Assuming 5 + 5 years of Akufo Addo, Bawumia, family and friends reckless ruling of Ghana. The 4 years per term is good eneough for any effective and good governance. No more room for thieves and nation wreckers
kk 11 hours ago
no way, political parties in Ghana go two terms not necessarily because they did a good job but because of many other factors,meaning a bad government will automatically likely have 10 years
PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 11 hours ago
MAHAMA MUST NOT ALLOW THESE FAKE PASTORS TO DECEIVE HIM AS THE WITCHES DID IN ONE OF THE SHAKESPEARE’S TRAGEDIES, MACBETH. HE MUST THINK AND USE HIS BRAIN.
IN ANOTHER SHAKESPEARE’S TRAGEDY, ANTONY AND CLEOPATRA, MARK ANT ... read full comment
MAHAMA MUST NOT ALLOW THESE FAKE PASTORS TO DECEIVE HIM AS THE WITCHES DID IN ONE OF THE SHAKESPEARE’S TRAGEDIES, MACBETH. HE MUST THINK AND USE HIS BRAIN.
IN ANOTHER SHAKESPEARE’S TRAGEDY, ANTONY AND CLEOPATRA, MARK ANTONY LAMENTED SURRENDERING OR SUBMITTING COULD LEAD TO DISHONOR BY ROMAN STANDARDS. THE MENTALITY WAS THAT, LOSING HONOR AS ROMAN NOBLE WAS WORSE THAN DEATH. ALLOWING LOVE AND PASSION OVERRULE DUTY IN HIS CASE WILL EQUATE “PLAYING THE ROMAN FOOL” THE FOOL SUGGESTS SOMEONE WHO ABANDONS REASON AND DIGNITY. REASON AND DIGNITY HERE IS MAHAMA LEAVING POWER AND GO PEACEFULLY. MAHAMA IS INCOMPETENT AND WILL ALLOW HIS AMBITION OF CLINGING TO POWER OVERCLOUD HIS JUDGMENT.
PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 10 hours ago
WE WANT TO BE PART OF THE CIVILIZED WORLD. WE DO NOT WANT ANY “SIT-ON-IT TILL YOU DIE” MENTALITY OF MUGABE, NKRUMAH, IDI AMIN, MUSEVENI, EYADEMA , MOBUTU AND A HOST OF OTHER AFRICAN TYRANTS WHO THROUGH THEIR OWN FOOLISHNESS SUFFERED THE CONSEQUENCES OF USING ANY MEANS TO CLING TO POWER.
FREEDY 9 hours ago
MAHAMA 5YEARS EXTENSION WILL BE GOOD FOR GHANA - BUT LETS TAKE AFTER MAHAMA WE GET SOMEONE LIKE AKUFO ADDO AGAIN-: 5YEARS WILL BE A MASSAKER TO GHANAIANS:
MAHAMA FIVE YEARS DEVELOPMENT
AKUFO ADDO TYPE FIVE YEARS WILL MASSAK ... read full comment
MAHAMA 5YEARS EXTENSION WILL BE GOOD FOR GHANA - BUT LETS TAKE AFTER MAHAMA WE GET SOMEONE LIKE AKUFO ADDO AGAIN-: 5YEARS WILL BE A MASSAKER TO GHANAIANS:
AKUFO ADDO TYPE FIVE YEARS WILL MASSAKER HELL
FREEDY 9 hours ago
CORRECTION MASSACRE NOT MASSAKER
SkyView 2 hours ago
@Freedy: Martin Kpebu is reckless and uninformed. The guy is overly emotional and opposes just to oppose. The following are the presidential term limits in a few countries on the continent:
1. Algeria - Five-Year Pres ... read full comment
@Freedy: Martin Kpebu is reckless and uninformed. The guy is overly emotional and opposes just to oppose. The following are the presidential term limits in a few countries on the continent:
1. Algeria - Five-Year Presidential Term Limit, renewable once.
2. Botswana - Five-Year Presidential Term Limit, renewable once.
3. DR. Congo - Five-Year Presidential Term Limit, renewable once.
4. Egypt - Six-Year Presidential Term Limit, renewable once.
5. Ethiopia - Six-Year Presidential Term Limit, renewable once.
6. Ivory Coast - Five-Year Presidential Term Limit, renewable once.
7. Kenya - Five-Year Presidential Term Limit, renewable once.
8. Senegal - Five-Year Presidential Term Limit, renewable once.
9. South Africa - Five-Year Presidential Term Limit, renewable once.
10. Tunisia - Five-Year Presidential Term Limit, renewable once.
A five-year term limit, renewable once, or a seven-year term limit, non-renewable, is very logical.
Rex 1 hour ago
Why won't he reject it?If unfortunately an Akufo Addo kind of president should emerge again on the people in the near or distant future,how thinkable is it,for him to rule for ten years?They shouldn't even try.
SkyView 1 hour ago
@Rex: What you probably want to talk about is guardrails, impeachment procedures for removing non-performing presidents, or not renewing through polls for another five- or six-year term, in the soon-to-be-amended constitution.
prophet mohammed was a sick dog 6 hours ago
Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper.....Search online for ways to move away from evil islam.......You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe. You are not alone.
Karikakchar 6 hours ago
Obviously we don't need an individual in the person of a president to develop the nation. The constitution must seek to project an acceptable development plan and not the person occupying the position of president.
Cole 10 hours ago
No. Viters are changing. 5 is good enough to know if govt is good or bad
Nana 4 hours ago
Absolutely. Imagine Nana or Kufuor for 10 years. They spend most of the time traveling abroad and then turn round and say 4 years is not enough. Stealing and doing galamsey for 10 years?
JJ 11 hours ago
5 years can bring back coup d'etat in Ghana
T1 11 hours ago
Imagine if Nebu had to do two more years, eii!
Agyemang Manu 9 hours ago
Mahama makes a strong case for 5 year term presidency but so Addo D makes it’s dangerous for 5 year term presidency. 8 years is enough and unbearable for Akuffo Addo government hair cuts . See how many pensioners died of hair cuts investment and another two more years for Addo Ken Ofori Atta. No no no please
FREEDY 9 hours ago
MAHAMA FIVE YEARS GOOD FOR GHANA'
AKUFO ADDO FIVE YEARS MASSAKER FOR GHANA
FREEDY 9 hours ago
SORRY MASSACRE NOT MASSAKER
Senseless Nonsense. 8 hours ago
Ghanaians truly reaped what they sowed. Kofi Coomson, a close paddy of akuffo-addo warned, against nana addo but they did not take it. So, here we are, reaping it hard time.
Yao 3 hours ago
You keep saying this but prices of basic goods are now more expensive than during the tenure of Akuffo Addo l even though the cedi has appreciated. The masses are suffering and NDC should watch out if the trend continues.
Gh. Citizen 12 hours ago
I agree with you. Should we unfortunately get a leader
or an administration like that of Nana Addo, we will be doomed.
Kwame 11 hours ago
It should not be a problem if we have a bad leader at all in the 5 year Term.The Constitution should be made to call for a Vote of No Confidence to remove the bad leader.
Ghanaians are wise 11 hours ago
Do you think Vote of No Confidence would have worked under Akuffo Addo? Please maintain the 4 year term for some time. Let our democracy mature before amending it.
Yaw Wontumi 12 hours ago
I support Martin Kpebu. Imagine akuffo monkey adui addo ruling Ghana for 10 years? Even with 8 years just look at the mass destruction he caused Ghana. Two four year term should not be changed. Martin Kpebu is right considering the akuffo addo factor.
Kwame 11 hours ago
Says who, Does this Lawyer really understand the considerations that led to this 5 year term. Some people were crying and shouting Break the Eight, Break the Eight; how do we understand this, is it not an indication that a longer Term is need for the President and his party to do a holistic job.
Nii Odoi 7 hours ago
Break the eight was meant for the party NOT for the president. If a party is good they can stay in power forever under the current constitution. They can have all the time they would be offered by the voters. You need to separate the presidency from the party.
4 year term is enough. The reasons given for the extension of 1 extra year is very weak.
If there are administrative bottlenecks during transition periods, FIX THE BOTTLENECKS.
Do not extend the term. It deducts from governance efficiency. We need politicians to do more in less time. Not the other way round. I'm disappointed in the constitution review committee.
U make sense Nii Odoi 4 hours ago
That is it
We need politicians to do more in less time
That is it
Yes 11 hours ago
I support your rejection 100%
MP 11 hours ago
I am not sure why we talk about 4 years, if you do well in government you get another 4 years making it a total of 8 years. It is only underperformance that could lead to 4 year term which is good otherwise nonperformance continues. So let’s talk about 8 years and not 4 years. Reason why we must reject the 5 year term.
Nii Odoi 5 hours ago
I agree. If you have 8 years(if you are good), why ask for 5 years.?
4 years is enough.
Nsemsem 11 hours ago
Kpebu is a joke!
FTT 11 hours ago
4 year presidential term is enough don't charge it .Rawlings, Kuffuor, Atta Mills and Nana Addo didn't change it why now
Aduomi 9 hours ago
Point of correction: the 5yr term was first proposed by President J.A. Kufuor on his way out of office...He had the benefit of hindsight knew something Ghanaians didn't know...
Nii Odoi 5 hours ago
It does not mean Kufour was right, even with the benefit of hindsight.
The reasons given for the extension are weak.
Reason 1.
"The president spends six months settling into office". Why should the president spend six mon ... read full comment
Reason 1.
"The president spends six months settling into office". Why should the president spend six months for this. If there are administrative bottlenecks. FIX THE BOTTLENECKS for faster transition.
Reason 2.
"The president spends nearly a year campaigning". This is really an annoying point. If presidents spend one year campaigning, does it make it right? Who has asked them to use one year campaigning. Why should it be? We are asking the president NOT to be productive for one year every 4 year term and by implication the nation NOT to be productive for one year every 4 years just to campaign. If you want to know the reasons why Ghana is so far behind in development, this is one of them.
We need politicians to do more in less time. Not the other way round.
4 YEAR TERM IS ENOUGH. IT IS WORKING. MAKE IT WORK BETTER.
4 YEAR TERM has served the USA for over 200 years. It has made them the most developed and most powerful country in the world.
Pelicles. 11 hours ago
Martin Kpebu, thank you. Give a fool a hundred years to rule and nothing will happen but give the deep thinker four years and things will change.
SkyView 1 hour ago
@Pelicles: JM wants to amend the constitution to pull President Alassane Dramane Ouattara's protracted rule on the nation. On the flip side, though, elsewhere, acts promulgated today take effect tomorrow or in the future. Besides, how do we overcome waste, equalization of the duo-poly parties, mismanagement, unfinished projects scattered across the country, or our lack of continuity, consistency, and coherence in development? Did you even see anything about AI Agents, The Fourth Industrial Revolution, or a recommendation for the Minister for Industrialization, Technology, and Digitization in the CRC review?
Truth 11 hours ago
4 years is ok
Darko Amoah 11 hours ago
FULLY SUPPORT KPEBU
Serve the 4 years and let your party focus on the politicking while you deliver your mandate and manifesto. If you serve well, Ghanaians are discerning enough to give you another 4 years. If you don't s ... read full comment
FULLY SUPPORT KPEBU
Serve the 4 years and let your party focus on the politicking while you deliver your mandate and manifesto. If you serve well, Ghanaians are discerning enough to give you another 4 years. If you don't serve well, Ghanaians will kick you out.
John k 11 hours ago
I agree with you Mr Kpebu
Ben 11 hours ago
In fact I wanted 3 years and good presidents being eligible for 3 terms. Some can even be so bad that 2 years will be too much for them
I concur 9 hours ago
I agree. I want us to reduce it to 3years and maintain the 2 terms
BOY KOFI 11 hours ago
Martin has not given any reason why the five-year presidential term is not good for Ghana when many countries around the world agree to do so.
I would like to know the proposal for the legislature as well.
Martin alone can' ... read full comment
Martin has not given any reason why the five-year presidential term is not good for Ghana when many countries around the world agree to do so.
Martin alone can't tell us what to do but he has the right to express his opinion.
As for me,I think the committee's five-year term proposal for the president is very good.It will be difficult for a bad president to get 2 term which amount to eight years.
I believe that Ghanaians will think twice before giving 2 terms to a bad president.Tnx.
Ghanaweb 10 hours ago
Who do you think you are? give us break
KO 10 hours ago
5 year term is good. we need to stop the perpetual politicking and reduce the cost of elections. if works in Botswana, South Africa, France, Namibia just to name a few, it work in Ghana. I would have preferred a single 6 year term like Mexico or a single 5 year term in South Korea. the 4 years is too short. The NPP is about to elect a leader in January, Mr. Mahama has barely completed one year. Because of the short span of 4 years we are always politicking instead of solving our problems.
Louis 10 hours ago
The USA democracy runs along a 4-year term and they have not changed it since. If a government wants to use 6 months to settle into office, one year to campaign, its not our problem. These may be traits of inefficiency. Governments are voted into office for the term of 4 years. Management of time, therefore, is of essence. Increasing the number of years may come along with its own problems. Lethargy. Inefficiency. Economic stagnation. Arrogance of power. If you have a destructive group like the one we saw in the previous administration, then you are finished. Ghana chose 4 years in accordance with what obtains in the USA. Why are we in a hurry to vary it? Sooner or later, another group will spring up and propose 6 years for a term. Let's get serious.
George . 10 hours ago
NO NEED FOR FIVE YEAR TERM, GET SERIOUS WHEN VOTED TO POWER AND FOUR YEARS WILL BE MORE THAN ENOUGH!!!!!!!
Leonidas 10 hours ago
The 4-year term is not being "extended" to 5 years...its being "changed" to 5 years (nuance).
Xyx 7 hours ago
Oh well that clarifies our whole understanding of the issue
KUMI K 10 hours ago
I support you 100 percent
Justrac Africa LTD 10 hours ago
Track your car with our GPS vehicle tracking systems. Stop engine and monitor voice with your phone. Prevent car theft now. Cost; 850Gh. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Whywgvv
Asem 10 hours ago
So far as the constitution allows a president to contest for two terms Ghanaians should resist the 5years terms.
Donatus 10 hours ago
5-year term is not a deal.
KofSam 9 hours ago
Since Ghanaians imitate the US , the president’s term in the US has been four years since independence and so Ghana must retain the four-year term. We can extend the term if only the constitution has a provision to remove from office corrupt and non performing presidents before the end of their terms of office to avoid any military coup to topple a corrupt government.
Truth stands 9 hours ago
Five years is too long a time for the presidency. If it's 4 years, we very early kick any government out immediately for non performance.
Aduomi 9 hours ago
A thief will steal even if given a 1yr term, so let's not focus too much only on the negatives..Let's look at the positive sides of a 5yr term too...
THEY SPEND 4 YEARS 2 TERMS DOING NOTHING. 9 hours ago
The valve will be the same. So Ghanaians let's stick to the old order of 4 years each of possible 2 terms. Don't bring in No third term issue to confuse anybody. There will be massive unprecedented demonstrations across the country if anybody tries any third bid or changes to the constitution to make the presidential term 5 years. Enough of the abuse of power in GHANA. GHANA is neither Ivory Coast or Togo.
Kwame Amoah 9 hours ago
Who the heck is Martin Kpebu?
AK 8 hours ago
Any attempt by a few people to perpetuate themselves will be fiercely resisted.
Kwame 8 hours ago
Who is Kpebu?
The 4 years is costly for the nation.6 years would be appropriate
Who is Kpebu?
Future Judge 8 hours ago
The constitutional review committee erred tremendously for even considering that increasing the 4 year term to 5 years is a good idea. Did they consider what the country could experience if a government like that of Akuffo Addo were to stay in office for 10 years? Nobody needs arguing about this
It's No, No, No!! This review needs to be tested by a referendum. Needless to say again, the term must stay at 4 years.
UNP 8 hours ago
The five years should be kicked against. Four years is ok. There's no excuse for any gov't to blame its failure on the 4-year term. They knew this yet when campaigning for power, they make outrageous promises. The US and many other countries is four years.
Prof 8 hours ago
We should rather do a six-year one- term only. 4 yr election cycle is a waste of money. We borrow to run elections in Ghana so the fact that US or UK is doing every four years doesn't mean we should do same. This whole albatross call democracy is a big problem. They just seek 4 year mandate to do the worse of what they do with military regime without the people's mandate.
Bee 8 hours ago
Ah na who has given thos man some WINGS?HE IS TALKING TOO MUCH .
Watchman 8 hours ago
The 4 years term has been tried and tested and there’s no need to change it. A good government will have no problem to convince the electorate to vote for a second 4 year term. The Constitution review committee should rather recommend term limit for the SC judges and cap the number of judge to 9. The president’s packing and parking of the judges with his cronies is not good for Ghana. The mighty US with all her economic power has 9 SC justices. Poor Ghana has currently 17.
FIRE MAN 8 hours ago
Mr Kpedu. Every serious presidential candidate must have his list of minsters in place before election results are announced. Vetting should be done in less than two months. If Akufo-Addo was given 5 years to given you can imagine the rot. 4 years is enough.
Kwaw Esiako 7 hours ago
Ei, Kpebu! W'abaso oo!
Fd 7 hours ago
Kpebu as usual will rush to comment!
ray 7 hours ago
Idiotic people like these. 5 years my ass. More years for them to keep oppressing us and getting rich. Rather give us no confidence provision ro to impeach n remove from office to declare new election.
Kojopanin 7 hours ago
One 5 year term is enough.
Jaja 6 hours ago
Who does this clown.think he is?
Gizo Gizo 6 hours ago
NOT NOT is correct!!!! No body should support what the report said on the number of years to serve. It shall never be changed.
Koa 6 hours ago
Stop that nonsense, when did the third term agenda came in. Is it not within the one year circle of today almighty Mahama administration. Even Rawlings who brought us to the fourth republic never ever dreamed of the third term agenda. Prof. stop this Ashanti's hypocrisies. Fix the problem of the four years terms. Giving a bad leader in Africa a ten years term is perhaps the beginning of the end of that country. They are thieves and want more time to cover themselves. In traveling around this world do you understand why Africa find itself in this mess despite our human and natural resources. illiteracy in Africa has made stupid people decide who rule us.
OSAFO KANTANKA 5 hours ago
I have absolutely NO problem with the proposed amendment for FIVE -YEAR presidential terms provided there is a system that would allow Parliament to pass a non confidence vote to remove a president from office after impeachment proceedings . Ghanaians don’t want to be “LUMBERED with a president who is corrupt , incompetent, involved in substance abuse, a gambling ,womanising in criminal activities etc..
30 YEARS RECOMMENDATION RUBBISH - ghanawatch 5 hours ago
This recommendation is unacceptable. A 30 year old Ghanaian to be president of Ghana? What experisnce will that person have in life to be able to lead the nation?
Zonbee 5 hours ago
I cannot fathom the rationale, thought process, or justification that led these so-called intellectuals to propose extending the presidential term from four to five years while simultaneously reducing the minimum eligibility age from 40 to 30. The office of President is not attained merely by possessing a PhD—especially in an era where the rigor and difficulty of obtaining a PhD have, in many cases, diminished to what a first degree once represented. Leadership at that level demands depth of experience, judgment, and proven capacity, not just academic credentials.
In fact, I'm seriously worried because if this is the conclusion of these highly respected intellectuals reasoning, then we are doom. How !
Rasta 5 hours ago
5-year term is NOT NOT NOT!!!!
Can you imagine If unfortunately, Ghana gets another president like Akuffo-Addo for another 10 years!!!!
Chai!!!!!
Can you imagine If unfortunately, Ghana gets another president like Akuffo-Addo for another 10 years!!!!
Chai!!!!!
Kwam 5 hours ago
Hmmm this is a very dicey issue. If we happen to have a bad government in power , should we wait for five years before we vote them out?
Buglisongo 5 hours ago
But who is martin kpebu? That guy is just noisy 4 nothing
JANKROMAH 5 hours ago
HKP ! HKP ! HKP ! HKP ! HKP ! HKP ! HKP ! HKP ! HKP !
As for this one de3, we no go gree...
Factis, the choice of 3, 4, 5, 8,....etc tenure is not analytically determined anywhere!
Based on our system of governance, the ... read full comment
Factis, the choice of 3, 4, 5, 8,....etc tenure is not analytically determined anywhere!
Based on our system of governance, the duration is not important!
I mean, can any patriotic Ghanaman make the argument that Nana Addo Danquah Akuffo Addo aka NADAA could have achieved more with an EXTRA year? APUUUUUUUU!
SETON HALL professor, you are a brilliant ACADEMICIAN, no doubt. And also a BRILLIANT LAWYER. But determining "durations" of such nature don't require legal processes or talk.
5 years! To think that NADAA or TRUMP can/could do better with more time is even FRIGHTENING wae.
Akwesi NyameAdom 5 hours ago
FOUR YEARS AND TWO TERMS period !!!
We can only change or amend our Constitution so that our former presidents could be arrested and send to jail if found guilty of corruption.
The most powerful Nation militally, economic ... read full comment
We can only change or amend our Constitution so that our former presidents could be arrested and send to jail if found guilty of corruption.
The most powerful Nation militally, economically with a population of over three hundred million have 4 yrs 2 terms system.
Politicians, Judiciary, Religious Leaders should be warned that Time will eventually catch up with them.
Joy 5 hours ago
2 years would have been better. 5 years is not meant for Ghanaian politicians to steal for party members and family members
KKK 4 hours ago
Some commentators talk as if they have kerosene in their heads. 5 years good for JDM but not good for Nana Akufo Addo +Dr Bawumia saa ? What's the sense in this ? Some people talk before they think. 5 years is the way to go but it must start from next gov't. When JAK suggested the 5 year term, his opponents thought he wanted to extend his term.
Patrick 4 hours ago
— REJECT THE 5-YEAR TERM
My brothers and sisters,
Let me speak plainly today.
Ghana does not need more years for presidents —
Ghana needs more accountability,
more discipline,
and more respect for the people’s p ... read full comment
— REJECT THE 5-YEAR TERM
My brothers and sisters,
more discipline,
and more respect for the people’s power.
We are told that four years is not enough.
But let me ask you —
Have our problems ever been about time
or about how leaders use the time we already give them
Four years is enough for any leader who is serious.
Four years is enough for any leader who is focused.
Four years is enough for any leader who respects the people who put them in office.
We do not need an extra year.
We need extra honesty.
We need extra transparency.
We need extra commitment to the ordinary Ghanaian.
My people, listen —
When you extend the presidential term,
you are not extending development.
You are not extending accountability.
You are not extending progress.
You are only extending power.
And power without accountability is a danger to every democracy.
We have real issues to fix:
strengthening our institutions,
protecting our national purse,
ensuring continuity in development,
and building a civil service that works no matter who is in power.
None of these requires a five-year term.
They require leadership, not longevity.
They require courage, not comfort.
They require service, not extra time.
And let us be honest —
The people did not ask for this change.
Not in our markets,
not in our communities,
not in our workplaces,
not in our homes.
So if the people did not demand it,
Then, who is this proposal meant to serve
My brothers and sisters,
Our democracy is strongest when the people can speak often.
When the people can often judge.
When the people can renew or withdraw their mandate without delay.
That is why we say:
Four years is enough.
Four years is fair.
Four years protect the people’s power.
So today, let us raise our voices:
No to the five-year term!
No to unnecessary constitutional changes!
No to weakening accountability!
And let us say YES —
YES to stronger institutions,
YES to better governance,
YES to transparency,
YES to the power of the Ghanaian people.
Because in this country,
Sovereignty belongs to the people, not to the length of a presidential term.
Thank you.
Raphael Abeam US 3 hours ago
One thing Ghanaians should know is that it is not the hours you put in that counts but what you put in is the hours. The President can be given 100years if he can't deliver he can't deliver
The corn than thrive well look at ... read full comment
One thing Ghanaians should know is that it is not the hours you put in that counts but what you put in is the hours. The President can be given 100years if he can't deliver he can't deliver
The corn than thrive well look at the beginning of its germination. Someone was appointed and in his first submission we saw his delivery but na who cause am
Asantehene 3 hours ago
Who is Martin Kpebu
Azagaratus 3 hours ago
Ghana needs a development plan as a national policy irrespective of which party is in power rather than useless 4 to 5 year extension!
SSB 2 hours ago
4 years for all presidential terms...No more No less.
Thank you Kpebu
5 year term no no 1 hour ago
Practice the America system by doing election in November, and the new president takes office in January 7 or February 7. Ghanaians will get stuck in bad governance for 5 years, no no.
IN ANOTHER SHAKESPEARE’S TRAGEDY, ANTONY AND CLEOPATRA, MARK ANT ...
WE WANT TO BE PART OF THE CIVILIZED WORLD. WE DO NOT WANT ANY “SIT-ON-IT TILL YOU DIE” MENTALITY OF MUGABE, NKRUMAH, IDI AMIN, MUSEVENI, EYADEMA , MOBUTU AND A HOST OF OTHER AFRICAN TYRANTS WHO THROUGH THEIR OWN FOOLISHNE ...
AKUFO ADDO TYPE FIVE YEARS WILL MASSAK ...
1. Algeria - Five-Year Pres ...
@Rex: What you probably want to talk about is guardrails, impeachment procedures for removing non-performing presidents, or not renewing through polls for another five- or six-year term, in the soon-to-be-amended constitution ...
Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper.....Search online for ways to move away from evil islam.......You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe. You are n ...
Mahama makes a strong case for 5 year term presidency but so Addo D makes it’s dangerous for 5 year term presidency. 8 years is enough and unbearable for Akuffo Addo government hair cuts . See how many pensioners died of ha ...
I support Martin Kpebu. Imagine akuffo monkey adui addo ruling Ghana for 10 years? Even with 8 years just look at the mass destruction he caused Ghana. Two four year term should not be changed. Martin Kpebu is right consideri ...
Says who, Does this Lawyer really understand the considerations that led to this 5 year term. Some people were crying and shouting Break the Eight, Break the Eight; how do we understand this, is it not an indication that a lo ...
Break the eight was meant for the party NOT for the president. If a party is good they can stay in power forever under the current constitution. They can have all the time they would be offered by the voters. You need to sep ...
That is it
I am not sure why we talk about 4 years, if you do well in government you get another 4 years making it a total of 8 years. It is only underperformance that could lead to 4 year term which is good otherwise nonperformance con ...
4 years is enough.
Kpebu is a joke!
Reason 1.
"The president spends six months settling into office". Why should the president spend six mon ...
@Pelicles: JM wants to amend the constitution to pull President Alassane Dramane Ouattara's protracted rule on the nation. On the flip side, though, elsewhere, acts promulgated today take effect tomorrow or in the future. Bes ...
4 years is ok
FULLY SUPPORT KPEBU
Serve the 4 years and let your party focus on the politicking while you deliver your mandate and manifesto. If you serve well, Ghanaians are discerning enough to give you another 4 years. If you don't s ...
Martin alone can' ...
5 year term is good. we need to stop the perpetual politicking and reduce the cost of elections. if works in Botswana, South Africa, France, Namibia just to name a few, it work in Ghana. I would have preferred a single 6 yea ...
The USA democracy runs along a 4-year term and they have not changed it since. If a government wants to use 6 months to settle into office, one year to campaign, its not our problem. These may be traits of inefficiency. Gover ...
Since Ghanaians imitate the US , the president’s term in the US has been four years since independence and so Ghana must retain the four-year term. We can extend the term if only the constitution has a provision to remove ...
The valve will be the same. So Ghanaians let's stick to the old order of 4 years each of possible 2 terms. Don't bring in No third term issue to confuse anybody. There will be massive unprecedented demonstrations across the ...
Who is Kpebu?
The constitutional review committee erred tremendously for even considering that increasing the 4 year term to 5 years is a good idea. Did they consider what the country could experience if a government like that of Akuffo Ad ...
The five years should be kicked against. Four years is ok. There's no excuse for any gov't to blame its failure on the 4-year term. They knew this yet when campaigning for power, they make outrageous promises. The US and many ...
We should rather do a six-year one- term only. 4 yr election cycle is a waste of money. We borrow to run elections in Ghana so the fact that US or UK is doing every four years doesn't mean we should do same. This whole albatr ...
The 4 years term has been tried and tested and there’s no need to change it. A good government will have no problem to convince the electorate to vote for a second 4 year term. The Constitution review committee should rathe ...
Mr Kpedu. Every serious presidential candidate must have his list of minsters in place before election results are announced. Vetting should be done in less than two months. If Akufo-Addo was given 5 years to given you can im ...
Ei, Kpebu! W'abaso oo!
Stop that nonsense, when did the third term agenda came in. Is it not within the one year circle of today almighty Mahama administration. Even Rawlings who brought us to the fourth republic never ever dreamed of the third ter ...
I have absolutely NO problem with the proposed amendment for FIVE -YEAR presidential terms provided there is a system that would allow Parliament to pass a non confidence vote to remove a president from office after impeachme ...
I cannot fathom the rationale, thought process, or justification that led these so-called intellectuals to propose extending the presidential term from four to five years while simultaneously reducing the minimum eligibility ...
Chai!!!!!
Based on our system of governance, the ...
The most powerful Nation militally, economic ...
Some commentators talk as if they have kerosene in their heads. 5 years good for JDM but not good for Nana Akufo Addo +Dr Bawumia saa ? What's the sense in this ? Some people talk before they think. 5 years is the way to go b ...
— REJECT THE 5-YEAR TERM
My brothers and sisters,
more discipline,
and more respect for the people’s p ...
The corn than thrive well look at ...
Who is Martin Kpebu
Thank you Kpebu