Stop using bail as punishment - Haruna Iddrisu fires Courts, Police, EOCO

Read Comments Comments (90)

• AYOOO 1 day ago

Now you want to talk because you want to create an opportunity for future presidency.

• Bangaham 1 day ago

What the Minister is saying is the law of Ghana and not the politics of NDC or NPP. Sreong men and women are abusing their authority in the name of public service or the President. I stand by Minister Iddrisu.

• BUILDING THE GHANA WE WANT 1 day ago

GRADUALLY HARUNA IDDRISU IS BECOMING A MATURED STATEMAN. NOT AN NDC MORON ANYMORE. MAY THE ALMIGHTY ALLAH GRANT HIM WITH MORE NATIONAL WISDOM.

• Kwame 22 hours ago

We want quality, principled and man of integrity to succeed Mahama, not the otherway round. He should go sit somwhere. If not John Asiedu Nketiah, then Ato. Finish!

• Yoo 20 hours ago

Hahaha… The double salary saga still hanging around his neck. He can’t be trusted.

• Musah 1 day ago

You this Haruna, no wonder you were kick out of parliamentary leadership role. Holy holy holy . You think NPP will make life easier for you to govern. Ineffective leader you are and will always be .

• GNL 1 day ago

You are very stupid. Because of party politics, you don't want the truth to be told. What is wrong with what he said? Use your brain.

• SHORT MEMORIES 1 day ago

That's GNL for giving that sensible reply to that fool .

• Nana Benson 1 day ago

Stupid GNL, get a job and stop replying every comment here . Aboa ba fool . Who give a what you think .

• Menp3 meho as3m 22 hours ago

@ Musah you are right. Asiedu Nketia made a good decition by kicking both he and the other guy from the leadership front when we are in opposition yearning for power to rescue this country. The Chairman General was very smart ...

• ASEMPA 1 day ago

Exactly see who wants to succeed President Mahama, some ugly and non performing past Presidents have made Presidency cheap in Ghana to the extent that people just wake up and without checking themselves want to rule Ghana.

• John,Tema 1 day ago

What has Haruna Iddrisu's explanation on abuse of power got to with imposition of Asiedu Nketia on NDC as their flagbearer? You and your tribesmen in NDC shd go ahead with your stupidity power will change hands soon.

• Fd 1 day ago

This confirms to me that Haruna is not the right choice of presidential candidate for the NDC. Who’s he trying to impress? To say Ghana today is shocking, so what about yesterday? There seems to be doubt about his true loya ...

• Nana 1 day ago

Is ugly, malnourished & unintelligent Asiedu Nketia the right material? Do you want a President who speaks English with Grammatical errors? Is it bcoz your tribesmen are not marketable so you want to destroy that position?

• GENERAL BUTT NAKED 3 hours ago

@Nana, you deviated from the issue on the table, what at all does tribe has to do with what we are discussing here????, please have some respect for yourself and your own tribe, have some respect for your culture, then you c ...

• Kwame 22 hours ago

How can Haruna even be the right choice for NDC and who is going to vote for him? He should still go to parliament and make his explosive Wesley Girls High School and muslims girls hijab wearing reckless statement

• Kwame 22 hours ago

How can Haruna even be the right choice for NDC and who is going to vote for him? He should still go to parliament and make his explosive Wesley Girls High School and muslims girls hijab wearing reckless statement

• Kwame 22 hours ago

@Fd, he was right, he was speaking as a Ghanaian but not an NDC or NPP member, it's should always be Ghana first, where he says in Ghana today!, is where i think he is not being fair to himself, his party, and the nation as a ...

• THIS SKILLED-SERVICE BUSINESS GUARANTEES DAILY CASHFLOW - LEARN HOW! 21 hours ago

End the month well. While most people are complaining about the economy, smart people are fixing what everyone uses: Mobile Smart Phones! Think about it - everyone has a phone, and everyone eventually breaks it. You don’t n ...

• FACT 1 day ago

This is the exact action the Minister of Interior ought to have taken. Good and active citizen.

• FACT 1 day ago

Minister of Education teaches:
    Lessons on Constitution
    Lessons on Criminal Law
    Lessons on Civil Law
    Hopefully The IGP, The Chief Justice, The Attorney General, All Citizens have taken notes and are learning.

• The Devil’s Advocate 1 day ago

Hmmmmm. What is this all about? How often have the bail conditions not been able to be met by the looting brigade?
    I think this is a bit sanctimonious to be real. Maybe it’s more about jostling for position in the successi ...

• Ghanab 1 day ago

Let’s put politicians aside,Ghana police extort lots of innocent Ghanaians daily,if you happen to have even a prescription medicine or over the counter medicine they don’t know about,they can use that to extort,first they ...

@Ghanab, what you are saying doesn't tally with what he is talking about, are you saying when the police suspect you one way or the other, they search people and take their money that they are going to test it???, please if ...

• Korbla 1 day ago

Ghanaweb, we need more information on the forum he said this, where and when he said this. I will reserve my comments for now until I get more info on this.

• GNL 1 day ago

I agree with you.

• Adomako Bediako 1 day ago

Who give a what you agree here , fool . This won’t stop my good friend having good time with your wife

• JB 1 day ago

You are a good man. This should have come from the president long ago. Haruna, I doff my hat for you.

• Jack Sparrow 1 day ago

is ofori atta still in cell or asante akyim MP still in cell? masa tell NPP to bring bail conditions have you forgotten soo soon during ur members in opposition?uve lost ur credibility tweaa kai

• Nyamebak 1 day ago

John Mahama is a BIG TIME LOSER. Northerners with power that’s why they can kill each other for less than half a plot or over a fowl

• Dede 12 hours ago

Dont shout at Mahama! 38%! Your useless and corrupt npp and their leaders are screwed! As for Haruna Iddrisu, he is a Dabomba foo! With all the injustices in this country, where were you?

• Adams 12 hours ago

Oh!!!,so this is how shallow you can think???.nyamebak or nyamefront?.

• Yao 1 day ago

Well said, Hartman Iddrisu!

• Abelenkpe Mayor 1 day ago

When NDC was trying to discredit Akuffo Addo that he didn't start Free shs, Haruna came out and openly said it was Akuffo Addo who started it

• Philipo 1 day ago

God bless Ato Forson

• Nana 1 day ago

Haruna can be likened to a Prime Minister

• Holy Sinner 1 day ago

Why didn't Haruna come up with this issue during the Akufo Kromfo Addo's era since thus bail issue started during his Akyim Mafia time in power. Harun,you are up to something. Mind yourself

• Asakramitogaj 1 day ago

Hsruns have forgotten the Muntea three and Captain Smart?

• Ahene 1 day ago

Too late Hon. Haruna. The tit for tat will happen says the NPP. People will need 'Jesus' as one of the bail conditions. So the die is cast.

• kingsley 1 day ago

Haruna Iddrisu and Muntakah are two individuals; the NDC should be careful not to indulge them in major NDC secrets. They are not trustworthy.

• JESUS REIGNS FOREVER 1 day ago

Hmm . Haruna sounded like a traitor. Beware......Politics thrives on TRUST.

• KBM 22 hours ago

They are two people in government who do not follow the stupidity of JDM and NDC

• Hey 1 day ago

Why not talk about education matters

• Hot. 1 day ago

You want criminals who stole millions of cedis, dollars, Euros meant to develop this country in terms of hospitals, schools, roads etc, etc to be treated with kid grooves? Do you know what the poor people go through? Are you ...

• GNL 1 day ago

If you respect him, then listen very well to what he is saying. Do you want the country to be lawless because of people you don't like? You can call him a criminal, but the man has more wisdom than you and your whole family. ...

• Achakanapaya 1 day ago

Harruna is finished chaiiii.
    This man will never come near the presidency Allah.
    No wonder he is in bed with the npp criminals.

• GNL 1 day ago

If he loses the presidency because of his truthfulness and objectivity, so be it. This shows that those of you lambasting him are willing to endorse a liar and a criminal as your future president.

• Kweku 1 day ago

Thank you,, the minister, for being objective on this bail issue... Truth stands.

• Tahu 1 day ago

Eii Haruna ,did you really said this? Why didn't you say this during NPP time? Allow the judiciary to do their job. Mahama needs to kick you out. This is nonsense.

• AK 1 day ago

The chickens are coming home to roost.

• Dr. Adenta 1 day ago

Parroting is not the same as knowing the law, Masa. Why are you part of government? Dont you sit in cabinet with Dr. Ayine Akurtinga, who is your senior and a much much better lawyer both in court and the lecture room than yo ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 1 day ago

There are conditions for refusing bail: If the accused or defendant is likely to re-offend , interfere with witnesses or the probability of doing a “Runner. So what is the Minister talking about t?

• Atsu 1 day ago

Since when did you notice that be bold mention your party NDC doing this against political opponents period

• Koti 1 day ago

God bless you for being truthful. What is right is right even if nobody is doing it; what is wrong is wrong even if everybody is doing it. It is disgraceful that institutions that are to uphold the laws are rather abusing the ...

• Osei Kwabena 1 day ago

The wise man is taking, please listen to him. Shame on Mahama and his NDC. God's time is the best. To you our respected judges, please uphold the constitution of Ghana, and stay away from political influences on your decision ...

• You will become a president 1 day ago

This is the only wise person left in the NDC who is a president material. Thanks for condemning what is happening in Ghana today.

• Very soon 1 day ago

You Haruna, do you know we need money to construct roads and hospitals in this country? How much of your salary did you give out for this work to be done? Keep quiet!

• KBM 22 hours ago

Go and and kill Haruna and wipe out his entire family so that you get money for roads

• Incoming President 23 hours ago

Haruna is the right guy ! He's young , smart, intelligent, and very capable! I'm an NPP but for once , NDC must make the right and very sensible choice of making Mr. Haruna Iddrisu lead their party !

• Nii 23 hours ago

Lol I now understand why he was kicked out as majority leader in parliament. Focus on fixing our education and stop doing busybody.

• Fact 23 hours ago

Empty talk. Enact laws to regulate bails.simplicita

• Kofi Armah 23 hours ago

Engineer who has done law
    Bail is not supposed to be a punitive.
    Prosecute offenders and let the law take its course.

• Brigadier Sabari v.2 22 hours ago

If your incompetent president packs the courts with incompetent party faithfuls as judges, what do you expect?

• Ken Crentsil 22 hours ago

Those supporting wrong doing don't understand law.NPP NDC if what you do is wrong it's wrong.
    Do your work and prosecute
    Buga Buga won't solve Ghana s problem
    We need proper governance from political actors.
    So much law ...

• Kojo Sams. 22 hours ago

Good comments of you Mister. Hon Minister and your team.Peaceful

• Mr. T 22 hours ago

Never will this guy come close to the presidency. Too weak and does not have leadership quality. Good he was demoted from parliamentary leadership. Kwasi Pratt is right this government is loosing its focus. These ministers ...

• KBM 22 hours ago

Haruna Iddrisu is a level headed person, only that he has found himself in an unholy alliance

• JAK 22 hours ago

Wisdom has spoken

• Pk 22 hours ago

Some few sensible people in the yaaanom party...well said minister,that why chairman hate you....

• Torgbe 22 hours ago

Massa, just shut up

• Kofi uk 22 hours ago

And u want to be president? Apuu

• Dan 22 hours ago

Tell the OSP and those who demand the millions of cedis. It clearly suggests a rich man world.
    If you are poor and are accused of a crime, you are finished.

• Yaw 22 hours ago

Haruna, what do you know about bail procedures? If you have nothing useful to say shut up. Go face your nemesis Gen Mosq.

• Sir. Amuzu 22 hours ago

God bless you Hon. Minister. But ,is Mahama going to listen?

• Kaakeiku 21 hours ago

He is saying what the President has failed to say so far

• Stan 21 hours ago

.DRIVERS NEEDED FOR WORK & PAY CARS.
    ☎️☎️ 0533574591 ☎️ ☎️

* No Deposit

* VITZ: 6500(Weekly) / 2500(Monthly) / 90000(Total Cost).

* YARIS: 700(Weekly) / 3500(Monthly) / 130000(Total Cost).

• Kj 21 hours ago

Tell them before the time changes

• Cris 21 hours ago

Pls shut up if u hv nothing sensible to say. I now see why u were removed as NDC leader in parliament. U are dangerous to the NDC.
    . ..

• Haruna the best leader for ndc 21 hours ago

We ndc love Haruna

• Osei mensah bonsu 21 hours ago

This haruna guy is a very corrupt guy. He is highly corrupt and compromised. I wonder who is deceiving him that he can be a president. Opportunistic talk

• Kwame Peter 20 hours ago

Haruna is learned in law unlike some people who don't even remember what they did at the university.

• Kwame Peter 20 hours ago

Lawyer Haruna,the graduates from your NDC University of insults are here in their numbers and are after you for the simple act of speaking wisdom to transient power,they're doing quite well.

• PonziGovernment 20 hours ago

Hypocrites and liars
    You're part of what's going on but pretending be afar from it. Wicked men do lives after them.

• Ojatanaa 20 hours ago

Tell that to your ndc and mahama they are behind it don't pretend you don't know anything about it

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 14 hours ago

You are saying that because of the former buffer stock CEO. Ugly, useless, senseless, shameless, gormless, lawless, stupid, corrupt, foolish, deceitful, ignorant, divisive, arrogant and primitive fool. Kwasiaa buuluubuuluuu. ...

• Savelugu 12 hours ago

This guy and Muntaka will go for the bribe again.

• Nana 10 hours ago

No wonder he was kicked out from that minority leader position,he can't be trusted.nketiah was very right

• Ruebens 10 hours ago

Idiotic talk... Disappointed in you.