Why Ashaiman needs complete demolition – Town and Country planner explains

Read Comments Comments (45)

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 3 days ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe........y ...

• Kweku Tsin 3 days ago

Some people just talk by-heart. Most of the places in Ghana were not planned, including your village. The lands and houses in Ashaiman belong to somebody. You can't just take over because you want accommodation in Accra.. Eve ...

• ONLY1GHANA 3 days ago

Fair point well made by you bit don't you think gentrification can used to kill birds with one stone?

• Kweku Tsin 3 days ago

It is naive for anyone to think a government that abandoned a nearly completed Seglemi housing project, Krofrom market, a hospital in Kumasi, and many other school buildings/projects is capable of rebuilding Ashaiman.

• Cooon 3 days ago

If many places in Ghana were not planned does it mean we should never plan? should our people continue to live in slum communities? The land there belongs to TDC and the TDC can reposes it and use it for something useful. If ...

• 00233POWER 3 days ago

Thank you for your wirds of wisdom!

• Kweku Tsin 3 days ago

WHAT WORDS OF WISDOM? DO YOU THINK THE STUPID GOVERMENT THAT ABANDONED THE EASY TO FIX SEGLEMI HOUSING PROJECT HAS ANY INTEREST IN UNDERTAKING A MAJOR PROJECT IN ASHAIMAN? BE FOR REAL.. There are children studying under shade ...

• Akiti 3 days ago

This lady who is referred to as a Town Planner, should have been more circumspect and kept a discreet silence on this matter. I say so because it is as publicly obvious as it is my opinion that looking at the sorry sight of w ...

• Araba 3 days ago

@Akiti. So well written. I fully agree with you.

• Kwaku Tee 3 days ago

@ Kweku Tsin
    You're ignorant and naive but very loud.The whole Ashaiman is sitting on about 10 river bodies, and you could see it during rainy seasons when there's a heavy downpour. There's basically no way to drive thru ev ...

• Kweku Tsin 3 days ago

What you just described is happening everyhere in Accra and most parts of Ghana due to poor leadership, lawlessness, and corruption. I wish Ashaiman was a shining city on a hill, but unfortunately it is not. It is easy to pre ...

• GhanaWeb Advert 3 days ago

i'm an onLine techie/marketer,i can be reached on WhatsApp via +2348080471602 Listed beLow are the services i offer. 
    (1)i can Link your husband,wife,girLfriend,boyfriend's WhatsApp to your WhatsApp and you wiLL be getting ...

• Kofi Nana 3 days ago

ITS FUCKING TIME NDC BECOMES BRUTAL WITH THESE NPP FOOLS AND THEY MUST ACT FAST.

• Cocaine addict 3 days ago

Go and be brutal to your drunkard father and smelling ashawo mother who doesn't even have time to wipe her because of the long line akpeteshie worshipping Trokosis going to patronize that toilet smelling

• Cocaine addict 3 days ago

and be brutal to your drunkard father and smelling ashawo mother who doesn't even have time to wipe her smelly because of the long line akpeteshie worshipping Trokosis going to patronize that toilet smelling .

• Ghanaweb fools 3 days ago

Ghanaweb bastards are blocking the use of vagina word on this stupid platform

• ONLY1GHANA 3 days ago

GHANA WILL SHOCK ENGLAND and the world. Mark my words!

• Yvonne nelson 3 days ago

....does that include surending communities around ashiaman area like Lebanon community 22 and Co jericho ,ashiaman official town

• Jah Cure 2 days ago

Yvonne Nelson, the settlement is called Ashaiman NOT Ashiaman as you have stated.It simply means Ashai’s town.

• Please let ask her is it now that she has her eyes open? You have been in this profession how long now, 3 days ago

This show that you and your generations have failed Ghana big time. You didn't do your work well

• WHY 3 days ago

Why are people like you still allowed to comment on social media?

• Kwame 3 days ago

I’m curious if there’s a department called Town and Country Planning, as I recall hearing about it a while ago. If there is consideration for changes in Ashaiman, I would like to ask about the timing of these developments ...

• Cole 3 days ago

There used to be but it's been renamed physical planning department. Every assembly has one. They are the ones who write stop work, produce per mit on buikdings

• Kwaku Tee 3 days ago

Department of Urban Planning has been in existence since late Dr Kwame Nkrumah regime they have failed Ghanaians. Many cities in Europe are sitting on river bodies but bcoz of good planning those cities don't get flooded. I h ...

• Prehistoric mentality 3 days ago

Is Accra exposed to earthquakes more than San Francisco and Los Angeles? Accra doesn't have a tenth of high-rise buildings San Francisco has let alone Los Angeles. There's a reason why engineering exists.

• Akronfo Addonothing-Mumu Bawuliar- Ofui AtaaAyi the fugithief 3 days ago

You are comparing Ghanaian economy to US economy?think Ghanaian-ok? Do you know how much it takes to do substructure for high rise? What we lack in Ghana is planning and adherence to planning even if it is there. We are stub ...

• Ama 3 days ago

Ashaiman wasn't planned. It was planned by TDC. What's planned by TDC?

• Nii 3 days ago

@ Ama
    The writer made that mistake. The sentence shd have been , Ashaiman wasn't planned, it was created by TDC.There is no way TDC can be attacked for planning a that Big Slum.

• Cooon 3 days ago

There has to be a big push on Ashiaman and other slums in and around Accra. Demolish and rebuild them. The land in Ashiaman belong to the TDC and so it can be redeveloped

• Kwesi Bro 3 days ago

She does now Ashaiman .She thinks Ashaiman is fitter line,old tulaku,market and Tsenabeh.There are areas where is well planned-linear settlement.

• Kwesi Bro 3 days ago

She doesn’t know Ashaiman well.Ashaiman spans from motorway and ends at lebanon school junction.Zenu,Atadeka ,Promise land Peace land,Washington and the likes are not part of Ashaiman.

• John,Tema 3 days ago

When the base is very weak there's no way you can put a better suburb around it than the original Ashaiman. Forget about the Comm 22 and other expensive places coming up, Ashaiman is still an Unplanned town.Compare Ashaiman t ...

• Kwesi Bro 3 days ago

I don’t know Ashaiman either.Just go to google map.Search on Ashaiman see will see proper linear settlement plan on central Ashaiman the C zone,Middle East,New quarters.However,largely lebanon with the zones,official Town a ...

• Kwame Blanco 3 days ago

Why didn't you do it when you were active. We sit and wait for the problems to compound then we start lamenting and claiming God

• LAMINE 3 days ago

Write your comment
    WEB IS VERY LOGICAL AND THAT'S HOW ASHAIMAN IS

• Ogya y3 mframa 3 days ago

Chorko must be the first to demolished

• JJ is a killer and Ndc is cocaine party 3 days ago

These are the issues a serious country talks about ....thanks mad u have made my day .... Not removing Osp , ec , cheif justice .... foolish gh

• Charles 3 days ago

It can be done. Shanty towns were demolished and rebuilt beautifully in Addis Ababa in Ethiopia so why not in Ghana. Unfortunately, we seemed to accept filth as a natural way of living in Ghana. This has to stop.

• BLACK MOSES (USA) 3 days ago

TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING WHERE WERE YOU WHEN THEY WERE SPRINKLING UP GRADUALLY.? WE RECEIVED SALARIES FOR NO JOB DONE.

• GH8 1 day ago

'SPRINKLING UP GRASUALLY'? ASEM O. HMMMM

• Accra is dirty.com 3 days ago

Entire Chaotic Ashaiman town must be pulled down completely to allow proper developmental planning to a morden city that will drive away all criminals in the enclave

• Baba Siaka Stevens 3 days ago

The day i become President of Ghana the first thing i will do is to demolish Nima, Maamobi, Sabon Zongo, Sukura,and the notorious Ashiaman town, James Town Mantse Agbona, Chorkor and the famous Bukom township, am i making sen ...

• Peace man 3 days ago

You are in office you couldn't do it now retirement you talking about house to pull down structure, where will you relocate the entire population of Ashaiman community, before execute your projects

• Ogbanje 2 days ago

Kwame Nkrumah will by now be laughing in his grave.

• Teddy more 2 days ago

That place needs to be built by social housing like dansoman ., more tower blocks and also short flats. Local clinics and local market centres
    To build tower blocks is very easy. Internal partition.
    Will be more plaster bo ...