My son in UCC paid 4500ghc last year as hostel fee. The owner is demanding 6500ghc this coming academic year. This is bad.
The Motherland 4 weeks ago
Wow!! Can't believe this. A student stoically defending illegal rent increases to his own detriment. Ghana is indeed a country of impossibilities, haba!!
Obroni 4 weeks ago
More like imbecilities
SIGMA, LONDON 4 weeks ago
Price control? The behaviour of the rent commissioner reminiscent of the days of Rawlings coup time when people took the law into their own hands and molested and killed businesses. This is exactly what the commissioner is doing.
The Motherland 4 weeks ago
Bonney 4 weeks ago
Are you aware of the increases in electricity bills?
Lord 4 weeks ago
Get that foolish boy arrested
Joe 4 weeks ago
No law permits his arrest but there is no doubt that he is a fool.
plo 4 weeks ago
It could be that the owner is his/her relative and he might be staying in the hostel free of charge, so he's happy to defend that greedy owner
Mctwe 4 weeks ago
Maybe his Father owns the hotel. Pure lunatic
WHAT AN ARROGANT STUDENT - Ghanani 4 weeks ago
What arrogance is this? A student challenging the Rent Commissioner for entering a hostel to do his work? And the student was quoting the rule of law to defend his arrogance. Funny!!!
Prudhomme - Ghanaians are unintelligent 4 weeks ago
Who the fucck is the commissioner to barge into someone apartment?
The young man is right. In civilized countries the commissioner couild not do that.
Lololo 4 weeks ago
kwasia. Everyday you people talk about civilized countries. I’m not sure if you’ve ever stepped foot in an airport talk of boarding a plane.
Kwasia, if a law enforcement body is enforcing its laws, he should come and n ... read full comment
kwasia. Everyday you people talk about civilized countries. I’m not sure if you’ve ever stepped foot in an airport talk of boarding a plane.
Kwasia, if a law enforcement body is enforcing its laws, he should come and notify you? Kwasia again
Obroni 4 weeks ago
I would slap the foolish boy around if he dared to talk to me in this manner. Shame on his parents who didn't teach him how to be respectful.
Aba Sam 4 weeks ago
How on earth can anybody, be he a rent commissioner or not enter a facility without first informing the owner? That's lawlessness!!!
A faithful Ghanaian 4 weeks ago
Pin brain
Pin brain
Star from the North 4 weeks ago
That so called level 400 student is a stupid bastard in all honesty. The commissioner was there to verify from a number of students to determine the severity of the situation before approaching the owner. The radical landlords are making life unbearable for some students because of the excessive price increase in hostel fees. Some of these hostels don’t warrant the kind of increment we are seeing due to the low standard associated with them.
plo 4 weeks ago
Do you know that the Rent Control Department, by law, is a regulator, an authority of a sort that has the power to enter any premises used, especially for public activities, without prior notification? Don't be naive. We're talking about how Ghana has become expensive or how the cost of living is high, and these are some of the things. If this kind of greed is not checked, we will have these greedy guys increasing their rent by 100% almost every year, when no maintenance is even done on their facilities to justify these increments. I stand and support the Rent Control Department. I want to hear them throw some of these greedy landlords in prison who violate the law to serve as a deterrent to others. Landlords should keep these houses or live in them if they don't want to comply with the rent laws. You charged 4500Ghs last years (2025) and increased to 6500ghs (a nearly 50% increase)- what justification can he give- even if you renovated the facility, it is still not justifiable to increase the rent by that margin
Nana 4 weeks ago
Mr commissioner my free advice to you is to build a house over there and give it to them for 10 gh a month that will be easy for you. The students are right if the owner is not around who are you going to talk to just move them out and let the owner keeps his property so that he or she use it with be his problem
plo 4 weeks ago
You're stupid. Did the Rent Commissioner say the hostel owner shouldn't charge? The issue is the margin of increase in the rent being charged by some of these greedy landlords. Nobody is saying don't invest and make profit, but not greed. Shut up!
Speak the truth. 4 weeks ago
The student is right. After the investigation who is going to reduce the rent. It's the owner of the hostel and if you don't get permission from him and you take action who is going to be responsible?
Lololo 4 weeks ago
Another kwasiampanyin talking. Get outta here
HAPPY DAYS 4 weeks ago
Mr Rent Commissioner,my advice is go your inspection in the company of official police guard to ensure you own safety.
OZYMANDIAS 4 weeks ago
Legally, the student is right. They are tenants who cannot decide for the owner of the property. The Commissioner should first have made contact with the landlord before he is allowed to enter the property. His “ beef” is with the greedy landlord and not with the tenants. Also, no one can enter another person’s property and demand a reduction of rent for the tenants, without first having a conversation with the owner of the property. The Commissioner was abusing his power and authority. Typical of the Ghanaian “ big man “ to throw his weight around.
Sika mpe dede 4 weeks ago
Oxymandias, what legality are you talking about?
Listen to the foolish student statement, he said in his personal opinion the rent commissioner doesn't have right to be there. Do rule of law originate from personal opinion? Sometimes we are so dump to learn or have a fair idea of how things are done.
A police man needs warrant to search your house but when they are on sanctioned operation they don't need such warrant. This man is the commissioner of rent control, his being there is for the general good of all
plo 4 weeks ago
Look at him, because you have money to afford this hostel you can talk in defense of those greedy raskals exploiting students. He doesn't need any permission to enter that private hostel and inspect. If he had preinformed the owner or manager he would have advised you guys to paint a different picture of the situation. You see how some of we Ghanaians can be that stupid. When the system is fighting those greedy landlords, we also have some stupid students supporting them.
WG 4 weeks ago
Do you want to start content creation, blogging or vlogging as a side hustle or passion...Then kindly contact us for the right setup.
We will help you setup all your social media platforms, boost them for active followers, ... read full comment
Do you want to start content creation, blogging or vlogging as a side hustle or passion...Then kindly contact us for the right setup.
We will help you setup all your social media platforms, boost them for active followers, help you monetise it and also help you advertise it perfectly.
Whatsapp or call: 0244289681
Webgateconsult.com
Banana 4 weeks ago
Have u seen the owner of a hostel staying at the hostel before?
Obviously if the commissioner wanted to meet the owner, he knows what to do.. He wanted first hand information on the grounds which is not a illegal..
It is th ... read full comment
Obviously if the commissioner wanted to meet the owner, he knows what to do.. He wanted first hand information on the grounds which is not a illegal..
It is the imbecile who is acting as Ramos and fooling that he is a level 400 student …
Ignorance can let u act like Rambo whiles u are lil win
Bonney 4 weeks ago
Did the Rent Commisioner provide a cheap loan for the building of the facility and is he responsible for the sky high utility fees?Did the owner of the hostel doing charity?
plo 4 weeks ago
@Bonney, shut up. You're a nation wrecker. You're one of those who support illegality in the country. There are laws that every entity must operate within. Just imagine if there were no laws in this country? The landlord can choose to keep his hostel if he's not prepared to abide by the laws governing rent. You can advise him since you sound stupid and support illegality. He should remove the hostel and take it to another country, where he can randomly increase the rent by any margin of his choice, since he's greedy and wants to make a high profit
Daav 4 weeks ago
Herrrr this student foool pass everything oh.
This man is helping you, and you are here demonstrating your stupidity
What is this boy studying... 4 weeks ago
Wee studies ...... he must be the owners relative. Maybe he is not even a student. What a moron
Wiseone 4 weeks ago
From all indications ,95% these are owned by the money conscious greedy npp pigs. These property owning idiotic npp are always out to cheat Ghanians to make dirty money. They're never care for Ghanians. The e- levy and the betting tax and domestic debt exchange programme are some of the testimonies of a how money conscious and greedy the npp are. Ghanians should never make a mistake and give power to gang of dirty criminals who are always sniffing like dogs for money.
Truth 4 weeks ago
Lawlessness! This guy maybe on weed toffee
Egudie 4 weeks ago
People are taking 2 year's rent advance in Accra and your at the up grade training college wasting your time masa
KBM 4 weeks ago
What about government charging 5 years advance for the leasehold Krofrom market in Kumasi?
Prudhomme - Ghanaians are unintelligent 4 weeks ago
Most of you here have validated my perspective about how unintelligent Ghanaians are.
The young man is right. The commissioner cannot barge into a student's apartment. All he has to do is to communicate with the landlord f ... read full comment
Most of you here have validated my perspective about how unintelligent Ghanaians are.
The young man is right. The commissioner cannot barge into a student's apartment. All he has to do is to communicate with the landlord for whatever information that he is seeking.
Only in a Banana republic like Ghana can this nonsense happen.
KBM 4 weeks ago
Did the government think about citizens before increasing electricity tariff by 33percent? Did the government think about Ghanaians when it used nolle prose quai to free his appointees who chopped Saglemi affordable houses, did the government prosecute Atto Forson and others did the government think about Ghanaians when they said that leasehold Krofrom market in Kumasi should be a minimum of 5 years?The question is, people who are not ready to pay rent advance should go for government affordable houses.Why can't the government stabilise fees charged by individual private schools?Can the ciitenzenry refuse to pay exorbitant utility bills. This is a failed government so you should give us a vreak
Kwame-USA 4 weeks ago
Instead of government building hostels for students is using the money to buy nkoko nketeke and share among his party executives, now you want to control what?
CONCERNED CITIZEN 4 weeks ago
THE COST OF BUILDING MATERIALS AND LABOR ARE SO ASTRONOMICALLY HIGH, IN ADDITION TO THE INTEREST RATE THAT THE OWNER HAS TO CHARGE MORE TO RECOUP HIS INVESTMENT
LET THE GOVERNMENT BUILD MORE HOSTELS IF THEY CAN AFFORD TO.
THE COST OF BUILDING MATERIALS AND LABOR ARE SO ASTRONOMICALLY HIGH, IN ADDITION TO THE INTEREST RATE THAT THE OWNER HAS TO CHARGE MORE TO RECOUP HIS INVESTMENT
Custom Auction 4 weeks ago
Custom Auctions Is Up Again and Granting all Africa's the
Privilege to Own Vehicles at Affordable Rates tokunbors vehicles which are availables on ground at a good and cheaper rate
Interested Buyers Should Contact ... read full comment
Privilege to Own Vehicles at Affordable Rates tokunbors vehicles which are availables on ground at a good and cheaper rate
Interested Buyers Should Contact Officer GABRIEL ⏏+2348067399090 for more enquiries and purchase,,
CARS FEATURES AND PRICES BELOW
GOLF , 2, 3,4 ,.=N450,000 Toyota Camry Big=#500, 000Daddy=N550,000. Toyota Camry Tiny-Light=N450,000.
Toyota venza =1.7 million To 6m Toyota Hilux= 1.9 million To 8m.. Toyota Avensis=N950,000. Toyota Camry Muscle=N 1m950,000. & Spider=N1m650,000. Toyota Avalon=N900,000. Toyota Rav4 SUV=N950,000.To 5m
Toyota Sienna=N900,000. Toyota 4Runner=N800,000. Toyota Tundra=N 1.3 m Million Toyota picnic=N550,000. Toyota Highlander=N950,000. Toyota Corolla=N700,000. Toyota Prado=1.4 million..To 4m
Toyota Land Cruisser=1m850,000. TO 12M Toyota Yaris=750.000. Toyota Matrix=850,000.
Toyota Haice Bus=950,000
Lexus Rx300=N800,000. To N2.1 Million
Lexus Rx330=N850,000 To N2.2 Million
Lexus Rx350=N900,000 To N4.3 Million
Lexus Rx470=N2.9m
Lexus es350 3.8m
Lexus Es330 2.6m
GX460 4m to 8m
Gx470. 4.3M to 10m
Is250 1.8m
Mercedes benze GLE 450 10.6m
Mercedes benze GLA 7.8m
Mercedes benze GLK 5.6m
Mercedes Benz ML330 1.850,000
Mercedes Benz ML350 2.8m
Mecedes Benz GLK 4MILLION
Mecedes Benz GLE 350 6M
GLE450 8M
GLA 250 3.8m To 10m
C class 2.9m
E-Class 3Million
Range Rover evogue 6.650m
Range Rover sport 8m
▪And many more.......▫
SHIPPING 100% UPON ORDER!
DISTANCE IS NOT A BARRIER. CALL OR WHATSAPP OFFICER GABRIEL ESHIEMOMOH VIA +2348067399090. H
Klm 4 weeks ago
Such a big fool flaunting his ignorance... He thinks he is making a legitimate point... When the rent control is rather protecting the interest of tenants, this useless thing without aim is ranting ... Stupid boy
More like imbecilities
Price control? The behaviour of the rent commissioner reminiscent of the days of Rawlings coup time when people took the law into their own hands and molested and killed businesses. This is exactly what the commissioner is do ...
Kwasia, if a law enforcement body is enforcing its laws, he should come and n ...
Pin brain
That so called level 400 student is a stupid bastard in all honesty. The commissioner was there to verify from a number of students to determine the severity of the situation before approaching the owner. The radical landlord ...
Do you know that the Rent Control Department, by law, is a regulator, an authority of a sort that has the power to enter any premises used, especially for public activities, without prior notification? Don't be naive. We're t ...
Mr commissioner my free advice to you is to build a house over there and give it to them for 10 gh a month that will be easy for you. The students are right if the owner is not around who are you going to talk to just move th ...
You're stupid. Did the Rent Commissioner say the hostel owner shouldn't charge? The issue is the margin of increase in the rent being charged by some of these greedy landlords. Nobody is saying don't invest and make profit, b ...
Legally, the student is right. They are tenants who cannot decide for the owner of the property. The Commissioner should first have made contact with the landlord before he is allowed to enter the property. His “ beef” is ...
Listen to the foolish student statement, he said in his personal opinion the rent commissioner doesn't have right to be there. Do rule of law originate from personal opinion? ...
Look at him, because you have money to afford this hostel you can talk in defense of those greedy raskals exploiting students. He doesn't need any permission to enter that private hostel and inspect. If he had preinformed the ...
We will help you setup all your social media platforms, boost them for active followers, ...
It is th ...
@Bonney, shut up. You're a nation wrecker. You're one of those who support illegality in the country. There are laws that every entity must operate within. Just imagine if there were no laws in this country? The landlord can ...
From all indications ,95% these are owned by the money conscious greedy npp pigs. These property owning idiotic npp are always out to cheat Ghanians to make dirty money. They're never care for Ghanians. The e- levy and t ...
The young man is right. The commissioner cannot barge into a student's apartment. All he has to do is to communicate with the landlord f ...
Did the government think about citizens before increasing electricity tariff by 33percent? Did the government think about Ghanaians when it used nolle prose quai to free his appointees who chopped Saglemi affordable houses, d ...
Interested Buyers Should Contact ...