GoG, I agree 100% with all the facilitators, former chief justice, former speaker, IEA Director etc. Don't renew the lease when it expires in April 2027. Ghana is of age and next year will be 70 years of independence. We are capable of managing our own affairs. Neocolonialism must end!!!
Ache 1 day ago
Stop being ignorant.What was the state of the mines in Tarkwa/Darmang before Goldfields took over. I believe it was non operational and so what we see now is years of continuous investment and good management.They paid their taxes and royalities and performed their cooperate social responsibilities and instead of asking the successive government on what they did with the taxes we cry about neocolonialism.
Hg 2 days ago
We always complain about poor roads in mining communities….
Can we blame the mines?
Before we do, let’s check how much they pay in taxes etc and confirm what percentage gov. uses to improve mining communities
Wish ... read full comment
Can we blame the mines?
Before we do, let’s check how much they pay in taxes etc and confirm what percentage gov. uses to improve mining communities
Wish we had more transparency on how much tax revenue is invested in these mining communities ….
TTT 2 days ago
Great submission
Prudhomme - Ghanaians are unintelligent 2 days ago
How well did Tarkwa and surrounding communities benefit when the mines were operated by the government.
For the younger ones, please learn that most goldmines in Ghana were operated by the government for decades after inde ... read full comment
How well did Tarkwa and surrounding communities benefit when the mines were operated by the government.
For the younger ones, please learn that most goldmines in Ghana were operated by the government for decades after independence. Those mines counldn't even afford workers salaries despite the abundance of gold.
Corruption, corruption, corruption!!!!!!
Same would happen if the government tries to onw them again.
I do not have problem with selling these mines to capable Ghanaian companies/entrepreneurs, but hell no government ownership!!!
JANKROMAH 2 days ago
MASSA, Check CHINA wae.
Government participation /ownership is the best......BUT corruption is a serious problem.
So, let us be very WIDE-EYE-OPEN going forward.....
Foreign albeit WESTERN control of our resources took p ... read full comment
MASSA, Check CHINA wae.
Government participation /ownership is the best......BUT corruption is a serious problem.
Foreign albeit WESTERN control of our resources took place for CENTURIES....
From 1492 till the mid 1900s.
What we did gain is what you see.....and for starters
Compare OBUASI with JOHANNESBURG!
Brother 1 day ago
Was it the mine(s) in Johannesburg that built the city with their profits form the gold or Johannesburg was built with the taxes from the mines by the government.Lets stop throwing dust into the eyes of Ghanaians for after all these foreign mining companies have bases around the world and keeps on investing so it's not strange if we take over from them.But the going forward what are we putting in place to attract these same foreign companies for fresh investments for the future because I hardly hear about local companies undertaking that.
Douglas 3 hours ago
Plse is not about Government owing, Have you checked the government companies how curroption has taken over, political appointments, compare it to foreign investors. When bogoso prestea mines was handed over to Ghanaians come and see the state of it. Come
Ghanaba 1 day ago
Give it to E & P? The same guys will lament. I believe Ghanaians should run the mines. How about the University?
King 1 day ago
Ibrahim wants to take over
Fireman 7 hours ago
Ibrahim Traore right, hahahaha
Jack Sparrow 1 day ago
so if I Mahama having multiple mining company is it a problem? the same goldfield in Peru south Africa GH on company i mean why jealous? even if he can mine better or bcs of the president brother? hmm
Tarkwaian 1 day ago
Hands off Goldfields. Leave them to do their work. They've done a lot for the mine and Tarkwa in general. From a non functional mine to this stage is a big plus.
Hassan 1 day ago
Good presentation.However some facts need to be clarified.
Mines were formerly owned by the State .
Nothing was happening and riddled with debt so in 1992 Goldfields came in.
Unemployment will not be solved by taking the ... read full comment
Unemployment will not be solved by taking the lease.There is a limit to how much can be employed We had Bonsa Tyre and glass factory operating in the area that collapsed
Road infrastructure poor due to Bauxite and manganese trucks on the road to Takoradi.Msinly due to rail network collapsing
What happens to taxes royalties and dividends paid? State has 10per cent.
Various measures need to manage resources.Proper debates needed
SGMC had underground mines which employs more than open pit mines.All the underground mines at Tarkwa Prestea Konogo collapsed.The reason for reduction of employment numbers.
Debate must continue
Why doesn't government increase stake and improve gold refining capacity in country
Need incentives for more exploration investment in new mines and expanding mines.
Galamsey needs to be addressed it is destroying further resources.
Need comparative analysis on African and Asian countries that have practiced nationalisation of mining ptos and cons.
We need to take lessons from State Gold Mining Corporation and Ashanti Goldfields Corporation.
Want a state that will mange resources better
Mining is not only Gold
All top mining destination mine so many minerals.
Bakogone Tiblisi Honest VIEWS undualized intercity roads 1 day ago
The african mind is filled with greed and evil continously from top to bottom.
They hate to see their society prosper. Very individualistic mind.
Destroy others to benefit self.
Shut down the universities. The uneducated ... read full comment
Shut down the universities. The uneducated have outwitted the educated.
Wait. Perhaps the educated top branch are more corrupt as we see in the news.
Okay. Now that explains why things are bad.
Ben 1 day ago
How are state owned entities performing?
GIHOC
State Gold Mining
Komenda Sugar
Management of Road Railways etc
What happened to the Lithium mine ?
Why don't we force the government to start there.
We need ventures li ... read full comment
GIHOC
State Gold Mining
Komenda Sugar
We need ventures like Dangotes refinery not playing with established entities.
When is Komenda Sugar factory coming up?
Reduce Tomatoes Onion imports? So much fertile land less capital needed.
Most of mines would have collapsed if gh old prove was not at current levels.
Foreign companies believed in the nation and invested in Ghana.
Ghanaian owned companies how are they performing
Heath Goldfields
Adamus
Sankofa
Asante Gold
Bauxite deposits linked to Valco
All need massive investments
If Ghana government and our businesses can raise money no problem
I doubt.
Alex Mensah 1 day ago
Agenda to give all the mines to his brother for their family to become rich.All the mines currently owned by Ghanaians are struggling .Even the so called E & P have not paid workers benefits for the past 10 years and this was in the news somewhere last month for the contract with one mines in Ghana
One can also verify from Heath Goldfields.They are struggling to bounce back so we should not be deceived by this hidden agenda of returnimg mines to the state :its a scam
Yaa Dua 1 day ago
For once I concur, madam
Marquis 1 day ago
We need to be careful here. Re-structure the agreement for a win win situation. We run down Tarkwa Goldfields before the government opened it up for Goldfields to step in and change the narrative. We will destroy it ourselves as the parties will tear it apart
GOLDEN 1 day ago
WHY IS THE GOVERNMENT RELUCTANT TO INVEST IN SUCH IMPORTANT ISSUES???????
Keith 1 day ago
Johannesburg has a huge industrial base and Agri business too
We collapsed glass factory and Tyre factory around Tarkwa
Mines cannot employ whole populace.
Railways collapsed and Galamsey destroying the land.
Ben Antwi 1 day ago
What normally happens after nationalisation takes over in Africa
Exploration reduced
Capital investment reduces
Political incompetence introduced
Poor service providers appointed
Overtime production drops and whole econ ... read full comment
Exploration reduced
Overtime production drops and whole economy suffers
Political connected are rich and send kids overseas.Examples
South Africa
Zambia
Zimbabwe
DRC
Only shining star is Botswana which is a Joint venture
Our own history SGMC until late JJ brought in investors
Okay 20 hours ago
Its those who stand to benefit most who are busy pushing this bid behind the scenes.After we take over and deplete everything we will go back to them again.
Frank Asante 1 day ago
Problems is management of resources in all aspects of the country.
We have good laws but country in a mess since independence.
Kofi 1 day ago
Its very sad to see key figures in the country not getting facts about Goldfields contribution in Ghana .Available data on the Ghana chamber of mines website shows that Goldfields spends about 90 percent of its procurement spend in the country.Goldfields was amongst one of the earliest firm that supported the contractor mining in Ghana. It was through this E & P got one its biggest contract in the mining sector .The company has built stadiums ,roads,hospitals ,schools and many more.These international mining firms have made huge impact on taxes and economical intervensions.its high time we supported the growth of these firms rather than creating an atmosphere whicn kills investors confidence.
The local mining firms are really struggling to even pay workers and many more and some of these information is available on line
Douglas 3 hours ago
If they have not seen any thing they should come to Tarkwa T and A stadium built by Goldfields, Tarkwa junction to Damang Road and many more.
GoG, I agree 100% with all the facilitators, former chief justice, former speaker, IEA Director etc. Don't renew the lease when it expires in April 2027. Ghana is of age and next year will be 70 years of independence. We are ...
Stop being ignorant.What was the state of the mines in Tarkwa/Darmang before Goldfields took over. I believe it was non operational and so what we see now is years of continuous investment and good management.They paid their ...
Can we blame the mines?
Wish ...
Great submission
For the younger ones, please learn that most goldmines in Ghana were operated by the government for decades after inde ...
MASSA, Check CHINA wae.
Foreign albeit WESTERN control of our resources took p ...
Was it the mine(s) in Johannesburg that built the city with their profits form the gold or Johannesburg was built with the taxes from the mines by the government.Lets stop throwing dust into the eyes of Ghanaians for after al ...
Plse is not about Government owing, Have you checked the government companies how curroption has taken over, political appointments, compare it to foreign investors. When bogoso prestea mines was handed over to Ghanaians come ...
Unemployment will not be solved by taking the ...
Shut down the universities. The uneducated ...
GIHOC
State Gold Mining
Komenda Sugar
We need ventures li ...
Agenda to give all the mines to his brother for their family to become rich.All the mines currently owned by Ghanaians are struggling .Even the so called E & P have not paid workers benefits for the past 10 years and this was ...
For once I concur, madam
We need to be careful here. Re-structure the agreement for a win win situation. We run down Tarkwa Goldfields before the government opened it up for Goldfields to step in and change the narrative. We will destroy it ourselve ...
Exploration reduced
Overtime production drops and whole econ ...
Its very sad to see key figures in the country not getting facts about Goldfields contribution in Ghana .Available data on the Ghana chamber of mines website shows that Goldfields spends about 90 percent of its procurement sp ...