Modern curriculum development relies on a backward design framework. By first defining program exit outcomes—the 'big picture' capabilities graduates need in industry—designers can map backward to establish specific, supportive learning outcomes. This transparency allows prospective students to gauge marketability before enrolling, while enabling institutions to validate the economic value of their programs. Allow those of us who understand industry-led modern curriculum design to educate you.
TAKE OR PAY DEMON 2 weeks ago
What does Manesseh know about education. What Dr Adutwum is saying is factual. Immediately after the WW1, there was recession in the USA to the extent that people queued for weekly ration of food. Leaders of USA by the saw that the whole thing was not sustainable and so they appointed a millitary general to organize short courses in Agriculture for the citizens. Within three months of thd programme, people converted their flower lawns to onion gardens in the USA. By WW2, Ameriica was using food to fight the war. The question is; why didn't the American government enroll its citizens on the existing university programmes by then.
His Excellecy The Ugly Dwarf 2 weeks ago
I cannot understand why Development Studies can be a useless course to study. It should be a a very useful social scinece and leadership course, underless the course content does not relfect this.
Nutty Ben 2 weeks ago
Manasseh be humble and learn for the fact that you can write does not mean you understand. Hon Adutwum who started his education from village had gone through education mill from village site to university in Ghana. He continued to US and became an educator per excellence In Carlifornia. See how he changed Ghana education with introduction of stem system. You after GIJ all you know is black mailing and destroying people hard worn reputation.
Blue Pen 2 weeks ago
Why are we denying the obvious. The real problem is about fantastically corrupt, nepotistic/tribalistic, overly partisan, inept and dishonest leadership. We've seen countless examples at various levels.
What was the quali ... read full comment
Why are we denying the obvious. The real problem is about fantastically corrupt, nepotistic/tribalistic, overly partisan, inept and dishonest leadership. We've seen countless examples at various levels.
What was the quality of leadership that Adutwum and his predecessor Napo provide at the ministry of Education? Should we talk about how the so-called free shs was so poorly and fraudulently implemented? What about the corruption issues against him that made him fight against the then GES DG and replaced him with his 'erand boy' to the chagrin of the teacher unions? And the issues bribes for placement of students in top SHS?
ST GHFUO: Kwame Nkrumah International Airport 2 weeks ago
Proper Education requires theory and practicum/hands on. If you don't have these 2 going hand in hand then you are in the wrong profession. Ask the education minister whose head looks like Nima kcip if he understands what I'm talking about
×÷Wo shi wo p3 Ghana, Ghana no wo ba nya(toilet)
Eeyyy eeeyyy, hey hey hey hey,
Wo shi wo p3 Ghana, Ghana na wo ba nya(toilet)
kulbogo 3 weeks ago
But the former minister of education was right in statements, the universities in Ghana are too many, even in the most advance countries such universities are not permitted to exist, that is why many of the graduates can even speak good English, though English speaking does not measure one standard, it's about time gov must control the establishment of unnecessary universities in the country, Azure must ceased to insult the former minister,
Kweku 3 weeks ago
It's very sad that a former minister for education doesn't even understand the purpose of university education. He thinks that the only meaningful university programmes are the STEM and TVET programmes. Narrow- minded Ghanaian politicians.
Free Radical 3 weeks ago
Kweku am very disappointed in your comment.Could you tell me what does Ghana benefit from humanity.socialism,communication just to mention a few.Your parents paid school tuition for nothing to educate an imbecile.just check yourself into psychiatric hospital for brain damage repair.Am sorry you don’t reason like rational person.
@lwelu gyimifuo even basket weaving, chale wote making is much better than studying sociology and some stuoid liberal arts in school..how can you earn money with these courses? By becoming a teacher a pastor, ashawo.or armrobber. Apuu even barbering is better than those courses
Mark Pepper 3 weeks ago
That is considered contradictory somehow Mr. Man. Going everywhere has nothing to do with experience. Rather observation and implementation to project the observed in home grounds brings about recognition.
Honestly I agree w ... read full comment
That is considered contradictory somehow Mr. Man. Going everywhere has nothing to do with experience. Rather observation and implementation to project the observed in home grounds brings about recognition.
Honestly I agree with Dr. Adutwum. Had already worked in Europe and in the very Far East. There not only individuals were sounding that warning rather Governments were advising the youth to take on courses which could lead to jobs directly when the period of enrolments had approached. So if that is echoed here the Dr. deserves to voice out opinion.
My submission here is, a critical analysis of future determination must be well thought in advance before application form is submitted. Not everyone who had taken the matriculation is well prepared to be hired by employers. Some only need to acquire the brains to suit their intended future. Eg. The mentioned “Philosophy “ is the development of brains to enable one broaden future prospects. Only do not do it because some are doing. Examine carefully the background; the current position then the intended future. Those who know where they are coming from and where they are going succeed.
There is hope this piece is enough. For it does not take long for a good ear to listen. After all four freedoms guarantee everything in the so called Democracy. The way is ahead for everybody. Hmm! Only be careful of HAD THAT BEEN KNOWN.
( Advice from 1973 Standard 7)
Francis 3 weeks ago
Agreeing with an idiot is no news. Are you not NPP?
Francis 3 weeks ago
Steve Kaye London 2 weeks ago
@ Francis, you see how stupid you are? You only repeated yourself like a parrot. No wonder you are from the stock of the NDC buffoons.
Fofie 3 weeks ago
The argument here is evident of how uninformed you are on this issues and actually confirms what the former minister has said
Blue Pen 2 weeks ago
The evidence is in the poor quality of leadership that Adutwum displayed at the Ministry of Education as well as the massively corrupt and very horrible leadership that Akufo Addo and Bawumia displayed. Let's not try to hide the obvious, stinking misleadership problem in this country. People take up high offices with predetermined mindsets to serve themselves to the detriment of the state. What are you talking about?
Kwame 3 weeks ago
It's the same GTECH which accredited these programs and the universities that offer them. The problem is GTECH itself. We have poor leaders every where.
Can Manasseh Azure and all his people read the above? What about if Dr. Adutwum used the word "VALUE" instead of "USELESS"? Many degrees in Ghana's universities are of no value in today's employment market place.
Jimbo 3 weeks ago
Azure, is this the first time has said some of the programs pursued in our universities are irrelevant What did you say when you heard others condemning some of the university programs pursued in Ghana? Were you hiding in readiness to pound on whoever add his voice to this conversation and you perceived him as your enemy? What kind of attitude is that? Don't you want people to express their views freely in this country? You could have rebutted what he said in a better way than to attack him in person that the certificate he churned out under his regime were worst. Is it ethnicity you are projecting here? I am so sad that some of the trained personalities who speak in our media have turned into something else
Nyamekye 3 weeks ago
Manasseh Azure skinpain?????
Free Radical 3 weeks ago
First of all Manasseh Awuni is a fool. His advice to our imbecile president John Dramani Mahama regarding Zoomlion causing flooding and death got audacity to talk nonsense.When wiseman are talking sense a fool like Manasseh Awuni is criticizing wise talk.What is sociology,humanity and communication benefiting Ghana?Aren't those degrees useless like both Manasseh Awuni and our president John Dramani Mahama.
Even shoe making, dressmaking photo design is even better than wasting time on those courses infact this is what educational ministers along with the university president must do sit down and erase these useless courses from the school clearly these useless courses are just there to milk students and render them useless and unemployment graduates. How can you earn money after wasting time studying such courses? Tell us....unless you become a teacher or counselor I mean cmon.most of these courses in universities must be wiped out!
Osei Kwabena 3 weeks ago
PLEASE MANASSEH THERE ARE SERIOUS ISSUES IN GHANA THAT NEED URGENT SOLUTION THAN ATTACKING DR. ADUTWUN ON USELESS DEGREES. HAVE YOU WITNESSED DUMSOR, FLOODS, ECONOMIC HARDSHIPS, FIRE, ETC SIINCE NDC CAME TO POWER?
DR. ADUTW ... read full comment
PLEASE MANASSEH THERE ARE SERIOUS ISSUES IN GHANA THAT NEED URGENT SOLUTION THAN ATTACKING DR. ADUTWUN ON USELESS DEGREES. HAVE YOU WITNESSED DUMSOR, FLOODS, ECONOMIC HARDSHIPS, FIRE, ETC SIINCE NDC CAME TO POWER?
DR. ADUTWUN IS 100% RIGHT. THE TRUTH ALWAYS HURTS. WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM WITH THAT?
PLEASE DRAW YOUR PRESIDENT AND NDC ATTENTION TO FIX THE PROBLEMS AND SHOUT YOUR MOUTH.
Custom Auction 3 weeks ago
IT'S LEGAL, AUTHORISE AND APROVED BY THE
FEDERAL GOVERNMENT OF VEHICLES AUCTION.. DISTANCE IS NOT A BARRIER.. SHIPPING // DELIVERY UPON ORDER.
.Toyota 4Runner: =gh30,000
Toyota Avalon: =gh20,000
Toyota Camry: =GH 15,000
... read full comment
FEDERAL GOVERNMENT OF VEHICLES AUCTION.. DISTANCE IS NOT A BARRIER.. SHIPPING // DELIVERY UPON ORDER.
Toyota Corolla: =GH 12,000
Toyota FJ Cruiser: =40,000GH
Toyota Highlander: 30,000GH
Toyota Matrix: 10,000GH
Toyota hilux: 45,000GH
Nissan part finder: 50,000GH
Nissan Murano: 50,000GH
Lexus Rx300=40,000.GH
Lexus Rx330=50,000 GH
Lexus Rx350=90,000GH
Lexus is 250 =20,000GH
Lexus GX460 =70,000 GH
Latest Model Toyota Prado 20, 000GH
Latest Model Toyota Rav4 gh 10,000
Latest Model Toyota Sienna =10,000gh
Latest Model Toyota Venza =80,000gh
Latest Model Toyota Yaris =10,000gh
Latest Model Toyota LandCruiser =400,000 GH
Volkswagen Golf 3 60,000GH
Volkswagen Golf 4 =80,000GH
Volkswagen Jetta 100,000GH
Volkswagen Beetle 300, 000
Volkswagen Passat =300,000
Mazda MPV =450,000
Mazda 626 =350.000
Mazda Tribute =400.000
Mercedes-Benz C-Class =700.000
Mercedes-Benz E-Class =650.000
Mercedes-Benz GLK =750.000
Mercedes-Benz ML320 =800.000
Mercedes-Benz ML350 =900.000
Mercedes - Benz G-Wagon 1,200000GHS and Other
Mercedes Benz Not Included On List .
Honda Pilot=950,000..
Honda Baby Boy=400,000..
Honda (EOD)=650,000..
Honda Accord=700,000
Honda CRV=70,000GH
Honda Civic 13,000GH
Mistibushi 400,000
Nissan Primera =450,000
Nissan Sentra=350,000
Nissan Sunny =350,000
Nissan Armanda =850.000
Nissan Xterra =400,000
Nissan Quest =300,000
Peugeot 206 gh 9000
Peugeot 406 =gh 10,000
Peugeot 607 =470,000
Peugeot 407 =500,000
Call the Marketing officer Compt. on +2348067399090 for purchase order and details.
Among which we have full details;
2013 TOYOTA CAMRY 120,000GHSL/SE
Odometer:18,174 mi (ACTUAL)
Highlights: Run and Drive
VIN:4T4BF1FK5DR289432
Body Style: SEDAN$.
Bbk 2 weeks ago
These useless politicians are just taking us for granted. What is he talking about?
Kojo Osei 2 weeks ago
Another Northern bigot, bawuliar made a lot of comments regarding his education achievement, why didn't you attack him, mediocre shit journalists
Link up for bank loading mt103 Flash your usdt here German banks loading loading ceredit cards in usa German UK fixed credit score meet Russian hk in German 2 weeks ago
Bank wire transfer to all countries wasap +447853053870 wasap me or E-Mail me hamzaben.d@hackermail.com
Chase bank
UBA bank
First bank
Capital one bank ... read full comment
Bank wire transfer to all countries wasap +447853053870 wasap me or E-Mail me hamzaben.d@hackermail.com
Chase bank
UBA bank
First bank
Bitcoin flashing to all countries
Crypto flash stays for 48 days before it disappears and it's transferrable and trade able
Blockchain Coinbase wallet binance wallet trust wallet
Usdt flash to all countries
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Asia Africa Europe Australia
Item order ;
We do car purchase online, iphone purchase online and many more
Bank Loading
Debit card and credit loading 00contact hamzaben
[8/8, 10:00 AM] Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
Chase bank
UBA bank
First bank
Bitcoin flashing to all countries
Crypto flash stays for 48 days before it disappears and it's transferrable and trade able
Blockchain Coinbase wallet binance wallet trust wallet
Usdt flash to all countries
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Asia Africa Europe Australia
Item order ;
We do car purchase online, iphone pBank Loading
Debit card and credit loadingloading wasap me contact hamzaben
Yabi Yabi 2 weeks ago
The greatest challenges to both human and infrastructural development in Ghana is corruption, tribalism and the folly of our so-called multi-party system of democratic governance.
Those problems have grown worse over the 5 ... read full comment
The greatest challenges to both human and infrastructural development in Ghana is corruption, tribalism and the folly of our so-called multi-party system of democratic governance.
Those problems have grown worse over the 50+ years since the 24th February coup d'etat because of folks like Dr. Adutwum and many in the Ghana educated elite class. The educated class in Ghana and their politically active partners in the Diaspora are full of crap. Dr. Adutwum knows darn well that his opportunity to become an administrator at a K-12 school of Science, Engineering and arts school did not happen because of some universal education funding sources by government but an effectively sustained property-taxation, state and federal sources.
The most important aspect of the funding sources is the property tax based source; it is the only source that automatically injected more funds annually into the education budget. Yet Dr. Adutwum have stayed mute allowing selfish and ignorant parents in Ghana to believe that the national government of Ghana, which is cash strapped and knee deep in debt can fund everything.
Would Dr Adutwum with a straight face tell parliament how much taxes he paid while in California and how much he pays in Ghana now relative to his annual salaries at both ends?
Tolon doo 2 weeks ago
Azure awuni always have hate with Npp members or what is it? Why do you never have problem with this bomb current Education minister....
Chai!!! 2 weeks ago
Yaw Adutwum has left a legacy of indiscipline in Ghana schools.
Yaw 2 weeks ago
What did Dr Adutwum do for education for children with various disabilities that make it impossible for them to function in the public school system.
What did he do for children with autism or developmentally children? He ... read full comment
What did Dr Adutwum do for education for children with various disabilities that make it impossible for them to function in the public school system.
What did he do for children with autism or developmentally children? He was a one policy (free senior high school) minister.
If your child is autic and you can’t afford private education for him or her, your child is doomed. Sadly, the present government is not doing anything for such children. Adutwum should be focusing on these basic things.
Developmentally delayed and autistic children 2 weeks ago
Developmentally delayed and autistic children
Mr Tweah 2 weeks ago
Poor leadership = Useless University Degrees
Dogo 2 weeks ago
In my opinion, poor leadership plus useless educational systems must be blamed for our underdevelopment. You can't pick one and leave the other. These two has contributed partly to the problems we face a country. The leaders have not been able to map out and structured the type of educational system that will equip the people with the knowledge to create the necessary opportunities for themselves after their tertiary education. That is leadership problem. The leadership have not been able to create enabling environment for creative minds to thrive. Equally, our educational systems have also focused too much on humanities and social programs rather than the right courses that have the potential to lift a developing country from the trenches. For example, if a developing country decides to focus so much on law, sociology etc. instead of technical education that will equip people in country and town planning and building construction technologies, or agriculture that will equip people to develop new farming technologies or biotechnological sciences that can train our people in developing our herbal medicine and natural remedies into usable forms worldwide. Then our problem cannot be centered only one of these issues but on all of them.
Jacob 2 weeks ago
Anything Npp this man will criticize
Jacob 2 weeks ago
Manasse is like Former popular Ampadu any new song whether good to listen to or not it sells, he should be told that if he doesn't have anything good to write about he hide his pen
Raphael Abeam US 2 weeks ago
Manaase Azure should not pretend as if he knows better than Dr Adutwum.Dr Adutwum was in the US and he contributed a lot in education. You have been paid by some people to come and talk nonsense .You are a journalist and what have you c contributed to the development of education in Ghana. The only thing you do is to criticize a suggestion Don't compare yourself to education with Dr Adutwum
Nyameasem Nyasasem 2 weeks ago
In Ghana, we have a lot of touchline coaches and players who know everything that leaders should do to bring this country called Ghana's development at par with the developed countries but they will not join the teams to become active players. So,so talk, talk they know.
Talk is cheap, condemning others is very cheap.
Fisco 2 weeks ago
Fuc kin snitch like this guy called Manasseh. you snitch on zoom lion and we are dying in accra now just for you to go and live in Anerica. come and look at the filth engulfing us now in accra. you think you are the most sensible person in Ghana. shut the f uck up you ignarant bigot
Kwami - US 2 weeks ago
What practical results are the Technical Universities and the Universties of Science and Technologyin Ghana yielding aside from chew, poor, and forget? What do Professors in those universities manufacture and build?
Obrempong 2 weeks ago
A Raw study of Sociology takes one to nowhere
unless it is linked to a career. Your Major of
Sociology alone even cannot take one to a
Classroom. How many private enterprises of
Entertainment sectors have large businesse ... read full comment
Entertainment sectors have large businesses that
give employment to masses and pay taxes.?
If one studies Psychology and does not link it with
Major careers—ie Clinical Psychology what is
his/ her job? Those subjects must be pre-requisite
for Careers but not to graduate as a Sociologist.
Azure Awuni allow the Sage to speak and direct
the nation Ghana.
Asem beba dabi. 2 weeks ago
This Manasseh is a fool,why argue blindly on everything that comes across his doorstep. Because if his useless jealousy towards the CEO of zoomlion led to the unprecedented flood in Accra.
Pelicles 2 weeks ago
Manasseh Azure, stay in your lane as "Just a journalist" and allow people to think through issues. Who the heck do you think you are? You are part of the flooding that occur recently due to your hatred towards the owner of Zoomlion, and the whole nation had suffered.
AMB 2 weeks ago
Manasseh is spot on. The exodus of skilled labour is very high due to lack of jobs and salaries that are barely enough for survival.
Creation of job opportunities is the answer. It is sad a Minister can think this way.
Manasseh is spot on. The exodus of skilled labour is very high due to lack of jobs and salaries that are barely enough for survival.
Creation of job opportunities is the answer. It is sad a Minister can think this way.
Godlove 2 weeks ago
The man genuinely sounds like a semi-illiterate non-thinker. The entire premise of his argument is that the only useful purpose of formal tertiary education is employment. So if you study architecture and you chose to develop a career as a seamstress or caterer, does that make the course in architecture useless and logically make home science far more useful. Besides is he suggesting that the type and number of job openings available should determine the "usefulness" of courses to be offered by universities. So this confused man too was an Education Minister shaping the future of education in Ghana. I lost hope in him when he first suggested that we teach Aerospace at the basic education level, not even robotics? Even after more than a year of sober reflection if he is still in cloud nine then its a pity.
Godlove 2 weeks ago
Lets not confuse the different types of tertiary education and their purposes - academic, professional, technical and vocational. Its amazing we still lamp all of the together and speak of them as one. You dont chose one type of education and expect an unintended oitcome just because you have invested in it.
Osei 2 weeks ago
Professor, you are a fool paa. Ghana has job problems not education problems. Ghanaian graduates are performing excellent on jobs abroad and people even question what kind of education system created these minds. So the problem in Ghana has nothing to do with education but bad leadership from people like Adutwum
Prof. Charles Campion 2 weeks ago
This humble opinion is written as a result of a statement made by the former Education Minister of Education, Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum Carried on Citi news room, July 5th, 2026, which described some university programmes as “useless” and “degrees to nowhere”, thus, causing graduate unemployment in Ghana. Dr. Adutwum described Development Studies at the University for Development Studies (UDS) and the BA Education (Non-Teaching) programme at the University of Ghana as disciplines that do not adequately equip graduates for the labour market.
Personally, I think the Ex-Minister has his opinion but a leader should not make open statements like that to affect a particular institution and the many young people on a program in universities. He had power before to make policy directions. There are ways to go about this though. A degree today, paradoxically, makes one mature and open to opportunities-a means to an end. I know people who pursued History, Dondology, Music etc those days, long before business studies became popular, yet are working in the banks!
Probably what we fail to appreciate is that one’s major program doesn’t lock the future. A case in point is one pursuing BA in English, can become a marketer, lawyer, tech writer, diplomat, or entrepreneur. A holder of BSc in Biology can go into data, policy, business, or education. The point is that a university gives you transferable skills — critical thinking, research, discipline, communication — not just subject facts.
The end is what you’re aiming for. Education is the vehicle; the end could be:
• Financial independence, acquiring skills that pay
• Problem solving, knowledge to fix issues in one’s community
• Social mobility, lift oneself and family
• Influence/Leadership, acquire credentials to be taken seriously
The course just gets you in the door way. Your results after school determine if the door was worth it. The job market doesn’t always care about one’s major area-so there are no courses in the universities that are useless! Especially in Ghana and across Africa, employers also hire for: Skill, Character and Network, more than exact degree match. So, someone who studied history, but learned digital marketing, coding, or sales in school can out-perform someone who only did their main course and nothing else.
An African proverb that fits says, it is not the mouth that eats, but the hands. In effect, it is not what you studied. It’s what you can do with it.
The danger of the statement, if we take it too literally, people who pick any course just to have a degree and graduate with no skills could be doomed too. The better version is, the course matters less than the skills, mindset, and network you build while pursuing it. The bottom line is, in the University, one has about four years to build three things:
• Credentials - to get past Human Resource filters
• Competence - skills you can sell
• Character/Network - people who will recommend you
The course is just the label on the package. The value inside is what people will pay for.
Again the Ex-Minister’s comment about graduate unemployment, was as a result of student pursuing those “useless” and “degrees to nowhere” courses. Respectfully graduate unemployment to me, is not only about the program you pursue in the university, but partly the opportunities we fail (like the former Education Minister Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum) to create for young people What does he think will happen if everyone offered the so-called right courses!
This statement is an attempt to shift the blame from providing the right opportunities to just you choosing the wrong course or to the system that isn’t making enough room for graduates. I believe, in the first place, the program pursued in the universities is only half the equation. Yes, some courses have low demand and so if, for instance, 10,000 people graduate with the same degree and there are only 5000 jobs, some people could be left out. So even the so-called marketable courses like Computer Science, Nursing, or Accounting, etc, still produce unemployed graduates! Why is it so, because a degree alone doesn’t create a job. It only qualifies you to apply for one.
The bigger problem is that we don’t create enough opportunities, the Ex-Minister should know this. Opportunities here mean jobs, internships, funding, and industries. The gap is in Ghana where few industries are hiring at scale. Our economy is still heavy on trading, public sector, and SMEs. We do not have enough manufacturing, tech firms, or agro-processing to absorb thousands of graduates yearly, the Ex-Minister should know this better.
Skills mismatch with universities and what is being thought is too much theory. Employers need practical skills. So even with a degree, graduates aren’t job-ready on day one is in the market. Startup support is also zero for our smart graduates. Many graduates could create their own jobs, but they lack capital, mentorship, and access to markets. Banks won’t lend to you without collateral. The Ex-Minister knew this and could have done something!
The bottlenecks in the public sector need not be mentioned here. The government is the biggest employer, but hiring is slow, limited, and less competitive. So, you can do everything right— good grades, good course —yet graduate into a job market with no vacancies at all.
The role of the universities include, among others, updates curriculum, add internships, entrepreneurship training; while government’s role is to create an enabling environment for businesses, fund youth enterprises, invest in industries and commerce. The private sector could offer internships, apprentices, and be willing to train graduates. The graduate’s role is adding skills beyond the degree — digital skills, communication, problem-solving, and networking.
When we only blame the course offered alone, we let the system off the hook. In the African/Ghanaian context, we graduate 100, 000 plus students every year, but how many new formal jobs are created every year? The African has a saying that if the young are not initiated into the village, they will set it on fire. So, if we don’t create pathways for young people, frustration, and wasted talent follow.
The bottom line is, if the course choice matters —we should not just study in a vacuum. Let’s pick skills that solve real problems, create the opportunities; those matters more— because no matter how good your course is, if there’s no job, no funding, no industry, graduates will still be on the street.
Hei, the solution isn’t just studying STEM, either, Mr. Ex-Minister. It’s also to build more companies plus support graduate startups and link school to industry plus funding skills beyond the classroom. Invariably, the situation of unemployment should be a shared responsibility, not just the student’s fault. Again, leaders should not speak blame-games, as if they have solutions, but students and managers of universities are clueless.
kk 2 weeks ago
You don't have to have a contrary opinion to everything. YES, there are degree programs that are poorly suited to the job market and economic times. It's not just in Ghana, it's everywhere. In the US, there are constant audits to make sure degree programs provide value for money and YES, some are indeed classified as 'useless'.
Manasseh, you are a JJC. Keep quiet small and continue observing. Don't be too eager to talk.
Yes. 2 weeks ago
Adutwum has disgraced himself with that useless statement. This was the former education minister. He does not know the value of a University program that supports the UN SDGs and preserves our indigenous knowledge for development. He should conduct research and find out how many Universities in Africa offer Development Studies and why? How many universities in Europe offer the same program? The weak STEM program you introduced with poor financial support due to corruption cannot survive.
Kojos 2 weeks ago
Stupid pepe boy. Who are you to blast him. Ghana is sick indeed.
Kwame 2 weeks ago
The fact is that around the world only few graduates from universities employ themselves.
The people who make billions of dollars employ graduates to do the jobs for them, pay them less and tash away the remaining.
Graduat ... read full comment
The fact is that around the world only few graduates from universities employ themselves.
The people who make billions of dollars employ graduates to do the jobs for them, pay them less and tash away the remaining.
Graduates are employed by owners of multinational corporations, arms manufacturers, research companies, owners of mass communication companies and you name it.
It's a fallacy that graduates after graduation employ themselves.
Look at the number of clinics and schools we will have if all in those aspects of human endeavour are to be self employed.
Modern curriculum development relies on a backward design framework. By first defining program exit outcomes—the 'big picture' capabilities graduates need in industry—designers can map backward to establish specific, supp ...
What does Manesseh know about education. What Dr Adutwum is saying is factual. Immediately after the WW1, there was recession in the USA to the extent that people queued for weekly ration of food. Leaders of USA by the saw t ...
Manasseh be humble and learn for the fact that you can write does not mean you understand. Hon Adutwum who started his education from village had gone through education mill from village site to university in Ghana. He contin ...
What was the quali ...
Proper Education requires theory and practicum/hands on. If you don't have these 2 going hand in hand then you are in the wrong profession. Ask the education minister whose head looks like Nima kcip if he understands what I'm ...
But the former minister of education was right in statements, the universities in Ghana are too many, even in the most advance countries such universities are not permitted to exist, that is why many of the graduates can even ...
It's very sad that a former minister for education doesn't even understand the purpose of university education. He thinks that the only meaningful university programmes are the STEM and TVET programmes. Narrow- minded Ghanaia ...
Kweku am very disappointed in your comment.Could you tell me what does Ghana benefit from humanity.socialism,communication just to mention a few.Your parents paid school tuition for nothing to educate an imbecile.just check y ...
@lwelu gyimifuo even basket weaving, chale wote making is much better than studying sociology and some stuoid liberal arts in school..how can you earn money with these courses? By becoming a teacher a pastor, ashawo.or armrob ...
Honestly I agree w ...
The evidence is in the poor quality of leadership that Adutwum displayed at the Ministry of Education as well as the massively corrupt and very horrible leadership that Akufo Addo and Bawumia displayed. Let's not try to hide ...
https://www.forbes.com/sites/cherylrobinson/2025/04/15/many-college-degrees-are-now-useless-heres-whats-worth-your-money/
Can Manasseh Azure and all his people read the above? What about if Dr. Adutwum used the word "VALU ...
Azure, is this the first time has said some of the programs pursued in our universities are irrelevant What did you say when you heard others condemning some of the university programs pursued in Ghana? Were you hiding in rea ...
First of all Manasseh Awuni is a fool. His advice to our imbecile president John Dramani Mahama regarding Zoomlion causing flooding and death got audacity to talk nonsense.When wiseman are talking sense a fool like Manasseh A ...
Even shoe making, dressmaking photo design is even better than wasting time on those courses infact this is what educational ministers along with the university president must do sit down and erase these useless courses from ...
DR. ADUTW ...
Chase bank
UBA bank
First bank
Capital one bank ...
Those problems have grown worse over the 5 ...
What did he do for children with autism or developmentally children? He ...
In my opinion, poor leadership plus useless educational systems must be blamed for our underdevelopment. You can't pick one and leave the other. These two has contributed partly to the problems we face a country. The leaders ...
Manaase Azure should not pretend as if he knows better than Dr Adutwum.Dr Adutwum was in the US and he contributed a lot in education. You have been paid by some people to come and talk nonsense .You are a journalist and wha ...
In Ghana, we have a lot of touchline coaches and players who know everything that leaders should do to bring this country called Ghana's development at par with the developed countries but they will not join the teams to bec ...
Fuc kin snitch like this guy called Manasseh. you snitch on zoom lion and we are dying in accra now just for you to go and live in Anerica. come and look at the filth engulfing us now in accra. you think you are the most sens ...
Entertainment sectors have large businesse ...
Manasseh Azure, stay in your lane as "Just a journalist" and allow people to think through issues. Who the heck do you think you are? You are part of the flooding that occur recently due to your hatred towards the owner of Zo ...
The man genuinely sounds like a semi-illiterate non-thinker. The entire premise of his argument is that the only useful purpose of formal tertiary education is employment. So if you study architecture and you chose to develop ...
Lets not confuse the different types of tertiary education and their purposes - academic, professional, technical and vocational. Its amazing we still lamp all of the together and speak of them as one. You dont chose one type ...
Professor, you are a fool paa. Ghana has job problems not education problems. Ghanaian graduates are performing excellent on jobs abroad and people even question what kind of education system created these minds. So the probl ...
This humble opinion is written as a result of a statement made by the former Education Minister of Education, Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum Carried on Citi news room, July 5th, 2026, which described some university programmes as “us ...
You don't have to have a contrary opinion to everything. YES, there are degree programs that are poorly suited to the job market and economic times. It's not just in Ghana, it's everywhere. In the US, there are constant audit ...
Adutwum has disgraced himself with that useless statement. This was the former education minister. He does not know the value of a University program that supports the UN SDGs and preserves our indigenous knowledge for develo ...
Graduat ...