All you need to know about Ghana's new vehicle number plates from 2026

Read Comments Comments (82)

• Bitter truth 1 month ago

Must everything change because of new govt ? What kind of country is this..anytime there is change of govt, they have to forcefully bring some stupid changes..if Ndc govt is a sensible govt, he would have known that a lot of ...

• Johnny 1 month ago

I sometimes feel sad and worried with NDC leaders. They are not so innovative, creative and bold moving from old ways of doing things.For how long will they rely on this traditional way of raising revenue?They are only going ...

• Farming 1 month ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed and tanks available on sale. 0265583388
    …~~ ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 month ago

The Government just wants to get easy money from the vehicles. Is the Registration going to be free for Commercial Vehicles? No. That means that the Registration fees will be transferred to the Passengers. Hmmmm. That means e ...

• Ghana ba 1 month ago

Innovative man can u pls tell Ghanaians why under ur Npp government we had all kinds of different meters from ECG for one purpose.

• Skyview 1 month ago

@Johnny: The new Ghana vehicle number plate changes are in the right direction, but why is there no embossing of expiry date on them, as exemplified in the temporary vehicle registration plates? How about requiring an email a ...

• hmm 1 month ago

another avenue to dupe the public what's so wrong with this our current plate? now he is saying all vehicles in Ghana should both old and new should come for a new plate. Also if u buy a car the plates belongs to an individua ...

• Poor Ghana 1 month ago

It's too long to fit the number plate pre made holes by the manufacturer......1 of your current plate cane be cut into 2 for 1 car.....think like you went to school to make an impact!!

• Samurai 1 month ago

This is the dumbest action since dvla was established. Imagine the chaos and inconvenience of re-registering all existing vehicles. The corruption you are claiming to eliminate will skyrocket with this process. This practice ...

• hmm 1 month ago

another avenue to dupe the public what's so wrong with this our current plate? now he is saying all vehicles in Ghana should both old and new should come for a new plate. Also if u buy a car the plates belongs to an individua ...

• MAKE MONEY WITH A VIABLE SKILL & CHANGE YOUR LIFE - IT'S THAT SIMPLE, START WITH THIS!!! 1 month ago

It's almost Xmas; it is a crime against self to remain penniless like before if you don't still have a good source of income. Be smart & Take a bet on yourself now by investing into your future before the end of 2025 in a few ...

• Yaw 1 month ago

And who told you they’re doing this because of change of government? Do you remember the last time car number plates were changed ? The world keep changing so we need to adjust to it ! Most we keep reading political meaning ...

• Kwaku Tee 1 month ago

What else would have brought up this change of vehicle registration apart from change of govt ?The NDC lacks vision in bringing new things. GhanaCard alone has the potential of generating more revenue than this change.Offende ...

• Bortey 1 month ago

I don't see the importance of this changes. Why give electric cars different numbers? They should also give diesel, petrol and gas different numbers respectively.

• Samurai 1 month ago

The stupidity is clear. Diff plates for electric vehicles? You are right, there should be plates for petrol and diesel cars too. Implementation without deep thought. SMH

• Steve Kaye London 1 month ago

@ Yaw, you are right, the world keeps changing and it changes for the better but not as stupidly as this incompetent government is doing.
    Have you seen the mess caused by the MOE in the school placement system by changing ...

• Poor Ghana 1 month ago

Thank you...Ghanaians are just too slow and too illiterate.....they will use the same thing for 100 years without any change in design or operation......we went to school to show off our learn to pas skills and not learn to b ...

• Ozymandias 1 month ago

How old then can we know the age of any vehicle on the road?

• Poor Ghana 1 month ago

What's that your business,??? Ghanaians are different type of animals ampa.....what dumb question

• Okwahu 1 month ago

Why all the number plates top written Greater Accra.

• Kingsley 1 month ago

Go America and other developed countries. Even in Nigeria, you know the state, county or region the vehicle is coming from or registered.

• Agya Koo 1 month ago

Don't just comment for comment sake. Those countries are federal states and the states are autonomous in certain things. Ghana is a unitary state so don't compare Ghana to those countries

• Grandpa 1 month ago

You're rather commenting for commenting sake for your information those initial you see on the old number plates means the same thing, it represents the regions, district and so on.

• Bervelyn Lance Botwey 1 month ago

Just an exhibition.

• Okwahu 1 month ago

Oh God have mercy on a country call ghana where some of the ruling governments appointees are Jokers.

• Bazz 1 month ago

The typical black fool hate change, when Bawmiah was championing the Ghana card, opposition was everywhere but now people are enjoying it, the same applies to this. I see this as a beautiful change, must everything be seen wi ...

• For_Shege_Reasons 1 month ago

Master Bawumia did champion any Ghana card biaaa. Some of us got Ghana card as far back as 2009 when we were in form one. Ghana card is not the idea of bawumia

• Prof Botswana 1 month ago

Thanks very much

ignore. I got my Ghana card in 1972 when Bawamia was not born

• Ghana ba 1 month ago

Tell them my brother

• Poor Ghana 1 month ago

Charley Ghanaians are a disgrace ooh.....they hate change....from this step...Ghana can attempt the use of automatic license plate readers certain roads to avoid corrupt police who rather take bribes..... I want the Chinese t ...

• Kingsley 1 month ago

This country is the only place you will see the year vehicle is registered. No country does this and this new system will enable the owner to register the vehicle with his or her National ID. This will curb stealing of vehicl ...

• Newself 1 month ago

Don't be disingenuous. The information you're talking about can all be added to the current system without needlessly changing the number plates.

• Kwasi 1 month ago

You are lying in the UK year of registration is on the number plate. If you don't know ask don't say what you don't know.

• KG 1 month ago

But wait oo, how do you read this long numbers at night when a wicked driver is running away. Oh Ghana, think.

• Poor Ghana 1 month ago

Do you remember your phone number you have had 10yrs now???

• Nana Bediako 1 month ago

Slogan for what?? What kind of gyimie is that??

• Abugre 1 month ago

For all we know, the decision to put in this change of numbering did not just start with the coming in of this government.

• Kwahu Kissi 1 month ago

What at all have Ghanaians done wrong? We went to queue for SIM registration, Ghana card registration, SIM re-registration, every four years Voter’s ID cards. And now vehicle owners have to go and go through another registr ...

• Samurai 1 month ago

This will create mega activity for goro boys cos dvla will be overwhelmed with the chaos, especially re-registration of all existing vehicles.

• Why 1 month ago

The number plates and colors are many ? WHY?

• Kb 1 month ago

Whats wrong with the current registration system ?

• Naa 1 month ago

The conclusion of this matter. With all due respect Ghanaians are stupid and always afraid of change. Nowhere is this world and century will you find number plates with years on it. It indicates where you stay or where you go ...

• Agya Koo 1 month ago

You're a big liar. In US they don't give tickets and ask you to come to court in 3 days. Moreover if you run the red light and the camera picks you you just pay a fine no court. Which state was that? In US you're given 4 week ...

• Newself 1 month ago

Feel sad for yourself, Mr ignoramus. Some countries so have the year of 'registration'/age identifier on vehicle number plates. Note that the change will cost the country in import of plates we don't produce here and bring n ...

• Poor Ghana 1 month ago

You wonder when a Ghanaian gets a visa and enters abroad.....asking if they lived in a hole all their lives .....completely illiterate about simple every day sense!!

• Erick 1 month ago

Until th youth wise up our leaders will continue to fool us. DVLA has become a political tool used by NDC and NPP to steall money from the ordinary. Pray they don't change the license too. Stupppiiid Leaders

• Frank qp 1 month ago

I hope we are able to handle centres where registration goes beyond 9999

• I know 1 month ago

@ Frank qp. Bless you dear. These are the positive questions we have to ask. They were talking about personalized number plates, how is it gonna be done. Let's have an example

• Kwame Blanco 1 month ago

Eliminate the year yes but Ghanaians are romantically tied to the current prefixes. This system is concolut3d and ugly no innovation. Money see monkey do.....it is done so in xxx and it is done so in yyy ghanaman can never do ...

• Obro 1 month ago

Just another avenue to create,loot, and share

• Ghana ba 1 month ago

Under Npp we had so many different meters from ECG , why was it so? Can someone help me with an answer?

• Samurai 1 month ago

Multiple meters under npp doesnt mean ndc should copy same. Do better, not replicate errors of npp

• Newself 1 month ago

This issue about misuse of DV plates is a law enforcement issue and not the number plate. So we will change the number plates and still be back to square one because the law will not be enforced.

• Samurai 1 month ago

Simple as that

• Waste of time and money 1 month ago

We are just a bunch of jokers in this town. This is too no to cost millions that could have been spent on health and education. There is no home for Ghana

• Poor Ghana 1 month ago

Remove education from your comment.....because you mindset in your comment indicates that education in Ghana is a waste resource, time, money than the number plate change

• Newself 1 month ago

I am against this plate change because it will cost the economy unnecessary importation of the number plates and brings no value to Ghana. Waste.

• Oobake 1 month ago

Why don't you still ride on horses like 1400s

• Newself 1 month ago

Nitwit, the people who brought us the car don't change number plates every few years or every time they change government.

• Samurai 1 month ago

Nice comment...lol

• Newself 1 month ago

I urge cabinet to stop it and use the money to bring medical equipment like badly needed dialysis machines, defibrillator, etc

• kulbogo 1 month ago

This is absolute nonsense, what is wrong with the old no plate, sad state called Ghana, every new gov always try to fine ways of stealing fr the poor Ghanaian,

• Ola 1 month ago

Can anyone tell me where in the world the name of the owner of the vehicle is displayed on the licence plate? I don't know of any. It is an invasion of people's privacy.
    When I was in Sweden years ago, the licence plate was ...

• Ola 1 month ago

With the sticker system, the numbers could be extended to six or seven digits!

• Poor Ghana 1 month ago

When you were in Sweden in 1986...be specific....in Canada it is customised plate....it's up to you yo choose the letters as long as it is bad word....a lots plates in Ontario reads the names of the power or company....you se ...

• Tex 1 month ago

The whole systerm is too complex and cumbersome. Oh Ghana leaders.

• M leader must ask basic questions ooo 1 month ago

God Almighty bless this government and the hard working public officials who are tirelessly doing eventhing they could to see Ghana our homeland works again... Ayekoo

• Akeasi 1 month ago

Going to create money for himself and DVLA workers. Hmmm

• Grandpa 1 month ago

Those against this are still in 1874 double up or you guys will be left behind, new number plates will help government to collect the right toll from every car without human corruption, go to airport car park and see how tech ...

• Newself 1 month ago

Toll collection can easily be done with a sicker. You don't need number plate change.

• Analyst 1 month ago

The problem these new vehicle number plates will solve is not visible. What is unique about a vehicle bearing the mark of the region and district it was registered in? The only thing I can see this achieve is an offer to thos ...

• The Law 1 month ago

This change will only put hardship on vehicle owners and other stakeholders. The only beneficiary is the one taking money to do it. I’m in a state where 1920 number plates are still in use. The reason that owners of vehicle ...

• Samurai 1 month ago

BEST COMMENT

• Dr Anto 1 month ago

Just another way to steal, what is wrong with the old system & at whose cost

• Nana Peprah (Ohio) 1 month ago

This nonsense create, loot & share must not happen.

• Expretol 1 month ago

GHana di33, any body who get small opportunity want to create avenue for chop-chop

• The truth 1 month ago

Very smart. That means any one using the old DV plate will face the law. We hope this Goro boys would not cut fake plate again ooo.

• Newself 1 month ago

Now when you think properly through the misuse of the DV plates you'll realize that issue has to do with lack of law enforcement. So if we change the number plates don't enforce the law we will be back to square one. Again, o ...

• Joe 1 month ago

Mr president please don't change our cats numbers plates let we do important things

• TrueTrue 1 month ago

GHANA NEEDS A MILITARY COUP:
    THE POLITICIANS HAVE PROVEN THAT THEY cannot STOP THE GALAMSEY !! FROM RAWLINGS, KUFFOUR, MILLS, AKUFFO-ADDO TO MAHAMA, THEY HAVE ALL FAILED! THEY HAVE ALL FAILED TO TAKE CONCRETE ACTION TO END T ...

• Bonus Baba 1 month ago

Great move. Now help the problem between a payor and payee. There should never be any physical interaction between the two. What we have to do is for the payor to pay online ,in a payboot,whatever,get receipt and just s ...

• Yaw 1 month ago

And who told you they’re doing this because of change of government? Do you remember the last time car number plates were changed ? The world keep changing so we need to adjust to it ! Most we keep reading political meaning ...