'Dadesen' pots linked to cancer, kidney diseases - FDA

Read Comments Comments (73)

• Tweaa 2 months ago

Ei nea akowie ni ? ,na s3 dadesen yi efiri tete yen nananom mmere so na y3 kaa emu banku , konkonte aprapransa, ma so na saa ya de3 eni ho na afei de3 ad3n

• FRANKIE 2 months ago

So how do we prepare our favourite banku and okro stew? No safer alternatives were given so where do we go from here?

• SK 2 months ago

@Frankie, there are other alternatives. You can either use the Teflon-coated, or non-stick pots, or you can use the stainless steel pots

• Farming 2 months ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed and tanks available on sale. 0265583388
    ___

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 2 months ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper..........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe......... ...

• Ibrahim Muhammad 2 months ago

You are idiot descendant of pigs

All the prophets were Muslims including Jesus Christ

Prophet Muhammad Moses and Jesus peace be upon them use to bow down when praying to God we never saw Jesus singing and dancing

• Moro Ibrahim 2 months ago

Muhammad was a pedophile who had sex with 6 year old Aisha, claiming the kid was his wife ! How can such an insane scammer and sexually perverted soul be a prophet?

WAKE UP !!!

• Rex 2 months ago

U can decide to die because of your love for Banku,this is a democracy,freedom of making choices.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

My mother used to prepare BANKU,,AKPLE from Earthenware bowls. If DADESEN, when used to prepare BANKU, AKPLE, and KOKONTE has been seen to cause health problems, let us maintain the Earthenware bowls that are Greatgrandmother ...

• Kojo 2 months ago

Galamsey is coming for the earthenware bowls too !!!

• Fuseini Laptop @SK Buulu Buulu 2 months ago

Did you read well? Non-Stick and Teflon coatings are worse because our people are not aware that metal spoons and ladles don’t touch non-stick. All the Teflon scratch pieces enter your stomach=cancer. Our Universities are a ...

• Krimmz 2 months ago

You are a big fool. All it simply means is that, you have to use those spoons and ladles specially manufactured for the Teflons. That's all... black idiot with a shabby brain

KRIMMZ. Do you want to start an insulting war with me on this website? Please, don’t start because you shall hit the wrong chord and be laughing at the wrong side of your mouth. Please, start a fight you cannot win. Take my ...

• Nii Akwei 2 months ago

My friend, you are wrong for insulting. Do your research about Teflon coated cooking pans and you will know. I switched to ceramic cooking pans long time ago.

I remember that at the time of Nkrumah, Ghanaians were advised not to use spoons made from Copper to eat, especially not food? Their usage was banned in the Dining Hall of Secondary schools. I very much remember the Teachers ...

• Babangida Casagrande 2 months ago

Ghanaians has been using DADASɛN for centuries without any cancer all of a sudden what!? Give us a break!

• Kojo 2 months ago

They are given you a break!!! The issue is when did the manufacturers start adding lead? Just like those who think they are developed by using plastic bags for hot koko etc

• Dstv 2 months ago

Teflon is bad

• AMARIYA 2 months ago

Why I for cook for myself
    When you are married to someone who dismisses such scientific you report, you are in trouble. We are not poor, but she is stuborn. She would not use a newly bought steel pot and claim to save m ...

• Bobby Stones 2 months ago

These cooking vessels are made of lead and scrap aluminum.

• Dr YaaYaa Dadesenwaa 2 months ago

Yes, both lead and aluminum can affect the kidneys, causing damage that can lead to chronic kidney disease. Lead exposure can cause high blood pressure and damage to the kidneys, while aluminum can lead to kidney injury by ca ...

• Patriot 2 months ago

Lead is well known to be toxic, and has been banned in advanced countries for many years now, so why is it allowed to be used here? And why doesn't the FDA ban its use outright in the production of this cooking pot? Simply wa ...

• Frank 2 months ago

So you didn’t mention the more serious Galamsey.

We all know that Galamsay is very harzardous to our society. That doesn’t preclude us from talking or educating ourselves about other dangerous issues.

• Agyena-Karikari why dont you use your Ewe name? 2 months ago

Yes its true we have to go back to the earthenware bowls and cooking pots. Many modern scientific house hold items we are using are killers , but the scientists dont want to tell us to break many industries. It will schock pe ...

I don’t have a Ewe name. I don’t hate Anlo Ewe people except Efo Julor Jeremiah Rawlings who, with his Anlo Ewe cohorts wrought havoc on Ghanaians, especially the Asante, Akyem, Kwahu, and the Twi speaking people of Akwap ...

• BerylRichards 2 months ago

And the advanced countries still have MUCH HIGHER prevalence of this disease.

• Obaa Sima 2 months ago

Says who? Because your people die without being told the scientific cause and the fact that all diseases and deaths are blamed on witchcraft?

• FAA 2 months ago

As for ghanaweb hmmm so no alternatives mentioned.
    No wonder you are also part of the problem

If Ghanaweb doesn’t know of any alternatives, it doesn’t prevent it from informing the public about the dangers it has come across.
    There are alternatives. Let us maintain the Earthenware Cooking and Baking utensils that ...

• @ Frank: Think a little 2 months ago

I’m sure you know what it means when Elders say “Kwasia Su.” Ghanaweb publishing what the FDA is saying isn’t any special! With a little brain work, they could have educated us much better. In the first place, ALUMIN ...

• Justrac Africa Ltd 2 months ago

- Business / corporates websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for m ...

• Osonoba 2 months ago

Can the FDA publish their research for public consumption and discussion? We are tired of everyday being told that everything that originates locally is not good. We want to see the research and the person who did it.

• NDC NPP SAME DEVILy 2 months ago

..to stop using dadesen that contain lead... such a stupid and idiotic talk. How will Ghanaians be able to know which dadesen contains lead. You are an educated illiterate wai ?

• Oviedo 2 months ago

Foolish boy! Instead of humbling yourself to learn something important here, you (the very stark illiterate with limited knowledge) is out there insulting foolishly and ignorantly. What at all makes you village nincompoops al ...

• Kweku 2 months ago

So what alternative exist. None stick cookware are also known to pose health risks.

So they should mention the safe alternatives

• King Bow 2 months ago

FDA should go ahead and ban the use of it in Ghana

• Kwaku 2 months ago

If the finding is valid then a way must be found to compell people to stop using it by providing an alternate utensil.
    Most of the food sold to the public are prepared in that Dadesen. It is then a real menace.

• Koti 2 months ago

There's no sense in what the lady is saying. Why doesn't the FDA give similar advice to wee smokers? That wee sellers can sell but smokers stop smoking! Why not call for outright ban on production and sale of dadesen? The sad ...

• Kotibrim 2 months ago

Also aluminium at high temperatures seeps into your food. So you're getting a double dose with dadesen. Use stainless steel pans or iron utensils. Aluminium in your brain gives rise to foggy thinking and generally dulls the ...

• After all the waakye and banku? 2 months ago

This is long overdue. All this while you people were sleeping. Now Add Galamsey nonsense to it. The nation is at a serious crossroad.

• Frank 2 months ago

Say it again..how do you ignore Galamsey and mention these. Someone is paying for his products or somethings. No seriousness in Ghana

• Nana 2 months ago

FDA! FDA, hmmmm, u lie, u lie, u are lying. If u don't have better thing to bring please Zip it

• Adjei 2 months ago

Well done better late than never

• Joe 2 months ago

Ah ah ah ah What about the white people do they also eat from same pot…… hmmmmmm

• Shithole 2 months ago

People are exploring moon you are talking about dadesen....the very thing they have been cooking the waakye and the Koko they sell in front of your office and you and all your colleagues patronize every day

• BerylRichards 2 months ago

NONSENSE!!

Our parents have been eating from this from ages. No cancer were diagnosed.

Instead of getting to the roots of problems we are engaged in cheap blames of our local foods.

There are a combination of factors ...

• Gabriel Narh @Labadi 2 months ago

You people read something in book and you don't understand then you want to put fear in the public. Let us think and enjoy our local meals and educate the masses on Galamsay rather

• Hahahaha 2 months ago

@Narh, Thank you so much for your answer. Stress…stress is what is killing most Ghanaians. How many Ghanaians can buy and eat fruits and vegetables? They are so expensive. No sleep cos you rest you lose. In every 10 cases t ...

• Jack Sparrow 2 months ago

Then we should stop eating banku kokonte purage kenkey nd others bcs all these foods pass through corn mills including blender masa moma y3ndwen y3 ho

• Yahweh 2 months ago

FDA you lie we have been eating from this Dadesen about 100 years ago and our grands parents live more than expected.

• world 2 months ago

what are the safer alternative?

• Salim F. Hannawi 2 months ago

Kenkey, Koko, Waakye and heavy metals flavoured Galamsey Water...

• Ohene Abrefa 2 months ago

Dis is purely lazy work
    Upon all the sort drinks, spices, magie in the market that you can not stop, you are now putting blame on dadesen, pot
    God have mercy on us

• How can the public know it contains lead? 2 months ago

FDA says they are advising the public against using dadesen that contains lead. The article does not tell us what to look out for to know a dadesen contains lead. Is there a logo? A colour? A smell? Or are you just telling us ...

• PITO 2 months ago

Iron is a good mineral. Does dadesen also release iron into the food?

• Rio 2 months ago

Idiot leaders with lunatic thinking, instead of finding a way to improve made in Ghana products they are scaring us... So that we buy foreign ones. Do u know the damage caused by just spreading this news? Who told u foreign o ...

• Pelicles. 2 months ago

Okay, so, nations who do not use such cookware but have cancer, kidney diseases, what are the contributing factors? The air that we breathe are poisonous and can give us health problems as well.

• Kotibrim 2 months ago

Use your head small eh!!! Ah!! God give you brains paa, then gyimii saa until the end of the world!!!

• TeeeeY 2 months ago

#StopGalamsey#Another threat that we have turned a blind eye to is the trucks supplying water to our homes. You can see that the water holding chamber of most of these trucks are rusting. Our institution must wake up to put s ...

• Alidu 2 months ago

Over study has simply brought madness and high level of confused life style. The alternative measure which is a new invention has never tested for a long period to prove it it is the best or worst. We can confidently tell th ...

• Justrac Africa LTD 2 months ago

Protect your home and property with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Vcxvvbb

• David 2 months ago

If you're advertising for particular cooking utesils, name it, describe its qualities and why pepple should use it, don't dare say what's not true. This is false. Villagers don't face such kidney problems but thatnis the maj ...

• KB 2 months ago

They just want to promote foreign businesses which is not good for our country.

• KofSam 2 months ago

The clay pots are the best . The government must encourage the widespread use of clay pots and plates in the homes and restaurants.

• Benjamin 2 months ago

Then everybody has cancer

• I come in peace 2 months ago

Those so call FDA s, majority of them was fed from this same pot , why they don’t get cancer ? , If it’s true then majority of us already had cancer

• Ben lamptey 2 months ago

FDA please we will not stop using dadesen ,when you were born they have cook in it for you till you grow ,if it give cancer why don't you get before you grow stop throwing dust into people eye

• John Darko Asiedu 2 months ago

Please FDA, how does one identify products, not just " dadesen" on the local market? Help us out!

• Amon Stephen yao Amrago 2 months ago

This is the pot our great Great grandfather's user,today it tend to death and sickness . Hmmm may the lord guide US.

• Kojo 2 months ago

It will be more helpful for the FDA to point us to dadesen duly certified as lead free as the public cannot detect those with lead and those without lead. So what certification process are they going to put in place to help u ...