Constitutional Review Committee proposes five-year Presidential term

Read Comments Comments (181)

• Mahama! 6 hours ago

Das rite

• Kweku Tsin 6 hours ago

There should also be provision for a vote of no confidence to remove a corrupt and none performing president from office.

• Benji 6 hours ago

Yes. We can't have another Akuffo Addo doing 10 years, inflicting pain unto Ghanaians.

• Ohene 6 hours ago

This is a non-starter. Leave the 4 year term alone. A terrible person like Akufo Addo for 10 years scare every atom of my being. The CRC have done Ghana given Ghana the short end of the stick.

• Tom 6 hours ago

Foolish proposal from the committee. This report should be torn into pieces and burnt with immediate effect. This shouldn’t be entertained.

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 5 hours ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine........for instance 15 paracetamol at once.........or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Mawule 1 hour ago

May your children and family members never see peace

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 3 hours ago

WE NEED PEACE IN GHANA!!!

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 3 hours ago

WE WANT TO BE PART OF THE CIVILIZED WORLD. WE DO NOT WANT ANY “SIT ON IT TILL YOU DIE” MENTALITY OF MUGABE, NKRUMAH, IDI AMIN, MUSEVENI, EYADEMA , MOBUTU AND A HOST OF OTHER AFRICAN TYRANTS WHO THROUGH THEIR OWN FOOLISHNE ...

• Django 3 hours ago

@Prince *KWASIA* Adade, please show me where in the civilized world you will find anyone digging an empty hole with the whopping sum of $97 million dollars

• Vornyovie Victory 55 minutes ago

Simply move the elections to early November, let the new president have approval for ministers before taking office and let the 4years remain

• Npp is mutual party 2 hours ago

Get lost this got nothing to do with the peace in Ghana

• 24HR ECONOMY YAAMUTU! 6 hours ago

Nonsense! Even the great America is four year term

• Acragirly 4 hours ago

Hey, America is not so great !

• JIMMY CHARTER 2 hours ago

LISTEN TO THIS HOME NIGGER- WHO IS AMERICA: ? DO EAT FROM AMERICA ? DOES AMERICA SUFFER WITH US WHEN AKUFO ADDO WAS MALTREATING US ALL THESE 8YEARS: IDIOTIC HOME NIGGER LIKE YOU

HAHAHHA: YOU ARE RIGHT THERE- AS FOR MAHAMA, HE CAN GO BEYOUNG 5- BUT IF WE ARE NOT LUCKY TO GET SOMEONE LIKE AKUFO ADDO- KYEAIIIIIIII WE FUNISHED:
    LETS CHANGE IT BACK TO 4 YEARS AFTER MAHAMA COMPLETE HIS 5YRS:

• Janney 2 hours ago

Jimmy’s Charter compare Nana Addo achievement with Mahama who took bribes like ford cars, and Airbus. Tell me one bribe Akuffo Addo was accused of?

• Saforo 2 hours ago

During Mahama Atta Mills terms was there any Covid 19? Nana Addo took over from Mahama who had already took Ghana to IMF. Not withstand Covid economy Nana Addo give 5.8million Ghanaian free SHS education.

• Kwame 2 hours ago

If we get a very repugnant and terrible personality like the useless, reckless, corrupt, thievery infested and vindictive person like Akuffo Addo as the President, you want us wait for 10 good years to destroy the nation as h ...

• Asem 2 hours ago

I was beside myself with rage when the members of that so-called Review Committee was announced earlier in the year. How can any serious progressive govt include reactionary neocolonial elements like Prempeh and Karikari in i ...

• Evans 10 minutes ago

@Ohene the antidote to that is a provision to have a vote of no confidence to remove such an evil character.

• J 6 hours ago

The 276 MPs shd also be reviewed downwards . I expect 150 MPs to be the maximum limit.

• KO 5 hours ago

I submitted a similar request to the committee. I agree we do not need 276 MPs. I also suggested that MPs should be allowed to generate financial implication bills. At the moment only the president can do that.

• Kweku Tsin 4 hours ago

We do not need mostly empty 16 region either. It was just a corrupt way to keep party boys employed.

• Ajara 1 hour ago

Agreed. For example Ashanti Region should have 9 seats. That will reduce the number of MPs

• Asem 1 hour ago

I agree with you. Now that their own Parliament TV has exposed them for their childish bickering, senseless opposition, violent hooliganism, frequent renovation of furniture and interior decor, their internal failure to put i ...

• KO 5 hours ago

stop making everything political. This has nothing to do with Akuffo Addo.

• Kk 5 hours ago

Fool. What do you mean by political? Is that shit not based on the fact that these thieves want to make Mahama stay on so they can steal

• Acragirly 4 hours ago

Steal ? Where were you when all the presidents were stealing, except Mills. ?

SAAAAAAAAAAAH - IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH AKUFO ADDO- WE DO NOT WANT TO GET A PRESIDENT LIKE AKUFO ADDO AGAIN: AKUFO ADDO REALLY RULED GHANA LIKE A MONARCH:

• Kwame panin 1 hour ago

you n who? please cry your own cry

• Akuffo Addo outperformed every president of Ghana 5 hours ago

Yes; education and access are all we need and Akuffo Addo’s government provided them.

• Bad Idea 4 hours ago

Why 5 Yr term? 5yrs for what? Imagine having another Akufu Ado for 10y years!

• Kwame panin 1 hour ago

imaging galamsey for 5 years

• Asmarra 3 hours ago

In fact, this world is something paaaa oo! Those NPP jungle animals who were screaming... "Break-The-Eight" only yesterday are the same people who have assembled here and wailing over the proposed 5-year term. Chaaiiii, these ...

• NONALIGNED 3 hours ago

YES, YOU'RE RIGHT! WE CAN'T AFFORD TO BE IN DARKNESS FOR 5 YEARS+!
    TAKE FOR INSTANCE IF IT WAS 5 YEARS PREVIOUSLY, THE 4 YEARS DUMSOR WE HAD DURING MAHAMA'S FIRST TERM WOULD HAVE BEEN 5 DIFFICULT YEARS!!!
    WE WOULD'VE SUFFOC ...

• THE TRUTH 6 hours ago

You don't need to give Lionel Messi or Christiano Ronaldo 90mins to know how good they are as footballers. Nelson Mandela was President for less than 4yrs to prove his worth as a wise Leader.

• KO 5 hours ago

check your facts South Africa has a 5 year presidential term. Mandela was president for a single term from 1994 to 1999. The beauty South Africa case is that the removal of a President is not as rigid as that provided in our ...

• What did Mandela achieve in terms of development 5 hours ago

None

• Asem 16 minutes ago

Exactly. You are right. The truth about Mandela and his govt was so bad that if he had stayed on for another term he would have been worse than Akuffo Addo. The white imperialists loved him for improving the conditions of the ...

• Tee Kay 4 hours ago

Mr THE TRUTH, you hit the nail right on its head.
    A president does not need more years in office in order to make a positive change.
    What a country need is a leader/president
    > who is capable
    > who is God-fearing
    > wh ...

• Kwame 6 hours ago

You the Constitutional Review Committee stop that block -headed argument. Assuming Ghanaians had given Akuffo Addo a- five year tenure of 2 which makes 10 years, can you imagine how this horrible and unfortunate Akuffo Addo f ...

• judamujata 4 hours ago

SO U DEY WANT NKOKO NKTIKITI THAN AKUFFO ADD

• Adeeza 3 hours ago

But nkoko nkitinkiti is far far better than a $97 million empty hole ....??

• Benji 6 hours ago

20 years for the next NDC government, starting 2028.

• Nii 6 hours ago

The duration of a Presidential term has got nothing to do with good performance. Give President John Mahama 50yrs as his Presidential Term and he cannot do Foloooo. Incompetence has got no correlation with time.

• Arnold Gbetsimu 6 hours ago

Gbehaaa

• Nii 6 hours ago

Kplotooooo Naabiii Ayigbenyo kwaashiaa buuuluuu

• AYITEY POWERS JNR. 2 hours ago

Kw3mo, @Nii julor mantse k3 ohe fu tamo gbei dunaa ...!!! Are you still not aware that among all the other ethnicities, you are the most primitive and uncivilized?? You are right within the nation's capital, but you are worse ...

• Reap what you sown 5 hours ago

Imagine Akufo Addo, Bawumia, Ken Ofori Atta family and friends ruling Ghana for 10 years. This 5 years term is the least and the last thing Ghana need. A good and effective government doesn’t need longer than 4 years. What ...

• Francis Phillips 3 hours ago

Left to me alone there should be a referendum a year to that five years if the people will like to continue or asking for general elections at the end of the first five years.

• Nana Agyemang 4 hours ago

5 year time is right starting with Mahama instead of 3rd term.

• Nii Odoi 4 hours ago

Wrong. 4 years is enough.

• Leonidas 4 hours ago

If the proposed tenure was 3 yrs, would you like it to start with JDM?

• Chris 3 hours ago

The 4-year term is good. No need to change it. A poor workman queries with his tools.

• Bondo 6 hours ago

When npp was in power you didn't want it now it's your turn so you see the double standards

• Benji 6 hours ago

NPP did not do a constitutional review. In any case Ghana will have to vote on it.

• Sethoo 6 hours ago

12 months is gone, President Mahama shd be going round Inspecting his 24hrs Economy policies by now. Lazy and Useless President he's sitting at Jubilee House receiving needless Constitution Reviews . Ofui President.

• Boamah 6 hours ago

Mahama has not said he wants it. He only received a set of proposals from the committee whose chairman is known to harbour sympathy for the NPP.

• Paa Kwesi in The Bronx 6 hours ago

My friend, where is the double standard? Stop the politicking. Did the dwarf have time to propose such amendment? No, the morron was in the air taking shower with Serwaa Broni.

• SUNYANI NI. 6 hours ago

Lol no insults bro, lets be guilder that the amendment wasnt proposed this year, it was proposed in 2023. Most consitutional reviews tales alot of time within the committee for consultation before its proposed to the govt for ...

• Akwamey 6 hours ago

The chairman of the committee, Akwasi Prempeh is a known NPP sympathizer, so what's your point?

• CM 6 hours ago

This is an extention of corruption. America started practicing a four term way back before Ghana but they perform effectively and efficiently. It is all about the mindset and not the number of years.

• Benji 6 hours ago

Ghana is not America.

• I will overthrow Mahama 6 hours ago

Stupid. America is the epitome of democracy. The 5 yesr term only leads to coups.

• Hahaha 6 hours ago

How can you make this comment, do you know the history of America? Use common sense please

• Let’s do 6 years but one term 5 hours ago

.6 years but one term

• Acragirly 4 hours ago

What if the president was sooo bad during his second year, then what ? We should leave him to stay all 6yrs.

• Paa Kwesi in The Bronx 6 hours ago

The recommendation of this review is welcomed. Hope it will take effect immediately to ensure the Mahama really delivers effectively.

• Kk 5 hours ago

May car knock you down

• Paa Kwesi in The Bronx 4 hours ago

Karma is real, wherever you are, if you really mean it, I sent it back to you. May be knocked by my spiritual car. You be knock and you not see that car

• Kofi Akwetey 6 hours ago

Sensible. Starting 2028.

• Revelation + Rationality = Truth 6 hours ago

4 years not enough to loot state money?

• A SICK NATION 6 hours ago

It took just 2weeks for John Mahama to make 5 million pounds sterling from the Airbus SE deal.

• Nana Addo 5 hours ago

Sorry I meant Akuffo Addo

• Sansambila 6 hours ago

There should have been a third term of the four years. But it is good moving on

• King 6 hours ago

No way

• Fiifi 6 hours ago

Just make it 12 years and let's change only the MPS every 4 years plus no exgratia. No MP will go for a third term

• FACT 6 hours ago

RECOMMENDATIONS ARE EFFECTIVE 7TH JANUARY 2029.
    Mahama took an oath to be in office for four years. Mahama can implement the recommendations but he is excluded from it by reason of the oath he took.

• Citizen 5 hours ago

I hope you understand it is the same constitution being reviewed!

• Koppong 6 hours ago

Let’s stick to the 4 years, vote no for the 5 years

• Joy 6 hours ago

Accepted but this must under go referendum. If not then trust me Ghana laws are fake.

• Jack 6 hours ago

The 5yrs term will take effect after 2028 elections.....

• UN Human Rights Office ask Ghana to halt deportation of Migrants sent from U.S 6 hours ago

Dear God. Why have you forsaken us(Ghana). Where is our Ibrahim Traore.?

• KOFI MINTAH 5 hours ago

LET US VOTE AGAINST A 5-YWAR TERM
    We all saw the manipulation of the 2020 election by Akuffo-Addo in securing a 2nd Term and how his 8 years was nightmarish. And the Constitutional Review Committee thinks we can, as a people ...

• Kofi BA 6 hours ago

Where from this nonsense, Henry Kwasi Prenpeh? Five years for what?

• Rekado 6 hours ago

So will d 5 yrs term start with this current Gorvement ?

• UNP 6 hours ago

I'm not sure whether this is an entrenched provision in the constitution that will require a referendum. If a referendum is required, then it may delay a bit

• KO 5 hours ago

it will require a referendum

• Esa 6 hours ago

Recipe for coup de tat. The black man is indeed not capable of taking care of ourself. This is bullshit. Mps must not enjoy ex gratia, as well as the speaker, the president must be put on a leash. What a stupid country/conti ...

• Pelicles. 6 hours ago

Give a fool a million cedis he/she will squander it but a wise person 1 cedi, and he/she will turn it into a million cedis. Long terms in office had nothing to do with good performance rather it all depends on how president t ...

• UNP 6 hours ago

If five years, we must have mid-term elections and if the president's and party popularity decline, fresh elections should be held. 5 years without stringent checks in place will lead to corruption and abuse. Alternatively, a ...

• Obarima 6 hours ago

5 years is a long time to steal.
    I propose 2 year terms....wicked politicians want more years to steal

• KOD 6 hours ago

This is really surprising! Did governance improve under administrations which were in 2 terms? No. So the length of time isn’t the issue of poor governance in Ghana. If we have a system that divulges power from Accra to the ...

• Obaa Sima 4 hours ago

Say that again! Have been wondering how different this is from two terms of 8 years total. If they couldn’t perform in eight years, what’s five years going to do?

• Ghanaba 6 hours ago

Of all the problems in Ghana, what will a five year term do to correct anything. You guys are just cooking up a coup d'état with your foolishness!

• Django 3 hours ago

But who can even dream of a coup?? Is it those brainless monkeys with bloated hernia from the 38.2% wailers?

• Justrac Africa Ltd 6 hours ago

- Business / corporates websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for m ...

• Bbk 6 hours ago

We should make it 7yeasr one term presidency without second term option and also a very provision of impeachment.

• No Ken Ofori Atta no vote 6 hours ago

great minds really think alike, thanks my learned brother.

• No Ken Ofori Atta no vote 6 hours ago

7 years one term is the best. There should be opportunity to impeach nonperforming presidents. This will make our leaders sit up and perform.

• CONSCIOUS PILATE 6 hours ago

No Way. Corruption for 5 yrs? They want to finish Ghana completely.

• KO 6 hours ago

I agree with the committee..5years is good 4 years is too short. we do not also have money to hold frequent elections. in every 20 year span we will have 4 elections instead of 5. The amount that will be spent on by the parti ...

• UNP 6 hours ago

The presidential term limit as provided in Article 66(2) is an entrenched clause in the our constitution that will require a referendum with voter turn out of at least 40% and with at least 75% voting in favour of the extenti ...

• stupid review 6 hours ago

I think four years is enough to stay in power rather than five years. This so called constitutional review is bias and stupid. I think our so called researchers are not thinking far beyoung but rather thinking about their sto ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 5 hours ago

We have to thank God that the term under president Akufo Addo was Four years. We could have been LUMBERED with this useless and hopelessly corrupt government for TEN bloody years. What do you make out of that???

• That was a global problem, not Akuffo Ado inflicted 5 hours ago

All nations suffered during that problem; thank God we are all alive and stop blaming Akuffo Ado for what was a global catastrophe

• Precious 5 hours ago

What ???
    JDM wasn’t recommended to be president for life???
    You should go back to the drawing board and come up with something better!!!!

• MAADEK 5 hours ago

SO NDC WILL GO FOR 14 MORE YEARS BY THE TIME BAWUMIA BECOME PRESIDENT, HE WILL BE OLD. HABAAAAAH GOVERNMENT PLEASE DON'T DO THAT

• No Way 5 hours ago

A bad govt will cause prolonged suffering on Ghanaians.
    4 yrs enough for each govt to do its part. BIG NO for 5 yrs

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 5 hours ago

BUT IF AKUFFO ADDO HAD BEEN GIVEN 5YEARS, THE COUNTRY WOULD HAVE BEEN DESTROYED COMPLETELY

• Don’t forget Covid and wars 5 hours ago

All nations suffered during that period and people lost their lives— people were being paid for no work done; your NDC and cpp could not have prevailed that serious global crisis

• Jojo Kofi 5 hours ago

5 years term is not good. We will vote against it at the referendum. If a government is efficient 4 years terms is sufficient for the government to achieve its objectives. If the government is bad like Akufo Addo govt then we ...

• Stone 5 hours ago

If you dont achieve anything meaningful in 4 years what will an additional year do in the scheme of things?.

• Lash 5 hours ago

The four years is not the problem. The probkem is with efficiency, we should be talking about efficient presidents not longer terms in office.
    276 MPs should be reduced to 145, using population

• Of 5 hours ago

This is Ghana not individual why insulting people oh Ghanaians

• AB, 18 minutes ago

The government must plan for old age pension...every bona..fide Ghanaian over 60years...wether he or she work or not in governments..should get a monthly grant....that is the proposal..the government should have brought forwa ...

• Uncle 5 hours ago

This Manama led administration is planting coups

• Asmarra 3 hours ago

But @Uncle, how can you stage a coup when you are nursing a bloated hernia..........???

• Kanawu 5 hours ago

We need 3 year terms.

Why should the people of Ghana be inflicted with a bad government for 5 years? The quicker we get them out the better.

• Baba 5 hours ago

But if this is to be implemented, it will start under President Mahama

• Kwasi 5 hours ago

A four year term with strong institutions are enough for any good president. We don’t need any long term empty-headed president. Rawlings ruled for 19 uninterrupted solid years, with nothing spectacular to show for all thes ...

• Kwasi 5 hours ago

#Correction: a four year term president

• Jojo 5 hours ago

I support it a 100 %

• Kk 5 hours ago

This is a bogus recommendation. Give the African a 20year term nothing will change.

• FTT 5 hours ago

We want the four year mandate not five ., this committee wants to destroy the peace we have in this country.

• Nana 5 hours ago

Why 5yrs are you guys OK ???
    Ahh Ghanaians paaa.

• Nana 5 hours ago

Why 5yrs are you guys OK ???
    Ahh Ghanaians paaa. This politician are very sick where from this rubbish ?

• Bitter truth 5 hours ago

Why is Ndc settings a dangerous precedent for our country..why is everyone sitting down for Ndc to destroy our country..if u are a president and 4years is not good enough for you, then u are a useless president..4 years is en ...

• Acragirly 4 hours ago

You can have 5yr term, but can we the people choose to vote " no confidence " during the 4th term ?

• NONALIGNED 4 hours ago

I KNEW ALL ALONG THIS WAS THE PLAN WHICH WAS IN THE MINDS OF ALL THOSE WHO WERE ADVOCATING FOR THE THIRD TERM PRESIDENTIAL BID, WAS KEPT SILENT SO WHEN IT IS PUT FORWARD, IT WILL BE ACCEPTED AS A BETTER OPTION TO A THIRD TERM ...

• Nii Odoi 4 hours ago

4 YEARS IS ENOUGH. 1 MORE YEAR WON'T MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE.
    Current constitution offers 8 years, if the President is not going in the right direction, we vote him out half way(4 years) through.
    4 YEARS IS ENOUGH.
    In 10 -15 ...

• T 4 hours ago

There’s no need for a 5yr program, if governments are serious, they can form the government while campaigning and a month after swearing in, government must be in place. The 5 years will face the same problems as the 4yr at ...

• Good man 4 hours ago

I am on support good idea

• Donatus 4 hours ago

No, no, no .... we cannot afford to a Nana Addo for 10 years. No, we can't.

• Corruption is the enemy! 4 hours ago

Article 71?????????????????????)

• Corruption is the enemy! 4 hours ago

A selfless leader can do more for Ghana in four (4) years. No need for 5 year term limit. Servant leadership is the key!

• Patriotic Citizen 4 hours ago

Good suggestion. Sometimes we just copy blindly without any indeph analysis as to what we are copying will serve us well. The 4 year Presidential term (adopted from the U. S. system) is too short a time to get anything done. ...

• Come On 4 hours ago

I would rather support reduction to 3 yrs

• Rb 4 hours ago

Stupid and senseless reviews 4 years is enough

• Kunta 4 hours ago

5-4=1 what difference does it make in terms of governance? It is negligible.

We should just maintain our four years to kick out a bad government early

• Tacoma 4 hours ago

NDC GOVERNMENT SHAME JUST MAK IT 10 YEARS

• Aba London 4 hours ago

The Constitutional Review Committee is encouraging our governments to be inefficient and slow. Oh my God what a blunder. Any good government does need 5 years to deliver it's mandate. What a disappointment. What a mistake ...

• Ben 4 hours ago

Eeih, 5 years for a bad government is something else

• Donatus 4 hours ago

5-year term? NOOOOOOO! We cannot afford to have a bad president rule this country for 10 years, NO. We have just learnt "How NOT to rule a country".

• Araba 3 hours ago

@Donatus. If the President has done a bad job and you still vote for him/her after 5 years then you have yourself to blame. You have the option to vote him/her out after 5 years.

• Ntsiful 4 hours ago

What is the basis for this proposal and what are the key issues with the 4 year term. If there are any weaknesses or challenges with the current term, is this the only solution or remedy.
    It seems the purpose of forming the ...

• Nii Akwei 3 hours ago

No

• AFTER 40YRS WHAT HAS PAUL BIYA ACHIEVED FOR CAMEROUN! 3 hours ago

If you want to see death look at sleep. Can someone tell me what Paul Biya has been able to achieve for Cameroun after 40yrs. Dont trust the African.

2 terms of maximum 4years is enough. If you know you want to run fir P ...

• GADEBO. 3 hours ago

WHY FIVE YEARS? A GUY HAD OVER 19 YEARS. HE RULED WITH AK 47 AND GHANA WAS TURNED INTO DUBAI? A GOOD LEADER CAN TRANFORM GHANA IN 3 YEARS AND WE THE PEOPLE WILL FEEL IT. A BAD CORRUPT LEADER YOU GIVE 100 YEARS ...

• Acura 3 hours ago

So, why did your chimpanzee get his 8 years but had this country's economy being declared junk??

• JOB 3 hours ago

The committee should have also recommended a development plan for the political parties.Most of them don't initiate developmental projects at the beginning of their term,but rather when they are about exiting and as a result, ...

• Zakarakis 3 hours ago

5 year term for a president is a non starter. Ghana can not contain a MONSTER of a president for this long. The 4 year term is just perfect.

• Kwame panin 3 hours ago

no way!!!!!

• Adeeza 3 hours ago

Says who...??

• Koo 3 hours ago

It can be 200 years per term ,nothing will change becaise of our corrupt mind set,we are corrupt from our chiefs ,polictians to ordinary Ghanaian

• Joe Bee 3 hours ago

If the amendment is accepted, it can’t take retrospective effect- meaning the current president and parliamentarians can’t enjoy the proposed tenure. In other words, it should take effect from 2028. The 5-year term should ...

• 123 3 hours ago

Bad move. It will kill opposition parties and lead to coup d’états in the future. Just look at what is happening in Francophone countries. Instability due to the 5 years system

• ABREWA HUOFE 3 hours ago

New proposal should apply to the next President and not this current sitting President..
    Apart from this time amendment, the executive powers should be reduced.
    All top appointments should not be done by the president.

• KofSam 3 hours ago

Our constitution should an article to remove a president who is found to be corrupt and inefficient while in power.
    If Ghana wants to avoid coup to remove a president, then the constitution must provide means to remove a pre ...

• Teddy more 3 hours ago

During eight years term of mahama, chief justice, electoral commissioner etc will sit down and propose referendum for the citizens of Ghana.
    To decide that, do you want mahama to stand third time? The voting papers will ...

• NONALIGNED 2 hours ago

WE CAN'T AFFORD TO BE IN DARKNESS FOR 5 YEARS+!
    TAKE FOR INSTANCE IF IT WAS 5 YEARS PREVIOUSLY, THE 4 YEARS DUMSOR WE HAD DURING MAHAMA'S FIRST TERM WOULD HAVE BEEN 5 DIFFICULT YEARS!!!
    WE WOULD'VE SUFFOCATED BIG TIME! PLEA ...

• Rejoel 2 hours ago

REVIEW OF THE CONSTITUTION FOR FIVE YEARS PRESIDENTIAL TERM MUST BE IN PENDING AND ALSO TO BE CONTESTED IN UNIVERSAL SUFFRAGE FOR INDIVIDUAL OPINION.

• DNA TEST ON LATE JOHN KUMAH CHILDREN WILL EXPOSE HIS WIFE. 2 hours ago

So No time at all to continue to grieve over the death of her late husband according to the action of Apostle LILIAN OWUSU. This is not normal in Ghanaian societies generally. That your husband dies in 2024 and then you mar ...

• Npp is mutual party 2 hours ago

Yes 4 years is small,but it must pass with conditions if the goverment is not working we take him out.

• Aziz 2 hours ago

So that they can fool around. We want a constitution review for a year,

• Kk 2 hours ago

Is the presidential term the only one to be reviewed? What about Ex Croatia, the size of appointees etc.

• Obrempong 2 hours ago

Mahama is a deal maker and has eaten his
    way through to corrupt the board members.
    What good governance, integrity and patriotism
    have Mahama? Leave Four Years intact.

• Andrew 1 hour ago

Change constitution requires a referendum. The committee can recommend but only after it’s been approved by 2/3 of the populations let’s Ghanaians decide

• Make use of the law 1 hour ago

No need for more years.
    Only corrupt leaders will do that

• Oppong 1 hour ago

Nonsense, for what? You mean Ghanaians should go through 5 to 10 years torture under a wicked president. No way.. Ghanaians must resist this nonsense.

• Divine Lawuiekpor 1 hour ago

As a Ghanaian i supported 5 years term

• Kj 53 minutes ago

Which means that Prez JDM will ascent to it but will end his term in 2028 Jan 7.
    Dr. Bawumia will do 10 years
    Ken will do 10 years
    Adutwum will do 10 years
    Dr. Bryan will do 10 years
    Ing. Agyapong will do 10 years
    I w ...

• Azagaratus 51 minutes ago

What about ex gratia?
    Is it fair?

• Joe 1 43 minutes ago

We don't need a five or 10yrs constitutional plan. We need a referendum to choose a good, serious and a productive leader to just lead the path like Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Rwanda etc.

• Mark KL 42 minutes ago

Hmmm ! 5 years is not good.Four years is ok
    Can we imaging having President like Akufo and Bawumia for 5years to 10 years.Ghana will see anothet coup.

• Aj 38 minutes ago

It’s rather unfortunate for our foolish professors. Fingers crossed. Let’s wait and see how it turns out. Interesting times ahead.

• K 32 minutes ago

Imagine an Akuffo Addo for five and ten years? Doom!!! Let's maintain the four year term.

• Martin Kreisler 25 minutes ago

If nothing will be done about reducing the excesive powers of the Executive, then the proposed 5-year term should be rejected outright. Considering our 'recent past experiences', five years could cause a lot of trouble for th ...

• AB, 24 minutes ago

Even if given these corrupt leaders,20 years..nothing they can do to improve,the economical,development of our beloved ,Ghana and its citizens...they just want to prolong their term,in order to squeezed,the already squeezed.. ...

• Evans 13 minutes ago

Perfect, I've always wondered why we do 4years when we've given so much power to the President to govern. We can not compare our system to the US where the power is given more to the Governors and the Private sector than to ...