Luke 2:10
Behold, I bring you good tidings.
ONLY Jesus saves.
PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 11 hours ago
WILL THAT DECREASE THE KENKEY PRICE???? OR GIVE US 24HR ECONOMY?????
Karikakchar 10 hours ago
The procedure for removal seems more objective than what we have. In the current dispensation every president can just remove a chief justice at will
NDC and Otumfuo has worsened the Bawku situation 15 hours ago
It is now a common knowledge in Dagbon that, when NPP returns to Power, The Paramount Chief of Nanton District and some chiefs in some villages will be removed without warning or with severe consequencies.
Now, the same is ... read full comment
It is now a common knowledge in Dagbon that, when NPP returns to Power, The Paramount Chief of Nanton District and some chiefs in some villages will be removed without warning or with severe consequencies.
Now, the same issue with Bawku now, whem NPP returns to power, the Kusasi Chief will be removed and taken out.
The Otumfuo panel has done, a diservice to the KUSASI and Mamprusi. The best solution was to degazette all the kusasi and mamprusi chiefs and allow Bawku area to be ruled by committees with representatives from Mamprusi and Kusasi headed by Ghana Military chief for over 200 years.
GH8 14 hours ago
NPP was in power for 8 years and Azorka was the Bawku Naba all those years. Was he removed? Massa the lies. It does not help anyone.
Petition submission should be copied to council of state, house of chiefs and foreign embasies 15 hours ago
NDC and NPP politicise the house of chiefs, council of state and Judicial service.
For a petition to be submitted for the removal of superior justices of the court and EC Chairman, it should be copied to ECOWAS, national H ... read full comment
NDC and NPP politicise the house of chiefs, council of state and Judicial service.
For a petition to be submitted for the removal of superior justices of the court and EC Chairman, it should be copied to ECOWAS, national House of chiefs, judicial service and council of state as well as forien embasies diplomatic corps. Otherwise, political actors within Council of state, Judicial service and national house of chiefs will hide it.
Dan Fulani 14 hours ago
You are an idiot. Which country has ever copied theirs to us? Stupid fool. Go and paste
GH8 14 hours ago
This 10 year limit for CJ to me is irrelevant. I said this because I cannot foresee any justice of the Supreme Court having the privilege of becoming CJ at say age 60 or less. Georgina Wood was CJ for about 9 years and she was the longest serving CJ in recent memory(2008-2017), Sophia Akuffo served for 2and half years as CJ, (June 2017-Dec 2019), Anin Yeboah was CJ for 3 and half years( Dec 2019- June 2023) and Torkonoo from August 2023 till she was removed. Though she could also have stayed on CJ for 9 years ( ie till 2032 ), Baffoe Bonnie is retiring on next year 26th Dec, 2026, and if he is succeeded by Pwamang, he will stay on as CJ for 4 years.
Kwasi 14 hours ago
Very bad proposal
Justrac Africa LTD 13 hours ago
Website could help you get more customers and look more professional. At Justrac Africa we build clean, quality websites for small businesses like yours. Cost:1,500Gh. Domain, hosting & designing. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 Nahhsbv
KWABENA KASAPREKO. 12 hours ago
TEN YEARS IS TOO MUCH. THE DURATION TENURE SHOULD BE SET AT SEVEN YEARS--7SYEARS.
Owusey 12 hours ago
Nonsense
Nonsense
Ntsiful 12 hours ago
The issue about the CJ is not so much about how long they stay in office but how they act and discharge their professional duties.
Also, it is proper to limit or restrict the president to selecting the most senior judge on t ... read full comment
The issue about the CJ is not so much about how long they stay in office but how they act and discharge their professional duties.
Also, it is proper to limit or restrict the president to selecting the most senior judge on the bench and should not be allowed to choose anyone of his or her choice
Kwame Amaniapong 12 hours ago
Why give the house of chiefs a slot. What is special about them? How can a former member of parliament not hold any party position at the branch, consituency, regional or national level after becoming a member of parliament as they tend to become patrons and party council members after their tenure. Or only independent MPs can be appointed?
Justice One 12 hours ago
These recommendations are not too different from what pertains now. I thought Prof Prempeh was to recommend or remove the power of appointment and dismissal of the CJ from the President. You see, when you are a good critique of the work by others then you are given same work to do, you will not impress. We saw same with a former president. As for retirement age for High Court Judges, why not make it 70 years? That will give a layer who retires from the public service 10 years to serve as a High Court judge. Granted if a year's training s required 9 years' service is adequate. That will improve the numbers a lot.
Ben USA 12 hours ago
Too long a tenure !
I think I am beginning to smell a rat !
Too long a tenure !
Truth 11 hours ago
This constitutional committee didn't really talk about how to deal with corruption and accountability.
Ben 11 hours ago
That 10 years will not start with this current one. It will start when NPP comes to power in 2028. Lol.
Concerned Citizen 10 hours ago
After NDC brazenly removed Chief Justice Torkornoo, they now want to insulate their appointee? We do not care what you propose. When NPP gets back into power, whoever is the Chief Justice will be removed under the current procedure.
Acheampong 10 hours ago
Why not write new constitution then . Why even forming a committee wil involve so many institutions and take several months. I will vote no
Nana 10 hours ago
10 years to loot. You are crazy.
Please 10 hours ago
The purpose of the inclusion of 10 years tenure is for what?
If a Chief Justice is to be removed, it will be on the STATED grounds to which the 10 year tenure serves no purpose.nor grants any relief
The ONLY import of the ... read full comment
If a Chief Justice is to be removed, it will be on the STATED grounds to which the 10 year tenure serves no purpose.nor grants any relief
The ONLY import of the tenure proposal is " Any person, less than 60 years, who is appointed as Chief Justice, shall retire before the retirement age of 70 years"
Bretuo 10 hours ago
Where were they looking whiles proposing that? Mo ma y3nka nokware na Ghana ha paa de3 y3 sika ne m3r3 ma gyimmie fuo oh. So all these people were paid monies to do that shoddy work? Hmm, financial loss nkutee. Mtcheew.
Louis 9 hours ago
No need to review this process because the outcome shall be the same. This removal clause is under review because the little dwindling minority in Parliament made so much noise about the process when Torkonoo was facing the established process in article 146 of the Constitution. It has come to a time when the empty barrels roll and make the loudest noise and then an Article in the Constitution is changed. No, this is not acceptable. The Constitutional Review Committee should tell us where else this, in the world, this takes place. Look, this same group of people will rise tomorrow and say the NDC government rose to eminence on the back of a super majority and altered the Constitution. This group of nation wreckers are nation wreckers who appreciate nothing.
Louis 9 hours ago
No need to review this process because the outcome shall be the same. This removal clause is under review because the little dwindling minority in Parliament made so much noise about the process when Torkonoo was facing the established process in article 146 of the Constitution. It has come to a time when the empty barrels roll and make the loudest noise and then an Article in the Constitution is changed. No, this is not acceptable. The Constitutional Review Committee should tell us where else this, in the world, takes place. Look, this same group of people will rise
tomorrow and say the NDC government rose to eminence on the back
of a super majority and altered the Constitution. This group of
nation wreckers are nation wreckers who appreciate nothing, especially when it's coming from the NDC or a body assembled by the NDC. They do not contribute yet are ready to eat and to devour.
Good news 9 hours ago
Just wanted to know when is npp coming to power?who in his right mind will allow npp to come to power to destroy mother Ghana once again, never again npp,apuuu
Bitter truth 1 hour ago
Continue deceiving yourself..2028, it will shock u Ndc fool soldiers..if Npp beings ken Agyapong, he is likely to win..u stay there and watch..Bawumia will let Npp stay in opposition..tell Mahama to speed up his works other than that, Ndc is heading into opposition
Nii Hammond 9 hours ago
Big,big nonsense,that IS what it is.Ten years as chief justice,please ,please,do not annoy ghanaians
Analyst 9 hours ago
If the CJ were appointed rightly, there would be no need for him/her to be at post for 10 years. It's not right for the appointing authority to bypass all the senior justices of the SC and appoint a far junior justice like the case of madam Torkornoo. The provision that the justices of the SC retire at age 70 is enough.
Yabi Yabi 6 hours ago
Let me "dump or pump" basic logical reasoning and common sense" into the heads of the Ghana Constitutional Review Committee for their inability to offer Ghana the Biblical Solomon-esq type of wisdom when it come to the judiciary services and the CJ.
For as long as justices on our court benches are nominated and confirmed by political party processes our courts will never be fair, impartial, transparent and independent without political interference. We chose a multi-party political system for a nation of tribal preferences and immature citizenry that believe and strictly adhere to acrimonious relationships between the majority and minority parties of parliament; the minority party therefore opposes ideas with favorable ideals from the majority party. If opposition parties help the ruling party to develop Ghana then the opposition will forever stay in opposition.
So I would have hoped that the committee members would rather set, in view of the bloody lies and mashing of teeth by the NPP and others over the removal of the former CJ, the tenure of the CJ to 4-year or 5-year terms to be inline with the tenure of the president and the majority party that nominate and confirm the CJ. Additionally, the 4-year or 5-year tenure will force/compel the hand of presidents to appoint competent jurists with senior-most service on the SC bench knowing that any executive interference on the courts will certainly lead to replacement of the CJ should there be change in government.
It is also worth noting that the Constitutional Review Committee perhaps did not take into account the interest of the justices on our Supreme Court and the direct linkage between their retirement benefit package and tenure on the bench. The nomination, confirmation and tendency for political interference with the Ghana judiciary process require of us to provide a dignified exit of CJ's; a 4-year or 5-year tenure of CJ's must be in line with the "last 4 or 5 years" annual salary of the CJ. Since public or civil servants earn automatic annual raises then it follows logically that the last 4 or 5- years of the CJ maximizes the lifetime benefit package should the CJ be removed at the end of the president who nominated the CJ.
And as I have noted earlier, presidents and political parties will be circumspect of the fact that a younger age CJ who carries water and allow political interference by the president that nominated him/her stands to lose if removed from office because of change in government when he/she has not attained the mandatory age of retirement. It is this very linkages that will compel presidents to adhere to experience and tenure of justices on the SC and limit their interference in the affairs of the judiciary.
Bitter truth 1 hour ago
I have read some of the constitution reviews and I think they are very necessary..the only one which I don’t agree to is the extension of presidential term to 5years..look if a president is bad, even if u give him 10years, he will still perform bad..so the 4year presidential term should be maintained..What presidents in Ghana needs is speed..they work too slow..A president should be working like he has no time to waste..one thing about most Ghanaian politicians is that they sit down and waste so much time..they wait until elections before they start working..Ghanaian presidents needs to understand speed and stop thinking extension of their term will make any difference
Bitter truth 1 hour ago
Being a president is like writing an examination paper that’s timed...people who are well prepared are able to use 1 hour to finish 4hours paper..but students who are not prepared and don’t know anything still thinks the 4hours is not enough..is about how prepared and fast u are, is not about the long hours or time spent at the examination hall..to me the 4years is even too much for a president..365 days in a year for 4years and u still complaining is too small..Africans don’t know anything about governance..a country like Togo, Mali, Uganda should be first world countries since they have same president for more than 20years..is about how fast, smart and prepared u come as a presidential material and not necessarily how long u stay in power..Ghana needs politicians with speed and knows exactly what they are doing..most of the constitutional reviews seems cool but the 5years extension to me is bogus
ONLY Jesus saves.
Now, the same is ...
For a petition to be submitted for the removal of superior justices of the court and EC Chairman, it should be copied to ECOWAS, national H ...
This 10 year limit for CJ to me is irrelevant. I said this because I cannot foresee any justice of the Supreme Court having the privilege of becoming CJ at say age 60 or less. Georgina Wood was CJ for about 9 years and she wa ...
Very bad proposal
Website could help you get more customers and look more professional. At Justrac Africa we build clean, quality websites for small businesses like yours. Cost:1,500Gh. Domain, hosting & designing. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 Na ...
Nonsense
Also, it is proper to limit or restrict the president to selecting the most senior judge on t ...
Why give the house of chiefs a slot. What is special about them? How can a former member of parliament not hold any party position at the branch, consituency, regional or national level after becoming a member of parliament a ...
These recommendations are not too different from what pertains now. I thought Prof Prempeh was to recommend or remove the power of appointment and dismissal of the CJ from the President. You see, when you are a good critique ...
Too long a tenure !
After NDC brazenly removed Chief Justice Torkornoo, they now want to insulate their appointee? We do not care what you propose. When NPP gets back into power, whoever is the Chief Justice will be removed under the current pro ...
The ONLY import of the ...
No need to review this process because the outcome shall be the same. This removal clause is under review because the little dwindling minority in Parliament made so much noise about the process when Torkonoo was facing the e ...
Continue deceiving yourself..2028, it will shock u Ndc fool soldiers..if Npp beings ken Agyapong, he is likely to win..u stay there and watch..Bawumia will let Npp stay in opposition..tell Mahama to speed up his works other t ...
If the CJ were appointed rightly, there would be no need for him/her to be at post for 10 years. It's not right for the appointing authority to bypass all the senior justices of the SC and appoint a far junior justice like th ...
Let me "dump or pump" basic logical reasoning and common sense" into the heads of the Ghana Constitutional Review Committee for their inability to offer Ghana the Biblical Solomon-esq type of wisdom when it come to the judici ...
I have read some of the constitution reviews and I think they are very necessary..the only one which I don’t agree to is the extension of presidential term to 5years..look if a president is bad, even if u give him 10years, ...
Being a president is like writing an examination paper that’s timed...people who are well prepared are able to use 1 hour to finish 4hours paper..but students who are not prepared and don’t know anything still thinks the ...