Why Ghana prints its cedi notes abroad - BoG explains

Read Comments Comments (34)

• Truth Table 1 month ago

If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.

Romans 10:9
    '_-__

• Akos9 1 month ago

I think u have mental problem Truth Table, people are worried and looking for solutions to make Africans stand on their own foot and u are here talking about Jesus is lord dose Jesus has printing machine? There's time for eve ...

• Kwajo 1 month ago

Thank you!

• Kojo antwi 1 month ago

How can our neighbors Nigeria print their money but we as Ghanaians can't? I am dissapointed at Ghana

• Agbeli Kumordziì 1 month ago

The west wznt to be looking into our pockets
    A d charge Africa governments more money

• Aa 1 month ago

I dont think africans are equal to whites or asians

• Ghanaman 1 month ago

It's high time we started using plastic banknotes. They last much longer than paper ones, especially in our humid, dirty environment. Though they are more expensive, it saves money in the long run.

• ST Ghfuo: Canadians are dishonest, Dont judge a book by looks 1 month ago

Kwasia, you have been borrowing since nkrumah and not paying what do you think will happen? Still borrowing..that's why the economy in Ghana is always stagnant only corruption spending is what bringing any fiscal movement int ...

• ST Ghfuo: Canadians are dishonest, Dont judge a book by looks 1 month ago

Imf and world bank owns the country

• Kofi Antubam 1 month ago

So which African countries do print their currencies ? And what prevents us from acquiring the expertise and printing for others? Isn't it business? A very good one?

• Kwame 1 month ago

Oh! Ghana!!!

• Kwame 1 month ago

But Ernest Addison printed money. Do a FACT CHECK

• Seniorman 1 month ago

Nothing prevents us from acquiring the skills and technology printing for others.

• Kofi 1 month ago

Eiiiiiii. Those who would acquire the skills and go to purchase the machine will buy double machines oooo. They will print saaa in their rooms and use some for pavement, compounds, walkways in their homes.. Even those managin ...

• Citizen K 1 month ago

It means that the cedi is even imported. Why won't it depreciate.

• A Pan-African 1 month ago

Complete nonsense explanation

• Mr. Smith 1 month ago

Oh yes Pan African. Total nonsense explanation! The Rothschilds have the monopoly of printing EVERY currency note on earth including the US dollar and the British pound including the Euro. The US dollar is backed by nothing b ...

• Koo Manu 1 month ago

Not true. The US dollar is printed by the Bureau of Engraving and Printing (BEP) a US government agency. It's open to the public during business hours in DC and in DFW areas. The US dollar is not backed by thin air but by the ...

• Oman Ghana 20 marks 1 month ago

Oh very sad. Look at the body language with the explanation. He was so proud to explain that we outsource or print our currency from outside.

• kwabena martin 1 month ago

Why do we always depends on foreign things than our own. Why do we always listen to white man's manupulations. Ourvleaders can't say NO to white man nonsense. We can't use the money we pay to them to buy the machine?

• Kwesi 1 month ago

It's not about the technology but rather control. Those Britton Wood institutions would want to know how much was printed and for what purposes.

• Non-Aligned 1 month ago

Very sad!

• Bongo 1 month ago

How long is this going to continue?

• Non-Aligned 1 month ago

And we claim to be an sovereign state? Look at him with his flimsy, mediocre and gullible explanation!!
    What a sorry state we're in! If someone else prints your own money how do you really see yourself? Remotely enslaved? My ...

• Uncle Attah 1 month ago

Like All NPP Mpanimfo will have printing machines under their beds

• Prudhomme - Utter ignorance in Ghanaians 1 month ago

How many times does Ghana print currency in a year? The machines will be sitting idle for most part of the year. Also all the materials would have to be imported each time. The guy forget to explain the cost effectiveness in ...

• John Doe 1 month ago

Printing money here in Ghana with NPP in power then you will buy common 1 pure sachet water for Ghc60. The people are so CRIMINAL from president to the sweeper.
    Ghanaian help let keep NPP out from power for good. They are e ...

• International standard Gh cedi 1 month ago

Sorry to ask, do we use our cedi outside our shores?
    Dollar here dollar there, pounds here pounds there.
    I think we are making a mockery of ourselves by printing international standard money that has no recognition outsid ...

• Frank Weytjens 1 month ago

The location where it is printed is of little to no importance. Who decide how much to print, is what counts.

• Bitter truth 1 month ago

No wonder Africa is still poor..in 2025, why must someone print your money..Aaba, am so sure God has really regretted creating Africans as humans because the brain of the average African is not working..the money that u will ...

• Kk 1 month ago

Osei Kwame despite has the machine in China

• PLEASE LET GHANA 'S PRESIDENT KNOW ABOUT THIS 1 month ago

There is an entourage of white people coming to Ghana for state visit and investment. Please tell Ghana's President Mr. John Mahama not to shake their hands nor signature any agreement with these white people, because some of ...

• Elvis 1 month ago

This excuse is nonsense to me. Ghana must always be amongst the elite of nations in everything. Even if it's only 2 countries that print, Ghana must be one of the 2. We can't settle for any form of mediocrity.

The norther ...

• Mic 1 month ago

Day one of this OSP and knew he would sell people to impress the President soldiers call that eyes service and he is full of that he should be sacked immediately to save the President if he is not seeing. I don’t believe in ...