us dislike. For me, the Chairman should have just let things progress smoothly rather than those humiliating corrections. We are all not perfect and as a Christian, there should always be humility. We are nothing but dust and from the dust we came and to the dust we WILL return. Death is a certainty. That is why I like Muslims even though I am a Christian. Muslims are very very humble than us Christians.
We Are Tired 1 week ago
So you mean you will stand up and address Dr Bawumia, a Muslim, as "good morning Mahamudu" at an official gathering and no Muslim will complain? Be serious when you're making public statements.
Nii 1 week ago
Do we call our mothers and father's by their first names? We only pick the nonsense of the Whiteman and call it normal. The good, we never copy. How do u call ur elders by their first name?
Test2 1 week ago
FOOLS SHOWOFF AND POMPOUCITY ALL THE TIME WHILST THEIR COUNTRIES BEG FOR IMF LOANS BEFORE SURVIVING STARVATION
INCASE THERE IS AN EARTH QUAKE RIGHT NOW OVER THERE WOULDN'T YOU RAN AS ANYBODY THERE OR IF THERE IS A PLANE CRA ... read full comment
FOOLS SHOWOFF AND POMPOUCITY ALL THE TIME WHILST THEIR COUNTRIES BEG FOR IMF LOANS BEFORE SURVIVING STARVATION
INCASE THERE IS AN EARTH QUAKE RIGHT NOW OVER THERE WOULDN'T YOU RAN AS ANYBODY THERE OR IF THERE IS A PLANE CRASH WOULD YOU BE LEFT OUT BECAUSE OF YOUR CHAIRMANSHIP?
WE ARE ALL EQUAL BECAUSE WITHOUT SHOEMAKERS YOU WILL WALK BAREFOOTED
FOOLS
Sycamore 1 week ago
Africans are just way too stupid
Africans copy everything the Whiteman does except his commonsense. Do we as black people and Africans for that matter have to copy everything western? Western culture,western dressing,western religion,western gayism,western weddings and now western disrespect for elders. Why won't we be addressed as Shithole Africa!
In any case will that silly small girl address her father by his name? Is the man not old enough to be her father? Let's be serious!
Gordon 1 week ago
She was wrong to call him TONY
OZYMANDIAS 1 week ago
Can that silky brat call her father by his first name? The cheek of it?
Good morning Paa Kwesi!
Vladimir Putin and Donald Trump will not mind being addressed as Vladimir or Donny in public. Why bcoz they've a strong mentality and have already made their mark. They've so many important things to think about instead of ti ...
As for Vladimir you may ha ...
Don't you hear him say, she could have called him, 'Chairman' as he was officiating th ...
The use of Oldman is common in the Military, that is how we refer to our commanders irrespective of one’s age. In the battalion for example, we all refer to the CO as the old man and same applies in the Company and further ...
Forget about his money and position. Even co-workers on the same level in a professional setting address each other as Ms/Mr plus last name. That is the general decorum. This little bitch is unprofessional and out of line. Wh ...
But they (Trump and Putin) would not mind attacking other countries abi. Let's show respect where it is due. This girl would be calling the father or husband ...hey ......in the house when she gets money or a big appointment. ...
Bill gates, Zuckerberg and the rest Oprah etc they never mind when you call them by their first name infact wealthy people like being called by their first name than mr gates, mr Smith mr Zuckerberg etc but this Tony guy I do ...
A Jamaican will tell STGHFUO “ya idiot”. Bill Gates,Trump and Zuckerberg grew up in a different environment with different customs. Is that too difficult to understand? Wow, your teachers really suffered teaching you. Sho ...
This is. A professional, business, pubic event. Not some village or cultural platform. Such professional business speaking engagements are held across all spectrums be in in Africa or North America or Europe Asia etc.. usines ...
WHAT A DISRESPECTFUL AND CHILDISH COMMENT. RUTHAN HOW WERE YOU TRAINED AS A CHILD BORN BY GHANAIAN PARENTS? WHERE AND HOW WERE YOU TRAINED? ARE THERE SENSIBLE ELDERS IN YOUR FAMILY? WHICH SCHOOL DID YOU ATTEND? ANSWER THESE Q ...
This is stupid so if this man attended a businesss seminar in Canada and during the q&a session a student asks him a question and refers to him as Tony. Would he interruot and student and say don't call me Tony? This is silly ...
STGHFUO from which tree were you carved? Is Canada Africa? Respect and customs are very big in decent circles in Nigeria. I once saw the MD of Zenith Bank in Nigeria greeting a State Governor and he almost went flat on his st ...
Respectfully customs and culture is not contagious remember African were brought up differently in any case if you feel comfortable calling your Tony,Kwasi,John and mum no big deal it's your own cup of tea though being respec ...
@Ruthan,be careful not to take your stupidity or lack of home training everywhere.For,one day,if your are granted the rare opportunity to meet Trump you may even address him as " hey Trump." Strictly speaking,we the citizens, ...
NO YOU ARE WRONG. NOT THAT YOU ARE STRONG AND HAVE MADE THEIR MARK. THE WESTERN IN THEIR OWN WAY HAVE FADED CULTURE, CUSTOMS AND TRADITIONS AND AT SO MANY POINTS DO RESPECT AND REGARD ACHIEVEMENTS. THE WESTERN WORLD STANDARD ...
If you call president Putin casually as Vladimir, the next minute you are gone to heaven or hell. The girl messed up big time. Africans especially Nigerians have a way of addressing their elders. Respect is key i ...
My great-grandfather father once told me that in the past they don't have Keys to their doors in the village.Why everybody respect himself and name. Today Big men with Titles don't respect their names when stealing but they ...
Agreed. I had a big problem with an elder and the elders said the person causing harm was older than me so he is right. The logic was basically if a forty year old man rapes a ten year old girl the man is right and the girl i ...
FOOLS
Nigerians and Ghanaians value titles more than any other thing. It's part of the reason why they buy educational titles. Unfortunately they don't consider the value of their names when stealing. Soon Mahama will not be attrac ...
If you're talking about your zoo, leave Ghana out of it, even a sitting president who was shaded by the the 'uncle Atta' accepted it when it was being used on him and never complained, he even used it on himself sometimes, re ...
In some cultures, it is alright to call by people by first names without restriction, even if you are not familiar with them. In others it is strongly forb ...
Thank you.
Give an ...
My first niece started life by calling me Yaw because she grew up hearing ev ...
Pls who's your grandpa?
@TRUTH
Hmmmm. I understand Chairman Tony Elumelu stand in some way and to some extent but the poor student was also abused by the way you reacted to her simple question. This is because she was torn between not projecting ...
Of course, I would have kept repeating,'Mr Chairman'quietly for the lady to correct her salutation but you know our wonderful distant neighbours love to talk ...
Stop being stupid, yes Americans can call their president by his first name, can a Br ...
Why should you call your senior man by his first name without first asking for permision? Even in the Western world, well bred people always ask for permision before calling people by their first names. It usually goes like t ...
So is Mr. Elumelu telling us that if this question had been asked by an Oyibo girl in London or Washington, he would have been fine with it? I mean come on Mr. Elumelu, you could have jokingly corrected this young lady withou ...
Go and call a senior officer in the militar ...
Don't mind them they eat with fork n knife and wear Suite and dress shoes but want to be treated like the elders in the village..no wonder Africans are and will still remain corrupt. Even thr judged amd preachers are liars an ...
I am sure, some Africans used to mock people using African w ...
CLEAR IGBO MAN
==============
A Hausa like Dangote wouldn't react this way. Igbos are a very POMPOUS and unfortunatle KRIMINAL breed.Ghana has something to learn from every tribe and creed, but we must minimize Igbo influen ...
Before one can call another person who is above him( your boss,your teacher for example) by his first name,permission is granted first.This applies all over the world whether in America or in Ghana or in Russia! It is only pe ...
But I know that no African ...
Hypocritical
The man was right in every sense. Let's give respect to where it is due. We are Africans not whites. Take for example addressing Asantehene in a public event as Osei Tutu or the president as Mahama. It doesn't cost anything b ...
No Afri ...
Does Mr Elumelu look like a colleague trainee, age mate, or junior brother to her? I'm sure her parents would be embarrassed seeing this video. She has disgraced them before those who would be asking if she wasn't properly br ...
Do you even know why he was named, chairman for the eve ...
Can somebody help me here? Do the western world have culture? Culture is the shared of life of a group of people. There is nothing good to learn from their way of life. They have no shame, no discipline, no family values and ...
Just because she has fake hair and nails, she thinks she had arrived, so she can abandon the respect for elders that Nigerian culture is known for, and address the one who can open doors to her anyhow. And when doors are clos ...
Foolish stupid animal Nigerians who the shit do you think you are with your meaningless arrogant tittle?? You are billionaire so what you? You are one of those idiots who think respect is bought She's never wrong addressing y ...
Who are you Aboa goat ?
Honestly, I find it disgusting and disconcerting reading from Ghanaians who found nothing wrong with the way the young woman addressed the Chairman. Hello the Chairman's remarks had nothing to do with titles, rather it was ab ...
@Sappey Agboh
The German culture has gone so deep into my system so much so that when I briefly worked in England, I was the odd-man-out: I would alway ...
Very inappropriate
what a girl..
A TRUSTED, HONEST, SINCERE traveL agency IS in Lagos Nigeria is recruiting Ghanaians and Nigerians for job openings in Canada, aLL the traveL Logistics wiLL be taken care of by the agency for aLL appLicants on the condition t ...
Hmmmm. I understand Chairman Tony Elumelu stand in some way and to some extent but the poor student was also abused by the way you reacted to her simple question. This is because she was torn between not projecting you as an ...
INCASE THERE IS AN EARTH QUAKE RIGHT NOW OVER THERE WOULDN'T YOU RAN AS ANYBODY THERE OR IF THERE IS A PLANE CRA ...
Africans copy everything the Whiteman does except his commonsense. Do we as black people and Africans for that matter have to copy everything western? Western culture,western dressing,wester ...
That SILLY and DISGUSTING Brat………
That lady is sick
Really? Fo callin somebody by his name?