THE TINDANANCY AND NORTHERN TERRITORIES' POLITICS (MODERN DAY NORTHERN REGION OF GHANA).
Many people, including Europeans, acknowledged that the Tindanas were already having their custodian roles as caretakers of ... read full comment
THE TINDANANCY AND NORTHERN TERRITORIES' POLITICS (MODERN DAY NORTHERN REGION OF GHANA).
Many people, including Europeans, acknowledged that the Tindanas were already having their custodian roles as caretakers of the lands on behalf of land gods. Naturally, a Tindana is an earth chief priest who may be a leader of a clan that is the first indigenous occupant of that land and purifies the land by pouring libations, communicating, performing sacrifices, or performing any other ritual to the earth gods. Tindanas are very powerful people with regard to land use and land ownership systems. In Northern Territory politics, Tindanas are pure traditional African believers. Until the arrival of British indirect rulers, these were powerful people equal to governors. A Tindana was never second to anyone except the land gods. That was why they were called Earth Chief Priests. They were modern-day ceremonial leaders and sometimes led their people in defense of the land, properties, and people in the advent of war. A Tindana was more than a mere chief who came to settle on the land for businesses or any expedition. Whoever comes to the Northern Territories has to revere them before doing business with them. The Europeans had already planned to weaken the Tindanas and do away with their nemesis. This was evidenced by the Berlin Conference, chaired by Otto von Bismarck. So when the Germans came to the Northern Territories and tried aggression, the Tindanas fought them. They later have to lower themselves in order to be able to do business with them. Remember that indigenous people already interacted with Arabs, Moroccans, and Europeans during slavery before the Germans who came for control and colonization after the Berlin Conference. During the First World War, most of the Tindanas led their people to help the Germans fight the other Europeans. The Germans lost the war. The British blame the Tindanas and indigenous people for helping the Germans. In their quest to punish the Tindanas, they were represented by indirect rulers in Nigeria, Ghana, the Northern Territories, and other parts of the world. They form a political system in the Northern Territories and intentionally neglect the Tindanas by using chiefs to do their business. Tindanas who opted out went to war with the British colonizers. In areas like Chale (modern-day Yendi), which was the traditional capital of the Northern Territory's Tindanas and indigenous people, fighting erupted. The British with powerful machine guns and AK-47s overcome the situation. Some Tindanas take covers, and the British rely on their indirect rulers(Chiefs) to form a political system that created Mamprugu Province, Dagomba Province, and Gonja Province.The British supported the indirect rulers with structural administration, persuasion to merge allies, incentives to some local people, and military support in order to peacefully control the Northern Territories. Interestingly, these are Muslim religious believers who have no relationship with traditional land ritual systems and people. They need the support of the Tindanas in some of the sacred areas like Bawku, Chale (Yendi), and other areas to communicate with the Land Gods. These chaotic systems of confusion was brought by the British in their quest for the British Empire. Any argument that says Northern Territories Tindanas and indigenous people were not formed, have no political system to control their lands, and did not have any governance structural system practicing before the arrival of the British indirect rulers are false, fallacious, mischievous, nebulous, and plunderous. Such commentaries are fabrications by bigots who helped Europeans plundered the Northern Territories.
Part 2 is what happened during independence and post independent. Is just mind blowing. Coming soon...
FRANKIE 2 days ago
Very wise and true words from the Rt. Hon. Speaker. I have always believed same and I hope parents will listen. The earliest a child should leave for further studies overseas should be after a first degree. At least by then some form of family values, native wisdom and attachment to the community and nationalism and patriotism would have been acquired.
Monkey see, Monkey do 2 days ago
False. I know Ghanaians who left Ghana after undergrad to do their graduate studies overseas and many have vowed not to return ever or have any property or relations then again the wicked families and living situations in Ghana for many don't encourage them to return either. Blacks are very wicked. Not all but several and I dont understand why..stealing etc
Oklemekuku 2 days ago
a few compared to those who go abroad younger
Ruthan 2 days ago
Alban Sumana Bagbin himself was in Libya to hustle as an English teacher. Late Peter Ala Adjettey of NPP saved him for him to join politics. Had it not been so he would've ran back.Let him solve the economic problems and stop lamenting.
Kwaku Tee 2 days ago
The Speaker's comment is a bit debatable. There are many who grew up to their adult life b4 travelling but still don't feel attached to their families back home.Personally I feel it has something to do with our bad economy. Our Govts shd attach seriousness to the devt of our economy, we are losing our family values. If Japan & South Korea can combine their family values with their economic devt, then I feel Ghana can do the same.
Jimbo 2 days ago
He said those category of people are likely to come back. The emphasis is on "likely". There is no debate here. Pls read over again.
Johnny 2 days ago
@ Jimbo
Tell him to solve the economic problems. It's the root cause of the migration. He's been in National politics since 1992 and could even be more. 34yrs is enough period to turn around the destiny of a nation.
@ Jimbo
Tell him to solve the economic problems. It's the root cause of the migration. He's been in National politics since 1992 and could even be more. 34yrs is enough period to turn around the destiny of a nation.
Kwaku 2 days ago
Ghana is a very bad backward nation with a very bad economy, go abroad and never come back. Don't send your children there rather give birth to them there
While their back is turned and they are running away from the law, ... read full comment
Ghana is a very bad backward nation with a very bad economy, go abroad and never come back. Don't send your children there rather give birth to them there
While their back is turned and they are running away from the law, they will pump eight bullets into them even with their arms raised.
Lilly- livered will chose the safety and dignity of home where we are considered human even if poor.
Abdonas 2 days ago
Ok send.
Ok send.
Oklemekuku 2 days ago
Yes, but the statistics is clear on that
seth 2 days ago
There is absolutely NO statistics for to back his false assertions!!! These are all his false presumptions, that he is stating as if thery are facts!!!!
sotrue 2 days ago
Mr Speaker is 100% correct
L€ARN A MONEY-MAKING SKILL THAT GUARANTEES DAILY CASH FLOW FOR YOU- LEARN HOW 2 days ago
EMPOWER YOURSELF TO €ARN CASH DAILY before the month ends! Exchange a service for money. LET there be URGENCY in your quest to turn your life around through technical skill acquisition. Do it today, not tomorrow. Smart people are cashing out fixing what everyone uses: Smart Phones! Think about it - everyone has a phone, and everyone eventually breaks it. You don’t need a University degree to start. You need a SKILL. Engr. Chukky Oparandu has simplified everything in his "Complete Guide for Beginners & Professionals."(check "Mobile Phones & Tablets Repairs" page on Facebook)He has already mentored over 2,000 people across Africa. What you’ll learn: How to set up your own repair workspace - How to fix the most common (& most profitable) phone faults; The business side; How to charge customers & make money. Get the guide and start learning today. Note: Your Training & Personal Development Budget is your best investment for self advancement.Train for better daily income this year. Get this best resource in use today for this skill - none other comes close! Unlock the MASTERPIECE in U - Smartphones repair is one of the few skills that still pays daily. Buy copies to empower others too. GET Chukky Oparandu’s guide. This skill also opens doors into IT careers. No huge capital needed to start. Just a skill you earn from once you apply it. Rush now, Search “Chukky Oparandu” on Amazon or visit selar.co/m/chukky (French edition "Gagnez de l'Argent en Réparant des Téléphones & Tablettes" Available!). Don’t miss his blockbuster career guide:“IT Career: A Roadmap" ...13u745
EFO KOKU 2 days ago
CANADA VERSUS ASIEDU NKETIAH
Mr. Speaker please advise your party chairman first.
Kwame 2 days ago
Very true, you send them at your own risk more likely to turn out as junkies.
Frank Agyena-Karikari. 2 days ago
Can Bagbin tell us how many Members of Parliament, Regional Ministers, and District Chief Executives in Ghana send their Children to Western Europe, USA and Canada in their very early stages? If the Children stay in Ghana for their education even up to the University level, what jobs await them after Graduation. I have a family member who graduated from KNUST over Six years ago but has no good and permanent job. He sells Bottled Iced Water using a Wheel Barrow. Is that the same thing that goes on in the Developed Western Countries? In the Western World, People who are unemployed but struggling for employment are paid UNEMPLOYMENT ALLOWANCES and can have FREE HEALTHCARE. Can we say that about Ghana? I have my children here in Uncle Sam’s country who are well educated and properly trained. They very much respect me and don’t behave like junkies. Our Politicians have destroyed our country. No wonder we have an ASSOCIATION OF UNEMPLOYED UNIVERSITY GRADUATES. This did not happen until the time of Efo Julor John Rawlings came to Power and introduced His RETRENCHMENT POLICY.
anokwale 2 days ago
@Frank Agyena-KariKari. How dare you post such derogatory comments about our Speaker! Don’t you know he can be your father? You this boy, you don’t respect your elders. One of these days, somebody powerful will turn you into a dwarf and throw you into the Forest.
Kwaku Tee 2 days ago
@ anokwale
You're funny are they not of the same age? Both completed university around the same period.
@ anokwale
You're funny are they not of the same age? Both completed university around the same period.
It is funny. Frank Agyena-Karikari is not a toddler. I am older than many Ghanaians in Government. I am a retired Educationist in Uncle Sam’s country. My retirement money and my 401K can comfortably take care of me till death. I don’t need to work again for money. I engage in voluntary teaching for students in High Schools who need some Academic help. I taught in High Schools as college until I moved to Uncle Sam’s country with my family. I am very glad to have children who are very well educated and have their Graduate Degrees and self sufficient. I am Okay in life and does not need to depend on anybody for financial assistance.
Great one 2 days ago
Nobody is immune from financial shocks, as long as you are here on earth, situations are still fluid so you said you are an adult, please talk like one
In that country you reside, I am pretty sure that you must have read ... read full comment
Nobody is immune from financial shocks, as long as you are here on earth, situations are still fluid so you said you are an adult, please talk like one
In that country you reside, I am pretty sure that you must have read about people who went bankrupt after making it big
I don't know where you are on the social ladder but it doesn't seem like much giving the nature of that country, are you even anywhere near middle class? but in Ghana, you can have a higher life with the money you have made, that's just the advantage, right now, many people from the diaspora are going to Africa for healthcare, can you believe it? they fly in, receive good treatment then go back with prescriptions and everything costs them way less and faster
Jimbo 2 days ago
I did not read anywhere that the Rt Hon Speaker said parents should not send their children abroad to study. He said preferably, they should complete secondary school here in Ghana before we send them away. Ghanaians don't like reading. Pls read the message well before you comment if not you will be wrong.
Johnny 2 days ago
@ Jimbo
The Speaker himself is guilty of the comment he made. Why is he pretending to be innocent of the problems for which he is part of those who contributed for it to happen? Nobody needs his belated advice.He shd Get Out
@ Jimbo
The Speaker himself is guilty of the comment he made. Why is he pretending to be innocent of the problems for which he is part of those who contributed for it to happen? Nobody needs his belated advice.He shd Get Out
Osei Kofi 2 days ago
I agree with this man 1000%. Ghanaian parents work so hard, send their kids abroad and live a lonely life back home
That is true but when they keep their children in Ghana, they remain unemployed. Sometimes, some of them become wayward and Armed Robbers. Will Bagbin not want his children to be in the Western World by now with gainful employment where they are regularly paid? How many students in Ghana now get employed and are paid regularly after their Education? Your answer is as good and correct as mine.
PITO 2 days ago
Every point you have raised is about cash. And the point about children in Ghana remaining unemployed is mute. Give is something more meaningful to what the minister said about the TIMING or stage before sending the children abroad.
anokwale 2 days ago
@PITO. Frank Agyena-Karikari has a mental problem so don’t pay attention to his posts.
And you continue to read what a person with mental issues puts on Ghanaweb? You then have a serious mental problem that you need to address.
Jack Toronto 2 days ago
Is that a new law?
Great one 2 days ago
Who will develop Ghana with characters like you? your president went to school in Russia as I understand or maybe Soviet Russia so less emphasis on western Europe
Life is not about self comfort, that is selfishness, life ... read full comment
Who will develop Ghana with characters like you? your president went to school in Russia as I understand or maybe Soviet Russia so less emphasis on western Europe
Life is not about self comfort, that is selfishness, life should be about making sacrifices that helps others and the environment
That you failed in Ghana and then ran to where things are easier does not mean you are successful, your success can only be meaningful when Ghana improves
Right now there's migration and counter migration, families abroad relocating to Africa whereas people like you believe that Ghana is not good enough for you because you are living in a place where you have access to material things even though you are nobody to them irrespective of whatever you think you are
You were created Ghanaian for a reason and if you haven't found out why, you are a failure
Frodo 2 days ago
Any culture that proprietary living people over dead is a good one
Nana 2 days ago
Can you tell me one civilised developed society that do not respect the dead? To inform you organising big funerals is not a sign of respect for the dead, it takes more than that.
AK 2 days ago
Mr Speaker, you are right.
Atta Kay 2 days ago
The Children of Rawlings were moved abroad when they were toddlers for their education up to Uni. I wasn't surprised when one of the girls was wearing High Hills at her Mum's funeral. Somebody quickly reprimanded her to change. You could see that they are struggling for social integration. Alban Sumana Bagbin is perfectly right.
Hik 2 days ago
If your nation was doing well, will anyone take their children abroad?
Rules for thee... None for me
Yaw Poku 2 days ago
This guy is a real smart man
Asante Appia 2 days ago
Tell your speaker to go and pay back the double pay/salary he received for over 12 years. We haven't forgotten and he should get ready for jail as soon as we take power in 2028.
Jonathan 2 days ago
Facts but wrong analysis....so all this many years of toiling, u were only preparing vour kids so that one day thev can attend your two day funeral event ? What an entirely wasted life and left thinking? You didn't have a purpose-driven life....: Educated working, contributing and changing their world will be the pride of every parent...the kids are born and brought up for and to the world...and not to grow up only to attend your 3 hours funeral...i will aladlv love to see mv child positivelv changing and contributing to the world and miss my funeral..imagine if your son was Kofi Annan ? As a father, mv entire life should have also blessed other people's life here in ghana to the extend that i dont even need my biological kids at my funeral...who are your children? Thev are those whose destinies were affected positivelv while i was alive
Great one 2 days ago
@Jonathan, was Kofi Annan useful to Ghana? if you think yes tell me and give examples, as African, he failed the continent and I can point to these, from the events of Rwanda genocide to his Africa solution to Africa problems, he was naive and towards the end his voice carried no weight, not because it wasn't heavy enough but because he never spoke with emphasis, always prevaricating
So even though he rose to the pinnacle of his career, it was because Boutrous Boutrous Ghale failed also and Clinton wanted another African to continue
Every African anywhere must know that we owe the continent a duty, if we fail, what we have is not success, even Musk can say whatever he likes any day I see him, I will tell him that he was born in Africa for a reason, had he been born in Canada, it's possible that he would not be Musk but something else that nobody would have heard of so he owes the continent
That 3hrs burial you are talking about is reciprocal, when you mature, you'll understand, remember that age in this case is not maturity
Jimbo 2 days ago
The Rt Hon Speaker has held the bull by the horn. He is very right so parents, pls take his advice seriously.
Ghana 2 days ago
It's true ooo. I've seen some before
Jack Toronto 2 days ago
Tell the politicians
Innocent Ghanaian 2 days ago
(The Government And TRAITORS Against The Nation And Against The Precious People Of The Land); By TOTAL BETRAYAL Of The State And WICKENESS Against The Citizens Of The Land And Their Precious BLOOD, NEVER Cease Seeking To Make The Citizens REGRET Being Ghanaians! Therefore, The Government And The TRAITORS, By Such WICKENESS, DRIVE The People Of The Land, From Their Own Homeland; ABANDONING The Land To The BETRAYERS Of The State. Thus, As The Greedy BETRAYERS Desire, For Their LOOTING Of The Resources Of The Nation.. TRAGICALLY, Such WICKENESS Is What Has Given Birth To The ABOMINATION In Our Homeland Ghana. Therefore; BREAKING NEWS!!:-
(GHANAWEB.COM), GHANA, Humanity And The Nations; Are Humbly Invited To TWO"2" New EXPOSE' Made Available As At This TUESDAY; July (28), 2026; On The YouTube Channel; "Testimony; New World Disorder". The TWO (2), EXPOSE' Are Titled; " TRAITORS! AND (COWARDLY SECRET KILLERS) OF GHANAIANS .PARTS"71, 74 &75". Thank You. And Much Thanks To (GHANAWEB.COM)
Elect Of God, "It Is Finished ". Selah. Therefore; "Occupy Till I Come ", Is The Message I Received Of My Lord For ALL. Let My People Think.
The Voice Of God, Through The AFRICAN.
(The Government And TRAITORS Against The Nation And Against The Precious People Of The Land); By TOTAL BETRAYAL Of The State And WICKENESS Against The Citizens Of The Land And Their Precious BLOOD, NEVER Cease Seeking To Make The Citizens REGRET Being Ghanaians! Therefore, The Government And The TRAITORS, By Such WICKENESS, DRIVE The People Of The Land, From Their Own Homeland; ABANDONING The Land To The BETRAYERS Of The State. Thus, As The Greedy BETRAYERS Desire, For Their LOOTING Of The Resources Of The Nation.. TRAGICALLY, Such WICKENESS Is What Has Given Birth To The ABOMINATION In Our Homeland Ghana. Therefore; BREAKING NEWS!!:-
(GHANAWEB.COM), GHANA, Humanity And The Nations; Are Humbly Invited To TWO"2" New EXPOSE' Made Available As At This TUESDAY; July (28), 2026; On The YouTube Channel; "Testimony; New World Disorder". The TWO (2), EXPOSE' Are Titled; " TRAITORS! AND (COWARDLY SECRET KILLERS) OF GHANAIANS .PARTS"71, 74 &75". Thank You. And Much Thanks To (GHANAWEB.COM)
Elect Of God, "It Is Finished ". Selah. Therefore; "Occupy Till I Come ", Is The Message I Received Of My Lord For ALL. Let My People Think.
The orangutan state 2 days ago
From abroad they are given political appointments then they come even seeking dual citizenship, when the party loses power they loot and carry our money out
Coach 2 days ago
This is an important conversation. Rather than questioning parents' love, perhaps we should ask: What would make more parents confidently choose Ghana for their children's education? That takes us to education quality, implementation fidelity, values, and future opportunities.
seth 2 days ago
Trust Ghanaman to speak assertively on something he knows absolutely nothing about!!!!
H Aborbi 1 day ago
Which values: lawlessness, corruption, inability to think critically?
NMG 1 day ago
AND PLEASE ASK THIS MAN WHERE ARE ALL HIS KIDS AND ASK ALL THOSE MINISTERS IN THAT HOUSE WHERE ARE THEIR KIDS SCHOOLING MAAASAAAAAAAAAAAA THEY SHOULDNT EVEN COME TO MY FUNERAL AT ALL AS LONG AS THEY HAVE A BETTER LIFE
Kojo 1 day ago
Let's begin from 1st principles. How many politicians have their children in Government schools at both the basic and secondary levels.
They attend private schools and then continue abroad.
Let's begin from 1st principles. How many politicians have their children in Government schools at both the basic and secondary levels.
Kojo 1 day ago
I SENT MY MOTHER TO VISIT MY 2 SISTERS IN MICHIGAN! 1 day ago
When she got there she swore that if she dies and anybody dare to bring her body back to bury her in Ghana we will see.
Even the pensioners dont want to come back and you think young ones will.
When she got there she swore that if she dies and anybody dare to bring her body back to bury her in Ghana we will see.
in a way it makes sense
Many people, including Europeans, acknowledged that the Tindanas were already having their custodian roles as caretakers of ...
Very wise and true words from the Rt. Hon. Speaker. I have always believed same and I hope parents will listen. The earliest a child should leave for further studies overseas should be after a first degree. At least by then s ...
False. I know Ghanaians who left Ghana after undergrad to do their graduate studies overseas and many have vowed not to return ever or have any property or relations then again the wicked families and living situations in Gha ...
Alban Sumana Bagbin himself was in Libya to hustle as an English teacher. Late Peter Ala Adjettey of NPP saved him for him to join politics. Had it not been so he would've ran back.Let him solve the economic problems and stop ...
The Speaker's comment is a bit debatable. There are many who grew up to their adult life b4 travelling but still don't feel attached to their families back home.Personally I feel it has something to do with our bad economy. ...
@ Jimbo
While their back is turned and they are running away from the law, ...
Ok send.
EMPOWER YOURSELF TO €ARN CASH DAILY before the month ends! Exchange a service for money. LET there be URGENCY in your quest to turn your life around through technical skill acquisition. Do it today, not tomorrow. Smart peop ...
Can Bagbin tell us how many Members of Parliament, Regional Ministers, and District Chief Executives in Ghana send their Children to Western Europe, USA and Canada in their very early stages? If the Children stay in Ghana for ...
@Frank Agyena-KariKari. How dare you post such derogatory comments about our Speaker! Don’t you know he can be your father? You this boy, you don’t respect your elders. One of these days, somebody powerful will turn you i ...
@ anokwale
It is funny. Frank Agyena-Karikari is not a toddler. I am older than many Ghanaians in Government. I am a retired Educationist in Uncle Sam’s country. My retirement money and my 401K can comfortably take care of me till dea ...
In that country you reside, I am pretty sure that you must have read ...
I did not read anywhere that the Rt Hon Speaker said parents should not send their children abroad to study. He said preferably, they should complete secondary school here in Ghana before we send them away. Ghanaians don't li ...
@ Jimbo
That is true but when they keep their children in Ghana, they remain unemployed. Sometimes, some of them become wayward and Armed Robbers. Will Bagbin not want his children to be in the Western World by now with gainful emplo ...
Every point you have raised is about cash. And the point about children in Ghana remaining unemployed is mute. Give is something more meaningful to what the minister said about the TIMING or stage before sending the children ...
Is that a new law?
Life is not about self comfort, that is selfishness, life ...
The Children of Rawlings were moved abroad when they were toddlers for their education up to Uni. I wasn't surprised when one of the girls was wearing High Hills at her Mum's funeral. Somebody quickly reprimanded her to chang ...
Facts but wrong analysis....so all this many years of toiling, u were only preparing vour kids so that one day thev can attend your two day funeral event ? What an entirely wasted life and left thinking? You didn't have a pur ...
@Jonathan, was Kofi Annan useful to Ghana? if you think yes tell me and give examples, as African, he failed the continent and I can point to these, from the events of Rwanda genocide to his Africa solution to Africa problems ...
Tell the politicians
(The Government And TRAITORS Against The Nation And Against The Precious People Of The Land); By TOTAL BETRAYAL Of The State And WICKENESS Against The Citizens Of The Land And Their Precious BLOOD, NEVER Cease Seeking To Mak ...
This is an important conversation. Rather than questioning parents' love, perhaps we should ask: What would make more parents confidently choose Ghana for their children's education? That takes us to education quality, implem ...