Supreme Court declares delegate system unconstitutional

Read Comments Comments (117)

• The Truth 4 hours ago

What does this ruling mean?
    Does it mean no more harvest day for delegates?

• A 4 hours ago

A big win for democracy and a fight against party politics corruption especially at the delegates voting system

• Kofi Akpaloo 4 hours ago

Bawumia has shit watery toilet in his Fulani agbada at Adenta Walewale. Naniaama

• Kofi 3 hours ago

Don't you have anything befitting an intellectual discourse to say, Bro?

• Kwabena Duku 2 hours ago

Am surprise but sure he has nothing cos Low IQ

• FRANKIE 2 hours ago

This is more representative of the party grassroots members and will most likely limit the 'harvest day' syndrome in our parliamentary and presidential primaries but at the same time it will be quite expensive to organize ele ...

• Classics GH 1 hour ago

That will also mean more holidays for voting purposes, just like it's done for national elections. However, it has fallen short in terms of fairness, because it should have been extended to include all elections from polling ...

• A Ghanaian. 3 hours ago

KOFI AKPLOO IS AN APE. GE HAS NO SENSE

• sotrue 3 hours ago

Kofi Akpaloo the langur of an animal and a stooge

• Yoo 3 hours ago

Hahahahaa..!! Does it mean, Alhaji Bawumia is a walking illegality?

• Classics GH 1 hour ago

I don't think it will apply retrospectively. He has already been elected.

• Kk. 1 hour ago

Jesus loves even the foolish behaviours

• Kwaku Tee 4 hours ago

How can this be implemented . Practically it's impossible. Who will monitor that Efo Koku don't register in North Tongu as NDC member and come to Adenta and do same as NPP just bcoz he wants a building contract?

• Kwame 4 hours ago

Are you serious??....HAVE YOU HEARD THE WORD BIOMETRIC BEFORE?

• Batuta 4 hours ago

This particular Supreme Court may soon pass judgement against its existence. What is unconstitutional about selecting people to choose their leader? Their next project is to clear the way for Nebuchadnezzar Mahama to run for ...

• Top-Bottom Approach 3 hours ago

Hahahaha. Kotokoli Bawumia should be dragged back by the anus of his trousers. Flag bearer for the where? Ajeeeeer. My stomach. Buy votes make we see now. Idiots. No wonder Bossnan Asare and Tettey has run away from the Elect ...

• Jahbless 4 hours ago

Massa everything is practicable under this earth,doom sayers

• Tee Kay 1 hour ago

God, in His own wisdom created human beings in His image, and granted them all kinds of skills, talents, ideas, wisdom, etc so that they can do or come up with anything or any plan that will help society. And other human bei ...

• Sam T 1 hour ago

The ndc has done this before, it is possible

• Tee Kay 1 hour ago

There is "YOU CAN'T DO IT" and "YOU DON'T WANT TO OR HAVE DECIDED NOT TO DO IT".
    The problem with Africa, which is very sad is that the leadership in Africa CAN DO IT but they HAVE DECIDED NOT TO DO IT.
    Why? Because if they ...

• K. Opoku-London-UK 4 hours ago

Good NEWS-NO MORE VOTE BUYING DEMOCRACY

• Jahbless 4 hours ago

Yes oooh my brother,no more cocoa season for some fools who always sees money first before competent and national development.

• "PLEA BARGAIN" IS A DEADLY TERRIBLE SELECTIVE JUDICIAL PRECEDENCE IN A NAKEDLY CORRUPT NATION LIKE GHANA 3 hours ago

"PLEA BARGAIN" IS A DEADLY TERRIBLE SELECTIVE JUDICIAL PRECEDENCE IN A NAKEDLY CORRUPT NATION LIKE GHANA WITH HARDCORE PREMEDITATED ECONOMIC CRIMINALS LIKE AKUFO-ADDO, KUFUOR AND ALL THEIR APPOINTEES.

"PLEA BARGAIN" SHOULD ...

• Adwoa 3 hours ago

Who were the two Justices who descended, I know Justice Gaewu is one but was Kulundi or who was the other ?

• sotrue 3 hours ago

excellent decision by the supreme court . cocoa season for delegates has come to an end

• THIS WILL COLLAPSE THE NPP PAAA 3 hours ago

THIS WILL COLLAPSE THE NPP

• Blade 2 hours ago

Now I will contest to be an MP

• SIGMA, LONDON 4 hours ago

This is a good system. A few stupid people should not decide for all.

• Nana Akomea 3 hours ago

For Example. A Jubilee House Super Goats TESCON Delegates Conference led by Kofi Bentil. Aboa bi ba

• Gameli Noviwo 3 hours ago

Excellent ruling by the SC. By the way, when will the SC cap the exorbitant costs of filing forms for aspiring candidates? The exorbitant costs are the main source of corruption in our political party system, where rich but w ...

• George Diasempe 4 hours ago

Excellent, the beginning of tackling political corruption.

• AK 4 hours ago

Is the Supreme Court now going to control the Constitutions of the political parties? We are waiting for the details.

• AyyBeeCee 4 hours ago

Not necessarily, but the constitution of political parties must be in conformity with the constitution of Ghana.

• Ruthan 4 hours ago

We've not reached that stage where this SC ruling can be implemented. What this means is all political parties shd have a biometric register, where soft copies will be available to check Duplication of membership.Forget about ...

• Vote Buying Yaamatu! 4 hours ago

They have 1 Yr to implement it. They better get on with it. The money-buying of votes have ended.

• plo 2 hours ago

And when do you want us to wait and reach? These politicians have taken us for a ride. All these bribes they give to delegates, they end up recouping them 100-fold when they win power. As a matter of fact, it is usually the f ...

• Kwame 4 hours ago

A political party constitution cannot go against the constitution of Ghana

• GOOD JOB, DELEGATE SYSTEM IS CORRUPT -GHANA SHALL WORK AGAIN 4 hours ago

GHANA SHALL WORK AGAIN

• Donatus 4 hours ago

This ruling is called "Bribe all of us if you can".

• Kofi123 4 hours ago

I tell you.

Bawumia cannot be a valid presidential candidate after this decision for the 2028 elections. The parties must present candidates who comply with this judgment.
    Long overdue development in Ghana.

Next requirement district ...

• AyyBeeCee 4 hours ago

Only in Ghana that district assembly members are elected by the populace but the district chief executive, who presides over them, is appointed by the ruling party.

• Aponkye 4 hours ago

The DCE does not preside in the assembly meetings

• plo 2 hours ago

Yeah, the presiding member is the member who presides over assembly meetings (just like the Speaker of Parliament). The presiding member is elected by at least a two-thirds majority of Assembly members present and voting. Dis ...

• wakus 4 hours ago

Then president Mahama who was elected by delegates system is also not valid if the ruling should be retrospective

• Name 2 hours ago

And who told you the ruling is retrospective?

If it is they, we can also delete Akufo Addos name from the list of ex presidents.

Joker !!

• COMMENT 4 hours ago

SUPREME COURT RULING DOES NOT AFFECT PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATES ALREADY ELECTED BY CANDIDATES.
    The cancelation of elections by Delegates takes immediate effect from today. Those which are already in place are valid. The Supre ...

• Bigray Obuasi-KTS 1 hour ago

@George,supreme court vindicts are not retrogressive wae.
    Meaning it does not affect decision after it's final stake unless it uses the word '' quashed ''
    You can find out from legal sources.

• Owusu acheaw 4 hours ago

Hopefully, this will stop the BRIBING OF THE DELEGATES

• Michael 4 hours ago

With this judgement, Asiedu Nketiah will win the NDC presidential ticket if he should contest because the party is fully behind him!

• Kwame 4 hours ago

Asiedu Nketia might become like Akuffo Addo if we make him president in this country.....ONLY JOHN MAHAMA CAN SAVE US BY MAKING SURE THE UPCOMING CONSTITUTIONAL REVIEW AND REFERENDUM IS EMBEDDED WITH LAWS WHICH BLOCKS THE MAN ...

• Pelicles 2 hours ago

Sir, let me ask you a simple question. If for example, I have 100 workers with a budget of 1 million cedis a year, and you have 40 workers with a budget of 2 million cedis a year, who spends more money of his workers?

Now, ...

• COMMENT 4 hours ago

PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATES ALREADY ELECTED BY DELEGATES ARE VILID.
    THISE YET TO BE ELECTED MUST COMPLY WITH THE RULING BY THE SUPREME COURT.

• JJ 4 hours ago

here is the ended path to bribing delegate

• Tt 4 hours ago

Good news, the delegates cocoa farms has burnt

No more VOTE BUYING DEMOCRACY

• Mess 4 hours ago

Well done Supreme Court. It will not eliminate Corruption but minimise it.

• Charles 4 hours ago

At long last, we have a court which is there to protect and preserve the interest of the citizens. The monitization of our electoral system through the delegate system is a threat to our democracy. It excluded the poor from t ...

Good NEWS-NO MORE VOTE BUYING DEMOCRACY. Democracy-is the GOVERNMENT OF THE PEOPLE, BY THE PEOPLE and OF THE PEOPLE. DEMOCRACY IS NOT ABOUT MONETISATION OF DEMOCRACY-IF YOU HAVE MORE MONEY-YOU WIN

The order takes effect in 2028. It is not retrospective. I submit that any candidate in 2028 be it presidential or parliamentary must comply with this order.

• HAPPY DAYS 4 hours ago

Shieee!!!!! I was planning to be a delegate but nevertheless,the influence of party gurus has come to an end,it is where the evil corrupt patronage system begins and permeates into public and civil service appointments,next o ...

• Kwamina 4 hours ago

In Ghana we make laws which we don't adhere to. Some may describe them as "toothless" laws. Let's hope that this decision of the Supreme Court will be strictly implemented.

• Tosh 4 hours ago

This is a big step in the fight against corruption in the body politique. Huge sums paid to delegates, is usually recouped by corrupt means in office.

• Eeeeeeeei! The Witches In My Family Are Working Hard OOOO! 4 hours ago

I was just elected a Delegate in my town and have targetted my GHC10,000.00 to get from the Delegates to start my small business.

Can't the SC make this judgement in 2029. When its my turn to enjoy small the witches in my ...

• Prof 4 hours ago

So what happens to turn one who has already been elected by delayed but will contest an election that comes after the one year moratorium. I think by the 2028 elections, all flag bearers should have been elected not by delega ...

• Jk 3 hours ago

This is the best ruling ever. Money for delegates is over. Well done our beloved Judges.

• Konko 3 hours ago

Very well done to you (Supreme Court.) You deserve an award. The delegates system amounts to vote buying which is not free and fair

• THEN NPP ELECTION IS…… 3 hours ago

IF THIS PRACTICE IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL THEN NPP ELECTION OF BAWUMIA WAS DONE IN VIOLATION OF THE CONSTITUTION, THEREFORE HIS ELECTION IS NULL AND VIOD.

• Zakarakis 3 hours ago

No problem. After all democracy is government by the people and for the people.

• Stephen 3 hours ago

This ruling is really good and in place to curtail all the corruption motives among the parties.

• Sami USA 3 hours ago

Bravo s court , our beloved country is working again
    Vote buying during elections have ended .

• CONSCIENCE IS NOT IN THE MINDSET OF GHANA'S ENTIRE LEADERSHIP. THEY ARE INTERESTED ONLY IN LOOTING THE NATION TO SECURE THE FUTURE OF THEMSELVES DOWN TO THEIR NEXT 10 GENERATIONS. 3 hours ago

"PLEA BARGAIN" IS A DEADLY TERRIBLE SELECTIVE JUDICIAL PRECEDENCE IN A NAKEDLY CORRUPT NATION LIKE GHANA WITH HARDCORE PREMEDITATED ECONOMIC CRIMINALS LIKE AKUFO-ADDO, KUFUOR AND ALL THEIR APPOINTEES.

"PLEA BARGAIN" SHOUL ...

• Kofi 3 hours ago

Kudos to the Apex Court.

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 3 hours ago

RESETTING GHANA HAS BEGAN. THE FORMER THINGS IN WHICH WONTUMI AND CO BECAME SEMI/ gods ARE NO MORE

• Blessed Ayaala 3 hours ago

With thus, Ken will win the NPP presidential primaries in 2032

• Komla 2 hours ago

I am an NDC supporter but I will vote for Kennedy Agyapong with all my heart. We need a leader who can transform the country, create jobs and ensure that there is discipline in the country. A leader who can take the bull by t ...

• SD.com 3 hours ago

Vote buying dead

• Mental charter 3 hours ago

So why are judges not elected like the executives and legislature? Why do 7 unelected judges to decide the fate of the society?

• Kwame Nkrumah 3 hours ago

Excellent Excellent

• Mt103 USDT USA loading banks Canada link upTO up with all usa canada banks loading german too fixed crefit Scott mt103 3 hours ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    We are sending wire transfer and direct wasap him hamzaben.d@ hackermail. Com email email me your number I will wasap u or lawyer@presidency.com flashing to any country
    Ch ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 3 hours ago

THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER FOR GHANA POLITICS SINCE SLICED BREAD!!!!! Now Let the Bribery Begin and End with EVERY SINGLE MEMBER. Now We are TALKING POLITICS!!! WHO BORN DOG ????????

• Nsor 3 hours ago

Thanks to our three true and great leaders

• John 2 hours ago

Well done supreme

• Kwame Owusu-Afranie 2 hours ago

Thank you so much the Supreme Court of Ghana. God richly bless you. This is a great day for democracy in Ghana. I know the political parties will oppose this but we won’t allow them to do so. They have taken us for granted ...

• FatGH 2 hours ago

Good move. Lets see how candidates can bribe delegates plus those in good standing. This is meant to expand the electoral collage. Not merely relying on polling stations officers who are given motorbikes, soap tv sets and cas ...

• DDT 2 hours ago

Let's applaud the supreme court. This is a win for democracy and a stop to corruption.

• Kofi 2 hours ago

This is the way forward, it will drastically reduce vote buying

• Wise Man. 2 hours ago

The delegates business in Ghana politic is dead and gone forever and Ghana is going to enjoy.Wicked so call Delegates.

• Andropov 2 hours ago

Supreme Court why, e catch my cocoa season nor you stop am. Ibe chief delegate ohh

• Asonaba asiedu 2 hours ago

We now have a proper, independent and effective judicial system, unlike the recent past.

• Alokoto 2 hours ago

They will use their galamsey monies to buy voters. Nothing is difficult for the Ghanaian. They are like the rat which quickly digs another hole as an exit when trouble comes.

• Great day 2 hours ago

Great day for Ghana democracy

• TWEAAAAAA 2 hours ago

ARE THESE GUYS SERIOUS AT ALL?

• Kakaweadwe 2 hours ago

Good for democracy. We live to see a day when all delegates will be given envelopes, mobile phones and flat screen tvs as incentives. Indeed, the "cocoa farms "of delegates have been destroyed by "hamatthan bush fire "

• Achakanapaya 2 hours ago

Very good decision.
    This will stop monetization of the election in Ghana I believe.

• Enoch Jabab. 2 hours ago

Best news of the year.

• Kofi Dee 2 hours ago

The era of delegates voting for the highest bidder in politics is over, and that’s a relief. Democracy is destined to prevail. However, political parties still need to raise funds to support primary elections. My question i ...

• Sansambila 2 hours ago

New presidential primaries awaits Npp. Ec will not accept a presidential candidate elected by delegates per this ruling.

• Pelicles 1 hour ago

NPP elected their leader before this ruling, and it has no effect on that. At times, let's think deep a little bit without exposing ourselves to be ridiculed.

• Eric ababio 1 hour ago

that is good news our parties should fine a way to get money for their elections but it's will not be easy

• KS 1 hour ago

This is a positive decision by the SC to scrap our delegate system in our voting process. Besides the delegates being very corrupt and taking bribes to favor certain candidates, the new system will give every Ghanaian voter a ...

• Pelicles 1 hour ago

Now, let see if those with big mouth can buy every voter. The Justices at the Apex court hears what goes on during the delegates election and I believe they have come to a conclusion to end the monetization of the system.

• Kojo 1 hour ago

How I wish the NPP had waited a little bit more for their presidential candidate elections.

• TK 1 hour ago

Moneycrasy is gone.Aspirants cannot bribe quality voters.

• Owuo 1 hour ago

Sence when did they see that it is uncontitusional?
    Thanks goes to the great Zito ambassador tv.. The wisdom pot.

• Truth 1 hour ago

Too a great extent it will stop corruption and prevent the elections of crooks and idiots and thieves

• Sense 1 hour ago

Big win for democracy

• Kobla 50 minutes ago

Ghana is working again. I thank the Supreme court for this ruling. This will help us elect the right people to lead this country. It is better late than never. God bless my homeland Ghana

• Chief Benito 31 minutes ago

The constitution should allow us to vote for our DCE`s and MCE`s

• GFA is Next ! 28 minutes ago

Very Good ! Next is the GFA....we can't allow just a handful of individuals to determine the whole country's destiny when it comes to football !

• GFA is Next ! 27 minutes ago

• Clanlord 14 minutes ago

I love this , now splash money(s) and let see

• Abotsi 14 minutes ago

I am now going for my party card. This is the end of some people