The so-called CRC are all "Stomach-directed idiots". At times, some deep-thinking individuals will come up with a statement, and its meaning goes deep. Richard Feynman was absolutely right when he said that, and I quote, "Never equate education with intelligence because of one can have a PHD and still be an idiot". Unquote.
Professor Akwasi Prempeh or whatever his name is and all those who made up of the CRC are well learned but lack commonsense. Education wise, they have it but, commonsense, they are way off the radar. Gyimii saa despite their educational background.
Ricky 6 hours ago
@ Pelicles. Animal. Have you told GTEC and its Director what you are telling us? Please do that otherwise you are an idiot
Karikakchar 5 hours ago
If there's the need to give the president more time to work then the elections should be held earlier and it should be possible for the president to have ministers approved prior to the president taking office. This is done in the US and it makes sense. Please no 5 year term
JOKERS ABOUND HERE 4 hours ago
"Never equate education with intelligence": you're a prime example of that truism!
JESUS IS GOD 3 hours ago
If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation” — 2 Corinthians 5:17. Let Jesus make you new—open your heart and say yes to Him.
Reap what you sow 37 minutes ago
Ghana today has a president in the person of JDM. We should not over look the fact that Ghana just voted out Akufo Addo, Bawumia, ken Ofori Atta, family and friends. Supposing these nation wreckers ruling Ghana for 5 + 5 years. Never again these crocks messing up the economy for the good people of Ghana
Former Dining Hall Prefect 7 hours ago
As Jake Obetsebi Lamptey used to say, "moko aya, ni moko hu aba".
Donatus 6 hours ago
We should give a decade to a bad president. No. 4 is okay.
Donatus 5 hours ago
Try me and see president, no way.
Arteta 4 hours ago
I agree. 4 years is ok. The term is 8 , you do 4 first. And if u r doing fine another 4. what is wrong with this sensible thing we have done for 40 odd years. What we need is a constitution that fight stealing- a constitution that. Stop people stealing and not wait for ten yo leave power first then we do a wild goose chase. We hire so called professors et al to review the constitution- this crap is what they come out with? Fools. No wonder Ghana hardly propers.
they say they say 2 hours ago
The unnecessary entitlements that is fleecing and milking Ghana dry, they made no mention of. They could have even propose an Auxiliary 3rd term for highly performing president by way of referendum especially if the previous president did so badly just like what we just witnessed. There's no guarantee that change of govt would bring good governance so a successful govt should have enough time to correct whatever damage done by previous one by way of 3rd term by referendum. I could have proposed a better amendment than these guys
CURTICE RICARDO 6 hours ago
Eeeeeiiii this is clinical observation by our revered Lawyer Martin Kpebu. Seriously,if this affects JM's administration,no problem. Like we'll be dead under Nana Nebuchadnezzar.
Papakyene 6 hours ago
Rikardo
Rikardo
Papakyene 6 hours ago
@ Rikardo
Wo y3 kyinkyinga wai
@ Rikardo
Wo y3 kyinkyinga wai
Vim master 6 hours ago
OH masa... i like kjinkjinga. Please use amother Meat.
Kwasi 6 hours ago
4 years is okay. We cannot keep nana addo's alike for more years. How can we put up with a bad useless president.
#NO 5 year presidential term 5 hours ago
We don't lack human resources in this country and no one is indispensable. The term is 4 years renewable once and it must remain as such
Kwame Peter 6 hours ago
4 years is tried and tested,what a president cannot do in 4yrs he cannot do in 5yrs.Kutu Acheampong was in power for 7yrs yet his achievements surpasses all those who enjoyed 8yrs including John Mahama who left in disgrace.Today he is back throwing billions of US dollars into the economy in a vain hope of stabilising the cedi.It is clear as daylight that it is not sustainable but seen as achievement by some people so be it.
Ricky 6 hours ago
@ Kwame Peter. Cry River. The exchange rate is better than that of your NPP even though you printed money illegally. Baboon
Vim master 6 hours ago
That is a sticky situation, it cut both ways. Five years with a good leader equalls development where as for a bad Leader equalls disaster as in the case of Akufo addos. 4 year term has not serve ghana good enough. The country has been underdeveloped becourse of this ever changing 4 years . My take is to have a national dialog and came up with a must do developments plan and pass it into law biding to every president leading the country, to achieve a set percentage and a review of work done every year. That way the 4 year term would be less important. So for exemple when electing a president 2 more are elected as successor in case of non performance. The power to step down became automatic, failure to achieve the minimum percentage.
Eric 6 hours ago
Nonsense there's nothing like bad president, Ghana had never a bad president in history everyone did his bit
There's bad president. When you have a president and everyone around him is stealing, doing fraudulent deals and he comes out to defend them, that's called bad president
Ghanaman 6 hours ago
The stupid article 71 emoluments and ex gratia hated by all right thinking Ghanaians was not even touched by these so called experts! The only sensible aspect of the report is the part separating the legislature from the executive. Each time a president wants to appoint an mp as a minister, the person must resign from parliament and his or her seat declared vacant for a by election. Better still, once you have chosen to be an mp, you should serve your constituents for the 4 year period without always trying to catch the president's eye for a ministerial post. Obia ndi no lane mu Keke, period!
Patriotic Citizen 5 hours ago
@Ghanaman. They do not want to address Article 71 emoluments and ex gratia because they also want it when they are no longer in power. Both NDC and NPP are the same. We are being led by a bunch of greedy, selfish individuals. It is surprising that Ghanaians are not protesting against the continuous existence of Article 71. It is indeed very easy to lead a country with so many illiterates.
Esi 3 hours ago
Didn't the president promise to scrap the ex-gratia if he's elected as president. Too many Article 71 holders in the country.
Yes he said that and now he's abdicated that responsibility to CRC and they in turn don't even mention it. In order words he's hiding under the table
Ghanaman 2 hours ago
They would if majority of them knew and really understand what article 71 and ex gratia is all about. Most Ghanaians have no idea what it is and its negative implications on Ghana's economy. Someone, somehow should find a way to explain what it is to most Ghanaians and the reaction will be dare for the thieving politicians!
No Nonsense 6 hours ago
IF NANA NEBUCHADNEZZAR WERE TO WIN THE GENERAL ELECTIONS, BY NOW HE AND HIS COUSINS WOULD HAVE COMPLETED THE SALE OF GHANA TO THEIR BOSOM CRONIES.
THEY WERE ALREADY HALF THROUGH THE NEGOTIATIONS WHEN GOD INTERVENED AND BROU ... read full comment
IF NANA NEBUCHADNEZZAR WERE TO WIN THE GENERAL ELECTIONS, BY NOW HE AND HIS COUSINS WOULD HAVE COMPLETED THE SALE OF GHANA TO THEIR BOSOM CRONIES.
THEY WERE ALREADY HALF THROUGH THE NEGOTIATIONS WHEN GOD INTERVENED AND BROUGHT IN MAHAMA.
5 YEARS WILL GIVE THE THIEVES MORE OPPORTUNITIES TO EMPTY THE COFFERS OF THE NATIONS. JUST SEE WHAT HE DID WITH THE 8 YEARS. SO IF WE HAD GIVEN HIM 10 YEARS, HE WOULD HAVE FINISHED GHANA "KPATA KPATA."
4 YEARS IS MORE THAN ENOUGH FOR ANY PRESIDENT WHO KNOWS WHAT HE'S DOING.
Patriotic Citizen 5 hours ago
Mahama was sworn in under the current constitution (with a 4 years two terms limit) so he can not seek a third term. The laws of the land will not allow him to go for a third term.
S B. 5 hours ago
I don’t agree with Martin.What about if you have a good government and wish it to continue its good work?.5-year term is reasonable to enable subsequent governments to have ample time to undertake development projects.
Thi ... read full comment
I don’t agree with Martin.What about if you have a good government and wish it to continue its good work?.5-year term is reasonable to enable subsequent governments to have ample time to undertake development projects.
This was equally suggested by Frm President Kuffuo,out of the experience he had.
Anyway,let a right thing be and not mischievous.
We can assess the present government in 2028.
Kwesi 5 hours ago
Martin Kpebu after 5 years citizens have the right to vote out a non-performing Government. So it is not automatic that a President will rule for 10 years because he/she has won an election.
Future Judge 5 hours ago
I can't still figure out what came to the minds of the CRC members to bring to the table for consideration the four year term of the presidency. First, the democracy that we are practicing in Ghana is based on the Western model, and that is the United States model. The US presidential term is four years. There has never been a change, and there are considered reasons. This is advanced country where corruption is at its minimum. Then consider a developing country like Ghana where corruption and other vices are like a syllabus thought in schools. When a bad government is in power, the country would have to tolerate, endure the nonsense for five solid years. The chances are that, that bad government could manipulate elections to remain in power. It would not surprise anybody if the constitution or government is overthrown. Citizens take the consolation that four years will soon come just to stomach a bad government like the recent past Akuffo Addo government. So if we allow the four year term to be extended to five years, we will not survive a bad government. There will be a coup d'etat. The CRC members did not think deep, in fact, many of the proposals need a second thought. Before finalizing and be embedded in the constitution to be law or implemented, that be re-reviewed. An example, apart from presidential term, is the appointment by the president. The appointments must necessarily be done by the president. There's a reason for the original provision that gave the president that role. There could be a committee to help the president to make the appointments, but not the council of state. There is need for a second look or view before implementation. Very necessary and a right thing to do.
Kwame Nkrumah 5 hours ago
Excellent! Martin. I will go along with single presidential term 8years and 4 years parliamentary cycle. It reduces cost tension and provides for a mid term review performance
Kwame 5 hours ago
We don't need election. Waste of money. Go for Chinese system.
MO KWAME NKRUMAH NO 4 hours ago
And If President Mahama is not interested and says he will not go for the third term,does it becomes third term in disguise as you are saying Martin Kpebu?"aden na wagyimi saa no,Martin kpebu?" The extention of Presidential term to five years if you think it is because of President Mahama then you are fool as a lawyer, let assume if Mahama accept the 5 years extention and finish the term,what will it mean for the next president from any of the political party as compared against your opposition to John Mahama's presidency?"wahu serr wagyimi paa"Dont you think it is a change to all president who are nominated for the highest office of the land and therefore enshrine in the constitution?"wahu serr wagyimi paa Martin kpebu?
Trueth is one 4 hours ago
Please can someone educate me, when the constitution said 2 consercative term
Mandela 4 hours ago
Whatever garbage comes out Kpebu's big mouth is of no effect. Please disregard.
Salim 3 hours ago
Personally I would have wished that the president time in office reduced from 4 years to 3 years, imagining having someone like Akkufo Addo in office for 5 years
No Nonsense 1 hour ago
UNDER NORMAL CONSIDERATION, 5 YEARS WOULD HAVE BEEN OK. BUT "IMAGIN HAVING THE LIKES OF AKUFFO ADOO AND KEN OFORI ATTA, 5 OR 10 YEARS WOULD HAVE BEEN A VERY HUGE PROBLEM, CONSIDERING THEIR INSATIABLE PENCHANT FOR CORRUPTION AND GRRED IS COLOSSAL. GHANA DEFINITELY CANNOT AFFORD.
LOOK AT KEN OFORI ATTA, WHERE IS HE NOW? CAN'T HE COME BACK TO GHANA AND ANSWER THE CORRUPTION CHARGES AGAINST HIM? THIS IS UNDER A 4 YEAR GOVERNMENT, SO IMAGINE IF IT'S A 5 OR 10 YEAR GOVERNMENT.
GHANA IS BETTER OFF WITH A 4 YEAR GOVERNMENT. WE CAN'T AFFORD 5 OR 10 YEARS.
THE PROBLEM PARTLY IS BECAUSE ALL OF THEM ARE THIEVES AND ARE ALWAYS LOOKING FOR ANY OPPORTUNITY TO MILK GHANA DRY. WE DON'T HAVE MEN AND WOMEN OF INTEGRITY GOVERNING OUR BELOVED NATION.
I CAN BOLDLY SAY ABOUT 99% OF THEM ARE ALL THIEVES.
BUT STRETCH YOUR IMAGINATION A BIT AND LOOK AT WE THE VOTERS AND OUR BEHAVIOUR. WE ARE AS CORRUPT AS OUR POLOTICIANS. WE OURSELVES CANNOT BE TRUSTED, LET ALONE OUR POLITICIANS. THAT'S WHY WE SHOULD STICK TO THE 4 YEAR TERM OF OFFICE
IF WE ARE TO ADOPT A 5 FIVE-YEAR TERM OF OFFICE, WE MUST ALSO INCLUDE THE FACT THAT POLITICIANS WHO EMBEZZLE FUNDS WHILE IN OFFICE WILL ALSO FACE FIRING SQUAD AT THE END OF THEIR OFFICE, LIKE........
WR yoKojo 2 hours ago
I think its good. The first year and last year mostly politics. So five is actually 3 years. If its adopted the current term is not included.
Bitter truth 36 seconds ago
The fact is that 5years will not make any significant difference..if a president is bad, given him 10years will even be a waste of time..for me, the 4years is even too long to endure under a bad leadership..4years is good enough to do whatever u want to do as a president..as a president, the moment u are declared as a winner in the presidential election, that’s when your job has started..once u know u have won the election, u have to plan and prepare to execute your policies..appointment should not take more than 1 month if are serious as a president..most of the things in the constitution review, I totally support it but I don’t agree with the 5year presidential term..it’s not good..Additional 1year won’t make any significant difference especially if u don’t know what u are doing as a president..but I agree with the citizens electing their own city mayors and DCE through elections..a lot of the constitutional reviews are very important
The so-called CRC are all "Stomach-directed idiots". At times, some deep-thinking individuals will come up with a statement, and its meaning goes deep. Richard Feynman was absolutely right when he said that, and I quote, "Nev ...
If there's the need to give the president more time to work then the elections should be held earlier and it should be possible for the president to have ministers approved prior to the president taking office. This is done i ...
Ghana today has a president in the person of JDM. We should not over look the fact that Ghana just voted out Akufo Addo, Bawumia, ken Ofori Atta, family and friends. Supposing these nation wreckers ruling Ghana for 5 + 5 year ...
I agree. 4 years is ok. The term is 8 , you do 4 first. And if u r doing fine another 4. what is wrong with this sensible thing we have done for 40 odd years. What we need is a constitution that fight stealing- a constitution ...
The unnecessary entitlements that is fleecing and milking Ghana dry, they made no mention of. They could have even propose an Auxiliary 3rd term for highly performing president by way of referendum especially if the previous ...
Rikardo
@ Rikardo
Wo y3 kyinkyinga wai
4 years is tried and tested,what a president cannot do in 4yrs he cannot do in 5yrs.Kutu Acheampong was in power for 7yrs yet his achievements surpasses all those who enjoyed 8yrs including John Mahama who left in disgrace.To ...
That is a sticky situation, it cut both ways. Five years with a good leader equalls development where as for a bad Leader equalls disaster as in the case of Akufo addos. 4 year term has not serve ghana good enough. The countr ...
The stupid article 71 emoluments and ex gratia hated by all right thinking Ghanaians was not even touched by these so called experts! The only sensible aspect of the report is the part separating the legislature from the exec ...
@Ghanaman. They do not want to address Article 71 emoluments and ex gratia because they also want it when they are no longer in power. Both NDC and NPP are the same. We are being led by a bunch of greedy, selfish individuals. ...
They would if majority of them knew and really understand what article 71 and ex gratia is all about. Most Ghanaians have no idea what it is and its negative implications on Ghana's economy. Someone, somehow should find a way ...
THEY WERE ALREADY HALF THROUGH THE NEGOTIATIONS WHEN GOD INTERVENED AND BROU ...
Thi ...
I can't still figure out what came to the minds of the CRC members to bring to the table for consideration the four year term of the presidency. First, the democracy that we are practicing in Ghana is based on the Western mod ...
And If President Mahama is not interested and says he will not go for the third term,does it becomes third term in disguise as you are saying Martin Kpebu?"aden na wagyimi saa no,Martin kpebu?" The extention of Presidential ...
UNDER NORMAL CONSIDERATION, 5 YEARS WOULD HAVE BEEN OK. BUT "IMAGIN HAVING THE LIKES OF AKUFFO ADOO AND KEN OFORI ATTA, 5 OR 10 YEARS WOULD HAVE BEEN A VERY HUGE PROBLEM, CONSIDERING THEIR INSATIABLE PENCHANT FOR CORRUPTION A ...
The fact is that 5years will not make any significant difference..if a president is bad, given him 10years will even be a waste of time..for me, the 4years is even too long to endure under a bad leadership..4years is good eno ...