EXPLAINER: Why VAR would have awarded Hearts of Oak's goal against Kotoko

Read Comments Comments (52)

• Charles Mensah USA 1 month ago

Hearts came to the stadium with juju tricks and it didn't work for them it turns to famous kotoko so next time they will learn their lesson good for you shalom

• Blue Pen 1 month ago

The issue is simple. It was not a pass from another Hearts player that got to the Hearts player, who scored. It was a deliberate header from a kotoko player that got to the Hearts player. So it simply couldn't have been offsi ...

• Blue Pen 1 month ago

It becoming increasingly clear that these days kotoko cannot win matches without the aid of referees.

But I must also say that Hearts of Oak have been playing rubbish football in recent times. Too many very basic mistakes. ...

• nana yaw 1 month ago

last season we beat you back to back, was it from referee?
    we beat Karela 4-2 was it from referee? we beat Berekum Chelsea 1 nil away. was it from referee?
    nsem hunu saaaaaa

• Blue Pen 1 month ago

And you the FA Cup handed to you on a silver platter by the referee in final match. In your match against Heart of Lions in Kumasi, the referee shockingly waved play on when a kotoko player pushed down a Lions player who abou ...

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

Even the penalty awarded to Kotoko was fraudulent.

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

There are two arguments going on.

1) At the point of crossing the ball Hearts player was OFF-SIDE.

2) When the cross got to the two Kotoko players the Hearts player was ON-SIDE to kick it in.

Personally, i think nu ...

• Blue Pen 1 month ago

@Kweku Tsin. You are wrong. The Hearts player's position at the time of the crossing was not relevant because he did not receive the crossing directly. . He would have been rightly ruled offside if he had directly received th ...

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

@Blue Pen.. NOT SO FAST. Please do your research before you say another word. It is not that simple. The Hearts player complicated his situation by being in an off-side position. Tracking back to kick the ball in made him an ...

• kwaku-t 1 month ago

Which game were you watching?

• The decision will stand 1 month ago

No VAR can overturn a decision of no goal, for a goal which was scored after the whistle was blown. Per FIFA rules, once the whistle is blown play starts or stops.

• Beautiful Goal 1 month ago

Indeed the goal was beautiful. But then anyone can score a beautiful goal when the when the whistle is blown and all defenders and the goal keeper let their gaurd down.

• Jines 1 month ago

Kotoko also scored and was ruled offises. Lets offixe

• Blue Pen 1 month ago

Rubbish. The fact that a bad was disallowed means a good goal should also be disallowed to equalize?

• BLACK STAS FAN 1 month ago

The more reason why GFA should introduce VAR in the local premier league. It lis ong overdue and we are only being paid lip service
    All these debates which often lead to chaos in our statdia will be curtailed.

• Datus 1 month ago

There is no what if’s, you play with the rules you have.

• Ghanaman 1 month ago

Explainer? Nonsense. Has there ever been VAR in our matches? So, this particular explainer is an exercise in futility. There is no basis for it. Do you think VAR does not make any mistakes? Check from the premiership. The ma ...

• Odjame 1 month ago

Won't that be better for our game than spewing out this nonsense

• Dan 1 month ago

He was off side and the linesman's flag was up but referee did not see on time.

• MUMU FOOT SOLDIERS 1 month ago

Hearts even got lucky yesterday o

• Charles 1 month ago

Stupid analysis. Look at the direction and the positioning of the two players who were contending for the ball and imagine who got the final touch to the ball. It was the Hearts player who got the final touch. Accept defeat a ...

• Kobby 1 month ago

I can't agree with you more Charles. I wonder how the presenter came to the conclusion that it looks like the Kotoko player headed the ball.

• Cody 1 month ago

The player was already in an offside position before the ball came to him

• Kwame Angel 1 month ago

Hey, He was not in an offside position when the ball go to him. The fact that he was in an offside position several minutes ago (actually he was not, because he was not part of the play) when the ball was not with him or was ...

• Joe Atiso 1 month ago

Please stop the Monkey morning quarter backing and the armchair critique period! It was ruled an offside goal due to a previous action so reasonable minds must accept the decision without further debate. Responsible and knowl ...

• zeyana 1 month ago

Referee Name Amoah and you are expecting him not to cheat Hearts of oak

• Enyo 1 month ago

So the ball came off the head of a Kotoko defender.:.whether it was deliberate or not is not established. So why such a headline and hasty conclusion when the fact has not been established? The forward was offside and he cann ...

• Fabio Gama 1 month ago

Kotoko have been paying bribes to match officials. Look at their match with Visions FC

• Blue Pen 1 month ago

@Enyo. What has not been established? What did the player jumped to do - to pluck a mango from its tree? Didn't he jump to head the ball? Don't let use certain words on you. Be honest with yourself, at least.

The idea of ...

• GH8 1 month ago

And what did the Hearts of Oak's player also jumped to do? I am guessing he jumped to bring your useless father from the sky. What makes that stupid Explainer conclude that it was the Kotoko player who had the last touch?

• Blue Pen 1 month ago

GH8. I'm very surprised your useful father only taught how to insult others without cause. And if you had a useful brain you would have known that the fact the Hearts player also jumped for the ball was irrelevant because he ...

• Cooon 1 month ago

Even the penalty wasn't a genuine penalty. The defender touch the player and then he fell down. Look ta the video, when the player falling down, he pulled both legs together before falling down. That means he pre-conceived it

• Stanley 1 month ago

Hearts of oak was robbed.

• Agbelimor Paris 1 month ago

Broad day robbery.The Black Stars goalkeeper in the phobians post is scaring the local players,haha.Phobia will win the league this season.

• MUMU FOOT SOLDIERS 1 month ago

You said in your video it looks like, but typing say nothing it look like. Which one we should take?

• TG 1 month ago

VAR needs to be introduced into the Ghana Premier League

• world 1 month ago

to avoid all these situations please the authorities should make an effort to buy such machines at the stadiums.

• Nana 1 month ago

But the linesman has his flag raised

• Karma 1 month ago

Fair enough, tell the GFA to make the VAR at all the league centers, OK.......

• Yaok 1 month ago

Who benefits dubiously from referees more than hearts? Why don’t you talk about a second penalty to Kotoko earlier in the match? Have you guys forgotten about that dubious penalty awarded Azalo some years ago? Moreover the ...

• Eric Mensah 1 month ago

Your analysis is unfortunate because we don't use VAR in the officiating of our league matches and do you know the number of goal VAR will have accepted or rejected as goals.
    For what we have and using for our league let us ...

• Asida 1 month ago

Once it's in favour of kotoko we'll do everything to justify it. Why are we not justifying the dubious penalty against hearts?

• kwaku-t 1 month ago

VAR would NOT have awarded Hearts of Oak any goal. Don't skew clauses towards your biased interpretation

• Ketteku 1 month ago

I think the off side rules requires critical interpretation since such decisions are affecting teams performance of having chances of momentum shifting to their side. He was behind kotoko defence without the ball reaching him ...

• Capt Adabuga 1 month ago

Fellow Ghanaians, BAR has been in existence for how many years now? What is preventing GFA employing such technology if not for corruption.

• Joe 1 month ago

It was offside. That was not a deliberate header. The Hearts player attacked the ball and headed it, deflecting off the Kotoko head. How can this be a goal. What about the 2nd Kotoko pen. Fix ur team that had only one shot on ...

• AKA Kurt 1 month ago

what is VRA-the GFA boss will use that money to buy stuff for his girlfriends as he doesn't care about Ghana football. All he needs is Ghana qualify for a tournament so that he can steal for us. 3rd term stealing in progress ...

• Promzy 1 month ago

That goal rightly disallowed and the referees especially the linesman got his decision spot on. The heart of Oak player before the two players jumped for the ball was in an off side position before running in to chest the bal ...

• Kofi, USA 1 month ago

Common score board doesn't work and you people are talking about VAR.
    Let's get serious for once.

• Bawa 1 month ago

Lie lie, why would the kotoko player head the ball.to his goal area?

• Nana 1 month ago

Stop crying boy better luck next time the VAR won’t do anything for you I have watched it so many times and the center guy was right in both cases. Your guy kicks the kotoko player and also your player was off before he cam ...

• Non-Aligned 1 month ago

Sore losers!!!! Lol!