A Lawyer should know better and not try politicize a case he’s handling in court. Does he see his case as a political one? He’s clearly showing legal immaturity and I’ll not be surprised if he comes back to say that his client is being prosecuted because he’s NPP.
Must everything is politicized in Ghana? A client is before court for a crime you know he committed yet you’re looking for cheap space to score political points.
Anyways, is there any findings saying the NDC MP is into galamsey? After several years of legal practice, I don’t expect to hear this warp argument from him.
avenger 2 months ago
I VEX SELF
I VEX SELF
ANDOH 2 months ago
Woyome was 50 millions
Man water. 2 months ago
Lawyer Tamekloe did his best to educate this so-called senior colleague. I was surprised when a man who sees himself as a senior lawyer made such compassion. Simply ask, should a murder charge be the same as assault charge, eiii some Ghanaian Lawyers!
BKK 2 months ago
Are both cases the same. Fucking idiot?
Bobby Stones 2 months ago
Appiah Kubi is bent on deliberate mischief, he just want to muddy the waters for the illiterate NPP supporters to take up arms. At this stage, I think deliberate misinformation for political advantage should be outlaweand criminalized.
Nana K 2 months ago
Somebody should educate me, pls, are bail conditions the same for every alleged criminal offence?
avenger 2 months ago
NO, THEY ARE DETERMINED BASED ON THE GRAVITY OF THE CRIME. wONTUMI SHOULD HAVE BEEN GIVEN 1 BILLION DOLLAR BAIL
kofi 2 months ago
Appiah Kubi who is a lawyer should have known better than to bring this question of bail. He knows that bail conditions are set based on the crime. I don't know why he is arguing about the differences in bail.
B U 2 months ago
I respect this lawyer so much but he should not allow the bad case he has taken on frustrate his life and change who is. The magnitude of the crimes are not the same. Sir, please respect yourself.
Seedorf 2 months ago
Don't worry lawyer Appiah Kubi. The stick use to beat wontumi today, the same stick will use to beat NDC appointees in future.
Walahi 2 months ago
And a Samurai sword will be used to behead an NPP idiot going forward after that. Kwaseakwa
Kay 2 months ago
A Fool don't know how to use power
STUPIDITY AT ITS PEAK 2 months ago
Are the alleged crimes of the same magnitude? I just do not know the law school some of these :Lawyers" passed through
Justrac Africa Ltd 2 months ago
- Business / corporates websites
PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for m ... read full comment
PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for more info. HGJJHGJ
Kwame 2 months ago
By what logic do you compare the 2 cases?
DOOBIA 2 months ago
Are the two cases of the same magnitude? Are the chances of an mp and that Wontumi absconding the same? Petty!!!
world 2 months ago
ndc mp is a terrorist he knows better and if any wrong doing should stand the same.
Doe 2 months ago
Please, you should know better. The cases are not the same. You are a lawyer and you should understand why we have different cases and different approaches. Tell us how much the said MP used his position to aqua property or his involvement has enriched himself. The dynamics are different. As a good lawyer as you are should not be asking such questions.
Kobina Boafo 2 months ago
Obviously, Appiah Kubi, or whatever they call him has lost his marbles. Maybe he didn't have any to begin with. A man who openly displays Gold bars and brags about wanting to purchase an English Soccer team doesn't deserve anything better than a 50 million cedi bail, period.
avenger 2 months ago
I disagree with you Mr. Kubi, bail conditions are based on the quantum of crimes committed by each individual and the gravity of the environmental effects their actions have caused. One was mining in the forest reserve, and has allegedly made billions of US dollars from his actions, to the detriment of everyone. The other, my senior in Sunyani Senior high only got into the act recently and has not even earn that much from the gold mining. Also they are not mining gold, rather, they are refining the already mined residue from the gold dust. Unfortunately, they are doing it just right along the road using dangerous chemicals like mercury and Cyanide, which is researchable to have environmental effect stretching to 50 miles. As you can see, the actions of Wontumis isnt the same as Ebenezer. Secondly, Wontumio is a criminal but Ebenezer is not. As a matured Akan i was not expecting you to defend your argument from a hollow background, you are matured so gyae gyimii no
Grandmaster. 2 months ago
Are their charges the same?
Kwame panin 2 months ago
hypocrites in power.
Louis 2 months ago
His mind is full of scorpions. He must be comparing two things of different sizes. Wuntumi went about destroying virgin forests without license. The Asutifi MP was alleged to have incited a community to chase out the NAIMO group. This MP found himself in another man's jurisdiction and was able to mobilise that community in a flash? What kind of argument is this? Appiah-Kubi in his quest to score a political point, said bail was becoming weaponised. What nonsense! He denied referring to the state, though, after he was seriously countered by Edudzi. Edudzi reminded him bail conditions were and remain the preserve of the judge sitting on the case and that the charge sheet plays an important role. He also schooled Appiah-Kubi by saying it was the duty of the judge to ensure the suspect did not become a flight risk. You see, these idiots throw dust into the eyes of the
public. These are not the type of characters we want as leaders. They defend wrong-doing. Watch, all those 'thieves' before the courts now have NPP lawyers as defence lawyers. What is this scum?
Abrewatia 2 months ago
Stupid lawyer
One is assault related, the other is directly linked to galamsey and ownership of galamssy pits
How could they be the same
Stupid lawyer
One is assault related, the other is directly linked to galamsey and ownership of galamssy pits
Tweaa 2 months ago
Herrrrrrr enti Kwaku Addo asem yi 3y3 ampa ?
Kojois 2 months ago
NDC for you. Time will tell
Joy 2 months ago
Because wontumi has evidence to take that bill while the mp is still under investigation on his sayings
FTT 2 months ago
It is selective justice
Adjoa 2 months ago
What are you saying? Don't you know the charges of your client? So now you want equalization? What a world?
be wise 2 months ago
...Because the two values are not the same. When you were in government you looted like barbarians without brains. You think that always the values are the same... As far as NDC is different from the NPP the values shall never be the same; 10 million for NPP, 10,000 for NDC. You people tout yourselves as rich so pay it and stop making noise.
As for you this lawyer I know you're a good man. It still beats my mind that you're still with this murderous party called NPP. Consciously wicked people damned to hell.
MO KWAME NKRUMAH NO 2 months ago
Lawyer Andy Appiah-Kubi, you are a big fool to politicise Wontumi bail conditions to NDC MP, both cases are not the same,isn't Wontumi an illegal miner and destructive of the environment?Where did you study your law school?You must know better and stop your childish utterances,damm stupid
Koo Dwomo 2 months ago
The Animal Farm! Have you forgotten that Secondary School literature book so soon, Andy?
The Devil’s Advocate 2 months ago
Can’t have your cake and eat it.Are the courts independent?The judiciary was independent when Torkornoo was facing the sack but when the same judiciary sets bail according to the level of offending it becomes the government.
Politically blind ignorance or plainly stupidly biased?
Ujah 2 months ago
oooh, is this where npp guys want to reduce themselves to? So this man is telling us that he can't differenciat between the alege offence committed by the ndc MP n that of wuntumi? Gash these were the leaders of npp.
Good Citizen 2 months ago
Is Appiah Kubi really a lawyer???? Hmmm. "We have the men" indeed. I rest my case.
Obiba AA 2 months ago
Are the crimes the same?
YaaYaa, Appiah Kobi Personal secretary 2 months ago
Criteria for granting bail include the severity of the crime, the defendant's criminal history, their flight risk, and the potential danger they pose to the community. Large bail amounts are required for those accused of more serious crimes, repeat offenders, or individuals with strong financial resources and a high likelihood of fleeing, because the judge wants to ensure they will appear for trial and not pose a danger to the public.
Criteria for granting bail
Severity of the crime: More serious offenses like felonies typically result in higher bail amounts compared to misdemeanors.
Criminal history: A defendant with a prior criminal record is more likely to be given a high bail amount.
Flight risk: Factors like community ties (family, job) and the ability to travel are considered to assess the likelihood of the defendant fleeing the jurisdiction.
Danger to the community: The court considers if the defendant poses a risk of committing new crimes or harming others if released.
Strength of the case: The strength of the evidence against the defendant can influence the bail amount.
Financial resources: A defendant's financial situation can affect their ability to pay a large bail and is a factor in determining the amount.
Other factors: A judge may also consider the defendant's age, mental health, and family situation.
Why some need a large amount of money for bail
Severity of the crime: The most significant factor is the gravity of the alleged offense. A violent felony will carry a much higher bail than a minor misdemeanor.
Flight risk: If a defendant is deemed a high flight risk due to significant ties to the community or the means to leave the country, a higher bail is set to ensure their appearance in court.
Past criminal history: A history of previous offenses indicates a higher likelihood of re-offending, leading a judge to set a higher bail to protect the public.
Financial resources: A defendant with significant financial resources is less likely to be deterred by a high bail, so the amount may be set higher to act as a greater financial deterrent against skipping court.
Danger to the community: If a defendant is perceived as a significant danger to the community, bail will likely be set at a very high level to keep them in custody
Yaw 2 months ago
Appiah Kubi in now surprising me. As a Lawyer isn't he aware bail bonds are based on the magnitude or severity of the charges? Secondly it's discretionary though guarded by Article 296. I am getting disappointed in him. I doubt if his practice is serious.
Achakanapaya 2 months ago
Nonsense. I thought Appiah Kubi was one of the right thinking Men in the npp ooh.
Not knowing he is a trash just like Afenyo Markins and his silly boys.
Nonsense. I thought Appiah Kubi was one of the right thinking Men in the npp ooh.
Flint 2 months ago
Is the same judge sitting on both cases?
SON OF GOD 2 months ago
A lawyer does not know these are two different types of cases? One is involved with taking $10, 000,000 to build roads which he failed to perform.
The other is suspected of involvement in gallamsey with no value, why compa ... read full comment
A lawyer does not know these are two different types of cases? One is involved with taking $10, 000,000 to build roads which he failed to perform.
The other is suspected of involvement in gallamsey with no value, why compare these two as the same?
Lawyer why?
Erik 2 months ago
The law is really an ass. Why doesn't the bail bond dependant on gravity of the crime committed. Oh.Andy you have to defend your client but not with such a feeble arguments.
OSAFO KANTANKA 2 months ago
What is Wrong with this Lawyer? Is he really a lawyer?
Free Radical 2 months ago
This is true an animal farm country we are witnessing.Criminal Mahama let’s go of his criminals who steal Ghana money and offer them juicy positions and prosecute others and charge his criminals members lower bail out charges and the other high bail out charges of the same offences.This is real animal farm reviled in our eyes.
Konkom 2 months ago
Did the MP destroy a forest reserve, water bodies etc??
Why all such baseless comparisons, and these people are lawyers too...
Raphael Abeam US 2 months ago
The practice of Animal farm written by George Orwell is now reigning in Ghana
A Lawyer should know better and not try politicize a case he’s handling in court. Does he see his case as a political one? He’s clearly showing legal immaturity and I’ll not be surprised if he comes back to say that his ...
I VEX SELF
Woyome was 50 millions
Lawyer Tamekloe did his best to educate this so-called senior colleague. I was surprised when a man who sees himself as a senior lawyer made such compassion. Simply ask, should a murder charge be the same as assault charge, ...
Appiah Kubi is bent on deliberate mischief, he just want to muddy the waters for the illiterate NPP supporters to take up arms. At this stage, I think deliberate misinformation for political advantage should be outlaweand ...
PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for m ...
Please, you should know better. The cases are not the same. You are a lawyer and you should understand why we have different cases and different approaches. Tell us how much the said MP used his position to aqua property or h ...
Obviously, Appiah Kubi, or whatever they call him has lost his marbles. Maybe he didn't have any to begin with. A man who openly displays Gold bars and brags about wanting to purchase an English Soccer team doesn't deserve ...
I disagree with you Mr. Kubi, bail conditions are based on the quantum of crimes committed by each individual and the gravity of the environmental effects their actions have caused. One was mining in the forest reserve, and h ...
hypocrites in power.
His mind is full of scorpions. He must be comparing two things of different sizes. Wuntumi went about destroying virgin forests without license. The Asutifi MP was alleged to have incited a community to chase out the NAIMO gr ...
Stupid lawyer
It is selective justice
...Because the two values are not the same. When you were in government you looted like barbarians without brains. You think that always the values are the same... As far as NDC is different from the NPP the values shall neve ...
Lawyer Andy Appiah-Kubi, you are a big fool to politicise Wontumi bail conditions to NDC MP, both cases are not the same,isn't Wontumi an illegal miner and destructive of the environment?Where did you study your law school? ...
Can’t have your cake and eat it.Are the courts independent?The judiciary was independent when Torkornoo was facing the sack but when the same judiciary sets bail according to the level of offending it becomes the government ...
Are the crimes the same?
Criteria for granting bail include the severity of the crime, the defendant's criminal history, their flight risk, and the potential danger they pose to the community. Large bail amounts are required for those accused of more ...
Appiah Kubi in now surprising me. As a Lawyer isn't he aware bail bonds are based on the magnitude or severity of the charges? Secondly it's discretionary though guarded by Article 296. I am getting disappointed in him. I dou ...
The other is suspected of involvement in gallamsey with no value, why compa ...
This is true an animal farm country we are witnessing.Criminal Mahama let’s go of his criminals who steal Ghana money and offer them juicy positions and prosecute others and charge his criminals members lower bail out charg ...