These fool can talk nonsense. Why can’t the govt build hostels for the students and charge them little money or not at all. I thing these fool should be fired. He should have rather encouraged the president to build Apt building in the cities for workers rather than telling landlords to charge less for the Apts/rooms. And to collect only 6 months rent. Do you know much it cost to put a 4 bedroom in the cities.
Mother fucker idiot. It’s not about rent control in the mist of non availability of housing, but rather building more houses to accommodate the teaming worker and students in our cities.
This is what a good and caring government should be doing rather than talking about rent control or term of lease. A tenant has the right to pay 1 or 2 year rent but the landlord can not for anyone to do that. 6 months i year is ideal. One thing about 6 months is that, the tenant will not pay the next 6 months rent, and will not leave your house after the 6 months lease expires. That is the life of Ghanaians. Govt should Build more Apt houses and the rent will automatically level off. When there’re more Apt to rent the price will surely come down.
GH7654 1 week ago
This madness is only possible in a shithole like Ghana in 2026! When JM has the balls to introduce and enforce CONTROL PRICES IN KANTAMANTO, we will embrace this Rent Control nonsense!
Dr Mumbi Seraki 1 week ago
Hello youth of Ghana........You can take your own life with medicine. For instance 15 tramadol at once......or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide .
JESUS IS GOD 1 week ago
For whoever calls on the name of the Lord
shall be saved”
Romans 10:13.
Call on Jesus now—He hears, He forgives, He saves..
shall be saved”
Jahbless 1 week ago
Gyimiii papa nie,what is actually wrong with what this commissioner said.Ur a big fool to write all this shit without any reasoning.
KVB 1 week ago
You can say that again. What did the Commissioner say wrong that he's being insulted by some people on this platform. SSNIT is using pensioners money to build these facilities and charging so much, making so much profit but at the month, how much do most of our pensioners receive.
Jahbless 1 week ago
Ur have no brilliant people in ur entire family who has been to university before so u can talk this nonsense
Futurama 1 week ago
Utter nonsense. How could a rent control boss dictate the rental for a private property? If the government wants to dictate the rent, let them build affordable hostels and let them out cheaply to the students. Pensioners are crying out about their low pensions and you expect SSNIT to invest in charitable ventures? The cheap politics are too much. Let us be realistic. We are in a capitalist economy. Some of the students have rich parents and could afford to pay for the luxury. The solution is for the government to provide affordable hostels or subsidise the rents for the students who are proven to have parents who cannot afford to pay. Every investor expects profit from their ventures.
Jahbless 1 week ago
Another fool ,is ssnit a private entity? Rent control have a say in any rent that anybody in this country charges so shut ur smelling mouth if u have nothing sensible to say kwasiiiiaaaaa
Skoola 1 week ago
Why is a buffoon like you still allowed to comment on social media in 2026?
KWAME 1 week ago
HE IS A GORRILA. THE RENT CONTROL FOOL SHOULD RATHER ADVISE THE JOHN MAHAMAH GOVT TO BUILD MORE HOSTELS AND LEAVE SSNIT ALONE. MAHAMAH AND HIS BROTHER WHO HAS BEEN GIVEN THEV RICHEST GOLD MINE IN GHANA SHOULD BUILD HOSTELS AND APT BUILDINGS AND THE RENT WILL ADJUST ITSELF TO A REASOBLE PRICE. BUT NOT BUYING INTER-CONTINENTAL PLANE TO FLY AOUR STOLEN COLD TO SELL IN DUBAI. NOW IBRAHIM IS GOING TO BUILD AN AIRPORT NEAR HIS GOLD MINE SO HE CAN THE GOLD STRAIT TO DUBAI NON STOP. GHANAIANS ARE STUPID FOOLS.
Okyere J. 1 week ago
It looked like Jahbless is below the thinking level of basic human. What this commissioner is saying is bladder dash, outright stupidity.
NANA K 1 week ago
Massa you are talking rubbish. Are they not students before they want to stay in air conditioning hostels? Are they not other lower accommodation? please check the electricity bill with AC room for a year. Stop talking nosense massa.
Kwasi 1 week ago
Massa, your rantings will not work under situations where housing demand highly outstrips housing supply. No amount of rent control efforts work effectively in such situation. Tell your Ministers (Works & Housing, Roads & Highways, and Transport) therefore, to focus on making housing readily available, affordable, and accessible to all in need. It is the duty of SSNIT to invest properly in viable ventures, in a stable and predictable economy, so that, they can pay you a living pension when you retire from working. So, tell BoG the Minister for Finance to cut their losses, sanitise the economy and create a conducive investment climate for the benefit of all.
Zugu. Of zabzugu / TataleN/R 1 week ago
Jimmy , what is understanding of government. You thought SSNIT belongs to GUTA .
Broaden your horizon, please
If l may know do these fees include utility bills?
Jimmy , what is understanding of government. You thought SSNIT belongs to GUTA .
LPO 1 week ago
Hey Jimmy, Futurama, and Jimmy. I see how all three of you are stupid in your comments. People like you is the reason why we're being exploited in this country my a few greedy people and institutions. No.wonder Ghana is one of the most expensive places to live in, and driving investers away. Must we always defend everything? How many parents in Ghana receive 6400ghs or 8000gjs as monthly salary that will be able to afford to pay their wards accommodation fee every semester? Why should a state institution like SSNT be exploiting students at such an exorbitant fee, not even two per room, but 4. Multiply 6400×4=GHs25 ,600 and 8000×4=GHs 32,000. per semester for each room. How calous can a state institution exploit its citizens like this? How many SSNT-contributing parents can afford these hostels? If this is just accommodation, then comes tuition and other fees. We must be sensitive to ourselves and reject every exploitative schemes instead endorsing them simply because perhaps you're benefiting from it. In the UK and some low income countries, they don't exploit their students/citizens to this magnitude. Is only in Ghana we have this going on and instead citizens to speak against it we have nonentities like you guys defending it.
SLOUGH 1 week ago
LPO, have you ever heard of Supply and Demand in your wretched life? Do you know how expensive student accommodation is in the UK? I don't think so otherwise you wouldn't come here with your ignorant comment!
LPO 1 week ago
@SLOUGH. You still sound stupid and I can see how much greed is in your heart. You're such a terribly wicked soul who'll go at every length to exploit people. The fact that there high demand doesn't mean hostel fees should be raised to that insanely high margin. Kwasia like you. UK citizens don't pay much in terms of accommodation fees relative to their situation. You also sound ignorant to realize that SSNIT is a public entity and must employ equity and fairness in its pricing. You don't priceout the poor in a country where salaries are very low.
Jahbless 1 week ago
I heard this man on radio and he will surely become president of this great nation one day.Kudos Mr Opoku
OYENEARA 1 week ago
He will not become the president of even his ekurase!
Egudie 1 week ago
Let's us all leave according to our means and a student who prefer to sleep in a conditioning room doesn't deserve my pity. Mr man stop this hypothetical acts and stick to the fact
LPO 1 week ago
@Egudie. I don't think so. The country is being destroyed by a few greedy individuals and institution and we must speak against. Do you know the implication of this exploitative fees? What happens to poor students who can't afford? It means university education becomes the preserve of only the rich. Is the the country we want to build? When people are unable to afford this accommodation, what do you think will happen? They'll begin to build mishift structures in our cities. Also, other hostels will want to raise their pricesto be apar with SSNIT. We must speak against exploitative pricing.
Apo 1 week ago
And JM wants to pass a law against sex for jobs, who will report the crooks? this is how it starts, before our poor girls graduate. Let's tackle the little things first, JM.
ST GHFUO: Kwame Nkrumah International Airport 1 week ago
No regulation no oversight you cant expect people to rely on morals n goodwill in war or business.what do you expect?
Francis B. 1 week ago
Mr Jimmy as for this your comment no good.So you don't even know that SSNIT is for government?SSNIT is for all Ghanaians and thrir rent amounts should be lower than private hostels.In fact the government should aks SSNIT to reduce its rent amounts.
Okyere J. 1 week ago
It's funny when this rent control officers come online or engage the public on educative policies but ends up churning out outright rubbish. People take loans at interest rates, stay hungry to save money to build houses to rent as a way of securing their future. Monies that can be used for business ventures to yield profits are injected into building houses with intent of renting out or leasing to other as a way of making profit, you will come and utter stupidity that nobody has the right to increase rates for houses someone built without your involvement or any contributions. Everybody can build a house that would accommodate his immediate family, but why do we go beyond building to cater for that nucleus family? I have a land and 3 children, l can put up a building that accommodate only and only 4 person. So if l decide to build a 10 detached houses etc etc it's because am doing so as a business. Same way prices of goods are determined by demand and supply curve, goes to determine rents and rates for rooms. We need to be careful when coming out with some policies. We should NOT too free meal and drink very cheap wines and come out and say any stupid thing that comes into our mind. Per this stupid laws coming out from this jaundice office,I will rent to you with a condition of non- renewable after 6 months. The next tenant will pay the increase rate that l can put on the old tenants rate.
A Ghanaian. 5 days ago
PRESIDENT MAHAMA SHOULD STOP THIS CHEATING IMMEDEAITLY.
These fool can talk nonsense. Why can’t the govt build hostels for the students and charge them little money or not at all. I thing these fool should be fired. He should have rather encouraged the president to build Apt bu ...
shall be saved”
You can say that again. What did the Commissioner say wrong that he's being insulted by some people on this platform. SSNIT is using pensioners money to build these facilities and charging so much, making so much profit but a ...
Utter nonsense. How could a rent control boss dictate the rental for a private property? If the government wants to dictate the rent, let them build affordable hostels and let them out cheaply to the students. Pensioners are ...
HE IS A GORRILA. THE RENT CONTROL FOOL SHOULD RATHER ADVISE THE JOHN MAHAMAH GOVT TO BUILD MORE HOSTELS AND LEAVE SSNIT ALONE. MAHAMAH AND HIS BROTHER WHO HAS BEEN GIVEN THEV RICHEST GOLD MINE IN GHANA SHOULD BUILD HOSTELS AN ...
Massa you are talking rubbish. Are they not students before they want to stay in air conditioning hostels? Are they not other lower accommodation? please check the electricity bill with AC room for a year. Stop talking nosens ...
Massa, your rantings will not work under situations where housing demand highly outstrips housing supply. No amount of rent control efforts work effectively in such situation. Tell your Ministers (Works & Housing, Roads & Hig ...
Hey Jimmy, Futurama, and Jimmy. I see how all three of you are stupid in your comments. People like you is the reason why we're being exploited in this country my a few greedy people and institutions. No.wonder Ghana is one o ...
@SLOUGH. You still sound stupid and I can see how much greed is in your heart. You're such a terribly wicked soul who'll go at every length to exploit people. The fact that there high demand doesn't mean hostel fees should be ...
@Egudie. I don't think so. The country is being destroyed by a few greedy individuals and institution and we must speak against. Do you know the implication of this exploitative fees? What happens to poor students who can't a ...
Mr Jimmy as for this your comment no good.So you don't even know that SSNIT is for government?SSNIT is for all Ghanaians and thrir rent amounts should be lower than private hostels.In fact the government should aks SSNIT t ...
It's funny when this rent control officers come online or engage the public on educative policies but ends up churning out outright rubbish. People take loans at interest rates, stay hungry to save money to build houses to re ...