PNDC/ NDC SHOULD ALSO COMPENSATE THE FAMILY MEMBERS THEY KILLED THEIR MEMBERS
Kwaku Tee 8 hours ago
Nobody including all blacks have any reservation about the demand for a reparation for Slave Trade. The only problem are those blacks like yourself President John Mahama, so discredited being present for that fight.You have a tainted image and not good enough to join that fight.
+31 6 39174654 8 hours ago
Contact us for jobs in Russia and military training included
Ghanaman 6 hours ago
If anyone deserves reparations for the slave trade, it is the descendants of slaves in the Americas and not us.
Your forefathers slave traders sold slaves to the whites and collected and enjoyed their money or goods. Now you ... read full comment
If anyone deserves reparations for the slave trade, it is the descendants of slaves in the Americas and not us.
Your forefathers slave traders sold slaves to the whites and collected and enjoyed their money or goods. Now you want to collect double money again, in the name of making the souls of the slaves rest well. You think the whites are small children.
NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 5 hours ago
Manasseh,The greatest opportunist in Ghana, He needs appointment in government, Ghanaians we are more wiser now to believe this criminals parading as journalist,human advocate, ,etc.
Shaggy 2 hours ago
This is the first time I am hearing president JDM talk like a man. Enough of trying to be nice to people all the time. You are a politician. In politics we play by a different set of rules. Be nice but be firm.
Secondly, don ... read full comment
This is the first time I am hearing president JDM talk like a man. Enough of trying to be nice to people all the time. You are a politician. In politics we play by a different set of rules. Be nice but be firm.
Secondly, don't allow the despicable gormless, noise making pigs to detract you from your assignment. They hold a press conference ranting like malnourished babies then you quickly set up a probe or committee of enquiry. JDM, you must know by now the the pigs don't wish you well. They don't wish ghana well. Stop being pushed around by them. If well meaning Ghanaians talk, listen to them but definitely not to these despicable noise making occultic idiots.
Peterh 2 hours ago
Shaggy, Shaggy your post is a great one. Listen to Mahama and the Big Push. I like the 4th Estate but they are saying a few silly things on the big push. Only stupid people can say there is no emergency with roads. If you live on a road that people die everyday.
Opoku 1 hour ago
@Shaggy. If insulting someone for criticising makes someone a man then i have pity for you.Mahama has a penchant for insulting people who disagrees with him.He in very intolerant and vindictive.Nana Addo would have ignored such an issue.God bless him.
FRANKIE 5 hours ago
Thank you H.E. Osagyefo John Dramani Mahama for putting that mule Azure and his likes where they truly belong - in the trash pile of shit! Uncle Toms and house niggers like Azure Manasseh and co are all attention seeking bastards looking for favours from the Aryan Caucasian rascals. I'm sure that idiot Manasseh will shut his big stupid beak and run away with his tail in between his legs. BRAVO MAHAMA!!!
Rex 3 hours ago
Mahama, u couldn't debunk the fact that Gambaga slave market was blacks selling blacks to blacks,what Manasseh said was true,Chiefs sold out their village people to the whites for rum,kitchen knives, beads,gun powder and mirrors(Such mediocre items),we can't pretend that didn't happen,so in as much as u are demanding for reparations from the white,the role the black man played was much more crueler,white buying a black slave isn't a big deal than the black man selling his fellow black brother,people sold their nephews and nieces for rum(Alcohol),and Mahama thinks its infantile to raise it?Or he suggesting that the role the whites played was systematic but the black man's was under the influence of some inexistent gods or spirits and didn't know wat they were doing?Same greed,and pull him down,selfishness is what has dragged Africa backwards until this day,Manasseh was spot on,A white stranger coming to buy me away and my uncle who sold me to him,who is much more cruel???
Kofi 3 hours ago
You sound like a marxist rascal
Karikakchar 3 hours ago
We should rather focus on developing with the endowed enormous resources that we have and stop looking for easy way out. Stop these preposterous acts where we only take just 11% of resources exploited from our land.
Blue Pen 5 hours ago
Exactly, @Ghanaman. The descendants of those Africans, who were and are still touted even to this day as "brave warriors and conquerors, mighty and wealthy kings", who sold their fellow Africans to Europeans, want reparations paid to them for the evil their ancestors committed against their fellow Africans. Didn't their ancestors get full payment for the fellow Africans they sold? Reparations must be paid, and paid only to the descendants of the former slaves in the Americas and elsewhere, not to complicit and corrupt African nations.
Mr Mahama, raising questions about some relevant aspect of the transatlantic slave trade is childish and attention-seeking. By the same reasoning, are you not also chasing attention and legacy? Apart from the symbolic value of the resolution, who will pay reparations - USA or UK or neo-Nazi Argentina?
The Arab countries, which lined up to vote for the resolution, also enslaved and brutalized Africans. Some of the Arab countries continue to trade and abuse Black Africans as slaves to date. When will you demand reparations from your Arab friends?
Osei 4 hours ago
Nobody sold no one
Jimbo 4 hours ago
I had the same thought and l think l have to maintain that. It is the descendants of the slaves who are entitled to the reparation. It is possible that some of the slaves have their descendants here in Africa bcos, they had biological children, nephews and nieces to take care of when they were being enslaved.
Mr Logic 1 hour ago
Thanks Ghanaman. Mahama wants reparations from the West when clearly Africans were willing participants in the slave trade. So who's making infantile arguments? Mahama, come again.
Russia Job 6 hours ago
+31 6 391746541 please send me 3 months salary advance before I leave Ghana for Russia.
From the way people are dying in Ukraine, I'll like to enjoy life small then organize my own funeral before I leave Ghana. You can mom ... read full comment
+31 6 391746541 please send me 3 months salary advance before I leave Ghana for Russia.
From the way people are dying in Ukraine, I'll like to enjoy life small then organize my own funeral before I leave Ghana. You can momo the money to 026770777.
Your abuse back to you in droves 7 hours ago
Fuuls like you? No wonder we were enslaved.
Think 7 hours ago
Kweku Tee or whatever you call yourself, the kinds of are the problem this country have. Another infantile brain. Such level of ineptitude being displayed. Fools and betrayers like your type and Manasseh are mounting defence for the atrocious acts of those demons calling themselves, whites.
If your father were to be treated the way those blacks had received you'd learned a bit of sense.
Manasseh was shouting on rooftops because he father didn't receive the best healthcare needed at the north, today he's defending slavery, self-centered guy.
Kwasia bi, what tainted image has the president. You wish his kind as your father, nonsense!
David 6 hours ago
Ignore that twerp. Not worth your time
Ghanaman 6 hours ago
This reparations argument is like you sell your child to someone and then years later you say you are sueing the person in court for having bought your child from you.
Ghanaboy. 5 hours ago
Anybody who against this reparation is an enemy to his own self.
Akwapim Presby 4 hours ago
@ Ghanaman. Animal. So you buy stolen and contraband goods. When somebody comes to sell his child for you for rituals buy it and tell the police that his father brought him that is why you bought. Damn stupid animal like you
Ghanaman 2 hours ago
God bless your soul Akwapim Presby. Have a lovely day bro!
Kwadwo 7 hours ago
Manasseh is just simply a badly educated village boy whose mind is not sophisticated enough to understand that no African could dare resist the imposition of the trade in slaves upon them for the several hundreds of years that, that trade went on.
It needs to be emphasized that any attempt that was made by any African at the time to resist slavery, led to instant enslavement or even summary death at point blank range. In fact, the Africans who were forcibly tasked to go and hunt for slaves from the interior of the country for the white slave merchants, were considered lucky for being free from enslaved themselves. They were in addition, handsomely paid for that and hence, they became so rich and powerful among their local peers that even when the slave trade was abolished, they protested against that decision.
Manassehs state of mind is just the same as that of the Africans who were compromised to engage in the slave trade as a service to our oppressors. It is obvious that he Manasseh has not become an apologist for the ultimate beneficiaries of the slave trade for nothing. He has also not assumed the cheek and the effrontery to denigrate and falsely castigate our ancestors for nothing. That he is belatedly still flaunting the old worn out and misleading lie by the beneficiaries of the slave trade that Africans were also involved, speaks volumes about the level of his moral turpitude.
Needless to say, this monumental gaffe by Manasseh, has effectively terminated his once promising career along with any residual respect as a journalist that even his adversaries may have had for him.
Now that he has understandably condemned himself into the willful custody of those who have been universally pronounced guilty of committing the gravest crime against humanity, I hope the wrath of our ancestors will also effectively follow-up and deal with him in a manner that corresponds to the Weight of his mortal transgression.
Kwame K 5 hours ago
@Kwaku Tee, just shut the f*#!%* up. It is your Nana Addo and Bawumialiar who are so so discredited that Ghanaians chose JM over them in 2024.How could voters across the length and breadth of Ghana have voted massively for JM and the NDC Parliamentarians if they saw him as discredited with a tainted image. You must be having mental challenges to be spewing this nonsense.
JESUS IS GOD 8 hours ago
If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation”
— 2 Corinthians 5:17.
Let Jesus make you new—open your heart
and say yes to Him.
sotrue 8 hours ago
This Herdsman called Manaseh is a useless fool
who concocted guinea fowls flying to burkina which led to demons destroying this country . Keep your smelly mouth out of the country
Ruthan 8 hours ago
Was Airbus SE bribery and Kanazoe Road Contractor gift also concocted? The abuser himself is so discredited. Do you remember him insulting Dr Mahamudu Bawumia as Stupid? Uncouth President.
Sam 7 hours ago
You think writing trash makes you cool Abi? Idiort u r. In 8 years president Mahama was in Ghana -if you had a case with your airbus allegations, etc, he would have been imprisoned by then. Bawuliar Abuse? I bet your ears were plugged when that incompetent bawuliar was in power and the things him and his wife said about Great Mahama. Corruption? Go and tell your former coward finance minister who is on the run to come home and answer his corrupt allegations-ok? Before you talk of great Mahama. Mahama is 100 percent better than the former useless president who run the economy into a ditch amidst massive corruption- together with his side kick the so called economic wizard who we voted against potoooooooor as evidence of a very bad leadership.
Sage 5 hours ago
You're a certified patented idiot.
Smelly Fool.
TWEAA DC 8 hours ago
YES...THE CRIMES COMMITED BY PNDC/NDC TO GHANAIANS EQUALS THAT OF SLAVERY...VICTIMS AND FAMILIES TOO NEED COMPENSATION FROM JOHN FORD AIRBUS DRUNKMANI...TWEAA.
Kay 8 hours ago
If there shd be another Coup Detat like June 4th 1979 & Dec 31st 1981 with the same laws being applied many NDC leaders will be dispatched to their ancestors. Ghana Billionaire and his brother will top the list.
Agboglimate Wolefiatem Zuborborm 6 hours ago
@Twea DC your tribesmen and women of kalabule fame looted Ghanaians. These were continued by their descendants of Ofori Atta fame. There is no difference between kalabule and slave trade. Thanks to JJ
K. Kusi 7 hours ago
If that be the case, the Ashantis should be the first to pay reparations for the atrocities of the National Liberation Movement (NLM), the mate meho movement, that killed and mammed CPP members in Kumasi. Idiot! You think that is not part of the history of Ghana? If you have cotton wool stuffed in your anus, do not go jumping over naked fire. NLM was the first and last terrorist group ever recorded in the history of Ghana. You bandits.
Sam 7 hours ago
Maybe the UP first?
Enough with this slave trade stuff 7 hours ago
Mahama just concentrate what it is important and leave this slave trade issue alone.. there's more important issues and problems in the country that need your urgent attention...now that you back home try to ignore all the unnecessary stuff and get to work... mother Ghana need you
Sumaila 4 hours ago
The key word here is Mahama said some of OUR people. The supposedly ‘neutral’ patriots who were lambasting NPP were wolves in NDC clothing.
They will all be exposed one by one
The key word here is Mahama said some of OUR people. The supposedly ‘neutral’ patriots who were lambasting NPP were wolves in NDC clothing.
snake eyes 3 hours ago
Exactly
Exactly
Yabi Yabi 37 minutes ago
People died during the 24th February 1966 coup that toppled the democratically elected civilian government of Kwame Nkrumah and his CPP; should the NPP participants and their foreparents pay?
People were killed at Ayewase ... read full comment
People died during the 24th February 1966 coup that toppled the democratically elected civilian government of Kwame Nkrumah and his CPP; should the NPP participants and their foreparents pay?
People were killed at Ayewase election by security agents of the NPP majority government of Akufo-Addo /Dr. Bawumia should the NPP government pay?
We can allow infantile, ignorance brought on by arrogance and lack of principles to take hostage each national discussion but that would please fools like you; there are too many wise Ghanaians to fall into your trap.
Donatus 8 hours ago
What is infantile? Who sold the Africans?
Nana 8 hours ago
The presence of President John Dramani Mahama in AU for that fight is weakening our case. We pray we get better leadership in future, who our Colonisers will respect for our case.
TWEAA DC 8 hours ago
THE RESOLUTION IS NOT EVEN BINDING ON ANY COUNTRY...WHO IS GOING TO PAY WHAT TO WHOM?...FOR THE CORRUPT AFRICAN LEADERS TO STEAL AND SEND BACK THE MONEYS TO THEIR PRIVATE BANK ACCOUNTS ABROAD?....TWEAA.
Truth 8 hours ago
There's something innately wrong with the black race, especially people like you. Just because you don't like someone, you have to bite off your nose to spite your own face. Over 150 countries voted for it and you have kofi manu in some village with access to internet fighting his own president for it. What a people!
The 8 hours ago
Don't give us wrong information. About 125 countries voted for and they are most Africans,Caribbeans & Asians. 58 Countries mostly the offenders (Slave Traders) abstained.
Should they be people who initiated it? What a twep you are
You think every slave was sold? Even so does that make it right? If there was no initiators who planned the whole thing, would there even be someone to sell? Who benefited most from the slave trade? - the African countries or the other? Over 400 years. So black traitors sold their fellow person- does that mean we have to say the black victims deserve it? Does the black sellers match the quantity that were put in shackles like animals and shipped? Should we let the masterminders walk free and not even talk about it? In any case, Who at all told you reparation is only money? Or that it is money that Mahama and co are looking for- like Mahama said some of us have infantile thinking. The worst person in life is a traitor-people like you. I will ask you to read some of sekou toure quotes and advice yourself as an African . A kid brain like you.
Sage 5 hours ago
Ignorant Idiot.
Read the Nonsense you scribbled again.
Buulubi gbee !
Ignorant Idiot.
Buulubi gbee !
David 6 hours ago
You mother sold them
Stop listening to motivational or inspirational speakers 8 hours ago
Foolish boy manasseh! He no get common sense koraa. Useless journalist who no get respect for elders or leaders.kwaasiaa boy
Nii 8 hours ago
Hahaahaaaaa I remember NDC claiming that Akuffo Addo was looking for Manasseh Azure to kill him.Why are they fighting him now? It means Manasseh has been doing a fair job on our politicians.
Alister Kojo 6 hours ago
The President addresssed a broad view of critics. He never mentiond Manasseh. Please
Ujah 8 hours ago
Seeking attention is the appropriate description of those guys. But there is one more ignorance.
My point 8 hours ago
It's always a problematic when a fool doesn't know he or she is a fool.
The some black people just don't understand what the gravity of what happened.
Sage 5 hours ago
Stupid Fool, manufactured by useless parents.
SAEED OSMAN 8 hours ago
It's amazing that this Mannesa guy only find his voice for baseless and sometimes outright lies criticism only when Mahama is in power because Mahama is a true democratic and will not unleash any dogs after him. We had a government not long ago where there was scandals on an hourly basis we did not hear anything from him because his first attempt that happened to a genuine criticism was met with a death squad. He's either a coward or hate Mahama because he's a fellow Norther. If the atmosphere allows you to criticise pls make a constructive one as you did under Akuffo Addo.
Senegal 8 hours ago
Somebody's name is going to be struck out of the govt payroll p33 WhatsApp group prefect Samson is not happy at all
Mike Oppong 8 hours ago
Why did you criticise NAD when he was doing the same. You shouted against it but now expecting hero worshipping.
Kwesi 8 hours ago
Thanks my dear. This ODWANFUNU thinks he’s always the best! Just a fucky idiot he’s .
Ama 7 hours ago
President John Dramani Mahama hardly forgives. Do you remember his relationship with Koku Anyidoho, they used to work in the same office. Manasseh Azure shd ignore his insults, the man hates him.
Appiah 8 hours ago
You, the president is the one considering those comments as infantile. Same way the US, Israel and Argentina also considered your argument so infantile hence voted against it. Can’t we all express our views? Our own people sold our people into slavery is that not a fact?
3rdEye 4 hours ago
APPIAH, gyimie nnyɛ oo... Gyimie nnyɛ koraaa.
Ɛnti nea wo kã yɛ yi, ɛtɔ aso mu ma wo?
Adɛn yɛ pae wo firi boɔ bi mu anaa? Wo kasa asɛ adwene biara nni wo tiri mu!
Appiah 3 hours ago
@ 3rdeye , u are a big fool. U couldn’t say anything sensible. Foolish man.
The’ odwanfunu’ is talking rubbish 8 hours ago
Trash talk Mahama. If your wicked and primitive ancestors had not waged stupid tribal wars to capture their kith and kin as slaves the so called ships would have returned to Europe without human cargo. Mr Mahama why don’t you want to accept this truth?
KWASI IN EUROPE 8 hours ago
MAHAMA himself is a shameful infant. Akufo Addo started the reparations issue but Mahama is behaving as if he started it. Secondly, no white man in his right senses will pay money to a known thief like Mahama whose name appeared in the British tabloid, The Sun, as a very CORRUPT individual.
TWEAA DC 7 hours ago
YES..JOHN FORD AIRBUS DRUNKMANI IS A KNOWN CORRUPT LEADER IN THE WEST BECAUSE OF THE FAMOUS AIRBUS CORRUPT SCANDAL....THE WORLD LEADERS ONLY LISTEN TO HIM....THEY DO NOT TAKE HIM SERIOUS...HE IS A LIAR AND CORRUPT...TWEAA.
Tamale North Boy 8 hours ago
The real JM is back. Manasseh and Co, the honeymoon is over.
Bitter truth 8 hours ago
Mahama is taking the path of nana Addo..always interested in giving talks on international platforms yet his own citizens are suffering..slavery is happening right here in Ghana in 2026..these are the slavery happening in Ghana 1. If nurses/ teachers and doctors are not paid for 1year after they have been posted? Is that not slavery 2. In this modern era, a whole president of Ghana can sign a slave law to send their essential workers like nurses, doctors, teachers etc to a different country simply because he cannot create jobs for them..am asking is that not also slavery 3. We have a section of Ghanaian citizens who in this 2026 still drinks water with cows which I have witness some with my own eyes..4. In this modern day of 2026, Qhen a female graduate has to sleep with a big politician before she can get a descent jobs in Ghana.. please am asking is that not slavery? So the question is Ghana itself is still under modern day slavery which the govt has to correct all those mistakes before he can go out there and preach..because some Ghanaians are still going through slavery because of bad leadership
Thomas Aboagye 7 hours ago
Hogwash. If you don't have anything constructive to say just zip your mouth. Comparing apples to mangoes just reveals the emptiness of your arguments. What Mahama did is unprecedented and trying to claim parts of his successful presentation for Akuffo Addo is desperation. Akuffo Addo's legacy is in the dustbins of history and anyone who tries to rebuild his tattered image is fighting in futility. He had 8 years to rule Ghana and virtually destroyed the country’s economy, that's what we will forever remember him for.
Sage 5 hours ago
You're an ignorant fool.
Blue Pen 5 hours ago
@Sage. You only have one argument; and that is to call those you disagree with "ignorant fool, patented idiot ", etc.
Intelligent people put up solid arguments. Any imbecile can type insults.
@Sage. You only have one argument; and that is to call those you disagree with "ignorant fool, patented idiot ", etc.
Bitter truth 3 hours ago
Thank you Blue pen, I like your statement..intelligent people put put up solid arguements while’s people with low IQ always resort to insults..I put up with facts that’s still happening in Ghana but He couldn’t dispute them..Am not against reparations for slaves, but am against the govt of Ghana putting his people through modern day slavery and still acting like it’s not happening..you are intelligent Blue pen..he couldn’t dispute what I said but rather came with insults, it shows his level of thinking is very low..
Bitter truth 3 hours ago
@Sage the Bible said the biggest weapon of a fool is insults..upon all the facts I stated which is still happening in Ghana, u couldn’t dispute anything I of them but resort to insults..slavery is one of the bad things that ever happened to humanity, yes I agree but what of the govt putting his own people through slavery? If citizens are drinking water with animals, is that not slavery too? U are dumb and don’t need to be commenting on public issues..
Bitter truth 3 hours ago
Thomas aboagye, I stated facts and dummies like u couldn’t dispute anything I said but come here to rants like fools..the facts is slavery is still happening in Ghana..if a nurse or teacher is not paid for like a whole year, that’s itself slavery..forget all the nonesense u guys write about nana Addo, he is one of the best president in the history of Ghana no matter how u try to paint him black? Wha has mahama done differently from nana Addo? U are those dumb ass Ndc fool soldiers so no need to be back and forth with u
Bony 8 hours ago
But my problème is if some money will be paid as à réparation, will tgat be made to the states or to the individuel familles? If it will go to the states then the money should not come because our politiciens whether NPP or NDC oooo, Christians or Muslims are all corrupt. They dont deerve to be given such compensation. AKRONFO WHO GO TO MUSQE ON FRIDAY AND THOSE WHO TO CHURCH ON SUNDAY.
DDT 7 hours ago
The same Mahama after seeing the foolishness of this frafra dog Manasseh will one day go and endorse or purchase a book written by that idiot. We have given that dog Manasseh too much attention he is beginning to fool.
Well said Mr President. Well said.
Yes. 7 hours ago
Sometimes Manasseh can be controversial. Be aware that some of your great-grandparents from Bongo were sent to the West Indies Islands. Why say some blacks were implicated? Mention those blacks you know.
Andamus 7 hours ago
Congratulations my president, our ancestors and posterity will always be kind to you. As for Afenyo and Manasseh, they are irrelevant to our course because 123 voted and the rest is history
Stop listening to motivational or inspirational speakers 7 hours ago
Manaseh sees himself as non-adrican and a non-ghanaian therefore say things to annoy or anger people as if he is the only WISEST PERSON. king solomon manasseh
Stone 7 hours ago
Up you President Mahama. You are on the right path. Those critics are Betrayers and hypocrites. Shame on you Manasa and Co.
Kantoose 7 hours ago
This common character of an African discrediting another African for a good cause he himself did not start or fathom. Can we ignore our subjective differences and support an objective goal for once? This tells about how the slave trade was so successful in the first place.
Meet rusian powerful hacker from russain base in german all bank loading in usa canada german uk 7 hours ago
Hi am wolfgang russian german, base in german ... I am IT engenering i can fixed any usa credit score i can pays of usa, canada german austrial car loans,I pays off credit card loan banks loans i can do usdt flashing i can sell usdt coinsbase i do alot of staff if intrested u can wasap me 00491608343763 am wolfgang i sell gambling sof
KK 7 hours ago
I think the Word is too strong
Nii Akwei 7 hours ago
Reparation to whom? Another noko fio for politicians to enjoy.
Martin Kreisler 7 hours ago
Your excellency, with the greatest respect, these arguments about the reparations are never infantile or childish.
The fact of history is that our forebearers were willing participants in the Atlantic Slave TRADE (and this i ... read full comment
Your excellency, with the greatest respect, these arguments about the reparations are never infantile or childish.
The fact of history is that our forebearers were willing participants in the Atlantic Slave TRADE (and this is why it is refered to as TRADE).
A good many of the slaves were sold on the markets to the slave traders, and that makes us also accountable for the horrors of slavery, and not beneficiaries of reparations. If anything at all, the reparations should go to those who were victims (the decendants of the slaves) and not the decendants of the participants.
We must sometimes sit down and reflect soberly, about what it was like to be bundled off to these slave traders, by your own kingsmen, never to return home. Let's try and imagine the feelinig of betrayal they must have felt.
Kwadwo 6 hours ago
Ignorance is a terrible mental disease but willful ignorance, contrived to project and at the same time protect and promote evil, is the work of the devil.
Nsia 4 hours ago
@Kwadwo, Massa, history is what happened and not our own perceived opinion of it or the Anansesem that our parents told us.Whether it is a comfortable read or not. Our ancestors were just as vile ,despicable and gullible. They were no different from our own galamseyers and the Chinese today. Now, read.... I do not want to hear your version of what happened. Just read what happened.
Prominent slave traders and organizers in the Asante Kingdom (1700–1890s) were primarily state officials under the Asantehene (King), including the Gyasewahene (treasury overseer) and Batahene (trade chief). The state-controlled system, driven by monarchs like Osei Tutu and Opoku Ware, captured slaves through wars, supplying them to European traders at coastal forts like Elmina and Cape Coast.
Key Asante Entities in Slave Trade (1700–1890s):
Asantehene (King): Held total control over trade, using slave sales to obtain guns and European goods to maintain regional superiority.
Gyasewahene: Managed the state enterprise of trade and was empowered to direct trade to chosen locations.
Asokwahene (or Batahene): Specialized official responsible for trading on behalf of the King, frequently purchasing goods on the coast in exchange for people.
Akwansrafo (Road Wardens): Maintained control over trade routes to prevent, in some cases, European-armed slaves from moving against Asante interests, but facilitated the general flow of captives.
Akwamu: An allied state noted for its role in early, high-volume slave supply to Europeans.
Key Historical Context:
State-Owned Enterprise: The slave trade was not simply run by private individuals but was a state-controlled mechanism to procure firearms.
Transition from Gold: While initially focused on gold, the Asante pivoted to exporting captives (prisoners of war and subjects from conquered tributes) to feed European demand.
Northern Routes: After expanding to northern Ghana, slave traffic was directed through northern routes as well, handled by regional chiefs (Gonja/Dagomba) under Asante mandate.
End of Trade: The slave trade continued until the British exerted direct control, specifically forcing the abolition of the practice upon the exile of King Prempeh I in 1896.
Martin Kreisler 4 hours ago
If this refers to me, then I strongly advice that you read credible history documents about the slave trade, and get yourself educated about the facts of the Atlantic Slave Trade.
I do support the notion that the Slave Tr ... read full comment
If this refers to me, then I strongly advice that you read credible history documents about the slave trade, and get yourself educated about the facts of the Atlantic Slave Trade.
I do support the notion that the Slave Trade was a despicable crime against humanity, but then in making such a declaration, all participants in the crime must be duly mentioned, and held accountable; and not just 'one' of the 'parties', for the sake of political and financial expediency.
Have you ever read about the Salaga Market (an international trading post at the time), and the slave trading that went on there, how slaves were traded openly on that market with the involvement forebearers.
I would have prefered not to mention the activities of some tribes in this country, who through wars, captured these victims and sold them to the slave traders, or the chiefs who recieved payments in the form of drinks, guns & ammunition, etc, according to historical records.
Ignorance of the type being displayed on this platform, together with its associated dogmatism and 'begger mentality', has contributed grately to the state we find ourselves so many years after Political Independence.
Get yourself educated on the subject of the Slave Trade, and stop bandying senseless, emotional words you don't understand youself, lest you be come a victim of the worst form of mental disease you seem to be trying to describe; that is, if it isnt already too late (from the look of things).
Nsia 4 hours ago
@Martin, I have just rebutted his accusation of you being ignorant with an uncomfortable facts that will prove he is actually more daft and uninitiated than you . Cheers!
PITO 2 hours ago
Within historical African tribal wars, there were captured humans and labor. Chatel slavery was NOT practiced in Africa. Many prisoners of war in tribal Africa were actually assimilated into the new society. Take the northerners assimilating into Akan society for example. When we speak of international slave trade, how could the African tribes know how the colonisers were practicing their form of labor? Racism was not even apparent to the tribes at the time. And what day did they have beyond the exchange? The tribes themselves were under constant attack from the invader colonisers who had brought guns. Trade with the or be defeated. Note that majority of slaves were captured by mercenaries armed by the traders. Either way the main contest is how the colonisers chattel slavery was practiced. It was dehumanising and a crime against humanity and we should not even be turning our heads back to the tribes who were actually victims of the powerful invaders with big wooden navies and a well-rehearsed agenda.
Nsia 1 hour ago
@PTO, I'm not interested I'm your thesis, the facts are as plain as the nose on your face,
King 7 hours ago
Manase will soon be killed by the gods
agyeman 6 hours ago
WHAT IS MORE INFANTILE THAN NOT CHECKING YOUR FACTS AND PROCEEDING HURRIEDLY TO READ A PAPER NOT WRITTEN BY YOU AND WHICH CONTENT WAS NOT THOUGHT THROUGH THOROUGHLY TO AN AUGUST FORUM LIKE THE UN. FOR EXAMPLE, DID YOU JUST SAY REPARATIONS? TO WHO, BY WHOM, HOW MUCH AND WHY FOR EACH RECIPIENT? MY OPINION IS, WHY YOU ALLOWED YOURSELF TO BE USED TO DO THE DIRTY JOB? DIPLOMACY ALLOWS THAT OVATION BE GIVEN TO ANY TYPE OF SPEAKER WHETHER THE PERSON TALKS SENSE OR NOT. NOT BECAUSE STATEMENTS MADE SENSE. PLEASE PRESIDENT MAHAMA ITS NO BIG DEAL SO STOP CASTING ASPERSIONS.
GOLDEN 6 hours ago
IGNORANT PEOPLE SHOULD KEEP THEIR MOUNTHS ZIPPED,PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
THERE ARE OLD HORRIBLE PICTURES OF SLAVES BEING CAPTURED AT GUN -POINTS WITH YOKE OF IRON ON THEIR NECKS,HAVE YOU READ ABOUT A BOY FROM A RICH NIGERIAN FAMILY,OLAIDAH EQUAINO,WHO WAS TARGETED,AND LATER CAPTURED AND SOLD BY THE SLAVE DEALERS,EVEN HIS SISTER WAS ALSO CAPTURED?????????????
LISTEN TO THE AMAZING SERMONS OF TRUSTWORTHY PASTOR OMART THIBEAUX AND WAKE UP,DO NOT CONTINUE TO REMAIN IGNORANT,THE DEVIL IS A LIAR!!!!!!!!!!!
agyeman 6 hours ago
THIS WHOLE THING MY BROTHER WAS SELF-INFLICTED. YOU DON'T THINK YOU WHEN YOU EAT YOUR CAKE YOU WILL HAVE IT. TODAY IN GHANA, WHAT IS MORE PAINFUL THAN THE SLAVE TRADE IS WHEN ONE WORKS OVER A YEAR, IS NOT PAID AND IS EXPECTED TO WORK. ISN'T IT MORE THAN SLAVE TRADE? WHEN OTHERS ARE NOT PAID AND AS PRESIDENT YOU DECIDE TO INCREASE RECRUITMENT WHEN YOU KNOW THERE'S NO MONEY TO PAY THEIR WAGES ISN'T THIS A CLEAR CASE OF POSTURING AS A SLAVE MASTER? SLAVE MASTERS NEVER CARED A HOOT ABOUT THE WELFARE OF THEIR PROPERTIES (SLAVES) AND TO WIT LEGALLY EMPLOYED PERSONS WITH APPOINTMENT LETTERS. MASSA EMPTY BARRELS MAKE THE MOST NOISE....OR IS THAT NOT WHAT THE IDIOM SAYS?
FocusGuy 6 hours ago
Confidence trickster president
Thank you 6 hours ago
Azure has been messing up in recent times...
He seems not to be making to much sense with his write ups...
OSAFO KANTANKA 6 hours ago
These AFRICANS who are SUGGESTING that AFRICANS were involved in the SLAVE Trade so Reparations should be Ruled out are NOT really Thinking STRAIGHT. They have EXPOSED themselves “Big time “ who “Their Masters Are” . They have absolutely No SHAME . We know who their PAY MASTERS are.
Nsia 4 hours ago
@ Osafo, history is what actually happened and recorded, not your opinion or my opinion of it. Whether we like it or not, our ancestors were just as vile ,despicable and gullible. Facts are just that, facts. And, there is bugger-all Kwaku Dua or Osafo Kantaka can do about what happened.
Prominent slave traders and organizers in the Asante Kingdom (1700–1890s) were primarily state officials under the Asantehene (King), including the Gyasewahene (treasury overseer) and Batahene (trade chief). The state-controlled system, driven by monarchs like Osei Tutu and Opoku Ware, captured slaves through wars, supplying them to European traders at coastal forts like Elmina and Cape Coast.
Key Asante Entities in Slave Trade (1700–1890s):
Asantehene (King): Held total control over trade, using slave sales to obtain guns and European goods to maintain regional superiority.
Gyasewahene: Managed the state enterprise of trade and was empowered to direct trade to chosen locations..
Asokwahene (or Batahene): Specialized official responsible for trading on behalf of the King, frequently purchasing goods on the coast in exchange for people.
Akwansrafo (Road Wardens): Maintained control over trade routes to prevent, in some cases, European-armed slaves from moving against Asante interests, but facilitated the general flow of captives.
Akwamu: An allied state noted for its role in early, high-volume slave supply to Europeans..
Key Historical Context:
State-Owned Enterprise: The slave trade was not simply run by private individuals but was a state-controlled mechanism to procure firearms.
Transition from Gold: While initially focused on gold, the Asante pivoted to exporting captives (prisoners of war and subjects from conquered tributes) to feed European demand.
Northern Routes: After expanding to northern Ghana, slave traffic was directed through northern routes as well, handled by regional chiefs (Gonja/Dagomba) under Asante mandate.
End of Trade: The slave trade continued until the British exerted direct control, specifically forcing the abolition of the practice upon the exile of King Prempeh I in 1896..
wallah 6 hours ago
The grt crime agaisnt us are the leaders like u who steal from us and enrich yourself and cronies.Do u know how many of us die as a result of your bad and visionless leadership,corruption and stealing ....They wont give us any rreparations so u cann steal and enrich.Thieves in suit
agyeman 6 hours ago
I THOUGHT THEY SAY OUR MAN PURSUED HISTORY AS A FIRST DEGREE. HA BA? SOMEONE SHOULD COME AGAIN.
ELECTED TO SOLVE GHANA'S PROBLEMS - Kwabs,london 6 hours ago
Good you are back .Mr President. Now concentrate on solving Ghana's problems. That is what you were elected to do..As for the holocaust it is just an exaggerated historical event meant to draw sympathy for Jews who are commiting genocide in Gaza.
Kweku 6 hours ago
Slavery existed before the coming of the Europeans. The Arabs sold slaves before the European. Why are we not asking for reparations from the Arabs?
Osei 6 hours ago
Well done Mr. President. I don't know what Manasseh is trying to profit for..
President JDM pls stop wasting your time on IDIOTS 6 hours ago
Mr. President please stop wasting your time on haters and idiots. Because God has chosen you to lead and excel. These lunatics and distractors from the time of Abrefa Busia and criminal Akuffo Addo father will not stop. May gods of our land protect from the enemies of Ghana.
Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 6 hours ago
Don’t waste your time and energy on this recalcitrant of person called Manasseh. His cup will be full soon. He is being paid by his slave masters in Europe to churn out garbage. You don’t make a mockery of such sensitive matter. Slave masters are still getting their compensation. Which African has been compensated since slavery was abolished. Gbee kwan.
Akajatayogogo 6 hours ago
Can't these Manasseh be arrested? Where was he when Akufo Addo was a president? He took President Mahama as nothing, so he can talk to him anyhow!! Foolish boy. He should keep quiet, Kwasia.
Sage 5 hours ago
You will forever remain a fool.
Liability to your useless family.
Nee 6 hours ago
Can the president not use different word with diplomatic tone than this. Infantile ???. The kids are watching us.
Col.Q 6 hours ago
And the mental slavery lives on unabated, oh Blackman, I weep for you!!! Manasseh and co still under the yoke of slavery!!!
Ewvevi 5 hours ago
Look who is calling somebody infantile and childish. Granted, the slave trade was very bad, however, you and your inexperienced foreign minister cannot grade it at the pinnacle of a taxonomy of crimes against humanity. What about colonization itself whereby tribes were either lumped up together with other unrelated tribes into one country, or, split apart to belong to two different countries with different foreign lingua franca? Where does colonization lie in the hierarchy of the taxonomy of crimes? If it is about crime, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE ABOUT BRINGING FORMER NPP APPOINTEES TO BOOK ALMOST TWO YEARS INTO OFFICE? Talking about Adu boahen, ofori atta, agyenim boateng PPA, bost, PDS, Kelni gvg, etc? What have you done about Afenyo-Markins' criminal case of slapping a policeman? All we see is you playfully and childishly bantering with him at funerals and in parliament. That slapping is not a crime? I think you should be worried about the sudden emergence of a string of disgraceful events coming your way. Perhaps Gen Kotoka's ghost is haunting you. If it isn't the disgraceful withdrawal of your PhD at Lincoln University, then it is being hooted at by the people you claimed to be getting reparations for in the US, or much worse, a suit at the Ghana Supreme Court challenging the legality of the change of Gen Kotoka's name at the airport. Mr president, if you weren't childish and infantile yourself, you wouldn't jump into the ceremonial uniforms of military generals. Though it's not wrong, it is not necessary for a mature president to do. Even the young Diomaye Faye of Senegal hasn't done that yet. JM, respectfully, I think you are the childish one rather. Remember, I voted for you 3 times, infact 4, including your vice presidency, but, I've begun to see this infantile side of you which irks me a lot. Stop grinning and bantering with the wicked and corrupt npp opponents, and GROW UP!
Yes Mahama is not afraid . 5 hours ago
Mr President to complete this job fully so it doesn’t die on the way and very shortly ,please create a:
“Slavery Reparations Secretariat” a permanent venue where all this matters can be discussed, meetings and Consul ... read full comment
Mr President to complete this job fully so it doesn’t die on the way and very shortly ,please create a:
“Slavery Reparations Secretariat” a permanent venue where all this matters can be discussed, meetings and Consultations can take place . International people will have a place to land at .
Mr president by doing so you would have kick started the process.
An excellent location for this all important secretariat will be the national cathedral land . It represents Africa .
Atta 5 hours ago
I believe the posture His Excellency The President has taken can be considered as unfortunate. He could at least listen to the facts that people are bringing out. And in any case The President is not above criticism.
I do ... read full comment
I believe the posture His Excellency The President has taken can be considered as unfortunate. He could at least listen to the facts that people are bringing out. And in any case The President is not above criticism.
I don’t know who brought up this Slave Trade Reparations brouhaha, but what i can say is that Mr President please thread cautiously in going about this. Because what is happening is that this is causing you to lose focus on your key agenda for the nation. Also it is giving you a bad posture in the international community.
Be careful, and be cautious of the programs and policies that emanate from your cabinet meetings. Also be careful of who brings any idea to you for consideration. Remember the embarrassment you went through last week in the US. Not all praise singers wish you well! Have a great day
Traditionalist 5 hours ago
What history does Manasseh know.
He is only seeking attention and I am not sure this is the platform for him to do so.He equally needs to know the limits of his intellectual capacity.Those leading this crusade have more knowledge in the subject than he does.It is not everything you Wade into because you are a journalist.There are more serious brains who have learn what Manasseh has not learnt before and who are at the forefront of this struggle.
He Mannaseh dare not compare himself to black intellectuals like Ealter Rodney, Morale Campbell amd Chancellor Williams or Dr. KWAME Nkrumah. All these personalities saw reparations for slavery as necessary and the slave trade as the gravest crime against humanity.
By the way, is Manasseh a historian?
Can we have respect for others in their field of specialisation?
Mannaseh's voice does not go beyond his 4ural Bongo enclave.This what he should know.
Idiot.
Northern Boy 5 hours ago
Manaase is stupid foreign agent. Small boy mentality. If that's how he thinks he can get popular he shouldn't forget that Hitler was more popular than he can ever think of being. Idiot
Vorsah 5 hours ago
I completely disagree with JDM on several grounds. Yes, slavery is a crime against humanity despite its legality then, but I can't agree it's the gravest crime against humanity. What is the measuring rule for the hierarchy of crimes to ascertain slavery is the gravest? Don't belittle other crimes and sufferings of people you don't know.
Again, the Transatlantic Slavery is not the only slavery that went on in Africa. Slavery was ongoing long before the whites came. There was localized slavery where slaves were used for various human sacrifices. The Arab slavery started and outlasted the Transatlantic. It was also barbaric where males were mostly castrated without anaesthetics and the women kept for sex. You can't talk about only one side.
Now with the Transatlantic Slavery, there were three groups of people involved:
I) Slave Makers. They are the Africans, our own ancestors who either went on a raid or went to war or seized as payments for debts other free Africans and forcefully turned them into slaves. Those who resisted were killed. We black Africans today including JDM are the descendants of those who turned free men into slaves. What do you think is their responsibility in the reparation talks? Note that the Slave Makers are also the first to trade in slaves for profit.
II) Slave Traders. They bought and sold the free men made slaves for profit. They were intermediaries, both blacks who transported the slaves to the coasts, and whites who transported them to the Americas. Transportation of slaves was deadly as many died on the way eg. the 134 JDM talks about. But that's insignificant to the casualties suffered. The white slave traders, though not the only ones, stand accused everyday, ignoring those who made the free men slaves and first sold them. Their profit margin is a reason for the call for reparations. What do you think is their responsibility?
III) Slave Users. They also bought the slaves and put them to free forced labour on the plantations, factories, construction sites, homes etc. They enjoyed the fruits of the labour of the slaves for free. Despite the ill-treatment, there some were fed, clothed, slept under roof, had spouses and children etc. as subhumans until death came or freedom came at last. For the margins of profits these slave users enjoyed there is the claim of reparation against them.
Today, in the 21st Century, slavery has still not left Africa. In some communities in Ghana today, children are sold (not into slavery?). The many beggars on the streets of Accra are a clear evidence of slavery. Good and interview them and see, that they are only working for the slave masters. Any reparation for them? Many African girls for tha want of jobs that JDM and other African presidents couldn't provide them travel to Gulf states end up in slavery. Any reparation for them? Some are forced to have sex with dogs. Where does that rate on the index of crimes against humanity?
Whereas slavery contributed significantly to the development of the Americas, slavery is not responsible for the lack of development in Africa. African countries have high population and so have never lacked labour force. In fact unemployment rates in Africa are one of the highest in the world because successive governments including that of JDM have failed to provide jobs for their people, if not destroy some of the few existing jobs for political reasons. That is why nurses, teachers, the youth are on the exodus to foreign lands. If you doubt, just bring another slave ship to our ports and see how many of your professionals will voluntarily board to be transported to the Americas in flight of the harsh realities they are enduring here. You will see the freedom from their hardships here far outweigh their fear of the unknown world or death. Ask those who travel through the deserts in search of greener pastures in Europe, if they fear the heat, slavery, murders of the deserts, the capsizing boats in the Mediterranean or they fear the hunger back at home.
Government officials in Africa, including JDM's have been corrupt, selfish, self agrandizing, the cause of Africa's problems. The biggest reason of Africa's problems however is mindset, the mindset that others are the cause of our problems and that our development is dependent on others. Locally, we blame our grandmothers as the witches behind the sickness, joblessness, death and every adversity that comes to us. When down with malaria, some prefer to go to prayer camps than to go the clinic. The thought of prevention is even abstract. It is same mindset our national leaders have. JDM believes the whites due to slavery are the reasons why we haven't developed. We spend millions to travel to Europe to court investors who don't live here so will definitely send their gains home. We can't build our own factories, we can't farm our own lands, we can't develop ourselves. Our governments are always on the way out to beg foreigners to come and invest. That is why our currency will always be weak, and we can't develop. Our wrong mindset is the reason why we want to sell the pains of the ancestors our ancestors sold for material gains in the name of reparation. We are not satisfied with the profits our ancestors made in slavery, we are seeking top-up. Has slavery really ended? It's now wonder our ancestors protested bitterly when slavery was made illegal by the whites, because we still want to gain from it.
I hope one day we have a proper mindset.
3rdEye 3 hours ago
Vorsa or Vɔsa.
Ur name means sacrifies in ɛʋɛ.
Are u sensible than the over 125+ countires that voted for the motion to declare the slave trade as the 'Gravest Crime Against Humanity'?!
Do you know the first slav ... read full comment
Vorsa or Vɔsa.
Are u sensible than the over 125+ countires that voted for the motion to declare the slave trade as the 'Gravest Crime Against Humanity'?!
Do you know the first slaves taken from the continent were not sold by their own people, but were abducted/kidnapped by slavers?
You talk as one who only sees one side of a doublesided coin and thereby thinking as though the coin has only one side.
People like You (Vɔsa) always would want to politicize everything and belittle achievements accrued by people you support not.
Its funny how 'oversabi' leads people like You (Vɔsa) to talk trash and expect people to think you are abbrested.
Your hypocrisy equals that of the three countries that voted against the motion.
If the gravest crime against humanity is not Slave Trade that lasted over 400 years, then what qualifies to be the gravest crime against humanity?!
Man, get some schooling and garner up wisdom and stop spewing nonsense hoping to be heard.
If slave owners were paid reparations for freeing other humans that were their slaves, is it not equally prudent to pay reparations to the enslaved people?!
Bomɛtsitsi kplɛ nu manya manya ɖɛna fu na amɛgbɛtɔ wo ŋutɔ̃.
JN 5 hours ago
Mahama bore
Mahama bore
Stop listening to motivational or inspirational speakers 5 hours ago
When will manasseh put an end to his usual tomfoolery
Bk man 5 hours ago
Some people are useless than animals and deserved not to be called human beings. Some african fools don't want justice to be served.
Ghanaba 5 hours ago
What is more slavery than to work in your own Country and not being paid?
What is more slavery than being touched in your own Country because you belong to another political party?
What is more Slavery than being forced out ... read full comment
What is more slavery than being touched in your own Country because you belong to another political party?
What is more Slavery than being forced out of your job because you belong to another political party or were hired by another government?
Osei 4 hours ago
I've been against reparations but this is the first time I've heard John Mahama talk real sense.
Jimbo 4 hours ago
Mr President, pls don't mind the detractors. Pls go ahead to pursue the reparation. Mr Yaw Asane Tannoh is one of those detractors who speak against the reparation. Asane Tannoh says, government will squander the reparation proceeds so, it should not be endorsed. But wait a minute. Traditional leaders and families gave their people out for slavery but was it agreed that, those slaves should be multreated, killed or tortured? It is "NO" so, where is the involvement of the Africans in the wickedness done to the slaves? Africa must be paid reparation and it must be sufficient enough.
Nsor 4 hours ago
Very infantile argument I would have said
Jacob 4 hours ago
if Africans didn't sell the slaves to would there have been any slave trade?Moreover When the reparation come much of it will smile all the way into mahama account
Our leaders should think of better things like fighting ter ... read full comment
if Africans didn't sell the slaves to would there have been any slave trade?Moreover When the reparation come much of it will smile all the way into mahama account
Our leaders should think of better things like fighting terrorism across the continent which has stopped vital intra African trade
Jacob 4 hours ago
ndc atrocities against Ghanaians from 1982 to 1984 should be confessed and the sufferers compensated first before talking about european atrocities.
Mr president your predecessor Rawlings took people 50000 cedis from the ba ... read full comment
ndc atrocities against Ghanaians from 1982 to 1984 should be confessed and the sufferers compensated first before talking about european atrocities.
Mr president your predecessor Rawlings took people 50000 cedis from the bank, 50 cedis notes, took people's goods from the ports,,killed people, threw their bodies into the sea, beat those who resisted the atrocities of 'P'NDC
Think on those things and compensate them.
Remove the timber from your eyes before you tell someone to take the speck out of his eyes
You are the infantile. Remember if the Africans didn't sell their own people the ships would have returned empty to Europe and America.
Your thinking cup has no basis.
3rdEye 3 hours ago
Jacob!
W'agyimi ooo... Herh!
Politics nti nyansa abɔ wo sɛ nea dwonsɔ bɔɔ akokɔ!
Jacob!
W'agyimi ooo... Herh!
Achakanapaya 4 hours ago
Manasseh is a stomach direction
Journalist.
I don't think he has any credibility.
Journalist.
TRUTH 4 hours ago
Manasseh is somewhere in the USA on some reparation scholarship and may come home one day to lord it over Ghanaians, starting the selling sequence once again.
Sometimes, Africans must see the bigger picture in the room th ... read full comment
Manasseh is somewhere in the USA on some reparation scholarship and may come home one day to lord it over Ghanaians, starting the selling sequence once again.
Sometimes, Africans must see the bigger picture in the room than our egos.
Moba-Man 4 hours ago
Those characters seeking attention are the current generations collaborated and are nothing but traitors who are infused with inferiority and greed
PA MASS 4 hours ago
When MAHAMA talked boldly on international platforms. And then He will come home and sign a deal with EU? . These are the people that doesn't vote to recognize slave trade as a criminal to the human. But you signed a deal with the same people. Let it make sense
Jb 4 hours ago
Azure is indeed childish to insinuate that because Africans were involved, reparations should not paid. He is currently in the US and definitely seeking attention. Pathetic fellow who has only discovered his voice now that his northern brother is back in power. Sad
Kaku Kedeba 4 hours ago
The people against repairations are the type of people who would sell you in to slavery.
They just cant help betraying their own people !
The people against repairations are the type of people who would sell you in to slavery.
By their fruits 3 hours ago
May I ask Prez Mahama one question. It’s good you have brought up the matter of the Jewish holocaust.
Have the Jews received any reparations from the German government?
Has Vietnam, China and many Asian countries received ... read full comment
May I ask Prez Mahama one question. It’s good you have brought up the matter of the Jewish holocaust.
Has Vietnam, China and many Asian countries received any reparation from Japan and America for the brutalities inflicted on them during the second world. They all have licked their wounds and moved on. They have developed their countries and doing well. Except our lazy and greedy African politicians.
Patapaa 3 hours ago
A student of history who has become a great disgrace to history as a subject.
Those making the dirty noise for reparations should do well and read the history books. If they do, they will come to the realisation that only a few whitemen took part in slave raids across Africa; an overwhelming number of tge slave raids were done by Africans who sold the slaves to the whitemen.
How can His Excellency, the President of Ghana who is a student of history pretend that he does not know this.
The President should do well to read the book "Topics in Wesr African History" by the late Professor Albert Adu Boahen.
Sheer hypocrisy at its highest order!
Ras 3 hours ago
Mahama rather infantile......Direct your small energy and time left on Tech, Developments, not Reparations
Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 2 hours ago
Mahama still practices both physical and psychological slavery in Ghana while gallivanting throughout the world for reparation for slavery. He has not paid teachers or nurses for nearly two years. And that is slavery. When payments due to farmers are not made, that is slavery.
One of his first actions as President was to build ten cathedrals for his church. That is mental/religious slavery. Finally, condoning and conniving with his brother to buy two planes costing over $120 million while his people live in squalor is mental slavery that is paying allegiance to western industry.
His retardation in all these makes him unfit to request for reparations for historical slavery while indulging in present day slavery against himself and others.
Nsia 2 hours ago
@Sas, What a load of absolute bollocks!
Nii Amoah Okromansa. 2 hours ago
Well said Mr President! Mahama isn't saying reparations should be paid to him or other Ghanaians / Africans , he's saying the heinous event should be recognized and reparations paid and am sure to descendants of Slavery in the Diaspora.. So the talk about Africans being involved so no reparations doesn't hold. People suffered and they deserve reparations and it's the descendants of Slavery
CD 2 hours ago
Mr President, I think on this issue, you're the one who is making a very 'infantile arguments'. You sound like you just want freebies. Why don't you just work hard and make the most of abundant natural resources God has endowed the country with instead of crying like a baby for what you've not worked for? It's a shame for your administration to be pushing for the reparations narrative with such an energy. I think that's misdirected. Remember trade is between sellers and buyers, and it beats my mind to read the arguments you're advancing in this instance. With the likes of you in leadership, trust me, the country is not going anywhere. Let me stop here for now. Just re-think your idea where you got it from.
Fact 2 hours ago
Why is everyone throwing jabs at Manasseh. Even the Moron Micro Minority leader too made the same comment. But somehow, Ghanaweb didn't mentioned his name, rather mentioned only Manasseh. Afeyo Markin have become so irrelevant that Ghanaweb doesn't reckon with him again LOL
Kwame Boateng 2 hours ago
I agree with Manasseh !
Koti 2 hours ago
You want money from those who bought the slaves, what about those who sold them? Even if they pay $100T the current situation of Ghanaians will never change.
Baako 2 hours ago
Reparation and compasation should be demanded from those involved in the Galamsey. In some years to come Ghanaians will feel the side effects of Galamsey.
Doe 2 hours ago
People who don't know the history of the said subject matter are just talking anyhow. They should read and understand the situation before coming out. It is unfortunate that those who are talking about it don't know about the situation or the subject matter.
PITO 1 hour ago
Historicall, African tribal wars did capture the opposing tribes for labor or just subservient. Chatel slavery was NOT practiced in Africa. This is akin to contrasting subsistence farming with industrialised agriculture (they are not the same). Many prisoners of war in tribal Africa were actually assimilated into the new society. Take for example, the northerner tribes who were frequently assimilated into Akan society, had wives among the Akans and family of their own. When we speak of chatel slavery, how could the African tribes know how the colonisers were practicing their form of labor? Racism was not even apparent to the tribes at the time. Hanging people from trees, brandishing with hot metal, whipping like cattle etc. And what say or knowledge did the tribes have beyond the exchange? The tribes themselves were under constant attack from the invader colonisers who had brought guns and arming other tribes. Trade with them or be defeated and perish. Note that majority of slaves were captured by mercenaries armed by the traders. Either way the main contest is how the colonisers form of slavery was practiced. It was dehumanising and a crime against humanity and we should not even be turning our heads back to argue against the tribes who were actually victims of the powerful invaders with large wooden navies, guns, bibles, alcoholic drinks and a well-rehearsed agenda.
I DO NOT THINK GHANA SHOULD LEAD THIS RESOLUTION! 1 hour ago
Who born in Ghana are Africa was a victim of skavery to receive reoarations.
This resolution should have been led by a Carribean Coubtry, the real victims of slavery and supported by Ghana.
Ghana takibg ownership of t ... read full comment
This resolution should have been led by a Carribean Coubtry, the real victims of slavery and supported by Ghana.
Ghana takibg ownership of the reparations argument os nonesense!
Kofi 1 hour ago
Hypocrites individuals seeking attention
TAN 1 hour ago
Pls oo, HE JDM, what about the ongoing GALAMSEY, Azure mentioned. Looking on the Chinese to ……shall we tackle that now b4 50-100 years down the line we cry foul, that Chinese blah blah blah. Same same slave trade years ago.
TAN 58 minutes ago
Women in Gh. Where are the Yaa Asantewaas in guy. Let’s rise and fight the menace of galamsey. Sure Y Asantewaa would’ve defeated this GALAMSEY war by now.
NONALIGNED 57 minutes ago
I THE ARGUMENT BY THE PRESIDENT IS RATHER INFANTILE! I MEAN TO SUGGEST THAT BECAUSE THE SLAVE OWNERS WHO LEGALLY AT THE TIME USED THEIR HARD-EARNED MONEY TO BUY THE SLAVES WERE PAID REPARATIONS TO SET THE SLAVES FREE, WE IN AFRICA WHO ALSO SOLD THE SLAVES TO MAKE MONEY, SHOULD AGAIN BE PAID MONEY, FOR WHAT, AND FOR WHAT REASON SHOULD WE IN AFRICA WHO PROFITED FROM SELLING THE SLAVES BE PAID ANOTHER MONEY TO MAKE DOUBLE PROFIT?? IS IT THE CASE THAT, IN THE TIME PAST, SOME MINISTERIAL APPOINTEES IN HIS FIRST PRESIDENCY TOOK DOUBLE SALARIES WITHOUT BEING PUNISHED, THIS REPARATIONS TO AFRICA IS ALSO SEEN AS THE RIGHT THING??? THE ANSWER IS A BIG NO!
IF ANY REPARATION SIMILAR TO WHAT WAS PAID TO THE SLAVE OWNERS TO SET THE SLAVES FREE IS REQUIRED TO BE PAID, THE ONLY GROUP OF PEOPLE WHO CAN LAY CLAIM ARE DESCENDANTS OF THE SLAVES IN THE DIASPORA, AND NOT PEOPLE IN AFRICA WHO WERE THE SELLERS AND BENEFITED FROM THE TRADE!!
THIS IS COMMON SENSE!!!
NONALIGNED 51 minutes ago
THE ARGUMENT BY THE PRESIDENT IS RATHER INFANTILE! I MEAN TO SUGGEST THAT BECAUSE THE SLAVE OWNERS WHO LEGALLY AT THE TIME USED THEIR HARD-EARNED MONEY TO BUY THE SLAVES WERE PAID REPARATIONS TO SET THE SLAVES FREE, WE IN AFRICA WHO ALSO SOLD THE SLAVES TO MAKE MONEY, SHOULD AGAIN BE PAID MONEY FOR WHAT?? AND FOR WHAT REASON SHOULD WE IN AFRICA WHO PROFITED FROM SELLING THE SLAVES BE PAID ANOTHER MONEY TO MAKE DOUBLE PROFIT?? IS IT THE CASE THAT, IN THE TIME PAST, SOME MINISTERIAL APPOINTEES IN HIS FIRST PRESIDENCY TOOK DOUBLE SALARIES WITHOUT BEING PUNISHED, THIS REPARATIONS TO AFRICA IS ALSO SEEN AS THE RIGHT THING??? THE ANSWER IS A BIG NO!
IF ANY REPARATION SIMILAR TO WHAT WAS PAID TO THE SLAVE OWNERS TO SET THE SLAVES FREE IS REQUIRED TO BE PAID, THE ONLY GROUP OF PEOPLE WHO CAN LAY CLAIM ARE DESCENDANTS OF THE SLAVES IN THE DIASPORA, AND NOT PEOPLE IN AFRICA WHO WERE THE SELLERS AND BENEFITED FROM THE TRADE!!
THIS IS COMMON SENSE!!!
Meet rusian powerful hacker from russain base in german all bank loading in usa canada german uk 50 minutes ago
Hi am wolfgang russian german, base in german ... I am IT engenering i can fixed any usa credit score i can pays of usa, canada german austrial car loans,I pays off credit card loan banks loans i can do usdt flashing i can sell usdt coinsbase i do alot of staff if intrested u can wasap me 00491608343763 a
Dundu Banza 48 minutes ago
You and your brother are doing worse today
Paa 47 minutes ago
PREZOO.. PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME ON THESE TRIBAL FOOLS
AM 28 minutes ago
Please, JDM, do not mind Manasseh. He is leveraging on your brand to make a name for himself. Do not mind him. He is not raised properly.
Martin A 22 minutes ago
Africans have no right to demand reparations for slavery because they were complicit in the slave trade themselves. Just as those who bought the slaves profited, so do those he actually sold the slaves. Africans captured and sold their own people for cheap trinkets, booze and guns. Mahama thinks because Africans didn't build the slave ships that carried the slaves across the Atlantic, they didn't necessary profit from the slave trade. He should be glad that UN condemned slavery as the gravest crimes against humanity and leave it at that.
Assin Manso 11 minutes ago
I think the President wasn't fighting for Reparations for black Africans. He was just fighting for Reparations in general, just as the Holocaust victims got reparations. So yes he's right to advocate for Reparations, but in his remarks and everything concerning the bill it didn't mention black Africans are due Reparations. I am really sure the Reparations part is for the black Diaspora. Thank you my brother
Nobody including all blacks have any reservation about the demand for a reparation for Slave Trade. The only problem are those blacks like yourself President John Mahama, so discredited being present for that fight.You have a ...
Your forefathers slave traders sold slaves to the whites and collected and enjoyed their money or goods. Now you ...
Secondly, don ...
Shaggy, Shaggy your post is a great one. Listen to Mahama and the Big Push. I like the 4th Estate but they are saying a few silly things on the big push. Only stupid people can say there is no emergency with roads. If you li ...
@Shaggy. If insulting someone for criticising makes someone a man then i have pity for you.Mahama has a penchant for insulting people who disagrees with him.He in very intolerant and vindictive.Nana Addo would have ignored su ...
Thank you H.E. Osagyefo John Dramani Mahama for putting that mule Azure and his likes where they truly belong - in the trash pile of shit! Uncle Toms and house niggers like Azure Manasseh and co are all attention seeking bast ...
Mahama, u couldn't debunk the fact that Gambaga slave market was blacks selling blacks to blacks,what Manasseh said was true,Chiefs sold out their village people to the whites for rum,kitchen knives, beads,gun powder and mirr ...
Exactly, @Ghanaman. The descendants of those Africans, who were and are still touted even to this day as "brave warriors and conquerors, mighty and wealthy kings", who sold their fellow Africans to Europeans, want reparations ...
Nobody sold no one
I had the same thought and l think l have to maintain that. It is the descendants of the slaves who are entitled to the reparation. It is possible that some of the slaves have their descendants here in Africa bcos, they had ...
From the way people are dying in Ukraine, I'll like to enjoy life small then organize my own funeral before I leave Ghana. You can mom ...
Kweku Tee or whatever you call yourself, the kinds of are the problem this country have. Another infantile brain. Such level of ineptitude being displayed. Fools and betrayers like your type and Manasseh are mounting defence ...
@ Ghanaman. Animal. So you buy stolen and contraband goods. When somebody comes to sell his child for you for rituals buy it and tell the police that his father brought him that is why you bought. Damn stupid animal like yo ...
Manasseh is just simply a badly educated village boy whose mind is not sophisticated enough to understand that no African could dare resist the imposition of the trade in slaves upon them for the several hundreds of years tha ...
@Kwaku Tee, just shut the f*#!%* up. It is your Nana Addo and Bawumialiar who are so so discredited that Ghanaians chose JM over them in 2024.How could voters across the length and breadth of Ghana have voted massively for J ...
and say yes to Him.
You think writing trash makes you cool Abi? Idiort u r. In 8 years president Mahama was in Ghana -if you had a case with your airbus allegations, etc, he would have been imprisoned by then. Bawuliar Abuse? I bet your ears we ...
Smelly Fool.
If that be the case, the Ashantis should be the first to pay reparations for the atrocities of the National Liberation Movement (NLM), the mate meho movement, that killed and mammed CPP members in Kumasi. Idiot! You think tha ...
Maybe the UP first?
Mahama just concentrate what it is important and leave this slave trade issue alone.. there's more important issues and problems in the country that need your urgent attention...now that you back home try to ignore all the un ...
Exactly
People were killed at Ayewase ...
There's something innately wrong with the black race, especially people like you. Just because you don't like someone, you have to bite off your nose to spite your own face. Over 150 countries voted for it and you have kofi m ...
You think every slave was sold? Even so does that make it right? If there was no initiators who planned the whole thing, would there even be someone to sell? Who benefited most from the slave trade? - the African countries o ...
Ignorant Idiot.
Buulubi gbee !
You mother sold them
It's amazing that this Mannesa guy only find his voice for baseless and sometimes outright lies criticism only when Mahama is in power because Mahama is a true democratic and will not unleash any dogs after him. We had a gov ...
You, the president is the one considering those comments as infantile. Same way the US, Israel and Argentina also considered your argument so infantile hence voted against it. Can’t we all express our views? Our own people ...
Trash talk Mahama. If your wicked and primitive ancestors had not waged stupid tribal wars to capture their kith and kin as slaves the so called ships would have returned to Europe without human cargo. Mr Mahama why don’t y ...
MAHAMA himself is a shameful infant. Akufo Addo started the reparations issue but Mahama is behaving as if he started it. Secondly, no white man in his right senses will pay money to a known thief like Mahama whose name appe ...
Mahama is taking the path of nana Addo..always interested in giving talks on international platforms yet his own citizens are suffering..slavery is happening right here in Ghana in 2026..these are the slavery happening in Gha ...
Hogwash. If you don't have anything constructive to say just zip your mouth. Comparing apples to mangoes just reveals the emptiness of your arguments. What Mahama did is unprecedented and trying to claim parts of his successf ...
You're an ignorant fool.
Thank you Blue pen, I like your statement..intelligent people put put up solid arguements while’s people with low IQ always resort to insults..I put up with facts that’s still happening in Ghana but He couldn’t dispute ...
@Sage the Bible said the biggest weapon of a fool is insults..upon all the facts I stated which is still happening in Ghana, u couldn’t dispute anything I of them but resort to insults..slavery is one of the bad things tha ...
Thomas aboagye, I stated facts and dummies like u couldn’t dispute anything I said but come here to rants like fools..the facts is slavery is still happening in Ghana..if a nurse or teacher is not paid for like a whole year ...
But my problème is if some money will be paid as à réparation, will tgat be made to the states or to the individuel familles? If it will go to the states then the money should not come because our politiciens whether NPP ...
This common character of an African discrediting another African for a good cause he himself did not start or fathom. Can we ignore our subjective differences and support an objective goal for once? This tells about how the s ...
Hi am wolfgang russian german, base in german ... I am IT engenering i can fixed any usa credit score i can pays of usa, canada german austrial car loans,I pays off credit card loan banks loans i can do usdt flashing i can s ...
The fact of history is that our forebearers were willing participants in the Atlantic Slave TRADE (and this i ...
@Kwadwo, Massa, history is what happened and not our own perceived opinion of it or the Anansesem that our parents told us.Whether it is a comfortable read or not. Our ancestors were just as vile ,despicable and gullible. Th ...
I do support the notion that the Slave Tr ...
Within historical African tribal wars, there were captured humans and labor. Chatel slavery was NOT practiced in Africa. Many prisoners of war in tribal Africa were actually assimilated into the new society. Take the northern ...
WHAT IS MORE INFANTILE THAN NOT CHECKING YOUR FACTS AND PROCEEDING HURRIEDLY TO READ A PAPER NOT WRITTEN BY YOU AND WHICH CONTENT WAS NOT THOUGHT THROUGH THOROUGHLY TO AN AUGUST FORUM LIKE THE UN. FOR EXAMPLE, DID YOU JUST SA ...
THERE ARE OLD HORRIBLE PICTURES OF SLAVES BEING CAPTURED AT GUN -POINTS WITH YOKE OF IRON ON THEIR NECKS,HAVE YOU READ ABOUT A BOY FROM A RICH NIGERIAN ...
THIS WHOLE THING MY BROTHER WAS SELF-INFLICTED. YOU DON'T THINK YOU WHEN YOU EAT YOUR CAKE YOU WILL HAVE IT. TODAY IN GHANA, WHAT IS MORE PAINFUL THAN THE SLAVE TRADE IS WHEN ONE WORKS OVER A YEAR, IS NOT PAID AND IS EXPECTED ...
These AFRICANS who are SUGGESTING that AFRICANS were involved in the SLAVE Trade so Reparations should be Ruled out are NOT really Thinking STRAIGHT. They have EXPOSED themselves “Big time “ who “Their Masters Are” . ...
@ Osafo, history is what actually happened and recorded, not your opinion or my opinion of it. Whether we like it or not, our ancestors were just as vile ,despicable and gullible. Facts are just that, facts. And, there is bu ...
The grt crime agaisnt us are the leaders like u who steal from us and enrich yourself and cronies.Do u know how many of us die as a result of your bad and visionless leadership,corruption and stealing ....They wont give us an ...
Good you are back .Mr President. Now concentrate on solving Ghana's problems. That is what you were elected to do..As for the holocaust it is just an exaggerated historical event meant to draw sympathy for Jews who are commit ...
Mr. President please stop wasting your time on haters and idiots. Because God has chosen you to lead and excel. These lunatics and distractors from the time of Abrefa Busia and criminal Akuffo Addo father will not stop. May ...
Don’t waste your time and energy on this recalcitrant of person called Manasseh. His cup will be full soon. He is being paid by his slave masters in Europe to churn out garbage. You don’t make a mockery of such sensitive ...
Look who is calling somebody infantile and childish. Granted, the slave trade was very bad, however, you and your inexperienced foreign minister cannot grade it at the pinnacle of a taxonomy of crimes against humanity. What a ...
“Slavery Reparations Secretariat” a permanent venue where all this matters can be discussed, meetings and Consul ...
I do ...
He is only seeking attention and I am not sure this is the platform for him to do so.He equally needs to know the limits of his intellectual capacity.Those leading this crusade have more know ...
I completely disagree with JDM on several grounds. Yes, slavery is a crime against humanity despite its legality then, but I can't agree it's the gravest crime against humanity. What is the measuring rule for the hierarchy of ...
Vorsa or Vɔsa.
Do you know the first slav ...
Mahama bore
What is more Slavery than being forced out ...
Mr President, pls don't mind the detractors. Pls go ahead to pursue the reparation. Mr Yaw Asane Tannoh is one of those detractors who speak against the reparation. Asane Tannoh says, government will squander the reparation p ...
Our leaders should think of better things like fighting ter ...
Mr president your predecessor Rawlings took people 50000 cedis from the ba ...
Jacob!
W'agyimi ooo... Herh!
Journalist.
Sometimes, Africans must see the bigger picture in the room th ...
When MAHAMA talked boldly on international platforms. And then He will come home and sign a deal with EU? . These are the people that doesn't vote to recognize slave trade as a criminal to the human. But you signed a deal wit ...
Azure is indeed childish to insinuate that because Africans were involved, reparations should not paid. He is currently in the US and definitely seeking attention. Pathetic fellow who has only discovered his voice now that hi ...
Has Vietnam, China and many Asian countries received ...
Those making the dirty noise for reparations should do well and read the history books. If they do, they will come to the realisation that only ...
Mahama still practices both physical and psychological slavery in Ghana while gallivanting throughout the world for reparation for slavery. He has not paid teachers or nurses for nearly two years. And that is slavery. When pa ...
Well said Mr President! Mahama isn't saying reparations should be paid to him or other Ghanaians / Africans , he's saying the heinous event should be recognized and reparations paid and am sure to descendants of Slavery in th ...
Mr President, I think on this issue, you're the one who is making a very 'infantile arguments'. You sound like you just want freebies. Why don't you just work hard and make the most of abundant natural resources God has endow ...
Why is everyone throwing jabs at Manasseh. Even the Moron Micro Minority leader too made the same comment. But somehow, Ghanaweb didn't mentioned his name, rather mentioned only Manasseh. Afeyo Markin have become so irrelevan ...
I agree with Manasseh !
People who don't know the history of the said subject matter are just talking anyhow. They should read and understand the situation before coming out. It is unfortunate that those who are talking about it don't know about the ...
Historicall, African tribal wars did capture the opposing tribes for labor or just subservient. Chatel slavery was NOT practiced in Africa. This is akin to contrasting subsistence farming with industrialised agriculture (they ...
Ghana takibg ownership of t ...
Pls oo, HE JDM, what about the ongoing GALAMSEY, Azure mentioned. Looking on the Chinese to ……shall we tackle that now b4 50-100 years down the line we cry foul, that Chinese blah blah blah. Same same slave trade years a ...
I THE ARGUMENT BY THE PRESIDENT IS RATHER INFANTILE! I MEAN TO SUGGEST THAT BECAUSE THE SLAVE OWNERS WHO LEGALLY AT THE TIME USED THEIR HARD-EARNED MONEY TO BUY THE SLAVES WERE PAID REPARATIONS TO SET THE SLAVES FREE, WE IN A ...
THE ARGUMENT BY THE PRESIDENT IS RATHER INFANTILE! I MEAN TO SUGGEST THAT BECAUSE THE SLAVE OWNERS WHO LEGALLY AT THE TIME USED THEIR HARD-EARNED MONEY TO BUY THE SLAVES WERE PAID REPARATIONS TO SET THE SLAVES FREE, WE IN AFR ...
Hi am wolfgang russian german, base in german ... I am IT engenering i can fixed any usa credit score i can pays of usa, canada german austrial car loans,I pays off credit card loan banks loans i can do usdt flashing i can s ...
Africans have no right to demand reparations for slavery because they were complicit in the slave trade themselves. Just as those who bought the slaves profited, so do those he actually sold the slaves. Africans captured and ...
I think the President wasn't fighting for Reparations for black Africans. He was just fighting for Reparations in general, just as the Holocaust victims got reparations. So yes he's right to advocate for Reparations, but in h ...