Why Kotoka was killed by his colleague coup leaders - Historian Anokye Frimpong

Read Comments Comments (170)

• Dundu Banza 3 weeks ago

.......And so?

• Nana 3 weeks ago

Ayigbes are very envious and destructive ppl.Their appetite for Coup Detat goes higher whenever their favourite is not in power. They are part of all Ghana's problems. Nkrumah made a big mistake bringing them on board.

• AZRINA 3 weeks ago

Oh, Our God is truly Great...!!!!! Heyyyy... junkified kwasiampanin ba @Nana..!!!! I always feel so happy when I see how Ayigbe is firmly squeezing your swollen balls. I can easily tell how Ayigbe is tormenting & injecting th ...

• Kay 3 weeks ago

The last time I did the counting most of the victims of the El Wak stadium accident were Ewes /Ayigbes. It reflects the level of poverty and hardship among this tribe who massively voted for NDC.Who there4 is Happy? When will ...

• Adagba 3 weeks ago

Foolish boy. The poor were able to educate themselves and are looking for job. That's impressive

• Snyder 3 weeks ago

Kwaseato! Only ayigwe educated fools will jump over walls to look for security jobs

• Yaw Amankwaah 3 weeks ago

@Snyder
    At least, the Security job is better than stealing from the State by people who think they are more human than others. To go and work and get paid, and not to steal taxpayers money and be bragging about.

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 3 weeks ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper.........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe......... ...

• Hmmm moment 3 weeks ago

If Dr. Anokye’s reading of history holds any truth, then Kotoka — of all people — may have carved out a shard of redemption for himself, a strange kind of sacrifice stitched into the nation’s turbulent tapestry. And b ...

• Muslims n Christians are friends in Ghana stop your stupidity 3 weeks ago

You hv been cursed already for insulting Jesus n prophet Muhammad,ur mother would hv wished to hv aborted you

• Ibrahim Muhammad 3 weeks ago

You are idiot descendant of pigs

All the prophets were Muslims including Jesus Christ

Prophet Muhammad Moses and Jesus peace be upon them use to bow down when praying to God we never saw Jesus singing and dancing

• ARNOLD ARYEE 3 weeks ago

JESUS IS GOD ALMIGHTY by Himself . JESUS is ONE with the Father and the HOLY SPIRIT all ONE and inseparable in Eternity to Eternity.

Both the Quoran and Muhammed are wrong that JESUS is Just a Prophet.

JESUS is more ...

• Sam 3 weeks ago

You and your foolishness

• Nonpartisan 3 weeks ago

Stop this nonsense before a painful torment from God befalls you! I don't know you but I know you are born through shit! For insulting the most blessed man God ever created. His fingernail , the prophet Muhammad(SAW), is be ...

• Sam 2 weeks ago

You and your foolishness

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 3 weeks ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper.......Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe............. ...

• WANJIRRU 3 weeks ago

Gyimifuor kwasiampanin ba @Kay! That was exactly the reason why the Ewes set about to teach you NPP wicked demons a political lesson by humiliating you with that 38.2% votes. They realized that you idiots were out there givin ...

• Snyder 3 weeks ago

Moron! Tell me one ayigwe man who has been voted for to lead this country apart from the coup monsters

• GH8 3 weeks ago

Massa are you for real? In your Volta Region Mahama's votes were reduced reduced by about 22000 votes from 2020(606508) to 2024( 584234). That's 584234- 606508= 22272. That's is the reduction in Mahama's votes in 2024 as com ...

• Jayhovah 3 weeks ago

I approve of this message. We're in the year 2925 but somehow we still have asinine imbeciles like this clown injecting ethnicism

• Hey! 3 weeks ago

@Kay. You are the same person who wrote under the name Nii on another post. Similar senseless statement you made there.

• ANOKYE FRIMPONG & HIS WILD STORIES 3 weeks ago

I won’t be surprised if this disappointed Nkrumahist comes back to tell us that Kente belongs to Ayigbe and Komfo Anokye was from Sogakope.

• Hmmm moment 3 weeks ago

Kente is Ewe and Okomfo Anokye is rumoured to have Ewe roots. Okomfo is certainly not Asantie as we know he moved from Akuapem to assist the asanties.

• The inferiority complex is showing in you 3 weeks ago

Do yourself a little favour and check precolonial and colonial photo archives dating as far back as 300, 400, 500 years: no sign of Ayigbe Chiefs wearing Kente. They wore calico and their wives were almost naked. Go to the No ...

• Imbecile??? 3 weeks ago

Look at Ewes from Nigeria through Ghana; you’ll see that they wore kete over those periods of time. The word kente emanates from kente. And you should probably ask your dwarf liliput people how Ewes helped them in battle. D ...

• You are INFERIOR and will always be INFERIOR Sub-Human Cat Eater, Shit Carrier Murderer and June 4th SATANIC TERRORIST 3 weeks ago

You are INFERIOR and will always be INFERIOR Sub-Human Cat Eater, Shit Carrier Murderer and June 4th SATANIC TERRORIST

• Nsia 3 weeks ago

@Yes, Okomfo Anokye"s parents were both from Agona "Adansi" which later became oart af Asante. He was definitely not from Akwapem. He was imprsoned or held as a prisoner at Awukugua. We have enough antholopoligical evidence f ...

• Sam 3 weeks ago

Is that not the truth?

• Nsia 3 weeks ago

@Sam, you will say that because you have been forced-fed, just like most of us by the pile of cow dung that Adu Boahene and his bunch of sophists forced us to believe it was history. So, when you are giving the facts, it beco ...

• Nii Odoi 3 weeks ago

He makes up the stories. I wonder why he keeps getting invites to radio and tv stations.

• JOJO 3 weeks ago

IF YOU ARE RIGHT THEN IT IS PROBABLY BECAUSE THEY HAVE NOT DESTROYED THEIR LANDS, FORESTS AND RIVERS BECAUSE OF GALAMSEY. YOU HAVE DESTROYED YOUR REGIONS AND ARE NOW MOVING INTO EWELAND. YOU MIGHT HAVE REALIZED THAT MONEY IS ...

• K. Opoku-London-UK 3 weeks ago

@Nana and @ Azrina-
    You are arguing for nothing-these are the FACTS and ACHIEVEMENTS of Dr Kwame Nkrumah.
    Ungrateful, Selfish and thiefing EWES-Kotoka, Deku=Deputy IGP, Harley-IGP-DESTROYED OUR DESTINY-by taking CIA Bribes- ...

• Asedu Keta 3 weeks ago

You are wrong in many of your statements.For example Nkrumah did not build GOIL.GOIL was called AGIP an Italian oil company which decided to leave Ghana in the 197s during Acheampongs rule. Ghana govt purchased it and named i ...

• Nsia 3 weeks ago

@ Asedu Keta, cut the crap! Nkrumah, was in charge from 1951 to 1966. KOSS, KNUST etc are all part of his numerous infrastructural projects bequeath to us. Built by the Chiefs? What fucking chiefs?

• Johnny Kafui 3 weeks ago

Some of us who were alive at the time know Ghana reserves were petty £500,000. From the £970 million the British left . Although Nkrumah builds factories and schools there were reckless spending.

• Nsia 3 weeks ago

@Johhny, you are either hallucinating or you have swallowed more than enough of Kofi Busia's image tarnishing bullshit.Britain left 970 million pounds. You might as well tell us ,they left the key to Bank of England with Nk ...

• gh leaders don't have sense 3 weeks ago

Do the right thing..change the name of the airport immediately to Kwame nkrumah international Airport. Put Azumah Nelson' name in buxom boxing arena and name Accra or tamale stadium after abedi pele

• Accra is dirty.com 3 weeks ago

NAPO is a fool to have exclaimed "mo Kwame Nkrumah no "God will punish anyone who rebukes Dr,Nkrumah!

• DID NKRUMAH EVER MENTION GOD? 3 weeks ago

The Kru did a lot but forgot God.In speech or writing Nkrumah was his own god.

• KORATTA 3 weeks ago

You are seriously mentally-retarded..!!!! Even you, the so-called "Godly person", who was always wearing white-white and quoting the Bible from Genesis to Revelation - what did you use our 97 million dollars to do? You stole ...

• Kwaku 3 weeks ago

So Afrifa , Acheampong and Akuffo are ewes yeah ???? What an idiot and a moron you are with low IQ ,typical ashanti

• KO 3 weeks ago

How do you know he is an Asante? You were talking about low IQ right? But to just use a name to identify a person, speaks volumes about your IQ too.

• Onipa 3 weeks ago

Afrifa didn’t lead a coup, he restored the constitution

• Kofi 3 weeks ago

You are right. Afrifa restored the country to it first constitutional state. He named Accra airport in honor of Kotoka for his sacrifice in liberating the country from dictatorship. Even he ruled the country just for three ye ...

• gh leaders don't have sense 3 weeks ago

Thats.not being fair to the numerous Ewes who have contributed so much to the build and growth of Ghana..its about time Parliament vote to revert ans remove the name kotoka from the airport

• Fo Victor , Ho. 3 weeks ago

This Anokye should be telling the youth the truth. He should go back to read the court martial documents of the soldiers who were involved and STOP this garbage.

• Jonathan 3 weeks ago

It's a shame you are so dumb to the extent that you don't know history and Geography to have known that the tras-volta Togoland was not made up of only Ewes.

Let me educate you fool! The Bono, Northern region, Upper East ...

• Augustina Quayson 3 weeks ago

Jonathan please Trans Volta Togoland did not include the North. Please during World War 1 , Germany was defeated and the German Colony of Togoland was seized and shared between France and Great Britain. The British ...

• Shhh 3 weeks ago

I thought u were educated, u are the one who was brought in,a part tribal statement from your empty head what else do u know.

• Jonathan 3 weeks ago

General Kotoka was not the Commander-in Chief of the Armed Forces at that time. He was a Col and rose to the rank of a General after the coup.

• Kelly 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much. General Afrifa was an Ewe man. Generql FWK Akuffo was also an Ewe man. General Ankra was also ab Ewe man. Thank you very much.

• Imani 3 weeks ago

I am not sure what you are? Walking with your head and your legs talking.

• AZRINA 3 weeks ago

You these fvcking boys - @Dundu Banza & @Chicken George !! What a brilliant name you have given to yourselves..!?!?!? One is truly a "Dundu Banza" and the other one has also got a "Chicken Brain" for himself. Believe me guys ...

• Snyder 3 weeks ago

Your write up is a true fact that you seriously need brain transplant. You are a big fool from a shit hole village and the worst of all you are a psychotic bastard

• MAKE MONEY WITH THIS SKILL & CHANGE YOUR LIFE - START WITH THIS NOW!!! 3 weeks ago

Don't waste this weekend, invest. In just 30 days of serious training with this, you can learn enough to start Earning, guaranteed. Take a bet on yourself now by investing into your future before the end of 2025!.Where capita ...

• Kinti Sevordzi 3 weeks ago

WHAT IS DUBIOUS ANOKYE TRYING TO ACHIEVE?

Why are we allowing this dubious politician and populist idiot to stoke unnecessary fires and panic in our relatively peaceful country? Do we know what tribalism and stupidity can ...

• TYPICAL OF NKRUMAHISTS 3 weeks ago

Pratt, Tsikata, Anokye the idiot Frimpong could never move on without harbouring mischief against those who saved Ghana from becoming another Cuba, Yugoslavia or USSR. Nkrumah is fukkkkking dead so stop worshipping the ungrat ...

• Nsia 3 weeks ago

@ Typical...... neither Jesus Christ, Muhammed built any school,hospital, roads etc in Ghana. They both died over thousand years ago, yet we have millions in Ghana worshipping these people who did all for them everyday. I w ...

You are a very short- sighted person-IDIOT. The whole of the Ghana population were illiterates. The British left us with no educated men and women. Secondly-we needed and still need ECONOMIC INDEPENDENCE-We are NOW IN ECONOMI ...

• Dan 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the exposition, Sir

• Joe 3 weeks ago

No true Anokye Frimpong, General Ankrah was supposed to be killed as well but fate spare his life.
    The greedy General Afrifa wants to be the only ruler. Why did you think Rawlings went after Afrifa? The blood of twisting hi ...

• Kojo Yankee 3 weeks ago

A major thing happened. Kotoka was asked by a European journalist, What if Nkrumah decides to return to Ghana now ? He answered “ we will welcome him even rolling out the red carpet! That was his death sentence right the ...

• REVISIONIST AT WORK. SOME FOLK TRYING TO WATER DOWN KOTOKA'S TREACHERY. 3 weeks ago

Kotoka was treacherous.He took money from foreign powers. He died the death of a traitor. He brought great harm to Ghana.

• Reap what you sow 3 weeks ago

The nation reckers UP and their offspring NPP are liars to the extent that they would come out to defend and justify anything even when they know very well that it doesn't make sense

• Jonny Asare 3 weeks ago

Mr Anokye go and do your research and stop this cheap propaganda. Authur in his confession statement said he want reinstate Nkrumah regime.

• Chicken George 3 weeks ago

Why does Ghanaweb.com always publish anything this fake says? And why do they call him a historian? Has he ever written a book on Ghana history before? Or ven been a history teacher before? And how did he come by this cock an ...

• Asida 3 weeks ago

Bundle Bansa, are you disputing the story or you just hate the story teller. Go and read and you'll agree 100% with this man.

• AZRINA 3 weeks ago

Wooowww...!!!! You this fvcking boy @Dundu Banza!! What a brilliant name you have given to yourself..???? Believe me - Your brain is so terribly messed up, and I want to believe that your mother fed you with raw gari when you ...

• Together We Should Think Of How To Build Ghana. 3 weeks ago

Ghaweb needs to develop a filter mechanism to filter the undesirable comments that will not benefit anyone reading it. The netizens and Ghanaians deserve better things to read on this web or media platform called Ghanaweb.

• Mw 3 weeks ago

Never again

• Kobons 3 weeks ago

A very stupid so called historian who tries to throw dust into the eyes of the people. Were you around when Kotoka told his colleagues to bring back Nkrumah ? . All these are lies designed to get the peoples attention.

• Yaa Yaa WhoTheCapFits 3 weeks ago

Beware the “Tribal Historian”: The New Architects of Fiction
    Some people don’t write history—they weaponize it. The so-called “tribal historian,” often untrained and unfazed by facts, rewrites the past to flatter ...

• Justice One 3 weeks ago

Kotoka was a full Colonel when he and Afrifa a Major staged the coup. He was later promoted (assumed) the rank of Lt General and was killed at this rank. Afrifa also took the rank of Brig General. As for the reason for the ab ...

• Cooli0 3 weeks ago

This needs money always hence will put up anything like story and stupid ghanweb wil help him with it. Total rubbish

• Ama 3 weeks ago

A bloody liar of a so-called historian..What a shocker?

• Analyst 3 weeks ago

Fake historian telling what he knows best: LIES.

• Rosario 3 weeks ago

Stop your foolish ranting, @Analyst kwasia! It was simply said that you vagabonds never added ONE single factory between 1966 and 1972 to those that Osagyefo had spread around the country. You only have to mention the factory ...

• The CIA IS STILL IN GHANA 3 weeks ago

Which part of this story actually talks about tribalism?
    Wasn’t there an Ashanti, Afrifa, among the coup planners, and also a Ga, Ankrah?
    And if historian Anokye is wrong, then prove it. Present accurate history from a re ...

• Kofi Banza 3 weeks ago

The responsibility is on the so-called historian to show us his source. You call this history? The critics don't have to prove nothing. Who told him about the speech by Kotoka?

• Kojo poku-London UK 3 weeks ago

@ CIA IS STILL IN GHANA

The 1966 Coup detat was hatched with EWES IGP Harlley and the Deputy IGP Deku with the CIA and the EWES brought in their EWE Kotoka. Kotoka saw that there was no Akan in the plot and so Kotoka con ...

• Gbetia 3 weeks ago

You mad brain out of rational beings idiot calling yourself Historian Anokye Frimpong sea crab that nothing in the head always fiction narrative to dust eyes kwaasiaaba From welded golden stool to Kotoka see abuuaba nie abuua ...

• Abi 3 weeks ago

Yes we need a repentance heart Lord and change of mind towards our fellow being and renewal of our mind for better Ghana.

• Owusu Amaniampong 3 weeks ago

Who taught this man history ?

• George . 3 weeks ago

When the coup he was a small boy, now he is giving facts his CPP FATHERS long fabricated against those who savez Ghana from PRESIDENT FOR LIFE AND ONE PARTY RULE !!!!!, GHANA has SURVIVED!!!!

• Nana Ben 3 weeks ago

Frimpong Anokye the fake historian always spews lies and distort facts. He is a good liar

• SAMUEL 3 weeks ago

Hello please I have non expired data bundle for sale for all networks
    10GB-30GHS
    20GB-40GHS
    30GB-50GHS
    37GB-60GHS
    CALL/TEXT 0503256521

• Ayigbes are Envious People. 3 weeks ago

Ayigbes and Envy are like Siamese Twins.

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 3 weeks ago

Bank flashing to all cou ...

• Nkwantabisa 3 weeks ago

REMOVE THAT TRAITOR KOTOKA'S NAME FROM GHANA'S INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT ASAP. HE DOESN'T DESERVE TO BE HONOURED, HE IS THE CAUSE OF GHANA'S DOWNFALL.

• DEEVINITY 3 weeks ago

When the proposal was made to him to topple NKRUMAH, guess who he consulted to join him? General Afrifa!

When the deed was done, the realized they'd made a monumental faux pas. He suggested that NKRUMAH be brought back to ...

@Devinity

Shut up. Everything was started by the ungrateful and selfish inward looking EWES. The CIA approached EWES IGP Harlley and the Deputy IGP EWE Deku. They each took $10 million US dollars bribe. Then the EWES appro ...

• DEEVINITY 3 weeks ago

@Kojo Poku.

How is your submission and the facts put out any different from mine??

Why did Afrifa AGREE to join the conspiracy to overthrow NKRUMAH??? (FACT)

WHY DID AFRIFA NAME THE AIRPORT AFTER KOTOKA????? (FACT).

@DEEVINITY or Deevinity

Please, you are misinformed. Lt Arthur, Lt Yeboah and Lt Opoku who masterminded the 1967 Counter Coup did NOT do it for General Afrifa and Ankrah. Lt Yeboah and Lt Arthur were the supporters of the ...

• Deevinity was born INFERIOR and will always be INFERIOR Sub-Human Cat Eater, Shit Carrier Murderer and June 4th SATANIC TERRORIST 3 weeks ago

Deevinity was born INFERIOR and will always be INFERIOR Sub-Human Cat Eater, Shit Carrier Murderer and June 4th SATANIC TERRORIST

• DEEVINITY 3 weeks ago

It is said that Kotoka realized they had made a mistake toppling NKRUMAH because they had not made much progress following the Coup D'etat and Ghana was slipping even deeper into the more under their leadership. He tabled the ...

• Ozymandias 3 weeks ago

General Kotoka NEVER became the Commander in Chief of the Ghana Armed Forces. Until he was removed from office for corruption, it was General Ankrah who was the Commander in Chief. Lawyer Anokye should remember that there are ...

@Ozymandis

You are an ARROGANT PERSON and an IDIOT. The 1966 Coup detat was hatched by the EWES IGP Harlley and the Deputy IGP Deku.The two EWES policemen brought in their EWE brother Kotoka and they all took $10 US dolla ...

• Bee 3 weeks ago

Fake historian after all these years is it the right time?
    Your agenda is to campaign for the change of his name from the airport because you are from Nzema

• Ozymandias 3 weeks ago

Some of us were in secondary schools in 1966-67 BEFORE Lawyer Anokye was even born. We know Ghana’s history better than him. He should stop distorting history. He is NOT a historian, as he claims. Kotoka was a Colonel in 19 ...

• Opesaw 3 weeks ago

TOTAL LIES. SOME GHANAIANS ARE FULL OF LIES

• Kwame Peter 3 weeks ago

Fellow Ghanaians,the saying that if you want to hide something from a Ghanaian put it in a book,we don’t read or research for knowledge even in this day of google and this is what this Anokye Frimpong (not real name) is cap ...

• Ozymandias 3 weeks ago

General Emmanuel Kwasi Kotoka was killed by Lieutenant Yeboah, who was part of a group of very junior officers led by Lieutenant Arthur in a failed coup in April 1967. These group of junior officers were NEVER part of the ori ...

• Hmmm 3 weeks ago

It looks like you lack comprehension. The undertone is that Afrifa masterminded the the killing of Kotoka because of the latter’s stand too bring back Nkrumah .

You are a very short- sighted person-IDIOT. The whole of the Ghana population were illiterates. The British left us with no educated men and women. Secondly-we needed and still need ECONOMIC INDEPENDENCE-We are NOW IN ECONOMI ...

• Agbelimor Paris 3 weeks ago

Great historian,Kotoka was a great warrior who was deceived by unscrupulous people to bring down Dr Kwame Nkrumah.Kotoka later realized he was stolen in and he's at wrong place.He had shown remorse and later begged Dr Kwame N ...

• Accra is dirty.com 3 weeks ago

Afrifa was the brain behind the coup which overthrew Dr.Nkrumah,when the abortive coup took place he was in Tamale and that was the luck which saved him otherwise he would have been killed also Afrifa and Kotoka brought Gha ...

• Hmmm 3 weeks ago

No. Afrifa used Tamale as an alibi to say that he knew nothing about Kotoka’s assassination.

@ Accra is dirty.com

Are you insane? Are you mad? The 1966 Coup detat was hatched by the EWES IGP Harlley and the Deputy IGP Deku with the CIA. The CIA gave the ungrateful and the nation wreckers EWES $10 US dollars each. ...

• Kofi 3 weeks ago

Do you have the NLC meeting minutes to back this story?

• Nana Kyeamee 3 weeks ago

Is this the same Anokye Frimpong we interacted with in Mensah Sarbah Hall prayer room in the 1980s? I can't believe it!!!

• kiki 3 weeks ago

This man, with his forehead like an ancestor who calls himself a lawyer, is not trustworthy. He's a disgrace if this is a historian we have in Ghana.

• Fastook 3 weeks ago

Remove his name from our airport

Please lawyer Anokye, Lieutenant S B Arthur who led the counter coup was an old boy of Mfantsipim school and was from Otuam. He was the commander of the recci regiment based at Ho and he led his men from Ho to stage the ...

• KB 3 weeks ago

Thanks for straightening up things. I believe you are right. A question mark on Anokye’s history.

• Ama Ghana 3 weeks ago

The Name of Ghana’s international airport needs to be change from this traitors name.

• Kwasi Pee 3 weeks ago

This Anokye Frimpong is a big lie,and very dishonest.Has he any proof that the CIA gave Kotoka money.Kwame Nkrumah ruled for 15 years,you cannot compare to the 2 year rule of NLC.Kotoka was a very humble man,even though he or ...

• Adjoa Smart 3 weeks ago

How could Nkrumah rule for 15 years when Ghana had independence in 1957 and he was overthrown in 1966 - a PERIOD OF 9 years???
    I would say a maximum of 8 years and 2 months. (Jan 1957- Feb 1965)

Please Nkrumah was in power from February 1951- February 1966.Please from February. 1951- March 1952, he was Leader of Government Business
    . From March 1952- March 1957, he was Prime Minister of the diarchy..From Marc ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 3 weeks ago

So who crowned this clown as a historian? It is laughable the sort of things he says that he calls history. The abortive coup was carried out by Arthur, Yeboah and Osei-Poku, known sympathisers of the CPP. The attempted coup ...

• Unite Africa 3 weeks ago

Is there anything special about the Ewe tribe? I have been seeing a lot of fight between the Ewes and the Akan on the internet but I learnt the Ewes are the smallest tribe in Ghana so what made them so powerful to call for at ...

• Truth Table 3 weeks ago

There is forgiveness in Christ Jesus.
    Think about this everyday.

• Jones 3 weeks ago

Anokye Nonfa. This guy can lie through his teeth. He is just making up stuff and cannot offer any proof.

• Brigadier Sabari v.2 3 weeks ago

This imbecile is a danger to Ghana with his blatant distortions of historical facts. I wonder why idiots keep giving him platform to spew garbage

• kulbogo 3 weeks ago

Folks just take a look at how handsome Nkrumah was and the ugly fool who over threw him and brought Ghana back to zero, those who killed that bastard did well, they couldn't have done better than what they did, May kotoka ...

• Kwame not Quame 3 weeks ago

This Anokye guy always trending

• Kofi Ghanaba 3 weeks ago

The Anokye guy is a revisionist.He is rewriting history to suit a certain purpose.Kotoka or Agbeli was killed by Pro Nkrumah agents in the form of Arthur and Yeboah.Their intention was to bring Nkrumah back to power.

• Haag GH 3 weeks ago

Nkrumah had turned the country into one party state, what about that.

• TOKYO JOE 3 weeks ago

I find this version of events hard to believe.

• SD.com 3 weeks ago

You beautifully left Afrifa out: why?

• Eddie 3 weeks ago

This put no food on the table. Others using their brains inventing stuff but you always talk about silly things. History is good but enough is enough. Come and tell us how someone invented something but we did not help him or ...

• Kwame 3 weeks ago

too late!!@ regrettable idiot and the traitor that he was. these so called NPP and our so called NDC still have his shadows behind them. treacherous and thieves purporting themselves as leaders

• Agbelimor Paris 3 weeks ago

Kotoka International Airport is one of the most beautiful airports in the west africa.Lieutenant general Kwasi Kotoka was a warrior and a trusted friend of Dr Kwame Nkrumah for defense and he was deceived by the bastards from ...

• Kofi Akapo 3 weeks ago

This so-called historian Anokye Frimpong is polluting us too much with his dubious knowledge of Ghana history.

• world 3 weeks ago

this anokye sometimes stop raising tensions in your country ghana.

• Joy 3 weeks ago

Really? This stupid kotoko had in mind that to be in the army mean you are qualified to lead Ghana. Stupid guy. The downfall of Ghana was this kotoka stupidities

• AK 3 weeks ago

Is this man really educated? Is he really a learned person to be called a Lawyer? His level of reasoning is so below his academic papers. The schoos that awarded him those papers will not be far from right to recall same. He ...

• Imani 3 weeks ago

Why should an ugly man like kotoka overthrow a nice looking man like Nkrumah? Our airport is NOW Nkrumah International Airport. NIA.

• Kofi 3 weeks ago

You are a liar. Kotoka was killed by a failed coup attempt by two junior officers with Lt Osei Pokémon being the leader. They were Captured and killed. There Afrifa who was next to Kotoka became the leader of the NLC. But he ...

• NADAA2 3 weeks ago

Massa wei de3 wobowa....

Kotoka was NOT killed by his colleagues.....

He was killed by Lts. Arthur and Opoku....very strong Nkrumaists.....
    who hated all the other members of the NLC....and would have killed the rest i ...

• Ivory Mensah 3 weeks ago

The first and foremost qualification to join NPP is that you must be a thief. Either you're born a thief or you acquire it .

• CARLOS 3 weeks ago

What the is wrong with this idiot? There was no CIA involvement in his coup. Gen.Kotoka planned this on his own. Does this man thinks the black man has NO mind of his own? The planning started in Zaire with Afrifa who was h ...

• Kofi 3 weeks ago

Anokye Frimpong if you know history then tell Ghanaians to ask the government to rename the country back to Gold Coast. Because the name Ghana is a curse for the country. It has nothing to do with our culture and environment. ...

• GOLD COAST- A SYMBOL OF ENSLAVEMENT - ghanani 3 weeks ago

And what is the meaning of the name Gold Coast which the colonialists gave to Ghana? Ghana was a very powerful,prosperous empire in Weast Africa.What right had the British to name our homeland Gold Coast and the queen to be o ...

• Yaw 3 weeks ago

This Anokye character is a sham, a fraud of a historian and a fool at best.

• Gugaì 3 weeks ago

Africa did all those things

• KWAKU OWUDU 3 weeks ago

As DECLASSIFIED documents clearly reveal——the ROLE of the American CIA {Central Intelligence Agency} has been CLEARLY OMITTED! This is why so many in Ghana don’t KNOW THE REAL DESL!!!

• Spirit 3 weeks ago

And we still keep his name on our airport.He was a traitor.

• Hydra 3 weeks ago

I think the educated people in this country are the most useless beings ever . What you guys are doing by insulting a group of people doesn't make sense. What have you done for your country?? Nothing!Nothing!! Nothing!!!

Y ...

• Lawrence Sackey 3 weeks ago

Concocting this nonsense is the highest form of intellectual dishonesty. The man is one of the traitors who betrayed Nkrumah and set our nation back; his name should be no where near any public edifice.

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 3 weeks ago

DO NOT TALK NONSENSE, ASANTE MAN. YOU ARE A FOOL INDEED !!! ASANTE PEOPLE CONIVED TO OVERTHROW THE MOST PROMINENT AFRICAN HEAD OF STATE, TO THE DETRIMENT OF OUR THEN PROGRESSIVE GHANA. GHANAIANS SHOULD IMAGINE EX-PRESIDENT ...

• Kofi 3 weeks ago

Did you witness the Nkrumah regime or you just heard about him? What did Nkrumah did with the $200,000,000 the British government gave to Ghana after the independence? That amount is equivalent to now two hundred billion. Tha ...

• Enzo 3 weeks ago

Hahahaha... NPP gyimifuor ba @Kofi kwaadonto. Tell us the history book that reported the British leaving behind millions of dollars when we know that the British use pound sterling.

@ Kwabena KASAPREKO

You are misinformed. The 1966 Coup detat was the brainchild of the USA-CIA to destabilize Ghana and Africa. The CIA used money to entice the ungrateful and selfish inward looking EWES. The CIA approache ...

• KOTOKA DESERVED TO DIE - kwabena ohemeng,londo 3 weeks ago

Kotoka deseved to die.Arthur and Yeboah did a good job killing him for betraying Ghana for ten million dollars CIA bribe. Such a corrupt, unpatriotic ghanaian has got Ghana's only international airport
    named after him. No w ...

• K Duah 3 weeks ago

Lied every time he open his mouth.

• Kwame panin 3 weeks ago

This historian knows nothing.

• Beema Yao 3 weeks ago

Anokye Frimpong is a fake historian and GhanaWeb should stop giving him a platform to publish such nonsense. Some of us were around when these events took place and this account is simply false.
    Is there no fact checker or e ...

• Kwame 3 weeks ago

Historian Anokye Frimpong has written fiction here.
    The 13th April, 1967 coup was about the torture of Comrade S.S. Baffour-Awuah by Captain Avevor and Captain Bokloe.
    Somewhere in April, 1967 a little less than a year whe ...

• Kwame 3 weeks ago

Absolutely nonsense. Visit the mental asylum for treatment ASAP

• Kwame 3 weeks ago

My Anokye Frimpong ; I suffering from
    "Walter Mitty syndrome" a maladaptive daydreaming, a condition of excessive, vivid daydreaming. It gives him an escape from mundane reality through grandiose fantasies of personal triu ...

• kk 3 weeks ago

Where is this self-srving so called Historian getting his information? This is too elementary, and a fignment of his imagination. It is an unnecessary Rehash of NONSENSE!

• Ghana First 3 weeks ago

This is nothing to write about it. Write something that will move the nation forward NOT the opposite.

• Lies 3 weeks ago

This man is spewing lies. Where is this written anywhere. It is his imagination

• Zhanra 3 weeks ago

Llucky tuesday lotto live(10-20-50-70)

• Kwame 3 weeks ago

I had a confrontation with Lt. Colonel Asase in 1988, he wanted to use his military tactics to bully me. I told him in the face that I am not one of those to be bullied.
    That confrontation took place at the Old Parliament ...

• Tblair 3 weeks ago

Anokye frimpong stop misleading the general public

• K Tsin 3 weeks ago

Mr.Anokye,are you for real. Please respect your readers intellect. This conspiracy theory does hold water like most of your posts.