BoG to inject $1 billion into FX market in January 2026 under intermediation programme

Read Comments Comments (52)

• Jones 2 days ago

hmmmmmm Ghanaians are going to be relieved with this intervention. This is good governance.

• .mr amin 2 days ago

BoG go on support the cedi don't mind the so called economist who just don't like the cedi to appreciate neglect them let the cedi appreciate to a single digit, if you have money you don't let your children to go hungry

• Housemaid 2 days ago

Ay3 ka. Bawumia is having dysentery. Cecilia Dapaah is saying tsweu with anger over her sacks of dollar bills. Asem behn koraaaa ni?

• Annan 2 days ago

Abu julor kwakwe Jinapor. Those stolen dollars you have stacked in the polytank will soon become toilet paper. Massa run to the market to go and change them before it is too late. Criminal. You will lose the Damongo seat

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 2 days ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper.........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam...........You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe. Yo ...

• Nana Kwaku Odomankomah 2 days ago

So you are religious?
    Which prophet talked about his personal faith and beliefs ?

Every prophet spoke about knowledge and understanding and never about beliefs.

Little minds dwell on beliefs. Knowledge is the best way ...

• Stanley Glover 2 days ago

Julor kwakwe , worse than obishi. Faceless thieves.

• Mahama 24 Hour Economy is Real & West Togoland independence 2 days ago

This injection will be regretted soon. Imagine the economy was expended with the 250 million dollars so far used.

This is money that could constrct railway line from Adenta to Accra to ease traffic, improve quality of life ...

• Korbla 7 hours ago

Such a fool. You behave as if u understand what the BOG is doing meanwhile you are a stark illiterate. BOG is simply making FX available for transaction. This money is not being spent by anybody

• Free Radical 2 days ago

Another sophisticated stealing strategy designed to $1 billion dollars by the criminals gangs.They wasted the $10 billion dollars bribing chiefs,fake prophets,fake pastors,Imams and fools talking nonsense for the Christmas gi ...

• Allotey Jacobs 2 days ago

@ Free Radical. Go to court. You rogue. Osono maame will overturn the auctions. Kwasea. Wo maame twe

• Jay in London 2 days ago

ANY POSITIVE BoG MOVE HAS BECOME COUNTER TO THE PROSPECTS OF THE NPP.

THE NPP HAS FOCUSED THEIR ATTACKS ON THE BoG AND THE GOLDBOD BECAUSE THESE TWO INSTITUTIONS ARE LARGELY RESPONSIBLE FOR THE FEEL-GOOD FACTOR THAT IS CUR ...

• Aba 2 days ago

Putting more billions of dollars will not help. This is just a short term intervention. It is like rubbing Peter to pay Paul. How can this go on? Can they divert those money to create jobs for the youth?

• Abena 2 days ago

@ Aba. The cedis acquired from the sales can equally be used to create jobs for the youth. Don't you have sense? Idiot

• Kofi 1 day ago

The cedis acquired from what sales?

• Good Citizen 2 days ago

The dollars are sold for cedis, so it is not free. The cedis are then use to finance the country. How does the Bank of Ghana gets dollars? And what is it supposed to do with it? Pile them up and for what? Please give a break ...

• kelewele 2 days ago

But we depend on the IMF for $200 million dollars?

• Dr. Ishaq 2 days ago

@ kelewele. Akufo Monkey Addo has gone to the IMF already before Mahama came. Ask John Kumah

• @ Dr Ishaq 2 days ago

@ Dr Ishaq with no brain, it's the same as JDM took us to IMF before Akufo-Addo came. Ask your father.

• Joojo of Anomabo 2 days ago

So first fool is no fool, second fooooolll na him we dey talllkkk

• s))mli 2 days ago

They call it "PUMP". The BOG calls it "SELL". Do you see the difference now?
    In simple terms, they're are selling Dollars to those who need it. They receive GHS in return.

In conclusion, no money is lost.

NPP, STOP IT ...

• Sometimes 2 days ago

Simple mathematics people don't get it, it u go to abochi to exchange yr dollar which of u lost money, none. BoG don't give free dollars to any Bank they sell

• Francis Mccarthy 2 days ago

$1 to Cedi Ghs8 by end of January. God bless NDC John Mahama

• Kramai 2 days ago

wont happen will make exports unattractive,exports are also needed as it provides sustainable jobs for many especially in agriculture

• Kwame panin 2 days ago

Massaging the exchange rate. What innovation is in this artificial galamsey led intervension? We degrade the environment to support the cedi. Water bodies are being polluted with government support. What happened to the ...

• Sense 2 days ago

NPP zombies let me educate you this is what your useless little brain leaders couldn’t do, the word “intermediation” means that the bank of Ghana won’t go out to borrow money the way the incompetent NPP government did ...

• Rok 2 days ago

@Sense, You have made the explanation easy for Npp Mp's and their illiterate supporters. Economies make easy.

• Yaa 2 days ago

Bank of Ghana raises the cash for gold buying in cedis (strong currency) on the local market. It passes the cash to Goldbod, which has a nice deal with Alhaji Bawa, the national aggregator.

Goldbod negotiates a buyer's pr ...

• Useless NDC- 24 hour economy 419 2 days ago

Useless NDC- 24 hour economy 419

• Kwaseato 1 day ago

With the $10 billion they spent doing the same thing last year, did the cedi not fall to almost 12ghc to the dollar? You NDC people are just mentally retarded to support anything your government does. This action is not diffe ...

• Dr who 2 days ago

Interventions sustain stability short-term. without no evidence of structural changes or long term plan putting all your bets on gold.

• Og 2 days ago

You have to crawl before you walk. Think deep

• Nana Kwaku Odomankomah 2 days ago

Your choice of words makes room for public accusations.
    Why do you call it injection?
    Is it not for currency circulation? The BOG uses the GHC traders deposit for their purchases and give them back the USD for the foreign p ...

• Kojois 2 days ago

Only useless and visionless govt will do tjis kind of stupidity why jobless youth were crying for jobs you are busy creating jobs for China. Buy and sell country

• Ansah 2 days ago

You can't see it's relevance because you are a fool and you don't want to learn. Go and update yourself on basic economics so you understand.

• Ansah 2 days ago

Even America heavily depends on import of goods and services everyday. Go and learn and stop spewing rubbish here.

• Essilfi 2 days ago

When inflation and exchange rate is reduced then companies can increase their services create jobs. Job creation s does not happen overnight. Do you have to study rocket science before you understand this simple cycle? Beside ...

• Isaac 2 days ago

Thank you. This one you don't have to spend a year in school before you understand. Some people's IQ level is very low yet they don't humble themselves and learn. Very pathetic

• Kofi 1 day ago

Ansa are you in the US?America depends on demand and supply. That is why the economy runs in twenty four hours. For American companies to expand and make profits that Trump put heavy tariffs on foreign products entering the c ...

• Boston_finnest 2 days ago

This will crush Ghana goods and services in the international markets. Will make Ghana goods and services expensive in the international markets. Stupid policy. The govt just want to get brow ie pointS

• Emefa 1 day ago

@Boston
    So you want goods and services we import to be expensive right? So that inflation would increase is that you want? Think okay?

• Ekd 2 days ago

They are making it easier for dollars to leave the country. Cheaper to import and expensive to export. We become a consuming country instead of a producing country. Is this good for the country? NO.

• Emefa 1 day ago

@EKD
    We are making easier for the dollar to leave Ghana?
    Do we use dollar in Ghana? If no then, why should we hoard it like some politicians were doing? We spend cedis in Ghana and we spend dollars to import goods and serv ...

• A bunch of idiots 1 day ago

These fools are just totally useless. $10 billion has already been spent on this nonsense while nurses and teachers haven't been paid their salaries for 12 months now. Couldn't that $1 billion be spent on building dual carria ...

• Philip 1 day ago

A stronger cedi is good, but it won’t lower the cost of living on its own. The government must also keep prices in check so Ghanaians actually feel the benefit. Strengthen the cedi, yes—but make life affordable too!

• But prices still goes up. 1 day ago

Exactly. A strong cedi is useless if prices remain the same or keeps going up.

• Kofi 1 day ago

Where did the bank get the money from?Is it borrowed from China or the Reserve dollars from the former government.? Injection of dollars into the economy to ease inflation is stupid economic policy. And the Reserve money fini ...

• But prices still goes up. 1 day ago

I don't see how this helps the people when market prices on good and services are still going up. When the cedi is strong, traders are supposed to reduce prices but don't.

• HoInGhana 1 day ago

Well, well... Bog can put 1 Bill US dollars for sale. Why Not Using that Money, to pay IMF & Co??? All a SCAM! And prices for most items still go up! Are you really that BLIND? They sell out the Gold of Ghana. And then fill t ...

• HoInGhana 1 day ago

2008 Ghana had 10 Bill US dollar Debts. NDC came to power 2009, January Debts went up to 13 Bill. By end 2016, debts went up to 35 Bill US dollars! NPP came to power 2017, Jan. End of 2017, debts went down to less than 34 Bil ...

• HoInGhana 1 day ago

* 28.5 Bill EXTERNAL DEBTS. And about 29 Bill internal debts as of that time.

• Osei-Rotterdam 21 hours ago

What is wrong with this government? And what is wrong with the IMF at all? This government is throwing such amount of money away just to cushion the cedi. Billions of America dollars thrown away in a period of let's say 12 m ...