Husband of Ghanaian woman killed in US appeals for help to repatriate her body

Read Comments Comments (50)

• Kwaku 2 months ago

Argh. Why can he not bury his wife in the US? In any case he would be getting insurance money so if he desires to bring the corpse to Ghana he can use that money to do so. Massa, cut your coat according to your size

• Chaalele 2 months ago

May her soul rest in peace.

If you can't help him, shut up and let him bury his wife where he wishes!

• Tom 2 months ago

Oooh please!! this guy is just suggesting an alternative

• BY FORCE DEY BURRY THE WIFE IN GHANA? WHY HAVE PEOPLE BECOME SO COMFORTABLE BEGGING FOR MONEY? IF PEOPLE GIVE YOU, FINE. BUT IF THEY DON'T DO WITH WHAT YOU HAVE. REPATRIATING A BODY IS VER EXPENSIVE AND NOT FOR EVERYBODY 2 months ago

SO IF YOU DON'T HAVE THE MEANS TO DO IT, JUST DO WHAT YOUR MEANS ALLOW YOU TO DO. BEGGAR

• Kofi Ayigbe 2 months ago

These Ashanti people and their use of funerals to make money. It is becoming too much.

• Kwaku 2 months ago

I am not the one asking the public for help to bury my wife in Ghana

• Oklemekuku 2 months ago

How much did you donate?

• Joe 2 months ago

Someone is trying to make money here there are many ways this can be done.
    1) huge insurance money to be paid.
    2) The body to be buried here.
    3) The body can be given to the state.
    Please dont take advantage of your wife' ...

• Freda 2 months ago

Shut up if u don't want to help

• Snyder 2 months ago

Kwaseato, shut up if you can't contribute

• IT IS NATURAL FOR HIM TO WANT TO TAKE HER BODY BACK HOME TO GHANA 2 months ago

Isn't it natural for him to want to take her back home for burial? It would bea different story if she was originally from the USA
    Our sincere condolences to the husband and family.

• Snyder 2 months ago

You are a big fool

• Maame Grace 2 months ago

The cost is nearly the same but yes the drivers insurance company must bear the cost very simple.

• ANTWI 2 months ago

WHERE IS THE INSURANCE MONEY?

• Ambijoe Kulbogo 2 months ago

I thought people always says that US is heaven, why is he seeking for help to bring the wife body home, anyway let us help him because it's nt easy out there, Trust me guys Ghana is far more better than some of these foreign ...

• Ghanaian. No Fears! 2 months ago

Dr. Alhaji Timothy Bawumia. You Campaigned to obtain and issue US visas for votes. Being one of your corner pillars. So, how far?

• Tony 2 months ago

Tell this man to get a lawyer. Regardless of if the car is insured or not, once there was an accident involved, the insurance company is obligated to compensate somehow.

Also where did she work or where does he work? S ...

• Poor Africa must think again 2 months ago

It is unfortunate he has lost his wife. However, I am wondering why he wants to bring his wife home and bury. There are a lot of living people in Ghana who need help.
    Some things are for those who can’ afford.

• Ohene 2 months ago

Sad, but if you're abroad and you haven't signed on to life insurance policies please think again. Some few pounds, dollars and euros could help sad eventualities like this. Those Gh kuo this and that don't pay anything. A $1 ...

• OBSERVERS WITHOUT BOADERS 2 months ago

WELL SAID!! Ohene

• KooManu 2 months ago

By default, most people get accidental death insurance benefit at work or through membership associations like community banks etc or one could buy and pay a monthly premium like you said.

There is no need to get a death ...

• ama 2 months ago

Just bury her there. What is this business about repatriating bodies. The dead are dead and gone. Use the money to look after any young ones she left behind. You can do a funeral in Ghana if you want.

• Barko osae twum 2 months ago

Why bring her body back to ghana with all that cist involved when that money can be invested in the childrens education or put in a trust for their future. Just bury her in the usa and let the family know. If its the drivers ...

• Sam 2 months ago

Accept my condolences my brother

• Charles oppong 2 months ago

Bury her in the USA and stop stessing urself more after going tru all this pain,and have the funeral here in ghana.ur late wife wherever she is now wond'nt like the idea of bringn her to ghana.

• Felix 2 months ago

What the essence of carrying a dead body back home if you do not have the means

• Show show 2 months ago

The car driver is not dead so he should tell him to assist in bringing the body to Ghana

• Dubai Direct Jobs 2 months ago

Our partners in Dubai are looking for construction workers from maison, to steel benders to work in Dubai
    Accommodation and Transport will be provided.
    It is visa before payment

Call:0248909267

• Landlord OA 2 months ago

What's the value in spending at least $15K USD just to bring the body t Ghana. Then spend another undisclosed amount to organize funeral in Ghana. Sure if the husband has the finance he should go for it but to ask for help to ...

• Catapult 2 months ago

May she rest in peace

• Sister Soulja 2 months ago

The driver's insurance will have to pay the victim's family, the husband can use some of the proceeds to repatriate the body to Ghana

• Anonymous Q 2 months ago

The drivers Insurance may not have to pay anything. My guess is she was jay-walking (crossing the road illegally) when the accident happened. That's why the driver did not run away, and police won't be pressing criminal charg ...

• Sister Soulja 2 months ago

Notwithstanding what you wrote, the husband can still file a claim against the driver's insurance company.

• Anonymous Q 2 months ago

No he can't. Only thing he can do is sue the driver. But seeing as the police didn't press charges either, his case will get thrown out; if he sues. I'm pretty sure the driver is 'road worthy', and the lady crossed the road i ...

• Lalata 2 months ago

Insurance could cover this unless the family did not hire a lawyer

• Jon J 2 months ago

Howbout her employer walmart , cant they foot da bil?

• Kofi 2 months ago

The question Walmart management will ask is, "did she died while working"? If not, then that can't be their concern. Walmart may decide to pay her family something small out of charity if they want.

A Ghanaian woman died ...

• Kojo Ghanaba Kojo 2 months ago

Asaase bira nkyir foun, Clements should just do the burial in the US where she died na Ghana fo pir too much. Repatriation will not bring her back to life.

• Victor 2 months ago

He could just cremate her body and bring the ashes back home at far cheaper cost

• Joy 2 months ago

Why should we contribute as we know insurance will pay every money in USA. Master USA is not Ghana. I know for sure that you will not gain not less than 500,000 dollars

• Ghanaweb, Please put this story down immediately. 2 months ago

It’s not authorized by the man or his friends or family. Please leave family alone to mourn.

• Osei 2 months ago

May her soul rest in peace. It just happened one block away from where I live. That road is dangerous to cross and the drivers are reckless. They don't even care when traffic turns red. I was crossing the same road to get to ...

• Kanawu 2 months ago

Massa bury her in the USA.
    Do not waste 15 to 20 thousand dollars to bring her to Ghana.

Asase nkyeni funu.

If she has children, use the money to support the children instead of bringing the body to Ghana. Her childre ...

• Avickybaby83@gmail.com 2 months ago

Those who do not know are talking anyhow. Do you know how much it cost here in the US to hire a lawyer. If you can help just help. I live close to
    where the incident happened. Nnipa hia moa

• Sam, Worcester-MA 2 months ago

This is not the first time a dead body is being sent to Ghana. This is a disgrace to the family. Stop and organize yourself if you really want to send the body to Ghana.

• Zamata 2 months ago

Good thing the suspect driver didn't flee from the scene

• Nana Kese, Newark, New Jersey 2 months ago

What is he bringing the body home for??
    Burry her there and save yourself of all these financial burdens and wahala... she us gone

• Justrac Africa LTD 2 months ago

Track your car with our GPS vehicle tracking systems. Stop engine and monitor voice with your phone. Prevent car theft now. Cost; 850Gh. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Keijeheb

• Mike 2 months ago

Why can't you bury her there to reduce cost?

• Joyce 1 month ago

The driver of the car his insurance company should cover the cost and more