There is nothing to explain here except the short sightedness of Africa leadership. This seasonal economic and agricultural interdependency between our peoples predates colonial partitioning. We have seen it set backs and continue to reinforce to the detriment of our development. When you have borderless Europe as example
Simple 6 hours ago
Ask them to give us 3 months and then give local farmers grants plus a ready market. Set up tomato marketing board and start selling tomatoes to Burkina in 6 months from now
Dr Mumbi Seraki 5 hours ago
Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine........for instance 15 paracetamol at once......or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.
Oobak3 3 hours ago
This is madness borne out of incompetence and stupidity. We have better soil, climate, and the demand. Why are we importing from Burkina? This is an avenue for job creation.
Karikakchar 3 hours ago
We should stop these N-DC/PP no even and look for pragmatic solutions. All these party footsoldiers rather than taking g money from the parry for no work done should take advantage of this situation to produce the tomatoes to fill the gab.
Kwadwo 4 hours ago
For the sake of our women traders, the upkeep of their families and a healthy diet for all families in Ghana for the next few months, it has become necessary for our govt to intervene and ask the Burkina govt to delay their directive only for the next few months until we get our act together. Thanks to President Mahama, the Burkina govt and our govt still maintain good relations. This request is not a big deal.
For obvious reasons, Akufo Addo could not have intervened in this crisis but with President Mahama now in charge, mark my word, we shall be exporting tomatoes by the end of the year.
Now let me briefly explain how we got to this inexplicable and disgraceful level.
After centuries of internalized slavery - they call it colonialism, Kwame Nkrumah, after leading the charge for independence, established over 200 state enterprises and industries across the country to kick-start our socioeconomic development process across board. Many of these industries were for obvious reasons established in the northern areas of the country where there had been very little or no development at all. These industries included the once famous Pwalugu Tomato factory.
Now after the earth-shattering and infamous 1966 coup that was orchestrated by the Kotoka/UP/NPP criminal gang and their white slave masters, they were instructed to destroy or sell off everything in this country that had Nkrumahs footprints on it - including even books which they burnt in huge bonfires in open fields at educational institutions. Likewise, these puppets got rid of everything that Nkrumah had established with the money of Ghanaian tax-payers.
Now believe it or not, 50+ years down the line - that is a few years ago, the same KOTOKA/UP/NPP clique of clowns, upon belatedly realizing the ingenuity of Kwame Nkrumah and hence their own innate foolishness, decided, whilst in govt, to re-establish the Pwalugu Tomato factory and its accessories - including a dam.
An amount of $12 million was therefore put aside for the development of the project. The then Vice President who doubled as Chairman of the nations economic management team, and is now the flag-bearer of that dishonest clique of mainly common thieves, made a lot of noise about this "ongoing" project. At a point, this same Vice President publicly asserted that the project was near completion.
Fast-forward three years later, that is March 2026, it has emerged that the only visible sign of the re-development of the Pwalugu Tomato factory, is a truck load of a heap of sand on the site. That said, so far, no one has had the common civility nor the courage to account for what happened to the $12 million that was allotted to the project.
This is just a brief narrative of what accounts for why today, Ghana is forced to import tomatoes from the desert land of Burkina Faso.
Let's be Careful 3 hours ago
U are jux a disgrace to ur stupid mother. If not which govt came before Npp? Why didn't that stupid govt did whatever u expected from npp. Wo maame kwasia wate . Look at it age, u only typed non6 like this online for teenager's like us to insult u. U grow but it brains still remains like fetus. . hwe ne kwasia keka bi
Naa 1 hour ago
Toilet is far better than kotokoli Bawumia
Jimbo 52 minutes ago
What a shame!!! Is it an achievement to negotiate for tomatoes from a neighboring country like Burkina? I am even ashamed. Akufo Addo wouldn't have done that shameful thing. He would have rather produce the tomatoes through his "planting for job" policy. Why should he negotiate for tomatoes which could be produced in less than 3 months? Mmmmchewww!!!
i can Link your husband,wife,boyfriend,girLfriend's WhatsApp to your own WhatsApp and you wiLL be getting their chats secretLy on your own WhatsApp,chat me on WhatsApp via +2347056392678 to Learn more. 3 hours ago
i can Link your husband,wife,boyfriend,girLfriend's WhatsApp to your own WhatsApp and you wiLL be getting their chats secretLy on your own WhatsApp,chat me on WhatsApp via +2347056392678 to Learn more.
ADJOVI LAGBOR 3 hours ago
GOOFY CUTLASS TEETH= LIES ABD STUPIDITY
Why is it that Otokunor is the only one who is responds to silly and obvious situations? Is it that he’s been marked as a fool or someone without a functioning brain? He behaves like Chemical Ali (the prolific liar and idiot) during Sadam Hussein’s regime. Does he realize that this will be a stain on himself, his family and children for the future? ANYWAY HE MUST URGENTLY GO AND FIX HIS TEETH SHARP. LIES, LIES AND DAMNED LIES. GO AND GROW THE TOMATOES AND STOP THE NOISE. NANIAMA.
The Truth 7 hours ago
We should seriously engage Burkina Faso now before it's too late
Skriller 6 hours ago
Gh politicians kwasiafuo, kwasiafuo mmboaa.. nitwits, animals without brains .. what is it to engage Burkina Faso about ... Kwame Nkrumah established a tomato factory at the north what happened to it .. kwasiafuo... Instead taking a cue from what Burkina Faso is doing, you rather want to engage them to resolve the ban.. visionless people!!! BF used only 12million dollars to establish their tomatoes factory, why can't we do same?
Business 5 hours ago
You are 100% right to be angry. What has become the Navrongo Tomatoes advert by our Makoala tomatoe sellers. The biggest man made dam is the TONO Irigation Dam. The objective was production of tomatoes, rice etc. Even the Burkinabes learned the improved variety seed tech from us. Because of bad administration, we collaspsed the Pwalugu Tomatoe factory and made our farmers handicapped. One thought that the jihadists killing our women would have been a real lesson to reflect back and revamp our tomatoe industry and factories allas! they are going to beg Burkina Faso. Compare our weather condition to them; which is more conducive? Look at the whole north. No single factory or industry why? What crime has the northerners commited? Meanwhile, the northern political elite have closed their eyes and ears on this. What a shame to want to go and beg President Ibrahim Traore. We should think ooo, we should think.
Kooko shew 6 hours ago
Brother they are more than kwasesfuo koraa they can't even analys episode they have very short memory and sight, Ibrahim troar told Ghana govt to warn Ghanaians tomatoes traders who buy tomatoes from Burkina Faso, few month after this warning of troar, ghanian tomato traders we're gunned under the quist of terrorism now they they have banned tomato traders to avoid shortage, is it not a planned action in the name of terrorism? Ghana politicians are very stupid than a word stupid itself.
OZYMANDIAS 6 hours ago
Fire-eating mouth and teeth, advise your President to focus on irrigation projects to enhance the production of tomatoes in the country, instead of focusing on telling lies to the nation.
If Burkina is having enough tomatoes upon all sun 5 hours ago
Then our leaders must be down their heads in shame ,if upon all free giving fertile lands and we can't produce enough tomatoes for our lives
Kweku 5 hours ago
Most contracts is been given to NPP companies ,And soon I will publish these companies, this 2 parties are criminals ,we will get them soon
Stubborn Academy 5 hours ago
Did our Government know about this decision earlier or BF just woke up and announced the ban?
Nurse @ Ridge Hospital 5 hours ago
Massa I see tomatoes everyday in Ghana. Pass Mokorla road whether you will not see heaps of tomatoes. Watery and so what? If you don't like the Ghana tomatoes then throw it away and go to Titao. To chew their fibre. Nonsense. God bless Ghana tomatoes
Kwame Peter 5 hours ago
Somebody call Okudzato Ablakwa for me,I have been commenting on Ghanaweb for years that after turning the turbines at Kpong the Volta River fresh water flows freely from North Tongu through Central Tongu to South Tongu into the Atlantic whilst the people living around its course are among the poorest of the poor with wealth flowing away without let or hindrance,the Israelis and Chinese are the world's expertin irrigation systems technology,Ablakwa has gallivanting around the world collecting per diems what has he been bringing? Prof Mike Ocquaye was High Commissioner to India and brought Jubilee House(aka poultry farm by NDC),Dr Kwame Addo Kuffour was Defence Minister and brought the elegant Defence Ministry building,these are the worth of Ministers and diplomats and not mere appointments as rewards for propaganda efforts.For these reasons I consider Ablakwa as the most useless Minister in the current government second only to another wimp called Sam George.
Fulani 4 hours ago
That is you not me. Who don't know of a certain idiot called Kwame Peter. He is the one talking. His usual nasuegbeh talk. No sense. Please don't respect this fool
Abi 4 hours ago
Hahaha. Nkrumah, the visionary without peer, set up Nsawam Cannery about 60 years ago. What did the Danquah -Busia do? Halted operation. What did NDC do? Steal it for the Rawlingses.
Shame, shame, shame, Ghana. Don’t cr ... read full comment
Hahaha. Nkrumah, the visionary without peer, set up Nsawam Cannery about 60 years ago. What did the Danquah -Busia do? Halted operation. What did NDC do? Steal it for the Rawlingses.
Shame, shame, shame, Ghana. Don’t cry now!
Jaf 4 hours ago
The upper east and upper west regions have the same climate like southern part of Burkina Faso.Why Ghana imports tomatoes from Burkina?
Test2 4 hours ago
OOOO GHANA
WHAT A DISGRACE
COMMON ROTTEN TOMATOES YOU CANT GROW IT TO FEED YOUR OWN PEOPLE WITH YOUR FERTILE LAND RAINS AND SUNSHINE THEN WHAT ELSE CAN YOU DO CELLPHONE COMPUTER CAR ETC ?
USELESS COUNTRY FULL OF TALKATIV ... read full comment
OOOO GHANA
WHAT A DISGRACE
COMMON ROTTEN TOMATOES YOU CANT GROW IT TO FEED YOUR OWN PEOPLE WITH YOUR FERTILE LAND RAINS AND SUNSHINE THEN WHAT ELSE CAN YOU DO CELLPHONE COMPUTER CAR ETC ?
USELESS COUNTRY FULL OF TALKATIVES AND CORRUPT POLITICIANS
Hamiba 4 hours ago
Spare us those cock and bull stories
Geoffrey 3 hours ago
It completely needless for government of Ghana negotiating with, neighbouring Burkina Faso to minimise ban on tomato import to Ghana.
We have fertile soil here in Ghana to plant more tomatoes. All we need is system structure ... read full comment
It completely needless for government of Ghana negotiating with, neighbouring Burkina Faso to minimise ban on tomato import to Ghana.
We have fertile soil here in Ghana to plant more tomatoes. All we need is system structures that will help farmers.
If BF government is able to put systems and structures in place to yield more for export, that which is being banned now to help feed their industrial revolution, why can't Ghana do same. We speak plenty English and forget common sense.
Ayamga 3 hours ago
You have been in government for one year and because of your stupidity, you have no plan whatsoever to grow our own tomato.vYour ineptitude and stupidity would mistakenly make that idiot bawumia president. The economy is at a standstill. Traders are crying. I knew it was a big gamble to bring mahama back. His incompetence is known by anybody that has even a pinbrain
Esa 3 hours ago
Stupid African Ghanaian leaders. We can make use of our fertile land?
John 3 hours ago
What do you mean ayamga
Ayamga 3 hours ago
How come dr randy abbey and dr otukunor are two useless individuals
Esi 3 hours ago
This ayamga guy
Yabi Yabi 3 hours ago
We should be asking Dr. Bawumia about where all the monies the NPP majority government of Akufo-Addo / Dr. Bawumia government spent on 1D1D, 1D1F and $12 million paid for a project that never happened in the north went.
Le ... read full comment
We should be asking Dr. Bawumia about where all the monies the NPP majority government of Akufo-Addo / Dr. Bawumia government spent on 1D1D, 1D1F and $12 million paid for a project that never happened in the north went.
Let us all call on the NPP to find out why Ghana, to date, cannot grow and harvest veggies and fruits in the dry season in Ghana? The NPP party have used any and all things to steal, misuse, mismanage and abscond with taxpayer monies but never had the foresight to see events coming that negatively affects Ghanaians they could stop; they could not start a tomatoe farm.
No Mercy 3 hours ago
John Mahama is Stealing the States Money to his Brother..
Mensah 3 hours ago
Shame on us. Between ghana and our neighbours to the north, who should be importing tomatoes from who? Persistent sterling by Ghanaians at every level has brought us this far. Government after Government after government. We are in 2026. We recently celebrated 69years of independence or was it dependence. We have no shame. No principles. What exactly have we been celebrating? Must it come on annually even if we have no basis and justification for doing that? STOP THE KLEPTOCRACY!!
Lazy Government 2 hours ago
Lazy farmers and government of Ghana .
Stop selling tomatoes to Ghana 2 hours ago
Crazy mad Ghanaians. You like cheap side
Good job Ibrahim.
Koti 2 hours ago
Why are our politicians quick in telling lies? What can we tell the Burkina Faso government, to stop the ban so their factories run without tomatoes? Their leaders are using their brains; unlike our leaders. They are telling our leaders to think! Since Tetteh Quashie brought cocoa to Ghana in 1879 we continue to export raw cocoa beans. Otukunor should go and tell them to lift the ban so their factories stop running! Are we not destroying our land with galamsey? Very soon other countries are going to put bans on rice importation.
Traore is more sensible than any GH president apart from Nkrumah 2 hours ago
Ibrahim Traore of Burkina Faso is more sensible than any GH president apart from Nkrumah.
Ghanaian politicians are only interested in their stomach
Ibrahim Traore of Burkina Faso is more sensible than any GH president apart from Nkrumah.
KKK 1 hour ago
You the kind of people managing affairs of Ghana? Lack of innovation, foresight and ingenuity in the people whom should know better. Instead of coming out with new ideas as to how not to rely on importation of tomatoes, you are going to engage them for what? You agree with them that once they have put up tomato factories, then they have to feed the factories with what they produce there. Can't we do same here as both countries have the same weather climate? Huh
Major 1 1 hour ago
What support does our local producers need? Good seed, fertilizer, water and small financial support till harvest time. Three months to four months produce is ready. We have no excuse to import onion, and tomato. Let's start, we may not be successful in the first planting season, surely second season, we shall get it right.
OZYMANDIAS 1 hour ago
Was it not your (P) NDC that destroyed the Pwalugu Tomato Factory that was built by Osagyefo Dr Nkrumah? Stop your nonsense and get down to repair everything that your party has destroyed in the past.
Alhajj Kanawu. 17 minutes ago
OZYMANDIAS, The NDC Is Nothing But The Nation Destroyers Committee. John Jeremiya Rawlings And His Evil NDC Party Are The Most Evil Group Ghana Has Ever Produce. Both Osagyifo Dr. Kwame NKRUMAH And Ex - Head Of State General IK Acheampong Better Jobs Were All Destroyed By These NDC Demons Calling Themselves Leaders. Ghana And Ghanaians Should Leave Burkina Faso Alone. They Were Not Having Independent Yesterday And By God Grace They Have Got The Independent Today. Ghanaians Should Focus On That Their Evil IMF Loans Economics Recovery And Leave Burkina Faso Alone. Burkina Faso Honorable President Has Warned Ghana For A Long Time To Stop Buying Fresh Tomatoes From His Country And You Are Still Going There. What Is Wrong With You?.
Soothsayer 1 hour ago
The man with cutlasses as teeth
Jimbo 1 hour ago
We should allow Burkina Faso to build their economy. They want to add value to their tomatoes for export. If we don't want their processed tomato, we have land we should cultivate for tomatoes. We are not supposed to add our burden to theirs. Let's leave them alone to implement their economic policies. They are moving forward whilst we remain in our corruption. Shame onto us.
Jimbo 57 minutes ago
All we know in Ghana is to parade political commentators like Kwasi Pratt, Asane Tanor, and others on radio and TV to exhibit their political hatred and propaganda prowess and line their pockets with nokofioo from the NDC government. Their minds don't tell them that they should invest in farming. Useless people.
There is nothing to explain here except the short sightedness of Africa leadership. This seasonal economic and agricultural interdependency between our peoples predates colonial partitioning. We have seen it set backs and c ...
We should stop these N-DC/PP no even and look for pragmatic solutions. All these party footsoldiers rather than taking g money from the parry for no work done should take advantage of this situation to produce the tomatoes to ...
For the sake of our women traders, the upkeep of their families and a healthy diet for all families in Ghana for the next few months, it has become necessary for our govt to intervene and ask the Burkina govt to delay their d ...
U are jux a disgrace to ur stupid mother. If not which govt came before Npp? Why didn't that stupid govt did whatever u expected from npp. Wo maame kwasia wate . Look at it age, u only typed non6 like this online for teenager ...
What a shame!!! Is it an achievement to negotiate for tomatoes from a neighboring country like Burkina? I am even ashamed. Akufo Addo wouldn't have done that shameful thing. He would have rather produce the tomatoes through h ...
Why is it that Otokunor is the only one who is responds to silly and obvious situations? Is it that he’s been marked as a fool or someone without a functioning brain? He behaves lik ...
Gh politicians kwasiafuo, kwasiafuo mmboaa.. nitwits, animals without brains .. what is it to engage Burkina Faso about ... Kwame Nkrumah established a tomato factory at the north what happened to it .. kwasiafuo... Instead t ...
You are 100% right to be angry. What has become the Navrongo Tomatoes advert by our Makoala tomatoe sellers. The biggest man made dam is the TONO Irigation Dam. The objective was production of tomatoes, rice etc. Even the Bur ...
Brother they are more than kwasesfuo koraa they can't even analys episode they have very short memory and sight, Ibrahim troar told Ghana govt to warn Ghanaians tomatoes traders who buy tomatoes from Burkina Faso, few month ...
Massa I see tomatoes everyday in Ghana. Pass Mokorla road whether you will not see heaps of tomatoes. Watery and so what? If you don't like the Ghana tomatoes then throw it away and go to Titao. To chew their fibre. Nonsens ...
Somebody call Okudzato Ablakwa for me,I have been commenting on Ghanaweb for years that after turning the turbines at Kpong the Volta River fresh water flows freely from North Tongu through Central Tongu to South Tongu into t ...
Shame, shame, shame, Ghana. Don’t cr ...
OOOO GHANA
WHAT A DISGRACE
USELESS COUNTRY FULL OF TALKATIV ...
We have fertile soil here in Ghana to plant more tomatoes. All we need is system structure ...
You have been in government for one year and because of your stupidity, you have no plan whatsoever to grow our own tomato.vYour ineptitude and stupidity would mistakenly make that idiot bawumia president. The economy is at a ...
What do you mean ayamga
This ayamga guy
Le ...
Shame on us. Between ghana and our neighbours to the north, who should be importing tomatoes from who? Persistent sterling by Ghanaians at every level has brought us this far. Government after Government after government. We ...
Good job Ibrahim.
Why are our politicians quick in telling lies? What can we tell the Burkina Faso government, to stop the ban so their factories run without tomatoes? Their leaders are using their brains; unlike our leaders. They are telling ...
You the kind of people managing affairs of Ghana? Lack of innovation, foresight and ingenuity in the people whom should know better. Instead of coming out with new ideas as to how not to rely on importation of tomatoes, you a ...
What support does our local producers need? Good seed, fertilizer, water and small financial support till harvest time. Three months to four months produce is ready. We have no excuse to import onion, and tomato. Let's start, ...
OZYMANDIAS, The NDC Is Nothing But The Nation Destroyers Committee. John Jeremiya Rawlings And His Evil NDC Party Are The Most Evil Group Ghana Has Ever Produce. Both Osagyifo Dr. Kwame NKRUMAH And Ex - Head Of State General ...
We should allow Burkina Faso to build their economy. They want to add value to their tomatoes for export. If we don't want their processed tomato, we have land we should cultivate for tomatoes. We are not supposed to add our ...
All we know in Ghana is to parade political commentators like Kwasi Pratt, Asane Tanor, and others on radio and TV to exhibit their political hatred and propaganda prowess and line their pockets with nokofioo from the NDC gov ...