MoE responds to Ga language exclusion concerns from AI education initiative

Read Comments Comments (103)

• Thomas 2 days ago

You conveniently included your native Dagbani language in the pilot. Why did you not wait to include it after the pilot as you want the Ga-Dangme people to wait for the final phase of the project to be included?

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 2 days ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper.........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam.........You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe..... You ...

• FRANKIE 2 days ago

This miseducation minister and religious bigot will surely send us back thousands of years with this local language nonsense. English is the language of innovation, the language of instruction in any conceivable field of huma ...

• Ablekuma Van Damme 1 day ago

Don't mind the Ga people. They are just noise makers with no sense. IS IT NOT GA PEOPLE WHO SAID THEY PREFER KENKEY AND FISH AND NOT TECHNOLOGY???

FOOLISH PEOPLE. WHAT DO YOU NEED AI FOR??? USE YOUR KENKEY AND FISH

• Karikakchar 1 day ago

I have always been an advocate for us to focus on English as a national language and I've always received infective from the simple minded but the truth is that we have over 50 dialects in GH and trying to develop all of it w ...

• CITIZEN 1 day ago

YOU ARE RIGHT

• Proud Dagomba 1 day ago

You are just a lost soul. So you’re happy that someone else’s language is superior to yours. This is mental slavery, please try to emancipate yourself. Is a grievous lie that English is the language of innovation. Mind yo ...

• Karikakchar 1 day ago

It's not someone else language being superior to anyone's language. Whether you like nor understand or not English language is the international aviation language and every pilot should have a level of proficiency to become a ...

• Ghana 1 day ago

Kwasea ask Malays,Japanese and other Asian countries. They use the same words but are able to explain them to kids

• The The 1 day ago

@Proud Dagomba, what is nanotechnology and Deoxyribonucleic acid in Dagbani. Please no phrases and sentences. Marks; 0-20/20

• Okomfo, London 1 day ago

You're very wise, Proud Dagomba.
    Thank you.

• Kwame 1 day ago

Bro that is the language, I mean mostly English, and French used in global trade, global education, global socialisation name them. What is your population? Can you transcend the global market with any of your local languages ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 day ago

Ga is already a Dead Language. Twi is more spoken in Accra Ga areas than the Ga language. Twi is spoken at the Ga Makola and Kaneshie Markets than Ga language. The Ga people speak the Ga language when they are shitting at the ...

• FRANKIE 1 day ago

@Agyena Karikari, the primitive and primordial tribal bigot is back from the bush. I told you before that if America does not change you nowhere will. And at your age, a septuagenarian, you're completely a nut case.

• Kalimba Mozambo 9 hours ago

@ Agyena-Karikari

You are a dead horse shit. Go back to your I urge little dinghy , smelly village, you little monkey, stinker!

• Thomas 2 days ago

Any policy his ministry embarks on his people must be the first beneficiaries. Haruna is building a STEM lab in the Northern region to train teachers in the country. Every good thing must be sited in his yard, yet when it com ...

• Daanaa 2 days ago

So my brother if you were in Hon.Haruna Iddrisu's shoes,would you have ignore your whatever people and include others first before your own?

• Bk 1 day ago

I knew this guy is not fit to be a national leader. He’s not fit for national leadership. He’s the same person who started talking about building presidential libraries in Ghana. He’s level of competence makes him only ...

• Nana 1 day ago

He's very dumb. He's education minister with just a bachelor degree. So he hasn't even done any education research before

• GAS ARISE AND HOLD HARUNA’S FEET TO THE FIRE FOR DELIBRATELY EXCLUDING THE GA LANGUAGE IN THE LANGUAGE PROJECT 2 days ago

This idiot thinks he is wise. Gas should arise. We have been silent for a long time and have been sidelined for years in all important positions and developments. Make hell for this Haruna idiot to change or add the Ga langua ...

• Lord 1 day ago

This stupid minister thinks the Ga's are fools and even with your level of of education and all the civilization you still look ugly. Comparing the Ga language to that your nasty language, which sounds better? Ugly fool how m ...

• Kwame 1 day ago

Gentleman stop deceiving deceiving yourself. Accra is a cosmopolitan city okay. It is about how many seats did Greater Accra gives NDC. It is about how many people including the Gas and other tribes live in Accra and vite

• Shoe 1 day ago

Because Dagbani is the second most widely spoken language in Ghana after Twi. So is not about conveniency. Who speaks Ga? Even Gas speak Twi in their homes trotros and other places. Aside that how many people speak Ga in Ghan ...

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 1 day ago

Ga-Dangbe is spoken in tge Eastern Region
    Kroboz are part of the Ga-Dangbe group.

• I LOVE MY NDC 1 day ago

The Ga people should rise in resisting this deception, the language is purposefully taken out off from the pilot project in order to kill it. Ga tribe is the headquarters of the GES not on your land, is Ga under curse that ev ...

• CITIZEN 1 day ago

THANK YOU FOR YOUR COMMENT. I WAS EQUALLY SHOCKED WHEN I READ THE NEWS ITEM

• MATCHMAKER 1 day ago

Get connected to rich sugar mummies or sugar daddies in Ghana or Nigeria that can make you rich! chat me on WhatsApp via +2349032290584 to get connected, i'm a hookup agent/reLationship matchmaker based in Nigeria, i can aLso ...

• This is Unfair and Shameful 2 days ago

What criteria informed the choice of those languages? The ministry must come again with a better explanation for this nonsense.

• Benz 2 days ago

We voted for it,shut up

• Nii Odoi 2 days ago

Indigenous Languages........
    Hausa is not Indigenous language. Why include hausa and leave out Ga, even at the pilot stage.

• Former Dining Hall Prefect 2 days ago

I have no objection to a few languages being used in a pilot project, but what is the justification for including Hausa?

• I8 2 days ago

When is the minister of education going to pay the fees of the first year students they promised

• HOGWASH 2 days ago

That's quite a stupid and childish explanation to give. Be reminded, Accra is the capital. The lifeline of the country. Moron!!

• Proud Dagomba 1 day ago

Accra is the lifeline and capital of the country yet, you already lost your identity as the occupants of the capital. You shameless indigenous group of people called Ga have already allowed the Asantes to take over your land, ...

• HOGWASH 1 day ago

Look at another dagomba halfwit spewing gibberish. Now lemme educate you, FOOL. Lands are not for sale in Accra. We lease them. So if you think the lands have been sold outrightly to you, think again FOOL. All these plush hou ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 day ago

Total nonsense to talk about Ga lands being leashed. After the the Independence of Ghana, how many Ga lands leased for Fifty years have been reclaimed. Ga people were just fooled to give their lands away. Go to Kumasi, Kofori ...

• I LOVE MY NDC 1 day ago

Something called Frank Agyena-Karikari do you see how you expose your stupidity and that of your tribe, especially the so called chief. However, l can't blame you much than the Ga people for being human else a fool like you s ...

• Alley 1 day ago

@ proud dagomba let me educate you here the fact that you own a piece of land in Accra do not make you the lord over the lands in Accra. The land you own is being leased to you. You are just a tenant get into your empty head.

• Acragirly 1 day ago

So ,you realized the Ashantis are the invades ? Well said. Funny !

• Armstrong 2 days ago

The seat of government is on Ga Adangbe Land. Haruna has really disappointed some us who believed in his presidential prospects

• Haruna 2 days ago

That's NDC for you!

• Fred oppong-ntow 2 days ago

What was the criteria for choosing those selected dialects for the pilot project, ?please show respect to the Ga/ dangbe, MOE, no throwing of dust into people's eyes. Enough of the bullshit.

• Fred oppong-ntow 2 days ago

You choose Hausa, you choose daghani, and tell me that the dialect spoken by the inhabitants[Ga/dangbe] of the capital, will be added later, this is travesty of justice, "akwaku anase story laced with disrespect"

• Jimbo 1 day ago

Why the Gas in a rush? Is it because the capital is cited on their land? I think they should rather thank God for that. Resources are pulled from other corners of the country to develop your village into a modern city yet, yo ...

• Eye 1 day ago

Leave our village and go to your city. You ungrateful beings. You need to be walled so you don't continue to intrude other persons land. Village people.

• Alley 1 day ago

@ jimbo you are uninformed semi literate and an idiot of idiots. Accra was not a village before been name as the capital city of Ghana. Moneys the government generates in Accra exceeds any region in Ghana. Do a lil research a ...

• Jimbo 1 day ago

Money generated in Accra does not come from only Gas. How many Gas own big businesses in Accra. You call yourself a full literate but see how naive you are. If people from other tribes do not operate businesses in Accra, how ...

• Nana kwasi proud ashanti man not stupid like Ga people 1 day ago

We Ashantis didnt vote for this is the same you Ga people who voted for Mahama fight your own fight We Ashantis will continue to dominate

• Gyau 1 day ago

Oh moron! Leave Asantes out of your tribalistic tantrums.

• Kwame 1 day ago

Hausa is not a Ghanaian language.

• Truth teller 1 day ago

Hausa is not a Ghanaian language. We do not have indigenous people call HAUSA in Ghana. FOOLISH HARUNA IDDRISU

• Eddie 1 day ago

I want to ask Hon. Haruna Idrissu if Hausa is a
    Iocal Ghanaian language? Why omit the Ga language from the pilot project? Has he forgotten that many people who come to Accra, the capital
    are keen to learn the Ga language?

• Fair Mind 1 day ago

How on earth can you pilot languages and you left the local dialect of the capital city where all foreigners and all ethnic groups are do all sorts of businesses? The Minister must come again.

• Mark Armstrong 1 day ago

@jimbo
    Do you know how much Tema Harbour only contributes to the Ghana's Economy? Greater Accra is the lifeline of Ghana. Take it or leave it.

• Jimbo 1 day ago

Is Tema Harbour a property of the Gas? You see the problem? You people are funny. Tema Harbour is a state asset. It doesn't belong to the Gas.

• Betty 1 day ago

MR MINISTER, ARE TRYING TO SAY LATER ON AFTER THE PILOT PHASE THEN YOU ARE GET ON WITH THE GA DAGBE FOR THEIR ON SEPERATE PILOT? IT MAKES NO SENSE AT ALL

• Betty 1 day ago

HARUNA DO YOU GA LAND IS WHERE THE CAPITAL IS?

• Nuumobi 1 day ago

You wished for it and now you have it. During the 2024 campaign period, they told you in the face that you Gas do not need digitalisation. All you are fit for is kenkey (kormi) and pepper (shitor). You laughed it off. The rea ...

• Pee@atl 1 day ago

Hausa language cannot be described as indigenous in Ghana. This is rubbish!!!

• Kk 1 day ago

What a selective NDC bias initiative... The language of the capital city is not included but hinterland languages are included? Anyway, they ones said all the Game people want is Kenney and fried fish, so....b

• Nii 1 day ago

I think his only aim is to please his hausa people. What a shame

• Augustina Quayson 1 day ago

Please Mr Education Minister, please Hausa is not a Ghanaian language. Please they do not have a home town in Ghana. Please the language of the capital should replace Hausa.Please Mr Minister, charity begins at hom ...

• Akwasi 1 day ago

Why is Fante, Ahanta and Nzema missing but Hausa in the list?

• PAA RASTA. 1 day ago

If this happened under NPP @ADUTWUM MOE ? THE GA PEOPLE WOULD'VE STARTED WW3 . OBAAKE AKWAABA .OHENE GYAN STADIUM. IAM GLAD THEIR FAVORITE NDC EXCLUDED THEM. GOOD FOR THEM.

• Nii 1 day ago

So why does he choose Hausa over Ga in that pilot study if his intention is not to marginalise Gas on whose land the government seats and he performs his duties? Some is not right.

• PAA RASTA. 1 day ago

NII THE ANSWER IS SIMPLE. THEY BELIEVE THE GA LANGUAGE IS DYING AND NOT IMPORTANT. SECONDLY THE NDC DOESN'T RESPECT GA PEOPLE. COUNT HOW MANY GA MINISTERS UNDER AKUFFO ADDO. COMPARE THAT TO PRESIDENT MAHAMA"S NDC.

• Kweku 1 day ago

Don't worry, there is a GA coming up soon as the presidential material, when it appears you will realised that from NORTH to Accra on a long journey, today you can have money to purchase local teams, and build mansion, likewi ...

NO AKAN WILL VOTE FOR GA PERSON TO BECOME PRESIDENT!!! MMOAA

• Akwasi 1 day ago

Twi, Ewe, Dagbani and Hausa are widely spoken than Ga in Ghana. The selection is very fair.

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 1 day ago

What a lie. When it comes to the Ga-Adangbe language, it is spoken mostly in the Greater Accra and Eastern Regions of Ghana. The group includes Ga, Shai, Ada and Krobo people. You will find them on most Cocoa growing areas in ...

• Nii 1 day ago

So why does he choose Hausa over Ga in that pilot study if his intention is not to marginalise Gas on whose land the government seats and he performs his duties? Something is not right.

• Andrew 1 day ago

It’s a pilot they can’t use every language and could very well be that they didn’t have every language ready!

• Myself 1 day ago

Massa, with Accra being the capital, coupled with the fact that the Gas are making sure that they sustain the usage of the Game language within Accra especially when it comes to education, don't you think it will serve them b ...

• Teye 1 day ago

Deception. An after thought damage control. The plenty Ga and Dagbme officials in the NDC government must speak . Why are they quite

• Leonidas 1 day ago

Your PRO must always explain things exhaustively to avoid such quite understandable concerns. A pilot always starts small and, based on the ourcomes, expands to other areas over time. There are, definitely, reasons why Ga was ...

• Nkonim 1 day ago

How many MPs in the Greater Accra enclave are Gas? Majority of the mps in Accra are from the north and the Volta. There are some Fantis too. I do not want to be personal so I wint mention names here. The Gas are not bothered ...

• Stev 1 day ago

We the GA damgbe are our own enemies because we aseptic kenkey and fried fish than education as Mahama had put it.

• Kwaku: 1 day ago

Just a reminder that HAUSA is NOT a Ghanaian language! I do not think it should be added. Thanks

• Kwaku: 1 day ago

By the way, which body decides this? It will be helpful if Hon. Minister gives it to linguistic thinking group to think through and present recommendations.

Is it not time for Ghana to choose Asante Twi as a national langu ...

• Nana 1 day ago

Why would you exclude their language. That's very stupid decision. I am Ashanti but if you have twi there then you should have Ga too

YOU ARE NOT ASHANTI SO STAY IN YOUR LANE!! GO AND CHECK YOUR FAMILY HISTORY WELL

• Quame 1 day ago

How doe you place significance on a foreign language(Hausa) over indigenous ones. It’s sickening sometimes how we think and open ourselves up for unnecessary attacks.
    Traditionally, every knows that Hausa is a foreign lang ...

• Nii 1 day ago

They should test it in the regions whose languages are being used period. They should not test it in Accra.

• Ransom 1 day ago

This is so bad to hear, how possible on earth will a Region and language that host the seat of Government, the Nation's Capital and National Headquarters excluded from language piloting.
    Ga-Adangbe is part of the major ethni ...

Ga Adangbe is not a major ethnic group in Ghana. Dont lie to your self. Mamprusi and Dagomba is even bigger than Ga Adangbe

• Andrew 1 day ago

Does anyone understand what “pilot” means?

• Acragirly 1 day ago

It means , "try out "

• Ben 1 day ago

You voted for NDC so keep quite.
    In our time at the School in Cape Coast 4 languages were studied Ewe Fanti Akan and Ga.

• LUNCH PAD 1 day ago

MR MINISTER SHOULD QUICKLY ADDED GA/DANGBE BECAUSE OF IT'S GEOGRAPHICAL AREA.HAUSA IS NOT GHANA LOCAL LANGUAGE

• Selorm 1 day ago

Instead of Hausa Ga should have been used. Hausa is not and never part of our indigenous language

• Agbelimor Paris 1 day ago

Vernacular AI,I think this is a fair share and very good in preservation of our culture.Dagbani and Hausa will cover the northern sector and the Twi will cover the middle belt and Greater Accra,because Ga people like the Twi ...

• Goodman 1 day ago

Hausa is not a Ghanaian language please. Take it off

• Acragirly 1 day ago

Frank Aygena karikati, you sound stupid. It is obvious you have no education. You talk,like you're gutter bola itself. There is no need to really answer you or even dwell on your embecile comment. Kwasia !

• Tsoo Ohami 1 day ago

Haruna Iddrissu must leave the Education Ministry. He is a failure. He is not fit for that position. President Mahama please do the needful.

• Acragirly 1 day ago

Why do the Akans hate the Ga people so much ?
    Are they envious of something the Ga people have and they don't ?

• Jimbo 19 hours ago

Oh how? Is Haruna Iddirisu an Akan? Osha kpakpa? Hahaha

• Acragirly 1 day ago

I am appealing the government of Ghana to remove the capital from Accra. This is the Kryptonite and Achilles heels of the Ashantis.

• Acragirly 1 day ago

Hausea people by history were from Nigeria to northern Nigeria. They were not part of Ghana.

• Vision 1 day ago

Haruna another hypocrite in dagbon

• The man 1 day ago

Haruna is just helping the Muslims by including hausa, otherwise no need..He should have included Ga instead of hausa as an indigenous language...Haruna has an agenda to favour Muslims..Remember the Wesley girls saga...Ghanai ...

• Ga is slowly dying 1 day ago

I was trying to learn Ga at some point in my life and one of my friends, a Krobo man asked me “ Do you want to be a land guard “? Meaning Ga language is relegated to landguardism. So I stopped and since then I’ve never ...

• Zy 1 day ago

This is pure nonsense. This is planned and we'll calculated.

• nii 20 hours ago

Why Dagbani when you already have Hausa?? At least respect the Ga language