Mahama rejects third-term push at closed-door meeting with NDC elders

Read Comments Comments (90)

• Truth Table 12 hours ago

If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. (Romans 10:9) ,,,,, .. .. ..

• FRANKIE 12 hours ago

Massa stop this religious bigoted nonsense! If it's not you then it's the other two guys promoting/condemning islam and another crazy one too promoting suicide. Funny enough Ghanaweb is stupidly and sheepishly staring without ...

• Nana 11 hours ago

The best option for NDC is Fiifi Fiavi Kwettey and Zanetor Rawlings pair.Unfortunately Ayigbes have destroyed their image by selling it to the Akatamansu flag.Again the Murderer's daughter is also being suspected to ne like h ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 10 hours ago

MAHAMA IS POLITICAL FAILURE . HE IS A COMPLETE POLITICAL DISGRACE. HE HAS FAILED THE COUNTRY POLITICALLY AND MORALLY!!!!
    LONG LIVE DIGITAL BAWUMIA!!! LONG LIVE GHANA!!!

• ROTTEN KINGDOM OF DONKEYS 7 hours ago

How about the skirmishes of "DREAMER JOSEPH" Prophet "Dr." Owusu Bempah? the oly person his god speaks to. Have the fishes in the sea, birds in the skies, and trees in the forests stopped calling for President Mahamah to go f ...

• Kwaku Tee 8 hours ago

NDC shd not attempt to copy NPP bcoz they don't have that political absorbers to settle internal differences if they shd use election to select a flagbearer. The best option is imposition but I doubt if it will also work.

• JACK TORONTO 8 hours ago

Jesus is Lord

• Kay 11 hours ago

President John Dramani Mahama is in a hurry to enjoy what he's looted in his retirement b4 he dies, why are you ppl worrying him with a 3rd Term? Don't forget NDC came from a Military regime he's not prepared for a Coup Detat ...

• FACT 10 hours ago

HIDING INDOORS TO MAKE A WHISPER
    COME OUT OPENLY AND SAY IT LOUD
    THE NDC YOUTH SEE A HOLE
    THEY DONT SEE A HOPE
    YOUR OWN NEW BABIES WITH SHARPER TEETH HAVE TORN THE THIRD TERM AGENDA APART.
    MAHAMA SAW THE PROTESTS OVERSE ...

• Kwadwo 9 hours ago

You are sick in the head

• Reap what you sow 10 hours ago

Very smart decision by JDM

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 9 hours ago

Never trust Mahama. He is only waiting for Trump to declare his tird term bid in America.

He can't do otherwise

• SAINT MATTHEW AYARIGA - THE MYTIRE FROM GHANA 9 hours ago

Matthew Ayariga has been canonised as a saint from Ghana by both the Catholic and Coptic church. Why is the church in Ghana not celecrating this news. Ghanaians must wake up and beware of Islam and its terrors. The best way t ...

• Jesus saves 8 hours ago

God bless you
    More Grace

• REDIRECT YOUR LIFE TOWARDS DAILY CASHFLOW THROUGH THIS VIABLE SKILL 6 hours ago

How is June treating you? Make a change! A GOOD STEP towards training makes all the difference. Smart people are fixing what everyone uses: Smart Phones! Think about it - everyone has a phone, and everyone eventually breaks ...

• Kuds Gbate 12 hours ago

It is mindless idiots and spineless thugs who must be advocating for a presidential third term in Ghana.

• Kk 11 hours ago

Kuds, do you trust this paper? This paper, according to many ghanaians have no credibility.

• John,Tema 11 hours ago

NDC is in a turmoil, they are struggling to find who will replace highly Incompetent & very Corrupt President Mahama Both Asiedu Nketia & Ato Forson are dangerously Corrupt, Julius Debrah & Prof Jane Naana are too weak & not ...

• Link up for bank loading mt103 Flash your usdt here German banks loading loading ceredit cards in usa German UK fixed credit score meet Russian hk in German 12 hours ago

Bank wire transfer to all countries wasap me 00447491722248 or E-Mail me hamzaben.d@hackermail.com
    We are sending wire transfer and direct fl
    Bank ...

• kwame Ohene 12 hours ago

Is JDM the only handsome guy ndc has ? .Asɛm bɛn koraa ni !

• NMG 11 hours ago

I dont support no fucking party in Ghana but make he try say he want take third term and see what will happen bunch of fools and hypocrite only thinking about their stomach not the country God go punish all politicians in Afr ...

• Dzool 11 hours ago

He dare not. Rawlings in an effort to remain in power for life employed rein of fear yet Ghanaians resisted it and he eventually handed over power. Ghana is not Togo where the political leadership becomes one family dynasty.G ...

• hm 11 hours ago

Mahama u think Ghana belongs to u? they r just testing the waters

• Yooo Hey 11 hours ago

Insane character

• Star from the North 10 hours ago

Some of you are very stupid and lacks reasoning. Mahama has said so many times that he will not stand for election again, but brain dead like some of you are commenting with threatening words. What can you do if the constitut ...

• Nana 8 hours ago

I suspect you're a Dagomba and bcoz you have been fighting with Cows you think your tribe is very strong. Read about Dr Kwame Nkrumah and find out how he was reduced to Nothing. Mahama will suffer more if he dares.

• Matilda 8 hours ago

Has kotokoli Bawumia washed his anus today?

• Kwesi 7 hours ago

An excellent response to that idiotic statement from that bastard.

• My experience with youth using weed is dreadful! 11 hours ago

They don’t have anyone

• NDC NEEDS A NEW FACE NOT ALL THESE USELESS DINOSAURS!! 11 hours ago

All these houseboys and dinosaurs should get lost. After almost 30yrs they still dont have a Party with a decent succession plan. Useless people!

• Kmk 11 hours ago

Herlord paper had no credibility in this country so nobody should believe the story

• JDM 9 hours ago

then the government should arrest them for sharing fake news!

@JDM, you are the President and government.

• Modernise Africa Ltd 11 hours ago

We SELL and INSTALL property Security Systems. We are experts in the following:
    ELECTRIC FENCE INSTALLATION
    CCTV CAMERAS INSTALLATION
    AUTOMATED GATE INSTALLATION
    Just call / WhatsApp: 053 048 6594 Sjgwgwv

• Kofi Ghanaba 11 hours ago

Mahama will go a third term.

• Papasi 11 hours ago

He should've tried and see what would've happened to Ghana! Who the hell is ndc to be pushing for a 3rd term for such a massive failure ! Stupid people in that meeting

• GYIMI GYIMI 10 hours ago

Will you call Nana Addo Massive failure. Bibini ne gyimi. Now you have gathered behid media handles to attack the rulling government. It wont work again. Ghanaians are awake this time round. THe social media has messed up you ...

• Osei Kwabena 11 hours ago

Mr. President, you don't qualify for a third term under Ghana constitution so stop bragging. Are you the only competent person in the NDC? Why black men like post to the extent that they don't want their fellow people to enjo ...

• Dagadu 11 hours ago

...as if he had a choice!

• FACT 11 hours ago

Running away from the looming backlash that could result in vote of no confidence in him. Retreat is far better than outright reject.

• Kwame Peter 11 hours ago

Late Vincent Assiseh,exGen Sec.of NDC told the whole world that NDC is not a political party but an electoral machine,this is why they campaign without a message and still win election.Reaso why they don't have a single soci ...

• Yeah 10 hours ago

Yes really

• NANABA 10 hours ago

If there was a meeting then those who attend this meeting are evils and the problems of Ghana.

• Cheo! 10 hours ago

Was he afraid/ scared? We want him all the times. Let him forget that constitutional two-terms, or even change it to 100th-terms asap. It is not too late,he should do fast.

• On your mark 10 hours ago

Better then....

• Livestream views 10 hours ago

Do you more viewers for your Livestream sessions on Facebook and Instagram, YouTube etc..Contact us for the best instant packages.

We also have packages for followers,views,streams on all platforms

webgatec ...

• JDM 10 hours ago

selfish foolish old fools! because there is tension in your party, you want to stampede the constitution for your stupid selfish gains!!! nkwasiafuo elders! you don't want good for ghana!

• KK 10 hours ago

They have no one to represent them. Hahahahahaha

• Pelicles 10 hours ago

Folks, if you are reading an article published by the "Herald Newspaper" and you come across, "Sources say that" immediately, end the reading and go somewhere else, because it is lies, nothing but lies.

That said, John Mah ...

• JDM 9 hours ago

then, the government should arrest them for sharing fake news!

Herald is a pro NDC newspaper.

• Alkabulan 9 hours ago

Fake news nothing like that happened , besides his excellence president JM is in London so does he attended that meeting. Npp propaganda.

• Pelicles 9 hours ago

Why not blaming NPP? The article stated that Mahama was at the meeting before he left for London but, the usual NDC goon will hold NPP responsible for spreading lies.

• Charles 9 hours ago

Who is Ghanaweb trying to fool? My guess is the ignorant Ghanaian well. Do you think Asiedu Nketia wants to wait 4more years to be president? Do you think Haruna Iddrisu cares much about Mahama or Fifi can stand 4 more years ...

• Kofi BA 9 hours ago

Mahama has no choice but to stick to the 2 term limit. I'm sure he'll prefer spending his loot to jeopardizing his own life. He can dare try a third term and see whether there are no men in Ghana

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 8 hours ago

JANE NAANA OPOKU WARE IS OUR NEXT PRESIDENT. A CANDIDATE NEVER TAGGED WITH CORRUPTION. A WELL LEARNED PROF. AGE CANNOT BE USED TO RULE HER OUT. NOTHING WILL STOP HER BEING THE NEXT PRESIDENT OF GHANA.

• Selfmade KING 8 hours ago

All those fools in the pic will run away with their families and properties

BLOOD they want …. BLOOD THEH WILL GET!

Or they think they can use the military against the civilians?

We all live to see

• Ogyam 8 hours ago

Settings

• Newsreel 8 hours ago

So GhanaWeb has no credible sources than The Herald??

• Abigail 8 hours ago

Which source do you like? Is it Daily Toilet Guide?

• Better 8 hours ago

Even Jesus or Mohamed can’t. Rawlings Kuffour Akufo Ado two terms. Clear Ghana is not like Togo Ivory Coast or Burkina Faso no matter what poor we are CONSTITUTION

• Maama the Gonja mafia. 8 hours ago

Gonja mafia John Mahama has no option than obey and follow the constitution. After all, he has used his brother to steal enough from poor Ghanaians so that he can retire as an Arabian King.

As at now, the whole world knows ...

• Nana 7 hours ago

No no no....the meeting wasn't about any 3rd Term push for Mahama. They met to warn him about the current situation in the country and taking the party to opposition come 2028. Nobody in their rightful mind will ever think of ...

• CODEO 6 hours ago

@ Nana. Your gyimie gyimie Bawumia will shit on his body on the night of 7th December 2028

• Baz 7 hours ago

He has no option, he will go for a third term for the sake of Ghana,

• joe 7 hours ago

Thank God we have at least one sensible person who happens to be the decider

• Mystical G*d 7 hours ago

@FRANKIE
    You don't know what you're talking
    But for the Christian doctrine, someone would've marked your head for choping off or football.
    Be there.

• Free Radical 7 hours ago

Ghanaians according to our most greedy and incompetent president John Dramani Mahama told Ghanaians that Nana Addo has no legal right to sell Ghana property and all those Ghana property do so at their own risk for he will ove ...

• Sage 7 hours ago

Stupid Idiots.
    The seat of government is Jubilee House and not Flagstaff House .

• Constitution change 6 hours ago

Things are changing for the better. It's time we dump off that archaic two terms for for more ones for the better.

• Constitution change 6 hours ago

Things are changing for the better. It's time we dump off that archaic two terms for more terms for the better.

• Selfmade KING 6 hours ago

Wo Kwaisa s3 archaic

Things are changing for what?

What a dumb ass bitch NDC man!

Sua Nyansa ofui

Kwasiakwa

• KK 6 hours ago

Why should this be news to Ghanaians? Are we not working with a constitution? Can a handful of people plan to overthrow the constitution of Ghana. This is coup de'tat.

• Taylor 6 hours ago

NDC elders are very dangerous and evil

• Kaakeiku 6 hours ago

Was the meeting held at Jubilee House or Flagstaff House? This patapaa syndrome must cease. It doesn't help the country in any way

• Graphics 6 hours ago

For All your Quality Cover Designs, Logos,flyers, brochures, letterhead, t shirts printing and more kindly contact us. We are professional and very reliable. We design and print

Webgateconsult.com

• Kojois 5 hours ago

He even not qualify to run another term. His performance now is very poor. No vision. Bread and butter. He came to steal for his family. Nothing to offer poor ghanaian

• 9924 5 hours ago

Stupid people, where from 3rd term ideology, agyimifoo

• Matrix Multi Tech Ltd 4 hours ago

We are into ICT and Real estate…. We have a developed web application for online food ordering platform . These are a team young Ghanaians and locally owned.

If you have a restaurant or kitchen and you want to onboard f ...

• Matrix Multi Tech Ltd 4 hours ago

Matrix Multi Tech Ltd:
    We are into ICT and Real estate…. We have a developed web application for online food ordering platform . These are a team young Ghanaians and locally owned.

If you have a restaurant or kitchen an ...

• Constitution change 4 hours ago

A change to be made to amend that archaic constitutional two-terms. I could remember npp planned to replace the Nebuchadnezzar(Nana Addo) with Bawumia but they did not succeed.

• Constitution change 4 hours ago

Parliament must sit down on this very important

• Constitution change 3 hours ago

Parliament must sit down to amend this archaic part of the constitution. It's very important.

• OSAFO KANTANKA 2 hours ago

For my money, these NDC Elders should be Arrested and immediately charged. They are dangerously stupid. One wonders why they are trying to cause Chaos in the country by cajoling President MAHAMA into a “ThirdTerm” contra ...

• Constitution change 2 hours ago

You could not remember when npp planned to replace Nebuchadnezzar with Abawumia to extend their terms. That archaic part of the constitution must be change immediately for longer terms. Mr. Speaker must do something about thi ...

• Constitution change 2 hours ago

JDM is better off all the former presidents. This government is a spring board to move Ghana forward from the mess.

• Kofi Ghanaba 1 hour ago

Thete is every indication that Dramani Mahama will go for a third term.Mahama tuaso.

• Constitution change 1 hour ago

A change to be made to amend the two terms rule. It's archaic, outdated, a hindrance to the country's dev. To develop a country is not an 8yrs thing.

• Constitution change 1 hour ago

Russia, China, India etc have switched to longer terms. We can do the same also, and dump off the Western system thing.